Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 310 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

310 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

5 stars
255
4 stars
42
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 250 total reviews
now thats what im talkin' about!
7/30/2010

Customer review by ImPickyToo

5.0 stars by ImPickyToo

I have tried several different electric skillet models, and this has been the best performer, hands-down. I wanted to use it for several different meals before giving an well-rounded review. I've cooked (for a family of 4) breakfast and dinner, including eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, brats, burgers, stir-fry, chicken breasts.... quite a variety... and this skillet outperforms anything in it's class! Non-stick MEANS NON-stick! (a feature not every manufacturer can brag about) Clean-up is a breeze. Temperatures are spot-on. "hot spots" are completely negligible. Cooks beaUtifully! The only reason I gave it 4-stars in the 'Features' category, is because there is a legitimate concern about the plastic feet. The plastic IS durable. Not cheap. But... it does tend to "slide easily" on a counter top, while cooking and moving food. **I read this in a previous review, and was prepared! It was not a bother to me, to pick up a little pack of tiny self-adhesive rubber bumpers, and stick them on the bottom of the feet as soon as it came out of the box. "Scoot-problem" solved! :) If you dont mind a buck-fifty for little rubber bumpers, and taking 30 seconds to screw on the handles/feet, then this is DEFINITELY the large electric skillet solution you've been looking for. I LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (107) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ImPickyToo
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great fry
12/4/2007

Customer review by ram1500

4.0 stars by ram1500

Used this skillet about 8 times so far and I am very pleased. Heats up quick and the temp is right on. Tried and tested other models with digital thermometer and was disappointed. Has well sized handles, and non-stick is holding up well. The glass lid is great but here comes the only draw back, no vent. Would be nice but easy to live without.

Was this review helpful? (133) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ram1500
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Overall Best of Class
5/9/2010

Customer review by DocFalworth

4.0 stars by DocFalworth

Up until two years ago, I had been using an all aluminum Sunbeam electric skillet that finally gave out after 26, yes twenty six years of use. In the past two years I have purchased and returned four brands of electric skillet all for the same reason. If the non-stick coating is compromised it will begin to peel rendering the skillet unfit for food preparation. The PRESTO brand name was one that I had associated with a television brand mail-order scheme of appliances. Typically that sort of appliance is low quality mass produced, and quickly discontinued. I could not have been more wrong with my presumption. After reading some very positive reviews, and exhausted four other top brands, I decided to give PRESTO a try. Positives: Upon close inspection of my unit I could readily see that the non-stick coating method of application is not the standard factory spray on coating. The non-stick coating appears to be etched then sealed, however I am not an expert on the manufacturing process. The skillet heats somewhat unevenly across the base, but not to excess as others I have returned. The temperature regulator is well calibrated to the dial setting and does not spike to maintain a constant temperature. The combination side handles and support legs are ergonomically convenient and easy to attach from out of the box. The glass dome lid fits snug to the skillet and forms a seal when heating much as the lid for a sauce pan would. Not so Positives: An unvented glass lid will quickly condensate thusly obscuring any possible view of the food item in preparation. There are people that would not buy an electric skillet without a glass lid, so glass is the deal maker. Lid venting may seem trivial, yet is an important feature for me. Placement of a wooden or plastic cooking utensil on one side of the covered skillet will provide venting, or setting the lid askew also works, but I personally do not like either option over a manual lid vent. Conclusion: Overall, the PRESTO 16" skillet is good quality, low cost best of its class when compared to the mainstream of similar sized electric non-stick skillets.

Was this review helpful? (110) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DocFalworth
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The perfect big skillet
6/16/2009

Customer review by suzannaO

5.0 stars by suzannaO

Bought this after lusting after my brother's and daughter's. I avoid teflon-type coatings and had tried several alternatives. I can't seem to season a cast iron very well since I do not cook meat and my enamel coated cast iron was not only very heavy for my aging hands but like the calphalon pans, it burned things easily. My brother told me he never uses soap in this, just hot water and dries it out so that is what I am doing. For me it is the best thing since sliced bread for convenience without burning everything.

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
suzannaO
southern OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works great
1/2/2014

Customer review by TexMomNana

5.0 stars by TexMomNana

I washed it by hand, then seasoned it with canola oil - just enough to wipe on the inside with a paper towel, then wipe completely with a fresh paper towel. I cooked sausage and egg breakfast burritos. The control was easy to use, the skillet heated evenly and was a breeze to clean up. I just wiped the dried egg and sausage out with a paper towel - the non-stick surface really works. The instructions say it's dishwasher safe but I believe the surface will last better with hand washing, so that's what I did. I ordered this 16" size thinking I would like this larger size because I cook a lot and for a lot of people - but I think I could have been fine with the smaller size. Bottom line - I love the skillet and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TexMomNana
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I needed at a great price
11/4/2013

Customer review by Thusker

5.0 stars by Thusker

Pretty thrilled with this skillet after its first use. Bought it after reading the reviews here saying how great it was--regardless of the price (which is a far better buy than some others I looked into). We've been making breakfast burritos in bulk and freezing them for easy snacks for the kids. Requires a lot of scrambled eggs . . . so I bought this hoping to cook up the eggs faster than I could in the biggest pan I had for the stove. Boy--were my expectations met. I easily scrambled 36 eggs in this skillet at one time. Probably could have cooked more easily. Non-stick surface seemed to work really well and cleanup was pretty easy. Heated up fast and cooked evenly. I'll have to see what other uses I can find for it--but it's perfect for what I was looking to do. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for this kind of product. Half tempted to buy another just to have around.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Thusker
Highlands Ranch, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My first choice
4/6/2010

Customer review by Chsn4Gr8nss

4.0 stars by Chsn4Gr8nss

I purchase this skillet when I purchased my griddle from Presto. Because of it's versatility, I still have not opened the griddle. I can cook a complete breakfast for two, braise beef for a stew then add veggies, steam vegetable, cooked pasta and so much more with this skillet. It is my first choice when preparing meals. I don't have to turn on the stove, use multiple pots or any of the annoying steps necessary with cooking on the stove. Cleaning the skillet is as easy as 1-2-3 because of its non-stick surface. I look for new dishes to prepare in it so I can boast of a one pot meal to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Chsn4Gr8nss
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Greatest electric skillet
9/26/2007

Customer review by cruisinhog

5.0 stars by cruisinhog

I love this electric skillet, it is deep and the cover fits great. You can deep fry a whole cut up chicken with out making a mess on the counter. The temp control is right on. I hate trying to cook something at 350F when the skillet goes to 200 when set at 400. this one is great. We have used it for 3 months now with out burning or having food all greasy..

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cruisinhog
Yerington, Nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/2/2009

Customer review by FairReason

5.0 stars by FairReason

I needed a large electric skillet for our motorhome. This was the best price/value I could find. It was way more expensive at other retailers. The large size is perfect for large meals or small ones. It's also good to have a see-thru lid. Also, there are great receipes on line for this skillet. Definitely a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FairReason
Stone Mountain, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
electric skillet
6/24/2010

Customer review by andrew1958

5.0 stars by andrew1958

My wife wanted an electric that she could control the temperature, so I bought her this skillet and so far it has lived up to our expectations

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
andrew1958
kansas city
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS ELECTRIC SKILLET
12/1/2013

Customer review by carsiroo

5.0 stars by carsiroo

I fried a large quantity of chicken pieces (15) and loved the way it fried. After breading the chicken, I placed it in small amount of oil that heated to 350 degrees, covered with lid and let the skillet do it's job. Turned chicken and finished cooking with lid on. The skillet is large and deep. Cooks very evenly. No mess with lid in place. I also love walmart.com since I can pick up at store without paying shipping. Prices can't be beat either.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
carsiroo
missoula, mt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
junk
8/17/2010

Customer review by coloradokatxo

1.0 stars by coloradokatxo

I had been trying to find a good skillet like this where the non stick coating would not peel off. Thought this would be the one. I had one like it before only smaller and was very happy with it. Not this one. Had it four months and the coating started coming off. I hand washed this and never used a metal spoon or spatula on it. It also had hot spots and that is mainly where the peeling began. Would not recommend this at all.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
coloradokatxo
Blue Mound, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Can't be beat
8/3/2009

Customer review by KansasKooker

5.0 stars by KansasKooker

I bought mine two years ago to use at home. however, I ended up using it to cook fried potatoes and onions for my Masonic Lodges Fish Fry's. On numerious occasions I've used it to cook 60 to 80lbs of potatoes at each of several events. The Teflon finish remains in perfect condition. The only additional comment I have is after this extended use, I need to tighten the handle screws. Not a big deal considering it was running continously for four hours ! I too think the lid could use a vent.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KansasKooker
WICHITA Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Owned for 1 1/2 years
11/7/2009

Customer review by Alli82581

5.0 stars by Alli82581

I have had this product for 1 1/2 years. I must have used it over 1000 times. Iv'e baked, fried, stir fry, one pot-mealed and heated up so many different kinds of food. It heats evenly and quickly! It boils water fairly quickly compared to a stove. The handle at the top of the glass lid just cracked and fell off. I may attempt to crazy glue it back on, or I might just buy a new one since the teflon is worn since I have used it soooo much. It's my 'stove'. Best product out there.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Alli82581
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Reach into ur cooking bag of tricks for this one!!
8/10/2014

Customer review by NELSITO

5.0 stars by NELSITO

I've owned this for 2 yrs and am finally here writing a review. Cooking aspect: Talk about making food to a new level. I've messed around cooking vegetables, chicken, steak, fish, shrimp, pizza, frozen dinners, and everything comes out with the MMMMMMM feeling. Looks aspect: LARGE skillet so obviously, you need the space for it on your countertop. It's awesome to use serving other foods you've prepped up as well. Looks nice on the table and has a style about it that is very easy on the eyes. I've had as many complements for looks as for cooking with this. Price aspect: $50 is maybe a little steep or just right for you, but if you think about the space you get from this it's almost buying 2 little electric ovens etc..plus more functions.. Overall: Never had an issue with this unit. Frying, baking, roasting, grilling, is really simple. Easy to cleanup afterwards is a HUGE Plus.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NELSITO
UNION CITY, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Presto Elec. Skillet
7/16/2009

Customer review by RogerDodger111

5.0 stars by RogerDodger111

Read the reviews concerning the Rival skillet. They were not very good at all. Read the reviews concerning the Presto skillet and they were very good. From that point on, it was a no brainer. I ordered the Presto skillet and my wife is really thrilled with it. It's the 16" skillet with the glass cover. She really likes it. I would definitely recommend it. Likewise, I would not recommend the Rival skillet. The Rival skillet got a thumbs down rating. That's why I like to read the ratings on particular products before I make a purchase. I'm glad I purchased the Presto skillet after reading its ratings. I highly recommend the 16" Presto Elec. Skillet.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RogerDodger111
Dawsonville, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This product does everything I need it to.
12/23/2011

Customer review by SkySpirit

5.0 stars by SkySpirit

I live in an older mobile home which has old appliances such as an air conditioner that gave up the ghost, then the gas stove decided to give it up. Rather than mess with repairing the gas stove, I decided to go electric. First I bought a single electric unit which was used for a while until I bought a double unit. The pots and pans where too tipsy with that unit, so it finally hit me that I needed an electric skillet that would do all I needed to do. The 16" Presto electric skillet with a glass cover is a great unit. It fried some great chicken and then allowed me to make perfect milk gravy. The next meal was a roast with vegetables, which also produced a good gravy that was made a great stew. I have also fixed perfect pancakes with over easy eggs that don't stick and break open. There is much more that I haven't used the unit for, but I am sure it will produce good food. I am very happy with my new electric skillet. Lew.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SkySpirit
Chico, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Buy!
1/25/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I have wanted an electric skillet for some time... and am extremely satisfied with this one. It heats evenly and quickly at all temps that I have used it with. It is made of durable material, and is easy to clean. Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
12/22/2011

Customer review by ajbuce

5.0 stars by ajbuce

I received one of these as a gift 2 years ago. I absolutely love it. Use it all the time. It cooks very evenly (great for pancakes and grilled cheese!). and cleans up very well. I bought this one as a present for my in-laws. The only "problem" is occassionally I have to tighten the handles as they get a little loose. Great value for the price!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ajbuce
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Skillet
7/2/2010

Customer review by SuzQ789

5.0 stars by SuzQ789

Large, well-made and easy to clean. Love the heavy glass see-through lid. Cooks perfectly with an even temperature throughout the skillet. No cold spots. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for an electric skillet. There's just two of us and I'm still glad I got it. We're on a high protein diet and I can make several cheeseburgers at one time and put the remainder in the frig for my husband to snack on. Can easily cook six fried eggs or 7-8 slices of bacon.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SuzQ789
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 250 total reviews