Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

21 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

21 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-17 of 17 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Very Interesting
1/23/2008

Customer review by fondy44

4.0 stars 1/23/2008 by fondy44
by fondy44

It usually takes me at least a month to read a book, but I read this in less than a week. Though I disagree with Mr. Luttrell's political opinions, the story of the courage of both his SEAL team and of the Afghan villagers who saved him makes it well worth the read.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fondy44
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Book!
7/25/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I couldn’t wait to get this book because of listening to an interview with Marcus. It’s really hard to describe the book besides great or terrific. No wonder it was a #1 best seller! The pictures in the book give you a face to put with the people in the book, and that makes it touch you even more. I will admit that I cried through the prelude. It’s such a strong story that will never leave you. Even after reading the book, it is stuck in my mind. It’s worth the money and the time to read it!!! I hate that something like this had to happen. But I am glad that Marcus was able to write this to let us here at home know what our soldiers are doing for us.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
loved it
11/1/2008

Customer review by jwilk05

5.0 stars 11/1/2008 by jwilk05
by jwilk05

im not that big of a reader at all... i was in the desert bored out of my mind and found this book COVERED with dust and cracked it open... couldnt put it down. hate to have someone go through that... wouldnt wish it on my worst enemy.. but im honored to say that i live in america and have people like marcus that will do WHATEVER it takes to keep america free. im in the military and i depoly and whatnot, but it takes a real dedicated individual to do what he does day in and day out. everyone can say they would love to go through some traing like the SEALS but to actually do it is another thing and i got noting but respect for the ones who do it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwilk05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/29/2008

Customer review by Maloner

4.0 stars 2/29/2008 by Maloner
by Maloner

This book is very well written from someone who made the transition from civillian to SEAL. It is very good at describing the training and life of one of the most feared special forces groups in the world

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maloner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lone survivor
9/13/2007

Customer review by ctrail

5.0 stars 9/13/2007 by ctrail
by ctrail

Must read for anyone who wants the truth about the war in Afghanistan. Not just what the media and political parties try to spin.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ctrail
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Excellent true story of courage, honor and faith.
11/7/2011

Customer review by RobS99

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by RobS99
by RobS99

This is the true story of an American young man who wanted to serve his country. Not every man has what it take to be a Navy SEAL. Marcus tells his story from childhood to earning his Trident. The need of the tough training to takes to become a SEAL, the strength and determination become apparent when he relates the details of Operation Redwing. It was hard to put this book down and I still re-read chapters. No matter what your politics are, you'll be proud to be an American & know that men like this serve our country. Marcus, God bless you & thank you for your service.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobS99
Jobstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Good truth in reading
1/10/2008

Customer review by mountford

5.0 stars 1/10/2008 by mountford
by mountford

This book is exceptional and should be read by all Americans who care for their country.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mountford
Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
must read
8/4/2007

Customer review by viper1

5.0 stars 8/4/2007 by viper1
by viper1

Please take the time to read this book. Be proud of your country and the men and women in the armed services that give so much. It's a story that should be told over and over again. We seem to get on with our day to day business without much regard for the sacrifices made by our military.Know and understand your enemy . This book gives an insight that you will not get from the everyday reporting.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
viper1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fantastic book
8/30/2007

Customer review by rocco

5.0 stars 8/30/2007 by rocco
by rocco

This book is a must read for everyone. Especially those who don't know the meaning of honor and courage. After learning what those brave men went through during their SEAL training was very motivational. This book is hard to put down. After reading this book I will never complain that I'm cold or hot or tired or having a bad day. Never!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rocco
Philadelphia,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/9/2008

Customer review by 2565

5.0 stars 1/9/2008 by 2565
by 2565

A tremendous story of heroism,courage,and faithful duty to one's country and friends. You will get a great understanding of what our special forces are up against in the war, especially the rules of engagment with the terroists. This will truely open your eyes about this war in Afghanistan.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2565
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
heroes
12/16/2007

Customer review by lilneff

5.0 stars 12/16/2007 by lilneff
by lilneff

allthow i new the out come of this book i did not know the whole story. this book gave me great respect for what the military must do for the world and freedom. these men are true American heroes. the sacrifice by these men was far more then i anticipated.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilneff
Lynden Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Excellent Book
8/2/2007

Customer review by momto1

5.0 stars 8/2/2007 by momto1
by momto1

Very moving account of what happened in 2005 to the SEALS. My husband and I have been reading it together and it's very hard to put down. Makes you want to give a copy to every senator and all the presidential hopefuls who are debating the war. It was very well written and I appreciate Marcus giving his account of what happened on that mountain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momto1
military town, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Movie worthy
3/13/2008

Customer review by gcbm4226

5.0 stars 3/13/2008 by gcbm4226
by gcbm4226

What an amazing story fo courage, bravery, and patriotism. I have a huge respect for our military, especially our US Navy SEALS. The book is very well written and while reading it, you almost feel a part of the action. I think there needs to be a huge movie about this mission, so the world can see what our troops have gone through during this ongoing 'war on terror'. Thanks to all of our servicemen for answering the call to defend our freedom.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gcbm4226
Montgomery
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This was a gift
6/17/2015

Customer review by Grandmareview

5.0 stars 6/17/2015 by Grandmareview
by Grandmareview

This was purchased as a gift. Since it was requested I am sure the receiver will love the book. Marcus Luttrell is an American hero!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandmareview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lone Survivor
6/30/2008

Customer review by CatRocksOn

5.0 stars 6/30/2008 by CatRocksOn
by CatRocksOn
Walmart associate

To Know The Truth You Need To Listen To The Person Who Actually Experienced This Moment In Time. When You Read This Book, You Get The Facts Without Media Spins and Distactions! I Bought This Book For My Husband By His Request. He Was Glued To It Cover To Cover!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CatRocksOn
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
8/17/2007

Customer review by DanceToLive

5.0 stars 8/17/2007 by DanceToLive
by DanceToLive
Walmart associate

This book is an inspiration and moved me beyond words. Reminded me of why I'm so proud to be an American.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanceToLive
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
Excellent book
7/22/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/22/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Excellent firsthand account.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never