Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 369 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

369 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

369 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
266
4 stars
57
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 stars
25
1-20 of 335 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 335 total reviews
1-20 of 335 reviews
Money Well-Spent
3/3/2009

Customer review by MrObjective1

5.0 stars 3/3/2009 by MrObjective1
by MrObjective1

Bought this equipment after researching Bissell and Hoover product lines. We were looking for something that would pay for itself rather quickly by eliminating the need to use paid professional carpet cleaning companies every time we needed to clean the carpet. We also wanted something that would be able to do an excellent job of maintaining our (very light-color solid) carpet. We didn't have the resources or desire to pay for commercial-quality equipment, nor could we justify it on the basis of frequency of use. After using this cleaner over the past weekend to clean some of the more heavily-trafficked areas of the house, I must say I'm impressed! It meets or exceeds all of my expectations (based mainly on other end-user reviews). Assembly is a snap. User guide is easy-to-follow, with the exception of the illustration of on-board tool storage. That could perhaps be color-coded, so that the placement of the tools might be much clearer. That being said, the instructions for cleaning in the user guide are clear, concise, and easy-to-follow. Carry it with you the first time you execute each step of the process, do what it says, and you'll be well-pleased with the results. The only downside to the equipment is that the formula tank, as well as the clean water reservoir bladder and take-up tank could all be a bit larger. The added weight would probably be significant, though, so the trade-off to more frequent fill of the reservoir tanks and emptying of the take-up tank probably makes sense. Just be prepared. The only other comment is that, when you pick up the equipment, BE CERTAIN, before you use it, to buy some cleaning formula. The sample bottles included aren't large enough to do much cleaning, even on light or normal settings. Just to be safe, before I ever unpacked the equipment, I bought a bottle of the 3X concentrated formula. I was glad I did, as I'm about 20 miles round-trip from the nearest source. I wouldn't have been real happy to get started, then have to make another trip to buy more cleaning formula. The equipment does an excellent job, and I hope to get many years service from it. Note that I didn't give it any kind of "Durability" rating, because it's just over a week old, and I've used it only once. Who knows what that'll be in the long term ...... At this point, I believe we have made a sound investment that will pay for itself by reducing the number of paid professional carpet cleanings we have done, and by extending the life of our carpet because of more frequent cleaning and maintenance.

Was this review helpful? (166) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrObjective1
Knox County OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
New features a must
7/27/2007

Customer review by RandallTheRanger

5.0 stars 7/27/2007 by RandallTheRanger
by RandallTheRanger

I had a 9400 model but wasn't happy with it. I took it back and waited for a new model. I just bought the 9500 from Walmart in Menomonee Falls today, put it together and put it through its paces. So far, so good, or should I say, great. The 9500 (Red model) is definitely an upgrade. The new model has a flow meter letting you know if water "or" cleaning fluid is being applied. This is huge cause you don't really know when you run out of either. I didn't have to use the new spot applicator because it did such a good job even though I had the selector to light duty. The 9500 seems to have better suction as well.

Was this review helpful? (78) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandallTheRanger
Brookfield, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good Product
9/1/2007

Customer review by shortykab

5.0 stars 9/1/2007 by shortykab
by shortykab

It did what it said it would but used an awful lot of cleaning solution. I was just cleaning the inside of my car and went through a bottle and a half of cleaning solution. I think I am going to dilute the solution next time. It does make the water two times hotter than what came out of the faucet. I had an old bissel the kind you hooked up to the faucet and all those long hoses drove me crazy. I like the way all the attachements stow away on the machine and that handy bag works for the extra attachments. I am sure this machine will last as long as my old one (20 or more years )

Was this review helpful? (72) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shortykab
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
can't live without it :)
11/2/2009

Customer review by keena40

5.0 stars 11/2/2009 by keena40
by keena40

I absolutely love my Bissell Proheat 2x healthy home carpet cleaner, I was pretty much convinced that I would have to buy a new carpet and for some reason one day I decided to a buy a carpet cleaner and see if I could salvage my carpet even though the professional cleaners couldn't do the job. I couldn't believe the results I got, my carpet is so vibrant and fluffly looks brand new, I have never been so happy with a product as I am with this carpet cleaner. I included a pic of a small area I cleaned and you can see a huge difference between the clean spot and the horrible dirtiness of the areas around it, those areas are not just as clean :)

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keena40
Summerville S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good cleaning product
8/28/2007

Customer review by pureelegance

5.0 stars 8/28/2007 by pureelegance
by pureelegance

I used the Bissell pro-heat cleaner the day after I received it. It worked very well and dryer was very helpful in getting up more moisture, my rugs were nearly dry. It is esy to use and the attachments are great.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pureelegance
Havre de Grace, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Awesome/Excellent!!!!
10/20/2009

Customer review by IndianSquaw

5.0 stars 10/20/2009 by IndianSquaw
by IndianSquaw

I just purchased this product about a month ago. I read a lot of these reviews when I was looking for a good carpet cleaner. We just purchased a house from a couple who had 2 dogs. Evidently, they kept them in the house. I hired a professional carpet cleaning company to come out and clean my carpets. They could not get the pet stains and smell out. Because of these other reviews, I ordered this Bissell ProHeat 2X, and let me tell you; these people did not lie. I cleaned 4 rooms of carpet and WOW!!!. Every stain and smell came out. I didn't have to do extra cleaning or scrubbing. I just used the machine as instructed and I am amazed. It is worth every penny and then some. I highly recommend this machine to everyone. Some said it used a lot of shampoo. I only used 1 bottle (had a little bit left over) for 4 rooms. I just can't say enough about this machine.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndianSquaw
Sumiton, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Product does what it is supposed to do.
8/6/2007

Customer review by cyclenut

5.0 stars 8/6/2007 by cyclenut
by cyclenut

The Bissel works quite well. You do need to thoroughly read the manual that comes with it in order to get the best results. It took out stains in the carpet that even professional cleaning did not.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyclenut
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
It worked better than I thought
7/24/2009

Customer review by pinkmommy1215

5.0 stars 7/24/2009 by pinkmommy1215
by pinkmommy1215

When we moved into our new home I wanted to clean the carpets because the previous owners had dogs. We had an old Hoover steam cleaner and it did not work at all. It didn't have any suction and did not remove any dirt or hair. My mom and sisters all have the bissel so I went an bought one. I love it! It sucked up huge hairball and the water was black after cleaning one room. It got what the hoover left behind. It brought up the matted carpet and made me feel so much better about letting my small children lay on the carpet. It sucks the water out really well so the carpet dries quickly. I was also happy that it came with all of the attachments. Best steam cleaner that I have used.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinkmommy1215
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
This replaced my 'tried and true' Hoover....
2/17/2011

Customer review by RockyRoad

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by RockyRoad
by RockyRoad

I have been using (and loved) my Hoover for the last 9 years, but when it started to have problems I figured that it was time to move into the newer (and heated) generation. I did a world of researching, and decided upon the Bissell 9500 as being the best possible choice, since it was on a very nice sale price here at Walmart. Here is what I have found after using the Bissell 3 times on my entire wall to wall carpeted home: 1. The cleaning ability is greater than I was used to...and this could be a factor of the built-in water heater, and/or the quality of the Bissell cleaner (which I am using religiously). My Berber rug is now exactly the way that I remember it when installed. 2. I did notice that I was using more cleaner solution than normal...but I contribute this to the fact that the Bissell has 4 ranges of cleaning, and I was using the highest (Heavy Traffic). The ability to set your solution dispersion to your specific need is one of my favorite things on this model. I expect that I will be using the lower settings after these initial cleanings, and will be using quite a bit less cleaner. 3. This model has a 'spot treatment' button that puts a concentrate of cleaner on a specific problem area...and it works. It draws directly from the formula tank, so you don't want to go crazy with this feature. Used as intended, it is a great feature. 4. The supplied accessories seemed to work as advertised. The supplied hose length is very adequate and easy to use for all of the accessories. I used the crevice tool to finally get my rugs cleaned at the baseboards. The tough stain tool worked great at spots that the machine could not maneuver into. I have tile floors in the baths, and may buy the bare floor attachment for them...but this is a big 'maybe'. 5. This may seem to be minor, but it got my attention: this model has a "Flow Meter" gauge that you can watch while you are doing the cleaning passes. It visually tells you that you are actually placing formula on your rug, and after a few runs you can 'learn' when your formula tank is getting low and/or your clean water reservoir is empty. This was my biggest issue with my Hoover...the only way that I finally learned that it was not dispensing the cleaner, was when the rug was not getting clean. A nice...and welcomed...feature! I am a very pleased owner of this Bissell model, and would have no problem recommending this particular model to any potential buyer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockyRoad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
very disappointed
3/19/2011

Customer review by HATESHOPPPING33

1.0 stars 3/19/2011 by HATESHOPPPING33
by HATESHOPPPING33

My carpet is in desperate need of cleaning so I bought this product. The thing is IT DOES NOT CLEAN BERBER CARPET!!!!!!!!! I am sure it is fine on other carpet, but it is no good on Berber. Returned product

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HATESHOPPPING33
Ash Grove, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Better than expected
9/22/2010

Customer review by IrishMom15445

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by IrishMom15445
by IrishMom15445

This machine cleaned our carpet as well as the one we had been renting. We couldn't believe the dirt it removed from our carpet. It really does what it says it will.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IrishMom15445
Uniontown,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
If you are looking for new carpet cleaners
5/20/2011

Customer review by ShampooLady

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by ShampooLady
by ShampooLady

I had 3 kinds of shampooers in 26 years and Bissell clean shot is the best so far. The troubles I had with the other 2 and things I like to see in the clean shot. The first one is Kirby. Don't wast your mony. It did not clean deep down and changing the hose was a pain. Carpet was wet for 2 days. The next one was a Hover. If you drop the handle the hose inside would rip.For the water to come out up in the brushes gets clogs up and then it does not spray evenly.To clean it out to spray you have to take out the brushes and you can break them easy. My clean shot I love it so far the best. The only trouble I see so far is the blatter mouth gets deformed.Even when I don't use the heater. The only other thing is I wish for the clean spotter would come out in a spray then a stream. I love the handle to move it around. I have white carpets and other light colors ones. I have dog oh no's at times. If you take it at a snails past it gits my carpets like new. You have to give it a some time to start to get the water up and for the 2 bushes to clean the carpet good.I take it very slow 3 times and by the time I get done with my 2nd row the other one is dry.I get out about a much water i put on my carpet. If it takes more then 2 hours to dry you are going too fast or putting too much water on. It does take me more then a day to clean a room. I had done it this way with the other two cleaners. But I get out dirty pathways better. I clean it when I git done with a room. I love how the hair I miss with the sweeper kicks out from the back and not so much in the shampooer. I hope this helps you out in buying a cleaner Shampoo Lady

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShampooLady
small town in Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Cleans well for a home unit
3/15/2011

Customer review by SlickOne

4.0 stars 3/15/2011 by SlickOne
by SlickOne

The Bissell ProHeat 2X CleanShot Upright Deep Cleaner, 9500 cleans well considering it is a cleaning unit for the home. The nice part about owning this cleaner, is when you need to clean a room or a high traffic area, you don't have to call a carpet cleaning company who will charge you plenty of $$. When cleaning make sure you move the unit back and forth several times on the carpet to make sure you suck up the water. If you do this then your carpet will be completely dry in a few hours, providing you have your ceiling fan on high. It does take some time to clean a room, considering you have to empty the old water, refilling with clean water. Then, don't forget to CLEAN the machine very well. It will pay off in the end and.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SlickOne
Spartanburg, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Works great for me.
7/18/2010

Customer review by milFamonMove

4.0 stars 7/18/2010 by milFamonMove
by milFamonMove

I used one of a friends before I bought my own so I knew exactly what to expect. That being said the first time I used it I was amazed at how clean it actually got my carpets. I will say though that I also realized how poorly the vacuum I own performs. You really need to vacuum well with a good vacuum before you use the steam cleaner (especially if you have pets) or else you will constantly be picking up clumps of dirt & hair from behind the cleaner, not to mention it will clog up the machine. I also recommend pre treating stubborn stains with oxyclean spray or something and letting it set while you get the machine ready.. Then when you go over those spots you can flush the extra cleaner out with a little extra water from the cleaner negatives: It is kinda heavy but most of them are. It does take a while for the carpets to dry. and this model does not come with the tile floor attachment.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
milFamonMove
DAyton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good for everyday cleaning
10/1/2009

Customer review by MrBuiltIt

4.0 stars 10/1/2009 by MrBuiltIt
by MrBuiltIt

I did some professional carpet and furniture cleaning in my early days so I know a little about this stuff. If you want an appliance that's easy to use, easy to store, easy to clean up after and does a pretty good job, this is your unit. If you demand a deep down cleaning every time you clean your rugs, and don't want to refill the solution and water containers after about 10 sq. feet of cleaning, don't spend the money. It does a good job with surface dirt, pet stains and everyday foot traffic - even gets out some food/drink stains without scrubbing but the cleaning solution bottle is way too small and so are the water reservoires. Watch out for the furniture attachment too as every time you bump into it while pushing and pulling the unit across the carpet, it falls out. Secure it with some wire and save some aggravation.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrBuiltIt
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Poor investment !!
6/13/2008

Customer review by Cybernails

1.0 stars 6/13/2008 by Cybernails
by Cybernails

I've had the Bissell for almost a year now. The first time I used it, it was great. But the last 3 times since than, I've had problems with it. When I tried to use it today, it won't dispurse any water !! I've done everything they suggest and can't get it to work. It does NOT pick up the water well at all, leaving my carpets sopping wet. The heater doesn't do much at all to help dry. I've had two Hoovers and loved them best. Hubby purchesed the Bissell for me, thinking it would be just as good. But I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. In my opinion the Hoover is far way the best machine. I'll be buying another Hovoer !! Wasted money on this thing !!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cybernails
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Purchase
7/27/2011

Customer review by UBtheJUDGE

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by UBtheJUDGE
by UBtheJUDGE

This an exceptional carpet cleaner!! It is easy to use and cleans very well. The carpet in our home had been cleaned "professionally" a year before and there were several spots that didn't come up. I used this cleaner and those spots are no longer there. The carpet looks great. The ony thing that I would recommend is using a different carpet solution than what comes with it. It doesn't clean as well as a solution that we got at Lowe's. If you have kids or pets, this is perfect for a whole room cleanup or spot cleaning.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UBtheJUDGE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Outstanding Machine
2/16/2010

Customer review by twocruzin

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by twocruzin
by twocruzin

This machine does what it says it will do. It cleans the carpets better than the professionals can do. We have light colored carpets throughout the house and we've always had trouble keeping the high traffic areas looking good no matter what we sprayed on them or did to them. We were so frustrated we were considering replacing all the carpets because even after they were professionally cleaned a year ago, they still weren't great. In a last ditch effort we bought this Bissell and we are so glad we did. The carpets have never been this clean. It's really easy to use too. The first time through we hit the high traffic areas with Bissell Stain Remover in the spray bottle and then cleaned the carpets with the machine using the cleaning solution that came with it. It really pulled the dirt out of the carpet. We think the built-in water heater makes a big difference in the cleaning power of the machine. Now, we think if we just give them a once over about once a month, that should do it. We got this machine over the Hoover in this same price range because a number of people had problems with the Hoover after a while. We can't say enough about how pleased we are with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twocruzin
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
3/22/2010

Customer review by goatja

4.0 stars 3/22/2010 by goatja
by goatja

It does what it is supposed to do... I am sure there is better ones out there but its all i am willing to spend on a shampooer

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goatja
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to use product
9/9/2007

Customer review by Roo1112

4.0 stars 9/9/2007 by Roo1112
by Roo1112

It was easy to use, once I got it all together which didn't take long, I used it right away. I love the idea of having rinse water and the spot shot.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roo1112
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 335 total reviews
1-20 of 335 reviews