Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1170 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1170 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1170 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
636
4 stars
263
3 stars
58
2 stars
56
1 stars
157
1-20 of 1020 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1020 total reviews
1-20 of 1020 reviews
Good Product
7/13/2009

Customer review by Kelz95

4.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Kelz95
by Kelz95

I recently ordered a new Hoover Floormate, after having my first one for about 6 years. (I wore my first one out from using it so much) I really like this machine. I have both laminate flooring and ceramic tile in my house and a cat, so not only does this machine save my back a lot of work, but I can vaccum up the cat hair too. And the fact that my floors are dry within minutes is nice too. I like the new design as well. There are only 2 things that I can mention that might be downfalls...1) I dont like the fact that I have to emtpy out the compartment after using the dry vaccum, before I can start the wash...I wish I could just switch it over to wash on the fly. That makes it a little more time consuming to use. 2) The washing mode is not something that you can do quickly, you have to take your time, kinda like shampooing your carpets...going over the area slowly. Even though it can be a little more time consuming then regular mopping, I still really like the Hoover Floormate and feel like it does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (75) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelz95
Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Wish I had purchased before now!
12/22/2010

Customer review by haywoman

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by haywoman
by haywoman

I have waited to purchase a cleaner for hard/tile floors because I didn't feel they would work very well however, I got tired of scrubbing my tile floors with a brush to get dirt out of the impressions-so I bought the Hoover Floor Mate. I really didn't believe the commercials about go ahead and mop your floors the way you usually do-than us the Floor Mate but today I had just finished my floors when FedEx brought my machine-so I thought I am going to try this and see just how much dirt will be in the dirty tank. I WAS SICK-it was awful, you couldn't even see through the dirt..this machine is great. It is easy to use, and to heavy, nice long cord, easy to take the tanks out to add detergent and water. The only thing I found I would like to change now is that the clean tank with the detergent is alittle small-have to fill it fairly often but I didn't care-it was easy. If you are thinking about purchasing this product---GO AHEAD, I think you will be very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (115) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
haywoman
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Finally, a product that performs as it claims!
12/4/2011

Customer review by PetLoverofSeven

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by PetLoverofSeven
by PetLoverofSeven

This hard floor cleaner has exceeded my expectations! The vacuum is plenty powerful; the spin brushes get in to all the nooks and cranies and grout lines of my textured porcelain tile; the squeegy and suction cycle dries the floor very well. I was most impressed with the results on my bamboo hardwood floor. I have spent the past six months trying to get that floor looking just right - I tried microfibre cloths/mops, cotton mops, polishing cloths, even paper towels. And finally, the Hoover Hard Floor Cleaner with the same hardwood floor cleaner I had been using - Bona, has accomplished what I was looking for - no streaks, no dull spots, just a beautiful shine! No more sore knees and back! I guess I'll keep my bamboo floor - I was considering having it replaced (it is only 7 months old.) No more embarassing streaks and paw prints from my cats & dogs. The Hoover Hard Floor Cleaner was simple to put together and it didn't take very long. It is easy to use; the solution tank is well designed and easy to fill; and taking it apart to clean is a just a snap.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PetLoverofSeven
Saint David, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Home use hardsurface floor scrubber/cleaner
3/11/2012

Customer review by Grumpyandsober

4.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Grumpyandsober
by Grumpyandsober

Decent, not great. You will have to go over dirtier areas several times before you can get deep dirt and grim out...well most of it out. The detergent/cleaner dispenser needs to be larger, but is acceptable. Not only does this scrub it has a vaccum feature that pulls the liquid cleanser and dirt into a container for storage till you dispose of it. Both dispensers are easy to use and go in and out easily. The biggest issue that I have is the scrub brushes need to have more downward pressure on them to perform their intended use more efficiently and quickly. Of course that would add weight to the unit as a whole, in turn generating complaints from people that the unit is too heavy and cumbersome....no win either way. Generally speaking for a home use hardsurface cleaner - Good to better than Good. For large or involved projects...hire a floor cleaning service then use this unit for the regular cleaning....that if you did in the first place you would not need this unit...just like me.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grumpyandsober
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worth the money
10/11/2011

