Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

10 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

10 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-7 of 7 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Hooked on Phonics Fan!
12/18/2007

Customer review by BusyMominMinnesota

5.0 stars 12/18/2007 by BusyMominMinnesota
by BusyMominMinnesota

I am a loyal Hooked on Phonics fan! This is the second Hooked on Phonics product I have purchased and I have yet to be disappointed! Hooked on Math has everything you need, from addition all the way through division. I have been using it with my 7 year old daughter who needs a little extra help with her times tables and my 5 year old son who is just starting to learn addition. Great value!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusyMominMinnesota
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Hooked on Math
4/21/2008

Customer review by Jgoodie

5.0 stars 4/21/2008 by Jgoodie
by Jgoodie

I purchased this for my six year old son. This is worth the money. It makes learning fun and easy to follow.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jgoodie
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product/Excellent Value
3/9/2009

Customer review by TheSoupLady

5.0 stars 3/9/2009 by TheSoupLady
by TheSoupLady

I purchased this to help my third grade grand-daughter improve her math skills. We're from Quebec, Canada - and her first language is French - so I had used the Hooked on Phonics to help her learn to read English (also an excellent product). So far we've just been working with the first box - Addition and Subtraction. Like the Hooked on Phonics material - the approach is extremely structured. There is a progress map that my grand-daughter loves to use to track her progress, coins to help learn easy money skills, and an assortment of games and pure rote memory work. As an educator with 12 years of teaching experience and a masters degree in education - I find that the mixed approach works very well. There's enough challenge to keep me happy - and enough variability in tasks to keep her focused. I would recommend this product without any problem at all. Well worth the money - well worth the time (which in my opinion, is even more valuable!)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSoupLady
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Math
1/5/2009

Customer review by LoveToShoponForTheKids

4.0 stars 1/5/2009 by LoveToShoponForTheKids
by LoveToShoponForTheKids

I would tell anyone who's childs needs help with math would be encourage to get this it is very helpful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveToShoponForTheKids
Del City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good product
2/18/2009

Customer review by isandyt

4.0 stars 2/18/2009 by isandyt
by isandyt

I purchased it for my granddaughter and she is enjoying it. She is even sharing it with her little brother. Have only used it a little bit...not gone through the whole thing, but it is keeping her interest. And purchasing it through WalMart saved a lot of money versus Barnes & Noble or Amazon.com

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
isandyt
Mauston, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Basics
3/9/2009

Customer review by 213dan

4.0 stars 3/9/2009 by 213dan
by 213dan

I bought this for my 2nd grade son. Half way into the school year I felt he was behind and then the fundamental test at school confirmed it. I bought this to help him learn his facts and catch up to where he should be. The workbook is great, as are the manipulitives that come with it. It starts with flash cards and an audio cd that go together, then on to review pages. It comes with a transparency and write erase pen so that is great as we can use it again and again. There is also a sticker chart and stickers. I made extra encentives for my son to help him reach his goals. He started out really strong with the math section, but it was adding one's and two's which he already knew. Then on to the three's and four's and it slowed up, so he is repeating that section until he knows it by heart. You can only work as fast as they can memorize. My only complaint is that this program is just basics, which he needs to know, but we are in Texas and these tests that the pulic school take are all word problems. And so far, none of that in Hooked on Math. Looks like there might be some in the more complicated addition and subtraction. But nothing compared to what he needs for the standardized tests. Overall, we both love it. He is excited about working toward a goal and I am having an easier time helping him learn his facts. Great deal for the money, just order here and don't bother shopping around. You won't find it cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
213dan
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Hooked on Math
3/17/2009

Customer review by John3Sixteen

4.0 stars 3/17/2009 by John3Sixteen
by John3Sixteen

Good as a supplement to school curriculum. Audio CD trains your child to commit the basic math facts such as addition and subtraction to memory. The system expects your child to know your basic math facts so well that he/she can give an answer within one or two seconds. Wish there are more training on different math strategies such as the use of a abacus. Kit provides markers and transparent sheets so you can place on top of the worksheet. Thay way your child can practice the worksheet over and over again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John3Sixteen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes