Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 146 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
116
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 126 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
Just Right
11/28/2010

Customer review by WhistlingInTheDark

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by WhistlingInTheDark
by WhistlingInTheDark

This is a great canner- I was undecided about getting this size or the larger, but I'm glad I chose this- any larger & I would have had trouble lifting it. When the jars are loaded along with the water plus the weight of the canner, some serious muscle is required to lift this off the stove- and you MUST lift it off the burner after processing is finished. Also, it is HOT (duh!) so you can't rely on leaning it against your body to help take some of the weight off your arms/hands - the handles are large & stay nice & cool so you have plenty to hold on to. So if you are thinking about the larger size, keep the weight in mind as you might really be sorry about being able to add those extra jars when it comes time to remove this from the stovetop. Drawback to the smaller size of course is having to process smaller batches, but I'd rather do this than have an accident with a hot canner I can't lift. My plan is to buy another of the 16 Quart size for doing larger batches- the canner takes appx. 30 min. to cool down before you can open it- rather than sitting around waiting on it I would like to be able to keep going & get done with those larger jobs....by having 2 smaller units, one could be being filled/processed while the other cooled & this cycle repeated which would make large jobs go a LOT faster. One other thing- instructions say canner can fit 10 pint jars at a time- now I don't know who came up with that estimate but they must have smashed 2 of the jars to get them inside...the MAX pint jars that will fit in this is 8 - anymore & you will need to fit them inside in pieces! Overall, this is a well made canner that should last many years with proper care. Instructions are well-written & easy to understand, & have processing times for MANY different fruits & veggies (as well as meats) in the back of the book. If you are new to canning, you will find that this canner is easy to set up & use by following the instruction book. If you are a seasoned pro. you will love this canner!

Was this review helpful? (237) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhistlingInTheDark
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
LOVE IT easy to use
3/6/2008

Customer review by cgservs

5.0 stars 3/6/2008 by cgservs
by cgservs

This is the first pressuer canner I have owned. I found the product to be all it was advertized and more. I wanted a unit I could use both for water bath and pressure canning, it does both very well, gave me confidence in my limited canning abilities, it was great fun. I bought the canner to can tomatoe meat sauce. The instruction book also contained a reciepe for bread and butter pickels, I tried it and they are great. Thanks to Wal-Mart for a great price and a terrific product. Multiple pressure settings with weighted balance makes this unit perfect for canning different food products. Anyone doing home canning can't go wrong purchasing this canner. Well built heavy gauge alumn, will last a lifetime.

Was this review helpful? (126) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cgservs
Lakewood, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
perfect for canning
5/24/2009

Customer review by dprintersink

5.0 stars 5/24/2009 by dprintersink
by dprintersink

I was looking for a pressure cooker for canning produce from our garden, as well I wanted to be able to cook some of the recipes my mom and grandma use to make: Stuffed Cabbage, Corned beef and cabbage and several others that my small pressure cooker would not handle. Perfect size for making meals that I can now freeze and eat through the winter ... if they last that long :). I would recommend this product for anyone needing a pressure cooker for durability and ease of use. The 3 levels of pressure are easy to change and it is not too small and not too big, great for home canning and large family dinners, cooked quick ...always tender. And after a lot of searching all over the internet the price beats out the competition and by far the best value for your money!

Was this review helpful? (128) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dprintersink
Elkin, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Simple and basic pressure canner
8/29/2012

Customer review by RoddyF

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by RoddyF
by RoddyF

No fancy bells and whistles, just a good basic canner. On average this hold around 7 quart jars for me. About 9 pints. Great for small batches at a time. No need to sit and watch a pressure gauge as this one goes purely by the weight you put on the nipple. Fancy gauges are really unneeded and are an extra expense to replace. It's a good idea to have an extra gasket with any pressure canner handy but pressure gauges are just silly. I was going to order one from this site until I discovered my local Walmart had one in stock already. A good price and value for the small gardener or for someone buying meat in bulk to save money. The pressure gauge on my fancy one went bad and I didn't want to spend fifty bucks on another gauge. I've canned stew meat, veggies, ham and beans, bacon, chicken soup, you name it. Can also be used as a water bath canner. Very pleased with mine and may purchase another one for large batches. Much better than having to replace pressure gauges every couple of years.

Was this review helpful? (71) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoddyF
Owensville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very nice canning pot
7/27/2007

Customer review by WhyANickName

4.0 stars 7/27/2007 by WhyANickName
by WhyANickName

Works very well. Seems to be heavy duty. Pot is not too thin to heat well. Handles and locking feel sturdy. Have canned green beans, salsa, pickles and jelly already this year with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (79) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhyANickName
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
So Simple and Practical
10/1/2009

Customer review by glwest

5.0 stars 10/1/2009 by glwest
by glwest

This is a great, heavy duty, simiple to use canner. Great for beginners or the seasoned canner. You will not regret this purchase. Also just for those who may not know, this type of weighted guage is the best in my opinion. The dial type has to be checked for accuracy every so often (and who knows to take it to anyways). I don't feel like that type is safe, and the weighted type is good-to-go from now on. Finally, this canner has heavy lockdown clasps and a lock handle that makes it safe to use and an overpressure plug that would pop out just in case. Never had a problem with this canner. I'd buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glwest
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Exceptional Value
10/31/2007

Customer review by BakingIsMyThing

5.0 stars 10/31/2007 by BakingIsMyThing
by BakingIsMyThing

This Presto pressure cooker is big enough to handle all the jams 'n jellies and pickles you'd ever want to can. I use it primarily for making our pet's food - such large batches means less time spent doing so! It's not as heavy as it looks, the handles are easy to hold, cleans easily and stays pretty and shiney! There's a double folded rubber seal unlike my 32 yr old presto pressure cooker I still use - which I think is a much better and perhaps safer feature. The optional 5 lb, 10 lb, and 15 lb pressure regulator is a new feature to me and I'm sure I'll use it too! Terrific product. Very happy with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BakingIsMyThing
Beautiful Southern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
9/22/2010

Customer review by Boats007

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by Boats007
by Boats007

This model can be used to water bath can pints or half-pints only, not quarts, per the included manual. I've made several different kinds of pickles and tested the pressure canner by doing a couple of pints of veggies. I have a flat top stove and it works fine. I like this much better than a pressure canner with a gauge because the gauge should be calibrated every year and this one will work without needing to be calibrated. I like that I can use one pot to either pressure can or water bath can. It was also very affordable compared to other pressure canners.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boats007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value for small batch canning
6/1/2014

Customer review by CanadaGal

4.0 stars 6/1/2014 by CanadaGal
by CanadaGal

I chose to purchase this model of Presto pressure canner because I needed a small canner that would operate on my glass-top cooktop. Also, I previously owned a much larger Presto with rocker pressure control and was very happy with my previous canner - on a different stove. The canner arrived several weeks ago and has already been used to pressure can two batches of vegetables and also to water bath can several batches of tomato sauce - all in pint size jars. If you want to do large batches of water bath canning, I would recommend a larger unit or a proper water bath canner if your stove will allow it...this model can't be used to water bath anything larger than pint size jars - however, it will pressure can quarts. I am pleased with my purchase and would recommend it to a small family or for use on a glass-top stove.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CanadaGal
Middle GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
woderful product
9/11/2010

Customer review by lilmin

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by lilmin
by lilmin

This is my third Presto pressure canner. All of these were purchased from Wal-Mart. They have the best price and best service. I can a lot in the summer months and it is good to have three. The pressure goes up quickly and it cools down quickly so the turn around time is fast. I have three gas burners set up on my deck along with tables to prepare produce to can. I can usually do 6 canners in a day which is 42 quarts per day. When canning vegetable soup that is very good as I can between 80 and 100 quarts each year and around 60-70 quarts of green beans. It is also very good to can chicken and vension in these pressure canners.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilmin
Dahlonega, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great pressure canner
11/12/2013

Customer review by HearthWench

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by HearthWench
by HearthWench

I bought this for a gift to teach my daughter how to pressure can. Having a natural gas range, the rocker-style of gauge is superior to the dial gauge in my opinion. The canner's instructions were clear enough for my daughter to use it if I was not there to answer any questions. It looks to be quite durable and should give my daughter many years of use. The gasket is easily replaced, as are the other parts that may wear through the years. The instructions did not have you do a test-run first, which I would highly recommend one do first to see how the canner works. I may get myself one, liking the smaller size. I was given the next size up of the Presto pressure canner by a friend recently, making smaller batches a bother to do.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HearthWench
Northern Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Little Disappointed
8/11/2009

Customer review by snpansy

2.0 stars 8/11/2009 by snpansy
by snpansy

I was disappointed that this canner cannot be used as a hot water bath for quart jars. It is about an inch too short. It will only allow you to do pint jars in a hot water bath.

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snpansy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Doesn't Do Quarts In Waterbath Mode
8/21/2008

Customer review by Rosie1966

1.0 stars 8/21/2008 by Rosie1966
by Rosie1966

I couldn't get the stars to work right. I would have given it more. I love a lot of things about this canner. It's easy to use, cleans up good, works great as a pressure cooker, etc. The only thing I was disappointed about is that when you use it for a boiling water method canner, as it states you can, you cannot use quart jars. The canner isn't tall enough to hold that much water. The safety features are reassuring. This was a great canner for my first season of canning, but I will get a bigger one for next year.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rosie1966
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very User Friendly!!!!
11/17/2008

Customer review by Melungeon

5.0 stars 11/17/2008 by Melungeon
by Melungeon

I searched every where to find an "old timey" canner which used weights on the top. Being a young man, and not overly knowledgable in the kitchen, my sister told me this would be easiest and the most safe. I can my own deer meat, make canned stews, and other things. If I can use it, anyone can, very simple. Heavy duty design, and the best value on the market for around $60!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Melungeon
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Presto 16-Quart Pressure Canner
10/7/2010

Customer review by Middleofnowhere2

5.0 stars 10/7/2010 by Middleofnowhere2
by Middleofnowhere2

There's nothing like a wonderful low tech solution to get the job done. This canner is what my mother used for over 20 years, and I'm hoping it'll be part of my home at least that long. No need for a gauge, simple-easy instructions, and no guess work. It's light weight, easy to clean, and down right exacting when you pull out your first jars. It's nice to find an American made product!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Middleofnowhere2
Napa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Much easier to use than the dial gauge canner
6/20/2010

Customer review by NJGardeningGal

5.0 stars 6/20/2010 by NJGardeningGal
by NJGardeningGal

This is the weighted gage, which I think is easier to use and safer than a dial gauge canner. There is also no need to get this calibrated annually like the other Presto model, and it's cheaper too! Great bargain, craftsmanship, etc. Recommended also for those of you with Over the Range Microwaves due to it's lower height. Please note that you can just do quarts using this as a pressure canner, not as a water batch canner. However, this is still dual purpose, and works great with either canning method.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NJGardeningGal
Waretown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
an absolute must
9/26/2010

Customer review by PassOnGreatDeals

5.0 stars 9/26/2010 by PassOnGreatDeals
by PassOnGreatDeals

i highly recommend this product not only for "canners" of maturity, but especially for the "newcomers" to the canning world. this product if most effecicent and very quiet while completing the process, unlike the canners in years gone by that very very noisy hope you will all consider THIS ONE!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PassOnGreatDeals
NEW FLORENCE, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to Use
4/8/2009

Customer review by NoUnusedNicknames

5.0 stars 4/8/2009 by NoUnusedNicknames
by NoUnusedNicknames

I have used the canner several times now. I wanted to use it more than once before providing a review to make sure I was still pleased with the product. I had never done pressure canning before; only water-bath. The directions were excellent and the item was easy to use. I have used it to bottle vegetables, beef, chicken, and just to cook a roast. This canner at Walmart's price is a very good value.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoUnusedNicknames
West Jordan, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very good product.
1/26/2011

Customer review by Luv2Can

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Luv2Can
by Luv2Can

Simple to use and works very well. 12 year warranty and made in the USA.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luv2Can
L.I. NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good for the money
8/19/2010

Customer review by swinmomma

4.0 stars 8/19/2010 by swinmomma
by swinmomma

This is my first time canning and I have had great luck with this product. So far I have done pickles, green beans, salsa, and corn. The only complaint I have so far is that it is not recommended for this canner to process quart jars in the water bath. I knew this but tried it anyway and while messy, my 2 pickle jars did seal! I wouldn't do it again, however, because I don't want to risk spoiling my food and the water splashed out of the lid because it had to be SO full. For my uses and medium sized home garden, I would definitely choose this product again as it seems sturdy and the weighted gauge is Very easy to use. Happy Canning!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swinmomma
St. Peter, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews