Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

22 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

22 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
2
1-20 of 20 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Can't be beat for the price!
1/3/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This ia an awesome system for the price. There is one really important feature that is not specifically listed.. >>>> YOU CAN ACCESS THE CAMERAS REMOTELY OVER YOUR NETWORK OR OVER THE INTERNET if you have an "always on , broadband ISP. Here is another important bit of info. If you are playing already recorded video via the web interface anyone that is logged in at that time will see what you are playing.<<< you can also set up multi-user access to the unit. Another nuggit of important compatibility info: ... The video can only be stremed via the Internet Explorer Browser and not Firefox. The reason for this is that the system uses an ActiveX applet to strem the video and Firefox does not support ActiveX. The 250gig HD will record approximately 7 days when all cameras are set to 10fps. Video detected through the camera can trigger a faster fps. You can also optionally connect separate motion detectors to trigger a faster fps. There is also a CDR to dump video to a CD. The unit can be set to automatically FTP or Email video to a remote location. It is definately worth the money. The cameras are average and great to start with. If you ever wanted to change out a camera to install a better one, you could.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
pittsburgh PA Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY GOOD PRODUCT
3/22/2008

Customer review by LiLw

5.0 stars 3/22/2008 by LiLw
by LiLw

ASTAK 4 COLOR SECURITY CAM DVR IS A VERY GOOD PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE.WHAT I LIKE ABOUT IT IS ALL THE FEATURE IT HAS ON IT.YOU CAN HOOK IT UP TO THE INTERNET,RECORD IT TO THE DVR.THEN YOU HAVE THE OPTION TO BACK IT UP TO CDRW,USB.YOU CAN ADD ON IT IN THE FURTURE LIKE MOTION DETECTORS, AND ALARMS.THESE CAMERAS ARE VERY GOOD THEY WORK PROPERLY AND SATISFY MY LIKEINGS BUT ALSO IF YOU WANTED MORE HIGH TECH ONES YOU COULD ADD THEM ON DOWN THE LINE.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LiLw
Huntington, wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great surveillance system
3/25/2008

Customer review by tyler026

5.0 stars 3/25/2008 by tyler026
by tyler026

This system replaced an older one and is far more advanced yet is simple to use. Features I have enjoyed most: (1)The quality of video is sharp and it's easy to retrieve images from the playback menu. (2)An alarm can be set to alert you when a camera detects motion. (3)Astak customer service is available via email and promptly replies with any questions.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tyler026
Portland OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DVR Great, Cameras Horrible
8/21/2008

Customer review by tichendorf

3.0 stars 8/21/2008 by tichendorf
by tichendorf

You get what you pay for I guess. The DVR is great and loaded with awesome features including network/internet viewing. Also, I was missing parts in the box (the BNC/RCA adapters) but I called the manufacturer and I had them in the mail in a few days. The cameras are junk. They are low quality with horrible color. During the day, they flicker horribly and have bad green and purple tints to them. Also, they are not wide angle cameras and can't capture much. I have decided that the DVR was worth the purchase price alone, and this is how I convince myself I wasnt ripped off. I am slowly going to purchase new cameras to replace these. Overall, for home security it is nice only because of the DVR.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tichendorf
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Not user friendly at all
8/30/2007

Customer review by kkm56

1.0 stars 8/30/2007 by kkm56
by kkm56

Very hard to program DVR. Instructions are very difficult to understand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kkm56
Would recommend to a friend? No
ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR
4/19/2008

Customer review by ahenseda

5.0 stars 4/19/2008 by ahenseda
by ahenseda

Excellent product. Excellent for home security. Cameras are nice, they come with an intergrated microphone but on the DVR you can only plug in one camera to sound(you will only be able to hear 1 camera). Cameras are good but will be better with a wide lens. Not bad for the money. :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ahenseda
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product at Price
1/29/2009

Customer review by CrazyNYGiantFan

5.0 stars 1/29/2009 by CrazyNYGiantFan
by CrazyNYGiantFan

Very good product. Easy to set up. Had some questions about motion dection and online service is awesome. Will purachse anothe set for another house. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyNYGiantFan
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Saved me a ton of money!!
9/4/2007

Customer review by Smallredred

5.0 stars 9/4/2007 by Smallredred
by Smallredred

I am really enjoying this product. It has everything that a professional security installer wanted to charge me and there are no monthly fees to worry about. The hardest part was running a few wires; but nothing a homeowner would not already know. The cameras take sharp pictures and the DVR is easy to operate. I was happy with the 250GB HD... plenty for my uses. The installer wanted 4 times as much plus monthly charges. The NightVision works well at night and guards my driveway and backyard. This is a serious security product that I was comfortable installing myself. If you are all thumbs... try wireless cameras. Otherwise, this system is a real step forward!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smallredred
Union, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/6/2008

Customer review by Silverpalm

4.0 stars 6/6/2008 by Silverpalm
by Silverpalm

Great system. Get more for your money than most other products. Esay installation. Picture quality great during day. Night is good as long as the is some ambient light.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silverpalm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
ASTAK 4 COLOR SECURITY CAM
10/25/2007

Customer review by stewdaddy

4.0 stars 10/25/2007 by stewdaddy
by stewdaddy

Very Easy to install and set up. DVR came with NO user's manual; would have really been helpful. emailed company; no response! yuk! cameras: A+ DVR: A+ no user's guide: F

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stewdaddy
TEXAS!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what my husband wanted
1/3/2009

Customer review by Livinglife2009

4.0 stars 1/3/2009 by Livinglife2009
by Livinglife2009

I bought this for a Christmas gift for my husband. He was thrilled when he received this gift. It was very easy to set up and worked with some of the other security items he already had in the house.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Livinglife2009
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Camera System with DVR
4/29/2008

Customer review by Naser

3.0 stars 4/29/2008 by Naser
by Naser

I choose this product because of lack market for this type of system and price level. The picture quality is not what I was expected and needed to be improve. The company customer service is very poor. I struggled to configure it with bad written User Manual. I still have not decided to keep it or not. Security is my concern and need something in place! Thanks,

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Naser
Tyler, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best for the price
6/4/2008

Customer review by ElCheepo

3.0 stars 6/4/2008 by ElCheepo
by ElCheepo

I didn't like the lack of information on this product. It is sufficent,but the cammeras did not cover as much area as I had hoped.It's simple to hook up. If you're not up on your tecnical lingo the opperators manual is confusing,on the plus side after you give up and set the book down and start pushing buttons on the remote it is verry easy to use.IT DOES HOOK UP TO ANNY T.V. WITH RCA JACKS.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElCheepo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Time is Money
10/6/2008

Customer review by KenE

3.0 stars 10/6/2008 by KenE
by KenE

I recently purchased this device hoping to capture someone breaking into my home while I was out of town. As it had happened more than once already. Unfortunately, out of the box one of the cameras was bad and the hard drive could only record up to 1 minute of video. I called the manufacturer and they said I could ship the unit back to them....but requested that I pay the freight to get it there. I explained to them that the unit was dead out of the box. But they said I'd still have to pay the freight charge. I plan to just return the unit and get a NEW one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KenE
Corona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
security system
6/10/2008

Customer review by tmesa1953

2.0 stars 6/10/2008 by tmesa1953
by tmesa1953

Very dissaponted, allways have problems with cameras, poor definition, I recomend a different brand since the tech. support is poor, also it worth it to spend a little extra monies and get at least cameras with no less than 480 resolution, this sytem is a real head ache, stay away from it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tmesa1953
North Bergen, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap
4/10/2008

Customer review by anonymouschicken

2.0 stars 4/10/2008 by anonymouschicken
by anonymouschicken

This is a cheap DVR Security system and it works like one. The user interface leaves a lot to be desired. The motion trigger is useless because every setting either picks up a nuisance trip evey few seconds or fails to trip. The cameras often go whacky for a while with flashing. I clicked the button for recommending this item because despite its shortfalls it was dirt cheap and it serves its purpose. I do not regret purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anonymouschicken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Just Okay
3/14/2009

Customer review by 09LoveToShop09

2.0 stars 3/14/2009 by 09LoveToShop09
by 09LoveToShop09

Cheapest system in the market in terms of both price and quality. no graphical user interface like other brand. makes user-friendly impossible.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
09LoveToShop09
Would recommend to a friend? No
this products is not as expected
5/21/2008

Customer review by ab78

2.0 stars 5/21/2008 by ab78
by ab78

color is not acurate and most looks green the people looks green everything looks green dont recomend it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ab78
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Not good enough
7/30/2008

Customer review by WVParanormal

2.0 stars 7/30/2008 by WVParanormal
by WVParanormal

This unit work well until you try to back it up as an AVI file. The image is very blocky and not clear at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WVParanormal
Saint Albans, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
product stinks
4/19/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/19/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We purchased this for home security and it didn't work properly from the time we got it. Company impossible to get ahold of. Manual if you get one impossible to understand. Only good thing is picture is sharp but too bad we can't use it :(

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never