Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 167 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

167 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

167 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
68
4 stars
36
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 stars
29
1-20 of 158 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 158 total reviews
1-20 of 158 reviews
Excellent scanning
8/30/2009

Customer review by RedDolphin

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by RedDolphin
by RedDolphin

An excellent scanner for scanning various sizes off negatives. Very helpful for family history.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedDolphin
Helena, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy this if you use a Mac!
1/18/2016

Customer review by Macuser10

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Macuser10
by Macuser10

The scanner was great when I first bought it, but HP does not upgrade software for Mac OS upgrade. It is now unusable with OS X 10.11 or 10.10.

Macuser10
Would recommend to a friend? No
skip this scanner if you want to scan slides
3/9/2010

Customer review by Okiebug

2.0 stars 3/9/2010 by Okiebug
by Okiebug

the scanner worked ok the first day, but scanning slides at a decent resolution for printing larger was a fiasco. none of the images came out good at all. then i used the twain driver and they worked well, but i bought a new computer with windows 7 and the updated software apparently either hid or removed the twain option because now i can't get any decent results no matter how i change the settings. it's very slow using the 6 color option but the slide results are not worth the time it took to create the scan. and before anyone says its the slides, i'm using slides that were professionally captured with high quality images on them. i just wanted a scanner that could reproduce them digitally without issues. and good luck trying to get hp support about what to do in this situation. these scanners are only good for novices who are impressed with the technology that allows a paper image to show up on the screen. if you want serious results, you'll be disappointed. i just wish i could send it back.

Okiebug
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great value for price
1/19/2010

Customer review by ljrack

4.0 stars 1/19/2010 by ljrack
by ljrack

I have this scanner primarily to scan large format 4x5 color transparency film. The quality I get from these scans compared to other flatbed scanners at 3-5 times the price is amazing. Yes, you must also be proficient in Photoshop, which is the case with scanning any film on any scanner if your primary output will be prints. The scans from this scanner will NOT compete with high end professional drum scans, but I have had very beautiful prints made up to 20x24" from this scanner. Flatbed scanners are NOT the best method for scanning 35mm slides or negatives, so I won't comment. Scanning slides or negatives are inherently slow. When scanning a 4x5 transparency at 2400ppi and 16-bit, the resulting files are over 500MB! I don't expect to scan this is 5 seconds. The preview feature with this scanner is fast though. Scanning documents, prints and all the other typical scanning functions work great also with this scanner. I have had this scanner for nearly 2 years with no issues.

ljrack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not for Mac Users
3/7/2012

Customer review by Chowhound

2.0 stars 3/7/2012 by Chowhound
by Chowhound

I purchased this directly by phone from HP because I wanted to be sure to get a general scanner that would be able to scan medium format (120mm) slides and films. This one does. However, this scanner does not work properly with, and that there were no instructions for, a Mac. HP doesn't even have instructions online for use with a Mac. The scanner worked fine for scanning prints, but there was a loop bug in the for-Mac software that would not allow me to scan slides or film. When I tried to live-chat with HP, their website told me they did not support this scanner (that I had just bought directly from them) and would not let me live-chat with their technicians. So I returned the scanner and bought a similar other-brand scanner, which works well with my Mac. It is too bad, because the G4050 appears to be very well made and has a number of useful features, including well-designed film and slide holders. With some good Mac software, instructions, and chat support I think this would have been a great scanner for me.

Chowhound
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Major waste of time and money
1/30/2010

Customer review by cookiemonsteroreo

1.0 stars 1/30/2010 by cookiemonsteroreo
by cookiemonsteroreo

If I thought that I was going to live to be 150 I might be able to accomplish the project that I am working on, or if I purchased 5 G4050s and used them all at once I might accomplish my project in 30 years. Without my 7 phone calls which totalled 20 hours, two software patches, and finally a new version of software I wouldn`t even be able to complete my project in 300 years. The software is absolutely garbage. Major problems in the slides area. Scans originals alright. Color is a little off. You need photoshop to adjust colors.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cookiemonsteroreo
Tupper Lake NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Impressive
3/8/2007

Customer review by PattyP

5.0 stars 3/8/2007 by PattyP
by PattyP

I have been scanning all my negatives from 1990 until 2003 (which is when I finally broke down and bought a digital camera) and this scanner has surpassed my expectations. It is simple to use, yet very powerful. The image quality is sometimes even better than the printed photograph I got from the developing place at the grocery store! If there’s one area I could improve (I am an engineer, and constantly looking for things to improve), I would consider redesigning the film tray (and the photo/slide trays). The negative strips usually come in lengths of 4 pictures each. The film strip takes 6 per slot. I find myself either having to cut film strips in 2, to add to the 4 that are in the slot, or leaving a space open in each slot. If the slots were arranged vertically instead of horizontally, you would be able to have the exact strip size, and you would be able to fit the same number of film negatives in the tray. Same with the other 2 trays, the more pictures that can be scanned, at the same time, the better!

PattyP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Fast, quiet, excellent capture of fine detail
12/10/2015

Customer review by JDern

4.0 stars 12/10/2015 by JDern
by JDern

Overall function is excellent. It is a great replacement for my HP 4800 series, which is not Windows 10 compatible. My only complaint is the loose connection between the upper scanning lid, which is designed to accommodate 3D objects. It shouldn't be that easy to disengage. The software is easy to use and agile.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDern
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Scanner
1/9/2011

Customer review by xoques

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by xoques
by xoques

better scanner than even HP thinks as they could sell sooooo many more if they only knew. to a large format film guy (like me) this is got lots of bang for the buck. they do not mention that one can scan 8x10 transparencies and that one can lay the film right on to the glass. no focus issues.....very forgiving scanner in this respect. i have been experimenting with the lid action and it can be made to 'fool' the HP software into allowing a scan with transparency mode and lid up. why? because one can use this as a back for a bellows camera. though be prepared to getting a 'puter with LOTS of ram. so, because of this machine i am now compelled to build a 'puter with lots of ram. i can think od a host of accessories for this scanner and hoping that HP does not discontinue this product because i can scan and makes for a project idea at the SF Exploratorium. cons: no sane-project stable driver; no pinout info on cable that connects top top bottom.

xoques
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
UNDER WINDOWS7 POOR
12/19/2012

Customer review by PORK8IT

1.0 stars 12/19/2012 by PORK8IT
by PORK8IT

IN WINDOWS7 ENVIRONMENT, IT DOESN'T WORK WELL DOING 16 SLIDES WITH HIGHER THAN 600 PPI AND NEITHER DOES HELP OR CHAT HELP -- COULD ONLY GET 600 PPI TO WORK AT 100% ON A DEPENDABLE BASIS--ANYTHING GREATER THAN 600PPI I COULD GET TO WORK AT LESS THAN THE 16 SLIDES -- THE DOWNLOAD AREA IN HP SUPPORT AREA WAS UNREADABLE ON MY SYSTEM -- THE TYPE WAS SMALL -- DON'T HAVE THAT TROUBLE ON ANY OTHER PAGE. IMAGES ARE GREAT -- DOING SIXTEEN SLIDES AT A TIME IS GREAT BUT THE LIGHT JUST GOES OUT ON THE SCANNER AT THE HIGHER RESOLUTIONS -- THE HELP CHAT GAVE ME LINKS THAT GOT A LIVE CHAT WINDOW WITH NOBODY ON THE OTHER SIDE AND I WAITED FOR FORTY MINUTES ONE DAY -- I COULD TYPE WHILE I WAITED BUT COULD NOT SEND SINCE NOBODY WAS ON THE OTHER END -- I DID GET TWO EMAILS WITH LINKS TO THE CHAT BUT WHEN I WENT TO THE LINKS ALL I SAW WAS THE WAITING CIRCLE AND NOBODY ANSWERED.---I'VE HAD AN HP5500 SCANNER THAT WORKED WONDERFULLY FOR YEARS ON AN HP COMPAQ (XP) SYSTEM -- I WAS REALLY DISAPPOINTED IN HP I'VE USED HP PRODUCTS SINCE THE HP3000 (SERIES III)

PORK8IT
FREDERICK MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
9/27/2007

Customer review by Historian

3.0 stars 9/27/2007 by Historian
by Historian

This scanner provides very high quality scans of printed photos - excellent color and detail. Unfortunately it handles slides poorly and the driver is clunky. At resolutions of 1200dpi or more, which are necessary for slides, the scanner is excrutiatingly slow. The driver does not permit you to set up for batch scanning of multiple prints or slides - requirements for each photo must be set individually. One other problem. The scanner is inconsistent in recognizing more than one print at a time. Sometimes it recogizes only one, sometimes more than one, and the scan must be set up from scratch for each scan. I would be willing to pay considerably more for a scanner that would handle batches of prints and slides with a single setup for each batch, that was reasonably fast at resolutions of 1200dpi (no more than five minutes per scan), that provided faithful color, and that could handle 16 slides at a time. In summary, this is an excellent scanner for one printed photo at a time, not bad for multiple prints on a page, and not very good for slides.

Historian
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
TWAIN driver has major problems
11/13/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/13/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We develop dedicated applications for the pulp, paper and printing industries that use a TWAIN interface to the scanners. The G4050 driver is simply not ready for distribution. It contains errors, ignores some TWAIN commands, refuses to scan correctly sized images and crashes, all depending upon the image being scanned. Specifically: 1. GAMMA settings appear to be ignored. The command to set the gamma is acknowledged, but the image is the same regardless of the gamma setting. 2. Scanning a sheet with a grid of small black dots (0.1mm dots spaced 0.2mm apart) cause the G4050 driver to either crash (with an error message), or to scan an image much smaller than requested. Solid white samples and solid black sheets scan correctly, but samples with dots appear to confuse the driver. 3. Irregular shaped sheets (round papers) evokes random results, including crashes, incorrect sizes, etc. 4. The reported grayscale from a known calibrated gray target results in gray values that are very non-linear, probably because the gamma setting cannot be changed.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Tampa user
11/27/2008

Customer review by Tampauser

3.0 stars 11/27/2008 by Tampauser
by Tampauser

I had replaced my previous HP scanner with the G4050 to allow me to scan in old photos and negatives. I have a HP desktop with Vista. I loaded the scanner software designed for Vista. Initially it worked very well allowing for multiple image scanning. Over time the software has become more and more dysfunctional and now I can no longer scan multiple items arranged on the scanner glass. In fact I have to go in and out of the software 1 image at a time because the software creates an error otherwise. The image quality is excellent. Since I have a very fast copmuter, I have not had problems wifh file size and dpi options. I am amazed that HP has chosen not to produce a software for the device capable of running on Vista. I am happy with the image quality and would recommend the device on that basis. However, you will the patience of Job to scan large volumes of images with this device using a Vista-based computer.

Tampauser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
One of the worst products I bought
11/14/2008

Customer review by SherryBerry49

1.0 stars 11/14/2008 by SherryBerry49
by SherryBerry49

This is one of the worst products I purchased and I am an avid HP owner (computer/printer, previous scanner was an HP). 1. Did not live up to expectations. 2. Did not function properly. 3. Would not load software. 4. Froze up the computer on several occasions. You name it, it went wrong. To this day, we still cannot uninstall the whole program. 6-7 hours spent trying to get this product to work and nothing, naddah. Would I recommend this scanner - NO WAY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SherryBerry49
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works well, too much manual work needed
8/13/2015

Customer review by SomeGuy0

4.0 stars 8/13/2015 by SomeGuy0
by SomeGuy0

I am pleased with the results I have gotten in using this scanner. I have scanned nearly 3,000 photographs using this scanner and would be glad to share them with my family and to make digital scrapbooks. The biggest hindrance of this product is that the supposed ability to be able to scan multiple photos at once using HP's software is garbage. The selection and separation of individual photos on the scanner (between 1 and 4) is so hit-and-miss that I now have to preview every scan to select individual photos. Even when only scanning one photograph when using the auto-select feature, it still often makes mistakes. I do not understand how this feature could be so bad, but as far as image quality goes, this product is just what I need.

SomeGuy0
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Software annoyances
8/10/2012

Customer review by CutterJohn

4.0 stars 8/10/2012 by CutterJohn
by CutterJohn

Does a better job of scanning than most products in its class, but I have several complaints about the software. First, the way one selects six-color and 48-bit scanning has changed since the documentation was created, and neither the manuals nor the help have been updated to reflect the change. Second, when starting a scan, I often get an error box telling me that the computer can't communicate with the scanner. If I close the error box, processing continues normally, so the error box is just an annoyance. Third, there are obviously a lot of automatic tweaks under the covers and, though they work well for the most part, I'd like to have a handle on them, because I believe that for any given scan, I can do better; but there's no handle to be found. One example of something I'd like to be able to to tweak myself is the density of grey areas made up of an array of black dots. Such areas tend to be sparsely populated in the scanned result, even at 600 dpi. A selectable "expert user interface" would be the way to go. Fourth, scanning monopolizes the processor for an inordinately long time.

CutterJohn
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Product Has Limitations in Windows 7
7/26/2012

Customer review by Jackie001

2.0 stars 7/26/2012 by Jackie001
by Jackie001

I bought this product a couple of years ago and it was working very well on my PC that was running the Windows XP operating software. All the features worked, including the ability to scan negatives to color 'jpeg' files. I have since upgraded my operating system to Windows 7, and although I have downloaded and installed the latest software from the HP site, the ability to scan photo negatives using the installed Photosmart Essentials v3.5 with the Windows 7 operating system is incompatiable. Unfortunately I can't find a solution on the HP website. So the bottom line for me is that I wouldn't recommend this product if you are thinking of scanning all those old photo negatives and you are running Windows 7 as your PC's operating system. Naturally, if there is a solution I would be only too happy to withdraw my negative recommendation. Cheers, Jackie.

Jackie001
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
3/7/2011

Customer review by CharlotteLynn

2.0 stars 3/7/2011 by CharlotteLynn
by CharlotteLynn

Does ok for a non professional device. When finished with my slides, product won't be used any more. I reccomend it for the non professional user.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CharlotteLynn
Summerville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dont buy this!!!!!
9/22/2010

Customer review by Kerri

1.0 stars 9/22/2010 by Kerri
by Kerri

I purchased this for the high capacity slide scanning. I am an advanced scanner user for the last 10 years. I use scanners for photos, documents, slides and negatives. This one couldn't make it past my initial testing on slides. First, the software is a burden for those not very familiar with scanning. It trys to make it easy by giving very few options on the main screen, but that just makes it difficult to find the settings you will need to be able to change. The finished scan on the slides: all were off center and missed part of the picture, while scanning some of the cardboard. This could be corrected by hand prior to scanning, but was very time-consuming and inaccurate as well. The finished "photo" from the slide scanned was poor quality. Blurry, a little off-color, pixilated, etc. They were all difficult to look at. I tried over 20 different settings to try to remedy this, but there was very little difference in visual quality-only file sizes changed. It even refused to allow me to scan at the hghest quality, saying the files would be too large., 5 gig each slide. Save yourself time and frustration and look for another scanner.

Kerri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Upgraded from the Scanjet G4010
6/3/2011

Customer review by mdhunter2

5.0 stars 6/3/2011 by mdhunter2
by mdhunter2

Well, we had a bunch of old family photos and 35mm film. Fortunately we don't need to mess around with slides but this G4050 scanner is certainly up to that task as well. The 4050 comes with every lid attachment holder you can imagine and some we'll never need. But the way I see it, it's better to have them and not need them than to need them and not have them. I didn't mean to get all Nanny McPhee on you but in this case, it's true. The G4010 as a flatbed page scanner or a single strip of film scanner works just fine as the engines in the 4010 and the 4050 are the same. It's more a matter of convenience when you're dealing with many little film strips. With the G4050 you're swapping out a lot less. My one and only complaint is that it takes quite a bit of time for it to heat up for the 1st scan only. After the 1st scan it's pretty fast. Plus with the 96-bit 6-color dual-pass scanning, the output is FANTASTIC! I would highly recommend this scanner to anyone that needs to scan a lot of film strips, a lot of 35mm slides or a lot of film prints. If you're just using your scanner to save records, you could get off a lot cheaper. Great scanner!

mdhunter2
Darlington MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1-20 of 158 reviews