Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
7
1-20 of 68 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
PIECE OF JUNK
2/24/2010

Customer review by WALOVEMART

1.0 stars 2/24/2010 by WALOVEMART
by WALOVEMART

I bought two of these after Katrina before I realized I can't trust them. The first one was sitting under my desk and completely cracked down the back. How would this have stood up to fire or water? The other one is the newer style shown and the handle continually comes off. It is just a matter of time before it breaks off completely. How long before this one cracks from just sitting there. As far as the moisture, I have found that most safes of this kind are moist inside when you buy them, but I don't think the body should crack when it isn't even under any stress. Now I need to go to another brand and start all over since they only have a 1 yr. warranty. Seems like something of this nature should have a longer warranty.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WALOVEMART
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good space
7/30/2009

Customer review by Buyforothers

3.0 stars 7/30/2009 by Buyforothers
by Buyforothers

Lots of space inside. Love the top storage. Wish it had handles since it is heavy.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buyforothers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FIREPROOF SAFE TO GUARD YOUR VALUABLE PAPERS
2/27/2009

Customer review by MaiJes

4.0 stars 2/27/2009 by MaiJes
by MaiJes

A home in my town burned down to the ground. I thought of all the important documents that were lost and would take ages to replace. Some would be lost forever! I then realized that it could happen to me too. I started searching for a good fire and waterproof safe and found it all in this product. It is large enough to hold many files. You could also place coins, etc. in the bottom of the unit and the top is made to hold camera disks, dvd's, etc. I am delighted with this purchase. The only problem is that it is difficult to open and close this unit. To open it you must grab the grey bar with both hands and use some strength to lift it up. To close the unit you must put pressure on the top lid of the unit to get it closed. If it was easier to open and close, I would have given it 5 stars. But, perhaps if it was easier to open and close it would not be as fire proof and water proof? When shopping note that this is one of the few file safes that is fire AND waterproof too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaiJes
Twp. of Washington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cheap plastic,wet inside and smells like smoke
9/28/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/28/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this safe from a store, not online. I returned the first safe because upon opening there was water inside and the instructions were wet. The safe also smelled like smoke. The second and third safes I checked out at the store (different Walmart than the one I purchased it from) were moist inside and covered with a white powder that looked like fire extinguisher powder. Both of these had obviously been opened previously as the keys were not in the plastic bag and the lid straps were already installed. I couldn't bring myself to trust a fire and waterproof safe that was wet inside and smelled like smoke and had fire extinguisher powder on it, so I just got a refund. The lady at customer service was really nice and helpful and said that almost everyone who purchased this safe returned it because there was water inside. I tried calling the manufacturers customer service line to ask about the water but it was always busy, I wonder why???? The safe was made of soft plastic and had been cast in a seemingly low quality mold. Everything about the safe seemed flimsy and cheap. Don't waste your money and time with this safe

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Palmdale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A "SAFE" buy!
1/7/2010

Customer review by wizzy1162

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by wizzy1162
by wizzy1162

I purchased this for my 24 year old daughter for important papers and sentimental items. I did research on the internet before buying and didn't realize that just because a safe is fire proof doesn't mean it's waterproof! That was one of the reasons that I chose this one. Compared with similar items and other stores this was a really good buy. We are very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wizzy1162
Waterloo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Flimsy lock/no handle
7/30/2008

Customer review by Pervis

2.0 stars 7/30/2008 by Pervis
by Pervis

The safe is very heavy, which is fine, but there is no handle. The most disappointing feature was the lock. It was plastic, and my husband could pull it apart with his hands. I would not recommend this for any security. We returned it the same day we bought it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pervis
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great safe
12/21/2009

Customer review by MississippiGirl16

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by MississippiGirl16
by MississippiGirl16

I have one similar to this and am now buying a second to store family DVDs. (I filled the other one up with important papers like birth certificates.) I like one of the other reviewers think some are mistaking this for a security safe. That's not what this type of safe is meant for. If you're looking for a safe to store valuables like jewelry or money, you need to spend the money for a true valuables safe. This safe is perfect for its intended use. Also, some people mention a powder on the inside. All waterproof/fireproof safes and file cabinets have that powder in it. That's the material that helps make it fireproof.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MississippiGirl16
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good deal
2/9/2008

Customer review by mjlk

4.0 stars 2/9/2008 by mjlk
by mjlk

i use this as a file keeper for my papers like birth certificates passports diplomas etc things that i would have a hard time replaceing it is solid build heavy construction but if you want to secure money or jewels i think you might ant to buy a m ore secure safe with a better lock

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mjlk
nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Looks good, feels different
1/10/2011

Customer review by Jackson5280

2.0 stars 1/10/2011 by Jackson5280
by Jackson5280

This safe is both waterproof and fireproof, not something you can easily find for around $40. However, the biggest drawback here and why I rated it so low is the locking mechanism. The lock itself is made of metal but the piece it locks into and the latch to open the safe are both PLASTIC. It doesn't feel as solid as the SentrySafe Model 1170, which I also own. It has less storage space and isn't waterproof like this safe is, but it just doesn't feel like I might accidentally break it or if someone wanted to break it by force, they could. My recommendation? If you need a safe that's both waterproof and fireproof, this works if you're okay with it feeling less than solid. But if you just need fireproof, get the SentrySafe Model 1170 which feels much more solid and costs nearly the same if not less.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jackson5280
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for Intended Purpose
12/26/2010

Customer review by MarathonGirl26

4.0 stars 12/26/2010 by MarathonGirl26
by MarathonGirl26

This product is meant to protect documents from water and fire, not for theft prevention. Unless you have the thing bolted down, someone could walk off with it anyway. As other reviewers mentioned, the key lock seems of rather low quality, but again this is not what I bought it for - they key will be staying right in the lock anyway so it doesn't get lost. The seal seems like it's nice and tight and would prevent water from getting in. I hope to never have to find out how well it keeps out fire and water, but I feel a lot better about the protection of my documents in there than in a regular file cabinet. The only reason I went with four stars instead of five is the plastic clamp that closes it doesn't seem as sturdy as I would like. It doesn't feel like it's going to break anytime soon, but with frequent use over the course of a couple years I think that is the part that may fail first.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarathonGirl26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1 of 2 safes arrived with water in it!
2/25/2010

Customer review by GreatDanes4U

5.0 stars 2/25/2010 by GreatDanes4U
by GreatDanes4U

I have several water-proof fire-proof document containers errr I mean items listed as safes. I used to get them from Sam's Club until they stopped carrying them! I ordered 2 more expensive then I remembered to be home delivered. Fair deal on home shipping! Both containers that surrounded each safe appeared in good condition. 1 safe had a considerable amount of water in it when I opened storage box. I had to install the seal that was out of place and I had to dry inside before use. Again container around safe was not wet or damaged! The storage containers are of measurements listed. I own nice safes that are SAFES! These lock boxes are not designed to be safes! If you want a safe - pay for it!!! I hope these fire-proof & water-proof file containers will protect the documents they contain. I feel better that I took the extra step to try to protect documents aginst fire and water *from firemen, (not from a flood). If they do what they are supposed to do, I will be satisfied with this purchase for that contingency. Still disappointed in lack of quality control that could have prevented water from arriving with safe!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatDanes4U
Springfield, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Is it really fireproof?
6/28/2008

Customer review by Cardinal774

2.0 stars 6/28/2008 by Cardinal774
by Cardinal774

The specifications say it is fireproof (up to 1/2 hour at 1550 degrees F) but I have serious reservations about the latching mechanism. Others have noted how difficult it is to close and how flimsy it is, and I agree. The latch itself is made of a very lightweight plastic - that's all there is to keep the safe shut. I tested a small sliver carved from the inside of the latch and it ignited easily with a match and burned completely. I suspect that in a real fire, the latch would melt away and burn, leaving gravity as the only thing keeping the lid closed. If the safe tipped over, the lid could easily fall open and expose the contents. As for security, anyone with a hammer and screwdriver could easily destroy the latch and gain access to the safe's contents.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cardinal774
Bloomington, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Thank you SentrySafe!
8/12/2014

Customer review by CTLII

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by CTLII
by CTLII
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is our second purchase. The first one was unfortunately put to the ultimate test when we lost our house and contents to a fire on October 26th 2011. We had our SentrySafe (water and fire) on our homes second floor in a closet next to an exterior wall that proved to be an ideal location for recovery. There was only roof debris that had to be moved from the ruble to recover the safe. The fire department was able to snap open the safe's remains, not sure if the keys would have worked even if we had them, the keys were kept in the house. Contents of the safe were warm and steamy but intact. We have learned from this and now have an extra key off site. Thank you SentrySafe!

CTLII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Good Product
2/16/2010

Customer review by MadIrishman

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by MadIrishman
by MadIrishman

If you read the other product reviews, as I did, you may have some concerns (as I did). I can't account for the water and residue issues reported by other customers, since mine arrived in perfect condition. These reports did not bother me much, since I've never had a problem exchanging or returning merchandise at Wal-Mart. I would emphasize that the main reason I bought this product was to protect documents from fire and water damage, and I am very comfotable that it will serve that purpose. I am not concerned about the reports of poor locking machanisms, because I leave the keys in the lock so that I won't lose them. If you must have very secure storage, then you need to be looking at a fire-rated safe. Hanging folders fit very snugly in this product, but they do fit. I am very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadIrishman
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value
6/21/2008

Customer review by Tracehollow

4.0 stars 6/21/2008 by Tracehollow
by Tracehollow

The fire safe was just as we expected and for a very good price. I think other reviewers were mistakenly expecting a "safe", not a "fire safe" and were not happy. They should have purchased a security safe for valuables, not a fire safe to protect from a fire. All in all, a good value.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracehollow
Kern County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
A Sentry Safe for valuables
8/17/2010

Customer review by Gigionlineshopper

4.0 stars 8/17/2010 by Gigionlineshopper
by Gigionlineshopper

The safe was poorly packed in the box that it arrived in. It was also was wet and smelly inside the safe when we opened it. The safe had a few dings on the outside of it as well. I will say that Walmart responded to my email right away and made me a happy customer. They took care of the issue right away. The safe dried out and was a good deal for the price we paid and it fits our needs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gigionlineshopper
Largo, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not Very Private
12/18/2014

Customer review by Iodice

2.0 stars 12/18/2014 by Iodice
by Iodice

My aunt lost the key to her safe and asked if I could figure out how to open it before she sent away for new keys. I figured I'd give a try at picking the lock, something at which I have zero experience. A single paper clip and five minutes later and the safe was open. I suppose you could purchase this model for its fire or water resistance properties, but I would strongly advise against relying on this safe's ability to keep out prying eyes.

Iodice
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
CHEAP, PLASTIC LATCH!
11/1/2014

Customer review by taffyfleas

3.0 stars 11/1/2014 by taffyfleas
by taffyfleas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The safe got very good ratings, so I kept it. But I was EXTREMELY disappointed to see that the LATCH was NOT metal or of another strong material but rather of PLASTIC! This might keep the water out for a time, but any burglar with intelligence will be able to break into this safe in no time flat! I WOULD LIKE A REFUND OR SOME AMOUNT OF COMPENSATION!

taffyfleas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great value. good amount of volume.
11/30/2014

Customer review by clownbait

4.0 stars 11/30/2014 by clownbait
by clownbait
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This works great to protect our important documents and other vital items. The only negative i have is the handle could be a little more solid. Seems like it might break, but we shall see as time progresses.

clownbait
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of Space
9/26/2014

Customer review by Matthew

5.0 stars 9/26/2014 by Matthew
by Matthew
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am pleased that this file has so much space! I was able to store a file of important papers for each member of my family (5), and also a file for my vehicles and home! There is still plenty of room left.

Matthew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews