Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

13 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

13 reviews | 5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-12 of 12 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

awesome christian book
7/16/2009

Customer review by lovetoreadbooksalot

5.0 stars 7/16/2009 by lovetoreadbooksalot
by lovetoreadbooksalot

The best book ever!!! You will not be able to put it down!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetoreadbooksalot
Joplin MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Great book!
6/8/2008

Customer review by HappyGammy

5.0 stars 6/8/2008 by HappyGammy
by HappyGammy

Very well written.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyGammy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Same kind of Different as Me
8/12/2010

Customer review by photogirl2010

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by photogirl2010
by photogirl2010

This book, while judging the cover would be a same old blah book, was a very good read. Based on a true story and written in the style of telling your own story..... A story of redemtion, love, understanding, compassion and faith in our great God. It pulls you in and won't let you put it down until you read the last paragraph. I started the first chapter and got called away for a day, but it pulled me back. I could tell right away the general idea of the plot...if you can call it a plot. More like the general direction the story was taking me. This story brings home the real life story of two very different men and their families, sometimes their lack of family, and the roads that lead them together. Difficult in varied ways and coming from two differnt walks of life their lives took on a similarity just below the surface of the obvious differences. This story makes the reader realize that even though we are different; in manner, lifestyle, upbringing, beliefs and morals we really are fundamentaly the same. We all have hopes and dreams, wishes and fantasies, love and loss, grief and joy. The line between haves and have nots is very fine sometimes and we all need to be there for one another as we would want someone to be there for us. I highly recommend this book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
photogirl2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Game Changer
2/25/2014

Customer review by GR1teacher

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by GR1teacher
by GR1teacher

What a lovely story! This book taught life lessons in a fast-paced beautiful story. You won't regret buying this one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GR1teacher
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/10/2009

Customer review by Palmira

5.0 stars 12/10/2009 by Palmira
by Palmira

This is a Wonderful Book! After I read it, I bought 15 more and gave them to my friends and family for Christmas. I'll never forget the impact this book had on me after reading it. What a great story!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Palmira
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
A good book and a good buy
1/21/2009

Customer review by Flipper09

5.0 stars 1/21/2009 by Flipper09
by Flipper09

WalMart had this book where others didn't, it cost less, and it got to me faster than other booksellers have gotten items to me. AND, it costs less for s&h than other sellers. All that adds up to value in my book. As for the book itself, though I haven't yet completed it, it's interesting, well-written and thought provoking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flipper09
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Powerful Story
5/26/2011

Customer review by LOSTfan1mill

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by LOSTfan1mill
by LOSTfan1mill

A precious and powerful book about the wonder of relationships when God is involved. I will forever be inspired by Debbie, Ron, and Denver. This is my fourth book. I have purchased them as gifts and a new copy for my husband and I. This book is simply beautiful!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LOSTfan1mill
Lafayette, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Beautiful book!
11/11/2008

Customer review by fish6

5.0 stars 11/11/2008 by fish6
by fish6

This is a life-changing book. We've given two as gifts and placed one in our church library in memory of my mother. It came highly recommended by several friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fish6
Victoria,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Inspiring & great argument against discrimination
9/13/2009

Customer review by Cancerkicker

5.0 stars 9/13/2009 by Cancerkicker
by Cancerkicker

This is an amazing and inspirational book! I can't remember how I first learned of this book or where I purchased my copy, but since then, I have recommended this book to friends, relatives, complete strangers, and given two away as gifts (only because two was all my Walmart had at the time). I don't know how a person could read this book and ever be discriminatory again, for any reason, i.e., race, gender, or economic positions. Highly recommended! This book is a tie with "To Kill a Mockingbird" for my alltime great reads.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cancerkicker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
A must read!
11/17/2008

Customer review by readingmywaythroughlife

5.0 stars 11/17/2008 by readingmywaythroughlife
by readingmywaythroughlife

What a great story! This book is for anyone who has ever encountered the homeless and been repulsed. It is also for those who want to help, but don't know how. Denver's story and Ron's true conversion is really amazing. We can all benefit from their examples.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
readingmywaythroughlife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Book!
1/4/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/4/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This book is truly inspirational. Once you start to read it, you won't be able to put it down until you are finished. It will challenge you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Reads like fiction
8/4/2010

Customer review by ScribbleHaven

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by ScribbleHaven
by ScribbleHaven

A true story account that reads like a novel, Same Kind of Different as Me will move you to tears and challenge your faith. This first-person account of the relationship between a street-dweller and art-dealer turns prejudice and expectations on their heads. Too often, when we think we are ministering to the less-fortunate, it is they who are changing OUR lives and perspectives. The authors' trials range from Ku Klux Klan-type abuse to marital despair, from street violence to a millionaire's discomfort during serving at a soup kitchen. Without a doubt, these twists and turns lead two men into a bewildering, unlikely friendship that changes their lives and prepares them for the most shocking event of their lives. Though the book hinges on the lives of a few exceptional characters, the overwhelming presence of God permeates each vignette, constantly driving home His sovereignty in the divine choreography of our lives for His glory. The story sticks in my brain and makes me look for ways that God will not only use me in others' lives, but use others to make me want to follow even harder after Him.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScribbleHaven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes