Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 178 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

178 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

178 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
40
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 stars
31
1-20 of 169 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews
skip this scanner if you want to scan slides
3/9/2010

Customer review by Okiebug

2.0 stars 3/9/2010 by Okiebug
by Okiebug

the scanner worked ok the first day, but scanning slides at a decent resolution for printing larger was a fiasco. none of the images came out good at all. then i used the twain driver and they worked well, but i bought a new computer with windows 7 and the updated software apparently either hid or removed the twain option because now i can't get any decent results no matter how i change the settings. it's very slow using the 6 color option but the slide results are not worth the time it took to create the scan. and before anyone says its the slides, i'm using slides that were professionally captured with high quality images on them. i just wanted a scanner that could reproduce them digitally without issues. and good luck trying to get hp support about what to do in this situation. these scanners are only good for novices who are impressed with the technology that allows a paper image to show up on the screen. if you want serious results, you'll be disappointed. i just wish i could send it back.

Okiebug
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great value for price
1/19/2010

Customer review by ljrack

4.0 stars 1/19/2010 by ljrack
by ljrack

I have this scanner primarily to scan large format 4x5 color transparency film. The quality I get from these scans compared to other flatbed scanners at 3-5 times the price is amazing. Yes, you must also be proficient in Photoshop, which is the case with scanning any film on any scanner if your primary output will be prints. The scans from this scanner will NOT compete with high end professional drum scans, but I have had very beautiful prints made up to 20x24" from this scanner. Flatbed scanners are NOT the best method for scanning 35mm slides or negatives, so I won't comment. Scanning slides or negatives are inherently slow. When scanning a 4x5 transparency at 2400ppi and 16-bit, the resulting files are over 500MB! I don't expect to scan this is 5 seconds. The preview feature with this scanner is fast though. Scanning documents, prints and all the other typical scanning functions work great also with this scanner. I have had this scanner for nearly 2 years with no issues.

ljrack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not for Mac Users
3/7/2012

Customer review by Chowhound

2.0 stars 3/7/2012 by Chowhound
by Chowhound

I purchased this directly by phone from HP because I wanted to be sure to get a general scanner that would be able to scan medium format (120mm) slides and films. This one does. However, this scanner does not work properly with, and that there were no instructions for, a Mac. HP doesn't even have instructions online for use with a Mac. The scanner worked fine for scanning prints, but there was a loop bug in the for-Mac software that would not allow me to scan slides or film. When I tried to live-chat with HP, their website told me they did not support this scanner (that I had just bought directly from them) and would not let me live-chat with their technicians. So I returned the scanner and bought a similar other-brand scanner, which works well with my Mac. It is too bad, because the G4050 appears to be very well made and has a number of useful features, including well-designed film and slide holders. With some good Mac software, instructions, and chat support I think this would have been a great scanner for me.

Chowhound
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Very Impressive
3/8/2007

Customer review by PattyP

5.0 stars 3/8/2007 by PattyP
by PattyP

I have been scanning all my negatives from 1990 until 2003 (which is when I finally broke down and bought a digital camera) and this scanner has surpassed my expectations. It is simple to use, yet very powerful. The image quality is sometimes even better than the printed photograph I got from the developing place at the grocery store! If there’s one area I could improve (I am an engineer, and constantly looking for things to improve), I would consider redesigning the film tray (and the photo/slide trays). The negative strips usually come in lengths of 4 pictures each. The film strip takes 6 per slot. I find myself either having to cut film strips in 2, to add to the 4 that are in the slot, or leaving a space open in each slot. If the slots were arranged vertically instead of horizontally, you would be able to have the exact strip size, and you would be able to fit the same number of film negatives in the tray. Same with the other 2 trays, the more pictures that can be scanned, at the same time, the better!

PattyP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Scanner
1/9/2011

Customer review by xoques

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by xoques
by xoques

better scanner than even HP thinks as they could sell sooooo many more if they only knew. to a large format film guy (like me) this is got lots of bang for the buck. they do not mention that one can scan 8x10 transparencies and that one can lay the film right on to the glass. no focus issues.....very forgiving scanner in this respect. i have been experimenting with the lid action and it can be made to 'fool' the HP software into allowing a scan with transparency mode and lid up. why? because one can use this as a back for a bellows camera. though be prepared to getting a 'puter with LOTS of ram. so, because of this machine i am now compelled to build a 'puter with lots of ram. i can think od a host of accessories for this scanner and hoping that HP does not discontinue this product because i can scan and makes for a project idea at the SF Exploratorium. cons: no sane-project stable driver; no pinout info on cable that connects top top bottom.

xoques
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
UNDER WINDOWS7 POOR
12/19/2012

Customer review by PORK8IT

1.0 stars 12/19/2012 by PORK8IT
by PORK8IT

IN WINDOWS7 ENVIRONMENT, IT DOESN'T WORK WELL DOING 16 SLIDES WITH HIGHER THAN 600 PPI AND NEITHER DOES HELP OR CHAT HELP -- COULD ONLY GET 600 PPI TO WORK AT 100% ON A DEPENDABLE BASIS--ANYTHING GREATER THAN 600PPI I COULD GET TO WORK AT LESS THAN THE 16 SLIDES -- THE DOWNLOAD AREA IN HP SUPPORT AREA WAS UNREADABLE ON MY SYSTEM -- THE TYPE WAS SMALL -- DON'T HAVE THAT TROUBLE ON ANY OTHER PAGE. IMAGES ARE GREAT -- DOING SIXTEEN SLIDES AT A TIME IS GREAT BUT THE LIGHT JUST GOES OUT ON THE SCANNER AT THE HIGHER RESOLUTIONS -- THE HELP CHAT GAVE ME LINKS THAT GOT A LIVE CHAT WINDOW WITH NOBODY ON THE OTHER SIDE AND I WAITED FOR FORTY MINUTES ONE DAY -- I COULD TYPE WHILE I WAITED BUT COULD NOT SEND SINCE NOBODY WAS ON THE OTHER END -- I DID GET TWO EMAILS WITH LINKS TO THE CHAT BUT WHEN I WENT TO THE LINKS ALL I SAW WAS THE WAITING CIRCLE AND NOBODY ANSWERED.---I'VE HAD AN HP5500 SCANNER THAT WORKED WONDERFULLY FOR YEARS ON AN HP COMPAQ (XP) SYSTEM -- I WAS REALLY DISAPPOINTED IN HP I'VE USED HP PRODUCTS SINCE THE HP3000 (SERIES III)

PORK8IT
FREDERICK MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
9/27/2007

Customer review by Historian

3.0 stars 9/27/2007 by Historian
by Historian

This scanner provides very high quality scans of printed photos - excellent color and detail. Unfortunately it handles slides poorly and the driver is clunky. At resolutions of 1200dpi or more, which are necessary for slides, the scanner is excrutiatingly slow. The driver does not permit you to set up for batch scanning of multiple prints or slides - requirements for each photo must be set individually. One other problem. The scanner is inconsistent in recognizing more than one print at a time. Sometimes it recogizes only one, sometimes more than one, and the scan must be set up from scratch for each scan. I would be willing to pay considerably more for a scanner that would handle batches of prints and slides with a single setup for each batch, that was reasonably fast at resolutions of 1200dpi (no more than five minutes per scan), that provided faithful color, and that could handle 16 slides at a time. In summary, this is an excellent scanner for one printed photo at a time, not bad for multiple prints on a page, and not very good for slides.

Historian
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
TWAIN driver has major problems
11/13/2008

Customer review by ApogeeSystemsInc

1.0 stars 11/13/2008 by ApogeeSystemsInc
by ApogeeSystemsInc

We develop dedicated applications for the pulp, paper and printing industries that use a TWAIN interface to the scanners. The G4050 driver is simply not ready for distribution. It contains errors, ignores some TWAIN commands, refuses to scan correctly sized images and crashes, all depending upon the image being scanned. Specifically: 1. GAMMA settings appear to be ignored. The command to set the gamma is acknowledged, but the image is the same regardless of the gamma setting. 2. Scanning a sheet with a grid of small black dots (0.1mm dots spaced 0.2mm apart) cause the G4050 driver to either crash (with an error message), or to scan an image much smaller than requested. Solid white samples and solid black sheets scan correctly, but samples with dots appear to confuse the driver. 3. Irregular shaped sheets (round papers) evokes random results, including crashes, incorrect sizes, etc. 4. The reported grayscale from a known calibrated gray target results in gray values that are very non-linear, probably because the gamma setting cannot be changed.

ApogeeSystemsInc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Tampa user
11/27/2008

Customer review by Tampauser

3.0 stars 11/27/2008 by Tampauser
by Tampauser

I had replaced my previous HP scanner with the G4050 to allow me to scan in old photos and negatives. I have a HP desktop with Vista. I loaded the scanner software designed for Vista. Initially it worked very well allowing for multiple image scanning. Over time the software has become more and more dysfunctional and now I can no longer scan multiple items arranged on the scanner glass. In fact I have to go in and out of the software 1 image at a time because the software creates an error otherwise. The image quality is excellent. Since I have a very fast copmuter, I have not had problems wifh file size and dpi options. I am amazed that HP has chosen not to produce a software for the device capable of running on Vista. I am happy with the image quality and would recommend the device on that basis. However, you will the patience of Job to scan large volumes of images with this device using a Vista-based computer.

Tampauser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Software annoyances
8/10/2012

Customer review by CutterJohn

4.0 stars 8/10/2012 by CutterJohn
by CutterJohn

Does a better job of scanning than most products in its class, but I have several complaints about the software. First, the way one selects six-color and 48-bit scanning has changed since the documentation was created, and neither the manuals nor the help have been updated to reflect the change. Second, when starting a scan, I often get an error box telling me that the computer can't communicate with the scanner. If I close the error box, processing continues normally, so the error box is just an annoyance. Third, there are obviously a lot of automatic tweaks under the covers and, though they work well for the most part, I'd like to have a handle on them, because I believe that for any given scan, I can do better; but there's no handle to be found. One example of something I'd like to be able to to tweak myself is the density of grey areas made up of an array of black dots. Such areas tend to be sparsely populated in the scanned result, even at 600 dpi. A selectable "expert user interface" would be the way to go. Fourth, scanning monopolizes the processor for an inordinately long time.

CutterJohn
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Product Has Limitations in Windows 7
7/26/2012

Customer review by Jackie001

2.0 stars 7/26/2012 by Jackie001
by Jackie001

I bought this product a couple of years ago and it was working very well on my PC that was running the Windows XP operating software. All the features worked, including the ability to scan negatives to color 'jpeg' files. I have since upgraded my operating system to Windows 7, and although I have downloaded and installed the latest software from the HP site, the ability to scan photo negatives using the installed Photosmart Essentials v3.5 with the Windows 7 operating system is incompatiable. Unfortunately I can't find a solution on the HP website. So the bottom line for me is that I wouldn't recommend this product if you are thinking of scanning all those old photo negatives and you are running Windows 7 as your PC's operating system. Naturally, if there is a solution I would be only too happy to withdraw my negative recommendation. Cheers, Jackie.

Jackie001
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Dont buy this!!!!!
9/22/2010

Customer review by Kerri

1.0 stars 9/22/2010 by Kerri
by Kerri

I purchased this for the high capacity slide scanning. I am an advanced scanner user for the last 10 years. I use scanners for photos, documents, slides and negatives. This one couldn't make it past my initial testing on slides. First, the software is a burden for those not very familiar with scanning. It trys to make it easy by giving very few options on the main screen, but that just makes it difficult to find the settings you will need to be able to change. The finished scan on the slides: all were off center and missed part of the picture, while scanning some of the cardboard. This could be corrected by hand prior to scanning, but was very time-consuming and inaccurate as well. The finished "photo" from the slide scanned was poor quality. Blurry, a little off-color, pixilated, etc. They were all difficult to look at. I tried over 20 different settings to try to remedy this, but there was very little difference in visual quality-only file sizes changed. It even refused to allow me to scan at the hghest quality, saying the files would be too large., 5 gig each slide. Save yourself time and frustration and look for another scanner.

Kerri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Upgraded from the Scanjet G4010
6/3/2011

Customer review by mdhunter2

5.0 stars 6/3/2011 by mdhunter2
by mdhunter2

Well, we had a bunch of old family photos and 35mm film. Fortunately we don't need to mess around with slides but this G4050 scanner is certainly up to that task as well. The 4050 comes with every lid attachment holder you can imagine and some we'll never need. But the way I see it, it's better to have them and not need them than to need them and not have them. I didn't mean to get all Nanny McPhee on you but in this case, it's true. The G4010 as a flatbed page scanner or a single strip of film scanner works just fine as the engines in the 4010 and the 4050 are the same. It's more a matter of convenience when you're dealing with many little film strips. With the G4050 you're swapping out a lot less. My one and only complaint is that it takes quite a bit of time for it to heat up for the 1st scan only. After the 1st scan it's pretty fast. Plus with the 96-bit 6-color dual-pass scanning, the output is FANTASTIC! I would highly recommend this scanner to anyone that needs to scan a lot of film strips, a lot of 35mm slides or a lot of film prints. If you're just using your scanner to save records, you could get off a lot cheaper. Great scanner!

mdhunter2
Darlington MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Slow, slow, very slow going
12/2/2008

Customer review by malenb

3.0 stars 12/2/2008 by malenb
by malenb

As photo scanners go, this one is pretty good -- especially if you do not plan to print your photos in large dimensions. My purpose was to archive 6,000 slides from my parents. Being able to do 16 slides at a time is wonderful, however, each scan takes about 1.5 to 2 hrs. from start to finish. I have set the scanner to 2 passes for optimum quality at 300 dpi. Every slide needs to be reviewed in the preview to make sure that the scanner has located the exact picture area. Some slides are adjusted for color and/or lighting. However, the results are variable. Often the pictures end up with some snow (white dots). I can only do 2-3 scans a days as when the unit heats up, it tends to start malfunctioning -- not scanning every slide or not allowing color adjustments. Even so, this scanner is one of the best out there.

malenb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Better than I expected.
11/9/2013

Customer review by kchisos

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by kchisos
by kchisos

I was reluctant to buy another scanner, since all the scanners I've used before gave such poor results when scanning printed photographs. The HP Scanjet G4050 was a pleasant surprise. The color of the digital scan is very, very close to the original prints. A couple of years ago, I lost all my digital photographs due to a hard-drive crash. I foolishly did not have my files backed up at the time. I lost several dozen art-photos. Fortunately, I had 8 x 10 prints made of most of them, which I still have in inventory. I am now able to replace those digital files in a matter well enough to produce up to 11 x 14 inch prints that mimic almost exactly the original photographs. I am very happy with the quality versus the purchase price. I highly recommend this scanner for the casual and professional photographer.

kchisos
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great for scanning 35MM and slides
8/20/2013

Customer review by TheOld

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by TheOld
by TheOld

I purchased the HP G4050 Scanner primarily for copying old negatives and slides. The scanner works flawlessly converting the slides and negatives into a digital format for storage on a server or hard drive. The transparent material adapters (TMA) securely hold the negatives and slides in place for perfect scanning. The HP software has basic features for orientation, cropping, dust and scratch removal. The only caveat that I have is placing 35MM slides in the TMA. It is a relatively slow process when trying to convert forty years of slides into a digital format. I wanted to purchase a second set of TMA adapters but they are not available through HP, you must purchase via a reseller at a cost equal to or higher than the entire HP G4050. Needless to say I have not purchased an additional set of TMA adapters.

TheOld
Towson, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Linux & Mac users: caution
6/18/2011

Customer review by tuck

1.0 stars 6/18/2011 by tuck
by tuck

This scanner is not supported on Linux as of this date. From what I have read on the web HP hardware is problematic on Linux; some works fine, some not at all. To be safe check the Linux O/S your are using to see if any HP hardware you want to use is compatible. The scanner works on my MacBook Pro under Snow Leopard to some extent. Documents are scanned fine. But the software for scanning slides was crufty at best. You may want to consider some other software if you really want to use this scanner. Scanning large document was problematic. I was unable to save files reliably. I needed to break up larger documents [> 50pages] in to smaller ones. Admittedly this is not a common problem. But I though I should mention my experience. Basically I would buy a different scanner if I had it to do all over again.

tuck
Would recommend to a friend? No
Finished scanned all my old photos
1/10/2010

Customer review by harrydog2000

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by harrydog2000
by harrydog2000

I have to admit that it took some time to complete but now all my old photos, negatives and slides have been digitized thanks largely to this HP G4050 scanner. That's over 6000 files in total. For the most part this scanner was very easy to use and the quality of the images where excellent. And it was all worth while when I see my mom's face as she sees photos from over the past 70 years blown up on a 28' monitor. The details in the photos are amazing. Everyone in my family now has their own set of all the photos....no need to every worry about them being destroyed. They will now live forever. What really helped the process was that I was able to literally put on as many photos that would fit onto the scanning surface and the software would automatically pick them out and save them to individual files.

harrydog2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
be careful!
11/4/2010

Customer review by adoranora

4.0 stars 11/4/2010 by adoranora
by adoranora

this is a great scanner, had it for a week scanned all my old slides so far, did a great job. BUT BEWARE, hp's software literally sucked all my personal photos/graphics from every place on my pc and left my files empty! i didn't know that at the time so i deleted my personal stuff from the hp file, but when i went to my own files they were empty! all my pics from ten years of sorting and saving were gone! fortunately, i had a recent copy i had backed up on an external hard drive, it could have been catastrophic. and fortunately i had my own cd's of the game graphics it also took, just re-installed them all. hp has no business sucking out all my own files/photos/pics, leaving my files EMPTY and moving them to their own hard to figure out software! i only wanted to scan! very time consuming fix!

adoranora
new jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Issue with Slides
11/18/2008

Customer review by Pericles

2.0 stars 11/18/2008 by Pericles
by Pericles

I bought this unit for scanning 35mm slides, 16 at a time. Two major problems occurred: 1. About half the slides were not scanned correctly - either the top of the slide or the borttom of the slide was cut off. I think the scanning process is starting either a little too soon or a little too late for many of the slides, on a random basis. I can repeat the scan of the same slides and the problem still occurs but with different slides. 2. Occasionally, as many as 5 slides out of 16 are completely dark. They were not scanned at all, even though they showed up in Preview and were cropped and selected. Unfortunately, I am going to have to return this unit to the store for a refund. I may try a different unit in the hopes there is a hardware or software malfunction with the one I have.

Pericles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews