Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1180 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1180 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1180 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
836
4 stars
243
3 stars
36
2 stars
16
1 stars
49
1-20 of 1022 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1022 total reviews
1-20 of 1022 reviews
The Best Popper on the Market!
3/16/2013

Customer review by SoCalrunnergirl

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by SoCalrunnergirl
by SoCalrunnergirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I LOVE this air popper! I was spending at least $6.00-$8.00 a week buying organic popcorn from our local grocer and there were always a ton of unpopped kernels on the bottom of the bag. This air popper pops 98% of the kernels and does a great job! The kids love watching it pop and it takes only 3 minutes. Just don't use a shallow bowl when popping, as those last kernels can really fly out of there easily.

Was this review helpful? (129) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoCalrunnergirl
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A little disappointed
12/30/2015

Customer review by Dcarpenter70

2.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Dcarpenter70
by Dcarpenter70

This was given as a gift to my brother. He's a fireman and he loves popcorn. He got tired of having the microwaveable popcorn and wanted a healthier alternative. He used it on Christmas to make popcorn while the family got together to watch a movie. We made 2 batches and it worked perfectly! The following afternoon, he was going to make another batch of popcorn. He again followed the instructions that came with the Hot Air Popcorn Popper. He put a small amount of margarine in the little cup that sits on top of the popcorn maker. He walked into the living room to watch tv while waiting for the popcorn to finish popping. We could hear the popcorn popping and when the popping began to slow down, he walked back into the kitchen only to find that the plastic cover had melted, it was warped. Since the cover melted, it tipped the cup with the margarine to one side and made a mess. Even though the cover is totally misshaped, it still fits on the popcorn popper, but the little measuring cup that sits on top of the popcorn popper doesn't fit on top of the cover like it's supposed to. It was really disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dcarpenter70
Would recommend to a friend? No
Most brilliant kitchen product
12/26/2015

Customer review by TheFactory

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by TheFactory
by TheFactory

This has to be one of the most simple, intuitive, and well functioning products on the market. In fact, I tried to think of a kitchen appliance that is so simple and works so well, but couldn't come up with one. Simply pour in half a cup of kernels (measuring cup is also butter melter), plug it in, put a bowl under it, and - about a minute later -- enjoy. Bought it mostly for nostalgia -- I had an earlier model about 25 years ago when I was growing-up -- but my daughter gets a kick out of watching it work. Plus, can leave out all the unhealthy ingredient in microwave popcorn.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheFactory
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value!
6/2/2011

Customer review by itouchedallama

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by itouchedallama
by itouchedallama

Wow! This popper was a steal for only $20. Yes, it's old fashioned looking but it get the job done and I imagine I will have it for years to come. It's white and yellow (not black, as pictured) It's a very simple design with no frills but it pops kernels awesomely! As soon as you plug it in, it starts getting hot. There is not an on/off switch but you don't need one. As long as the kernels stay in the heated area, they will all pop. Some stray kernels will shoot out. If the kernel isn't too hot, I will throw it back in and it will get popped. The entire description and video about the popper is true and accurate. In a few short minutes, you will have a big bowl of popcorn! It's awesome not to eat microwave popcorn anymore. If I want to add anything to it for flavor, I add natural butter to the top cup, let it melt and pour it over the popcorn. I heard olive oil and sea salt is good too.

Was this review helpful? (76) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
itouchedallama
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worthless
12/19/2015

Customer review by RetiredEducator

1.0 stars 12/19/2015 by RetiredEducator
by RetiredEducator

Unfortunately, I am very dissatisfied with this product. How it got good reviews baffles me. I got more unpopped hot kernels blown out into the bowl and everywhere else than popped kernels. I timed it for ten minutes to get just a few popped kernels. It is also very loud but can deal with that. I intend to give it charity or just throw it away, as I have lost my receipt fm Walmart and threw away the box. How I wish I had not thrown it all away. I am NOT pleased with this Presto product at all. For me and in my opinion/review, a waste of money and a very cheap, unproductive product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredEducator
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this popper! Read why!
11/4/2013

Customer review by ThaiToto

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by ThaiToto
by ThaiToto

I am thrilled to see this popper still on the market, as my son is now looking for an air popper. We have had the earlier version of this model for over 30 years. Seriously! We bought it right after we were married in 1982, and it still works like it is brand new. We never did go the microwave route and have used this popper about three times per week for all these years. We use a 1/2 cup measuring cup to measure with. If the kernels aren't moving sufficiently prior to popping, jiggle it a bit so the air moves around them to prevent them from burning. This doesn't happen often, but you do need to listen for it. Also, leave the cover on until the unit is cool to prevent warping. We never melt butter in the cover - I don't want to have to wash it. We spray the popcorn with buttery Pam and add salt or seasoning and that's it! I hope it lasts another 30+ years!

Was this review helpful? (123) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThaiToto
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
upate of prior review
10/13/2013

Customer review by OnlineShopper1025

4.0 stars 10/13/2013 by OnlineShopper1025
by OnlineShopper1025

I contacted Presto directly, and they sent me a replacement popper cover for my machine. Also, they told me that I should abandon using gourmet popcorn in favor of generic store brands. I was using Orville Redenbacher and sometimes, Bob's Red Mill Organic popcorn. Both are quality brands, but according to Presto, gourmet popcorn kernels are lighter in weight than the kernels in store brands of popcorn, and were more likely to be ejected unpopped from their machines. I just bought a bag of WalMart Great Value popcorn today, and fewer kernels went unpopped but I prefer the taste and fluffiness of the 'gourmet' brands.

Was this review helpful? (84) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnlineShopper1025
Dallas. Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not so great
2/13/2016

Customer review by popcornfan

3.0 stars 2/13/2016 by popcornfan
by popcornfan

used just as instructed with popcorn that pops well, machine is okay but not great, once a certain amount of popcorn is popped it starts spewing unpopped kernels, leaves too many popcorn kernels unpopped

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
popcornfan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good popcorn maker
2/7/2016

Customer review by Sooooo

4.0 stars 2/7/2016 by Sooooo
by Sooooo

A little concerned when I first opened the box and a FDA warning pops out advising this machine contains cancer causing materials. With that being said.....all and all, a good popper. The butter melter doesn't really melt, so I melt the butter in the microwave. Popcorn pops well. a healthy snack, minus the carcinogens contained within the machine.......

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sooooo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great!
2/9/2016

Customer review by Jobell

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by Jobell
by Jobell

After purchasing two different makers that were found in the store this one works the best. Third times a charm!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jobell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
2/9/2016

Customer review by LorPaint

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by LorPaint
by LorPaint

Love this popcorn popper! It pops almost all the corn. Fast and easy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LorPaint
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Popped all over
4/13/2014

Customer review by Bedtimehappy

2.0 stars 4/13/2014 by Bedtimehappy
by Bedtimehappy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this popper thinking it was better then the rest, and though it maybe, it still pops way too many very hot unpopped kernels out the top while heating up. Once it does start popping it keeps popping them out until there are enough popped over the unpopped to stop it. The air is quite strong. The problem isn't the air, but the angle of both the tube that the popcorn climbs being too short, and the top not having a shield in the front to angle the popcorn into a bowl. Only solution as it is designed right now, is to tilt it back until it starts popping and have a bowl tall enough to go right to the exit. I am very disappointed with this as it seems to be simple design flaws, that should have been fixed years ago, as this model has a history of being around for many years. I had one like this over 20 years ago. Now I remember why I went to the microwave. I am surprised there weren't more complaints about this in comments. It is my only complaint. Heats great, nice looking, good price (for hot air. lol), easy to operate elec part though it has no button to turn on or off. Easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (24) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bedtimehappy
Redding, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
3/6/2014

Customer review by ANOBULLREVIEW

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by ANOBULLREVIEW
by ANOBULLREVIEW
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Filled the cup with kernals. poured them in, set a bowl to catch the popcorn. plugged it in and watched it make popcorn. I watched it so intently I realized too late the bowl was not large enough. It was like a comedy with popcorn going all over the place while I went to get another bowl. It is well worth $19.95. If not, I would tell ya. By the way, 2nd time I used a much larger bowl. You live and learn. As others have said, a switch might be nice but maybe the heat would destroy the switch over time. Just plugging it in is no big deal as it is not something you leave on the counter. It is quite simple to operate. There is no timer, no settings...little to go wrong. You plug it in and it runs. You unpug it and it stops.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ANOBULLREVIEW
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Healthy Option
4/2/2010

Customer review by Skeezics

4.0 stars 4/2/2010 by Skeezics
by Skeezics

I bought this product to reduce fat and salt which makes for a healthy snack. The popper works very well. Filling the cap half full makes enough popped corn for one person. I can't rate the durability of this item as we have used it just one month......so far.....so good. Tip: Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels. It rehydrates the corn which makes the corn pop much fluffier and bigger.

Was this review helpful? (245) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skeezics
Edwards, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Disappointed
1/20/2016

Customer review by JohnW

1.0 stars 1/20/2016 by JohnW
by JohnW

I purchased this Presto brand hot air popcorn popper at my local Walmart today. Because of the number of favorable reviews, I was hopeful that this would be an outstanding popcorn popper. WRONG! I tried both some generic popcorn kernels as well as the (O.R.) name brand and got the exact same results. This popper took "forever" to begin popping and then it finally spit out roughly 50% popped corn and 50% kernels. I have owned 2 other brand hot air poppers in my lifetime and they worked just fine. I'm returning this Presto brand hot air popcorn popper tomorrow for a refund due to its very poor performance.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnW
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pleasantly surprised
11/28/2013

Customer review by msjinabq

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by msjinabq
by msjinabq
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not had a hot air popper for years and thought I'd try one because microwave popcorn is really so awful. This Presto is a CHAMP. It was fast, and very efficient, and has this little cup to measure and it doubles to melt butter, and while there are some unpopped kernels, there weren't many. The result was so much nicer than microwave popcorn so it makes me wonder why I waited so long. The price is very reasonable, actually dirt cheap, but the quality is quite high. Its durable and well made. The one I got is yellow, so its bright and sunny. After using it was a breeze to wipe off and put away. Kicking myself for taking so long to buy one. Highly recommended, plus WalMart shipped it very quickly.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msjinabq
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Popper
3/28/2009

Customer review by GreatGram130

5.0 stars 3/28/2009 by GreatGram130
by GreatGram130
Walmart associate

Purchased this popper and first time used the recommended 1/2 cup popcorn. I had a huge amount of light fluffy popcorn with only 3 kernels left unpopped. Only use 1/4 cup from now on. Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (372) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatGram130
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
lite popcorn
6/20/2009

Customer review by crankie

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by crankie
by crankie

I love it, it's what i wanted for my current healthy eating habit. My kids like to watch it, but aren't crazy about the popcorn. The reason being they like a lot of butter and when you melt butter and poor it on the popcorn shrinks and gets soggy. Butter melter isn't that great, but i don't want the butter so another feature i don't use. Overall i love and its healthy.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crankie
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent product.
1/27/2016

Customer review by MICKEY

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by MICKEY
by MICKEY

Works as described. Makes excellent a Popcorn rapidly. Wish it had an. On/off switch so that you don't have to remove the A/C plug from the outlet to shut off the machine after it has completed the popping of the corn. WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND PURCHASE. THE IDENTICAL ITEM IS SOLD BY THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART IN NYC FOR $35.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MICKEY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hot Air Popper
9/17/2007

Customer review by bestgrandma

5.0 stars 9/17/2007 by bestgrandma
by bestgrandma

I love the ease of just pouring in corn and plugging in the unit. Two minutes later I have fluffy fat-free popcorn. Wipe any popcorn hulls off the unit and put it away, nothing to wash.

Was this review helpful? (244) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bestgrandma
Clinton, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 1022 total reviews
1-20 of 1022 reviews