Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 161 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

161 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

161 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
43
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
1-20 of 136 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
LOVE this rice cooker!
8/9/2007

Customer review by HBKY

5.0 stars 8/9/2007 by HBKY
by HBKY

I decided to try this one, because it's super cheap and cute too. This is my first rice cooker, and I have to say I really, really love it. I am using it to cook rice, quinoa, steel cut oat groats, and various types of beans. It works great! I haven't used the veggie steamer as of yet. The review below states you can't feed more than 3 people with a full pot of rice. That family must be some serious rice eaters, because a full pot is around 10 cups of rice. I cook a full pot and store my food in the fridge for easy re-heating. And, true, there is no place to hang the rice paddle (wah!) but I just stick the handle of the rice paddle under the handle of the lid. My only complaints, if you'd call them that, is that I use more water than it calls for in the booklet. (I use a 2:1 ratio on my rice, maybe a little more.) Also, the veg steamer is a little bit small. You could probably squeeze two nice portions out of it, maybe three. But if this is no big deal for you, then I definitely suggest you try this rice cooker!

Was this review helpful? (100) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HBKY
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Taking a chance...
8/23/2007

Customer review by Ricegal

2.0 stars 8/23/2007 by Ricegal
by Ricegal

I'm very disappointed with this product. Yes, the purchase price is great, but after shipping, it's the same price or more than others offered. It is extremely cute, don't get me wrong, and for a single person, it's probably just perfect. But the capacity is misleading. You would expect it to hold 80 fluid ounces with a 10 cup capacity, right? Nope. They mean 10 of the 5oz. cups that you measure rice with - you can put in 3 of those and the water to cook it in, that's all. And the "steamer basket"? not like the little insert that goes in the bottom of others to hold your veggies out of the water, this is a 1.5" deep basket that holds maybe 2 handfuls of baby carrots. Again, maybe for a single person or college student, but my fiance and I mow through the rice really fast and there's not enough room for veggies for both of us... Oh, and the fuse on mine broke after only a month. So it's useless. By the time I package it (if I can find all of the packaging, register for the warranty, and send it back, it'll take too long and not be worth the wait for a cooker I wasn't that psyched about to start with. I'll probably go purchase the $19.96 plain ol' black and decker one from the store if they ever have one back in stock. That way at least I can return it if it doesn't work without spending over $20 in shipping both ways.

Was this review helpful? (69) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ricegal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product for the money
4/17/2008

Customer review by Mender

5.0 stars 4/17/2008 by Mender
by Mender

The Oster Rice/Steamer cooker was purchased as a gift to some one that had started on a diet. Rice is part of the diet with of course steamed veggies. She reported to me how easy it was to use & she's not a veteran of kitchen applicances. Her food and the smaller portion met her needs perfectly. She said that she was going to recommend it to her friends.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mender
Charlottesville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A cute product
8/1/2007

Customer review by Ladybird254

4.0 stars 8/1/2007 by Ladybird254
by Ladybird254

This product is easy to use like other rice cooker I've used before. It has an additional item which is a steamer. However it is a bit too small ... smaller than what I expected from the photo that I saw on the website. It also doesn't have a place to hang the rice paddle. Overall, it is a good cooker to cook for 4-5 people. But if your main food is rice, it can only feed 3 people the most per cooking. I love the color, look & cuteness, plus it's easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladybird254
Walla Walla, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
CUTE & CONVENIENT
7/3/2010

Customer review by ADPSHOP

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by ADPSHOP
by ADPSHOP

I chose this particular rice cooker for it's size and appearance. With just my husband and I, the three cup capacity is just perfect and, I love the cute shape and color. I actually purchased it to cook steel cut oats which, cooked traditionally, take about thiry minutes for breakfast. For this purpose, I use my rice cooker like a crock pot. Before bed time, I place my oats in the cooker; pour boiling water over them; set the temperature to the warm setting; put the cover on and leave it over night. In the morning? Perfect oats! Yumm!

Was this review helpful? (22) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ADPSHOP
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It OK, but....
8/31/2009

Customer review by BMD6522

2.0 stars 8/31/2009 by BMD6522
by BMD6522

My husband and I received this as a wedding gift and we loved it at first. The red color was cool and it was perfect for the two of us. We used it almost on a daily basis for 1 year and took good care of it. All of a sudden one random day, it stopped working for no apparent reason. SO although it worked great at first, I think in the long run it's best to invest in something of a little better quality. But I guess you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (23) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BMD6522
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Product
7/26/2010

Customer review by liariel

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by liariel
by liariel

Makes perfect rice every time. Even if I could make perfect rice on my own, which I can't, this would still save me time and the trouble. Literally you put the rice & water in, turn it on, and leave it. If you stir it 15 mins into the cook time you can avoid rice sticking to the bottom, but I don't bother to. Only a small amount sticks and it comes off very easy with water. For the record, with cooking rice the "old-fashioned" way, I always had trouble when cooking small amounts of rice. But this rice cooker cooks 1/4 cup of uncooked rice just fine. Usually I cook 1/2 cup for myself, just because I love rice. For "normal" portion sizes 1/4 cup is usually enough, though. If you have a family of 4, I know the rice cooker can handle at least 2 cups (1/2 cup per person) uncooked rice as well and work just fine. So because it's aesthetically nice looking and takes up little counter space, I would recommend getting this even for a family of 4. I have not tried to cook the max 3 cups though.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
liariel
Kokomo, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Perfect size for our daily needs.
5/31/2011

Customer review by Lordwigglebottom

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Lordwigglebottom
by Lordwigglebottom

An excellent choice for those that enjoy rice and steamed vegitables, cooked to perfection. The variety this unit provides is endless. Easy set-up and use, wonderful texture and flavor results. A snap to clean, as surface is treated for maximun convenience with minimal fussing afterwords. One minor issue is the stowage factor; the very necessary (metric) measuring cup and rice paddle create a major neusance when storing; these two items do not fit or nest inside the steamer basket. As such, it's an effort to store and then relocate the accesories when needed. I can shorten the paddle handle, though the cup remains a challange. Perhaps the next edition will include a redesigned measuring vessle? A wonderful unit, and I have referred others. Quite the pleasure to have and use daily. Thank you Walmart for this item!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lordwigglebottom
Lynnwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
excellent customer service
10/8/2011

Customer review by addebah

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by addebah
by addebah

nice!!!!!! cook really in 15 min. I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
addebah
phililadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for the price and I love the red color.
4/25/2014

Customer review by AJ746

5.0 stars 4/25/2014 by AJ746
by AJ746

The rice cooker is great for the price. I chose it because it was within my price range and it was red. Performance is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJ746
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THERE IS NO AUTO-SHUTOFF ON THIS MODEL
8/20/2012

Customer review by balthaczar

2.0 stars 8/20/2012 by balthaczar
by balthaczar

I bought this particular rice cooker because the description here and on the Oster website said it had an auto-shutoff feature. When I opened the box and read the directions, there was no mention of this feature. I emailed Oster and sure enough, this model does NOT have an auto-shutoff. Since I was sending it to college with my son and time was tight, I went ahead and sent it with him. I was very disappointed with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
balthaczar
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
PERFECT RICE
1/10/2012

Customer review by ahappy65

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by ahappy65
by ahappy65

I bought this one for my son and already have one of my own. It is great, it makes perfect rice and the steamer is an extra plus. A great little cooker for any kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ahappy65
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Awesome Rice cooker
9/29/2011

Customer review by Purelyn

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by Purelyn
by Purelyn

I been looking for a small rice cookie and was surprise when I saw that they had one on this site, The one I had before was large and it lasted through 5 kids now that it is only my husband and I we don't need a large one and I was really happy to get this one as it cooks just the right amount for us and never no waste, It has a stream basket and I put my veggie in as the rice cooked and it turn out to be a wonderful meals, Thanks Wal-mart great site to order from,

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Purelyn
Abilene Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/3/2011

Customer review by 99ipas

4.0 stars 7/3/2011 by 99ipas
by 99ipas

Easy to use and cooks any kind of rice. It does tend to slightly over cook the rice if you let it run to completion. A little sticks to the bottom, so you can just throw that away or do like I do and turn it off when I see the water isn't bubbling any more, then let it sit for 5 minutes. Comes out perfect then. You get what you pay for, I'm not willing to spend $100 to get the perfect rice cooker.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
99ipas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looking 4 Steamer Advice
7/17/2013

Customer review by Photobizgal

3.0 stars 7/17/2013 by Photobizgal
by Photobizgal

Makes good rice, was somewhat easy, BUT the center round part in the base unit is on a spring and there seems to be no way to seed it back into its correct position, which means the removable pot flops around in the base. Is this normal? I've only used it once, not sure whether to use it again because it states in direction to be sure the removable part is secure. Any suggestions? These were all marked down in what appeared to be a clearance section I'm wondering if this may be the reason why.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Photobizgal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
A toy cooker
1/29/2012

Customer review by AnandPandey

1.0 stars 1/29/2012 by AnandPandey
by AnandPandey

This one is a very basic cooker and feels like a kids toy cooker. Does not turn-off automatically after rice is cooked.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnandPandey
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice little cooker
3/4/2012

Customer review by Woody20164

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by Woody20164
by Woody20164

I was well pleased with how this cooker turned out. Simple to use with all the features I want. Perfect for a single person or a couple. Sufficient rice capability and the steamer can handle 2-3 servings, which is what I wanted. The price point was perfect. Easy to clean, just wipe with a soapy sponge or cloth and rinse. My only disappointment is the color. Why Oster thought people would want a red cooker is beyond me. But I can't hold that against Walmart. I didn't rate durability because I just bought it but my last cooker was an Oster and it's still going after 16 years. I expect this to last also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Woody20164
Washington DC suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
cooks great
7/5/2012

Customer review by mom111101

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by mom111101
by mom111101

This steams veggies perfectly and cooks rice well. Worked very well steaming a variety of foods to make baby food.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom111101
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Simple, effective rice cooker
10/16/2011

Customer review by helixy

5.0 stars 10/16/2011 by helixy
by helixy

This is an easy-to-use, effective rice cooker. Be sure to follow the included instructions about measurements and you will be good to go. One of the included "cups" of rice is plenty for one person when it is just a side-dish. It is small and does not take up much counter space and is easily stored in a cabinet when not in use. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
helixy
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A good item
1/26/2014

Customer review by Dajunglegirl

4.0 stars 1/26/2014 by Dajunglegirl
by Dajunglegirl

I have used this once and the rice was perfect. I just wish it had an on and off switch. You have to unplug it. But,you cant go wrong with the price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dajunglegirl
Gibsonton,Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews