Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 191 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

191 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

191 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
149
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 174 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
Good Cast Iron
3/22/2013

Customer review by GentleHarleyMan

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by GentleHarleyMan
by GentleHarleyMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Big fan of cast iron and this is one of the best. Used and treated correctly it rivals the best non-stick out there. This one cane seasoned well and ready to use. Another good product from Lodge.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GentleHarleyMan
Centerville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A time saver
12/12/2008

Customer review by JayinSD

5.0 stars 12/12/2008 by JayinSD
by JayinSD

This griddle is so convenient. I keep it in my oven so I can get at it quickly to cook eggs, quesadillas, bacon, or things I want to warm up. Cast iron cookware is so convenient and easy to clean..especially after it has been properly seasoned. The product came seasoned but its best to add a season before your first use. To season, using vegetable shortening (preferred) or vegetable oil, rub a thin film all over the griddle. Place in a 350 degree oven for an hour. Afterwards, always using a little olive oil (or other oil or bacon grease) to cook with. After the griddle cools, use hot water and a plastic scrub brush to clean griddle. Wipe excess water off griddle. Place on a burner for about 30 secs to help burn off excess moisture. As I mentioned earlier, I keep my griddle in the oven, so if I even need to re-season (which should be done about once a year), I just put a little shortening on it and let it bake with whatever else I am cooking in the oven. You can also take this camping or on your barbecue grill cause it can take the heat. I strongly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (96) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayinSD
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great product for the price
10/12/2015

Customer review by Lorrie

5.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Lorrie
by Lorrie

I needed to replace an old cast aluminum griddle pan that had a lost handle and was starting to warp. I use it for heating tortillas, making quesadillas, making pancakes, searing meat, cooking scrambled eggs..... I gave it a gentle wash out of the box and rubbed it with olive oil and kosher salt, then heated it to very hot on the stove and let it cool before rubbing off the oil and salt with a paper towel. I've used it several times this week, and it is flawless, nonstick, and cleans up beautifully with a plastic scrubbie and a drop of soap. Make sure you dry this off immediately after washing because it will rust very quickly. If you get a spot of rust here and there, just rub some oil on it and leave it. It will seal up and be fine after cooking on it again. After you use this pan for a few weeks, the oils of cooking will get nicely set, and you will have no problems with rust. THIS PRODUCT IS MADE IN AMERICA BY A COMPANY THAT YOU CAN TRUST TO USE HEALTHY METALS.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lorrie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One basic piece for the kitchen
10/21/2015

Customer review by GreatGazoo

5.0 stars 10/21/2015 by GreatGazoo
by GreatGazoo

If you are not used to cast iron it is different. Lodge does pre-season as do many others, but it never hurts to season it yourself. It isn't hard to do. Break it in with bacon. Is there any real reason to use bacon? Yea, a day without bacon is, well, just sad. It is about as inexpensive of a piece as Lodge makes, fairly lightweight and is a good one to learn cast iron cooking on. I use my like most people do I guess, pancakes, quesadillas, grilled cheese, salmon and boudin patties, etc. I had mine back in electric glass-top stove days and it worked well but it really likes my gas stovetop the best. They are just about indestructible. About the only way you can hurt it is using dish soap/detergent on it. Oh, extra thick hickory bacon is best. It really doesn't have much to do with the pan, but hey, it's bacon! Oh, I was just wondering like have you ever, I'm not suggesting you do this but, have you ever taken a day-old biscuit, split it and put it face down in that fresh bacon grease (not too much - just enough toast it)? This pan is good for that.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatGazoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Griddle
10/28/2009

Customer review by Shimmering7

5.0 stars 10/28/2009 by Shimmering7
by Shimmering7

This is a great product fro anything you want to use a griddle for. I bought one from store for making indian pancakes (dosas), like it so much that I went to get another one. Couldn't find it at a store near me so got it using the ship-to-store feature(a really excellent feature I might add). Well from since then there has been no stopping me.......lol. Not really but I have been using the secound one for everything from omelets to making burgers. Yes I have been using this griddle to flip my own home made patties and its excellent. It heats up evenly and when added the right amount of oil it gives that perfect crust. Well I might be over board with it...but honestly it is sooo much better than non-stick seriously....I am a fan.

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shimmering7
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love all Cast Iron
7/22/2016

Customer review by Minnieover60

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Minnieover60
by Minnieover60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Lodge is the best cast iron, best quality. It heats faster & stays hot longer. Needed a griddle & this one is great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Minnieover60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Packaging
7/9/2016

Customer review by DebbieC

4.0 stars 7/9/2016 by DebbieC
by DebbieC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The griddle is fine. The package it was delivered in was torn open and the handle and part of the griddle were sticking out of the box and exposed. Somewhere along the shipping path it was mistreated, yet no message about shipping box destruction appeared with the delivery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebbieC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pan
10/31/2011

Customer review by vip15

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by vip15
by vip15

It is a very great pan for making Chapathi's and Indian pancakes(Dosa).Earlier i was using non stick pans and fed up with the peeling of non stick coating .After hearing about this pan,i thought to give it a try .It works out amazingly.Very happy.No problem in making chapathi's. Some times Indian pancake(Dosa) is sticking to pan.A tip which i tried is and which works out well is,Before making Indian pancake(dosa) cut the onion and scrub the pan and then prepare. And am pretty sure u will get crispy ones. Worth buy!!

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vip15
Tampa,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great griddle for side burner.
5/9/2016

Customer review by YoTech

5.0 stars 5/9/2016 by YoTech
by YoTech

I use this with a gas grill and I put it on the side burner. It is cast iron so it needs to be seasoned before the first use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YoTech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Frying pan
6/17/2016

Customer review by ALIFUNT

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by ALIFUNT
by ALIFUNT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The pan works just fine, it's heavy for me but it's great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALIFUNT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
1/6/2014

Customer review by sril

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by sril
by sril
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is my second one in two months, works excellent for indian pancakes , rotis. I want to have an extra one in hand, hence got the second one. Its better than the non stick ones. works like a charm on my smooth top , cooks in half the time . You will not go wrong in buying this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sril
fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cast iron griddle
1/10/2016

Customer review by MikeQ

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by MikeQ
by MikeQ

Being hispanic and warming torrillas on the stove was a real chore with the light weight grilleds to me understand to me this one retains the heat and I do not have to have the griddle as high as possible to cook the torrilla I say that because many people think they know how to cook a torrilla but it has to be cooked evenly and the grease that is seen thru the torrilla has to be cooked if you will has to cook before eaten this is why I like this cast iron it carry's its weight evenly so it cooks items evenly.....an quick once its heated up ...my opinion of course I let people others eat they way they want.....now I wasn't trying to be rude so I hope I did not offend anybody...thx

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeQ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is just what I needed.
6/3/2016

Customer review by galet

5.0 stars 6/3/2016 by galet
by galet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would recommend this to anyone who is warming a pizza or griddle for pancakes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
galet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Griddle!
3/12/2016

Customer review by minky22

5.0 stars 3/12/2016 by minky22
by minky22

This is our very first piece of cast iron cookware, and we're hooked! It heats up quickly and stays hot for a LONG time even after turning off the burner or oven. We have a glass top stove, so I wasn't sure how it would work, but it's great! Oh, if you make pizza, use this griddle as a pizza pan! It works better than our pizza stone, hand's down. It's a bit heavy, so we do have to be careful not to drag it across the glass stove top, but not a deal breaker. After doing a lot of research, I feel good about this purchase, b/c it seems to be the only cast iron cookware made in the USA! It also was the ONLY brand we could find that did not have carcinogen warnings on other sites. Pretty shocking. If you're considering getting this, go for it. We use it all the time, so much that it earned a permanent spot on the stove!

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
minky22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I use this griddle daily
9/29/2011

Customer review by mrblueu

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by mrblueu
by mrblueu
Top 10 contributor

I use this griddle by 'Lodge' more than any other cast iron or pans I have. Often, I use it more than once per day. One thing to remember is, you must use your cast iron cookware in order for it to get better and less 'sticky'. The more you use it, the more seasoned it becomes and the less food will stick. This griddle gets a good workout at my house. Don't think you must grease the cast iron and turn it upside down in the oven every day. You don't! Lodge cast iron cookware comes pre-seasoned. All I do after washing is dry it with a paper towel, rub the inside down good with crisco shortening, put it on the eye of the stove on low for about one or two minutes, let it cool and put it away. About once a year, grease the entire pan and put it inside the oven as the instructions state...but you really don't have to do this any more than once a year.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrblueu
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 10 contributor
Excellent purchase!
5/20/2016

Customer review by Oldiebutgoodie

5.0 stars 5/20/2016 by Oldiebutgoodie
by Oldiebutgoodie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this cast iron griddle because I have a pet bird and cannot use non-stick cookware. Cast iron is not non-stick, however, if properly cared for (season with oil before using the first time and after each cleansing with plain water or mild soapy water; use extra oil for cooking for first few uses, NEVER soak it or place in dishwasher) there are few sticking problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldiebutgoodie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lodge Cast Iron Griddle
1/2/2014

Customer review by Aislyn

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Aislyn
by Aislyn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought this griddle would be a little larger but at 10 1/2 inches, it should make a lot of pancakes at once. Have been collecting different sizes of Lodge for a few years now and have no complaints. the product in USA made, it is strong and will last years and years. If you are campers, you can not ask for better cookware if you are home bodies like me, just having non breakable, last forever cookware is very appealing. Am still watching for some sales on other pieces of Lodge to complete my set. Very happy with all!! Thanks, Aislyn

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aislyn
Amarillo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
10/22/2007

Customer review by johng

5.0 stars 10/22/2007 by johng
by johng

I recently started using cast iron products (after tired of buying non stick pans) and was searching for a round griddle. This is the right size and not very heavy, compared to the other cast iron skillets/pans I am using. It is a very good buy for this price and I love using it everyday.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johng
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Iron Griddle
2/28/2012

Customer review by snr8482

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by snr8482
by snr8482

It makes excellent pan cakes and indian rotis. Those are the main things I used this for. I love the fact that it gets heated quickly cooks excellent foods. I can see the difference making them on non stick griddle vs Iron one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snr8482
Fairfax, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great griddle and omelet pan!
11/14/2011

Customer review by MKinOhio

5.0 stars 11/14/2011 by MKinOhio
by MKinOhio

I recently decided to get rid of all my non-stick cookware and needed to replace a square Calphalon non-stick griddle. Having picky children that could use some more iron in their diet, I decided to go with cast iron. I love this griddle! It comes preseasoned, but I have seasoned it with shortening in a 475 degree oven for an hour several times. I cook on it daily. My buttermilk pancakes are coming out great, and it is terrific for crepe-like two egg omelets. I let the eggs get about set, then put the filling down the middle and when the egg is ready gently fold each side onto the middle. Check out youtube for a good video on making omelets this way on this pan. I've never had a better tasting omelet. I make sure to preheat the griddle on my ceramic cooktop for about 7 minutes on setting 4 [out of 10] before spraying the pan with olive oil spray and adding my eggs or pancakes. Having a hot pan lightly sprayed with oil is really important to avoid sticking. Cleanup is easy. If food does stick, which is rare now, I just run hot water over the pan and scrub it with a stiff brush, no soap. If no food is stuck, I just wipe it out with a damp paper towel. Either way I then put the pan back on the still-warm burner to dry for a few minutes, then wipe on a thin layer of olive oil or shortening to reseason and protect from rust. Really easy cleanup. The very small lip of this griddle holds in liquids while not adding much to the weight of the pan, and leaves a large cooking surface. I highly recommend this griddle.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MKinOhio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews