Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 165 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

165 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

165 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
68
4 stars
35
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 stars
28
1-20 of 156 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews
One of the worst products I bought
11/14/2008

Customer review by SherryBerry49

1.0 stars 11/14/2008 by SherryBerry49
by SherryBerry49

This is one of the worst products I purchased and I am an avid HP owner (computer/printer, previous scanner was an HP). 1. Did not live up to expectations. 2. Did not function properly. 3. Would not load software. 4. Froze up the computer on several occasions. You name it, it went wrong. To this day, we still cannot uninstall the whole program. 6-7 hours spent trying to get this product to work and nothing, naddah. Would I recommend this scanner - NO WAY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SherryBerry49
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Major waste of time and money
1/30/2010

Customer review by cookiemonsteroreo

1.0 stars 1/30/2010 by cookiemonsteroreo
by cookiemonsteroreo

If I thought that I was going to live to be 150 I might be able to accomplish the project that I am working on, or if I purchased 5 G4050s and used them all at once I might accomplish my project in 30 years. Without my 7 phone calls which totalled 20 hours, two software patches, and finally a new version of software I wouldn`t even be able to complete my project in 300 years. The software is absolutely garbage. Major problems in the slides area. Scans originals alright. Color is a little off. You need photoshop to adjust colors.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cookiemonsteroreo
Tupper Lake NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works as Advertised!
9/11/2009

Customer review by Revgary

5.0 stars 9/11/2009 by Revgary
by Revgary

Everything I've tried with this scanner works just as it is supposed to. The quality of the output has been excellent. Copying pictures and converting text with OCR has been done with ease.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Revgary
Enid, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
HP Scanjet G4050
3/3/2010

Customer review by cao1515

4.0 stars 3/3/2010 by cao1515
by cao1515

Product turned out to be everything I was looking for. I use it for the business I am in as a document scanner. Had issues with set up, ie:CD downloading. Ended up going to HP web site to download it from there. Works wonderfully.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cao1515
Findlay, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product
12/1/2010

Customer review by 2and2b4

4.0 stars 12/1/2010 by 2and2b4
by 2and2b4

I tried 4 different scanners before I purchased the HP G4050 a few weeks ago. None of them measured up until now. I have scanned over 500 35mm slides and the HP has worked perfectly. Hopefully, this scanner will last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2and2b4
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/7/2011

Customer review by CharlotteLynn

2.0 stars 3/7/2011 by CharlotteLynn
by CharlotteLynn

Does ok for a non professional device. When finished with my slides, product won't be used any more. I reccomend it for the non professional user.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CharlotteLynn
Summerville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Negatives Scan too Dark
10/17/2009

Customer review by GlobusTrotter

1.0 stars 10/17/2009 by GlobusTrotter
by GlobusTrotter

I needed to scan old negatives. Found that this scanner over-exposes negatives, compared to an Epson scanner I used before. Too bad - because I could really use that multi-negative frame! But resulting quality is just unacceptible. This puppy is going back to where it came from.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GlobusTrotter
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Limited purpose!
2/3/2011

Customer review by jigsawjake

3.0 stars 2/3/2011 by jigsawjake
by jigsawjake

One major reason for purchasing this Scanner was to scan medium format, black and white negatives. The results were terrible! I also had some color transparencies that turned out fair. It worked very well with my 35mm slides. I enjoyed being able to do 16 slides at a time! This is not a multi purpose Scanner. It works well for scanning photos, documents and 35mm slides. For this reason I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jigsawjake
Clare, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great Slide Scanner
12/9/2008

Customer review by BigDeer

5.0 stars 12/9/2008 by BigDeer
by BigDeer

Convertes 16 slides within 10 to 12 minutes to jpg files. Only problem encountered is the photo support software installed with an error.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigDeer
Columbus OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent scanning
8/30/2009

Customer review by RedDolphin

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by RedDolphin
by RedDolphin

An excellent scanner for scanning various sizes off negatives. Very helpful for family history.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedDolphin
Helena, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased
9/8/2008

Customer review by PastorBill

5.0 stars 9/8/2008 by PastorBill
by PastorBill

I wanted a scanner that you scan pictures with good quality and sharpness. This scanner meets my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PastorBill
Peabody, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner
9/9/2008

Customer review by fergie4or7

5.0 stars 9/9/2008 by fergie4or7
by fergie4or7

Purchased to scan old pictures. It has worked well for this purpose.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fergie4or7
Stickney, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Scanner
5/24/2009

Customer review by AlaskaJourney

5.0 stars 5/24/2009 by AlaskaJourney
by AlaskaJourney

Meets all expection. Produces excellent scans of documents and photos.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlaskaJourney
Valdez, Ak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
HP Scanner
6/6/2015

Customer review by Geneb101

5.0 stars 6/6/2015 by Geneb101
by Geneb101

I am more than pleased with this scanner. It has done everything I wanted with my old photos and negatives some dating back 70 years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geneb101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
8/15/2007

Customer review by DJF1

5.0 stars 8/15/2007 by DJF1
by DJF1

Thank you hp! What a great scanner well worth it.... AWESOME!

DJF1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Scanner
2/19/2007

Customer review by Oldmann

5.0 stars 2/19/2007 by Oldmann
by Oldmann

The G4050 is my 3rd HP scanner. I upgraded from the 1st and "wore out" my 2nd. I mostly scan photos; thousands. As with any new software, I had to get use to the new software with the G4050. The software has many more features with it that I have yet to try out. I have a seperate leading photo software program and I use that for organizing. But the HP seems to have a nice progrom for that. What I particular like is that you can scan more than one photo at one time and the G4050 automatically crops each picture and it does a great job at automatically cropping. Then it re-scans and automatically gives you individual scans. Before you "Accept" the scan, you can manually adjust the cropping of each picture if you have to by just clicking once on the scan that needs adjusting (rarely required). Great feature. (The older models did not do such a good job at automatically cropping.) The "Auto Straightening" leaves a slight bit to be desired. I also like the fact that it gives me a choice for 48 dpi or 96 dpi. I mostly use the 48 dpi for snapshots, as it is faster, and the 96 dpi for portraits, which is a bit slower. And certainly not least, I really like the lid handle that HP put on this one. It makes it much easier & quicker to raise the top. You will like that. (If you get one, don't forget that HP put an off/on switch at the back of the G4050.) The only thing I miss from my last HP scanner is the automatic photo feeder. (HP no longer makes a low end scanner available for auto photo feeding.) This was really great for scanning lots of 4 x 6 photos. However, once I have completed scanning my thousands of photos, I suppose the auto photo feeder option would not be so important with digital camera these days. Overall, I give the G4050 very high marks. I strongly recommend it.

Oldmann
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Impressive
3/8/2007

Customer review by PattyP

5.0 stars 3/8/2007 by PattyP
by PattyP

I have been scanning all my negatives from 1990 until 2003 (which is when I finally broke down and bought a digital camera) and this scanner has surpassed my expectations. It is simple to use, yet very powerful. The image quality is sometimes even better than the printed photograph I got from the developing place at the grocery store! If there’s one area I could improve (I am an engineer, and constantly looking for things to improve), I would consider redesigning the film tray (and the photo/slide trays). The negative strips usually come in lengths of 4 pictures each. The film strip takes 6 per slot. I find myself either having to cut film strips in 2, to add to the 4 that are in the slot, or leaving a space open in each slot. If the slots were arranged vertically instead of horizontally, you would be able to have the exact strip size, and you would be able to fit the same number of film negatives in the tray. Same with the other 2 trays, the more pictures that can be scanned, at the same time, the better!

PattyP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Judy
8/21/2007

Customer review by Judy

5.0 stars 8/21/2007 by Judy
by Judy

I am glad I waited so long to get a scanner for slides because the G4050 is the best!!! I just would like to be able to copy the slides onto a CD..and have not be able to figure out how to do it yet.........

Judy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Buy
11/26/2008

Customer review by terry531

5.0 stars 11/26/2008 by terry531
by terry531

This scanner is a super addition to my home office. I love to be able to scan paperwork and all pages placed into one pdf file. HP makes it so easy to buy online and they have the fastest delivery.

terry531
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
HP Scanjet G4050
4/16/2009

Customer review by Buck

5.0 stars 4/16/2009 by Buck
by Buck

I just completed scanning 6430 35mm slides of my family and I am immensely pleased with this scanner. The quality fo the scans is outstanding which I agree is subjective but I was not scanning for commericial purposes. It scanned 16 slides of various densities in approx. 9 to 12 min. and I had the scanner set at 600 ppi. I would not hesitate to recommend this scanner to anyone for the above use.

Buck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews