Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 203 reviews
5 stars
159
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
Sort by: 
1-20 of 186 reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews
Good Cast Iron
3/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Big fan of cast iron and this is one of the best. Used and treated correctly it rivals the best non-stick out there. This one cane seasoned well and ready to use. Another good product from Lodge.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love this griddle! Hooked on Lodge cast iron
10/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love that this company is so accessible with great information and videos. I'm absolutely hooked on cast iron after buying this griddle. My next Lodge item will be the deep, bigger skillet. I am newly low-fat vegan, and needed a way to heat/grill things on the stove without oil, and without worrying about scraping some scary coating on non-stick pans into my food. This was the problem I was having using my old non-stick pans without oil. I tried cooking something kind of wet on this griddle and left it overnight without taking care of it, and there was a little rust on it the next day. I had watched the video, so knew I should just scrub it with a Brillo pad, which I keep on hand, and voila! I didn't even bother to season it afterwards, and it's still working great without a new seasoning job. I remember cooking with cast iron way back in the 1970's. I'd forgotten how great it is. I'm totally hooked. Can't wait to save up for my next one - and the prices here are incredible. I'm a very happy camper.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A time saver
12/12/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This griddle is so convenient. I keep it in my oven so I can get at it quickly to cook eggs, quesadillas, bacon, or things I want to warm up. Cast iron cookware is so convenient and easy to clean..especially after it has been properly seasoned. The product came seasoned but its best to add a season before your first use. To season, using vegetable shortening (preferred) or vegetable oil, rub a thin film all over the griddle. Place in a 350 degree oven for an hour. Afterwards, always using a little olive oil (or other oil or bacon grease) to cook with. After the griddle cools, use hot water and a plastic scrub brush to clean griddle. Wipe excess water off griddle. Place on a burner for about 30 secs to help burn off excess moisture. As I mentioned earlier, I keep my griddle in the oven, so if I even need to re-season (which should be done about once a year), I just put a little shortening on it and let it bake with whatever else I am cooking in the oven. You can also take this camping or on your barbecue grill cause it can take the heat. I strongly recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (122)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for the price
10/12/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I needed to replace an old cast aluminum griddle pan that had a lost handle and was starting to warp. I use it for heating tortillas, making quesadillas, making pancakes, searing meat, cooking scrambled eggs..... I gave it a gentle wash out of the box and rubbed it with olive oil and kosher salt, then heated it to very hot on the stove and let it cool before rubbing off the oil and salt with a paper towel. I've used it several times this week, and it is flawless, nonstick, and cleans up beautifully with a plastic scrubbie and a drop of soap. Make sure you dry this off immediately after washing because it will rust very quickly. If you get a spot of rust here and there, just rub some oil on it and leave it. It will seal up and be fine after cooking on it again. After you use this pan for a few weeks, the oils of cooking will get nicely set, and you will have no problems with rust. THIS PRODUCT IS MADE IN AMERICA BY A COMPANY THAT YOU CAN TRUST TO USE HEALTHY METALS.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
One basic piece for the kitchen
10/21/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you are not used to cast iron it is different. Lodge does pre-season as do many others, but it never hurts to season it yourself. It isn't hard to do. Break it in with bacon. Is there any real reason to use bacon? Yea, a day without bacon is, well, just sad. It is about as inexpensive of a piece as Lodge makes, fairly lightweight and is a good one to learn cast iron cooking on. I use my like most people do I guess, pancakes, quesadillas, grilled cheese, salmon and boudin patties, etc. I had mine back in electric glass-top stove days and it worked well but it really likes my gas stovetop the best. They are just about indestructible. About the only way you can hurt it is using dish soap/detergent on it. Oh, extra thick hickory bacon is best. It really doesn't have much to do with the pan, but hey, it's bacon! Oh, I was just wondering like have you ever, I'm not suggesting you do this but, have you ever taken a day-old biscuit, split it and put it face down in that fresh bacon grease (not too much - just enough toast it)? This pan is good for that.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Griddle
10/28/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great product fro anything you want to use a griddle for. I bought one from store for making indian pancakes (dosas), like it so much that I went to get another one. Couldn't find it at a store near me so got it using the ship-to-store feature(a really excellent feature I might add). Well from since then there has been no stopping me.......lol. Not really but I have been using the secound one for everything from omelets to making burgers. Yes I have been using this griddle to flip my own home made patties and its excellent. It heats up evenly and when added the right amount of oil it gives that perfect crust. Well I might be over board with it...but honestly it is sooo much better than non-stick seriously....I am a fan.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (60)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A great product from Lodge
9/10/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great griddle. I have 2 of these.....they are great for pancakes. Lodge makes very nice, durable cookware. Keep a can of non-stick spray handy and give them a quick spray before cooking. Never had a problem with anything sticking. Great Product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect pan for indian crepes/ dosa or chapati
9/5/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very good quality. A little heavy.. and crepes and pan cakes come out of it without sticking.. do not forget to season it first.. although it is pre seasoned, it's better to season it again. chk out some videos in YouTube and season n then use it ... good value for the money...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent
10/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
100 %
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great pan
10/31/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is a very great pan for making Chapathi's and Indian pancakes(Dosa).Earlier i was using non stick pans and fed up with the peeling of non stick coating .After hearing about this pan,i thought to give it a try .It works out amazingly.Very happy.No problem in making chapathi's. Some times Indian pancake(Dosa) is sticking to pan.A tip which i tried is and which works out well is,Before making Indian pancake(dosa) cut the onion and scrub the pan and then prepare. And am pretty sure u will get crispy ones. Worth buy!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lodge Cast Iron Griddle
1/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I thought this griddle would be a little larger but at 10 1/2 inches, it should make a lot of pancakes at once. Have been collecting different sizes of Lodge for a few years now and have no complaints. the product in USA made, it is strong and will last years and years. If you are campers, you can not ask for better cookware if you are home bodies like me, just having non breakable, last forever cookware is very appealing. Am still watching for some sales on other pieces of Lodge to complete my set. Very happy with all!! Thanks, Aislyn
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than ceramic or teflon.
2/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was my first piece of cast iron cookware and it's great. The pre-seasoning is good and I've had almost no sticking problems with it. Technically, a new teflon or ceramic pan would be even more non-stick at first, but getting them to stay that way can be difficult. With this as long as you don't use soap the seasoning will just get better and better. Mine hasn't left my stove since I got it home. I just wipe it off with a damp paper towel after use and it's fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent
1/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
this is my second one in two months, works excellent for indian pancakes , rotis. I want to have an extra one in hand, hence got the second one. Its better than the non stick ones. works like a charm on my smooth top , cooks in half the time . You will not go wrong in buying this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great griddle and omelet pan!
11/14/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently decided to get rid of all my non-stick cookware and needed to replace a square Calphalon non-stick griddle. Having picky children that could use some more iron in their diet, I decided to go with cast iron. I love this griddle! It comes preseasoned, but I have seasoned it with shortening in a 475 degree oven for an hour several times. I cook on it daily. My buttermilk pancakes are coming out great, and it is terrific for crepe-like two egg omelets. I let the eggs get about set, then put the filling down the middle and when the egg is ready gently fold each side onto the middle. Check out youtube for a good video on making omelets this way on this pan. I've never had a better tasting omelet. I make sure to preheat the griddle on my ceramic cooktop for about 7 minutes on setting 4 [out of 10] before spraying the pan with olive oil spray and adding my eggs or pancakes. Having a hot pan lightly sprayed with oil is really important to avoid sticking. Cleanup is easy. If food does stick, which is rare now, I just run hot water over the pan and scrub it with a stiff brush, no soap. If no food is stuck, I just wipe it out with a damp paper towel. Either way I then put the pan back on the still-warm burner to dry for a few minutes, then wipe on a thin layer of olive oil or shortening to reseason and protect from rust. Really easy cleanup. The very small lip of this griddle holds in liquids while not adding much to the weight of the pan, and leaves a large cooking surface. I highly recommend this griddle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Iron Griddle
2/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It makes excellent pan cakes and indian rotis. Those are the main things I used this for. I love the fact that it gets heated quickly cooks excellent foods. I can see the difference making them on non stick griddle vs Iron one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Product
10/22/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently started using cast iron products (after tired of buying non stick pans) and was searching for a round griddle. This is the right size and not very heavy, compared to the other cast iron skillets/pans I am using. It is a very good buy for this price and I love using it everyday.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful
12/24/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this since I was trying to go away from non stick. I have to say, this really exceeded my expectations. I use to make Indian crepes, so I don't end up washing everyday. If you do wash it everyday (even thought some manufacturers warn you against it), just wipe it dry and season with oil. Heats evenly and cooks well. Only thing though, since it is cast iron, it is heavy. If you are expecting something light, this one is not for you. Also, since it gets hot pretty fairly and quickly, use a mitt to touch the handle. Overall, this is wonderful and preseason is awesome!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GOOD FOR PANCAKES,INDIAN BREAD PARANTHA AND PIZZA
3/8/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I GOT THIS GRIDDLE PAN.GOOD PRICE FOR A VERY VERY HEAVY CAST IRON GRIDDLE. I MADE PANCAKES AND ALSO OVEN PIZZA. THE TRICK IS TO ADJUST MED-LOW HEAT FOR CREPES,PANCAKES,DOSA . FOR PIZZA ITS VERY EZ PAN FOR PAN CRUST PIZZA. FOR READY MADE NAAN OR PITA PIZZA MED-HIGH SIM FLAME AND VERY GOOD FOR ANY ROTI OR PARANTHA. DOWNSIDE---- VERY VERY HEAVY PAN TO USE AND ALSO THE HANDLE GETS VERY HOT SO BE CAREFUL.USE SILICONE HANDLES OR SMALL OVEN MITT TO HANDLE. ENJOY.......................
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good one for the price
1/21/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this so I can make some chapati on it everyday and intake some iron from it! but gave only 4 stars as it it is not pre-seasoned. Would have been 5 stars if it was pre-seasoned. Heats up evenly and does a good job in making chapatis!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I use this griddle daily
9/29/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 10 contributer
I use this griddle by 'Lodge' more than any other cast iron or pans I have. Often, I use it more than once per day. One thing to remember is, you must use your cast iron cookware in order for it to get better and less 'sticky'. The more you use it, the more seasoned it becomes and the less food will stick. This griddle gets a good workout at my house. Don't think you must grease the cast iron and turn it upside down in the oven every day. You don't! Lodge cast iron cookware comes pre-seasoned. All I do after washing is dry it with a paper towel, rub the inside down good with crisco shortening, put it on the eye of the stove on low for about one or two minutes, let it cool and put it away. About once a year, grease the entire pan and put it inside the oven as the instructions state...but you really don't have to do this any more than once a year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642870, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-