Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 42 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
This is a powerful airgun -- NOT A Toy!
7/16/2007

Customer review by Raymond759

5.0 stars 7/16/2007 by Raymond759
by Raymond759

This is a nice value for the money, but do not let anyone under 18 years of age use this rifle without supervision. At about 1000 feet per second, this pellet is flying near the speed of sound. It will embed itself 1/4 inch into high density particle board at 10 yards. This rifle can be used to rid your yard of pests, but is not to be used lightly. It makes sound when fired and has some recoil. I found a few screws were loose when I brought it home, and tightened them. The scope needs to be attached and was a bit difficult to zero in. You should wear shooting glasses with this one.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raymond759
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hunting tool, not a toy
10/28/2007

Customer review by Urban95

5.0 stars 10/28/2007 by Urban95
by Urban95

This spring-loaded pellet gun is quite the tool for hunting small game such as squirrel, rabbit and birds. Also useful for pest control (snakes are rampant at my country home). The box states velocities of 1000 FPS, but in using the light-weight pellets (such as the Daisy flat-nosed "wadcutter" pellets that weigh only 7.1 grains), the velocities are well over 1116 FPS (which is Mach 1) due to the sharp crack as the pellet comes out of the barrel (this is the pellet breaking the sound barrier). Heavier pellets, like those made by Gamo or Beeman, can bring the pellet speed down to 1000 FPS or lower. Just know if you're using the "average" pellets in this rifle it will sound much like a .22 caliber rimfire rifle when shot. The spring does have a little recoil (only enough to lose the target in the scope after firing), but not enough to startle you or bruise your shoulder. The trick to sighting in the scope (which was way off from the factory) is to take the mounts off the scope, install the bottom halves onto the rifle (the back mount butted up against the scope stop on the top of the rifle), tighten the bottom mounts, lay the scope in the bottom halves, straighten the crosshairs in the scope, then gently install one top half of the scope mount, check the scope, then install the other top scope mount. From the factory, the scope was mounted slightly diagonally in the mounts (which would indeed make a difficult time sighting in the scope). After taking the five minutes to disassemble the scope mounts and carefully reinstall everything, the scope was very easy to dial in. Safe shooting, Urban95.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Urban95
Supply, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
-
6/6/2009

Customer review by Gummibears

4.0 stars 6/6/2009 by Gummibears
by Gummibears

There is a very good reason for the lack of accuracy reported by some people. It is quite hard to mount the scope properly. The hard vibrations require a procedure typical to high-powered rifles, and the so-so quality of the mounts makes careful scope installation even more important. 1. Wrap some black insulation tape ONCE around the scope's tube, at the places where it will be touching the rings. Stretch the tape well during wrapping, to make it thin. 2. Notice the hole at the top of the receiver. This is where the retaining screw from the rear ring (the one with four screws) will go. 3. Slide both mounts into the dovetail rail. Installing the forward one is simple. 4. The rear mount is tricky. Tighten its round retaining screw VERY LIGHTLY first. Now try to match the hole in the receiver with the sharp-tipped retaining screw going through the mount. Lower the screw into the receiver using the provided hexagonal wrench. Tighten the ROUND retaining screw some more. Then WITHDRAW the one which goes into the receiver. Now tighten the round screw really hard (not just with your fingers; use a wide-bladed screwdriver). After you are done, use the hexagonal key on the screw which goes through the mount into the receiver. Tighten it. Hard! 5. Now put the scope onto the mounts and fasten it with the upper halves. Sight it in and enjoy. Other observations: - The rifle seems generally of good quality. The cheap plastic sights do not match this quality. Actually, comparing to the refined look and feel of the rifle they are a disgrace. - The spring "softens" a little after about 100 pellets. At the same time the rifle becomes more accurate. - I have no idea how robust this thing is going to be. So far so good, but I would be happy to hear from people who have it for a year or two. For this reason I am giving it 4 stars, not 5. The rifle would earn my "5" in a couple of years, if it still shoots well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gummibears
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
3/20/2008

Customer review by OldGreen525

5.0 stars 3/20/2008 by OldGreen525
by OldGreen525

I have owned this gun for about 4 or 5 years and it is overall an excellent gun. I've fired it a few thousand times and the seal around the break of the barrel is starting to leak but is a $4 repair. Very accurate if equipped with a scope. Kills a gopher/prairie dog with one shot to any part of the body. Excellent.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldGreen525
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
For Experienced Shooters Only
10/14/2008

Customer review by Jim02842

5.0 stars 10/14/2008 by Jim02842
by Jim02842

I have been shooting so accurately that I cannot believe it. At 50 yards, I can put 3 out of 5 shots through the exact same entry and the other two are microns off. At 100 yards, I was shooting peanuts out of clothespins. No add-ons! So, keep the kids (of all ages) from messing with this. Like others said, 'it is not a toy'. Some tips for those with issues: 1. scope alignment: set your base of rings first-get bottom base screw in good-tighten and start fine tuning for accuracy AFTER all is in place. 2. Proper ammo matters BIGTIME! Crosman has so many types if you look, you will find one they make that fits your need for that days shoot. The Crosman Destroyer ammo is for hunting-try some and watch the results, it can take down animals MUCH bigger than you think. 3. Read the instructions, clean the thing and lubricate it. It will pay you back in tighter groups, one shot take downs and more power.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jim02842
Middletown, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disapointed
11/1/2008

Customer review by NHmsj

3.0 stars 11/1/2008 by NHmsj
by NHmsj

Acquired this rifle recently from my local Wal-Mart; this morning was the first time I had a chance to shoot it. I love the rifle in all aspects except one: it can't hit what it's aimed at - at least not yet. I shot a couple hundred pellets through it (Crosman Premier HP) and they were all over the place. I have shotguns that pattern better than the Storm XT I possess did today. However, I understand that these "Springers" require some break-in time. We'll see. I'll give it more time to settle in. If the groups don't tighten up, well....it goes back. Of course, the scope could be an issue as well. That, too, will have to be determined. Again, we'll see. I'll be sure to post again after some time to update the reader regards this rifle's accuracy improvement or it's return. A rifle's value is in its accuracy. No matter how well built (this one is very well built) or how pretty it is (this one is a looker) or how well it fits or how well balanced (this rifle fills the bill in both respects) if it can not hit where it is aimed, it is useless. I'm hoping things improve and improve quickly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NHmsj
New England
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Possible reasons for lack of accuracy
2/17/2009

Customer review by Martinp70

3.0 stars 2/17/2009 by Martinp70
by Martinp70

I shoot at international level, so thought i could pass on some advice to those who find the rifle to be inaccurate... 1. Depending on what pellets you use, you will notice a huge difference in the group size of the rifle .. I use JSB Match Diabolo and they group awesome.. but i have batch tested some which are out by a few centimetres at 10 metres 2. The rifle has a recoil, so it won't necessarilly shoot well from the vice, as the recoil will have nowhere to recoil to! 3. Don't expect the rifle to stay sighted, as the sights can move or your eye can be in a different place on the stock etc etc ... Also the sights could move on the sight rails, due to the force of the recoil. 4. When shooting outside, the grouping will be less accurate, as the wind and other 'air factors' will reduce the accuracy of the rifle. Hope this helps Martin

Was this review helpful? (2) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Martinp70
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
'can' hit the side of a barn (well...maybe)
5/27/2009

Customer review by MSphynx

1.0 stars 5/27/2009 by MSphynx
by MSphynx

First the good..nice wood stock, scope has nice windage marks in the crosshairs, trigger is decent. the bad. The mounted sights are useless, i've seen sturdier plastic pieces come out of gum machines. the 1000fps, yes for the first 5 or so shots then it sounds like a low powered bb gun. accuracy...100+ pellets later and i couldn't even begin to try getting a group. each shot at same spot might be 4-6 inches off in any direction from the previous shot (i tried from 75 yards, 60 yards and finally 40 yards. So i burned off an email to coleman and got a blanket response about accuracy causes all of which had been covered in my email so they didn't apply. Go spend a little more and get a gamo or beeman, they are pricer but if you're looking for accuracy then they are worth it. if you enjoy 'random' then this rifle is for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MSphynx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Very Nice Crossman Gun
7/20/2008

Customer review by rcwildflyer

5.0 stars 7/20/2008 by rcwildflyer
by rcwildflyer

I have to give walmart hand down on a good product this is a very good air rifle. I have owned this one from 6-25-08 and it is very well made I all so have the crosman 760 pump master and the crosman storm XT. But the crosman storm XT is fare better. I got the Storm XT for pest control and light hunting as well. I have to give thanks to a WALMART person that works at there store in Bennington Vt I was looking at them and He said I should buy crosman storm XT. Boy was he right. IT is right on target at 35 yards the scope is right on as well was not hard to sight in did it with out bore sighing it at all. Took 5 shots to sight in So for the price it is very well worth it you will not be unhappy with it. So I have to say KEEP UP THE GREAT GOB WALMART YOU DID IT AGINE WITH THE LOW PRICE THANK YOU WALMART

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rcwildflyer
Bennington VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Extremely Powerfull, And A Good Time
5/28/2008

Customer review by BlueIce89

5.0 stars 5/28/2008 by BlueIce89
by BlueIce89

What a gun!! It is extremely powerfull, and kicks just as much as a .22! Not recommended for anyone younger than 18, but for all others you would enjoy every minute of it. When i first got it, the break barrel was extremely difficult to pump all it need was some Hoppe's lubricating oil dripped down into the piston and to be broken in a little bit, after that it was shot after shot of enjoyment. I recommend the GAMO Raptor PBA (Performance Ballistic Alloy) gold plated pellets, they increase your rifles velocity and power by 25% (1,000 fps becomes 1,250 fps), use for maximum performance out of the Storm XT. This air gun takes down small game, like rabit and squirrel, with 1 shot. I highly recommend this rifle. Enjoy and remember YOU CAN NEVER BE TO SAFE!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueIce89
Buffalo, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very powerful, not very accurate
12/10/2007

Customer review by RandomPerson2007

4.0 stars 12/10/2007 by RandomPerson2007
by RandomPerson2007

I purchased this rifle and had it shipped to my local Walmart. Once I got this home I mounted the scope and started shooting only to find that I couldn't get the scope sited in. I tightened all the screws, remounted the scope and then made a second attempt in vain. At 10 yards I wasn't able to keep all the shots within a CD-sized area. I had the rifle on the bench and it made no difference. 20 yards was even worse and I was barely able to keep all the shots on a paper plate-sized area which is far from tolerable. I figured it might be the scope and removed this and attempted to shoot with open sights only to find the same problem. Unfortunately my local walmart didn't have this rifle in stock so I just took it back and purchased a scope for my Crosman 2100 classic and have given up. If you don't have to special order this you may want to give it a try because I think mine had a bent barrel or was loose internally and this was causing problems. I did lots of research on this rifle and many others liked it but its hit or miss with getting a quality one. Good luck and give the Crossman 2100 classic a try, I've had it for 10 years and now that I have a scope for it I think I'm just going to keep this around for a while longer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RandomPerson2007
Tucson Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Well worth Your Money!
5/6/2008

Customer review by GregS

5.0 stars 5/6/2008 by GregS
by GregS

Have owned this gun for 2 months and have shot over 500 rounds through it so far. Bought the rifle to eliminate squirrels from the attic at our condo. It did just that, one shot, one squirrel, four times! Be sure to lock tight all the screws on the scope, the recoil will loosen the scope. The Storm does sound like a 22 the first few rounds when new and after it's cleaned. I have found it to be very accurate with premier hollow point pellets. The rifle is accurate out of the box, but gets better the more it is fired. Can hit a quarter easily at 100 feet. Remember, with a spring air rifle, you can't rest it on a hard surface and expect any accuracy, rest it on your hand or arm and let it recoil.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GregS
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Crosman Storm XT .177 break barrel rifle
5/3/2009

Customer review by Buddyjim77

5.0 stars 5/3/2009 by Buddyjim77
by Buddyjim77

At first I was looking for a black plastic pellet gun rifle for around the same price, but like always Im out of luck and they don't have it. But when I saw this gun it look good, came with a really good scope and was nice, hard wood. So after i took it home I tested it with out the scope and fired. Totally off target but after about 30 minutes of shooting and adjusting it was ready to fire. And it was weird because the sight was all the way to the left to fire dead on, but that didn't matter. Never do this but a bird from like 200 ft away with only the sights, dropped it in one shot and that is the feeling you get with such a good gun. I recomend this gun 120%.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buddyjim77
Neenah, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
POOR IT Broke
3/30/2009

Customer review by Jacobthewrestlingchamp

2.0 stars 3/30/2009 by Jacobthewrestlingchamp
by Jacobthewrestlingchamp

I got the Crosman Storm 1000xt for christmas and it broke when I was sighting in the scope. Overall though for a pellet gun it does have a good recoil so be careful. The scope is very nice as well. For my birthday I got the Crosman quest 1000x which they look a like with the same recoil kick but does not come with as good of a scope. The very first time you break the barrel open it was a pain. It shoot flames out of it and was very loud for the first ten shots. Any how with the Crosman Quest I Blew through a squirrel with a hollowed hunting pellet. I would't recommend the storm but I would recommend the Quest.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jacobthewrestlingchamp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
BROKE!!!
11/9/2008

Customer review by Mr3o5

1.0 stars 11/9/2008 by Mr3o5
by Mr3o5

I HAVE HAD THIS RIFLE FOR NO LONGER THAN FOUR DAY'S AND IT HAS ALREADY BROKEN! I DON'T NO IF IT WAS JUST MINE BUT IT SURE BROKE WHEN I WAS GOING TO PUMP IT! OVERALL IT IS A VERY POWERFUL SPRING RIFLE. IT ALSO DOESN'T COME WITH A GREAT SCOPE EITHER. AND IF YOU PURCHACE IT BE VERY CAREFUL ON WHAT YOU AIM AT, I WAS AIMING FOR A CAN AND I MISSED AND IT WENT RIGHT THROUGH MY FRONT DOOR.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mr3o5
HIALEAH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Amazing Rifle!
8/28/2008

Customer review by c45gunman

5.0 stars 8/28/2008 by c45gunman
by c45gunman

I just bought this air rifle from my local walmart today and couldn't be more impressed. I broke down the barrel, loaded it, and took a shot. It was about as loud as a .22 rifle and had a nice kick for a pellet gun. It is very accurate and definately worth the 100 bucks I spent on it! It was that inexpensive. The scope was easy to mount but I took it off because I will need help aligning it(I'm not very good at it yet). But, as for the rifle, it was an excellent bargain. But, as I'm sure everyone has read, it is not a toy, it is very powerful. Not for children who are unattended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
c45gunman
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Nice CROSMAN XT
6/25/2008

Customer review by kb1odm

5.0 stars 6/25/2008 by kb1odm
by kb1odm

I have had alot of air rifles growing up from the my first daisy BB gun to the 760 pump master to AIR15 pellet guns. I was looking for the right gun to hunt with I read alot of reviews be for I but this one so I whent to walmart and was looking at what they had one of there workers there said to get this one and told me I wouldnt be unhappy with it so I buy this gun and when I set in the scope it was great I can hit a penny from 100 yard away with siting still on a bench. I feel if you are looking for a gun this is the one and it sounds almost like a .22

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kb1odm
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Wouldn't reccoment anything else!
12/7/2008

Customer review by ShooterJoe

5.0 stars 12/7/2008 by ShooterJoe
by ShooterJoe

I bought this rifle about 7 months ago, and never looked back. The sighting was very hard at first but once zeroed in I was hitting targets like nothing. It has a bit of kick, but nothing an experienced shooter cant handle. The first 17 shots of the rifle sounds like a .22 cal, but thats just it breaking in, it quieted down after. A bit heavy, but the nice wood finish is worth it. Overall, I love this rifle. I would recommend it for anything from plinking, to hunting, and to have that much power at your finger tips for only $100, you cant go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShooterJoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Think about it
10/24/2008

Customer review by kocyandia

3.0 stars 10/24/2008 by kocyandia
by kocyandia

i bought this gun in hopes to eliminate some squirrels and birds. The gun shoots hard and fast and is great looking. the first night i had it we tried to zero it in unsucessfully. so i bought a new scope and tried with it. i got it zerod in at about 45 yds and was shooting an inch and a quarter pattern with it. after about 15 shots with it zeroed in it lost its accuracy and was shooting all over the place so i dont know you do what you think i like the gun just dont have the patience. buy a .22 more accuracy and better yardage

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kocyandia
Salem, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy
9/5/2008

Customer review by BunnySniper

5.0 stars 9/5/2008 by BunnySniper
by BunnySniper

This gun is great for its value. Super powerful at 1000 feet per second. Only one problem, the scope does not come with high rise mounts, so the sights are in your veiw with the scope. With mine, I unscrewed the rear sights and sawed off the front ones. Its extremely accurate up to about 80yrds on cold bore. For those who dont know what that is, on this gun its about the first 3 or 4 shots. After that, the barrel heats up from friction and its extremely hard to hit anything further out than 30yrds. Great for pest control!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BunnySniper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews