Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

5 stars
131
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
Very Nice
5/14/2009

Customer review by knitchick

5.0 stars by knitchick

I did a lot of research before purchasing the Lodge Dutch Oven. I love that it goes from the stove top directly into the oven. The handle on the lid is made out of the same stuff as the dutch oven. The 5 quart is a little large for our family of 3. I was a little concerned about maintenance. Just scrub with a brush and some water (no soap). It is heavy so anyone who has trouble lifting should not purchase.

Was this review helpful? (74) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
knitchick
Greenville, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great
1/16/2009

Customer review by jb48

5.0 stars by jb48

Got this to bake bread , does the job . We love all our Lodge cast iron cookware. It makes the best bread .

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jb48
Brazil , IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect to Bake Artisan Breads!
12/6/2013

Customer review by DebraAshkar

5.0 stars by DebraAshkar

No-Knead Crusty Artisan Bread Cook Time: 45 minutes Yield: 1 loaf Ingredients 3 cups all-purpose flour 1 1/2 cups luke-warm water 1-2 tsp sea salt, depending on your preference 1 tsp yeast In a large bowl, stir together the flour, salt and yeast. Add the water and using a wooden spoon stir together until the mixture resembles a shaggy dough. Cover dough with a plastic wrap and let sit in room temperature for 8-18 hours. Dough will bubble up and rise. After dough is ready, preheat oven to 450 F. Turn the dough onto a well-floured surface and with floured hands form the dough into a ball. Cover with the plastic wrap and let the dough rest. While dough is resting, put your dutch oven into the preheated oven for 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes are up carefully remove the dutch oven and with floured hands place the bread dough into it. (You can put a piece of parchment under it if your dutch oven doesn't have an enamel coating, but I used the cast iron LODGE dutch oven and the bread comes right out, parchment paper is not necessary.) Replace the cover and bake for 30 minutes covered. Then remove the cover and bake for an additional 15 minutes uncovered. Bread will be golden, crusty and delicious! Make sure to wipe out your dutch oven with paper towels, then take a clean paper towel and oil it with vegetable oil. No need to wash with soap and water after making bread, though you probably want to wash it after making stew or soup. After washing, dry thoroughly, then oil it with a paper towel. This dutch oven will last longer than you will!

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DebraAshkar
Medina, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pot!
5/18/2008

Customer review by QHAmom

5.0 stars by QHAmom

I love this! It's a great every day pot for cooking any kind of food. I use it for pasta, soups, veggies, popcorn, etc. and it can go on a fire when camping too!

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
QHAmom
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great cooking pot
4/29/2008

Customer review by kuntrygirl

5.0 stars by kuntrygirl

Excellent pot to cook greens, peas and beans in! I use it at least once a week.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kuntrygirl
Twoegg, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great addition to our camping cookware
5/4/2011

Customer review by campingmama79

4.0 stars by campingmama79

I specifically bought this for use while tent camping. This past weekend was the first time I had used the dutch oven; it will be a staple on all of our future camping trips. The food was delicious and I love the set it and forget it nature of the dutch oven, all that is required is keeping an eye on the coals. The only draw back is that the lid is a bit small for keeping the number of coals needed for breads on top. It works, but is a delicate balancing act. I've noticed others with a flat lid, but I would think getting the lid off with out a handle could be a bit difficult when hot. I expect this will hold up as well as my other Lodge cast iron cookware. The inside is a bit rough, but I expect with use it will slick up like my frying pan did. Overall an excellent purchase and I look forward to using it many for many years to come!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
campingmama79
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
PERFECT
9/2/2007

Customer review by navydude

4.0 stars by navydude

Lodge has great products that come preseasoned. Walmart has the best price I could find. This is my 4th piece of Lodge cookware, but I'll be buying more.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
navydude
Atoka, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exactly as product literature describes
12/17/2008

Customer review by TexasEngineer

5.0 stars by TexasEngineer

Price was excellent (I checked the web) and the in store pick up saved shipping cost. Used it to make no knead bread. Worked great. Product is exactly as Lodge describes. See their website for details. I wrote Lodge about their pro logic dutch oven which cost signficantly more. They promptly wrote back saying it is the same product different design / look. So I bought this one. Remember iron needs some (minor / easy) special care.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TexasEngineer
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love this dutch oven !
2/20/2011

Customer review by Cynndy

5.0 stars by Cynndy

Lodge cast iron is the best. I cooked a pot roast in it as my first meal and it was amazing. I plan to take very good care of this dutch oven and keep it seasoned properly so it will last me for years ! Thanks Walmart. Your price could not be beat. This was twice as much at another store.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cynndy
Apopka Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The best ever
12/5/2008

Customer review by JoFon407

5.0 stars by JoFon407

I love Lodge Cast Iron stuff! I have slowly changed all my pots and pans to Lodge! It is the best thing I have done as I know they will last a life time. Cleaning is simple and the pan/pot heats right away. I love it and will never switch to anything else. FYI: To all the women, this is cast iron so it is heavy! You will definitely need two hands to lift one pan/pot!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JoFon407
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best you'll ever have!
6/23/2011

Customer review by Newlyweds1984

5.0 stars by Newlyweds1984

I put this in the fire for cooking, hang it on a grill overtop the fire, have used on propane grill, in the house on the stove, and in the oven for casseroles. No matter where or how this is working fantastically and is so easy to clean and season! Recommended for anyone that doesn't mind the heaviness of cast iron but is looking for something to get them through and pass on to their children!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Newlyweds1984
Nottingham, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome medium-sized cast iron pot.
11/21/2011

Customer review by bambibeth

5.0 stars by bambibeth

I purchased this piece for use over an open flame and tailgating, but it is also great in the home oven. You can put soup/stew in the pot, invert the lid, and heat a few small things (hot dogs) on the upper part. It has little iron teeth inside the lid to hold them up. Great purchase and at half the cost of any kitchen store I tried!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bambibeth
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
12/28/2008

Customer review by COOKINFOOL49

4.0 stars by COOKINFOOL49

There nothing that cooks like cast, no duplicating the taste of cooked foods or homemade rolls !

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
COOKINFOOL49
N.M.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Rough Inside
4/11/2011

Customer review by ObamaForPrez

2.0 stars by ObamaForPrez

The pot has a very coarse finish inside. Nothing like the inner surface of my old Griswald cast iron pans. When you try to wipe the inside with a paper towel it shreds the towel. Very difficult to clean. I contacted Lodge and they said they no longer polish their pans. I'm very disappointed. It is heavy but that's the only positive thing I can think of.

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ObamaForPrez
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 1000 contributor
3/15/2010

Customer review by Lorelei23

5.0 stars by Lorelei23

This dutch oven is great! I was a little worried about buying it because it was so cheap compared to other brands I've seen [I think Creuset is like $100+ more?], but it is a very good product. I've had mine for about a year and use it all the time. It is very solid and well made, easy to use and clean. Also the lid fits on tightly, which is important for a lot of things that I cook. I've since bought other Lodge pots/pans and they are all very good quality. Just make sure you know how to clean and store it before using, cast iron is actually quite easy to care for once you know what to do.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lorelei23
chi-town
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Awesome!
5/31/2011

Customer review by AriusDax

5.0 stars by AriusDax

Made Chick Pea Chili with my new Dutch oven and I love it! Everything cooked evenly and nicely. Can't wait to try other dishes in it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AriusDax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Other uses for Dutch Ovens
1/9/2008

Customer review by BigBuckeyeHunter

5.0 stars by BigBuckeyeHunter

The dutch oven that I purchased is going to be used to melt down lead and aluminum for my casting work.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BigBuckeyeHunter
Somerton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Dutch Oven
9/6/2011

Customer review by Grams19

5.0 stars by Grams19

My husband and I purchased the Lodge Dutch Oven to use in the brick oven outside. Perfect size for all our cooking needs. Follow the care instructions and it will stay black and shiny with no rust. After using the Lodge Dutch Oven we decided to purchase the Lodge Skillet.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Grams19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I wanted
11/9/2010

Customer review by Biggles101

5.0 stars by Biggles101

Great product at a great price. 11 lbs of American cast iron, no sissy enamel. So far have made chili, stew, gumbo and short ribs to perfection. Works better than expected, just read directions on cooking with cast iron.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Biggles101
ILL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best deal for your $$
2/20/2011

Customer review by SkinnyChef

5.0 stars by SkinnyChef

When it comes to cast iron you are buying a brand name, not the product itself. If you care for it properly you will have an amazing tool for cooking for years to come. This brand was the best value I found at time of purchase. It cost less than $5 (USD) to ship it to my house and it arrived quickly. I use it for soups, stews and broths. Once in a blue moon I use it for making spaghetti noodles (when I'm too lazy to pull out the big noodle pot, or when I'm only making enough noodles for two). I love, love, love my cast iron dutch oven. Though I will say, I don't think it's the brand that matters here. If you care for cast iron, it will be good to you for YEARS to come.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SkinnyChef
Delmar, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 119 total reviews