Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

76 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

76 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 68 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
Does the job
9/21/2013

Customer review by HotinLongBeach

3.0 stars 9/21/2013 by HotinLongBeach
by HotinLongBeach
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading many reviews, I decided to buy this model. It was delivered in just a couple of days. The instruction manual that came with the unit was for a different model. I was able to email the company directly and they sent me a pdf file with the correct info. The set up, even with the wrong instructions, was fairly user friendly. My only two frustrations are the noise - too loud to talk on the phone or watch TV in the same room and the other is that it does not cool off my tiny 400 SF apartment well. If I close off a few doors and use a couple of ocillating fans, then the temp is cool enough and at least the air is dryer. I used some of the white foam cushioning boards to help seal up the window along with the panel provided for venting. The unit is about 65lbs. Very awkward to drain the water without help.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HotinLongBeach
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
7/30/2007

Customer review by sullivan

4.0 stars 7/30/2007 by sullivan
by sullivan

We used our portable air conditioner throughout most of summer this year and cannot complain about this little great machine. All you need to do is to place the unit right next to a window to vent the hot air outside, set the unit on cool at 64 degree and left it to do it’s work. When the room gets too cold, we'll raise the temperature higher. The temperature in our bedroom was a lot less than the rest of the house. The only downside was the unit was a bit noisy to leave on.

Was this review helpful? (108) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sullivan
Benicia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/15/2013

Customer review by SAM427

5.0 stars 6/15/2013 by SAM427
by SAM427
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

At first it was a waste of time and money. I was going to return it, but had other things to do, so I just left it to do it's thing. A few hours later I went back to pack it up. I opened the door and got hit in the face with a wall of cold air. There was so much cold air it not only cooled a 10x20 bedroom that is full of stuff, but it also cooled in seconds, the whole top hall way in a 4 bedroom town house by about 15 degrees! The only down fall I can see is, you have to drain the drain pan. 3 weeks running and still waiting to drain the drain pan. Oh what a tough life to have cooool dew blowing 24/7 (-=

Was this review helpful? (50) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAM427
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Awesome
12/1/2008

Customer review by Usdrag

5.0 stars 12/1/2008 by Usdrag
by Usdrag

This is a great AC unit. The window kit is flimsy though. We ordered an upgraded hard plastic window kit. (Kind of pricey.) But was well worth it. We also used "Bill Me Later" and "Site To Store" which I highly recomend for big ticket items. Buy this unit, you will be glad.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Usdrag
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I would recommend it
7/26/2010

Customer review by sharingmyopinion88

4.0 stars 7/26/2010 by sharingmyopinion88
by sharingmyopinion88

I purchased the SPT 12,000 BTU after moving into an apartment complex that does not allow window units and has a central air conditioning unit that runs constantly because it is old and can't handle the heat in my apartment. I read alot of reviews online so I did not expect this product to be as good as a 12,000 BTU window unit. I also read that some people had problems with the condensation overflowing onto the floor. I have this unit in my living room and it is on a second floor. The heat comes up my steps from the front door and seeing how this unit is able to keep this room at 80 degrees when the heat index outside is 107 is to me amazing! The central air is running but the termostat reads near 90. Where this unit is, the temp is 80. Without running this unit, my entire apartment would be up near 90. Yes, it is still hot in here but this summer has been a record breaker. I have it set on 74 today and it is in the upper 80's today and it has kept it very cool. I'm very happy with this unit and have decided to ditch the central air. I'm purchasing a 14,000 btu unit from another manufacturer since it has some features that this unit doesn't have and put it in my living room and moving the SPT into my bedroom so it will be very cool at night. I make sure I empty the water in it every other day. It only takes a few minutes and hopefully it will prolong the life of this unit. I also have it up on a table so that the hose going out the window has absolutely no bends in it and I have put it as close to the window as I possibly could. All this is in the owners manual so I followed the instructions and so far I'm very happy with this unit and would recommend it to someone wanting to cool a smaller room. It does a pretty good job cooling my living room considering the kitchen entrance is on one side of the room and the steps are on the other both putting heat into this room. If you don't expect this to cool a room like a window unit and you follow all the instructions, you should be very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (68) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sharingmyopinion88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This unit is garbage
6/21/2016

Customer review by jojo

1.0 stars 6/21/2016 by jojo
by jojo

I paid a lot of money for this unit and it doesn't cool. We put it in out small master bedroom and it cools the room to 83 degrees. That is when it is 93 outside and I have had it running for 24 hours. I set the temp at 65, checked and double checked that I was doing everything right. I am extremely disappointed and really tired of being hot. Do not waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jojo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sunpenbelt Portable Air Condtioner
7/7/2009

Customer review by Muncus

4.0 stars 7/7/2009 by Muncus
by Muncus

Works fine, though I have given it the task of cooling my garage which is a losing battle in these very hot months here in Southern Texas. The sun bakes down on the garage door and there no insulation above or around the garage. If it is warm in the garage it cools it nicely, but if it is very hot it takes it down a few degrees, but the benefit comes from the loss of humidity. I can work in the heat, but the heat plus humidity is what makes it unbareable. The control did not work. I called the distributor and they had a replacement to me with very little fuss; taking care to make sure I got the right one. This is a nice unit as long as you do not have unrealistic expectations. The vent is sturdy and it is not too noisey.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muncus
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Overszed electric fan
8/2/2007

Customer review by Eddie125

2.0 stars 8/2/2007 by Eddie125
by Eddie125

The unit works, and does put out a good volume of air, but doesn't cool the 500 sq ft room as advertised, it does help. If all possible, I'd go for the window installation with 40K BTU's, not the weakie 14K. However compared to another portable, I would have to say this one tops my friends by far. I'd recommend this unit for a small bedroom or small living space, something under 500 sq ft.

Was this review helpful? (73) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddie125
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to Use
6/24/2016

Customer review by Judy

4.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Judy
by Judy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to set-up and easy to use. Perfect for a bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good choice for a spur of the moment purchase
6/7/2010

Customer review by citytocountry

4.0 stars 6/7/2010 by citytocountry
by citytocountry

I purchased this air condition after the temp outside soared and my central air is not working. It cools my bedroom and bathroom great! The plastic piece that fits in the window for the large heat exhaust is flimsy and does not fit well and I was under the false impression that "portable" meant you did not need to have an exhaust outlet. It is noisy but it is like white noise and actually helps me fall asleep at night! Over all I would recommend this product but do not know how it will hold up in the long term.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
citytocountry
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Works for me
6/14/2008

Customer review by uniden

4.0 stars 6/14/2008 by uniden
by uniden

It does cool the room I have it in very well. we find it best to close our door to the room it is in. One drawback is that its fan runs all the time and would like it if it would shut down all together once room temperture has been reached. We tested ours by using the window attachment, but now that we know it works we are considering installing a perment venting into our celing to exshast into our attic space. Then will attach the perminate drain. That is another issue is.. yes it does not require the process of emptying the water (because it resuses it to cool its self), but unless you have it hooked up to drain it does not dehumidify as well. All in all it does what it is suppose to do. we only run it at night while we sleep. So if you like to sleep with a fan running it works great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uniden
St. Charles, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Surprisingly positive purchase
8/28/2010

Customer review by Blayde925

5.0 stars 8/28/2010 by Blayde925
by Blayde925

Up to now, I've had only negative experiences with portable air conditioners. My wife suggested that this one would be different, and against my better judgment, I caved. This particular AC unit is in the hottest room of the house, and it keeps things nice and regulated. I was skeptical about the advertised lack of drainage, but it's been running for about a week solid, and I haven't seen a single drip. I would definitely recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (39) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blayde925
Skiatook, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great purchase!
6/19/2014

Customer review by Millie2014

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Millie2014
by Millie2014
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I never heard of the brand before so i was a little hesitant but it has kept 3 large rooms very comfortable. Affordable and exceeds expectations. Would highly recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Millie2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected
6/28/2010

Customer review by Pennyls

1.0 stars 6/28/2010 by Pennyls
by Pennyls

Very large piece of equipment. Extremely heavy. The hose gets very hot which pretty much defeats the purpose. Window unit works so much better and looks better. I purchased this to work along with our full house air conditioning for the upstairs which can stay at 80 degrees when it is 100. Even with the other air conditioning, this unit still would not bring down the temp. Returning and putting the window unit back in. Walmart customer service was friendly and set up the return schedule immediately.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pennyls
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent AC
7/27/2007

Customer review by Kramer

5.0 stars 7/27/2007 by Kramer
by Kramer

Very pleased with the ease of operation and function of this portable air conditioner. It delivers very cold air along with being very quiet. The power consumption is less than 1,000 watts.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kramer
Carrollton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Cool Air
6/30/2008

Customer review by CageySmooth

5.0 stars 6/30/2008 by CageySmooth
by CageySmooth

The product works great, the cost at $500 is a little high. Changes that could increase the value would be to add a 24 hour timer cylce so that you would not have to keep reseting the timer each day or night. 2nd a power save on the fan feature to shut down the unit when it is cooling below the target temp. 3rd a battery back up for the timer feature so that if the power blinks off you don't loss the timer setting.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CageySmooth
Beckley, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a little loud
7/29/2009

Customer review by TrueTrekkie

4.0 stars 7/29/2009 by TrueTrekkie
by TrueTrekkie

I got this product because my swamp cooler was struggling during an extremely humid early July in El Paso. It made the room much cooler and allowed me to sleep without waking cranky and sweating. It is a little loud but that does not disturb me at all. I slept right through the night because it was cooler and it was like a loud fan. I do not normally have the tempature set lower than 72/74 so I cannot say wether it gets really cold. I know when the compressor comes on it is like a mini turbine engine. I just know that I sleep like a baby now and with the monsoon month coming I am going to enjoy!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrueTrekkie
el paso,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty good product - I may buy another
9/18/2015

Customer review by Roofwalker

4.0 stars 9/18/2015 by Roofwalker
by Roofwalker

I bought the Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner. I've had it about a week now. I bought it to cool a bedroom 14' x 16'. My central air broke down, and the price tag for a new one was about $10,000. My condo association does not allow window units. To me a portable unit seemed like a good solution until I can afford the central air replacement. Overall, I'm satisfied with this unit. I'll list the good and the bad points. GOOD: 1. The quality of the unit was better than I expected. It came with panels to install the exhaust hose in a window, and they were made out of good heavy gauge plastic. 2. Installation was pretty easy. 3. The unit is fairly attractive (compared to some of its competitors). 4. It strongly blows cold air, making the room feel cooler immediately even before the temperature goes down. 5. The remote works well even from across the room. 6. Unlike some other units, the condensation from the coils is vented outside, so you only rarely have to empty the internal reservoir. BAD: 1. It's fairly noisy. I understand this is true of all portable air conditioners, since the compressor is inside. 2. It takes about an hour to cool the room down – but it does cool it down. 3. IMPORTANT – This unit has a quirk that can make you think it's defective. When you first start it up it comes up in what the manufacturer calls "Auto" mode. This mode is totally useless. Even though the temperature setting shows 75, the compressor is deliberately designed not to kick in until the room temperature reaches 80. In this mode there's no way to adjust the temperature – no matter how many times you click the temperature adjustment buttons. At first I couldn't understand what was going on. It was blowing hard but the compressor wasn't kicking in. Then I read the manual more carefully. The solution is this: after starting it up, press the MODE button to change it to the "Cool" mode. Then you can set the temperature to whatever you like. Then it will stay in Cool mode even after turned off unless you unplug it or the house power goes off.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roofwalker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent deal Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000 BTU
7/15/2013

Customer review by 1rdsman

4.0 stars 7/15/2013 by 1rdsman
by 1rdsman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Air conditioner works very well. In my upstairs it can get up to 105 degrees or more and this keeps it down the low 70's on a real hot day. 85 degrees outside is 105 degrees inside. The upstairs are like most old homes, that is, the rooms follow the pitch of the roof and very little insulation between the ceiling and the roof. The window kit is flimsy at best, but it works on those windows that a window air conditioner won't fit into. It's loud but still quieter than most window units. I run it about 8-10 hours a day and I do not have to worry about emptying any water tray. There are some options about a water drain hook up, but I haven't had to worry at all about water. It also is pretty [green energy] low energy consumption, a big plus in old houses. The power chord has a built in trip switch, another nice feature for old houses. I wish I had purchased this unit years ago. It's well worth the money and the 5 days it took to get here. I ordered it on July 1st and got it on July 5th, it shipped for free to the Walmart store nearest me. I recommend this item -- Sunpentown 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, WA-1220E.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1rdsman
Seattle WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product
8/14/2010

Customer review by OutlawKris

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by OutlawKris
by OutlawKris

So far, so good...very pleased with the upgrades from last years model. Just a note to other buyers of this product, be sure (if you use the exhaust hose) to keep the hose straight, otherwise it makes the current temperature reading inaccurate. (I believe it "back-builds" pressure)...but the unit cools very effectively and is very easy to use!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OutlawKris
Fallbrook, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews