Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

97 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

97 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
72
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 78 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews
Wunderbar!
1/17/2008

Customer review by qjoybeth

5.0 stars 1/17/2008 by qjoybeth
by qjoybeth

I read another review that said this was smaller than expected. It was small...for a stockpot. But it's main usage isn't meant to be as a stockpot. The point is that it is a double boiler and a steamer. I use its double boiler feature for my home made soap and candles. I've looked and looked for double boilers that are larger than 2 qts. The only other one I have found is only 2.5 qts and goes for $80 at Bed, Bath, and Beyond. This one is 3 qts and only $30!! That is an excellent value and for a double boiler it is LARGE - not small. Unfortunately, I can't use the steamer insert with the pot it comes with, as the pot is contaminated with chemically things in the soaps and candles. However, I discovered to my delight that the steamer fits perfectly into another pot I already have! I love the steamer and find it is much easier to clean than a steamer basket, which is what I had used in the past. If you're looking for a stockpot, this may not be for you. But if you are looking for a double boiler and/or steamer, the value cannot be beat!

Was this review helpful? (73) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qjoybeth
Van Nuys, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Much better than I expected!
6/29/2009

Customer review by Valdya

5.0 stars 6/29/2009 by Valdya
by Valdya

Perfect for keeping milk at the boiling point for a half hour or longer. No burnt milk with NO constant stirring! This double boiler comes with a beautiful finish and works perfectly. The walls are thick stainless steel and the bottom is about 3/5's of an inch thick. I accidentally boiled it dry and it cleaned right up with no warping. The handles are cool when it's hot, and the see through lid helps to see when the contents are boiling. Cleans up to a beautiful stainless steel shine. This three quart size fits my needs. Most of the others only hold 2 quarts. The included stainless steamer basket is a generous size, and has it's own handle for easy removal. I give this one 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Valdya
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
PROFESSIONAL GRADE DB
10/25/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/25/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First of all I was surprised at not only the way it looked, but it's size and it's weight. For the price I expected a light weight pot that I would only use when I needed a double boiler. It's a heavy duty pot that looks great in fact it looks just like the ones the TV chefs use. The 3 qt size plus the steamer basket makes it perfect for steaming vegetables - and I now use it to reheat leftovers instead of using the microwave - the steam keeps the food moist and not rubbery. It's a great pot with many uses.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
New Brunswick,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Vhat a surprise! Happy gal am I!!
8/30/2008

Customer review by Sallysewer

5.0 stars 8/30/2008 by Sallysewer
by Sallysewer

I opened ta box. Behold, ME PUDDIN' MAKER! "I love ya," says me! "I've vaited so long ta find ya, must get ta verk". Gathered me ingrediants, me bowl and me favorite vooden spoon,(vit ta burnt handle). I set ta verk. ...... Time flew. Tapioca in ta double boiler vas simmering avay and I vas using me steam basket vit another pan (perfect fit, Tra La-a-a!) ta steam me freshly garden picked green beans. ....... Ah ha ! Tis time ta add egg vhites an vanilla ta me puddin' an set it aside. Fixed ta rest of me Lords meal .... ve eats. Time passes ... supper vas done. Desert vas served in me double boiler pan topped vit it's see through lid. Looks mighty grand on me table. " Hate sudzing dishes!" says I. Though cleanin' me new pan set vas a cinch, nice smooth finish it has. Must tell ya true, it's small rounded handles are vounderful. Fits on me stove very vell. The bottom pan es nice and heavy too! "Happy" says me, jigging round the floor! A set I vill use an use an pass on ta me kin.

Was this review helpful? (51) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sallysewer
Vestern NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/22/2011

Customer review by cgrammy

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by cgrammy
by cgrammy

I purchased this because cook's magazine said this brand of pots was very good - and good for the price - I did like it, but then noticed something around the bolts for the handles on the inside of the pot - there was black around them, so i cleaned the pot thinking that maybe sauce, etc. from the last time did not get cleaned off very good - cleaned it rinsed it and whenever water was on it black kept running down the inside of the pot from the bolts on the inside that connect the handles. so, did a really good soak/clean to see if it would go away and it looked like it did. Went to use the pot for boiling pasta and looked in the pot when the water was hot and saw black running out again - can not get rid of the black that keeps running out when the bolts get wet. Checked my other pots and noticed that none of them have any kind of connectors for handles on the inside of the pot - anyone else have a problem like this? I am concerned about the black running into my food -

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cgrammy
atlanta ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Some dents but happy overall
1/12/2011

Customer review by TexasPictureTaker

4.0 stars 1/12/2011 by TexasPictureTaker
by TexasPictureTaker

I ordered this online and it was delivered to my home for free. When I opened the box, there were 4 small dents on the side of the pan close to the bottom (main pan - not the inserts). I don't believe these dents were a result of damage during the shipping process but were probably already there when packed. I considered taking it back to WalMart and ordering another but felt it would be too much of a hassle due to it being right at Christmas and decided to keep the pan. I have used the pan a couple of times and it is very nice and of good quality. I would like to buy more pans by Tramontina but I will probably buy at the store so I can examine the pan before purchasing. Overall I am happy with the pan and the dents won't affect the cooking ability.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasPictureTaker
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
3/15/2012

Customer review by 883322

5.0 stars 3/15/2012 by 883322
by 883322

Really didn't know what to expect because it was so inexpensive, but turned out to be very well made, heavy duty and cooks beautifully. I like that it can be used as a double boiler, steamer or just a sauce pan. Well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
883322
Lake Geneva, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding
3/3/2012

Customer review by Valulou

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by Valulou
by Valulou

It is surprising to find a quality, 18/10 pot set for this price! The aluminum base and the pot style combine to provide really even heat. I believe that's also why it is so easy to clean - no hot spots! This is the only double boiler that I've found with a usable capacity - others were more expensive and offered only a shallow insert that is not usable for my old family recipes that are the whole reason I wanted the double-boiler. This one is great - the others would have been useless!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Valulou
Prattville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Small Steamer
3/5/2010

Customer review by BikeManToo

3.0 stars 3/5/2010 by BikeManToo
by BikeManToo

The design of this product is uneven. The double boiler is huge and the steamer is too small. I have never used a double boiler but use a steamer 2-3 times a week. I wanted something that fit on my large burner (electric) but was not "family" sized. Family sized meaning those 8-qt monsters I saw advertised. The Tramontina fits the burner but the steamer basket barely holds enough for one person and some leftovers when used with bulky items like broccoli. I would have given a higher rating if the steamer basket was more generous. I would have given the finish a much higher rating if the sauce pan section had not been dented either due to poor quality control or the minimalist packing used. Of course the item was purchased site-to-store so replacement was going to be time consuming and require more trips to the store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikeManToo
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just what I expected
1/3/2012

Customer review by marshawee

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by marshawee
by marshawee

After researching double boilers online, this appeared to be the best value and most reliable option. We used it to melt chocolate for dipping strawberries for a wedding open house last week, and it worked perfectly. Love the handles so I don't have to use hot pads; love the larger capacity.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marshawee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very even heat! Looks Great.
1/26/2012

Customer review by fasteddies

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by fasteddies
by fasteddies

My last one didn't have even heating, this one is great. Enough weight to keep it in place also. Very happy with my purchase..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fasteddies
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
This is a great buy
1/9/2012

Customer review by fleuri

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by fleuri
by fleuri

This 4 piece set is very versatile. The glass lid lets you see inside, what's going on. The steamer insert is great for reheating leftovers, as well as for steam cooking. The double boiler insert can keep food or liquid warm. The stockpot is just the right size for a small household. It's a perfect set, that can be used in many different ways. So glad I stumbled upon this item.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fleuri
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very small but very nice looking
1/17/2012

Customer review by mommahaley

4.0 stars 1/17/2012 by mommahaley
by mommahaley

I ended up returning this steamer pot and bought the bigger size (8quartz). this 3 quartz is too small. When i saw it i was like whooaaa thats small. It's cute if you are just steaming ur vegetables for u and your daughter to eat, but not for the whole family. I love the way it looks. It is very well made. For $5 more i bought the bigger size and i was much happier with the bigger size. More room to put my vegetables in. The 8 quartz lookmore like a regular size pot than that 3 quartz. This pot might work for some people, but for me, i prefer the the 8 quartz for $5 more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommahaley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
8/16/2007

Customer review by technoranger

4.0 stars 8/16/2007 by technoranger
by technoranger

This steamer is a great product and works well, looks great and compliments my other cookware. The ONLY draw back is that it's size is small. Don't get me wrong though it is not so small that it takes away from the product. This is perfect for a family of four with no left overs. I should have purchased a larger one because I like to steam a large amount and then reheat. This product is great despite it's smaller size because it takes less time than heating canned veges on the stove or bagged in the microwave and the taste you get is unbelievable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
technoranger
Sunbury, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Stainless Steal
10/10/2011

Customer review by BccLee

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by BccLee
by BccLee

This steamer was bought to replace a previous steamer we no longer have. My wife indicated that we needed a new one and when I perused WALMART's kitchen utensils and came across this item. the size fit the bill of what we cook in our home. The size is perfect-not too big-not too small. Just right. In terms of performance on the stove-excellent! Tramontina makes exceptional cookware that usually costs the prices you see in Macy's,and Bloomingdales, when they are not on sale. The steamer portion of this triple decker make it a very good buy for those steaming natural or organic veggies. I would recommend this product across the board.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BccLee
Astoria, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
LOVE THIS ITEM!
11/28/2011

Customer review by merryhill

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by merryhill
by merryhill

What a great addition to my kitchen. I love the size. It's perfect for steaming vegetables and has a great handle for lifting out the basket. I really enjoy using the double boiler for everything from melting candies and butter to heating soups. The pot is large enough for making soup yet not so large to be considered a stock pot. Nice weight, not too heavy and has a beautiful finish. Great product at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
merryhill
Sherrills Ford, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Luxurious
11/26/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When I opened the box and pulled out the set, I was, to be honest, quite shocked. The quality of this set is surpassed by none! The stock pot has a very thick bottom and is so well made that they tell you not to use high heat for boiling, as it conducts the heat so well, it is unnecessary. The steamer insert is a bonus and the double boiler pot has a thin bottom so that the boiling water below will easily heat sauce in the pot. The handles are some sort of rubber like product with metal inserts and are very sturdy. The whole set is just beautiful. The price is unbelievable for such quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Mandeville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I was surprised!
1/12/2012

Customer review by Swbuda

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Swbuda
by Swbuda

I'm not sure what I was expecting, but it's a lovely cooking pot.. ;) Can't go wrong with this purchase..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swbuda
Temple, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Double Boiler/Steamer
12/10/2007

Customer review by NovaStar

5.0 stars 12/10/2007 by NovaStar
by NovaStar

A very nice pot. I got it to make my chocolates, but I will also be using it to steam seafood and veggies as well. I've used it several times already. It's wonderful to have. No kitchen should be without one. I would definitely recomend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NovaStar
N.W. Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My favorite item!
2/23/2010

Customer review by mrstrucker58

5.0 stars 2/23/2010 by mrstrucker58
by mrstrucker58

This is one of my favorite pots to use! It is big enough to use for a pot full of spaghetti noodles and it is so easy to clean. The steamer basket part (technical huh!) is a good size too. The I love being able to pull my food out of the pan and have it drain at the same time...not having to pour the water out of the pan into the sink while trying to keep the food in. I highly recommend this item!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrstrucker58
Bremerton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews