Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 26 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Great Gift!
12/27/2007

Customer review by shoegals

4.0 stars 12/27/2007 by shoegals
by shoegals

After seeing the commercials for this product on t.v., my 5 year old daughter declared this was what she was going to ask Santa for. When I researched the puppy on other websites and saw the $70 price tag I was shocked! At 40 bucks, you can't beat Walmart's price! I read a lot of positive reviews and a few negatives--mostly dealing with the frustration of the set up and the usb cable not being included. It states clearly on the box that a USB is needed and not included. We found the set up to be a breeze! One other possible concern is if your child's name is on the list to choose from on the software cd that comes with the puppy. There are over 3500 names, but there is no way to tell if your child's name is one of them until after you purchase the toy. I decided to take the chance and was delightfully surprised to find my daughter's name on the list. My daughter was thrilled to hear "butterscotch" speak her name and is patiently waiting for her second growth spurt. She really enjoys this toy, and I am glad Walmart had it for such a great price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoegals
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/23/2008

Customer review by SmithMD

4.0 stars 8/23/2008 by SmithMD
by SmithMD

I recently purchased this golden retriever for my 5 year old daughters birthday. It was very easy to set up and she was able to begin playing with it right away. My 5 year old and her 8 year old sister enjoy playing with it and giving me daily growth reports on their puppy. The only downside to it is the price. I wish it was alittle less but at least I was able to order it and have it shipped to my local Wal-Mart store for free.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmithMD
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Puppy Knows Your Name When...
1/13/2008

Customer review by WhatIPayFor

3.0 stars 1/13/2008 by WhatIPayFor
by WhatIPayFor

I recommend this product with a warning: you need to also buy the cable to connect it to the computer, so it can learn your child's name and be programmed to know its own name. My kid got this for Christmas and loved it, but she couldn't really fully use it for two weeks. I thought she must've lost the cord on Christmas day, but I called Fisher Price and they said what she said: it didn't come with a cord. So, it grew and it talked, but it didn't know who my child was, and it had no name yet. However, I found out what cord I needed for it from Fisher Price, then the product worked as described. It was rather disappointing that it didn't work as described right out of the box, considering that it was supposed to be a 'Santa' gift.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhatIPayFor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cute Interactive Dog!
1/10/2008

Customer review by Emismommy

4.0 stars 1/10/2008 by Emismommy
by Emismommy

We got Puppy Grows and Knows Your Name for our two year old daughter for Christmas. Even though the recommended ages were 3 and over, we thought Emily would enjoy this interactive dog because she loves her stuffed puppies. She seemed excited when she opened it up on Christmas morning, but didn't get attached to it very quickly because of it's hard mechanical body. My husband brought home a USB cable and we programmed it to know her name and we decided to name him Tobey. She found it funny that he kept saying her name. She likes me to brush him and she feeds him his bone when he asks. I'm not sure she is even realizing that he is acually growing each day. I think I read that he also knows a friends name and also favorite places to go, but the CD Rom only allowed us to program our daughter's name and a name for the dog. This is not a big deal, but worth mentioning. The dog's voice is also pretty weird. I'm wondering if the poodle dog has a girl's voice. I think that would be cuter. This is not a toy that my daughter will go and play with by herself, unless I play with her and even then, she gets bored with him very quickly. I think she would have enjoyed him more next year when she has more of an attention span. Overall, it's a very cute interactive dog for a child who loves animals. The Walmart low price is a great value. I have seen this dog elsewhere for much higher.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emismommy
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a GREAT toy!
1/6/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/6/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

OOOH my daughter LOVES this puppy! She is 5 and this was probably the best toy Santa brought her. I programmed the puppy before hand and it is soooo easy...even for someone who doesn't have a whole lot of computer exp. The USB cord you need is the cord that hooks to your printer from your comp(at least that is the cord we used) so we didn't have to buy one...but you can buy them at Walmart for under $10...it is worth it! Ours is fully grown now...and with every new growth "Champ" has new sayings that make her sound sooo real! And she uses the childs name often! Awesome toy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Adorable and Entertaining
12/27/2007

Customer review by LittleSantaHelper

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by LittleSantaHelper
by LittleSantaHelper

When I found this item, I thought that it was clever. Not too sure what my 5 yr old would think. Never fear... she is in love with this toy! It is adorable and entertaining. Today it gave her five "kisses" before she had to leave for the day. It grows every morning (for four days), sings, talks, wags its tail, and moves its head. She told me that she LOVES her Santa gift! Success! The only downside is that it requires a USB cord in order to select your child's name and the puppy's name. We still haven't had time to figure that all out... but, she loves it just the same!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittleSantaHelper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Puppy
1/8/2008

Customer review by OnlineMomOf2

5.0 stars 1/8/2008 by OnlineMomOf2
by OnlineMomOf2

The Fischer Price Puppy Grows and Knows Your Name was a big hit with our 4 1/2 year old daughter. She loves that it knows and speaks her name. She also likes to see it grow once every day. It was a good substitute for the real dog she wanted. It was very easy to program with her name and the dog's name. We thought there should be more choices of dog names, or a way to enter whatever name she wanted. But, she ultimately chose a name that was on the list.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnlineMomOf2
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
disappointed
12/29/2007

Customer review by Momto3qties

3.0 stars 12/29/2007 by Momto3qties
by Momto3qties

I expected this to be more interactive and softer to play with. It does say my daughters name and it does say it's name and it does grow. I just thought maybe you could interact with it more. Kind of more like a furby where you can tell it to do something and it does it. Even a walking mechanism would be nice. My little girl so badly wants it to take it for a walk. It would be nice too if they could find a way to make it softer to hug.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momto3qties
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
expected more
4/17/2008

Customer review by jlbabyiris

3.0 stars 4/17/2008 by jlbabyiris
by jlbabyiris

I expected more for what I paid. It does grow and does say my sons name but my son has a limited speech and I couldnt even find the name Blue in the list of dog names. I also expected for $40 for the dog to bark or atleast walk instead my son is dragging the dog around when he takes it for its walk. I did like that it had fur and said my sons name but honestly I should have got the robotic dog that cost way less.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlbabyiris
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good but not great
1/2/2008

Customer review by eyelikeyou

3.0 stars 1/2/2008 by eyelikeyou
by eyelikeyou

I was disappointed with this product. It is very mechanical and cold. The downloading of information was very easy and user friendly. I just thought that it would "do" more than it does. (I purchased a furreal kitty cat also and this dog cannot hold a candle to that product.) If I had it to do again, I probably wouldn't buy this. My granddaughter hasn't given it a second look.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eyelikeyou
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
fun toy
1/14/2008

Customer review by blueday

4.0 stars 1/14/2008 by blueday
by blueday

This toy is fun to play with. My daughter thinks its great that it grows! She sings along with the dog and really loves that it says her name during the song. She is very into animals and this was a good choice. It is very easy to program via the computer. I think the way the dog grows is pretty cool. Worth it! Even her older brother likes it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blueday
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
A Very Fun Product
1/2/2008

Customer review by shoptilyoudrop13

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by shoptilyoudrop13
by shoptilyoudrop13

The puppy is so much fun to play with. It was purchased for a four year old; but the entire family was having fun with it. It is truly amazing how it grows. It is so soft and cuddly. I am sure my granddaughter will get many hours of play with it. It will also teach her how to interact with a real puppy. A great toy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoptilyoudrop13
Maryville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Will Do.
1/6/2008

Customer review by howlnwolf

4.0 stars 1/6/2008 by howlnwolf
by howlnwolf

This item is nice. My daughter really loves it and thats what matters. But for the price I was expecting a little more. If you have a child that really wants it then get it. But make sure you have the right USB cable, it does not come with that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
howlnwolf
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Granddaughter just loves it !!!!!!
12/30/2007

Customer review by sandralynn

5.0 stars 12/30/2007 by sandralynn
by sandralynn

My four year old granddaughter simply loves this puppy. It does everything that is advertised. Walmarts price was ten dollars less that other retailers and the site to store option with free shipping was great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandralynn
Summerfield, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dull Dog
12/28/2007

Customer review by FloridaMommy

1.0 stars 12/28/2007 by FloridaMommy
by FloridaMommy

This product does not do enough for how it is priced. It grows every couple of days, so what! My girls have played w/ this toy once since they received it, and haven't touched it since. Don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloridaMommy
St. Augustine, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
wonderful toy for child
3/16/2008

Customer review by vdog1

5.0 stars 3/16/2008 by vdog1
by vdog1

Child just loves toy. She has an absolute fascination with dogs and wants a real one but we cannot have one. She thinks it is the best thing in the world with it knowing her name. She couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vdog1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cute pup!
12/29/2007

Customer review by DEmomoftwo

4.0 stars 12/29/2007 by DEmomoftwo
by DEmomoftwo

The kids love to interact with the dog. I wish it was a little softer but it is mechanical...The only problem we are having is my daughters name is not on the list of 3000 names! She is four.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DEmomoftwo
DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/1/2008

Customer review by GrandMum

4.0 stars 1/1/2008 by GrandMum
by GrandMum

My Granddaughter loved the Puppy. It even had her name listed. The only thing that was not with the toy was the cord that goes from the computer to the dog but it was easy to program.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandMum
McVeytown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great toy
3/24/2008

Customer review by almostglass

5.0 stars 3/24/2008 by almostglass
by almostglass

My child loves this toy. It is great fun to watch him grow and when he is fully grown, we just hit the reset button and have fun measuring his growth all over again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
almostglass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/27/2007

Customer review by amother

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by amother
by amother

I bought this item for my 4 years old son and he loves it. He has given the puppy a name and is amazed at how it grows. This was a real winner on christmas day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amother
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews