Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 369 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

369 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

369 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
210
4 stars
76
3 stars
23
2 stars
15
1 stars
45
1-20 of 304 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 304 total reviews
1-20 of 304 reviews
Good Office Coffee Maker
3/20/2009

Customer review by DeltaX

5.0 stars 3/20/2009 by DeltaX
by DeltaX

This coffee maker has only one button, ON/OFF. It has no other bells and whistles but does what it is supposed to do and that is make coffee. A great coffee maker if you don't want to spend a fortune but want something that get's the job done.

Was this review helpful? (255) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeltaX
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is the pot!! Halelujah!!
10/27/2009

Customer review by DependentOnCaffeine

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by DependentOnCaffeine
by DependentOnCaffeine

So I'm sitting here holding my favorite coffee cup filled with freshly brewed coffee from my new pot. Yes, I've only owned it about an hour but I feel compelled to share my experience. I must admit that I read each review, both for and against this pot, before actually owning it. I was wary of the posts that said the countertops were covered with water after making a pot or that the pot was filled with grounds, etc., so I paid close attention to each complaint as I ran a full 12 cup pot of water through to test so that I could still return it if it didn't work. I put the water exactly at the 12 cup line and when it was done percolating, it was EXACTLY at the 12 cup line on the pot again. Very cool! My last pot lost a few cups in the translation which was very irritating. Not this one! I love the basket and how it is flat. I love the arm that swings over the basket when ready to brew and slides back out of place when ready to empty the grounds. I know I won't be seeing grounds escaping the filter any more! (I never did understand those cone shaped filters) I am perfectly happy with a pot that has no bells and whistles. I had a pot for years that could program the time to auto make a pot and never used it once so if you are like me, this will suit you just fine. I don't need it to auto turn off after 2 hours (a feature not on this machine) since I shut it down when the pot is done dripping. I can reheat the coffee in the microwave! Mmmm. I'm going to start buying decaf so I can drink coffee and brew all day long after the initial pot to wake me up. Thank you, Mr. Coffee!!!

Was this review helpful? (139) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DependentOnCaffeine
Baltimore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mr. Coffee is dependable
6/9/2010

Customer review by grandnana2

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by grandnana2
by grandnana2

We're both retired and don't need the auto brew feature. Mr. Coffee product has always been our choice of coffee makers, for looks and dependability. This coffee maker is so reasonably priced we bought two of them to have on hand when our other one stops working. Grandnana2

Was this review helpful? (82) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandnana2
Vacaville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
thumbs up
1/11/2010

Customer review by momngram

5.0 stars 1/11/2010 by momngram
by momngram

I bought the inexpensive model of Mr. Coffee, 12 cup coffee maker. I've been very pleased with it. It is very easy to clean, the grounds basket removes very easily, too. It makes very good coffee, and it gets plenty hot! I've had no problems with leaking water, coffee grounds in the coffee, spillage when pouring, etc. that some others have mentioned. The only fault I find is that it does not have the automatic shut-off after 2 hrs feature --but that's a simple thing. I would give this coffee maker a big thumbs up! I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (94) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momngram
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SIMPLE POT GOOD VALUE
1/17/2011

Customer review by LEWALL

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by LEWALL
by LEWALL

I have this 2 years. I bought it to replace another MR. COFFEE that I had 20 years. The previous maker still worked, but I could no longer find a replacement carafe for it. I've had a few other coffee makers before this, nothing has lasted that long. I stayed with MR. COFFEE because of it's durability. I only gave this one 2 stars on features because it's a basic pot with no features. It has an on/off switch and that's all I need. I recommend the water filter to go with if you have hard water. This seems to make a difference as the coffee is smother due to filtering the water. I don't have the problems others have listed. No grounds in the pot, no water on the counter. Don't try to pour the pot too fast, make sure the grounds are even in the filter before you start brewing. MR COFFEE has always worked well for me over years with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LEWALL
Breinigsvill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Problem Solved with pot leaking!!
1/5/2012

Customer review by amplexus52

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by amplexus52
by amplexus52

Purchased this coffee maker about 6 weeks ago, after our 2nd Hamilton Beach "dispense a cup" coffee maker started leaking all over the counter. Wanted something inexpensive that did the job, no fancy bells or whistles. This coffee maker fit the description and the budget! You put the water in, you put the coffee grounds in and you get great tasting coffee!! We grind our own beans at home before each pot. SOLVED: POT LEAKS WHEN POURING COFFEE - there is a ridge on the inside of the lid of the pot. I think its there to ensure the coffee comes down from brew basket and into the pot without leaking. It also can cause coffee to "leak" out the edges of the pour spout when pouring a cup of coffee when the pot is full. SOLUTION: use your thumb to press the lid up slightly when pouring a cup of coffee, PROBLEM SOLVED!!!!! no more leaks when pouring a cup of coffee!! It took me a couple of uses before figuring this out!! As other reviews stated it can make a mess, but now that I figured this out, not one problem!!! I love this coffee maker and I'm happy I didn't spend a fortune on it!!

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amplexus52
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Water spout not designed correctly causing grounds
3/11/2012

Customer review by Sjohn8016

2.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Sjohn8016
by Sjohn8016

I was looking for a basic coffe maker and purchased this one. But atleast 7 out of 10 times there are coffee grounds in the coffee pot. Above the filter basket is the spout that pumps the hot water over the coffee grounds to make the coffee. It rotates so you can get the filter basket out. But when it is rotated over the filter basket it is not centered over the basket. It is designed too short, thus leaving it close to the edge of the filter. And the water will catch the edge of the filter and collapse it causing coffee grounds to run over. I even made sure the spout was rotated fully and it still collapses the filter running grounds into the coffee pot.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sjohn8016
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm amused by some of the reviews for this $17.00 Mr Coffee. The one I have now has lasted for over 10 years in daily use. It finally gave up and I need a new one which will be replaced by the very same model. Coffe spills when pouring? Put the carafe lip over the rim of the cup. Can't get that instant cup before it's done brewing without dripping? When rinsing the filter basket push the plunger up and release a few times. Grounds in your coffee? Try making a bit less than 10 cups at once and make sure your filter is at the edges of the basket. Won't stay hot? Sometimes ya' win some, sometime ya' lose some. Mine overheated if left on too long. I rarely made over 6 cups at a time so that was rarely a problem. Won't stay hot enough? You have a microwave oven, don't you? If you think you will do better with a $50.00 coffee maker, good luck!

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Doesn't last.
2/17/2010

Customer review by lunchbeast

1.0 stars 2/17/2010 by lunchbeast
by lunchbeast

I wanted a cheap, reliable, no-frills coffee maker, with the idea that the fewer bells and whistles, the less to go wrong. However, this coffee maker failed after only a few months - it stopped heating water. There's not much to it, so I took it apart to see what was wrong. One of the thermal fuses in the heating element circuit had failed. I replaced it with an identical fuse from Radio Shack - that got me another month. Don't waste your time or mony on this one.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lunchbeast
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
very good, basic,at a reasonable price
2/3/2014

Customer review by walkrunbike

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by walkrunbike
by walkrunbike

This makes the perfect cup of coffee, I tried others and they just don't work as well as this one. keep it clean. Don't leave it on all day. Let the pot cool before washing and should last a long time. Its better to make two half pots than one full pot, your coffee will taste better.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walkrunbike
pittsburgh pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
A Great Coffee Maker
12/27/2009

Customer review by DaveInColorado

4.0 stars 12/27/2009 by DaveInColorado
by DaveInColorado

I don't know what all these other people are complaining about - we've had this coffee maker for a week now and have NOT spilled one single drop of coffee while pouring into a cup. I guess you just need to know how to pour a cup of coffee. I was glad to find a simple machine that just makes coffee. I love the fact that it does not have all kinds of other gadgets on it. If I need to know what time it is, I'll look at the wall clock. As they say - Less is More. Thank you Mr. Coffee.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaveInColorado
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hot brown water
11/4/2013

Customer review by cojom

2.0 stars 11/4/2013 by cojom
by cojom

We had an old Mr.Coffee with NO bells and whistles...it made the best coffee for at least 12 years before it quit working and we needed a new one . I buy organic beans and grind them fresh and I pour off the first 4 cups of coffee for the richest and most delicious coffee . So when choosing a new coffee pot I looked for the same no frills Mr. Coffee . This new one makes hot brown water !! The water runs through the grounds so fast that it cannot pick up the good coffee flavor ....I was so disappointed . I experimented with it for a week ...packing the grounds etc. ...but still only hot brown water . I realize now that good coffee is all about how the water drips through the grounds .... wish it was easy to find a good coffee maker. I am still looking .

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cojom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Coffee Maker Cracked
3/6/2013

Customer review by Nioled

2.0 stars 3/6/2013 by Nioled
by Nioled

This coffee maker lasted three months of me using it. One morning I started brewing coffee and I heard a crack from my kitchen. The bottom of this coffee pot cracked. After only a few months I was disappointed to see this product break.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nioled
towson, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Take turns on brands
12/21/2013

Customer review by BankruptINpa

4.0 stars 12/21/2013 by BankruptINpa
by BankruptINpa

What I have figured out thru the years is all drip coffee makers last for about one year. Doesn't matter if you pay $200 or $20 for one it goes bad in one year. I have owned ALL brands, I use it once a day, everyday making a full pot of coffee. My former one was the Black and Decker and I had a date on it of 2-1-13 and it went bad where it didn't give me hot coffee, lukewarm at best. So I just take turns on brands this time Mr Coffee, its the least expensive one, don't need the fancy clock or timer and I expect this one to last for about a year. To me cheaper is better, won't feel as bad when a more expensive coffee maker wears out quickly. Not excited about the Mr Coffee, it does the job, makes coffee, don't expect anymore.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BankruptINpa
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Not happy with it...
10/27/2007

Customer review by MadisonsMommy0509

1.0 stars 10/27/2007 by MadisonsMommy0509
by MadisonsMommy0509

I purchased this coffee pot a couple of weeks ago and every single time I've made coffee, the coffee grounds somehow find their way into the pot. It's absolutely rediculous and I'm taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadisonsMommy0509
St. Augustine, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed...
3/14/2013

Customer review by RuralLifeForMe

1.0 stars 3/14/2013 by RuralLifeForMe
by RuralLifeForMe

I've owned Mr. Coffee brand for years. No problem. This one lasted nine and a half WEEKS! The on/off indicator went out in 2 weeks, now it won't brew at all. Very disappointing Mr. Coffee...

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RuralLifeForMe
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Coffee Maker
3/30/2012

Customer review by moonmyst

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by moonmyst
by moonmyst

I've used these inexpensive Mr. Coffee pots for decades. I've had my latest one for over one year and it still brews a fantastic cup of coffee. It isn't fancy. It has one large On and Off button, but that's all I want and need. There's a Pause feature built into the basket that allows me to remove the carafe mid-stream and pour my first cup. It takes the cheap generic filters. The larger spout means no spilled coffee while pouring. The carafe is easy to clean, as is the entire machine. If you want programmable gizmos, shop elsewhere. If you want a perfect cup of coffee every time, buy this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moonmyst
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fantastic coffee maker!!!
9/22/2013

Customer review by 2sparkle

5.0 stars 9/22/2013 by 2sparkle
by 2sparkle

i bought the black one and it's very easy to use, just one button you gotta worry about [on/off switch]. also, you're able to enjoy a cup of coffee and it'll keep brewing. even if it isn't finished, it'll pause until the pot is back in it's place!! i recommend flushing out with a full pot of water for the 1st time use and after that, drink away!! ;)

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2sparkle
southern arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Cheap Coffee Maker
12/29/2011

Customer review by InexpCheer

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by InexpCheer
by InexpCheer

This coffee maker will work great for you if you're on a tight budget and you don't want it to break down. With this item, the only thing you pay for are durability and a basic coffee maker. A curious fact about it is the water level indicator outside the pot seems to be inaccurate - nothing a permanant ink marker can't fix. I've read a complaint about trouble with the pot's making a mess when pouring - you should hook the lip over the cup when pouring. Another complaint is grounds getting into the pot. Some of the grounds are fine enough to slip through the filter. Remember to keep the receipt in case it's defective or you don't like it so you can take the coffee maker back.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InexpCheer
Canyon, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What a nice Surprise...
12/14/2010

Customer review by NonnaD

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by NonnaD
by NonnaD

What a nice surprise when I used my Mr.Coffee as it is my second one like this and love love love it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NonnaD
Akron,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 304 total reviews
1-20 of 304 reviews