Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 785 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

785 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

785 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
636
4 stars
78
3 stars
15
2 stars
13
1 stars
43
1-20 of 727 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 727 total reviews
1-20 of 727 reviews
The Best & The Last Can Opener I Will Have To Buy!
3/1/2016

Customer review by Rafreela

5.0 stars 3/1/2016 by Rafreela
by Rafreela

Flawless execution every time with my Hamilton Beach Smooth Touch Can Opener. I have owned so many different can openers over the years from expensive to cheap, generic to top line name brands. Every single one would fail to open cans, tear and chew up the sides of the can, splash and drip everywhere, and most of the time I had to puncture a little slit on the top side of the can to just to get the opener to grab a hold and pray it would open the can. I have recommended and showed off my Hamilton Beach Smooth Touch Can Opener to just about anyone who comes over or show it off when I go to different places. I get asked all the time if I have stock in that company because I show it off all the time. I recommend this to my grandparents and have bought it as gift to several people as well. It opens all type of cans including pull top cans with no messes or dirty tops and grounded up paper a metal shavings falling down into your food. I am very happy with this and I will not go back to the old style openers.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rafreela
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No better opener in the world
6/10/2016

Customer review by JudeMontereyCA

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by JudeMontereyCA
by JudeMontereyCA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought this opener was overpriced until I got one. I'd pay double for this after using it daily for a month. Does everything the ad says it does, lifts the whole top off a can without sharp edges. How it does, a mystery to me. But so easy to use with my cramped arthritic hands for one thing. Plus a dishwashing savior in that I can put the top back on (including a loop if it has one) to the fridge, saving a separate leftover container to wash. I cook for one (me) and if I open a can of spinach, or chili, whatever, I can use only half a can. Save the rest a few days in it's paper labeled can easy to identify in the fridge. I forget what is other plastic containers and waste contents to trash. And no further container to wash and dry. Perfect! I had my doubts but if you do, I guarantee you they will disappear once you use this marvel invention. I'm still trying to figure out how it can do what it does, but mainly it is so EASY to use its light touch even if you have old hands. I am 79 and have tried them all. If anyone has a problem with this item, then you didn't read the tips and instructions. Thank you Hamilton Beach and Walmart for the best price of anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JudeMontereyCA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hamilton Beach Smooth Touch Can Opener
1/10/2016

Customer review by Carrie

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Carrie
by Carrie

Awhile back, I replaced a regular (cut open the top of the lid) can opener with the Smooth Touch . I decided it was much safer to cut through the bead around the outside of a can, instead of having sharp edges on the lid as well as inside the can. After the first use, I fell in love with it. I can place the lid back onto the can if I don't use all the hash at one meal. It is better than using plastic wrap over the top. Since the cutting of the can is on the outside, there is never any food on the cutting edge, which makes keeping it clean a breeze. And, there is no way the lid will drop on top of the food, which eliminates contamination & possibility of sliced fingers. The design fits well on a countertop, it isn't built more for a right-handed person, as the lever to press to make the motor go is large & in the center. I since have given a Smooth Touch to my son, daughter & granddaughter.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carrie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Has my vote.
2/9/2016

Customer review by Nightowl

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by Nightowl
by Nightowl

This is by far the best can opener we have owned. It's solid build and ease of use make it the perfect choice for anyone looking for consistent and reliable performance. The can opener is tall enough for all size cans and it will open regular tops and pop tops. This can opener cuts on the side of the can, leaving you with a removed lid with no sharp jagged edges that can cut you. Even though this is not an automatic start and stop opener( you do need to push down a lever at the top) it is no problem. We have been amazed at the strength of the motor and the task is completed quickly and efficiently. We are very pleased with the can opener, it's actually fun to use. We would recommend this can opener to anyone looking for ease of use, consistency and reliability. This Hamilton Beach product is a winner in our book.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nightowl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best can opener
8/2/2014

Customer review by bagsieFl

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by bagsieFl
by bagsieFl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If it were up to me I would use a hand operated opener, but my wife opens a lot of cans and the cheap Rival opener made too much noise in her opinion.. I researched comments on Amazon, Walmart, even seen "You tubes" of this opener in action and the buy for me came when a Chef magazine did a review at a soup kitchen where all kinds of openers were used and lots of different cans were opened.. The chef's liked a $20 hand operated one best, the 2nd runner up was Hamilton Beach Smooth Touch, especially recommended for people who physically have a hard time opening cans manually..I had reservations about Hamilton Beach ever since they sold leaky coffee urns a few years back which prompted the research.. This opener is quieter and cuts the cans on the side, not the top so nothing ever touches the food adding a degree of cleanliness to the operation. I've checked online and Walmart has the best price or at worst ties another.. We've owned and used this item for 2 weeks..So far so good and this opener changed my negative opinion of Hamilton Beach.. It's a buy..

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bagsieFl
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Can Opener Out There !!
4/6/2016

Customer review by Riddle

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Riddle
by Riddle

Wife suffers from arthritis in her hands and we have tried seven can openers from various stores and a couple from TV ads to no avail. Finally we purchased this Hamilton Beach opener that performs as advertised every time. Truly a superior product among a lot of junk.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Riddle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great quality, and value. safety was a main issue
12/27/2012

Customer review by amber1976

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by amber1976
by amber1976
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

we bought one of these from walmart almost a year ago, and i wanted this one cause my son takes out the trash. so safety was important to me. when i was younger my brother that was only 12 at the time was taking out the trash, and a top to a can cut his leg open to the bone thru the bag cause he was holding multiple bags at the time. and i didnt want this to happen to my son, he just started getting allowance and doin chores. and i wanted him to be safe so thank you i love this can opener. plus it stays so clean, that was one thing i cant stand about other can openers. they always get nasty and to my standards u can never get them clean enough. this was bought for my 63 year old mother, that has been using something that looks like it came out of the stone age. its a handheld thing and its no bigger than a large egg, i cant stand using it when i go to her house. and i noticed it hurt her last time she used it. so thanks i love this product...

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amber1976
sapulpa, ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lasts for only 1 year.
6/15/2013

Customer review by DBF68

1.0 stars 6/15/2013 by DBF68
by DBF68

I bought this can opener last year to make can opening and food preparation for my dad's dog a lot easier. By having the rim of the dog food can removed, sliding the food out of the can was a breeze vs. having to dig it out of the can because it'd get hung up on the can rim. The only problem I had with this can opener is that it only lasted a year before it started missing and creating thin can shavings everywhere. I contacted Hamilton-Beach support and was told they don't have any authorized service centers in the US where I could get this unit repaired or from where I could buy a new round replacement blade. HB did offer to sell me a new unit for 50% off the retail price, but I didn't see the logic in buying another 1 year can opener. In the end, I had to throw away this HB can opener that was perfectly good other than for a dull round blade that I could have replaced if HB would have sold me one.

Was this review helpful? (70) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DBF68
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT!
3/29/2016

Customer review by HappyLIMom

5.0 stars 3/29/2016 by HappyLIMom
by HappyLIMom

I was using the pampered chef hand can opener because it opened the cans from the side so I couldn't get my fingers cut. It really was tough on the fingers and wrists after a while especially if you open a lot of cans or big heavy ones. This can opener is fast, has the same principle on opening from the side for no cuts. I'm sold big time and highly recommend this to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyLIMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hope this lasts a LONG time!
2/8/2014

Customer review by HousekeepingHomemaker

4.0 stars 2/8/2014 by HousekeepingHomemaker
by HousekeepingHomemaker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our 20+ year old Betty Crocker can opener quit working and as you know, there are too many options out there and prices for mainstay items like toasters and can openers so making a decision isn't always quick and easy. Here's the review: LOVE the smooth edge on the lid when removed. One star was not given due to the need to hold the lever during the cutting process (unless there's an auto function I don't know about - I have not read the instructions/directions for use.) I've used it more than a dozen times and really like the way it looks and operates. The smooth lid cutting does enable the lid to be seated back on the can for storage in the fridge (dog food/etc.) and I did not find it to hamper the draining of liquids - love that a jagged edge lid no longer falls into the can's contents as it did with my old opener. I would highly recommend this product. It looks great on the counter and performs exceedingly well. Good price and value. Hope I don't have to shop again for a can opener soon. Even if I did I'm sure I'd likely buy this one again, simply for enjoying how it works.

Was this review helpful? (69) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HousekeepingHomemaker
Brandon, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really does have a smooth cut
5/7/2016

Customer review by oakley520

5.0 stars 5/7/2016 by oakley520
by oakley520

I used this the other day for the first time and was amazed how it cut off the lid. I thought it wasn't cutting, so I let it go around twice. I removed it so I could readjust it to cut. Low and behold the top of the lid came off. And there really were NO SHARP EDGES. This is just an amazing can opener. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oakley520
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great opener!
5/23/2016

Customer review by Carebear1969

5.0 stars 5/23/2016 by Carebear1969
by Carebear1969
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This cuts all size can lids off and even cuts the ones with the tabs. Best opener I have ever used!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carebear1969
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Yes! it "Can--Open--Er"
8/15/2009

Customer review by billykid05

5.0 stars 8/15/2009 by billykid05
by billykid05

So I read Sheldonsky's review of this product, threw caution to the wind and bought it. Let me tell you now, run, dont walk, don't think twice, JUST DO IT ..... go to your local Walmart and buy this thing! You WILL show off your side-cutting can opener to anyone withing arms reach. You WILL be opening cans before they need opening. When I say it opens cans clean...I'm talking Cleveland Clinic Surgeon precision. You WILL NOT know the can lid is actually open because it slices the lid quietly....I mean Stealth-like and from the side. It doesnt click and clunk and drop the lid in the product like your used to. Like I said, don't think about the side cutting thing, dont worry that it's a little more money than the others, dont worry its not under the cabinet mish mosh, woopty do, space saving, etc, etc...You WANT this can opener.... I open four cans of dog food daily for the past 30 years and believe me, I've tried them all, once again....this thing works!, it's cool and you will be the coolest "can-open owner" on your block. P.S....Be sure to buy 10 cans of cheap can corn so you can show off your new magic trick to all (not kidding)....I guarantee you friends, neighbors, nosy nelly's will secretly buy one after they see yours!!

Was this review helpful? (367) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billykid05
Norwalk, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
not so good
6/25/2016

Customer review by rowew

2.0 stars 6/25/2016 by rowew
by rowew

I've been using this opener for a month or so and it seems to work well on smaller cans, but less than half the time on bigger cans. i had an opener from sears for at least 30 years before the cutting blade wore out . now i wish i'd found someone who could have sharpened it for me. it would open anything that i ever tried it on. so much for progress.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rowew
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great opener
7/13/2016

Customer review by TripleLLL

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by TripleLLL
by TripleLLL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I normally hate black appliances of any sort, but I have to say this is very attractive and looks great on my counter. I have had no problems opening any cans. It's easy to tell when the can is open, as the sound of the motor changes to a bit higher "whine." It doesn't take much pressure to hold down, so it doesn't matter that you have to hold it down, even though I have arthritis in my hands that is easily exacerbated. It only takes seconds to open the cans. It seems faster than my old opener. Even though it is not advertised as "tall" or for tall cans, it is the same height as my old "tall" opener. A winner!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TripleLLL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/28/2012

Customer review by GMaKatie

4.0 stars 3/28/2012 by GMaKatie
by GMaKatie

Got this unit 2 years ago for a christmas gift. looooooooooooooooooove it, saves my wrists as i have arthritis, and keeps my son from cutting himself on sharp cans as we recycle. i did expect it to last longer however. once i got the new unit i decided to open the old one to see what went wrong, well come to find out there is a screw in the inside cutting post to adjust the post to make tighter contact with the can..seems after 2 years of heavy use i could have just tightened the screw back up... i did, and it worked like a champ again. so instead of bringing back the new one for a refund i gave the old one to my cousin. now i know what to do if it happens again.

Was this review helpful? (89) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMaKatie
mayetta, ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best canopener EVER!
12/24/2013

Customer review by OkieGirl40

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by OkieGirl40
by OkieGirl40

My husband and I have been on the great can opener hunt for several years. Well, the hunt is finally over. After wiping the grime off the lids and picking metal shavings out of our canned goods for two decades we can now rest easy. Not only that but the former germ harboring blade is nonexistent which truly gives me peace of mind. My brother and his wife had this one; when we were over at Thanksgiving helping with meal prep, I opened a can..........and fell in absolute love with it. I ran and grabbed my hubby and opened another; we were hooked! We bought our own and it has been amazing (we have three teenage boys and we open a lot of cans, daily). I will be giving as gifts until everyone in our entire family has one. Seriously, it is THAT good!

Was this review helpful? (93) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OkieGirl40
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Safe Edges
7/20/2016

Customer review by GinaE

4.0 stars 7/20/2016 by GinaE
by GinaE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great can opener, cuts whole top part of can off, leaving a relatively safe edge. We ran our finger across can edge and it was pretty smooth.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GinaE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hamilton Beach
7/20/2016

Customer review by SCRUOBAMA

4.0 stars 7/20/2016 by SCRUOBAMA
by SCRUOBAMA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice product , nice price. Only feature that I don't care for is you have to hold down the lever until the can has opened.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SCRUOBAMA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does What It Promises To Do
6/9/2009

Customer review by Sheldonsky

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by Sheldonsky
by Sheldonsky

This unit is unlike most electric can openers, which have a sharp pointed blade that pierces the can. They leave thin metal shavings on the blade and IN YOUR FOOD. Also, the cutting blade actually TOUCHES your food. This device NEVER touches your food. It opens the can on the outside, around the outer edge. You have to lift the lid off with you fingers and thumb, much like lifting the plastic snap-on lid off a half-eaten can of cat food. This is weird, at first, but the edge is not sharp. The downside is that you can't use the severed lid to squeeze the water out of a can of peas or a can of tuna, etc. Also, you have to press and hold the can opener lever, in order to keep in running while the can is opening. It's not automatic and there's no magnet to pull the severed lid off. At first, this seems weird, after what you're used to with other electric can openers. I like it because the cutting device never touches the food inside the can. Thus, it never gets all gunked up. It's completely sanitary. Also, you don't wind up with metal shavings in your food, as you usually do with other can openers (most people don't even realize this is happening, but if you watch the cutting blade closely on other models, you will see metal shavings forming on the blade and dropping into your food. That CAN'T be good!) This product does exactly what it says.

Was this review helpful? (212) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sheldonsky
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 727 total reviews
1-20 of 727 reviews