Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 171 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

171 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

171 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
130
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
1-20 of 146 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
EXECELLENT PAN WHEN USED CORRECTLY!
10/7/2012

Customer review by BarFight

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by BarFight
by BarFight

EXCELLENT grill pan at an exceptional price. I've read other reviews that mention smoke and sticking, clearly they have the heat too high. Let me give you some tips. 1. Cast iron spreads heat quickly and evenly, so you do not need to use the same type of temperatures that you would with a stainless steel or copper pan. You need to adjust your temperatures so that your pan does not smoke or cause the meat to stick. My meat did not stick and there wasn't a smoke problem. I made filet Mignon and it came out better than I've EVER been able to make it at home with my stainless steel pans. The BEST advice I can give on using this pan properly is to adjust your heat! You WON'T need high heat for your steaks, use medium, you will still get great grill marks. AND it cooked the BEST steak I've ever made at home! I can't believe it was only $18!!!! I made a medium rare steak cooking 2 minutes per side!!! DELICIOUS!!!

Was this review helpful? (96) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BarFight
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dimensions are smaller
2/9/2008

Customer review by mvons

5.0 stars 2/9/2008 by mvons
by mvons

The dimensions listed are the outer edge. The inside of the pan is 9 inches. This only matters if you desire a bacon press for making sandwiches. You can only cook two steaks at a time. The two handles is a wonderful feature. The grill groves are very deep so the fat drains away. You need to take the time to get the pan hot so your food will cook fast.

Was this review helpful? (93) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mvons
So Calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Pleased with purchase
6/2/2009

Customer review by murphyld

5.0 stars 6/2/2009 by murphyld
by murphyld

I had grill pan similar to this one years ago and I threw it away after using a few times because the seasoning came off of the grill-ribs and rusted pretty badly. I am happy to report that the new one that I purchased last week has a good seasoning finish that is holding up. The first two steaks that I cooked were burned on the outside and raw in the middle but this is my fault because I had the electric stove turned up to 9 the first time and 7 the second. This afternoon I cooked another steak that was very near perfect because I had the stove top set to 4; next time I'm going to try 3 1/2. I went to the Lodge website and read their recommendations for care and use. Their directions for cleaning were the same as how my mother told me to clean her iron skillet 30+ years ago; use hot water only with a plastic brush after it has cooled; no soap, no dishwasher, no S.O.S. pads. After cleaning towel dry and allow to air dry thoroughly before storing. The Lodge website also said that it was best to heat the skillet up in stages. I can't remember if the instruction was a general rule for iron cookware or if it was an instruction that was specific to use of the grill pan. I have been taking the temperature up to about 50% and let it set at this level for 5-6 minutes and then take it up to the cooking setting and leave it alone for another 5-6 minutes before beginning to cook. If you decide to buy one of these grill pans I hope that you enjoy yours as much as I'm enjoying mine.

Was this review helpful? (94) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
murphyld
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Mmmm mmmm !!!
11/22/2008

Customer review by AppleTree

5.0 stars 11/22/2008 by AppleTree
by AppleTree

When you can't grill out, this is the next best thing !! Hamburgers and steaks taste delicious cooked in this pan. American made in Tennessee !!

Was this review helpful? (48) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AppleTree
Somewhere, Georgia USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not hesitate, great buy!!!!
6/4/2011

Customer review by janetleighflorida

5.0 stars 6/4/2011 by janetleighflorida
by janetleighflorida

Meets all expectations. Cooks great and cleans easy and I can not believe the low price. I always shop for USA made items, and the fact that this is made in USA is just icing on the cake-got to keep jobs in AMERICA!

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
janetleighflorida
St Petersburg, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent addition to collection
9/14/2011

Customer review by Vancook

5.0 stars 9/14/2011 by Vancook
by Vancook

I have spent many hours and many dollars on cast iron cookware. While it amazes me that people think that cast iron is so hard to clean and food "Sticks" because they don't know how to care for it, Lodge has made both very easy with their "Preseasoned" cookware. While the pre-seasoning is just a START to non-stick, it WILL improve with age if you take care of it the way it is SUPPOSED to be cared for. I have never owned a Lodge until this product, but I must say, I was really impressed with their pre-seasoning. While it wasn't perfect, it seared a nice ahi tuna fillet to perfection and the fish didn't stick. The next attempt at burgers, I got a little antsy and didn't let the sear finish on the second side, so I went to flip the burger and parts of it stuck. Again, a fault of MINE for not being patient to allow the food to release from the pan. however, the burgers still came out wonderful and very flavorful. For the burnt on part of the burger that stuck, I did what I have always done in my cast iron pans: While the pan is still hot, I added some VERY HOT water to the pan, boiled for a few seconds and used a vegetable brush to brush down the pan following the raised ridges. As always the food released from the pan. I rinsed the pan, wiped down with a paper towl and put back on the burner (now turned down to medium low) and let it sit for a few minutes to thoroughly dry out. Rubbed LIGHTLY with a thin layer of grapeseed oil, turned off the burner and let the pan cool down completely before putting away. I use the pan everyday, sometimes many times a day, and it LOOKS like it is brand new, and the seasoning has only gotten better. I like this so much, I am buying my sister one for Christmas this year, though I will make sure it is thorougly seasoned before giving it to her. Buy it, if you know what you are doing or are willing to learn the nuances of cast iron, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vancook
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Cast Iron Cookware I've ever owned
9/25/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is truly an exceptional product. Well beyond my greatest expectations. It's the best thing I've ever bought from Walmart. It heavier than any other piece I own and it performs magnificently. Lodge Mfg. is truly the best, and only, source for American Cast Iron.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hackettstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beyond what we expected
11/5/2013

Customer review by Catacomb

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Catacomb
by Catacomb

We bought a NuWave induction burner but didn't want to pay their price for the grill accessory. I ordered this one at 1/3 of their price and used it last night for a steak. It was perfect and cooked evenly and fast. With cooler weather approaching a great alternative to outside grilling.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Catacomb
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lodge Products are TOPS!
10/17/2011

Customer review by BlackIronChef

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by BlackIronChef
by BlackIronChef

I have been a fan of Lodge products for a long time. This grill pan did not dissapoint. I have been dabbling with hot sandwich's while I do research before I open my own business and this grill pan fit the bill for me. Not only have I used it to make Panini's, I have grilled several other foods for that "grill" mark look and they too have come out with the desired effect. I never considered buying a grill pan in the past concerned with the cleaning horror one my expect from having to clean between the grills. I was really surprised how easy it cleaned. The preseasoning by Lodge is fantastic! I make sure I don't overheat the pan and I wash with hot water only have the grill has had a chance to cool off a little. With good heat control and prompt cleaning with water only, you too will enjoy the same visual effect the Lodge Grill Pan leaves on meat and other frilled foods you cook in this pan for a VERY long time. You can find me on Facebook under SWLALeChienCookers, an outdoor dutch oven cooking group in LA

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlackIronChef
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/17/2013

Customer review by g7a8

5.0 stars 7/17/2013 by g7a8
by g7a8

I love all the Lodge cast iron, they come pre-seasoned, but I always reseason all my new cast iron at least twice before I ever use it, I do it the old fashion way with lard, outside on my charcoal grill as hot as I can get it and for several hours recoating the inside several times and then making sure it cooks until all the lard is cooked into the iron, coating the inside bottoms especially, then I'm ready for years of fine cooking. When people say that food sticks they do not have the inside bottoms seasoned like they are supposed to be and I never use anything to clean except warm water and a paper towel, dry off and put away. If you cook on it often you should not have to put oil on it if it is properly seasoned and don't worry about germs and whatnot because when you preheat your pans, as you should before you use them but not too hot, it kills everything.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
g7a8
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
American made grill pan
10/27/2013

Customer review by kangodoll

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by kangodoll
by kangodoll

Besides being what I needed it is American made. The pan is heavy, but the handle balances it out. It is convenenty pre-seasoned which means you can start cooking right away. In all it is a very sturdy and reliable pan and I am quite pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kangodoll
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love this grill
3/11/2009

Customer review by walmartforbargins

5.0 stars 3/11/2009 by walmartforbargins
by walmartforbargins

This grill is a favorite of mine to use. Wouldn't suggest it for a large family, but for the two of us it is perfect. It holds three to four hamburger patties or two steaks. I really like the way it cooks and the grease doesn't cook onto the meat like a flat pan. Don't use any dish soap when cleaning it. I just clean it after using it with warm water and a recommended brush. Dry it and spray with pam and it's ready for the next use.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartforbargins
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Cast Iron pan for MOney
4/22/2010

Customer review by Stanleylj32

4.0 stars 4/22/2010 by Stanleylj32
by Stanleylj32

This pan is wonderful. Once this pan has been seasoned it is great! Nice to use for burgers and chicken, especially in WI during the winter when you can't get outside to grill. HIghly recommend

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stanleylj32
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/20/2010

Customer review by critterdl

4.0 stars 2/20/2010 by critterdl
by critterdl

good value...just didnt realize with a ceramic top stove cast iron is NOT recommended...so big deal..you can still throw it in the oven, on a grill on on a portable electric burner. Be sure to study how to care for cast iron!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
critterdl
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Useful Grill Pan!
5/17/2012

Customer review by Veglover

4.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Veglover
by Veglover

I like this grill pan because it's cast iron; grills just enough for 2 people (without having to fire up the outdoor grill); gives great taste to grilled veggies and comes pre-seasoned! Easy clean-up: w/ warm water (carefully)while still hot (no soap); scrub residuals off; dry & evaporate water on burner; then rub on a little oil to reseal and prevent rust! Sounds like a lot to do but just takes a few minutes!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Veglover
Bentonville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
11/30/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 11/30/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have only used this pan twice (they really need to ask for reviews latter and not so quickly). It felt good and solid in my hands, gave me the "burn" marks on meat that i was looking for and cooked them evenly. Its saids they come "seasoned", on my first try the meat stuck and was difficult to clean up afterwards (even used spray on oil). I re=seasoned the pan myself (IAW their directions on their website) and it works just like a non-stick pan. Bottom line: works great, just season the pan before you use it the first time so u are not disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
clinton, maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cast iron skillet/griddle
8/6/2010

Customer review by Megan542

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by Megan542
by Megan542

easy to use and clean, leaves nice grill marks

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Megan542
Abilene,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Nice pan after you season it.
9/6/2010

Customer review by jayscore

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by jayscore
by jayscore

This is like any other cast iron pan; you have to season it to get the best results! The pan itself is very solid, and weighs almost eight pounds! After seasoning it twice, it got more stick resistant, and has worked out well! And, the price was great from Wal-Mart.com.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jayscore
Glen Flora, WI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cast Iron
6/10/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have always been a fan of cast iron. I have used this grill pan more that my George Forman Grill. It does not dry out my food, it truly gives the grill marks and I am so comfortable to cook with this pan opposed to the open grill/griddle plate that goes on the stove. Just clean it as usual and dry before you put it up. wonderful. I am looking forward to purchasing more cast iron products.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Orange, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Pan
7/22/2014

Customer review by PJfromMT

4.0 stars 7/22/2014 by PJfromMT
by PJfromMT

This pan performed as admirably as a cast iron pan should. It got hot quickly and the items that it was used for (steaks and hamburgers) got great grill marks and seared beautifully. It went into the oven and did a great job at continuing to cook the meat. The only thing that is a negative is its weight. It is very heavy. I don't recall my mother's old cast iron skillet being nearly this heavy. I have carpal tunnel, and it exacerbated the pain in my wrist just from its weight. It would be a phenomenal weapon in the event of a burglar! If you can handle the weight, it's an excellent pan.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PJfromMT
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews