Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 376 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

376 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

376 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
216
4 stars
77
3 stars
23
2 stars
15
1 stars
45
1-20 of 311 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 311 total reviews
1-20 of 311 reviews
Water spout not designed correctly causing grounds
3/11/2012

Customer review by Sjohn8016

2.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Sjohn8016
by Sjohn8016

I was looking for a basic coffe maker and purchased this one. But atleast 7 out of 10 times there are coffee grounds in the coffee pot. Above the filter basket is the spout that pumps the hot water over the coffee grounds to make the coffee. It rotates so you can get the filter basket out. But when it is rotated over the filter basket it is not centered over the basket. It is designed too short, thus leaving it close to the edge of the filter. And the water will catch the edge of the filter and collapse it causing coffee grounds to run over. I even made sure the spout was rotated fully and it still collapses the filter running grounds into the coffee pot.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sjohn8016
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very good, basic,at a reasonable price
2/3/2014

Customer review by walkrunbike

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by walkrunbike
by walkrunbike

This makes the perfect cup of coffee, I tried others and they just don't work as well as this one. keep it clean. Don't leave it on all day. Let the pot cool before washing and should last a long time. Its better to make two half pots than one full pot, your coffee will taste better.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walkrunbike
pittsburgh pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Coffee Maker Cracked
3/6/2013

Customer review by Nioled

2.0 stars 3/6/2013 by Nioled
by Nioled

This coffee maker lasted three months of me using it. One morning I started brewing coffee and I heard a crack from my kitchen. The bottom of this coffee pot cracked. After only a few months I was disappointed to see this product break.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nioled
towson, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Problem Solved with pot leaking!!
1/5/2012

Customer review by amplexus52

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by amplexus52
by amplexus52

Purchased this coffee maker about 6 weeks ago, after our 2nd Hamilton Beach "dispense a cup" coffee maker started leaking all over the counter. Wanted something inexpensive that did the job, no fancy bells or whistles. This coffee maker fit the description and the budget! You put the water in, you put the coffee grounds in and you get great tasting coffee!! We grind our own beans at home before each pot. SOLVED: POT LEAKS WHEN POURING COFFEE - there is a ridge on the inside of the lid of the pot. I think its there to ensure the coffee comes down from brew basket and into the pot without leaking. It also can cause coffee to "leak" out the edges of the pour spout when pouring a cup of coffee when the pot is full. SOLUTION: use your thumb to press the lid up slightly when pouring a cup of coffee, PROBLEM SOLVED!!!!! no more leaks when pouring a cup of coffee!! It took me a couple of uses before figuring this out!! As other reviews stated it can make a mess, but now that I figured this out, not one problem!!! I love this coffee maker and I'm happy I didn't spend a fortune on it!!

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amplexus52
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
They fixed some problems
7/19/2014

Customer review by HardToBeUnique

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by HardToBeUnique
by HardToBeUnique
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used to use Braun, but they stopped making 110v coffee makers (only make 220v now). So I switched to Mr Coffee, I bought one with a clock / brew timer, and one with just an On/Off switch. Both previous Mr Coffee had the same four issues: 1. Carafe would drip/spill when you poured the first few cups of coffee (i.e. when it was full). 2. Pause 'N Serve would drip a few drops of coffee onto the hot plate whenever it was used. 3. Water would always be under the filter basket when you lifted it out to refill it for the next cycle. 4. Braun lasted five years, each Mr Coffee lasted under two years. I make a lot of coffee (two pots per day). A thermal fuse blew on the first unit. The second unit clogged, but I should have cleaned it with vinegar more often. This model is slightly different in appearance (i.e. on my other models, the grey in the front went all the way to the bottom of the Coffee Maker). I was surprised (and pleased) to find the first three issues have been fixed. Time will tell if longevity has been improved.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HardToBeUnique
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SIMPLE POT GOOD VALUE
1/17/2011

Customer review by LEWALL

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by LEWALL
by LEWALL

I have this 2 years. I bought it to replace another MR. COFFEE that I had 20 years. The previous maker still worked, but I could no longer find a replacement carafe for it. I've had a few other coffee makers before this, nothing has lasted that long. I stayed with MR. COFFEE because of it's durability. I only gave this one 2 stars on features because it's a basic pot with no features. It has an on/off switch and that's all I need. I recommend the water filter to go with if you have hard water. This seems to make a difference as the coffee is smother due to filtering the water. I don't have the problems others have listed. No grounds in the pot, no water on the counter. Don't try to pour the pot too fast, make sure the grounds are even in the filter before you start brewing. MR COFFEE has always worked well for me over years with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LEWALL
Breinigsvill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm amused by some of the reviews for this $17.00 Mr Coffee. The one I have now has lasted for over 10 years in daily use. It finally gave up and I need a new one which will be replaced by the very same model. Coffe spills when pouring? Put the carafe lip over the rim of the cup. Can't get that instant cup before it's done brewing without dripping? When rinsing the filter basket push the plunger up and release a few times. Grounds in your coffee? Try making a bit less than 10 cups at once and make sure your filter is at the edges of the basket. Won't stay hot? Sometimes ya' win some, sometime ya' lose some. Mine overheated if left on too long. I rarely made over 6 cups at a time so that was rarely a problem. Won't stay hot enough? You have a microwave oven, don't you? If you think you will do better with a $50.00 coffee maker, good luck!

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
champ so far
10/27/2009

Customer review by johnwerneken

4.0 stars 10/27/2009 by johnwerneken
by johnwerneken

This product is so inexpensive I still do not believe it works so well and looks so good. But it is used daily (more than once!) and makes excellent coffee, quickly, easily, amd neatly. The only drawbacks so far: as said it is so inexpensive I amost expect it to fail or engage in some other unpleasant behavior, BUT IT WON'T! It just WORKS! Walmart's lawyers must have gotten at the design team - it has severral idiot-proofing features, which I find to be annoying in principle, although so far none of them has proven annoying in any other way. It has a short cord (as does any other newer kitchen appliance) - but it also has a cord storage compartment, which is kinda neat; the basket has a valve under it, it will not drain without the caraffe under it (but you can pause it and pour from the caraffe); and the water resevior has some holes in the back, above the maximum fill level, so it is impossible to over-fill it (and thus one can't overflow the caraffe).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnwerneken
vancouver wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hot brown water
11/4/2013

Customer review by cojom

2.0 stars 11/4/2013 by cojom
by cojom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We had an old Mr.Coffee with NO bells and whistles...it made the best coffee for at least 12 years before it quit working and we needed a new one . I buy organic beans and grind them fresh and I pour off the first 4 cups of coffee for the richest and most delicious coffee . So when choosing a new coffee pot I looked for the same no frills Mr. Coffee . This new one makes hot brown water !! The water runs through the grounds so fast that it cannot pick up the good coffee flavor ....I was so disappointed . I experimented with it for a week ...packing the grounds etc. ...but still only hot brown water . I realize now that good coffee is all about how the water drips through the grounds .... wish it was easy to find a good coffee maker. I am still looking .

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cojom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nonameme
2/4/2016

Customer review by nonameme

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by nonameme
by nonameme

Works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nonameme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't last.
2/17/2010

Customer review by lunchbeast

1.0 stars 2/17/2010 by lunchbeast
by lunchbeast

I wanted a cheap, reliable, no-frills coffee maker, with the idea that the fewer bells and whistles, the less to go wrong. However, this coffee maker failed after only a few months - it stopped heating water. There's not much to it, so I took it apart to see what was wrong. One of the thermal fuses in the heating element circuit had failed. I replaced it with an identical fuse from Radio Shack - that got me another month. Don't waste your time or mony on this one.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lunchbeast
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
This is the pot!! Halelujah!!
10/27/2009

Customer review by DependentOnCaffeine

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by DependentOnCaffeine
by DependentOnCaffeine

So I'm sitting here holding my favorite coffee cup filled with freshly brewed coffee from my new pot. Yes, I've only owned it about an hour but I feel compelled to share my experience. I must admit that I read each review, both for and against this pot, before actually owning it. I was wary of the posts that said the countertops were covered with water after making a pot or that the pot was filled with grounds, etc., so I paid close attention to each complaint as I ran a full 12 cup pot of water through to test so that I could still return it if it didn't work. I put the water exactly at the 12 cup line and when it was done percolating, it was EXACTLY at the 12 cup line on the pot again. Very cool! My last pot lost a few cups in the translation which was very irritating. Not this one! I love the basket and how it is flat. I love the arm that swings over the basket when ready to brew and slides back out of place when ready to empty the grounds. I know I won't be seeing grounds escaping the filter any more! (I never did understand those cone shaped filters) I am perfectly happy with a pot that has no bells and whistles. I had a pot for years that could program the time to auto make a pot and never used it once so if you are like me, this will suit you just fine. I don't need it to auto turn off after 2 hours (a feature not on this machine) since I shut it down when the pot is done dripping. I can reheat the coffee in the microwave! Mmmm. I'm going to start buying decaf so I can drink coffee and brew all day long after the initial pot to wake me up. Thank you, Mr. Coffee!!!

Was this review helpful? (139) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DependentOnCaffeine
Baltimore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AAA
1/30/2016

Customer review by Rocky

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Rocky
by Rocky

AAA Quality!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rocky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mr. Coffee is dependable
6/9/2010

Customer review by grandnana2

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by grandnana2
by grandnana2

We're both retired and don't need the auto brew feature. Mr. Coffee product has always been our choice of coffee makers, for looks and dependability. This coffee maker is so reasonably priced we bought two of them to have on hand when our other one stops working. Grandnana2

Was this review helpful? (82) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandnana2
Vacaville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great Find
1/26/2016

Customer review by AQTT

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by AQTT
by AQTT

If u look for something simple but want good results when coffee comes out you'll love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AQTT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Little Coffeepot
1/25/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For the price, this is an astonishing appliance. It brews perfect coffee, washes up easily and looks fine on the countertop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12 cup mr coffee
1/26/2016

Customer review by Bonnie

4.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Bonnie
by Bonnie

Good Brewer for the money

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bonnie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Office Coffee Maker
3/20/2009

Customer review by DeltaX

5.0 stars 3/20/2009 by DeltaX
by DeltaX

This coffee maker has only one button, ON/OFF. It has no other bells and whistles but does what it is supposed to do and that is make coffee. A great coffee maker if you don't want to spend a fortune but want something that get's the job done.

Was this review helpful? (256) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeltaX
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Take turns on brands
12/21/2013

Customer review by BankruptINpa

4.0 stars 12/21/2013 by BankruptINpa
by BankruptINpa

What I have figured out thru the years is all drip coffee makers last for about one year. Doesn't matter if you pay $200 or $20 for one it goes bad in one year. I have owned ALL brands, I use it once a day, everyday making a full pot of coffee. My former one was the Black and Decker and I had a date on it of 2-1-13 and it went bad where it didn't give me hot coffee, lukewarm at best. So I just take turns on brands this time Mr Coffee, its the least expensive one, don't need the fancy clock or timer and I expect this one to last for about a year. To me cheaper is better, won't feel as bad when a more expensive coffee maker wears out quickly. Not excited about the Mr Coffee, it does the job, makes coffee, don't expect anymore.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BankruptINpa
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst coffeemaker ever!
6/6/2013

Customer review by MrTweed

1.0 stars 6/6/2013 by MrTweed
by MrTweed

Has to be the worst drip coffee maker on the market. I have been using no frills coffeemakers for over 35 years. I have gone through a few Mr. Coffee units and all served me well. Recently when my base unit Sunbeam died after 7 years of service I went to my local Walmart. They did not stock Sunbeam so I purchased a 12 cup base unit (CG-12) Mr. Coffee. It was defective-water tank leaked all over the counter. Exchanged for a 2nd unit. 2nd unit apparently had a defective switch-would not turn on. Exchanged it for a 3rd unit. I thought it was working fine but after a couple days realized I wasn't getting 4 cups (that is what I normally brew) of coffee. After monitoring I realized it was taking 20 minutes to complete the drip process (normally should take 5 minutes) and I was barely getting 3 cups of coffee. Don't really know where there missing cup of water went. It wasn't in the unit. I assume it went up in steam. That also explained why my coffee was much stronger than normal. Threw unit away. I am done with Mr. Coffee. Bought a no frills Black & Decker that works great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrTweed
Bozeman, MT.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 311 total reviews
1-20 of 311 reviews