Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

55 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

55 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 stars
12
1-20 of 48 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
A big disappointment in a small package
1/5/2008

Customer review by JoAnne47

2.0 stars 1/5/2008 by JoAnne47
by JoAnne47

I recently purchased this camcorder to replace my 8 year old camcorder that had broken. During the recent Christmas holiday, I used the camera to take still photos and videos. I was sadly disapointed with it. The video color quality was awful!! The pictures either came out blurry, or the color was terrible!! It was impossible to have my 2 small nephews to hold still while the camera took several seconds to capture the image. When I took pictures of my 4 grown sons they did not want to hold still for a few seconds while the camcorder captured the image. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT purchase this camcorder. Save your money for a more expensive camcorder. Also when I down loaded the video, the audio was recorded, but not the video. I had to call tech support, and they had to e-mail me directions to a web sight that would record the audio and VIDEO.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoAnne47
Muncie, In
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I LOVE IT!!!!
8/27/2007

Customer review by clamshell99

5.0 stars 8/27/2007 by clamshell99
by clamshell99

I got this camera for my eleven year old daughter!!!You definitly need a bigger memory card and the batteries that come with it stink. The tapeless feature is nice and so is the MP3. The only thing is the batteries run out really quick. And we can't get the flash to work. The MP3 takes up a lot of memory if you put like more than ten songs!!! She really likes it though. She says it takes good pictures but it take awhile to process them. The lens cap is nice. The manual isn't to clear. I like the sound. It picks it up great. It was smaller than I expected. Which is nice. The case can't hold any thing except the camera and an extra memory card and batteries. But over all She loves it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clamshell99
Sprinfield,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
my camera
7/6/2007

Customer review by cris

4.0 stars 7/6/2007 by cris
by cris

.For this camera I really recommend getting an sd card for more memory because it really does'nt hold much. when you take a picture you cant move the camera even a little or esle the picture will be blury. I recommend this to people who are not trying to take serious pics or videos . But overall this camera is fun i enjoyed using it because of all the things you can use it for:)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cris
san jose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just right
8/15/2007

Customer review by momof2cuties

4.0 stars 8/15/2007 by momof2cuties
by momof2cuties

It takes decent quality videos. Better than what I expected, and the still shots are really good for the price. You definately need extra memory. I got a 2gb sd. I really can't complain. My expensive camcorder up and quit on me right b4 a special even so I ran out and got this to cover it and I'm actually considering just keeping it as mey general camcorder. The visdeo quality isn't as good as the expensive one but it still isn't bad at all. I like it a lot. O ya and it picks up sound GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momof2cuties
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A very good camera
9/9/2007

Customer review by Charnib

5.0 stars 9/9/2007 by Charnib
by Charnib

This camera is very easy to operate and takes excellent pictures & movies. I'm paralyzed on my right side, so I needed a camera that could be used left handed. My daughter, who is right handed, used it and loves it. So for the other left-handed people out there, this camera can be operated with ease in either hand.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charnib
Richmond, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Complete Disappointment
1/20/2008

Customer review by GoPats2008

1.0 stars 1/20/2008 by GoPats2008
by GoPats2008

I would not recommend this product to anyone under any circumstances. You certainly get what you pay for and there was not one feature that I was pleased with. To begin with the camcorder is made out of cheap plastic with visible screws. It is not durable and simply looks cheap. Secondly, the photo and video quality is atrocious! Without perfect lighting the photos are blurry and the video is so dark that it is useless. In addition, the sound on the videos is horrible and the speaker is located where one’s finger is bound to cover it. Although the camcorder comes with excellent software I was unable to load anything from the camcorder onto my computer without causing errors or the computer to crash. I wasn’t looking for anything extravagant when I bought the camera, I just wanted to video my friends and students. I’m not an expert on photo and video quality but I know that this doesn’t even suffice for an amateur and I can’t think of one instance where I would happily use this product. Ultimately, this product has caused nothing but frustration and discontent and I wouldn’t recommend to anybody.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoPats2008
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
It's great but....
8/7/2007

Customer review by ebrazzle

5.0 stars 8/7/2007 by ebrazzle
by ebrazzle

I bought this product for my 11 year old daughter (b-day gift). Like some of the other reviewers said, you have to really hold it still so your pictures or videos don't get blurry. But when you do, it takes really good pictures; the video part works well and is clear including the sound. One thing we did have a problem with was the mp3 function. It took us awhile and a visit to the DXG website to fully understand how to add music to the device as the instructions that come with it weren't all that clear. As a word of advice, we were using Windows Media and realized we needed to format the music she wanted into mp3 format. So remember that when buying this product as it does not recognize WMA music files. Other than that, it's great for a giggly pre-teen especially since it has 5 functions in one and we did buy a 1gb memory card as it doesn't come with much memory.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ebrazzle
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
digital Camecorder
11/22/2007

Customer review by opinionator

4.0 stars 11/22/2007 by opinionator
by opinionator

I traveled to Africa and took this small yet handy and lightweight camera/ recorder with me. I was amazed at the handyiness and compactability it offered while in the jungles. I absoultely enjoyed using it and many of the Africans had never seen anything like it, most of the villages we had visited had never seen a white man let alone a recording device like this, I really felt as if I were traveling back in time. The only drawback to this particular camera is the fact that it uses batteries not a nicad rechargeable one, like most camecorders do, but all in all for the money it is the best product I have ever uesd.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
opinionator
seymour, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I've only had this for 2 days.....
9/9/2007

Customer review by luvz2film

3.0 stars 9/9/2007 by luvz2film
by luvz2film

& it's already messed up....the screen freezes up when i go to view my videos.......but other then that it's been pretty good...i filmed @ my sis's vball games & used the software that came w/ it to edit it...& it's was cool.....i wish it had a better picture though...it's kind of blury....& they're right u do definately need the sd card....i recomend the 2.0 GB that worked for me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvz2film
Pleasanton, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DXG 5.1 MP DXG506VP CAMCORDER, PINK
11/2/2007

Customer review by Tantrum

1.0 stars 11/2/2007 by Tantrum
by Tantrum

In my opionion, this product looked like a childs toy. Very fake looking and the preview pictures on the LCD screen were always very blurred. Hard to take regular pictures because your hand seems to cover up the flash. Just not whatt I expected, not very handy. For a younger child it may be okay, but I would not recommend for adult usage. Overall I was not pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tantrum
Caldwell, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
DXG camcorder
1/16/2008

Customer review by jjmac

2.0 stars 1/16/2008 by jjmac
by jjmac

We bought this for my 10-year-old for Christmas and she was thrilled for the first couple of days. After a few days we realized that there wasn't much she could do without a memory card. As soon as we bought the memory card the camera started freezing up and wouldn't work right. Needless to say, we were disappointed. We definitely would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jjmac
Alpine, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
a very needed product
10/2/2007

Customer review by mommy6

5.0 stars 10/2/2007 by mommy6
by mommy6

my son has angelman syndrome and I in barre vermont and almost all his doctors are in buerlington vermont.we use this to show them what kind of day he is having.after a visit to the doctor with his f.i.t . worker .she was so amazed at the clearness .that she went to her boss and now they are all equiped whith it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommy6
barre vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Product
9/14/2007

Customer review by Kiya11

5.0 stars 9/14/2007 by Kiya11
by Kiya11

This little digital camera/video player/recorder is a wonderful value. For around $100 you get good still pictures and videos. The fact that it also playes MP3's is just a bonus.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kiya11
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Camcorder DXG
12/26/2007

Customer review by bobbiji

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by bobbiji
by bobbiji

I brought my grandaugther one last year and she loves it hers got boke so I'll be buying her another one this year.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobbiji
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible Product! Do not waste your $$$$
3/13/2008

Customer review by laurajo85

1.0 stars 3/13/2008 by laurajo85
by laurajo85

I bought this camera/camcorder not expecting much because it was so inexpensive but I was horribly disappointed when I got it. All the pictures turn out really blurry and no matter what condition the lighting is in whether it's bright, dim, sunny or just right the camera cannot support it and the picture or video turn out too bright to see or too dark too see. I kept the camera for a week trying different tactics, and different lighting to see if it was the camera or just me and after a week it went back to the store. I put another $100 with the money I got back with this one and got a way better camera with way better quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laurajo85
Independence, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Good Product
7/19/2007

Customer review by horzeluver

5.0 stars 7/19/2007 by horzeluver
by horzeluver

i think this camcorder works very good but if you move while taking the picture the picture becomes blury.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
horzeluver
Absecon,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A lot of poor quality....you get what you pay for
2/2/2008

Customer review by ChazinPA

1.0 stars 2/2/2008 by ChazinPA
by ChazinPA

pro's- Pictures-good for taking still pics, this is the only pro (something that's not moving, otherwise pic will have blurs, shutter speed is very slow) Cons- Movies-would be decent if it didn't freeze up 95% of the time.......arrgh...frustrating. Mp3's, just plays the music, if it doesn't freeze up also....& you don't know what your are listening to until you play the song, gives it a # instead of telling you what you are playing. I mainly bought this for work..... batteries lasted only 2 hours just using the mp3 player. it takes 4 AAA. Waste of $$$

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChazinPA
Beaver Falls, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Disappointment
1/15/2008

Customer review by NEKsMom

1.0 stars 1/15/2008 by NEKsMom
by NEKsMom

Purchased DXG 506V for middle school aged daughter thinking that the digital camera, camcorder, mp3 player would be a great combo. Shutter time is very slow, pictures very blurry, video files were huge, then the LCD screen went completely white. Searched the DXGUSA website knowledgebase for help then turned in trouble ticket. Read product reviews for this product on DXG site--disappointment is general theme. Still waiting for DXG's response to trouble ticket. Would not recommend purchase of this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NEKsMom
NE Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Waste of Money
3/3/2008

Customer review by JHughes

1.0 stars 3/3/2008 by JHughes
by JHughes

I bought this camera to take videos of my two children. However, every video I took indoors, even with good lighting, was so dark you couldn't see it once loaded onto the computer. Even outdoors on a cloudy day (and yes, I had the mode set to "Cloudy") the picture was extremely dark. I was able to manually brighten the outdoor video with the included software--but who wants to do that every time they take a video? My regular digital camera takes better quality video than this--I'm returning it today.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JHughes
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
1/10/2008

Customer review by SweetEmt

2.0 stars 1/10/2008 by SweetEmt
by SweetEmt

I bought this product as a christmas girft for my nine year old daughter, at first glance I thought this would be the perfect gift as she wanted a camcorder, plus it had other features as well, but the picture quality was poor. It was blurry, It looked as if you were constantly moving even when we stayed perfectly still, whether it was to take a picture or record an event, I was very disapointed with it and it was returned the day after christmas, wouldnt recommend this item at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetEmt
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews