Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 115 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

115 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

115 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
32
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 96 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
Time will tell . . .
6/10/2016

Customer review by StandingO

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by StandingO
by StandingO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The real test on this will be the test of time--how long will it hold up? But at the beginning it is super, boiling just enough water to brew 2 mugs of tea. It is compact, well balanced and very portable. You could travel with it with no trouble. Instructions are clear to unplug before pouring--that way you don't forget and leave it plugged in when empty.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StandingO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Barebone electric tea kettle
7/29/2009

Customer review by Kazuya

4.0 stars 7/29/2009 by Kazuya
by Kazuya

This is by far the simplest electric tea kettle I've seen. It is essentially functional - it boils water, and as it claims, probably faster than microwave. However, there is no transparent window to see just how much water I have put into the kettle, and there is no lid. So if by any means, it gets dirty inside, there is no convenient way to clean inside the kettle. Also, there is no power button. It starts when you plug it in, and you have to pull the plug out to stop heating the water. So it is a functional tea kettle at fitting price, but it does tell you that you do get what you pay for - exactly, no more and no less.

Was this review helpful? (89) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kazuya
Salisbury, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Much better than I thought
11/10/2011

Customer review by JohannSmythe

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by JohannSmythe
by JohannSmythe

This is the 4th tea kettle I've purchased for my 97 yr old mother and if I have to buy another, I'll buy another one of these. The first three were the usual stove top tea kettles but they were very disappointing. ALL three whistles didn't work which is a big thing for a 97 yr old who has trouble hearing. The chrome plated one was very expensive and it's almost impossible to find an ordinary, inexpensive, common tea kettle here. The other electric tea kettle I looked at was just a coffee percolator without the coffee basket. AND NO WHISTLE!!! I have to say that I'm overjoyed with this kettle. I know that sounds a bit over the top, but this kettle turned out to be absolutely perfect. And after 3 disappointments, that's something special. I'd first looked at this tea kettle and rejected it. I thought it was too small, all plastic, and I couldn't see how the whistle could possibly work with an unsealed pour spout. Well the whistle works just fine. I won't go into how, but it's simple, foolproof, and works just fine. AND the whistle is loud enough for my mother to hear it. It IS small. In fact when you see the box, it looks tiny. However, that turns out to be a plus. It takes up less space in the kitchen. You use all the water. It doesn't need left over water because it's not going back on the stove like a stove top kettle. That also means fresh water each potful. Moreover it boils a full quart of water, quickly (7 min for cold water), and that's plenty of water to completely fill a common tea pot. So size isn't the problem I thought it would be. Lastly, it's not made of cheap plastic. It is sturdy, cleans easily, doesn't get too hot, and the shape and position of the handle is excellent. And if it's not good enough that this kettle fits the bill perfectly, at $16 it was also, by far, the least expensive one available. I hate to say that because they'll raise the price. If you're looking for something that's just perfect for making tea, one pot at a time, and esp for someone who is elderly, this is what you want.

Was this review helpful? (60) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohannSmythe
Minneapolis MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Gift
5/3/2016

Customer review by GoldenGram

4.0 stars 5/3/2016 by GoldenGram
by GoldenGram

I'd had one of these for years and loved it so when there was a kitchen shower for a friend, I knew the circumstances and knew that she would have a great use for this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoldenGram
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Versatile product
7/9/2009

Customer review by Tana2

5.0 stars 7/9/2009 by Tana2
by Tana2

I plug this into my bathroom socket to heat water to brew a cup of tea while I am getting dressed/applying make-up each morning. It heats quickly and makes my mornings bearable. I also use one at my desk at work for tea, instant coffee, or soup mix.

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tana2
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not a bad little kettle for the price
2/14/2014

Customer review by sidhechaos

3.0 stars 2/14/2014 by sidhechaos
by sidhechaos
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

my only issue with it is it would be helpful if it had a light that came on so you would know when it was plugged in and charging, and I would have preferred it had an on/off switch as opposed to having to plug it/unplug it to turn it off and on, but considering it was not very expensive, these are small issues.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sidhechaos
greencastile IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful item
3/2/2016

Customer review by chrispmsc

5.0 stars 3/2/2016 by chrispmsc
by chrispmsc

I bought this for an elderly Irish woman who was moving to an Assisted Living Apartment without a stove. She loved her tea when it was brewed with boiling water from a tea kettle. This electric kettle is a great substitute and she loves it! She is so happy now to make her tea and hear the whistle when the water is just the right temperature. Great price, quick service! What else could I ask for. Thank Presto and Walmart for help me make an elderly Irish lady very happy!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chrispmsc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Water takes too long to boil.
2/27/2014

Customer review by Ursulita

1.0 stars 2/27/2014 by Ursulita
by Ursulita
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was expecting a product that worked quickly, but instead I found this product took too long in bringing my water to a boil. I would understand having to wait a while if in fact the kettle was boiling a large quantity of water, but the kettle only accommodates a small quantity. Moreover, it does not keep water hot. You boil the water, turn it off, and then start all over again. I want a product that will keep my water hot for at least a while. This is really a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ursulita
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply perfect
7/2/2016

Customer review by Mathew

5.0 stars 7/2/2016 by Mathew
by Mathew
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

No guages, buttons, special timer things. Just put water in, plug in, wait for whistle, and unplug. In a world of things that are over complicated I love items like this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mathew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ideal performance @ an ideal price!
10/27/2009

Customer review by PebblezF

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by PebblezF
by PebblezF

I use my Presto Electric Tea Kettle several times a day at work. It brings water to a boil very quickly, making my caffeine addiction a snap to handle. I simply place the pot on a folded hand towel on top of my mini fridge, and I've never had a problem. I loved it so much, I came back and bought another as a gift!

Was this review helpful? (17) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PebblezF
Chicopee, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not good
2/20/2011

Customer review by OddAud

1.0 stars 2/20/2011 by OddAud
by OddAud

I'm really disappointed in this kettle. When you fill it all the way, it takes a total of 8 minutes to boil 4 cups of water. That is way longer than it would take in a microwave, as advertised. I've used it for 2 weeks now and am going to put it away for use as a spare but am in the market for a new one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OddAud
Cecil Twp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Save your money!!!
12/5/2012

Customer review by Ceramgal

1.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Ceramgal
by Ceramgal

Forget this product!!! There is no way to clean it - no way to judge whether or how much water is in it - doesnt whistle and TAKES FOREVER to heat the water. A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. Would have returned after using.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ceramgal
Hiawatha, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Never use the microwave again to heat water
2/9/2014

Customer review by MarieClaireThere

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by MarieClaireThere
by MarieClaireThere
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This kettle heats water quickly, and lets you control how hot the water is, because you can hear it begin to boil. So you can have warm water for starting yeast, or really hot water for tea. It whistles so that you know when it's ready.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarieClaireThere
Albany, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Presto elec. tea kettle
5/11/2008

Customer review by wintermoon344

1.0 stars 5/11/2008 by wintermoon344
by wintermoon344

This product was defective.  It is supposed to heat water very quickly....faster than a microwave.  This tea kettle took over 1/2 an hour.  It was returned.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wintermoon344
Pocatello, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
This works great. Fast and hot.
1/13/2014

Customer review by RangerJ

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by RangerJ
by RangerJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is great. I it our second one. We decided to replace it with the same since the other one lasted over 10 years.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RangerJ
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Electric tea kettle
3/12/2016

Customer review by Bonnie

4.0 stars 3/12/2016 by Bonnie
by Bonnie

Heats up quickly, nice and light weight. Wish the whistle was little louder.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bonnie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Handy item
1/13/2008

Customer review by Amnicola

4.0 stars 1/13/2008 by Amnicola
by Amnicola

This is my second Presto Electric tea kettle. I loved my first. It was so easy to heat up some water for tea or hot chocolate in my classroom. (Teachers can't just leave their class if they're thirsty or need to go to the bathroom.) My first tea kettle lasted several years, but because it isn't possible to get inside to clean, the build-up of corrosion caused it to leak. The new style still hasn't corrected this, but it did add a whistle which I think is a feature every tea kettle needs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amnicola
Washington, DC area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Basic Electric Tea Pot
12/12/2010

Customer review by socwkr77

4.0 stars 12/12/2010 by socwkr77
by socwkr77

I got what I paid for. It was the cheapest electric tea pot, and it is very basic. Can't see how much water you've put in. Has no light indicating it's on or off. I'm not sure that it's quicker than heating water in a pot on the stove, but it is convenient to have a separate source for just heating water. It does have a tea pot noise when the water is boiling.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
socwkr77
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't bother
9/5/2007

Customer review by Skizipper

1.0 stars 9/5/2007 by Skizipper
by Skizipper

I bought this and the Proctor-Silex kettle. The Proctor-Silex kettle boils water much quicker. In fact, this doesn't seem to be much quicker than a standard tea kettle on the stove. I do like the whistle, though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skizipper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value
2/25/2012

Customer review by Helipro

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by Helipro
by Helipro

This kettle is perfect when you need boiling water when no stove is available. The cord is a little short and will require an extension cord if used on a desk. For the price a very effective solution.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Helipro
Northborough, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews