Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 209 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

209 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

209 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
155
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 184 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
Came FILTHY
7/16/2016

Customer review by BratzDoll

1.0 stars 7/16/2016 by BratzDoll
by BratzDoll
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm giving this a 1 star for the way it was packaged and delivered. The skillet itself is a good skillet but I was very disappointed with Walmart's warehouse. I recieved this skillet with some in the corners of the skillet and bottom of the skillet was something spilled on it and it was greasy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BratzDoll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lodge Products are TOPS!
10/17/2011

Customer review by BlackIronChef

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by BlackIronChef
by BlackIronChef

I have been a fan of Lodge products for a long time. This grill pan did not dissapoint. I have been dabbling with hot sandwich's while I do research before I open my own business and this grill pan fit the bill for me. Not only have I used it to make Panini's, I have grilled several other foods for that "grill" mark look and they too have come out with the desired effect. I never considered buying a grill pan in the past concerned with the cleaning horror one my expect from having to clean between the grills. I was really surprised how easy it cleaned. The preseasoning by Lodge is fantastic! I make sure I don't overheat the pan and I wash with hot water only have the grill has had a chance to cool off a little. With good heat control and prompt cleaning with water only, you too will enjoy the same visual effect the Lodge Grill Pan leaves on meat and other frilled foods you cook in this pan for a VERY long time. You can find me on Facebook under SWLALeChienCookers, an outdoor dutch oven cooking group in LA

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackIronChef
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
EXECELLENT PAN WHEN USED CORRECTLY!
10/7/2012

Customer review by BarFight

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by BarFight
by BarFight

EXCELLENT grill pan at an exceptional price. I've read other reviews that mention smoke and sticking, clearly they have the heat too high. Let me give you some tips. 1. Cast iron spreads heat quickly and evenly, so you do not need to use the same type of temperatures that you would with a stainless steel or copper pan. You need to adjust your temperatures so that your pan does not smoke or cause the meat to stick. My meat did not stick and there wasn't a smoke problem. I made filet Mignon and it came out better than I've EVER been able to make it at home with my stainless steel pans. The BEST advice I can give on using this pan properly is to adjust your heat! You WON'T need high heat for your steaks, use medium, you will still get great grill marks. AND it cooked the BEST steak I've ever made at home! I can't believe it was only $18!!!! I made a medium rare steak cooking 2 minutes per side!!! DELICIOUS!!!

Was this review helpful? (162) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BarFight
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect!
4/25/2016

Customer review by redracerbabe

5.0 stars 4/25/2016 by redracerbabe
by redracerbabe

Love this for steak in a small apartment.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redracerbabe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cast iron stovetop grill pan
2/1/2016

Customer review by Hedgehog2008

4.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Hedgehog2008
by Hedgehog2008

I am a senior citizen woman, the pan is just perfect for me since it is small but just right for one or two people; it is heavy so the front support handle makes it easier to carry. I needed this for the summer so I haven't tried it out yet but it seems to be durable. I will buy another for this price so I can grill the meat on one and the veggies on the other. The only drawback is the heavy weight, if I get another I will order the same size.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hedgehog2008
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Grill pan
5/26/2016

Customer review by mimi030659

5.0 stars 5/26/2016 by mimi030659
by mimi030659
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ended up returning this pan bc it did not work well with my induction cooker, however, I would have kept it if I had a full size gas/electric stove

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mimi030659
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/17/2013

Customer review by g7a8

5.0 stars 7/17/2013 by g7a8
by g7a8
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love all the Lodge cast iron, they come pre-seasoned, but I always reseason all my new cast iron at least twice before I ever use it, I do it the old fashion way with lard, outside on my charcoal grill as hot as I can get it and for several hours recoating the inside several times and then making sure it cooks until all the lard is cooked into the iron, coating the inside bottoms especially, then I'm ready for years of fine cooking. When people say that food sticks they do not have the inside bottoms seasoned like they are supposed to be and I never use anything to clean except warm water and a paper towel, dry off and put away. If you cook on it often you should not have to put oil on it if it is properly seasoned and don't worry about germs and whatnot because when you preheat your pans, as you should before you use them but not too hot, it kills everything.

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
g7a8
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dimensions are smaller
2/9/2008

Customer review by mvons

5.0 stars 2/9/2008 by mvons
by mvons

The dimensions listed are the outer edge. The inside of the pan is 9 inches. This only matters if you desire a bacon press for making sandwiches. You can only cook two steaks at a time. The two handles is a wonderful feature. The grill groves are very deep so the fat drains away. You need to take the time to get the pan hot so your food will cook fast.

Was this review helpful? (110) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mvons
So Calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Heavy Duty
7/12/2016

Customer review by Vayu

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Vayu
by Vayu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very Good Grill Pan

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vayu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My BFF warned me, You'll hate it!
6/22/2016

Customer review by Berkana18

3.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Berkana18
by Berkana18
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a magnificent pan. Well made. Great design. BUT....I can barely lift-for me it is dangerously heavy. And I only used it once....I didn't abuse it...just cooked 2 bacon wrapped filets on it AND I CAN'T GET IT CLEAN. I followed the instructions, I didn't over heat it, and it's a crying shame. Maybe it's me, maybe it's the pan, maybe those filets were held together with Gorilla Glue, BUT I'M GOING BACK TO TEFLON type pans, even if they need to be replaced more often. I might return this item. I prefer to see it as a learning experience. If all those folks love cast iron, I MUST be doing something wrong.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Berkana18
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pleased with purchase
6/2/2009

Customer review by murphyld

5.0 stars 6/2/2009 by murphyld
by murphyld

I had grill pan similar to this one years ago and I threw it away after using a few times because the seasoning came off of the grill-ribs and rusted pretty badly. I am happy to report that the new one that I purchased last week has a good seasoning finish that is holding up. The first two steaks that I cooked were burned on the outside and raw in the middle but this is my fault because I had the electric stove turned up to 9 the first time and 7 the second. This afternoon I cooked another steak that was very near perfect because I had the stove top set to 4; next time I'm going to try 3 1/2. I went to the Lodge website and read their recommendations for care and use. Their directions for cleaning were the same as how my mother told me to clean her iron skillet 30+ years ago; use hot water only with a plastic brush after it has cooled; no soap, no dishwasher, no S.O.S. pads. After cleaning towel dry and allow to air dry thoroughly before storing. The Lodge website also said that it was best to heat the skillet up in stages. I can't remember if the instruction was a general rule for iron cookware or if it was an instruction that was specific to use of the grill pan. I have been taking the temperature up to about 50% and let it set at this level for 5-6 minutes and then take it up to the cooking setting and leave it alone for another 5-6 minutes before beginning to cook. If you decide to buy one of these grill pans I hope that you enjoy yours as much as I'm enjoying mine.

Was this review helpful? (112) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
murphyld
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cast Iron for Life
6/21/2016

Customer review by BigAl

5.0 stars 6/21/2016 by BigAl
by BigAl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is made of the highest quality in the U.S.A. Its design is perfect for the stove top or the campfire. It will last a life time. The web site when I ordered it allowed me to see videos on how to care for it, and how it is made. Lodge is the only U.S. company making cast iron products, and they have proudly been making them for 104 years. Your food will have grill marks while the grease stays down below. The more I use the more I enjoy its many remarkable abilities. I would highly recommend this to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigAl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mmmm mmmm !!!
11/22/2008

Customer review by AppleTree

5.0 stars 11/22/2008 by AppleTree
by AppleTree

When you can't grill out, this is the next best thing !! Hamburgers and steaks taste delicious cooked in this pan. American made in Tennessee !!

Was this review helpful? (64) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AppleTree
Somewhere, Georgia USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Cast Iron Cookware I've ever owned
9/25/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is truly an exceptional product. Well beyond my greatest expectations. It's the best thing I've ever bought from Walmart. It heavier than any other piece I own and it performs magnificently. Lodge Mfg. is truly the best, and only, source for American Cast Iron.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hackettstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pan
1/27/2016

Customer review by Soltic

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Soltic
by Soltic

For my first time cooking with cast iron pans on my induction cook top, I love it. I can not wait to cook my steaks and or chicken. The first thing I cooked was bacon in it, it turn out great. Plus it adds to the seasoning too.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soltic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do not hesitate, great buy!!!!
6/4/2011

Customer review by janetleighflorida

5.0 stars 6/4/2011 by janetleighflorida
by janetleighflorida

Meets all expectations. Cooks great and cleans easy and I can not believe the low price. I always shop for USA made items, and the fact that this is made in USA is just icing on the cake-got to keep jobs in AMERICA!

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
janetleighflorida
St Petersburg, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent addition to collection
9/14/2011

Customer review by Vancook

5.0 stars 9/14/2011 by Vancook
by Vancook

I have spent many hours and many dollars on cast iron cookware. While it amazes me that people think that cast iron is so hard to clean and food "Sticks" because they don't know how to care for it, Lodge has made both very easy with their "Preseasoned" cookware. While the pre-seasoning is just a START to non-stick, it WILL improve with age if you take care of it the way it is SUPPOSED to be cared for. I have never owned a Lodge until this product, but I must say, I was really impressed with their pre-seasoning. While it wasn't perfect, it seared a nice ahi tuna fillet to perfection and the fish didn't stick. The next attempt at burgers, I got a little antsy and didn't let the sear finish on the second side, so I went to flip the burger and parts of it stuck. Again, a fault of MINE for not being patient to allow the food to release from the pan. however, the burgers still came out wonderful and very flavorful. For the burnt on part of the burger that stuck, I did what I have always done in my cast iron pans: While the pan is still hot, I added some VERY HOT water to the pan, boiled for a few seconds and used a vegetable brush to brush down the pan following the raised ridges. As always the food released from the pan. I rinsed the pan, wiped down with a paper towl and put back on the burner (now turned down to medium low) and let it sit for a few minutes to thoroughly dry out. Rubbed LIGHTLY with a thin layer of grapeseed oil, turned off the burner and let the pan cool down completely before putting away. I use the pan everyday, sometimes many times a day, and it LOOKS like it is brand new, and the seasoning has only gotten better. I like this so much, I am buying my sister one for Christmas this year, though I will make sure it is thorougly seasoned before giving it to her. Buy it, if you know what you are doing or are willing to learn the nuances of cast iron, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vancook
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
5/12/2016

Customer review by salyu

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by salyu
by salyu

works great, and I use it almost everyday.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
salyu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beyond what we expected
11/5/2013

Customer review by Catacomb

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Catacomb
by Catacomb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought a NuWave induction burner but didn't want to pay their price for the grill accessory. I ordered this one at 1/3 of their price and used it last night for a steak. It was perfect and cooked evenly and fast. With cooler weather approaching a great alternative to outside grilling.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catacomb
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best price on this pan anywhere
6/4/2016

Customer review by Sharon B.

3.0 stars 6/4/2016 by Sharon B.
by Sharon B.
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use this product to grill steaks, hamburgers, chops when I can't grill outdoors. It also works well as the bottom half of a pannini press. Nothing beats cast iron for great grilling!

Sharon B.
Salem, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews