Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 297 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

297 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

297 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
164
4 stars
87
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 stars
24
1-20 of 262 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 262 total reviews
1-20 of 262 reviews
Cute, Compact, Classic
4/11/2008

Customer review by jri8023

4.0 stars 4/11/2008 by jri8023
by jri8023

As I write this, I'm eating my first cup of homemade yogurt. It's absolutely delicious. :) The size of the machine makes it a pretty nice little addition to my kitchen - it's easy to store and doesn't take up a lot of counter space while in use. It's fairly simple to make the yogurt. I prepared the milk and put it in the maker last night, let it cook overnight, turned off the machine and let it cool to room temp while I was at work today. The size of the cups is great because it's just enough for a good little treat. Plus, the jars are glass, so they're pretty durable. The machine itself is really simple - just one button and you're set to go! If you want an inexpensive, simple machine to make your own yogurt, this machine is perfect! P.S. Try your first jar with a little maple syrup stirred in - it's delightful!

Was this review helpful? (87) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jri8023
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Nice Yogurt Maker
5/12/2008

Customer review by MrMint

5.0 stars 5/12/2008 by MrMint
by MrMint

I am very pleased with this yogurt maker. I shopped the internet and found Walmart had the best price. The yogurt maker works well and I am able to make yogurt at a fraction of the cost of store bought. I did not have any problems getting the lids on or off the invidual jars like other reviewers mentioned. It may be something that comes with comfort and practice of using the yogurt maker. The only problem I have is that the big plastic dome that goes over the maker got a small crack after dropping it. It's cosmetic at this time, but makes me concerned if it will get worse in the future. Hopefully I can repair it if that happens. Walmart should ask Total Chef to make the dome thicker or with tougher plastic. Still nothing that affects function and I am being more careful in handling the dome. I reccommend the Total Chef Yogurt Maker as a great value for someone wanting to make their own, healthier yogurt.

Was this review helpful? (98) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrMint
SE, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
yogurt maker
10/30/2007

Customer review by muaII

4.0 stars 10/30/2007 by muaII
by muaII

This is a good value for the money. I do put paper towels under it, as water condenses and gathers under it. Considering the price, and the fact it has glass jars, and not plastic, it is an excellant value.

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
muaII
Dubuque, ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
mnetarver
11/1/2007

Customer review by mnetarver

5.0 stars 11/1/2007 by mnetarver
by mnetarver

It's a yogurt maker and it works great. Allows the hardcore yogurt fan to be creative. Allows control of ingredients.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mnetarver
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Value
10/29/2009

Customer review by TFan

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by TFan
by TFan

This YM makes perfect yogurt from skim milk. Nothing else is available online for this price. I also discovered that You do not need to use THEIR jars to make the second batch while the first batch is in use in the fridge. You can use any glass container as long as you can close the YM's cover. With the price of yogurt in the supermarket being comparatively so high, this YM Would be a great Xmas gift for anyone on the list.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TFan
Passaic, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT product, GREAT price!
8/23/2010

Customer review by Froggymom04

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by Froggymom04
by Froggymom04

My family has been trying to "get back to basics" and make more of our own food for economical, environmental and health reasons so when I saw this yogurt maker it looked like a great investment. It's a bit more reasonably priced then some of the other models therefore we ordered it. It's so quick and easy to use and creates a delicious and creamy yogurt! Just combine your milk and "starter" enzymes from the previous batch of yogurt (or store-bought, if you must) and press the button, 8-10 hours later you have a yummy treat! It's a great idea to turn it on before bed and have a healthy yogurt breakfast. I noticed someone else make the suggestion of making the yogurt in a 1-qt Pyrex bowl instead of the glass jars which are included and after trying it, I prefer to use this method as well. Once your yogurt is done you just switch it over to a Tupperware container and clean out the bowl for another batch. :) A couple of little hints I've found for making the yogurt as well... freeze in your yogurt in an ice cream tray and then you always have a "starter" on hand when you want to make another batch of yogurt. We also like the idea of adding 2 tablespoons of dry milk to our mix which creates a more thick and hearty yogurt in the end. Adding some homegrown or frozen fruit and a touch of honey for a delicious and healthy treat! And best of all, I've noticed that my kids are more likely to eat it because they get to help MAKE it. Even our 9 month old daughter just devours it. :)

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Froggymom04
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use product.
9/9/2010

Customer review by WomanAtWalmart

4.0 stars 9/9/2010 by WomanAtWalmart
by WomanAtWalmart

If you are looking for a simple yogurt maker that is easy to use and affordable then this is the one for you. It comes with a clear plastic lid with a turn dial on top which allows you to set it to the time that your yogurt will be finished as a handy reference guide. There are 7 glass pots with 7 lids, which makes it easy to take to eat outside the home. The last piece of equipment is the white plastic heated base which has a cord storage underneath it. In addition, there is a small booklet which tells you about the yogurt maker, recipes and hints. The basic recipe I use is: 1 Quart carton UHT long life milk 2% milk (don't have to boil it before use) 1/4 cup of dried milk powder 1/2 pot of Greek yogurt with live cultures 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract Everything should be at room temperature. I pour boiling water over the jars and a large glass bowl. Once they are cool, place all the ingredients in the bowl and mix well and pour into the pots. Place pots in the yogurt maker. Wait 10 hours, let them cool, put the lids on and leave them for several hours in the fridge or overnight to chill.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WomanAtWalmart
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A very good buy
9/14/2009

Customer review by orangecountry

4.0 stars 9/14/2009 by orangecountry
by orangecountry

Got my Total Chef yogurt maker about a week an a half ago. Have made 4 batches so far and am loving the product. There are, however, a couple of things of concern. One, I wish it had a timed shutoff. Two, after reading other reviews on this product a recurring theme I saw was that the plastic lid cracks. Upon receiving my yogurt maker I inspected the lid carefully. I noticed a hairline crack in the middle, under the screw which holds the timing reminder. I have done a lot of mechanical work in my time and in my opinion the crack is a result of over torquing the the screw. I contacted the company & they said that since it's in the first 30 days that Walmart is responsible. I will be contacting them about the problem to see if they'll send me a new lid sans the crack. The reason I choose to purchase this unit from Walmart were that they offered free shipping, the reviews were as favorable or better than more expensive brands and price was right. With tax I paid $20.39 Had I bid on this at Ebay under the Buy It Now I would have paid about $21.95 + $19 for shipping. That was the next best price for the same model that I could find. The one draw back to the free delivery direct to Walmart is the wait. It was at least 15 days from order to delivery. I will let everyone know how Walmart handles my request for a new lid. Hope this was helpful Orange Country

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
orangecountry
Syracuse. NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great yogurt maker
9/18/2008

Customer review by LovesDogsCatsGoats

5.0 stars 9/18/2008 by LovesDogsCatsGoats
by LovesDogsCatsGoats

Works great with fresh goat's milk or cow's milk. You can also use 1 cup canning jars in the maker.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovesDogsCatsGoats
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little appliance!
5/28/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I had never made homemade yogurt before because I didn't want to risk it not turning out due to inconsistent or unreliable heat sources during fermentation. This little machine makes it EASY and pretty much foolproof, as far as I can tell. I've only made one batch, but it was a snap and turned out perfectly! Here's what I did: My goal was to make a very thick, Greek-style yogurt like Fage (which can cost up to $2 a cup!). First, I sterilized the jars in boiling water. Then I started with a quart of whole milk, and because I didn't have any powdered milk on hand, I whisked in two tablespoons of dried buttermilk powder, and also a teaspoon of sugar. I heated this mixture to 180 degrees and held it there for about ten minutes. Then I stuck the whole pan into the sink with cold water halfway up the side until the temp came down to 110 (or lower). I gently stirred in the starter (I used 5g of Yogourmet dried starter), filled the cups, put them in the machine, covered them with the lid, turned it on, and by morning (9 hours), it was perfectly thick and deliciously tangy and flavorful, though not TOO tart. Perfect for adding fresh fruit or a swirl of jam...or my favorite way, plain with homemade granola! YUM! Like other reviewers said, a timer with an automatic shut-off would be ideal, but what do you want for less than twenty bucks?? Contrary to other reviewers' complaints, I could see the "on" light just fine, there was no condensation from the lid, and I could get the lids on and off the jars just fine. All in all, I think this little gadget is terrific and a great value. And you will NEVER go back to storebought yogurt after using it! --Gina

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Plattsburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
homemade yogurt for a great price
5/11/2010

Customer review by LeafMama

4.0 stars 5/11/2010 by LeafMama
by LeafMama

This little machine works wonderfully. It does take some trial-and-error to make the yogurt just the way you like it. We like the yogurt so much that I bought a 1-quart Pyrex bowl to use in this machine to make a big batch while the glass cups are still full of yogurt in the fridge.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeafMama
Johnston, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Yogurt Maker
2/9/2010

Customer review by Mardee57

5.0 stars 2/9/2010 by Mardee57
by Mardee57

I was skeptical about making this purchase, because there are so many choices available out there. However I thought I'd start small and see if I would even use it. Well to my surprise it worked great. I found I didn't need a timer because I think once the yogurt is done, it's done and doesn't get any more done. I made the powered milk version and it was thick enough. I think I have a little ways to go to get it as good as Stoneybrook or other Organic brand yogurts. The machine is sturdy and the 7 glass 6 oz. jars/cups are thick and easy to clean. the rubber lids are used after the yogurt is complete but I ended up dumping them all into one Ball Jar. All in all I am pleased with my little cheapy yogurt maker. $20 bucks doesn't buy a whole lot anymore so I'm glad I bought this one instead of spending $50-$60 dollars on one that does the same thing. I am happy with this purchase...

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mardee57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very satisfactory yogurt maker
2/20/2010

Customer review by OldEnough2KnowBetter

5.0 stars 2/20/2010 by OldEnough2KnowBetter
by OldEnough2KnowBetter

I followed a more stringent recipe than in the instructions; checking 190 degrees for pasteurizing the milk and checking 110 or thereabouts for adding the yogurt and putting the cups in the yogurt maker. With those instructions and basic WalMart plain yogurt as the starter it made absolutely perfect yogurt the first time. Perfect flavor - better than most store-bought I have had. I need to make another batch tomorrow and probably every week forever. Yogurt cups are very durable as are the tops for the cups. Works great and with a little care not to drop it and break the plastic it should last almost forever.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldEnough2KnowBetter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Everything you need
9/10/2012

Customer review by livingbythelake

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by livingbythelake
by livingbythelake

Thought I'd try this yogurt maker so I could see what features I liked and/or features I needed so I could purchase a "better" one. No need to buy a different one. This one has everything necessary. I like the individual glasses so I can make different flavors from one batch. Covers hard to get off. Glass thick and very durable. Unit drips a little while operating so you do need to swipe a sponge by every so often while the maker is on. Try coconut milk yogurt to make even healthier yogurt.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
livingbythelake
rumney, nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Yummy Homemade Yogurt
7/18/2011

Customer review by HikerKayaker

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by HikerKayaker
by HikerKayaker

The yogurt turned out perfect the first time around. The recipe only calls for a few ingredients and with the easy to follow directions, I made creamy, delicious yogurt. I like making my own because I can control the sugar content and add my own blend of organic fruits at a fraction of the cost of store bought. The glass jars clean easy in the dishwasher and the appliance itself looks nice on the counter top.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HikerKayaker
Enumclaw WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Jars break too easy
12/31/2007

Customer review by MS01

1.0 stars 12/31/2007 by MS01
by MS01

The yoguart maker works well. Its the jars that are a problem. The lids are extremely tight and hard to remove. The glass jars look sturdy enough, but one broke in the dishwasher on the glass rack and another while taking the lid off.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MS01
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding results from the very first batch!
4/18/2012

Customer review by JimTheYogurtMaker

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by JimTheYogurtMaker
by JimTheYogurtMaker

I am shocked at how good my first batch turned out!!! To make the first time easier, I used the UHT milk so I wouldn't have to heat to 180 degrees. I added 1.5 tablespoons of powdered milk (as I like a thicker consistency), added 2 tablespoons of Stonybrook organic vanilla yogurt (has great cultures), and I did add some liquid stevia (lucky vitamin has 2 oz dropper bottles and 8 oz refills) for a little sweetness. I put it in the yogurt maker and 8 hours later I took it out. Let it cool to room temp, then refrigerated, and took one to work with me along with a fruit cup in case it need a little more sweetness. But it was perfect as it was! Slight vanilla taste, perfect sweetness from the stevia, and so creamy! LOVE IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimTheYogurtMaker
Belleville IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
excellent product!
8/12/2012

Customer review by hotflashmama59

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by hotflashmama59
by hotflashmama59

this little machine makes awesome yogurt! i also add the powdered skim to the base for a different texture. so many variations options. i love having the control of knowing what goes in my foods.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hotflashmama59
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best purchase ever
2/23/2012

Customer review by Pinkpenzy

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by Pinkpenzy
by Pinkpenzy

After reading a few reviews and doing a market research, I finally decided to buy the total chef and I must say that I shud have bought it years back. I am totally happy with the product and if anything ever happens to it( hope not) I would definitely buy it again. I must add that I have been adding two spoons of powdered milk and the result is a store quality yoghurt. Absolutely love it!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pinkpenzy
Plymouth, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
works just like is saids it does,set it and forget
5/30/2012

Customer review by gotdivx

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by gotdivx
by gotdivx

im useing real milk to make real yogurt,you want to change youre life and health find youre local real milk seller.it shrank my wifes breast cancer a whole center meter already

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gotdivx
punta gorda,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 262 total reviews
1-20 of 262 reviews