Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 147 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

147 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

147 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
115
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 130 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
A time saver
12/12/2008

Customer review by JayinSD

5.0 stars 12/12/2008 by JayinSD
by JayinSD

This griddle is so convenient. I keep it in my oven so I can get at it quickly to cook eggs, quesadillas, bacon, or things I want to warm up. Cast iron cookware is so convenient and easy to clean..especially after it has been properly seasoned. The product came seasoned but its best to add a season before your first use. To season, using vegetable shortening (preferred) or vegetable oil, rub a thin film all over the griddle. Place in a 350 degree oven for an hour. Afterwards, always using a little olive oil (or other oil or bacon grease) to cook with. After the griddle cools, use hot water and a plastic scrub brush to clean griddle. Wipe excess water off griddle. Place on a burner for about 30 secs to help burn off excess moisture. As I mentioned earlier, I keep my griddle in the oven, so if I even need to re-season (which should be done about once a year), I just put a little shortening on it and let it bake with whatever else I am cooking in the oven. You can also take this camping or on your barbecue grill cause it can take the heat. I strongly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (72) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayinSD
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Griddle
10/28/2009

Customer review by Shimmering7

5.0 stars 10/28/2009 by Shimmering7
by Shimmering7

This is a great product fro anything you want to use a griddle for. I bought one from store for making indian pancakes (dosas), like it so much that I went to get another one. Couldn't find it at a store near me so got it using the ship-to-store feature(a really excellent feature I might add). Well from since then there has been no stopping me.......lol. Not really but I have been using the secound one for everything from omelets to making burgers. Yes I have been using this griddle to flip my own home made patties and its excellent. It heats up evenly and when added the right amount of oil it gives that perfect crust. Well I might be over board with it...but honestly it is sooo much better than non-stick seriously....I am a fan.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shimmering7
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product
10/22/2007

Customer review by johng

5.0 stars 10/22/2007 by johng
by johng

I recently started using cast iron products (after tired of buying non stick pans) and was searching for a round griddle. This is the right size and not very heavy, compared to the other cast iron skillets/pans I am using. It is a very good buy for this price and I love using it everyday.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johng
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great pan
10/31/2011

Customer review by vip15

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by vip15
by vip15

It is a very great pan for making Chapathi's and Indian pancakes(Dosa).Earlier i was using non stick pans and fed up with the peeling of non stick coating .After hearing about this pan,i thought to give it a try .It works out amazingly.Very happy.No problem in making chapathi's. Some times Indian pancake(Dosa) is sticking to pan.A tip which i tried is and which works out well is,Before making Indian pancake(dosa) cut the onion and scrub the pan and then prepare. And am pretty sure u will get crispy ones. Worth buy!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vip15
Tampa,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful
12/24/2011

Customer review by mst80

5.0 stars 12/24/2011 by mst80
by mst80

I bought this since I was trying to go away from non stick. I have to say, this really exceeded my expectations. I use to make Indian crepes, so I don't end up washing everyday. If you do wash it everyday (even thought some manufacturers warn you against it), just wipe it dry and season with oil. Heats evenly and cooks well. Only thing though, since it is cast iron, it is heavy. If you are expecting something light, this one is not for you. Also, since it gets hot pretty fairly and quickly, use a mitt to touch the handle. Overall, this is wonderful and preseason is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mst80
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Good Cast Iron
3/22/2013

Customer review by GentleHarleyMan

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by GentleHarleyMan
by GentleHarleyMan

Big fan of cast iron and this is one of the best. Used and treated correctly it rivals the best non-stick out there. This one cane seasoned well and ready to use. Another good product from Lodge.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GentleHarleyMan
Centerville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great griddle and omelet pan!
11/14/2011

Customer review by MKinOhio

5.0 stars 11/14/2011 by MKinOhio
by MKinOhio

I recently decided to get rid of all my non-stick cookware and needed to replace a square Calphalon non-stick griddle. Having picky children that could use some more iron in their diet, I decided to go with cast iron. I love this griddle! It comes preseasoned, but I have seasoned it with shortening in a 475 degree oven for an hour several times. I cook on it daily. My buttermilk pancakes are coming out great, and it is terrific for crepe-like two egg omelets. I let the eggs get about set, then put the filling down the middle and when the egg is ready gently fold each side onto the middle. Check out youtube for a good video on making omelets this way on this pan. I've never had a better tasting omelet. I make sure to preheat the griddle on my ceramic cooktop for about 7 minutes on setting 4 [out of 10] before spraying the pan with olive oil spray and adding my eggs or pancakes. Having a hot pan lightly sprayed with oil is really important to avoid sticking. Cleanup is easy. If food does stick, which is rare now, I just run hot water over the pan and scrub it with a stiff brush, no soap. If no food is stuck, I just wipe it out with a damp paper towel. Either way I then put the pan back on the still-warm burner to dry for a few minutes, then wipe on a thin layer of olive oil or shortening to reseason and protect from rust. Really easy cleanup. The very small lip of this griddle holds in liquids while not adding much to the weight of the pan, and leaves a large cooking surface. I highly recommend this griddle.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MKinOhio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Iron Griddle
2/28/2012

Customer review by snr8482

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by snr8482
by snr8482

It makes excellent pan cakes and indian rotis. Those are the main things I used this for. I love the fact that it gets heated quickly cooks excellent foods. I can see the difference making them on non stick griddle vs Iron one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snr8482
Fairfax, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good one for the price
1/21/2012

Customer review by Priyagopal

4.0 stars 1/21/2012 by Priyagopal
by Priyagopal

I bought this so I can make some chapati on it everyday and intake some iron from it! but gave only 4 stars as it it is not pre-seasoned. Would have been 5 stars if it was pre-seasoned. Heats up evenly and does a good job in making chapatis!

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Priyagopal
Gaithersburg, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent
1/6/2014

Customer review by sril

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by sril
by sril

this is my second one in two months, works excellent for indian pancakes , rotis. I want to have an extra one in hand, hence got the second one. Its better than the non stick ones. works like a charm on my smooth top , cooks in half the time . You will not go wrong in buying this.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sril
fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD FOR PANCAKES,INDIAN BREAD PARANTHA AND PIZZA
3/8/2013

Customer review by sivam

4.0 stars 3/8/2013 by sivam
by sivam

I GOT THIS GRIDDLE PAN.GOOD PRICE FOR A VERY VERY HEAVY CAST IRON GRIDDLE. I MADE PANCAKES AND ALSO OVEN PIZZA. THE TRICK IS TO ADJUST MED-LOW HEAT FOR CREPES,PANCAKES,DOSA . FOR PIZZA ITS VERY EZ PAN FOR PAN CRUST PIZZA. FOR READY MADE NAAN OR PITA PIZZA MED-HIGH SIM FLAME AND VERY GOOD FOR ANY ROTI OR PARANTHA. DOWNSIDE---- VERY VERY HEAVY PAN TO USE AND ALSO THE HANDLE GETS VERY HOT SO BE CAREFUL.USE SILICONE HANDLES OR SMALL OVEN MITT TO HANDLE. ENJOY.......................

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sivam
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great
1/31/2011

Customer review by Countymayo3

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Countymayo3
by Countymayo3

This is my second lodge Griddle, my daughter talked me out of my first one, in buying the second one, first thing I did was sandpaper the cooking area down to a glass finish and season the griddle, did this with the frist one - one great giddle.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Countymayo3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great value
7/15/2009

Customer review by classicrockgriller

5.0 stars 7/15/2009 by classicrockgriller
by classicrockgriller

I actually bought this for the deer camp for use during hunting season, so therefore I have not used it, but we have Lodge castiron at our camp and it is great. Walmarts price was great and the site to store was a smooth transaction. thanks

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
classicrockgriller
Livingston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Cast Iron Products
12/10/2011

Customer review by Luvhappiness

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by Luvhappiness
by Luvhappiness

I purchased this product, because I was tired of spend money (purchasing top dollar cookware, or so they claimed) on new dishes every 2-3 years and decided to go back to the old school style of cast iron (what grandmother used) because I knew they would last a lifetime with proper care and seasoning. I decided to try it as soon as I made it home, fried a few pieces of bacon. I'm sure that helped with seasoning the pan as well. The food cooked evenly and I am very impressed. I plan to buy more pieces, so far I have a total of five.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luvhappiness
STL, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lodge Cast Iron Griddle
1/2/2014

Customer review by Aislyn

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Aislyn
by Aislyn

I thought this griddle would be a little larger but at 10 1/2 inches, it should make a lot of pancakes at once. Have been collecting different sizes of Lodge for a few years now and have no complaints. the product in USA made, it is strong and will last years and years. If you are campers, you can not ask for better cookware if you are home bodies like me, just having non breakable, last forever cookware is very appealing. Am still watching for some sales on other pieces of Lodge to complete my set. Very happy with all!! Thanks, Aislyn

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aislyn
Amarillo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will last a life-time !!
11/22/2008

Customer review by AppleTree

5.0 stars 11/22/2008 by AppleTree
by AppleTree

American made and extremely high quality. It will never wear out with proper care.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AppleTree
Somewhere, Georgia USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
perfect size
2/28/2014

Customer review by metallica12

5.0 stars 2/28/2014 by metallica12
by metallica12

Love it! It's the perfect size for bacon and eggs for my family and cooked super fast!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
metallica12
Watertown NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I use this griddle daily
9/29/2011

Customer review by mrblueu

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by mrblueu
by mrblueu

I use this griddle by 'Lodge' more than any other cast iron or pans I have. Often, I use it more than once per day. One thing to remember is, you must use your cast iron cookware in order for it to get better and less 'sticky'. The more you use it, the more seasoned it becomes and the less food will stick. This griddle gets a good workout at my house. Don't think you must grease the cast iron and turn it upside down in the oven every day. You don't! Lodge cast iron cookware comes pre-seasoned. All I do after washing is dry it with a paper towel, rub the inside down good with crisco shortening, put it on the eye of the stove on low for about one or two minutes, let it cool and put it away. About once a year, grease the entire pan and put it inside the oven as the instructions state...but you really don't have to do this any more than once a year.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrblueu
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 25 contributor
Fantastic Griddle at a Stunningly low price!
12/16/2013

Customer review by goode2shoes

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by goode2shoes
by goode2shoes

I have owned 2 pieces of cast iron cookware for the past 20 years and with time have built up very nice seasoning on both pieces after years of love, devotion, care and yes a little abuse. Lodge cast iron cookware can handle anything and everything. This griddle came with a manufacturer's pre-seasoning that was such a wonderful delight and such a bonus! The first thing I cooked on my griddle was pancakes. There is truly no comparison with the non-stick flat plate griddle and the cast iron griddle. There are a few steps to keep your Lodge cast iron clean and with time to make your griddle a truly non stick seasoned piece of cookware: 1. Do NOT start out on high temperature! Start each use with warming your cast iron on low and build up the cooking temperature. You will find that with cast iron cookware that you will be turning down the temperature on your stove because once the cast iron cookware is heated it is an all inclusive even heated cooking surface and will retain/maintain heat for a even cooking experience and joy. 2. After each use, set your cast iron cookware to the side and let it cool off a bit, then wipe out the cast iron with paper towels, rinse with warm to hot water and while scrubbing with a nylon brush, dry with paper towels, put your cast iron cookware on the stove top and turn on the eye on low, let the cast iron dry out over the flame/eye. When you can drop a few drops of water on the cast iron cookware and the water sizzles and disappears quickly, then it is time to turn off the eye/flame and with a paper towel season your cookware with Crisco or oil, your cookware on the inside, rim, outside and on the handle. Set the cast iron cookware to the side and let it cool down to room temperature. 3. If for some reason you have a build up of food / gunk in or on your cast iron cookware, here is a quick and easy way to get it clean. Warm your cast iron cookware on low, put a 1/4 cup of oil in the cookware along with about 1/2 cup of kosher salt (to make a slurry). Take your cast iron cookware off the stove and place on your working service or inside a ribbed cookie sheet and with a wad of paper towels scrub your cookware with the oil/kosher salt slurry. The oil lubricates the cast iron and the kosher salt acts as an abrasive cleaner (I have used tongs to hold the paper towels so I don't get burned by the heated oil slurry). I typically wipe out the slurry onto my cookie sheet (in case the cookware isn't clean enough - I can re-use the slurry), then take the cast iron cookware to the sink and with a nylon brush and hot water, clean the cookware. If all the gunk is gone, then dry the cookware and follow step 2 to season the cookware. I look forward to many years of enjoyment out of this piece of cookware!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goode2shoes
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Packaging lacking
11/19/2014

Customer review by OIYDC

4.0 stars 11/19/2014 by OIYDC
by OIYDC

This was sent in a larger box with another CI skillet only padded with twisted brown paper. They were rattling around and sounded broken. Thankfully they were both fine. The protection is the reason I gave a 4 star. At least I could have returned them to the Wal-Mart store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OIYDC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews