Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 347 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

347 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

347 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
197
4 stars
99
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 stars
26
1-20 of 312 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 312 total reviews
1-20 of 312 reviews
Perfect yogurt
5/9/2013

Customer review by Manish

5.0 stars 5/9/2013 by Manish
by Manish

I was struggling to make firm yogurt at home as mostly I was unable to keep my recipe at correct temp for eight hours. My recipe itself is pretty simple. Take existing yogurt I like and mix two spoons of it to about half a liter of milk (that was boiled and cooled) and keep the solution at slightly above room temp. I tried cooler bags, vacuum flasks etc to maintain temp. The yogurt never turned firm like shop. Finally I spent like $30 bucks on this unit. The rest is as the saying goes history. Manny makes great yogurt :) It comes with 7 jars so that you can have variety of flavors. For me its pretty much plain yogurt that I love and I just fill up the jars with the solution. The machine does not have a timer. So you have to manually switch it off at 8 hours. I find 8 hours perfect as it makes yogurt that's just right without too much tart. Given the price, I do not expect a timer. I set my alarm on phone as a reminder. Its a beautiful unit which I recommend to all my friends and colleagues. I love it. Last point - Walmart did a great job in shipping this product quickly. It was at my doorsteps in a couple of days. That too at free shipping. Kudos Walmart and Canadian Post.

Manish
Delta BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
too cheap
6/6/2016

Customer review by not pleased 31

1.0 stars 6/6/2016 by not pleased 31
by not pleased 31
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm very un happy with this product. It's very flimsy made and way too hard to take the lids off

not pleased 31
NL, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Total Chef Yogurt Maker
1/3/2013

Customer review by KO123

2.0 stars 1/3/2013 by KO123
by KO123

Everything relating to the machine is nice with one big design flaw. It gets too hot. The main reason for buying a yogurt maker is to have something that keeps the yogurt at roughly 20-25 degC. This machine cooks the yogurt which defeats the exercise as it kills all the bacterial strains that are the health giving part of yogurt. I won't return it as I don't have a better solution right now. I will have to place the machine on an electrical timer switch to turn off the power before it gets too hot.

KO123
Would recommend to a friend? No
makes good yogurt
2/9/2013

Customer review by homecook

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by homecook
by homecook

The Total Chef Yogurt Maker has clear instructions that are easy to follow. The greek style yogurt that I made was entirely satisfactory and I am very glad that I made this purchase. I calculate that it will save me enough money to pay for itself in only a dozen batches of yogurt. Since I always have trouble heating milk on the stove without browning the milk on the bottom of the pan, I use the microwave to heat the milk to the desired temp. Fast, easy, works!

homecook
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Makes yogurt making easy!
3/13/2013

Customer review by ILoveGreekYogurt

4.0 stars 3/13/2013 by ILoveGreekYogurt
by ILoveGreekYogurt

This yogurt maker makes making homemade yogurt easy, taking the guess work out of ensuring the right temperature. It does have a few design flaws in that the cover doesn't stay on well and it would be nice if it came with one larger container as well as the 7 individual jars. Still worth a little expense than worry about not having your yogurt at the right temp, and it's nice that you can start it at night and have fresh yogurt the next morning.

ILoveGreekYogurt
Nova Scotia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Got firm yogurt
2/19/2016

Customer review by Mimit

5.0 stars 2/19/2016 by Mimit
by Mimit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am happy with my purchase that I made firm yogurt.

Mimit
Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellence
2/12/2016

Customer review by Nam007

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by Nam007
by Nam007
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought it a month age and very happy with machine and fast delivery.

Nam007
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Made great yogurt but it broke.
9/18/2013

Customer review by Oceangal

3.0 stars 9/18/2013 by Oceangal
by Oceangal

I used this yogurt maker 4 times. Each time it made great tasting yogurt, perfect actually. However, on the third time the light stopped working and then one of the glasses cracked when I removed the lid. That being said I liked the yogurt so much that I returned it to Walmart and ordered another one online. I hope the second time around that it won't break, but I don't have my hopes up.

Oceangal
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Oh Joy I can have Yogurt again
6/25/2013

Customer review by CountryGirlLovestoCook1

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by CountryGirlLovestoCook1
by CountryGirlLovestoCook1

The Total Chef Yogurt maker is an excellent product. I can use lactose-free milk, coconut milk in this maker and the yogurt has turned out. I just wished wal-mart would carry the yogurmet yogurt starter it would make my shopping easier so I can make more yogurt. I received my total chef yogurt maker within the designated time frame that Wal-Mart said they would ship it in.

CountryGirlLovestoCook1
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little yogurt maker
11/24/2014

Customer review by Kiwi44

5.0 stars 11/24/2014 by Kiwi44
by Kiwi44

I purchased this yogurt maker about 20 years ago, and now sadly it is overheating and therefore useless. However, it made many, many batches of perfect yogurt. I don't use a special starter, just 2 or 3 oz. of commercial yogurt; but ensure you mix it well. I am disappointed that I cannot purchase another, even on line, as they are out of stock.

Kiwi44
Mission, B.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
excellent buy!
10/31/2013

Customer review by happymom13

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by happymom13
by happymom13

I bought one for myself one month ago. Since then bought 2 other as presents for my family. It makes such good yogurt. But you have to make it right. What I do is I mix 100 gr. of cream (usually 18%) with 900 gr. of milk. It tastes so much better! The output is 1L of yummy Greek style yogurt for the price of 1L of milk! (well, almost:)

happymom13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works just as it is supposed to.
10/6/2013

Customer review by themunros

4.0 stars 10/6/2013 by themunros
by themunros

We have had our yogurt maker for a few months now and I really do like it. As said in other reviews, it would have been nice to have one or two extra jars, so you can make more before you are completely out of yogurt. Also, I find the little on/off light is either not working or not bright enough to see. Anyone else with that problem?

themunros
Selwyn, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
Cost Savings
10/2/2013

Customer review by shana1

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by shana1
by shana1

I received the Yogurt Maker as a gift 3 weeks ago. I have a pup with digestive issues & he gets yogurt 2 X daily. The costs savings are really great & you don't have to worry about additives. The only downfall is with the shape of the lid angled down over the front of the machine that the condensation drips onto the on/off button.

shana1
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
yoghurt maker
8/9/2013

Customer review by konki

5.0 stars 8/9/2013 by konki
by konki

oredered this product on line......delivery was very quick even here in the boonies......the maaker is excellent....works great...love the fact that there are 7 preportioned containers in each batch......only thing not 100% happy about is lid....it seems a bit flimsy....hope it does not break and leave this unit un usable......

konki
britsih columbia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
does what it says
3/15/2013

Customer review by catt

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by catt
by catt

I rated this yogurt maker excellent on all counts because I'm satisfied that it fulfills it's promise. It's not made of the highest quality materials, but I didn't pay a price that would justify that, so I'm satisfied with what I paid for. I can't rate the longevity of the device because I haven't owned it for very long.

catt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value
6/4/2013

Customer review by DPCowtown

4.0 stars 6/4/2013 by DPCowtown
by DPCowtown

Great Price, free shipping, works like a charm. Ordering online is easy and delivery was fast. No point buying more expensive models when this one works like a charm. Recommend using recipes that use powdered milk in addition to regular milk to improve consistency. Lots of good recipes to be found on the internet.

DPCowtown
Calgary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Worked great until it didn't
6/5/2014

Customer review by Moogie

1.0 stars 6/5/2014 by Moogie
by Moogie

Used this yogurt maker for a couple months and was initially happy with it. Now I can't get it to make yogurt properly, the yogurt doesn't set. I think something went wrong with the element. Plus the lids are very tight on the jars--one jar broke, and two lids have cracked. Totally disappointing.

Moogie
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
like the small containers
11/19/2015

Customer review by joy4116

5.0 stars 11/19/2015 by joy4116
by joy4116
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

we like the small containers. got good gogurt every time,

joy4116
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value
10/4/2014

Customer review by MindricoWannabe

5.0 stars 10/4/2014 by MindricoWannabe
by MindricoWannabe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great! Only problem is the lid does not fit nicely. Lid seemed to fit better before it was first warmed up, then after first use and onward, it does not seem to fit properly anymore. But, the quality of the yogurt that is produced from this yogurt maker is exceptional.

MindricoWannabe
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing For Infusing Oils
5/3/2015

Customer review by PeppercornSoapCompany

5.0 stars 5/3/2015 by PeppercornSoapCompany
by PeppercornSoapCompany
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I work as a soapmaker, so when I saw this, my mind automatically thought about how I could use this to enhance our production. Now we use it to infuse all of our oils with herbs! I could see it being a wonderful yogurt maker though.

PeppercornSoapCompany
Steinbach, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 312 total reviews
1-20 of 312 reviews