Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1150 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1150 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1150 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
625
4 stars
260
3 stars
57
2 stars
55
1 stars
153
1-20 of 1000 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1000 total reviews
1-20 of 1000 reviews
Better than anything else on the market...
9/18/2010

Customer review by FLKracker

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by FLKracker
by FLKracker

I have been using the floormate for almost 5 years now. I am on my 3rd unit which is the only drawback on these machines. They only last about a year or so if you use it on a daily basis. I have had two motor burn outs and now my water tank lever won't draw the water out of the tank. I have nothing but tile in my home with 4 kids and two dogs I am using my floormate every one to two days. If your tile is on the flat side it will work fine. It does work considerably better on vinyl flooring. I throw the Floormate cleaning solution in the trash every time I buy a new Floormate since it is worthless soap. IMO the best and only solution to use in these units is "Armstrong No Rinse Floor Cleaner". Been using it for 5 years and my tile is clean, fresh and beautiful. If you use the tank cap as a measure, just use less than half a cap full. Never have to rinse! I also sometimes mix white vinegar in with warm water to clean once in a while. To the person who stated that they would return their Floormate if they can't find the Floormate cleaning solution.. are you serious? If you don't want the unit to suck up the water while you are scrubbing simply remove the squeegie head, and replace when ready to pick up the water. This unit is a back saver and does work well, especially if you use the "Armstrong" floor cleaning solution instead of the floormate solution.

Was this review helpful? (597) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLKracker
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Im In Love!
12/7/2010

Customer review by PregnantCleaner

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by PregnantCleaner
by PregnantCleaner

First of all let me say that I purchased this mop/vac while I was 34 weeks pregnant and on bedrest for pre term labor. My husband had tried to keep up with the house work, but the floors were filthy. We have two dogs and live in the country, I have approximately 1200 sq ft of hard flooring. Hardwood laminate and slate tile. Keeping them clean is always a challenge. I saw the commercials for this product and did research, I was pleased with what I read. I broke the bedrest rules and went out and purchased it. Then I broke the rules again and used it. It is FANTASTIC! I was able to clean every inch of my hard flooring for the first time in weeks and they were SPOTLESS! I will say that if you are considering this product as a time saver, you may not be happy. It took me just as long to use this as it does to vaccume and manualy mop my flooring. What amazed me first was the ease of use. I usually break a sweat cleaning the floors and here I am 34 weeks pregnant and not even out of breath. The second thing I love was how astonishingly clean my floors are! I wish I could post a picture to show the crud that came up! I will be telling anyone who listens about how amazing this product is! :)

Was this review helpful? (312) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PregnantCleaner
Rogers AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good product
7/20/2007

Customer review by Eggsmom

3.0 stars 7/20/2007 by Eggsmom
by Eggsmom

I have 3000 sq. ft. of tile and hard wood floors in my home. I was looking for something to quickly clean my floors and clean them good (better than a swifer). Well I wouldn't say that my floors are perfect they are pretty clean. I will say that the floor mate does save my back. Using a conventional mop kills my back. With the Floormate I go over it several times in the wash mode then suck up the water. I will say I like the fact that my floors dry quicker and now all that dirty water doesn't sit on the floors but I put it down the drain.

Was this review helpful? (270) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eggsmom
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Hoover Floormate
8/20/2009

Customer review by SaintPaulHappy

5.0 stars 8/20/2009 by SaintPaulHappy
by SaintPaulHappy

This is a great product. I had one previously that lasted years and years. My new one is even better (improvements made). It eliminates having to be on your hands and knees scrubbing floors or using a type of skinny handled "manual cleaner" that does havoc to carpal tunnel and expends a lot of energy. This product sucks the water off the floors really well on hardwood and linoleum/tiled floors. Would highly recommend it! I also purchase Hoover's Hardwood Floormate Cleaner Solution as it works better than other brands out there. With the correct cleaner, you don't have to wax afterward. I had been using another name-brand "low suds/foaming" cleaner, but found I always had to wax after as it seemed to leave a residue that made the floors rather "gummy" if I didn't wax.

Was this review helpful? (264) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SaintPaulHappy
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Wish I had purchased before now!
12/22/2010

Customer review by haywoman

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by haywoman
by haywoman

I have waited to purchase a cleaner for hard/tile floors because I didn't feel they would work very well however, I got tired of scrubbing my tile floors with a brush to get dirt out of the impressions-so I bought the Hoover Floor Mate. I really didn't believe the commercials about go ahead and mop your floors the way you usually do-than us the Floor Mate but today I had just finished my floors when FedEx brought my machine-so I thought I am going to try this and see just how much dirt will be in the dirty tank. I WAS SICK-it was awful, you couldn't even see through the dirt..this machine is great. It is easy to use, and to heavy, nice long cord, easy to take the tanks out to add detergent and water. The only thing I found I would like to change now is that the clean tank with the detergent is alittle small-have to fill it fairly often but I didn't care-it was easy. If you are thinking about purchasing this product---GO AHEAD, I think you will be very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (115) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
haywoman
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Satisfied the product meets expectations.
8/24/2007

Customer review by RNmommy

4.0 stars 8/24/2007 by RNmommy
by RNmommy

I read some reviews before I purchased this product so I knew what to expect and got just that. The dry-vac is not very strong I agree, so understand that you will use your broom first. The washing and wet pickup is very effective. Leaves my floors shiny and streak free and I can walk on it immediately. Noise level is not louder than a vacuum cleaner. I like the fresh smell of the cleaning solution but very hard to find on shelves including Walmart, King Sooper, Home Depot, Lowes and Sam's club. I will try the manufacturer next but that is a pain.

Was this review helpful? (120) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RNmommy
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good Product
7/13/2009

Customer review by Kelz95

4.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Kelz95
by Kelz95

I recently ordered a new Hoover Floormate, after having my first one for about 6 years. (I wore my first one out from using it so much) I really like this machine. I have both laminate flooring and ceramic tile in my house and a cat, so not only does this machine save my back a lot of work, but I can vaccum up the cat hair too. And the fact that my floors are dry within minutes is nice too. I like the new design as well. There are only 2 things that I can mention that might be downfalls...1) I dont like the fact that I have to emtpy out the compartment after using the dry vaccum, before I can start the wash...I wish I could just switch it over to wash on the fly. That makes it a little more time consuming to use. 2) The washing mode is not something that you can do quickly, you have to take your time, kinda like shampooing your carpets...going over the area slowly. Even though it can be a little more time consuming then regular mopping, I still really like the Hoover Floormate and feel like it does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (75) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kelz95
Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Why did I wait so long?
7/2/2010

Customer review by Sunny2Day

4.0 stars 7/2/2010 by Sunny2Day
by Sunny2Day

Not available in my store but with online service I had it within a few days. Tried it right away and could really see a difference. Very happy with the product and do not dread cleaning anymore. Thank you to all the people who gave reviews. This helped me to decide to go ahead with my purchase. Did not see any reviews for terrazo floors but it works for me.

Was this review helpful? (58) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sunny2Day
Tampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Animal owner desperate for clean floors!!
9/18/2010

Customer review by AlienAngelinTx

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by AlienAngelinTx
by AlienAngelinTx

I love Hoover products; i have had numerous steam cleaners of theirs. I am commenting on those who complain about the grout not getting clean; Grout gets stained -these machines clean surface dirts -not set in stains. Nothing more will clean it than getting on hands and knees with a scrub brush and a soap with bleach mixture sprayed on and allowed to saturate the area to get it clean. By the way; if your grout looks like this? it probably has never been sealed or the sealing needs to be re-done. If you go to the hardware store-you can buy cleaners specific for cleaning grout and also there are good grout dyes-they are painted into the grout with a toothbrush-easy but time consuming.If you elect the latter, make sure you get one with an epoxy in it -or it wont last long. I do hope this helps for those "deciding" if the floor mate is right for you.

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlienAngelinTx
Tomball Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
8/7/2010

Customer review by oakv

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by oakv
by oakv

My tile floor was starting to look really dirty even after I mopped it. I started reading reviews on this product. The Hoover FloorMate got the better reviews. I had it delivered to my house and started using it 30 minutes after I read the instructions. I used it for 2 hours in my kitchen and living room floors. It worked fabuloso. My floor looks like new tile again. My sister called me to ask me about it. I recommended it highly. She got it on order.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oakv
Dickinson, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Wow!
2/7/2012

Customer review by MarshNSophiesMom

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by MarshNSophiesMom
by MarshNSophiesMom

I previously owned a Floormate about 6 years ago and the suction went out after about 3 years, then I went to the Steam Mop, and now I'm back! I love the vacuum feature, which is easy enough to use every day. The dry feature leaves my hardwoods pretty near dry, and the scrub function scrubs the grout and tile in the bathroom like a champ. I don't remember my last model ever cleaning this well, and I really could do a commercial for Floormate vs. Steam Mop. The first time I used it, it was a little embarrassing, even though I had steamed my house from top to bottom only days before (my steam mop blew up, so I had to find a replacement). Don't hesitate. Great investment!

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarshNSophiesMom
Tatum, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best hard surface floor cleaner out there!
4/7/2011

Customer review by fan4bargins

4.0 stars 4/7/2011 by fan4bargins
by fan4bargins

Works better than any swiffer, shark, or mop I've ever tried. I have textured white linoleum in my kitchens and bathrooms and I gave up on getting them shinny and looking spotless. This did a amazing job. Works great on my laminate also but it is a god send for people with tile or linoleum floors that are so hard to get into the grout or the textured dimples and get them clean. It's easy to use and I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fan4bargins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Picks up the dirty water!
12/19/2012

Customer review by LakeLadybl

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by LakeLadybl
by LakeLadybl

No more breaking my back to clean the 700 sq feet of flooring in my house! with a husband who works outside all day and a dog that does the same my floors have always been a challenge for me to keep clean! I have many health issues and mopping, steam cleaners and plain old hands and knees scrubbing our now just a memory. The floor mate goes together fast, stores compactly and is super easy to clean out, and rev up again! I would have wanted a larger capacity of fresh soapy water, but then the machine would be too heavy to push, so I think the size will have to do. Not hard to take out the bins, clean and refill. Hear are some tips I learned from my friend who owns one: Be patient at first, you may see streaks or dull looking floors, Why? we both found out our floors were WAY dirty and redoing a few times removes all dirt and things begin to look up! Keeping up with cleaning is easy with the hoover and so getting to it more often is key. move the machine slowly over surface, give the brushes and water time to scrub. Do small sections at a time 9if you have a large area) to make sure you do a thorough job. The machine is about 11' wide at the base, so that is the area you will work on with each swipe, you'll have a clean floor, with much less effort, in no time. You can leave the brushes spinning over areas where there was a missed spill (like a drop or two of tomato sauce no one noticed!) and it'll get clean. Using the vacuum to suck up the dirty water is the best feature. No more "steamer pads" to clean, and you know the dirt is getting lifted off the floor. I really like the ease of this floor cleaner and the results are better than all my floor scrubbing efforts. I saved up for two months to buy this item, it arrived quickly to my door and I've enjoyed using it these last two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LakeLadybl
Tahoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Finally, a product that performs as it claims!
12/4/2011

Customer review by PetLoverofSeven

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by PetLoverofSeven
by PetLoverofSeven

This hard floor cleaner has exceeded my expectations! The vacuum is plenty powerful; the spin brushes get in to all the nooks and cranies and grout lines of my textured porcelain tile; the squeegy and suction cycle dries the floor very well. I was most impressed with the results on my bamboo hardwood floor. I have spent the past six months trying to get that floor looking just right - I tried microfibre cloths/mops, cotton mops, polishing cloths, even paper towels. And finally, the Hoover Hard Floor Cleaner with the same hardwood floor cleaner I had been using - Bona, has accomplished what I was looking for - no streaks, no dull spots, just a beautiful shine! No more sore knees and back! I guess I'll keep my bamboo floor - I was considering having it replaced (it is only 7 months old.) No more embarassing streaks and paw prints from my cats & dogs. The Hoover Hard Floor Cleaner was simple to put together and it didn't take very long. It is easy to use; the solution tank is well designed and easy to fill; and taking it apart to clean is a just a snap.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PetLoverofSeven
Saint David, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
worth the money
10/11/2011

Customer review by tardisiv

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by tardisiv
by tardisiv

I purchased one of these 8 years ago when I moved to a house with a lot of tile. It worked okay for about six years then the vacuum finally stopped picking up water. I scrubbed the floors the old fashioned way but today I decided enough of that, let's try one of the FLoorMates again. This machine is superior in every way to the old model, as well it should be. The vacuum seems much stronger with a better seal and it is easier to get the detergent chamber and waste water chambers out of the machine. In the old machine, getting the top off the waste water chamber was a real pain as you had to angle it in to make it fit, not so with the new one. Also, you really don't need to go back over the wet area with the machine on dry to vacuum up the excess water, just keep it on wet and don't use the spray as it works just as well. The only complaint I really have is the stiffness of the brushes. I understand why they don't make them any stiffer as they don't want to scratch finishes on wood but if they would offer a stiffer brush for tile it would make this machine a true grand slam.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tardisiv
waco, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Most awesome product!!
10/31/2010

Customer review by momsmonstr

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by momsmonstr
by momsmonstr

I just got the floor Mate today and it is the most awesome product ever. I live in wilds of Colorado and my dogs, kids and dad bring in alot of mud etc. and this cleans my kitchen floor no problem. I don't and won't have to again drag out the mop and bucket. That my friend is the best thing ever! One of the greatest birthday presents ever!!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momsmonstr
Meeker, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Have only used once but it cleans great!
6/22/2014

Customer review by pitstaff

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by pitstaff
by pitstaff

Purchased the previous model year on clearance for only $99. The older model has a wider cleaning path which I like, it is slightly heavier but that gives it some heft on the spin brushes. It did an awesome job on my kitchen rough porcelain tile floor that used to take me over an hour to do by mop, and the workout was strenuous. This makes cleaning almost fun and cuts the cleaning time to just over 20 minutes. Have only used it once, but love it so far.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pitstaff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/4/2012

Customer review by BetterThanChocolate

4.0 stars 12/4/2012 by BetterThanChocolate
by BetterThanChocolate

The only problem I found is getting the cleaning soluation. The machine itself does a great job of cleaning. It is amazing to see all the dirty water collected. Walmart doesn't even carry the soluation needed. I finally found it at Target and bought the last two.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BetterThanChocolate
Sun City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for scrubbing floors and having then dry
6/28/2014

Customer review by mamabear4you

4.0 stars 6/28/2014 by mamabear4you
by mamabear4you

I bought this to scrub our new home that has tile everywhere and we have 3 pets and a lot of traffic. I love how it is easy to fill with cleaning fluid, empty the dirty water which is kept separate :) I also like that you can dial to vacuum, wash or dry and I'll tell you that my floors were practically dry.....you do have to take your time for dirtier areas but it sure beat having to be on my hands and feet and any Swifter product I've every owned. I'm 49 and don't feel like scrubbing anymore so I splurged and purchased this and couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamabear4you
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
8/2/2007

Customer review by MEL2611

4.0 stars 8/2/2007 by MEL2611
by MEL2611

I've had my Floormate for 4 years and just love it. It still takes a while to clean my floors, but unlike using a mop I know the dirty water is being picked up instead of pushed around. I also feel safer using the floormate over swifer since it's said swifer uses a form of antifreeze in their cleaning solution. The only problem I've encountered is some animal hair clogging it up, but I just removed it and it worked great again.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MEL2611
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 1000 total reviews
1-20 of 1000 reviews