Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 212 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

212 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

212 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
161
4 stars
42
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
1
1-20 of 166 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews
It does what it's supposed to!
10/19/2010

Customer review by SunnyBunny

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by SunnyBunny
by SunnyBunny

I was in the market for a new electric deep fryer after my old Presto FryDaddy, that I'd owned for over ten years, finally broke. The power cord had gotten stuck in the FryDaddy socket. (I'd never before had this problem with it.) I needed to remove the cord so that I could clean the FryDaddy, and removing it took a LOT of force...so much so that the plug broke when it finally came out. So, while shopping for a replacement, I discovered the GranPappy. Because of the longevity of my old FryDaddy and the great reviews of the GranPappy, I decided to purchase it. When I got it home, I attached the power cord (it has a magnetic attaching mechanism) and it heated up right away, just as expected. I love the larger size of this one over my old FryDaddy. I had my doubts about the plastic strainer spoon that comes with it. I thought it might melt in the hot cooking oil, but it didn't. I've used the GranPappy and its spoon many, many times over the past several months, and it's always worked like a charm. Even when adding frozen fries to the cooking oil after it's heated up, the GranPappy reheats the oil very, very quickly. I'm very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnyBunny
Pearland (near Houston), Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
The only fyer that you need
1/25/2010

Customer review by julz9

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by julz9
by julz9

I have bought many deep fryers and end up getting rid of them or they break/leak after a few uses. This is the one to buy if you are loking for a reasonable priced, dependable, easy to clean, and easy to use fryer. The fancy fryers are terrible to clean and cost twice as much or more. I just fried chicken wings, zucc, gizzards, catfish, mushrooms and it held up and was great!!!!!!! Oh, don't mess with the smaller versions of this product. Just get the Granpappy, you need the space in the fryer to fry correctly. The smaller ones just make you have more batches and it takes longer.

Was this review helpful? (113) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
julz9
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Fryer
1/26/2014

Customer review by Wishin2BFishin

5.0 stars 1/26/2014 by Wishin2BFishin
by Wishin2BFishin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This fryer is awesome !! Bought this for frying in the kitchen so I don't have to fire-up my bigger gas fryer outside. Originally bought the FryDaddy which is also excellent but smaller (1-2 people). The GranPappy fryer is better suited for larger quanity frying for a family or entertaining friends. This unit fry's great, recovers heat fast. Good quality in construction of fryer. One other note; this fryer is small enough to be portable so you can take it camping, to a party, out on the patio or anywhere else as long as you have an electric hookup. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a good fryer at a decent price.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wishin2BFishin
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fine by me
8/4/2007

Customer review by ERMY

4.0 stars 8/4/2007 by ERMY
by ERMY

For the price paid, it does it's job well. It doesn't take long to heat up, it always heats to the correct temperature, but the only problem is the lid is plastic and if you put it on before the unit has completely cooled, it melts to it.

Was this review helpful? (88) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ERMY
Edmond
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Presto Granpappy
9/10/2016

Customer review by Veetown

5.0 stars 9/10/2016 by Veetown
by Veetown
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Veetown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great item
8/1/2016

Customer review by jkyhuikjuio

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by jkyhuikjuio
by jkyhuikjuio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great item

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkyhuikjuio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect size, cooks extremely fast, no splatter
4/28/2013

Customer review by isabelleUT

5.0 stars 4/28/2013 by isabelleUT
by isabelleUT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It usually takes me a while to fry tofu, but this fryer does a plateful in less than 10 minutes! No splatter of oil all over the stove, this is compact. Fries perfectly every time. Plan to buy one for my parents and family members. After every use, I leave it about an hour to cool before I drain the oil out over paper towel to catch all the particles of burnt batter, etc. Once the oil is clean, I run a paper towel on the bottom of the GranPappy to make sure I get all the particles out. Then pour back in the oil to save for the second batch. I would reuse the oil about 3 times before I throw it out. I forgot to add that I didn't use the plastic spatula that comes with it. Instead I use really long, wooden chopsticks to pick out the tofu or fried vegetable. It does use a lot of oil, but the end product is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
isabelleUT
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best of the Best
9/10/2009

Customer review by MOUCHIE

5.0 stars 9/10/2009 by MOUCHIE
by MOUCHIE

I had a Fry Daddy for a long time and of course they get built up w/grease on the outside .. Finally decided on the Grand Pappy and you really can't beat these things. And the new ones now have a magnetic cord that attaches to the pot but comes off easier if you hit it over the counter etc.. (it does stay on good if you don't move it around) We've already used it this past weekend on a camping trip and 2 other times at home. I clean it after each use and it looks like the day I took it out the box. They changed the 'scoop' from the metal one which could damage the interior finish to a heavy duty plastic one which is a little smaller - good job. Awesome product for the price and site - to - store was fast and great as usual. GEAUX WALMART and PRESTO !!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOUCHIE
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product
11/24/2007

Customer review by tambones

5.0 stars 11/24/2007 by tambones
by tambones

This is the second granpappy we have owned.My husband and my children were so upset when ours would not work. We had it for abouot 5 years. We searched and waited until we could find another granpappy. We use it at least once a week. We would not purchase any other brand. It makes the best fried chicken ever. Even my friends who don't like fried food, ask for our fried chicken!

Was this review helpful? (55) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tambones
Cocoa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Just the size I need.
11/25/2013

Customer review by MimiandPa

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by MimiandPa
by MimiandPa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have used this item before tried other fryers but always come back to this one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MimiandPa
Benson, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Presto Granpappy Deep Fryer
3/23/2016

Customer review by MyMy

5.0 stars 3/23/2016 by MyMy
by MyMy

Wonderful deep fryer. Fries my fried foods perfectly. Would recommend to family and friends. Great price and great results!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyMy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love my granpappy deep fryer.
8/6/2016

Customer review by babiegirl

5.0 stars 8/6/2016 by babiegirl
by babiegirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my granpappy deep fryer. Great for cooking for two people.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babiegirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good fryer
8/8/2010

Customer review by LOVETOSHOPFL

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by LOVETOSHOPFL
by LOVETOSHOPFL

heats up very fast cooks perfect and keeps the oil good for a couple of frys. have to put the lid on when the fryer gets cold no biggie. the only thing that i had a problem with is the scoop they give you is plastic and not like the nice steel one on the box. i havent used the plastic one i just went out and bought a steel one. but other than that im very pleased that we went with the big one and not the smaller sized one.

Was this review helpful? (37) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LOVETOSHOPFL
WPB, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product for the value!!
11/16/2009

Customer review by BlueberryMom

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by BlueberryMom
by BlueberryMom

This is to replace my old GrandPappy that fell off the counter after cleaning it. It broke! I love the new design and would not be without this fryer. After it cools way down, I remove all the grease and keep it in a locked container for use the next time. I wash the inside thouroughly and dry but try hard not to get water into the base. I would recommend this fryer to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueberryMom
South Haven, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Mixed review
4/14/2011

Customer review by bubb357

3.0 stars 4/14/2011 by bubb357
by bubb357

Overall, this seems to be a good quality deep fryer. Just a couple of issues - one is that the cook times they give in the instructions are pretty inaccurate. Also - no temperature control. Although this thing heats up super fast, it is also super hot and cooks things faster on the outside than inside. So, I have tried chicken for example, and it burns the outside before the inside is cooked. Frozen things (eggrolls or fries) don't work well either. As long as the food is relatively small and room temperature, it works great.

Was this review helpful? (19) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bubb357
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice!
12/27/2010

Customer review by calowe0906

4.0 stars 12/27/2010 by calowe0906
by calowe0906

I have a large family so I have to have a fryer large enough to cook a lot at one time. This fryer is nice and large to cook a good amount at a time. The only thing I noticed that this fryer does not have is a temp control, but I guess I don't really need one for french fries and tator tots. Good product!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
calowe0906
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Fryer!
8/22/2011

Customer review by J5857

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by J5857
by J5857

This is our second GranPappy Fryer. We tried two other versions of fryers and decided to go back to the GranPappy. We like it because when it's hot it's hot and it's small, light, and easy to use. No temperature control, baskets, or a lot of parts to keep up with.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
J5857
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Granpappy deep fryer
6/30/2010

Customer review by lucky51

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by lucky51
by lucky51

This is a great product, nothing fancy, just a simple deep fryer, easy to use and easy to clean up. My father-in-law bought me my first one 22 years ago and it finally guit working a few weeks ago, the cord finally gave out. So glad they're still being made, I had a hard time finding one, til I went on the Walmart .com site. I hope this one lasts as long as the first one!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lucky51
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
So handy for any food you want to fry!
10/29/2011

Customer review by lilylikedit

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by lilylikedit
by lilylikedit

I owned a GranPappy before. After mine wore out I looked in stores everywhere to find one just like it. Ended up getting it online and am very happy with it. The only bad thing was the scoop that comes with it. The last one was metal. The new one is a plastic type. I'm glad I saved the old one. I'm just happy I could get the same one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilylikedit
Stevens Point WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Simple fryer
5/31/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/31/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is my second Grand Pappy Fryer. I started out with the Presto Fry Daddy and found it too small. So I moved up to the Grand Pappy about ten years ago. It has been a solid performer and does a great job frying chicken and fries. I like the simplicity of this unit. Others may prefer the basket type with a press down lid but I like the openess of this design. As with any fryer, you must be very cautious when frying things that may have hidden moisture..like corn tortillas. I did a batch of yellow corn which were very moist and the oil foamed up and over! The new one has the basic same design with improvements lke a magnetic plug, and a smoother design on the bottom. Still great fryer and Walmart had the lowest price online.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Dublin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews