Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 41 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
have had for 2 weeks, mat fell apart after 4th use
4/27/2012

Customer review by nizzle1977

3.0 stars 4/27/2012 by nizzle1977
by nizzle1977

I was so excited to purchase and use this set when it came in. I love sushi rolls and couldn't afford to purchase them on a weekly basis. I love the colors and small size. It worked great the first 3 times. I gently washed everything after using it. The 4th time I was using it to roll a sushi roll on the bamboo mat, it started to come apart. Now, I dunno If I was rolling too tightly or what but the mat came apart on the left side, then the right. I followed the instructions that came with it, so I was disappointed when it fell apart. Luckily, I'm my own seamstress and I know how to mend most things that are held together with string so I will be buying some thin but stronger rope to fix the mat. Ill be replacing the bamboo mat with one from an asian food mart. Also, I used a glass baking pan to mix the rice with the wet ingredients (didn't have a hangiri wooden bowl) and it came out fine. I also used medium grain rice as Kings, Safeway, walmart didn't have short grain, but came out fine. Tried long grain and cam out mushy!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nizzle1977
Kittredge CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easier than expected
7/27/2008

Customer review by OnlineOK

4.0 stars 7/27/2008 by OnlineOK
by OnlineOK

I thought this product was far more useful than I expected. I was primarily looking for a bamboo mat for rolling, but the mold/press is EXTREMELY handy and make much better looking rolls for a beginner. A very nice starter set.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnlineOK
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT KIT!
10/3/2011

Customer review by DaxLove

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by DaxLove
by DaxLove

I bought this as a starter kit. I LOVE IT! The instructions are very clear, and the recipes are helpful! We've made sushi twice this week!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaxLove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very very cool
2/21/2011

Customer review by TiffBargShopper

4.0 stars 2/21/2011 by TiffBargShopper
by TiffBargShopper

I purchased this sushi kit for my boyfriend. He took a sushi making class a few months back and this was perfect to get him started. I also bought a rice cooker\steamer and this kit complements it perfectly! the box is rather small, so dont expect big items. But they are exactly what you need to make great sushi.. Dishwasher safe and very durable! We love it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TiffBargShopper
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
An inexpensive & easy investment for sushi-lovers
6/29/2012

Customer review by MissRaebee

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by MissRaebee
by MissRaebee

My boyfriend was eating out at Sushi restaurants 2 or 3 x's/wk so I wanted to look into how hard it'd be to make from home. This was fun and a lot simpler than I thought it'd be. I think it's going to wind up being a cost-effective investment too --for only $15! Most of the foods you'd buy to prepare sushi were already in our freezer/fridge, and then the seaweed paper was only a dollar for ten sheets. This kit has easy-to-understand instructions how to roll big or small.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissRaebee
Eagle River, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Solid sushi serving starter set!
7/27/2011

Customer review by Vaeleon

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Vaeleon
by Vaeleon

It came with everything needed to get one started with making sushi. The quality was worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vaeleon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sushi Set
9/9/2015

Customer review by Maggie

4.0 stars 9/9/2015 by Maggie
by Maggie

I like this set, however, I only gave it 4 stars because the spatula pictured is not the one that came in the kit. Not a big deal, but I was surprised by a different spatula.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maggie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice
11/5/2015

Customer review by rojas

5.0 stars 11/5/2015 by rojas
by rojas

nice and easy to used

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rojas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love!!
7/28/2015

Customer review by Ashram

5.0 stars 7/28/2015 by Ashram
by Ashram

Great product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashram
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for the beginner...
7/12/2012

Customer review by tgr76

5.0 stars 7/12/2012 by tgr76
by tgr76

I recently started making sushi at home and this set is just perfect for a couple. The mat is just the right size, the chopsticks are lovely, and the lil' dishes are a great addition to this set. If you are going to try making sushi, this set is a great value for the beginner, and a lovely presentation for a special dinner.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tgr76
Combes, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
great product
2/1/2010

Customer review by Star868

5.0 stars 2/1/2010 by Star868
by Star868
Walmart associate

If you love sushi and would like to make it at home, this is a great set makes homemade sushi a cinch! Highly satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Star868
New Mexcio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
pretty good deal
11/7/2009

Customer review by hambone419

4.0 stars 11/7/2009 by hambone419
by hambone419

this product is a great way to start off making sushi. im totally new and it has some recipes in the instructions, a mold for making smaller rolls, and an easy-to-clean mat. ive tried making all kinds of rolls with these tools so far (couldnt wait to try!) and havent been disappointed. the chopsticks and stick holders arent the highest quality...but a nice touch if you dont own any already. overall, the affordability of this set is pretty good. i realize you can go to an asian grocer and probably get the mat and some other accessories for under 10 bucks but if you are without *all* of the starting equipment, i would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hambone419
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Kit is good but the bamboo mat is a little small
7/24/2015

Customer review by Kevin

4.0 stars 7/24/2015 by Kevin
by Kevin

This is a good kit overall -- chopsticks, bowls for soy sauce, etc. The wooden spoon for mixing the rice is a little small, however. The bamboo mat is a little smaller than I thought. Overall, the kit is nice. You can get a bamboo mat by itself for $6 in other places. So, if all you need is a mat, you don't need to buy this kit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kevin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great deal
6/14/2009

Customer review by Springleaf

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by Springleaf
by Springleaf

For only $15, this is a steal. It came with instructions and even a couple recipes. The chopsticks are nice, a lot nicer than I expected. I'm very happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Springleaf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/6/2010

Customer review by RockNpianist

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by RockNpianist
by RockNpianist

Good product. Made for a wonderful time teaching my family how to make sushi!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockNpianist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Sushi set
1/26/2011

Customer review by Skipo

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Skipo
by Skipo

Great set. Just what I needed to get started with sushi! Great value!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skipo
Kinston, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
neat
1/4/2010

Customer review by charesse

4.0 stars 1/4/2010 by charesse
by charesse

Decent Sushi set for a decent price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
charesse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
5/20/2015

Customer review by Joshiana

5.0 stars 5/20/2015 by Joshiana
by Joshiana

Very simple to use and for the price it makes you feel like a professional I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joshiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
6/2/2010

Customer review by polarbear17

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by polarbear17
by polarbear17

This is a great product for beginner sushi makers. Instructions are easy to follow and it comes with some great recipes!!!! Making sushi is not so intimidating with this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
polarbear17
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Well worth the price.
9/30/2014

Customer review by SomeRandomCustomer

4.0 stars 9/30/2014 by SomeRandomCustomer
by SomeRandomCustomer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A neat little set for sushi newbies. Sure, there are better quality items out there but for the price all the items are pretty good. My only complaint is that the chopsticks feel a bit cheap. They're very light and I just prefer a sturdier feeling chopstick. Other than that, the bamboo mat seems to be good quality, the little sauce trays are convenient and the rice paddle is a comfortable size. I threw away the little "sushi maker" as I wanted to learn how to properly make sushi so I can't comment on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SomeRandomCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews