Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

200 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

200 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
60
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
13
1-20 of 175 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews
Great value
6/13/2016

Customer review by Kittenmom

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Kittenmom
by Kittenmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This rice cooker is great for meals for 2-4 people, easy to use and easier to clean, it's a great addition to my kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kittenmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for small family!
7/6/2016

Customer review by Liz66

4.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Liz66
by Liz66

This is a very nice rice cooker for a small family. I made 2 cups of rice. It cooked for 40 minutes and then I let it rest for 15 minutes. The rice was cooked perfectly. Not too dry and not too mushy. I find it very hard to get these results when I just make rice in a regular pot. I would caution against letting it stay on "warm" mode for too long as the very bottom layer did get crunchy. Also keep things away from the cooker as there was some "sputtering" and water was leaking onto the lid. Clean up was simple. I also tried steaming some zucchini. It didn't specify an amount of water to add so I put in an inch of water and it was fine and did not evaporate. There is a table for steaming times but it took ten minutes to start steaming so be sure to add that into your timeframe. The zucchini came out fine. Having a steamer is a nice option but you can probably only fit two servings on the steamer. Overall this is an excellent choice for a small family. I received this product as a sample to review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Liz66
Greenwich, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome Product
7/26/2010

Customer review by liariel

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by liariel
by liariel

Makes perfect rice every time. Even if I could make perfect rice on my own, which I can't, this would still save me time and the trouble. Literally you put the rice & water in, turn it on, and leave it. If you stir it 15 mins into the cook time you can avoid rice sticking to the bottom, but I don't bother to. Only a small amount sticks and it comes off very easy with water. For the record, with cooking rice the "old-fashioned" way, I always had trouble when cooking small amounts of rice. But this rice cooker cooks 1/4 cup of uncooked rice just fine. Usually I cook 1/2 cup for myself, just because I love rice. For "normal" portion sizes 1/4 cup is usually enough, though. If you have a family of 4, I know the rice cooker can handle at least 2 cups (1/2 cup per person) uncooked rice as well and work just fine. So because it's aesthetically nice looking and takes up little counter space, I would recommend getting this even for a family of 4. I have not tried to cook the max 3 cups though.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
liariel
Kokomo, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
LOVE this rice cooker!
8/9/2007

Customer review by HBKY

5.0 stars 8/9/2007 by HBKY
by HBKY

I decided to try this one, because it's super cheap and cute too. This is my first rice cooker, and I have to say I really, really love it. I am using it to cook rice, quinoa, steel cut oat groats, and various types of beans. It works great! I haven't used the veggie steamer as of yet. The review below states you can't feed more than 3 people with a full pot of rice. That family must be some serious rice eaters, because a full pot is around 10 cups of rice. I cook a full pot and store my food in the fridge for easy re-heating. And, true, there is no place to hang the rice paddle (wah!) but I just stick the handle of the rice paddle under the handle of the lid. My only complaints, if you'd call them that, is that I use more water than it calls for in the booklet. (I use a 2:1 ratio on my rice, maybe a little more.) Also, the veg steamer is a little bit small. You could probably squeeze two nice portions out of it, maybe three. But if this is no big deal for you, then I definitely suggest you try this rice cooker!

Was this review helpful? (121) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HBKY
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Simple and convenient
7/6/2016

Customer review by CookSA

4.0 stars 7/6/2016 by CookSA
by CookSA

The Oster 6 Cup Rice Cooker is simple and convenient. The measuring cup and markings on the inside of the bowl are clear and make it easy to set up. I really like the steamer basket that sits on top of the rice bowl and steams your veggies along with the rice. This makes it super easy to steam the veggies and then simply toss them in with the rice once everything is done cooking. The one touch start button is easy to use. Simply press down the button to start. Once the rice/veggies are done the button pops up and the steamer goes into warming mode. The rice cooks pretty well. My cooker did slightly burn a small amount of rice on the very bottom of the bowl but the majority of rice was cooked very well. In future uses I added water slightly above the marking on the bowl to prevent any rice from burning. The rice turned out very nice. Disclaimer: I received this product as a sample to review. After using this product I would recommend this rice cooker based on its simplicity, performance, and the convenience of the vegetable steaming basket. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

CookSA
San Antonio, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Simple and easy to use!!
5/25/2016

Customer review by Bella

4.0 stars 5/25/2016 by Bella
by Bella
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Yesterday was the first time I've ever used a rice steamer cooker. Looooove it!! It was a huge success with the family. Husband said the rice tasted professionally made. The toddlers wanted thirds, which means they each ate about a 3/4 of a cup of rice. The best part was having left overs to pack for two lunches. What's even better, the price!! A must have at home.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bella
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great cooker/steamer
7/7/2016

Customer review by lwhouse_037

4.0 stars 7/7/2016 by lwhouse_037
by lwhouse_037

Over all, this is a great little rice cooker and steamer! I enjoy the ease of use and the automatic switch that turns it from cook to keep warm! Another thing I like about this is that the pans are dishwasher safe. Previous rice cookers I have owned in the past where not. A couple issues however, is the instructions on how much water to use are not as clear as I would like, sometimes I get a little too much, or not quite enough. I also would like a master switch to turn the unit off, instead of having to be unplugged. Overall, this unit is very easy and simple to use, and does the job nicely! Having a pan to steam vegetables is a big plus as well and I like that it comes with its own cup and ladle to keep things simple! *I received this product as a sample to review* [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

lwhouse_037
Hayti, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great item!
7/6/2016

Customer review by Michelle Lynn Mercer

4.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Michelle Lynn Mercer
by Michelle Lynn Mercer

Overall, a great product! I've used this many times I. The past few weeks, and am quite impressed. This rice cooker is small and sleek and can fit just about anywhere. I've got limited counter top space, so this was perfect for me. Functional wise, very easy to use and cooks rice retry quickly! The only gripe I had was even with reading instructions, I tried many times to get the cooking pot to sit straight and flush within the center, and it hadn't. Seemed to be on a spring or something. Eventually I gave up and filled with the amount of rice/water and with the weight of the ingredients, it finally sat correctly inside. I would recommend this product to anyone in the market for this type of appliance. *disclaimer* I have received this item for free in exchange for a review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Michelle Lynn Mercer
Struthers, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great little basic rice cooker!
7/5/2016

Customer review by jeni77

4.0 stars 7/5/2016 by jeni77
by jeni77

Although I have only used this rice cooker a few times, it seems to be a good one. It is basic and simple to use. The size is perfect for my family of 5 since we rarely make more than 3 cups of rice at a time. I like that it has a steamer tray so that I will be able to steam veggies at the same time. I have not used this feature yet but I look forward to using it soon. I like the keep warm function and the instructions are straight forward and easy to understand. It is also easy to clean. I like that the pot and tray are dishwasher safe. The first time I used it, the rice overcooked a little on the bottom. But I think it was because I didn't add enough water. The rice was fluffy and tasted better than the rice made in my old rice cooker. I don't like that there is no audible signal to let you know that it is done cooking. I'm sure that once I have used it more, I will know when the rice is done so I can be in the room when it switches to the keep warm feature. I don't know about the durability since I have only had it a few weeks but it works great thus far. It seems to be a great value and I look forward to using it for a long time. *Disclaimer: I received this product as a sample to review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

jeni77
Prescott Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointing.
7/9/2016

Customer review by Bevbow

2.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Bevbow
by Bevbow

When I first received this rice cooker, I was excited to use it. The size seemed great for my family size and looked easy to use. I used this rice cooker only 1 time because there was a mold like residue left around the edge of the liner and the steam bubbled over onto my countertops, making a mess. I cooked a small portion (about 1.5 cups, according to the measuring cup they give you to use, so nowhere near its supposed capacity) of brown rice and while it was cooking, steam boiled out of the lid. The lid does not secure the liner in any way, therefore allowing the mess that ensued. When the rice was done cooking, I removed the lid and fluffed the rice a little. This is when I discovered there was a mold like residue lining the inside of the liner, now touching the rice that I just prepared to feed to my family. Luckily, I was able to pick out a few small bites so that my children had something to eat, but almost the entire portion was ruined by the mysterious mold like residue. The instructions booklet made no sense. Because I owned another rice cooker, I understood the basics. It was much more intuitive to use than the provided instructions. I'll stick to my locking, programmable, larger rice cooker. Disclaimer-I received this product as a sample to review.

Bevbow
Winchester, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
4.5 stars!! Wonderful little rice cooker!
7/6/2016

Customer review by Justpeachy

4.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Justpeachy
by Justpeachy

This rice cooker is perfect for a small family of 2-4 people. It's simple to use and easy to clean. As long as you follow the directions to rinse your rice before cooking, you should not have any "bubble over" mess. Rinse the rice until the water pours out clear. Also, use the measuring cup provided for the rice. This cup is different from your typical measuring cup. Inside the inner pot, there are measuring lines so you know the amount of rice/water ratio. I found that it is a good idea to stir the rice one time around the 15 minute mark just to keep the bottom rice from getting a little over cooked. To start the unit after the contents are placed into the inner pot, plug in the unit and push down the "cooking lever" located on the face of the pot. Once the rice is cooked, the unit switches to the "warming" mode. The only way to turn the rice cooker "off" is to unplug it. The power cord is a little on the short side, but it wasn't a drawback for me. The instruction booklet covers the needed information, but I wish it included some recipes. There was only a timing guide to steam various veggies. I give this Oster rice cooker a 4.5 star rating!! Its a great little rice cooker. (Disclaimer: I received this Oster Rice Cooker as a sample product to review.) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Justpeachy
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great for healthy eating!
7/11/2016

Customer review by CodeeCB

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by CodeeCB
by CodeeCB

I am trying to eat healthier and this rice cooker and vegetable steamer is a great easy way to do that! I have always cooked my rice on the stove in the past and my veggies in the microwave and this steamer makes the process significantly easier! Everything you would need to cook both rice and vegetables is included and you can do both at the same time! A grilled chicken breast, steamed rice and some steamed carrots mixed with broccoli is my new favorite meal and this rice cooker is a great addition to my kitchen appliances! I'd recommend this rice cooker to anyone! I received a sample of this product in change for a honest and unbiased review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

CodeeCB
Minneapolis, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Such a blessing
7/14/2016

Customer review by Ivegotsunshine

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Ivegotsunshine
by Ivegotsunshine

The Oster rice cooker is a dream. I thought it would be bulkier and more of a hassle in the kitchen but it's not. It's petite and that doesn't affect its capabilities at all. Having the built in steamer is fantastic. My rice consistently tastes amazing & I can let it take care of my vegetables too which is so convenient for a lazy cook like me. Totally recommend it! You won't be disappointed. As a disclaimer - I did receive this product on the condition that I'd write a review. I absolutely DID NOT have to give it positive feedback but the rice cooker totally deserves it! 5 stars! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Ivegotsunshine
Salem, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Oster 6 cup Rice Cooker
7/16/2016

Customer review by Mongoose

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Mongoose
by Mongoose

The Oster 6 cup rice cooker is great! It is a quick and easy way to cook your rice. It is visually appealing and looks nice in my kitchen counter. This one is red and has a great accent to my kitchen as well. The rice cooker is very simple to use. It includes a rice measuring cup and already has lines in the inner pot for your water level depending on the portion size of rice you are cooking. All you have to do is push the button up to start the cooking process. Please note I was given the rice cooker as gift to review this item. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Mongoose
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Breaking News: It cooks rice!
7/9/2016

Customer review by TheDavid

4.0 stars 7/9/2016 by TheDavid
by TheDavid

I am a big fan of rice, but I am a terrible cooker of rice. This rice cooker did exactly what I hoped it would: cook my rice well. I liked the simplicity of the cooker, and without a lot of bells and whistles, I expect it to hold up to repeated use for a while. The cooker doesn't take up a lot of space on my counter, so I can leave it out and use it any time I want. I took a star off because when it is plugged in it is always on (either warming or cooking). I'd prefer it if I could turn it off while it is plugged in [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

TheDavid
Dayton, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wonderful Rice Cooker
7/5/2016

Customer review by KellyAnn

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by KellyAnn
by KellyAnn

Wonderful Rice Cooker - I had the privilege to try this rice cooker and absolutely loved it. It's very easy to use. You just use the measuring cup that comes with it to measure out your rice and then fill with water to the water line in the pot based on how many cups you are making. Give it a stir, out the lid on and press down the cook button and that's it. It was ready in no time and cooked perfectly. No burned rice. My family looks forward to our rice dinners since we've had this product. I received this rice cooker as a sample to try it out and love it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

KellyAnn
Rockvale, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great cooker
7/11/2016

Customer review by Neutralfate

4.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Neutralfate
by Neutralfate

The rice cooker worked really well. The first time I used it I followed all the directions from the book. I had an issue the first time with it boiling over a little. So I had to adjust the next time for when I cooked rice. I enjoyed the design and sleekness. Was nice to be able to cook rice and steam vegetables at the same time. Also just be careful when turning cooker on when full. Pressing down too hard can possibly tip the unit over. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Neutralfate
North Liberty, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome rice cooker
7/11/2016

Customer review by Tony Perkins

4.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Tony Perkins
by Tony Perkins

This 6 cup rice cooker is totally awesome. This cooker will ensure your rice is cooked to perfection in no time at all. I have use my cooker almost everyday to make fresh cooked rice. The quality of the craftsmanship has led to a well made rice cooker. The color will brighten any kitchen. This is a must buy item. I received my rice cooker free to try at home. I will definitely buy a few for Christmas gifts. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Tony Perkins
Jacksonville, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Cheap and easy to use!
7/11/2016

Customer review by thekillingjoke

4.0 stars 7/11/2016 by thekillingjoke
by thekillingjoke

For the price, this product is hard to beat. I have had zero problems with this device in terms of cooking various rice types (white, brown, jasmine...even rice and beans) and have yet to actually overcook or undercook my food. The steamer is a little small for families who love steamed veggies, but still gets the job done fairly effectively. Extremely easy to clean and use if following instructions properly.

thekillingjoke
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good Rice Cooker
7/10/2016

Customer review by Cavs99

4.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Cavs99
by Cavs99

I got this rice cooker a few weeks ago and have been using it ever since. Overall a good product. Rice cooker worked very well when only using 1 or 2 cups of rice. When filled to capacity the water tend to boil over. Would definitely recommend this rice cooker. I received this product as a sample to review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Cavs99
Charlottesville, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews