Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 299 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

299 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

299 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
190
4 stars
71
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 stars
20
1-20 of 240 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 240 total reviews
1-20 of 240 reviews
Great for the money.
12/16/2008

Customer review by sqchram

4.0 stars 12/16/2008 by sqchram
by sqchram

This is 800 Watts, its not clearly indicated on the website. The cast iron heating plate is cleaner and less prone to spill stains than a coil type. 800 Watts did just fine on my last road trip making hot Ramen noodles and warming canned chili, frying eggs and spam, boiling hot water for coffee and tea. This will not bring sevaral quarts to a rolling boil so don't expect to cook pasta for an Italian family with this, but it will do just fine for 1-2 servings. Its great for the price and free site to store shipping. If you want a top of the line you're looking at a 1100 or 1400 watt cast iron, or coil element Broil King for $100, or the ultimate is the 1400 watt glass ceramic Broil King for $250. Then again the high-watt rated burners come with three-prong plugs for safety, however many hotels only have 2 prong sockets in the room which would leave you out in the cold. For what it does (roadtrip cooking) and for the price its perfect. Now if you're remodeling your kitchen and need a portable burner to use everyday at home for a few months, get a 1400 Watt model.

Was this review helpful? (273) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sqchram
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Works in its Element
2/6/2009

Customer review by majorlurker

4.0 stars 2/6/2009 by majorlurker
by majorlurker

Good product overall. Wish they would have included the element size in the description. It is 6". If I had known that I would probably have gone with a larger size or the induction burner (9"). You really cannot boil a pot of water for pasta on this unless you do a couple of batches. If you only need a good burner for 6" pots and pans, you will be delighted.

Was this review helpful? (119) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
majorlurker
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
An excellent product
5/31/2008

Customer review by CatStitch

5.0 stars 5/31/2008 by CatStitch
by CatStitch

We have a glass topped range, and were told not to do any home canning on it as it could cause our stove top to crack. After thinking how to solve that problem, we decided to buy a hot plate to use for canning. After browsing online at different sites, we chose this Aroma Single Burner Electric Range Hot Plate on Wal-Mart.com. It worked beautifully for us! I would fully recommend this product for anyone who needs an extra burner, or like us would like to do home canning, and can't because of having a glass topped range.

Was this review helpful? (179) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatStitch
Cogan Station, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Pleasantly Surprised by Aroma hot plate
1/21/2012

Customer review by FarmerTeddy

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by FarmerTeddy
by FarmerTeddy

Heat-up Time is a little slow, but not bad at all for an 800watt 5.9" inch burner. The settings dial rotates so that you can adjust the temperature infinitely between its highest and lowest settings. With the help of a food thermometer, here's what I found: I was heating a pyrex bowl of approx 16 oz of plain tap water and stepping up to the next setting from the previous each time- Warm - I set it to the "r" in "warm" and the water was kept to approx 110 degrees F consistently, it only took 1-2 minutes to get up to and maintain this temperature after first being turned on Low - I set it to the "o" in "low" and the water was kept to approx 150F consistently, it took approx 2.5 minutes to get up to and maintain this temperature after being set at the "warm" setting #110F# Medium - I set it to the "d" in "medium" and the water was kept to approx 190F consistently, it took approx 3-4 minutes to get up to and maintain this temp after being set at the "low" setting #150F# High - I set it to the highest setting #"g" in "high"# and the water was brought to a rolling boil in approx 5 minutes after being set at the "medium" setting #190F# Great Product!

Was this review helpful? (63) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FarmerTeddy
Portland, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very useful
2/23/2009

Customer review by RayLouise

5.0 stars 2/23/2009 by RayLouise
by RayLouise

I purchased this to use with a generator during a recent power outage. It's great to have around when you can't use your range.

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RayLouise
Grand Rivers, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
A disappointing product
1/28/2008

Customer review by ChefBob

1.0 stars 1/28/2008 by ChefBob
by ChefBob

Needed a simple hot-plate as a gift, and could not find one in stores, but found this one on-line. Had to wait for delivery. When finally used, it did not have enough power to boil water, or even keep water boiling that had been pre-boiled on the stove. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChefBob
Earlton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Wobbley but works
2/18/2009

Customer review by sclaws

4.0 stars 2/18/2009 by sclaws
by sclaws

This burner came out of the box with a wobble, but I shimmed it with a folded paper towel and it works fine. The on/off temperature knob is not very descript in its heating range. It spins rather freely. But it heats up just fine and I have cooked on it several times. Make sure you burn it prior to first use as the instructions state. It will smoke a little the during that portion of your set up. It is a nice single burner for a small kitchenette.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sclaws
Mt. Sterling, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding Little Electric Burner for the price.
6/27/2012

Customer review by Captbaja

5.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Captbaja
by Captbaja

I ordered the product and I was emailed and texted that the item had arrived on exactly the first day of the estimated dates. I picked up, took it home. Upon opening the box, it had a very beautiful, and functional design. I plugged it in, filled a 1 quart saucepan full of cold water, turned it on to high and only waited 4:42 minutes and, to my suprise, the water was at a full boil - faster than my gas range. My intended use was to use the burner to smoke cheese in my offset smoker as the coals burn too hot to maintain a 70 degree temperature as required. This worked perfectly. I used a 6" cast iron skillet to hold the wood and actually used the burner at a little over half to be able to get the wood smoking and maintain the required temperature. I used apple wood and hickory for 90 minutes and the cheese turned out perfectly. The burner worked perfectly and still looked new after this. We will see how long it lasts using it like this. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Captbaja
Chula Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Meets all expectations for intended use
3/8/2008

Customer review by Geon

5.0 stars 3/8/2008 by Geon
by Geon

We purchased this unit after extensive research on the internet. We wanted something that would heat up fast and could be easily used in a motorhome which we are currently doing full time. Great deal, great price. At first I thought we should have purchased a coil unit, but after using several times we love appearance but more important how well it works. Exteremely happy with this unit.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geon
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nope!
7/15/2010

Customer review by RustyInAlabama

1.0 stars 7/15/2010 by RustyInAlabama
by RustyInAlabama

A previous reviewer said she used hers to can with, so that is why I ordered it. I'd just like to know what SIZE canner she used. The burner is so TINY that there is no way it could heat all the water in my 32-quart canner! If, like me, you want to be able to can with a portable unit, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RustyInAlabama
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
SHOCKING PERFORMANCE
8/29/2008

Customer review by Galvestonian

5.0 stars 8/29/2008 by Galvestonian
by Galvestonian

I used to have one from another manufacturer which performed pretty much like a warmer than a real cooker.... I was hesitant to get this one because of my experience with my old ( already trashed long time ago ) one. But I went ahead and got me one of these anyway, and was so shocked when I tuned it on to cook something and expected it to be just like any other brand, but when I came back just less than 5 minutes, this thing at medium was already boilling and steaming my food ( Glad I caught it, I could have been eating toasted beef stew....) I am so empressed.....

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Galvestonian
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great price and worked great
2/13/2014

Customer review by notMYrealNAMEeather

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by notMYrealNAMEeather
by notMYrealNAMEeather

I have been looking for a very hot large coffee mug warmer but none were hot enough. This did the trick! With 2 skinny cups I can share it with my wife. It has a lot more than 4 settings. It really goes from barely warm to boiling hot with dozens of settings in-between.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notMYrealNAMEeather
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cool-plate not hot-plate
12/14/2007

Customer review by fairreporter

1.0 stars 12/14/2007 by fairreporter
by fairreporter

Notice the ad does not give the wattage. That means no claim is being made about how fast it will heat. I have found that a 1-1/2 qt pot of water takes 25 minutes before a few bubbles of boiling water appear at the bottom of the pot. No good for spaghetti cooking! The old spiral electric burners boiled the water in 15 minutes in a covered 1-1/2 qt pot.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fairreporter
Saint Petersburg FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
11/19/2011

Customer review by TAMMY321765

1.0 stars 11/19/2011 by TAMMY321765
by TAMMY321765

WONT BOIL WATER UNLESS YOU WAIT HALF AN HOUR.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TAMMY321765
MINNESOTA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice little unit
4/10/2014

Customer review by RainDQ

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by RainDQ
by RainDQ

I needed something while we gut and remodel our kitchen. This is great, easy to clean takes up little space and requires nothing special. Happy with my purchase, value and use wise.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RainDQ
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
not very hot
11/10/2007

Customer review by happyplace

1.0 stars 11/10/2007 by happyplace
by happyplace

This burner looks great, but it took 3 hours to bring 3 quarts of water to a boil.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyplace
slc,ut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It helps.
7/14/2009

Customer review by iCupcake

4.0 stars 7/14/2009 by iCupcake
by iCupcake

I don't have a stove where I live and this definitely helps. It takes awhile to heat up and make a pot of water boil, but it gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iCupcake
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Failed after 10 uses
6/23/2011

Customer review by ChicagoChef

1.0 stars 6/23/2011 by ChicagoChef
by ChicagoChef

Product failed after being used about 10 times, three days after the store-return period ended. Cost to ship for warranty service is as much as the product itself, so the money was wasted.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChicagoChef
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
disappointed
6/4/2009

Customer review by lexjax

3.0 stars 6/4/2009 by lexjax
by lexjax

the product only lasted 5 months...during that time it worked well...maybe it was only designed to last that long for the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lexjax
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Aroma Hot Plate
4/11/2014

Customer review by Makivk

5.0 stars 4/11/2014 by Makivk
by Makivk

For anybody with a very small apartment and very limited space, this hot plate is proving to be the perfect cooking heat source. I have tried 2 other hot plates but this one is proving itself to be the best. It heats fast, maintains set temperatures, cools fast when finished and cleans up easily.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Makivk
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 240 total reviews
1-20 of 240 reviews