Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 135 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

135 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

135 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
76
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 119 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews
GREAT CAM FOR THE MONEY
8/13/2007

Customer review by WVSPORTSMAN

4.0 stars 8/13/2007 by WVSPORTSMAN
by WVSPORTSMAN

BEST IR CAM ON THE MARKET. I'AM GOING ON TWO MONTHS WITH MINE. BATTERIES ARE STILL ABOVE 90%. TRIGGER TIME IS ABOUT 1.5 SECONDS. EASY INSTRUCTIONS. ONLY PROBLEM SO FAR IS YOU NEED TO PUT IT IN DIRECT SUN LIGHT OR IT WILL TAKE 95% OF BLACK AND WHITE PHOTOS. BOTH DAY AND NIGHT PHOTOS ARE GREAT. I HAVE TRIED MANY IR CAM'S IN THE PAST. THIS ONE IS THE FASTEST AND CHEAPEST. PHOTO QUALITY ON THIS CAMERA IS GREAT. DON'T OVER TIGHTEN THE STRAP TO THE TREE YOU CAN CAUSE A LEAK BY DOING SO.

Was this review helpful? (85) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WVSPORTSMAN
CRAB ORCHARD, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
90% Pleased
12/15/2008

Customer review by a14lbbass

4.0 stars 12/15/2008 by a14lbbass
by a14lbbass

Securing to Tree- you'd think that there'd be a better buckle/strap system provided. Once up, it works okay. The screw 'leveler' can be either a great help or a hindrence depending on setup location. Enclosure- Black sticks out. I'll probably end up taping mine as others have suggested. Manufacturing it in solid green or brown would have made more sense. The screw in metal studs are secure, but a bit tedious if you are checking cameras in extreme cold. Setup- Mostly simple and easy to understand. The display can be hard to read sometimes. Great battery life and it's nice that the display shows you how much battery is left on an ongoing basis. The display can be slow in extreme cold. SD card slot is difficult to access (tight space), but that can be overlooked when considering the big picture of this purchase. Pics- Good pics, trigger a little slow, info. bar w/temp seems accurate. Slight sound with shutter. Video- works far better than I expected. However, maybe it's me not knowing how to set it up properly or something, but the video doesn't provide the date/time. It has an accompanying still shot that you can check to see when a vid took place. IR works well. Slight sound- deer don't seem to notice much, but wiley coyote does seem to detect once in a while. Comparison: Works great compared to other cameras for the $, a great value. low risk purchase, high reward!

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
a14lbbass
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
exactly what I needed
12/28/2008

Customer review by lainiesmom

5.0 stars 12/28/2008 by lainiesmom
by lainiesmom

This is the next best thing to sliced bread. Forget the purpose for which it is intended. It's perfect for catching those ne'er do wells who clearly have nothing better to do than choose to play 'mailbox baseball'. A far more affordable alternative to setting up some sort of CCTV camera. The best part is the camera's infrared feature so no visible white flash at night---doesn't spook your 'prey'. My only complaint is the location for the optional SD memory card---it's the devil to get to. It was easy to set up and so far, battery life is excellent. I wholeheartedly recommend this product for security purposes.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lainiesmom
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
THE BEST
2/13/2008

Customer review by etxhunt

5.0 stars 2/13/2008 by etxhunt
by etxhunt

We have 3 cameras, and this one is by far the ultimate. I had to erase some the color in the pics because the file was too large to upload in full color. It took over 3000 pics in 6 weeks, and the battery life is still over 60%. If I knew why the price went UP $24, I might buy another one, but I think the price should be going DOWN

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
etxhunt
east texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
4/15/2008

Customer review by hunter1972

5.0 stars 4/15/2008 by hunter1972
by hunter1972

We have been VERY pleased with this camera. Pictures are clear night or day and have really liked the nature that we've captured

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hunter1972
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Rig
11/26/2009

Customer review by RedNeck71

5.0 stars 11/26/2009 by RedNeck71
by RedNeck71

Bought 2 I40's last week of July to replace remmington Ghost. Cameras have exceeded all my expectations. I average about 500 pictures per camera per week and still have 70% battery life on original batteries. Night Video is pretty grainy but everything else is sharp and clear at all times of day unlike my previous cameras.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedNeck71
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Bang for the Buck
1/30/2008

Customer review by NCHunter1

4.0 stars 1/30/2008 by NCHunter1
by NCHunter1

I carefully reviewed this product on several sporting sites and read the reviews. I would tend to support the other opinions of these sites concerning this camera. This camera was a full $20.00 cheaper at wal-mart then I could find at the regular sporting sites. You should pay special attention to set up to ensure a true North South application in the field to keep the rising and setting sun from washing out a photo. My first venture of 5-days capatured 533 pics in enhanced resoloution on a 2g card. Photos were nice. If it came in camo it would be a plus but a $2 roll of camo tape took care of that problem. Be careful with the strap that affixes to the tree I think that it could have been manufactured better.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCHunter1
Elizabeth City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best cam for the money
4/13/2009

Customer review by localnc

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by localnc
by localnc

i have had the I 40 in the woods on the same tree for over one year now... it has taken well over 3000 pics with no problems. The cams that cost twice as much that friends have are sendind back month after month... i passed several bucks up because i had pictures of a bigger one that i was able to harvest because of the cam.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
localnc
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Moultrie trail cameras
10/30/2009

Customer review by browntd41

5.0 stars 10/30/2009 by browntd41
by browntd41

I use both the Moultrie I-40 IR camera and the Game Spy 4.0. They both take good pictures, but the I-40 IR has exceptional battery life. I've got one in the field currently that has been on the same set of batteries for three months and it was still at 65-70% power (it tells you on the camera how much power is left). The Game Spy 4.0 is much cheaper, but if you put it on a high traffic area like a corn feeder, the battery life is inadequate. The I-40 IR makes a very slight "click" when it takes a picture, which can lead to the deer looking at the camera in following pics, but it doesn't seem to spook them at all. Overall, I would give the I-40 IR 5 stars and Game Spy 4.0 four stars due to its limited battery life.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
browntd41
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
moultrie game camera
8/26/2009

Customer review by woody123

5.0 stars 8/26/2009 by woody123
by woody123

the camera was easy to aim and setup in the field the pictures were very good. this is a very good tool for tracking and seeing your game before hunting season. I set the exposures at two per event and left time a defalt of one min. this was too fast. I increased the time to 5 min. and one picture. this was much better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woody123
houston texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
deer in the woods
10/23/2007

Customer review by Alpine54

5.0 stars 10/23/2007 by Alpine54
by Alpine54

This product saves valuable time, you wont be hunting in an area where the deer don't roam.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alpine54
Woodhaven,Mich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
everything i expected
9/7/2009

Customer review by countryboy44

5.0 stars 9/7/2009 by countryboy44
by countryboy44

takes great pics night and day and easy to operate....does everything i expected and love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countryboy44
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/14/2009

Customer review by Bride62

5.0 stars 7/14/2009 by Bride62
by Bride62

This is my first digital game camera and from my experience so far it works awesome! I highly recommend this camera takes crisp clear photos and videos. I had pictures of wildlife overnight.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bride62
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
1/11/2008

Customer review by Babyhuey

5.0 stars 1/11/2008 by Babyhuey
by Babyhuey

The camera works great, Easy to stet up and use. I have caputred lots of deer in just a few weeks on the camera day or night. I use the enhanced video along with the still shots with the time and date stamp to learn about the deer movement around my hunting area Gary

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Babyhuey
Cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Takes good night vision pics
8/23/2007

Customer review by metwo

4.0 stars 8/23/2007 by metwo
by metwo

I have found this game camera to take good night vision pictures. The daytime color pictures are not as good if you have bright light facing the camera so be sure to angle the camera more north or south. I would recomend this for anyone who is on a budget. It is worth the price for what you get.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
metwo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
camera that does not work
1/9/2011

Customer review by hogtrapper

1.0 stars 1/9/2011 by hogtrapper
by hogtrapper

the first time I used it 90% of the pictures opened OK. the 2nd time 80% opened. then it really went down hill. unfortunately, more than 90 days passed before I figured out what I paid $150.00 for. now I have to deal with Moultrie ?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hogtrapper
Emory, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good but not Great!!
12/16/2009

Customer review by beachturf

3.0 stars 12/16/2009 by beachturf
by beachturf

Camera was priced right and had all the right features. Once you understand how to activate camera it was easy. Easy to install, takes good clear pictures. Problem: The camera makes a considerable clicking sound when taking a picture. This has caused alot of the deer to spook and I have about 40% of my pictures are blurred because of the animals quick movement. I have an older Moultrie game cam that doesn't make any noise, thought this one would be the same. Infrared flash works great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beachturf
SE Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/27/2009

Customer review by gettinsomewhitetail

1.0 stars 8/27/2009 by gettinsomewhitetail
by gettinsomewhitetail

I purchased 3 Moultrie I40s in Fall 2008. I sent all three in for warranty repair in early 2009. Moultrie replaced all 3 with new units. I have since sent all those units back for warranty repair. So out of 6 units, none have lasted more than 4 months. On all the units, the LCD panel went out. Also on one of those units, it would not accept any SD card. The pictures are mostly B&W as the IR sensor doesn't seem to work well. I get B&W pics during the middle of the day! The night pics are blurry unless the animal is standing perfectly still. the only good thing is battery life, which seems to avg 100-120 days. Overall, I would not recommend these units until Moultrie does a better job of quality control.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gettinsomewhitetail
sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Spy Camera
10/30/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/30/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

A good camera for the price. Great pictures in the daylight, black and white pictures at night. The deer are not spooked by it, other than very courious as to what has invaded their space. The stap that hooks it to the tree could use some improvement as placeing a 200.00 camera out in the woods is a bit scary with no security to be had by the strap. I like my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased
7/14/2009

Customer review by ohandsome1

5.0 stars 7/14/2009 by ohandsome1
by ohandsome1

After checking out a lot of game cameras I chose this one not only because of it's value but it's quality. This takes great pictures during the day, clear enough to count the spots on a fawn and good pictures at night. The only drawback I have noticed is the hinge pin was loose in the battery space. Not to worry though, the battery door is tight enough to ensure it's working properly when the casing door is screwed in tight. I will be buying a few more of these to set up in key locations to see just what I've got roaming my deer and turkey hunting sights. I highly recommend this camera if you're looking for an easy to use camera that doesn't cost an arm and a leg as well as very easy to set up and use. Thumbs up for me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohandsome1
Southeast Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews