Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 199 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

199 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

199 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
156
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 182 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 182 total reviews
1-20 of 182 reviews
Good Cast Iron
3/22/2013

Customer review by GentleHarleyMan

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by GentleHarleyMan
by GentleHarleyMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Big fan of cast iron and this is one of the best. Used and treated correctly it rivals the best non-stick out there. This one cane seasoned well and ready to use. Another good product from Lodge.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GentleHarleyMan
Centerville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A time saver
12/12/2008

Customer review by JayinSD

5.0 stars 12/12/2008 by JayinSD
by JayinSD

This griddle is so convenient. I keep it in my oven so I can get at it quickly to cook eggs, quesadillas, bacon, or things I want to warm up. Cast iron cookware is so convenient and easy to clean..especially after it has been properly seasoned. The product came seasoned but its best to add a season before your first use. To season, using vegetable shortening (preferred) or vegetable oil, rub a thin film all over the griddle. Place in a 350 degree oven for an hour. Afterwards, always using a little olive oil (or other oil or bacon grease) to cook with. After the griddle cools, use hot water and a plastic scrub brush to clean griddle. Wipe excess water off griddle. Place on a burner for about 30 secs to help burn off excess moisture. As I mentioned earlier, I keep my griddle in the oven, so if I even need to re-season (which should be done about once a year), I just put a little shortening on it and let it bake with whatever else I am cooking in the oven. You can also take this camping or on your barbecue grill cause it can take the heat. I strongly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (116) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayinSD
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great product for the price
10/12/2015

Customer review by Lorrie

5.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Lorrie
by Lorrie

I needed to replace an old cast aluminum griddle pan that had a lost handle and was starting to warp. I use it for heating tortillas, making quesadillas, making pancakes, searing meat, cooking scrambled eggs..... I gave it a gentle wash out of the box and rubbed it with olive oil and kosher salt, then heated it to very hot on the stove and let it cool before rubbing off the oil and salt with a paper towel. I've used it several times this week, and it is flawless, nonstick, and cleans up beautifully with a plastic scrubbie and a drop of soap. Make sure you dry this off immediately after washing because it will rust very quickly. If you get a spot of rust here and there, just rub some oil on it and leave it. It will seal up and be fine after cooking on it again. After you use this pan for a few weeks, the oils of cooking will get nicely set, and you will have no problems with rust. THIS PRODUCT IS MADE IN AMERICA BY A COMPANY THAT YOU CAN TRUST TO USE HEALTHY METALS.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lorrie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One basic piece for the kitchen
10/21/2015

Customer review by GreatGazoo

5.0 stars 10/21/2015 by GreatGazoo
by GreatGazoo

If you are not used to cast iron it is different. Lodge does pre-season as do many others, but it never hurts to season it yourself. It isn't hard to do. Break it in with bacon. Is there any real reason to use bacon? Yea, a day without bacon is, well, just sad. It is about as inexpensive of a piece as Lodge makes, fairly lightweight and is a good one to learn cast iron cooking on. I use my like most people do I guess, pancakes, quesadillas, grilled cheese, salmon and boudin patties, etc. I had mine back in electric glass-top stove days and it worked well but it really likes my gas stovetop the best. They are just about indestructible. About the only way you can hurt it is using dish soap/detergent on it. Oh, extra thick hickory bacon is best. It really doesn't have much to do with the pan, but hey, it's bacon! Oh, I was just wondering like have you ever, I'm not suggesting you do this but, have you ever taken a day-old biscuit, split it and put it face down in that fresh bacon grease (not too much - just enough toast it)? This pan is good for that.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatGazoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Griddle
10/28/2009

Customer review by Shimmering7

5.0 stars 10/28/2009 by Shimmering7
by Shimmering7

This is a great product fro anything you want to use a griddle for. I bought one from store for making indian pancakes (dosas), like it so much that I went to get another one. Couldn't find it at a store near me so got it using the ship-to-store feature(a really excellent feature I might add). Well from since then there has been no stopping me.......lol. Not really but I have been using the secound one for everything from omelets to making burgers. Yes I have been using this griddle to flip my own home made patties and its excellent. It heats up evenly and when added the right amount of oil it gives that perfect crust. Well I might be over board with it...but honestly it is sooo much better than non-stick seriously....I am a fan.

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shimmering7
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Made in the USA
12/23/2016

Customer review by IMHO

3.0 stars 12/23/2016 by IMHO
by IMHO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pre-seasoning not good at all and it's hard to season with the rough surface. But if you don't mind taking the time to season it 5-6 times then it works great. Plus it's the only cast iron made in the USA and it is a higher quality than the other brands

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IMHO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than ceramic or teflon.
2/5/2017

Customer review by Dave

5.0 stars 2/5/2017 by Dave
by Dave

This was my first piece of cast iron cookware and it's great. The pre-seasoning is good and I've had almost no sticking problems with it. Technically, a new teflon or ceramic pan would be even more non-stick at first, but getting them to stay that way can be difficult. With this as long as you don't use soap the seasoning will just get better and better. Mine hasn't left my stove since I got it home. I just wipe it off with a damp paper towel after use and it's fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it was a gift to some one but i like it
12/22/2016

Customer review by Skooby

5.0 stars 12/22/2016 by Skooby
by Skooby
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

kjhgfdsa

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skooby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great skillet
12/14/2016

Customer review by grandmachicken55

5.0 stars 12/14/2016 by grandmachicken55
by grandmachicken55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice even heating and virtually nonstick. I have several lodge skillets and they always perform well!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandmachicken55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pan
10/31/2011

Customer review by vip15

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by vip15
by vip15

It is a very great pan for making Chapathi's and Indian pancakes(Dosa).Earlier i was using non stick pans and fed up with the peeling of non stick coating .After hearing about this pan,i thought to give it a try .It works out amazingly.Very happy.No problem in making chapathi's. Some times Indian pancake(Dosa) is sticking to pan.A tip which i tried is and which works out well is,Before making Indian pancake(dosa) cut the onion and scrub the pan and then prepare. And am pretty sure u will get crispy ones. Worth buy!!

Was this review helpful? (37) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vip15
Tampa,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lodge Cast Iron Griddle
1/2/2014

Customer review by Aislyn

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Aislyn
by Aislyn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought this griddle would be a little larger but at 10 1/2 inches, it should make a lot of pancakes at once. Have been collecting different sizes of Lodge for a few years now and have no complaints. the product in USA made, it is strong and will last years and years. If you are campers, you can not ask for better cookware if you are home bodies like me, just having non breakable, last forever cookware is very appealing. Am still watching for some sales on other pieces of Lodge to complete my set. Very happy with all!! Thanks, Aislyn

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aislyn
Amarillo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Kitchen Essential
1/15/2017

Customer review by CRNPBC

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by CRNPBC
by CRNPBC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is perfect for flat bread, pancakes, naan etc Heats up and cooks very quickly so be prepared It can used in house, camping or grill Wash by hands and wipe dry for best maintenance

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CRNPBC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Iron Griddle
2/28/2012

Customer review by snr8482

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by snr8482
by snr8482

It makes excellent pan cakes and indian rotis. Those are the main things I used this for. I love the fact that it gets heated quickly cooks excellent foods. I can see the difference making them on non stick griddle vs Iron one.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snr8482
Fairfax, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great griddle and omelet pan!
11/14/2011

Customer review by MKinOhio

5.0 stars 11/14/2011 by MKinOhio
by MKinOhio

I recently decided to get rid of all my non-stick cookware and needed to replace a square Calphalon non-stick griddle. Having picky children that could use some more iron in their diet, I decided to go with cast iron. I love this griddle! It comes preseasoned, but I have seasoned it with shortening in a 475 degree oven for an hour several times. I cook on it daily. My buttermilk pancakes are coming out great, and it is terrific for crepe-like two egg omelets. I let the eggs get about set, then put the filling down the middle and when the egg is ready gently fold each side onto the middle. Check out youtube for a good video on making omelets this way on this pan. I've never had a better tasting omelet. I make sure to preheat the griddle on my ceramic cooktop for about 7 minutes on setting 4 [out of 10] before spraying the pan with olive oil spray and adding my eggs or pancakes. Having a hot pan lightly sprayed with oil is really important to avoid sticking. Cleanup is easy. If food does stick, which is rare now, I just run hot water over the pan and scrub it with a stiff brush, no soap. If no food is stuck, I just wipe it out with a damp paper towel. Either way I then put the pan back on the still-warm burner to dry for a few minutes, then wipe on a thin layer of olive oil or shortening to reseason and protect from rust. Really easy cleanup. The very small lip of this griddle holds in liquids while not adding much to the weight of the pan, and leaves a large cooking surface. I highly recommend this griddle.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MKinOhio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent
1/6/2014

Customer review by sril

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by sril
by sril
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is my second one in two months, works excellent for indian pancakes , rotis. I want to have an extra one in hand, hence got the second one. Its better than the non stick ones. works like a charm on my smooth top , cooks in half the time . You will not go wrong in buying this.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sril
fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
10/22/2007

Customer review by johng

5.0 stars 10/22/2007 by johng
by johng

I recently started using cast iron products (after tired of buying non stick pans) and was searching for a round griddle. This is the right size and not very heavy, compared to the other cast iron skillets/pans I am using. It is a very good buy for this price and I love using it everyday.

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johng
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful
12/24/2011

Customer review by mst80

5.0 stars 12/24/2011 by mst80
by mst80

I bought this since I was trying to go away from non stick. I have to say, this really exceeded my expectations. I use to make Indian crepes, so I don't end up washing everyday. If you do wash it everyday (even thought some manufacturers warn you against it), just wipe it dry and season with oil. Heats evenly and cooks well. Only thing though, since it is cast iron, it is heavy. If you are expecting something light, this one is not for you. Also, since it gets hot pretty fairly and quickly, use a mitt to touch the handle. Overall, this is wonderful and preseason is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mst80
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
I use this griddle daily
9/29/2011

Customer review by mrblueu

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by mrblueu
by mrblueu
Top 10 contributor

I use this griddle by 'Lodge' more than any other cast iron or pans I have. Often, I use it more than once per day. One thing to remember is, you must use your cast iron cookware in order for it to get better and less 'sticky'. The more you use it, the more seasoned it becomes and the less food will stick. This griddle gets a good workout at my house. Don't think you must grease the cast iron and turn it upside down in the oven every day. You don't! Lodge cast iron cookware comes pre-seasoned. All I do after washing is dry it with a paper towel, rub the inside down good with crisco shortening, put it on the eye of the stove on low for about one or two minutes, let it cool and put it away. About once a year, grease the entire pan and put it inside the oven as the instructions state...but you really don't have to do this any more than once a year.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrblueu
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 10 contributor
GOOD FOR PANCAKES,INDIAN BREAD PARANTHA AND PIZZA
3/8/2013

Customer review by sivam

4.0 stars 3/8/2013 by sivam
by sivam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I GOT THIS GRIDDLE PAN.GOOD PRICE FOR A VERY VERY HEAVY CAST IRON GRIDDLE. I MADE PANCAKES AND ALSO OVEN PIZZA. THE TRICK IS TO ADJUST MED-LOW HEAT FOR CREPES,PANCAKES,DOSA . FOR PIZZA ITS VERY EZ PAN FOR PAN CRUST PIZZA. FOR READY MADE NAAN OR PITA PIZZA MED-HIGH SIM FLAME AND VERY GOOD FOR ANY ROTI OR PARANTHA. DOWNSIDE---- VERY VERY HEAVY PAN TO USE AND ALSO THE HANDLE GETS VERY HOT SO BE CAREFUL.USE SILICONE HANDLES OR SMALL OVEN MITT TO HANDLE. ENJOY.......................

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sivam
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good one for the price
1/21/2012

Customer review by Priyagopal

4.0 stars 1/21/2012 by Priyagopal
by Priyagopal

I bought this so I can make some chapati on it everyday and intake some iron from it! but gave only 4 stars as it it is not pre-seasoned. Would have been 5 stars if it was pre-seasoned. Heats up evenly and does a good job in making chapatis!

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Priyagopal
Gaithersburg, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 182 total reviews
1-20 of 182 reviews