Customer review by tardisiv

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by tardisiv
by tardisiv

I purchased one of these 8 years ago when I moved to a house with a lot of tile. It worked okay for about six years then the vacuum finally stopped picking up water. I scrubbed the floors the old fashioned way but today I decided enough of that, let's try one of the FLoorMates again. This machine is superior in every way to the old model, as well it should be. The vacuum seems much stronger with a better seal and it is easier to get the detergent chamber and waste water chambers out of the machine. In the old machine, getting the top off the waste water chamber was a real pain as you had to angle it in to make it fit, not so with the new one. Also, you really don't need to go back over the wet area with the machine on dry to vacuum up the excess water, just keep it on wet and don't use the spray as it works just as well. The only complaint I really have is the stiffness of the brushes. I understand why they don't make them any stiffer as they don't want to scratch finishes on wood but if they would offer a stiffer brush for tile it would make this machine a true grand slam.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tardisiv
waco, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Animal owner desperate for clean floors!!
9/18/2010

Customer review by AlienAngelinTx

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by AlienAngelinTx
by AlienAngelinTx

I love Hoover products; i have had numerous steam cleaners of theirs. I am commenting on those who complain about the grout not getting clean; Grout gets stained -these machines clean surface dirts -not set in stains. Nothing more will clean it than getting on hands and knees with a scrub brush and a soap with bleach mixture sprayed on and allowed to saturate the area to get it clean. By the way; if your grout looks like this? it probably has never been sealed or the sealing needs to be re-done. If you go to the hardware store-you can buy cleaners specific for cleaning grout and also there are good grout dyes-they are painted into the grout with a toothbrush-easy but time consuming.If you elect the latter, make sure you get one with an epoxy in it -or it wont last long. I do hope this helps for those "deciding" if the floor mate is right for you.

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlienAngelinTx
Tomball Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Overall its a nice unit BUT it has its flaws.
1/27/2011

Customer review by camgolfs

4.0 stars 1/27/2011 by camgolfs
by camgolfs

First of all it is VERY loud(Id say as loud as a shopVac or twice as loud as a standard vaccum cleaner). It scares my 2yr old to the point that I have to hold her while I use the machine which makes it that much more difficult. Second of all it doesnt scrub the floors as I would like. It also leaves quite a bit of water on the floor so its almost like cleaning the floors twice. You have to wash the floors and then go back and get the water the cleaners didnt such up initially. This makes it difficult for us because we have about 1000sqft of dark cherry(almost black) scraped laminate wood floors. It at times leaves water marks when the water isnt sucked up right away. Our floors have the standard wood flooring gap and its where all the dust/dirt/etc gets into and this cleaner gets most but not all of it. This is just one step above a mop and a bucket. There are pros and cons to the cleaner. Id save my money for the next model. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camgolfs
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Im In Love!
12/7/2010

Customer review by PregnantCleaner

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by PregnantCleaner
by PregnantCleaner

First of all let me say that I purchased this mop/vac while I was 34 weeks pregnant and on bedrest for pre term labor. My husband had tried to keep up with the house work, but the floors were filthy. We have two dogs and live in the country, I have approximately 1200 sq ft of hard flooring. Hardwood laminate and slate tile. Keeping them clean is always a challenge. I saw the commercials for this product and did research, I was pleased with what I read. I broke the bedrest rules and went out and purchased it. Then I broke the rules again and used it. It is FANTASTIC! I was able to clean every inch of my hard flooring for the first time in weeks and they were SPOTLESS! I will say that if you are considering this product as a time saver, you may not be happy. It took me just as long to use this as it does to vaccume and manualy mop my flooring. What amazed me first was the ease of use. I usually break a sweat cleaning the floors and here I am 34 weeks pregnant and not even out of breath. The second thing I love was how astonishingly clean my floors are! I wish I could post a picture to show the crud that came up! I will be telling anyone who listens about how amazing this product is! :)

Was this review helpful? (312) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PregnantCleaner
Rogers AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Hoover Floormate
8/20/2009

Customer review by SaintPaulHappy

5.0 stars 8/20/2009 by SaintPaulHappy
by SaintPaulHappy

This is a great product. I had one previously that lasted years and years. My new one is even better (improvements made). It eliminates having to be on your hands and knees scrubbing floors or using a type of skinny handled "manual cleaner" that does havoc to carpal tunnel and expends a lot of energy. This product sucks the water off the floors really well on hardwood and linoleum/tiled floors. Would highly recommend it! I also purchase Hoover's Hardwood Floormate Cleaner Solution as it works better than other brands out there. With the correct cleaner, you don't have to wax afterward. I had been using another name-brand "low suds/foaming" cleaner, but found I always had to wax after as it seemed to leave a residue that made the floors rather "gummy" if I didn't wax.

Was this review helpful? (264) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaintPaulHappy
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Better than anything else on the market...
9/18/2010

Customer review by FLKracker

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by FLKracker
by FLKracker
Top 1000 contributor

I have been using the floormate for almost 5 years now. I am on my 3rd unit which is the only drawback on these machines. They only last about a year or so if you use it on a daily basis. I have had two motor burn outs and now my water tank lever won't draw the water out of the tank. I have nothing but tile in my home with 4 kids and two dogs I am using my floormate every one to two days. If your tile is on the flat side it will work fine. It does work considerably better on vinyl flooring. I throw the Floormate cleaning solution in the trash every time I buy a new Floormate since it is worthless soap. IMO the best and only solution to use in these units is "Armstrong No Rinse Floor Cleaner". Been using it for 5 years and my tile is clean, fresh and beautiful. If you use the tank cap as a measure, just use less than half a cap full. Never have to rinse! I also sometimes mix white vinegar in with warm water to clean once in a while. To the person who stated that they would return their Floormate if they can't find the Floormate cleaning solution.. are you serious? If you don't want the unit to suck up the water while you are scrubbing simply remove the squeegie head, and replace when ready to pick up the water. This unit is a back saver and does work well, especially if you use the "Armstrong" floor cleaning solution instead of the floormate solution.

Was this review helpful? (597) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLKracker
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Wow!
2/7/2012

Customer review by MarshNSophiesMom

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by MarshNSophiesMom
by MarshNSophiesMom

I previously owned a Floormate about 6 years ago and the suction went out after about 3 years, then I went to the Steam Mop, and now I'm back! I love the vacuum feature, which is easy enough to use every day. The dry feature leaves my hardwoods pretty near dry, and the scrub function scrubs the grout and tile in the bathroom like a champ. I don't remember my last model ever cleaning this well, and I really could do a commercial for Floormate vs. Steam Mop. The first time I used it, it was a little embarrassing, even though I had steamed my house from top to bottom only days before (my steam mop blew up, so I had to find a replacement). Don't hesitate. Great investment!

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarshNSophiesMom
Tatum, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good product
7/20/2007

Customer review by Eggsmom

3.0 stars 7/20/2007 by Eggsmom
by Eggsmom

I have 3000 sq. ft. of tile and hard wood floors in my home. I was looking for something to quickly clean my floors and clean them good (better than a swifer). Well I wouldn't say that my floors are perfect they are pretty clean. I will say that the floor mate does save my back. Using a conventional mop kills my back. With the Floormate I go over it several times in the wash mode then suck up the water. I will say I like the fact that my floors dry quicker and now all that dirty water doesn't sit on the floors but I put it down the drain.

Was this review helpful? (270) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eggsmom
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Using it to clean a grouted tile floor.
2/4/2013

Customer review by WVA2013

4.0 stars 2/4/2013 by WVA2013
by WVA2013

I’m using it on a grouted tile floor that probably hasn’t been thoroughly cleaned in 20 years. Every time I go over the floor, it accumulates a little more stuff. You know some cleaners, if you just wet them, and put on their holder, they look dirty? That was my concern, that the Hoover detergent was all I might see. However, I was wrong, the water isn’t very grey, but there are particles, from the floor. I don’t know how clean I’ll be able to get the floor, but little by little, it’s getting cleaner. About the Floor Mate itself, where the handle fits is really, really tight. The two halves of the electrical connectors are only about ½” square. And you have to push the handle until it’s flush with the body. First time I was about a 1/2” out, it worked 2x’s then quit. When I’m washing the floor, I turn the dial to Wash, then remove the front squeegee assembly. Then I run it back and forth for a while, just scrubbing. Put the squeegee back on, turn the dial to Dry. And empty the dirt. Ordered Hoover’s Grout & Tile Cleaner. Hope it’ll speed up things. Wish Walmart carried it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WVA2013
Philadelphia PA metro area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Makes Chores Easy
12/30/2011

Customer review by FloridaLizzie

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by FloridaLizzie
by FloridaLizzie

I have two labs, a husband and 1100 square feet of tile floors. I have had this floor cleaner for over 6 months and use it at least a couple times a week. So far it has been durable for me. Forget about buying any kind of special floor cleaner to go in it, I use Pine Sol or Mr. Clean liquid cleaners and they work just fine and leave your house smelling fresh. This unit is not meant to replace the vacuum. I usually run the regular vacuum first and then run the FloorMate and it always scrubs and dries the floors clean so I am not sure where people are coming from saying that the brush needs to be stiffer. The vaccum feature is not meant to be a replacement to your regular vacuum. It does, however, fit under the edge of my kitchen cabinets where my regular vacuum cannot. The unit is also easy to clean and replacement parts are available from Hoover should the need arise. I would recommend the FloorMate to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloridaLizzie
Pinellas County, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
customer service issues!
6/15/2009

Customer review by Deleisure

2.0 stars 6/15/2009 by Deleisure
by Deleisure

I clean houses for a living. We do vacation rentals at the beach. There are a lot of hardwood and tile floors to clean. We use this model since its easier than getting on your hands and knees in every house. This product will only last about a year. After that they will tell you that it would be cheaper to buy another one than to go to their "official repair shops" and have it fixed. I found that my scrubbers on the bottom stopped working on not only mine but all the (about 5) ones we used for my employer. I am still looking for a good floor cleaner that the manufactor will stand behind and will last. I think that if something costs over $100 it should not have to be replaced every year - especially when it only has a one year warranty! This is something that the manufactor is aware of and havent fixed!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deleisure
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best hard surface floor cleaner out there!
4/7/2011

Customer review by fan4bargins

4.0 stars 4/7/2011 by fan4bargins
by fan4bargins

Works better than any swiffer, shark, or mop I've ever tried. I have textured white linoleum in my kitchens and bathrooms and I gave up on getting them shinny and looking spotless. This did a amazing job. Works great on my laminate also but it is a god send for people with tile or linoleum floors that are so hard to get into the grout or the textured dimples and get them clean. It's easy to use and I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fan4bargins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very pleased
1/15/2008

Customer review by debsuebee

5.0 stars 1/15/2008 by debsuebee
by debsuebee

After reading many reviews of this cleaner I decided to give it a try. My kitchen and dinette area are tile and I was interested in finding a cleaner that would eliminate dirty mop water collecting in the grout. It did a very good job cleaning the tile and I was very pleased with the results. It's also excellent for getting up spills off of the floor. No mop or repeated cleaning the area after a spill...just suck it up and clean it. Job done! Features: The only problem I have with the design is that I wish the two dispensers (soap & water) were larger. My tile floor area is large and it takes about 4 times of emptying and filling up again...but I am very satisfied with the results. Durability: I've only owned the Floormate for about 6 months...but it still performs as it did the first time I used it. I like it well enough that I bought one for my parents and one for my daughter and they're both very pleased with theirs too. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
debsuebee
New Albany, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
8/7/2010

Customer review by oakv

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by oakv
by oakv

My tile floor was starting to look really dirty even after I mopped it. I started reading reviews on this product. The Hoover FloorMate got the better reviews. I had it delivered to my house and started using it 30 minutes after I read the instructions. I used it for 2 hours in my kitchen and living room floors. It worked fabuloso. My floor looks like new tile again. My sister called me to ask me about it. I recommended it highly. She got it on order.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oakv
Dickinson, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Satisfied the product meets expectations.
8/24/2007

Customer review by RNmommy

4.0 stars 8/24/2007 by RNmommy
by RNmommy

I read some reviews before I purchased this product so I knew what to expect and got just that. The dry-vac is not very strong I agree, so understand that you will use your broom first. The washing and wet pickup is very effective. Leaves my floors shiny and streak free and I can walk on it immediately. Noise level is not louder than a vacuum cleaner. I like the fresh smell of the cleaning solution but very hard to find on shelves including Walmart, King Sooper, Home Depot, Lowes and Sam's club. I will try the manufacturer next but that is a pain.

Was this review helpful? (120) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RNmommy
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Why did I wait so long?
7/2/2010

Customer review by Sunny2Day

4.0 stars 7/2/2010 by Sunny2Day
by Sunny2Day

Not available in my store but with online service I had it within a few days. Tried it right away and could really see a difference. Very happy with the product and do not dread cleaning anymore. Thank you to all the people who gave reviews. This helped me to decide to go ahead with my purchase. Did not see any reviews for terrazo floors but it works for me.

Was this review helpful? (58) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sunny2Day
Tampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 1020 total reviews
1-20 of 1020 reviews