Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

41 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

41 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 stars
6
1-20 of 37 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Not So Good
12/15/2007

Customer review by Zeek2007

1.0 stars 12/15/2007 by Zeek2007
by Zeek2007

The Chest was broken when I opened the carton. It must of been damaged in transit. The face of the chest that locks the chest is made of plastic, and is held on to the top of the chest by plastic poles. These poles are what broke. They hold the face plate with the part that that the lock goes into on the top of the chest. They broke off so that the chest can not be locked or even closed tightly. Very poor design. It can't possibly be fire proof if the face is made of plastic. I'm taking it back for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zeek2007
Fallbrook, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
SentrySafe HD2100
5/28/2009

Customer review by integrityman

2.0 stars 5/28/2009 by integrityman
by integrityman

Cumbersome to take in and out of cabinet and to carry since it doesn't have a handle. Can't be secured to floor or cabinet, which makes it easy (except for lack of a handle) for a thief to carry away. Agree with other reviews that the plastic latch is cheap and could easily break. Recommend rental of a bank safe box for really important stuff or spend more money to get a better safe for home or office. I've chosen to keep this item with reservation.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
integrityman
Wenatchee, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Poorly Made.
7/22/2008

Customer review by 2CentsInAZ

1.0 stars 7/22/2008 by 2CentsInAZ
by 2CentsInAZ

I bought this chest for the fire and security protection and the packaging seemed to show a relatively sturdy product. However when I opened the box I quickly changed my mind. -The latch is made of a relatively cheap plastic that could easily be broken with a small screwdriver. It's hard to imagine that this latch would keep the lid closed in the event of a fire or protect from any thief. -The in-lid CD/DVD holder does not stay attached to the lid of the chest due to poorly matched plastic clips. I thought I could just leave it out but it has the waterproof seal attached to it. -The entire chest is covered in plastic, not textured metal as the pictures might lead you to believe. The weight comes from the high-moisture fire-proof insulation. -Finally, there are no instructions for mounting this chest to an solid surface for added security. Other chests have this feature, and I thinks it's absolutely necessary. The chest is heavy, but it would be easy for a thief to simply carry it out of your home. But I guess that doesn't really matter since it would be easier just to break into it. -I've looked at Sentry's other products at Walmart and it's pretty much the same story. I know this is not the buy of the century, but you are probably considering this chest to protect some of your valuables. I feel that this product will give you a false sense of security. I will be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2CentsInAZ
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great product for the value
11/29/2009

Customer review by rdefree

4.0 stars 11/29/2009 by rdefree
by rdefree

I read the rest of the reviews and I have to agree with them...the lock is cheap. It wouldn't keep anyone out for very long. That being said, I was not looking for theft security in this safe. I was looking for something that I could put a backup hard drive in and a couple of CD's that would protect them from a fire or flood. This safe does just that. It is plenty large and seems to be really durable. If you are wanting theft protection I would go with another product, but just for fire and water protection this is the way to go!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rdefree
Elkhart, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Water proof and 30 minute fire protection!
6/20/2012

Customer review by roadjungle

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by roadjungle
by roadjungle

If you are going to purchase this safe/lock box to protect your fine jewelry or platinum bars from theft then I can not recommended it. If you are purchasing for the reason I did for keeping important documents, discs, data, pictures or movies that you don't want to loose or get destroyed I feel this is a fair asking price if it indeed should perform like the manufacture states it should. 1. I Marked high on "Value" because it was on sale". However I feel the box is still priced at a fair retail price. 2. "Meets Expectation". Well it would have if Sentry spent .30 cents more on the lock and maybe a $1.50 for the lock latch. I trust it will fit my needs as long as it is kept out of site and mind of other in the household. Suggestion to manufacture: The unit does need a handle. The handle should be at least triple the strength with better mounting then the lighter less expensive models that do have handles. Well that's my summary and my (optional) review. Thank you for offering this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roadjungle
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Plastic Lock Plate??
7/24/2008

Customer review by bfburke

2.0 stars 7/24/2008 by bfburke
by bfburke

Great space and layout. Seemingly good construction. But... it has a cheap plastic lock plate/hasp. It wouldn't keep anyone with a large screwdriver or a hammer with a claw out for more than 30 seconds or so. I will be returning it and selecting a different model. Also a terrible easily picked key/lock not something you would expect on a product maketed to keep valuables safe! Wish I would have read the reviews first!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bfburke
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
PLEASE READ BEFORE BUYING
7/14/2008

Customer review by JoshM

2.0 stars 7/14/2008 by JoshM
by JoshM

Its got great advertising. I believe it is fireproof and waterproof, but it is not theft safe. I read the other reviews and I too was also able to open it AND close it with a a paper clip. Reminds me of those locks that come in fake safe boxes for kids in elementary schools. After returning it, I bought a more expensive Honeywell Safe and the key + combination makes for great security, since you need both to get the safe open.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoshM
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Lock is almost non existant
3/6/2010

Customer review by WhiskeyMikeWhiskey

1.0 stars 3/6/2010 by WhiskeyMikeWhiskey
by WhiskeyMikeWhiskey

I know this is supposed to be a lockbox, although Sentry's website advertises it as a "safe," the lock can be opened without the included key, simply by using a metal strip, such as a flathead screwdriver or even your fingernail (like the Sentry 1100). The latch inserts into plastic, making it easy to break off the front for entry. Sentry's locks have been substandard for at least two decades. If they simply replace their locking mechanisms with useful analogues, I may be able to recommend this product as a simple Fire/Water resistant lockbox.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhiskeyMikeWhiskey
United States of America
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/24/2010

Customer review by mousetrappe

5.0 stars 3/24/2010 by mousetrappe
by mousetrappe

Just exactly the size I was looking for. Plenty of room for all important papers + jewelry. Sure beats the banks safes. And the price is right.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mousetrappe
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
this thing is is like fort nox
7/24/2010

Customer review by paden740

5.0 stars 7/24/2010 by paden740
by paden740

This safe is heavy and secure.and if there is a fire they will replace it for you!This safe is fire and water proof and a nice size it was bigger then I thought with was good.I can say that for the money this is a very good buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paden740
steubenville,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product!
2/21/2010

Customer review by walmarter12147

4.0 stars 2/21/2010 by walmarter12147
by walmarter12147

Great quality product...as long as you are buying it for the right reasons. The latch and locking mechanism is cheap and wouldn't slow down any criminal. Besides they'd probably just pick it up and walk out with it. If theft is your main concern you need something more heavy duty that bolts to the ground. This product is great for small items and papers to protect in the event of a fire and subsequent water damage. For this purpose it is a great value for just $40.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmarter12147
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Personal Safe
1/1/2014

Customer review by txmom97

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by txmom97
by txmom97

This safe is the perfect size for concealing and protecting small valuables. It has not been through a fire or flood yet, but I feel confident it will protect everything inside!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
txmom97
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product but look at dimensions n round edges
12/10/2013

Customer review by KSinTexas

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by KSinTexas
by KSinTexas

I bought it to store my documents. The product looks good and sturdy. But, I had to return it because the edges of this box are rounded; while my documents' length and width matched the dimensions of this box's middle, the box is rounded and my documents did not fit at the edges. So, before buying, make sure what you are planning to store are about an inch shorter than the box's specified dimensions in both dimensions. Other than that, it is a good product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KSinTexas
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Very Useful Product
2/3/2008

Customer review by MISSM1

5.0 stars 2/3/2008 by MISSM1
by MISSM1

I was impressed when I got home with this safe. It was a lot bigger than I expected it to be, and I was able to fit all of my documents and etc., reasonably well, with some room to spare. I really liked the top part of the safe dedicated to keep DVD's and CD's and things like that in order, and from sliding around everywhere. It was definitely a good investment and I do recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MISSM1
Kirksville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great safe
2/29/2008

Customer review by newcreation

5.0 stars 2/29/2008 by newcreation
by newcreation

This is a terrific safe for use in a home office or business. It's great to store media, CDs or back up tapes and seems very sturdy and secure. Not too heavy so even women can lift it easily, but still solid and heavy duty. Great bargain for the price! A++++

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newcreation
Santa Ana, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product to store small items and CDs/DVDs
8/26/2007

Customer review by danno18

5.0 stars 8/26/2007 by danno18
by danno18

I just purchased this Sentry product and am very pleased with it. I put my electronic tax records and other business items on CDs. I'm happy to know these are now safe from fire or flood. The product is deep enough to allow room for important documents too like passports, credit cards, my car title, etc. I highly recommend it as you get more for your money!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danno18
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Sentry safe
1/9/2014

Customer review by dearmefl

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by dearmefl
by dearmefl

Just the right size and will fit our needs. Excellent value!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dearmefl
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/20/2013

Customer review by candicrush

5.0 stars 10/20/2013 by candicrush
by candicrush

I was surprised at how much this chest impressed me. The weight is fairly heavy and it holds a lot more than I expected. Great value for the money. A friend liked it so much that she got one for herself.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candicrush
Forest Hill, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good product
3/24/2009

Customer review by cutemolly

5.0 stars 3/24/2009 by cutemolly
by cutemolly

product was larger and better looking than i expected

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cutemolly
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
sentry fire safe
12/19/2013

Customer review by kncs

5.0 stars 12/19/2013 by kncs
by kncs

Is as advertised. Looks good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kncs
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews