Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1122 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1122 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1122 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
798
4 stars
232
3 stars
33
2 stars
15
1 stars
44
1-20 of 964 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 964 total reviews
1-20 of 964 reviews
Good Popper
3/28/2009

Customer review by GreatGram130

5.0 stars 3/28/2009 by GreatGram130
by GreatGram130

Purchased this popper and first time used the recommended 1/2 cup popcorn. I had a huge amount of light fluffy popcorn with only 3 kernels left unpopped. Only use 1/4 cup from now on. Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (335) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreatGram130
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Hot Air Popper
9/17/2007

Customer review by bestgrandma

5.0 stars 9/17/2007 by bestgrandma
by bestgrandma

I love the ease of just pouring in corn and plugging in the unit. Two minutes later I have fluffy fat-free popcorn. Wipe any popcorn hulls off the unit and put it away, nothing to wash.

Was this review helpful? (216) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bestgrandma
Clinton, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Healthy Option
4/2/2010

Customer review by Skeezics

4.0 stars 4/2/2010 by Skeezics
by Skeezics

I bought this product to reduce fat and salt which makes for a healthy snack. The popper works very well. Filling the cap half full makes enough popped corn for one person. I can't rate the durability of this item as we have used it just one month......so far.....so good. Tip: Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels. It rehydrates the corn which makes the corn pop much fluffier and bigger.

Was this review helpful? (203) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skeezics
Edwards, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Popper Ever
8/6/2007

Customer review by Ramador

5.0 stars 8/6/2007 by Ramador
by Ramador

This is the best popcorn popper I've ever used. It's so easy to use and super fast. So much easier than the stove top and cheaper than the microwave. I highly recommend this popper! Best one EVER!

Was this review helpful? (155) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ramador
Amarillo,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
upate of prior review
10/13/2013

Customer review by OnlineShopper1025

4.0 stars 10/13/2013 by OnlineShopper1025
by OnlineShopper1025

I contacted Presto directly, and they sent me a replacement popper cover for my machine. Also, they told me that I should abandon using gourmet popcorn in favor of generic store brands. I was using Orville Redenbacher and sometimes, Bob's Red Mill Organic popcorn. Both are quality brands, but according to Presto, gourmet popcorn kernels are lighter in weight than the kernels in store brands of popcorn, and were more likely to be ejected unpopped from their machines. I just bought a bag of WalMart Great Value popcorn today, and fewer kernels went unpopped but I prefer the taste and fluffiness of the 'gourmet' brands.

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnlineShopper1025
Dallas. Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this popper! Read why!
11/4/2013

Customer review by ThaiToto

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by ThaiToto
by ThaiToto

I am thrilled to see this popper still on the market, as my son is now looking for an air popper. We have had the earlier version of this model for over 30 years. Seriously! We bought it right after we were married in 1982, and it still works like it is brand new. We never did go the microwave route and have used this popper about three times per week for all these years. We use a 1/2 cup measuring cup to measure with. If the kernels aren't moving sufficiently prior to popping, jiggle it a bit so the air moves around them to prevent them from burning. This doesn't happen often, but you do need to listen for it. Also, leave the cover on until the unit is cool to prevent warping. We never melt butter in the cover - I don't want to have to wash it. We spray the popcorn with buttery Pam and add salt or seasoning and that's it! I hope it lasts another 30+ years!

Was this review helpful? (110) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThaiToto
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value!
6/2/2011

Customer review by itouchedallama

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by itouchedallama
by itouchedallama

Wow! This popper was a steal for only $20. Yes, it's old fashioned looking but it get the job done and I imagine I will have it for years to come. It's white and yellow (not black, as pictured) It's a very simple design with no frills but it pops kernels awesomely! As soon as you plug it in, it starts getting hot. There is not an on/off switch but you don't need one. As long as the kernels stay in the heated area, they will all pop. Some stray kernels will shoot out. If the kernel isn't too hot, I will throw it back in and it will get popped. The entire description and video about the popper is true and accurate. In a few short minutes, you will have a big bowl of popcorn! It's awesome not to eat microwave popcorn anymore. If I want to add anything to it for flavor, I add natural butter to the top cup, let it melt and pour it over the popcorn. I heard olive oil and sea salt is good too.

Was this review helpful? (64) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itouchedallama
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The Best Popper on the Market!
3/16/2013

Customer review by SoCalrunnergirl

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by SoCalrunnergirl
by SoCalrunnergirl

I LOVE this air popper! I was spending at least $6.00-$8.00 a week buying organic popcorn from our local grocer and there were always a ton of unpopped kernels on the bottom of the bag. This air popper pops 98% of the kernels and does a great job! The kids love watching it pop and it takes only 3 minutes. Just don't use a shallow bowl when popping, as those last kernels can really fly out of there easily.

Was this review helpful? (119) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoCalrunnergirl
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
simple but does the job
11/14/2010

Customer review by penquinsrock

5.0 stars 11/14/2010 by penquinsrock
by penquinsrock

I went to Consumer Reports to select a new popper and this one came out on top. After reading customer reviews I had to buy the Presto brand. Can't beat the price! It is extremely simple to operate and pops all the kernals.

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
penquinsrock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Excellent Popcorn maker
1/18/2010

Customer review by ReviewSpecialist

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by ReviewSpecialist
by ReviewSpecialist

I think this is a perfect popcorn maker and all the popcorns come out fluffy and very light. Key is to keep the amount of corn kernels to no more than half a cup. Like any other popcorn machine some kernels are left un-popped but I think that's normal. If you put too much corn to begin with they will be blown out with the popped corns and you don't want that so keep the original amount of corn to half a cup and you will get great popcorns.

Was this review helpful? (62) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReviewSpecialist
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
lite popcorn
6/20/2009

Customer review by crankie

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by crankie
by crankie

I love it, it's what i wanted for my current healthy eating habit. My kids like to watch it, but aren't crazy about the popcorn. The reason being they like a lot of butter and when you melt butter and poor it on the popcorn shrinks and gets soggy. Butter melter isn't that great, but i don't want the butter so another feature i don't use. Overall i love and its healthy.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crankie
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Product
3/6/2014

Customer review by ANOBULLREVIEW

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by ANOBULLREVIEW
by ANOBULLREVIEW

Filled the cup with kernals. poured them in, set a bowl to catch the popcorn. plugged it in and watched it make popcorn. I watched it so intently I realized too late the bowl was not large enough. It was like a comedy with popcorn going all over the place while I went to get another bowl. It is well worth $19.95. If not, I would tell ya. By the way, 2nd time I used a much larger bowl. You live and learn. As others have said, a switch might be nice but maybe the heat would destroy the switch over time. Just plugging it in is no big deal as it is not something you leave on the counter. It is quite simple to operate. There is no timer, no settings...little to go wrong. You plug it in and it runs. You unpug it and it stops.

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ANOBULLREVIEW
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what we wanted
1/7/2014

Customer review by SydhsMom

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by SydhsMom
by SydhsMom

I couldn't rate the durability because we've had it less than a week. I will say it looks to be as sturdy as the last one we had, which lasted 27 years… We read reviews from both the top and bottom of the rating spectrum. All I can say is those people who complained were obviously not paying any attention to the instructions. You use the little butter melting cup to measure the popcorn, you don't have to look inside the popper to do so. All you have to do is look at the picture on the box to figure out how to put it together, that is unless you can't figure it out just by looking at the pieces. There are only three after all. All you complaining about no on/off switch. This is not an appliance that is meant to constantly sit on your counter. Put it away to keep it from getting dusty when not using it. We have popcorn every Friday night, and it's not that hard to put it away each week. For the person who said the popped corn tasted like styrofoam. Good grief, why were you eating styrofoam??? Put some butter or olive oil on it, and voila, tasty popcorn. Use a large bowl to catch the popped corn. You might consider putting the bowl on something so it is raised up a bit, but our counter is offset about an inch so we put the popper on the bottom, and the bowl on the upper counter. Someone complained about the popcorn landing on the floor. That is not the fault of the popper, but the fault of using too small a bowl, or just the nature of popcorn. It's going to pop! If the hot kernel has landed in the bowl before popping, it might end up on the floor, maybe once or twice. Here's a solution, push the set up toward the back of your counter toward the backsplash.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SydhsMom
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
looooove it!
9/8/2009

Customer review by lilmama0206

5.0 stars 9/8/2009 by lilmama0206
by lilmama0206

I don't think the design has changed since the 1980's or earlier even. But I love it so much! The cap on top helps to melt butter as well as being a perfect messering cup for the kernals. It takes no time to pop the corn and it's always fluffy. I love being able to choose my toppings and our kids can have another flavor if they want, no comprimises needed! I can't wait till christmas and we can string pop corn around the tree!!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilmama0206
Orange Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Pleasantly surprised
11/28/2013

Customer review by msjinabq

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by msjinabq
by msjinabq

I have not had a hot air popper for years and thought I'd try one because microwave popcorn is really so awful. This Presto is a CHAMP. It was fast, and very efficient, and has this little cup to measure and it doubles to melt butter, and while there are some unpopped kernels, there weren't many. The result was so much nicer than microwave popcorn so it makes me wonder why I waited so long. The price is very reasonable, actually dirt cheap, but the quality is quite high. Its durable and well made. The one I got is yellow, so its bright and sunny. After using it was a breeze to wipe off and put away. Kicking myself for taking so long to buy one. Highly recommended, plus WalMart shipped it very quickly.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msjinabq
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/14/2011

Customer review by accountant122

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by accountant122
by accountant122

The Presto air popper exceeded our expectations. It was reasonably priced and has very few unpopped kernels. There is no on/off switch, but that is a minor issue. I wish I had not bought the Rival brand first in Walmart's store and had just ordered the Presto for store pickup. The Rival has three times the quantity of unpopped kernels and more fly out of the machine while operating. It is a shame the Walmart stores in the area did not stock the Presto brand.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
accountant122
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Air Popcorn Popper
10/1/2010

Customer review by LordElgin

4.0 stars 10/1/2010 by LordElgin
by LordElgin

The popper is definitely worth the price. The only drawback I've seen so far is the kernels tend to blow out of the popper before they are popped. So I tilt the popper back slightly so this doesn't happen. Then once the kernels are popping I set it back down and let it do it's thing.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LordElgin
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Popped all over
4/13/2014

Customer review by Bedtimehappy

2.0 stars 4/13/2014 by Bedtimehappy
by Bedtimehappy

I bought this popper thinking it was better then the rest, and though it maybe, it still pops way too many very hot unpopped kernels out the top while heating up. Once it does start popping it keeps popping them out until there are enough popped over the unpopped to stop it. The air is quite strong. The problem isn't the air, but the angle of both the tube that the popcorn climbs being too short, and the top not having a shield in the front to angle the popcorn into a bowl. Only solution as it is designed right now, is to tilt it back until it starts popping and have a bowl tall enough to go right to the exit. I am very disappointed with this as it seems to be simple design flaws, that should have been fixed years ago, as this model has a history of being around for many years. I had one like this over 20 years ago. Now I remember why I went to the microwave. I am surprised there weren't more complaints about this in comments. It is my only complaint. Heats great, nice looking, good price (for hot air. lol), easy to operate elec part though it has no button to turn on or off. Easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bedtimehappy
Redding, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this Air Popper!
10/25/2008

Customer review by JLDsGirl

5.0 stars 10/25/2008 by JLDsGirl
by JLDsGirl

I've been substituting popcorn for cigarettes during a very stressful time. But I worried that the commercial microwave popcorn was not organic, and had other substances than corn in it. Now that I have the Air Popper, I am using real popcorn -- unprocessed, true organic, non-GMO. And the nicest part is that I can make a small amount as easily as a larger amount, so my nervous eating has some control now.

Was this review helpful? (27) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLDsGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
great value
4/20/2011

Customer review by bugbeader

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by bugbeader
by bugbeader

This popcorn popper met my expectations. Its inexpensive, and does the job just fine. It pops almost all the corn, much better than the microwave popcorn. The taste and texture are much better too, I could never go back to microwave popcorn. I like the fact that I dont have to use oil. My grandson loves to watch it pop.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bugbeader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 964 total reviews
1-20 of 964 reviews