Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 187 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

187 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

187 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
158
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 147 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews
Other uses for Dutch Ovens
1/9/2008

Customer review by BigBuckeyeHunter

5.0 stars 1/9/2008 by BigBuckeyeHunter
by BigBuckeyeHunter

The dutch oven that I purchased is going to be used to melt down lead and aluminum for my casting work.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigBuckeyeHunter
Somerton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Lodge Logic 5 Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven
1/28/2016

Customer review by LindaInFlorida

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by LindaInFlorida
by LindaInFlorida

Love this Dutch oven. I purchased for it's versatility. It can be used both indoor and outdoor. It makes the food cook much faster and is solid. Something that I can pass down to my children who also enjoy good cooking. Can't wait to use it again. I find myself looking for things to cook.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LindaInFlorida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Dutch Oven
11/14/2015

Customer review by Raube

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by Raube
by Raube

I love this dutch oven for baking biscuits or rolls . You can also prepare a meal that you can get more than one serving from it . It is great when you have company and need a little extra for a meal . I have added several more pieces to my cookware replacing my regular pots and pans. The food you prepare in this type of cookware taste so much better and it hold the heat longer to keep food warm . I would recommend anyone looking for a new experience to get some iron cookware and try it . I remember my grandmother fixing chicken and dumplings and many other dishes for Sunday dinners when I was younger and all she had was Iron cookware she used . I am 78 now and the smell of her dinners still stay with me . What a cook she was with her cookware.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raube
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cast iron dutch oven
12/27/2015

Customer review by happycamper

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by happycamper
by happycamper

I purchased this for my son for Christmas. He loves cooking with cast iron. He mentioned wanting to make chili, soups and stews. He also goes camping often and wanted something he could use to cook over a fire. He was very pleased with the product and loves Lodge brand because it is made in USA. He hopes to use this for a long time and pass onto his children. It was very reasonable priced at Walmart. My only issue with this purchase was picking it up at the store after ordering online. I made two rather lengthy trips to pick up area before I was able to get my purchase. I give this 5 stars because it was the store and not the product that was a problem. I suggest paying the extra for shipping rather than store pick up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happycamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Billy
1/28/2016

Customer review by CaptainBLY

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by CaptainBLY
by CaptainBLY

It work to my satisfaction and was exactly just what I wanted. I wished I would have bought it a long time ago instead of wasting all my money on other ones that did not hold up. I would have been money ahead.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptainBLY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great addition to our camping cookware
5/4/2011

Customer review by campingmama79

4.0 stars 5/4/2011 by campingmama79
by campingmama79

I specifically bought this for use while tent camping. This past weekend was the first time I had used the dutch oven; it will be a staple on all of our future camping trips. The food was delicious and I love the set it and forget it nature of the dutch oven, all that is required is keeping an eye on the coals. The only draw back is that the lid is a bit small for keeping the number of coals needed for breads on top. It works, but is a delicate balancing act. I've noticed others with a flat lid, but I would think getting the lid off with out a handle could be a bit difficult when hot. I expect this will hold up as well as my other Lodge cast iron cookware. The inside is a bit rough, but I expect with use it will slick up like my frying pan did. Overall an excellent purchase and I look forward to using it many for many years to come!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
campingmama79
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
great
1/24/2016

Customer review by jjudge0528

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by jjudge0528
by jjudge0528

Love this pot. My grandmother her mother and my mother all used cast iron pots. This pot is great. It was seasoned well. Heavy duty

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jjudge0528
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Who needs a deep fryer when you have this!
7/25/2015

Customer review by Judy20

5.0 stars 7/25/2015 by Judy20
by Judy20

I bought the Waring Pro digital deep fryer and that machine is one great fryer BUT had to return it after just the second use, it is so difficult to clean, too many nooks and crannies. Bought the Presto Big Kettle but it was defected at the cord so would not heat up, so had to return it and then decided the best would be a Lodge cast iron chicken skillet, but I am so glad I got this Lodge Dutch oven with lid. Just bought it and bought some chicken and oil and came home and began frying chicken wings and chicken breasts! The chicken was so moist it just melted in your mouth! I absolutely found the best pan to fry chicken in and that is cast iron! Think about it, it will not warp, it keeps its temperature, no heating element to have to clean, no basket, and all the other parts to a deep fryer! If you can lift it then this is all you need. The lid is an absolute plus. It comes preseasoned! I just washed it out, dried it with paper towels and oiled it! So many other things you can cook in this besides fried foods. Great price because this works and will last!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judy20
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect to Bake Artisan Breads!
12/6/2013

Customer review by DebraAshkar

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by DebraAshkar
by DebraAshkar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

No-Knead Crusty Artisan Bread Cook Time: 45 minutes Yield: 1 loaf Ingredients 3 cups all-purpose flour 1 1/2 cups luke-warm water 1-2 tsp sea salt, depending on your preference 1 tsp yeast In a large bowl, stir together the flour, salt and yeast. Add the water and using a wooden spoon stir together until the mixture resembles a shaggy dough. Cover dough with a plastic wrap and let sit in room temperature for 8-18 hours. Dough will bubble up and rise. After dough is ready, preheat oven to 450 F. Turn the dough onto a well-floured surface and with floured hands form the dough into a ball. Cover with the plastic wrap and let the dough rest. While dough is resting, put your dutch oven into the preheated oven for 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes are up carefully remove the dutch oven and with floured hands place the bread dough into it. (You can put a piece of parchment under it if your dutch oven doesn't have an enamel coating, but I used the cast iron LODGE dutch oven and the bread comes right out, parchment paper is not necessary.) Replace the cover and bake for 30 minutes covered. Then remove the cover and bake for an additional 15 minutes uncovered. Bread will be golden, crusty and delicious! Make sure to wipe out your dutch oven with paper towels, then take a clean paper towel and oil it with vegetable oil. No need to wash with soap and water after making bread, though you probably want to wash it after making stew or soup. After washing, dry thoroughly, then oil it with a paper towel. This dutch oven will last longer than you will!

Was this review helpful? (66) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebraAshkar
Medina, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice
5/14/2009

Customer review by knitchick

5.0 stars 5/14/2009 by knitchick
by knitchick

I did a lot of research before purchasing the Lodge Dutch Oven. I love that it goes from the stove top directly into the oven. The handle on the lid is made out of the same stuff as the dutch oven. The 5 quart is a little large for our family of 3. I was a little concerned about maintenance. Just scrub with a brush and some water (no soap). It is heavy so anyone who has trouble lifting should not purchase.

Was this review helpful? (100) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knitchick
Greenville, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great
1/16/2009

Customer review by jb48

5.0 stars 1/16/2009 by jb48
by jb48

Got this to bake bread , does the job . We love all our Lodge cast iron cookware. It makes the best bread .

Was this review helpful? (78) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jb48
Brazil , IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great cooking pot
4/29/2008

Customer review by kuntrygirl

5.0 stars 4/29/2008 by kuntrygirl
by kuntrygirl

Excellent pot to cook greens, peas and beans in! I use it at least once a week.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kuntrygirl
Twoegg, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
PERFECT
9/2/2007

Customer review by navydude

4.0 stars 9/2/2007 by navydude
by navydude

Lodge has great products that come preseasoned. Walmart has the best price I could find. This is my 4th piece of Lodge cookware, but I'll be buying more.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
navydude
Atoka, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great
1/14/2016

Customer review by vickie

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by vickie
by vickie

weather your cooking indoors or outdoors this is such an amazing product Thanxs lodge n walmart simply the best And was ready the same day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vickie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/15/2010

Customer review by Lorelei23

5.0 stars 3/15/2010 by Lorelei23
by Lorelei23

This dutch oven is great! I was a little worried about buying it because it was so cheap compared to other brands I've seen [I think Creuset is like $100+ more?], but it is a very good product. I've had mine for about a year and use it all the time. It is very solid and well made, easy to use and clean. Also the lid fits on tightly, which is important for a lot of things that I cook. I've since bought other Lodge pots/pans and they are all very good quality. Just make sure you know how to clean and store it before using, cast iron is actually quite easy to care for once you know what to do.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lorelei23
chi-town
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this dutch oven !
2/20/2011

Customer review by Cynndy

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by Cynndy
by Cynndy

Lodge cast iron is the best. I cooked a pot roast in it as my first meal and it was amazing. I plan to take very good care of this dutch oven and keep it seasoned properly so it will last me for years ! Thanks Walmart. Your price could not be beat. This was twice as much at another store.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cynndy
Apopka Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exactly as product literature describes
12/17/2008

Customer review by TexasEngineer

5.0 stars 12/17/2008 by TexasEngineer
by TexasEngineer

Price was excellent (I checked the web) and the in store pick up saved shipping cost. Used it to make no knead bread. Worked great. Product is exactly as Lodge describes. See their website for details. I wrote Lodge about their pro logic dutch oven which cost signficantly more. They promptly wrote back saying it is the same product different design / look. So I bought this one. Remember iron needs some (minor / easy) special care.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasEngineer
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great
1/10/2016

Customer review by cooks

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by cooks
by cooks

Cooking with this dutch oven is fantastic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cooks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5qt dutch oven
1/9/2016

Customer review by bobnina

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by bobnina
by bobnina

I made a roast and chili in it and had no problems. Great pan.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobnina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great pot!
5/18/2008

Customer review by QHAmom

5.0 stars 5/18/2008 by QHAmom
by QHAmom

I love this! It's a great every day pot for cooking any kind of food. I use it for pasta, soups, veggies, popcorn, etc. and it can go on a fire when camping too!

Was this review helpful? (44) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QHAmom
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews