Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

88 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

88 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 58 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
No Extras/Bonus Features :(
5/6/2008

Customer review by NapTownGirl

4.0 stars 5/6/2008 by NapTownGirl
by NapTownGirl

The best part of the series was the ten minute tidbits at the end of each episode showing how everything was captured on film, etc. I am not sure why, but none of these are on the Blu-Ray edition, but they are on the regular DVD set.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NapTownGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best DVD set...EVER
2/29/2008

Customer review by Hope2Help

5.0 stars 2/29/2008 by Hope2Help
by Hope2Help

IF you haven't seen it, you need to. If you have seen it, you know what I'm talking about. This is the same series the Discovery Channel ran, only it's unabridged and has David Attenborough narrating, instead of Sigourney Weaver.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hope2Help
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Prestine picture clarity
7/24/2007

Customer review by Frantic

5.0 stars 7/24/2007 by Frantic
by Frantic

Prestine picture clarity that is hard to believe. HD is definetly the way of the future. Great price, fast shipping to Alaska, perfect for get togethers for friends and family. It can completely captivate you or you can talk with guests without it being overwhelming. Good extras. If you like nature, it is a must have.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frantic
Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good, not great
1/6/2010

Customer review by RVs2airplanes

3.0 stars 1/6/2010 by RVs2airplanes
by RVs2airplanes

I read a lot of positve reviews about this so my expectations were pretty high. I got the BBC version that some say is 1080 P; it's not. It is 1080i, same as the Discovery version. Not bad, but not great. I'd say the same for the sound. I paid $39.00, which is a pretty good value for what you get. I don't think I would pay full price at $80.00.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RVs2airplanes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheaper online
1/16/2010

Customer review by brightsunflower

5.0 stars 1/16/2010 by brightsunflower
by brightsunflower

I went to the store and purchased this DVD in blueray and then found out a couple days later that it was half the price online. So I returned the store bought one and got one from walmart.com. My kids as well as my husband LOVE this DVD...great quality family time!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brightsunflower
Prattville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Show
12/25/2007

Customer review by DaveDubya

5.0 stars 12/25/2007 by DaveDubya
by DaveDubya

I watched planet earth on the discovery channel and i really liked it but at that time i only had a small tv with a bad signal. I just recently bought a the sony 52" xbr5 lcd tv and a ps3 and i wanted to see this series on my new setup. When i started playing planet earth on my tv i was completly blowen away from the details of the show. I learned alot from the episodes and i love to share it with my friends and family. Definetly a must buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaveDubya
Oshkosh, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Planet Earth Review
4/7/2008

Customer review by mhnurse

5.0 stars 4/7/2008 by mhnurse
by mhnurse

This is a spectacular and amazing video. The Blu-Ray color, audio, and clarity are phenomenal. It is a joy to watch this DVD and I am sure I will watch it many many times. I highly recommend this purchase. I researched many online web sites and found WalMart to be the best bargain for this series. Love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mhnurse
So. Portland, Me.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Surpassed expectation
4/14/2009

Customer review by Dippy2

5.0 stars 4/14/2009 by Dippy2
by Dippy2

We are retired old folks. And we watch PBS, Nova....animal specials...the like, whenever we can. We hesitated over the price of this, then decided to risk it. And wound up thrilled. It taught/showed us things we hadn't seen before, and all in the gorgeous Blu-ray format. If you like this sort of thing...you'll be very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dippy2
Mid-America
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Perfect for Blue Ray
1/7/2009

Customer review by PattiBCool

5.0 stars 1/7/2009 by PattiBCool
by PattiBCool

Perfect for our new Blue Ray - Spectacular Picture!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PattiBCool
Greensboro NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best nature documentary ever?
10/5/2007

Customer review by USChawksFAN

5.0 stars 10/5/2007 by USChawksFAN
by USChawksFAN

First of all, Planet Earth is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen on my tv. The cinematography combined with high quality film and HD video create the best looking nature documentary I have ever seen. Besides looks, Planet Earth comprehensively covers every part of the earth, showing places and animals that I never even knew existed. I can't image that there is a better video documentation of the earth in existence. This is well worth the money since you get four discs and 11 hour-long "episodes" dedicated to different areas of the earth. If you have an HDTV and you want to show it off, you MUST have Planet Earth. If you are at all interested in nature, animals, or the earth, you will also love this series.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USChawksFAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great movie, amazing price
12/30/2009

Customer review by Viperbag

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by Viperbag
by Viperbag

My fiancee loves this series and she had never seen it in BluRay. She saw things in it that she had not before after watching it for an entire semester.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Viperbag
Knoxville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
An outstanding blu ray disk series
4/18/2010

Customer review by LongTimeWalmartFan

5.0 stars 4/18/2010 by LongTimeWalmartFan
by LongTimeWalmartFan

The Planet Earth blu ray disk series is outstanding for color and clarity.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LongTimeWalmartFan
Fullerton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A Brilliant Adventure
8/15/2009

Customer review by Wilsonaire

5.0 stars 8/15/2009 by Wilsonaire
by Wilsonaire

This product is an incredible adventure that no-one should pass up. epic scenery and fascinating facts about the world. If you have a blu-ray player, you can't pass up this box set. Also, walmart.com's pricing is nearly half of local retailers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wilsonaire
Grand Forks, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Planet Earth BluRay
1/1/2010

Customer review by Hearbetty

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by Hearbetty
by Hearbetty

A must buy for every home with a nature lover. Spend the extra $ and get this DVD in BluRay if you're able to play them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hearbetty
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
beautiful
1/10/2009

Customer review by cordalia

5.0 stars 1/10/2009 by cordalia
by cordalia

This Planet Earth Collection is well worth the money. I seen the first part and will continue. If you are thinking about buying this it is well woth it. The colors are vivid and beautiful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cordalia
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/13/2008

Customer review by NHNana

5.0 stars 4/13/2008 by NHNana
by NHNana

Unbelievable entertainment and educational on top of that! A must see and have for all families interested in their planet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NHNana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Ultimate HD Test
1/10/2009

Customer review by batmanuel

5.0 stars 1/10/2009 by batmanuel
by batmanuel

This was the perfect gift to buy my parents to break in their new HDTV. This is the version narrated by David Attenborough (as it should be!). Clips of this series are on YouTube if you want to see what it's like, but having it all on Blu-Ray is definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
batmanuel
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Stunning Filmmaking
12/3/2009

Customer review by BargainSommelier

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by BargainSommelier
by BargainSommelier

To sum up this box set I'll quote my brother-in-law who works in home theater and mobile installation: "We always keep Planet Earth on file to showcase the benefits of bluray and the clear difference in picture and sound." I think this is a fantastic series. I never saw it when it was on television and originally Netflix-ed the first disc. Decided immediately no need to waste a Netflix rental on this set because it was so amazing I was going to purchase it for sure. I originally purchased this set from Best Buy for $44 or so. But, then I returned it when I found Wal-Mart had AGAIN the best price. Amazing series of photography and great narration. You won't believe your eyes, and a great value for almost 9 hours of breathtaking entertainment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BargainSommelier
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Planet Earth
1/9/2009

Customer review by MECSOFT

5.0 stars 1/9/2009 by MECSOFT
by MECSOFT

An outstanding product Planet Earth should be in every household. it has to be one of the finest products available in Blue Ray or DVD

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MECSOFT
American Canyon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Crystal Clear
1/11/2009

Customer review by Littletikibaby

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by Littletikibaby
by Littletikibaby

The cover was damaged when I received it in the mail. Other than that, the picture quality on Blu-Ray definitely makes spending a little extra $$ worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Littletikibaby
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews