Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

97 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

97 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 80 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
A WINNER all around!
5/20/2011

Customer review by SicilianChef

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by SicilianChef
by SicilianChef

Just bought another one for a friend. I own 2 of these myself, one for each of my homes. The quality is as good as All Clad but at a fraction of the price. I see reviews stating this is expensive, but obviously they are used to purchasing cookware in the dollar store. As far as a lid, yes you can purchase one directly from Tramontina. I actually did write to them to purchase this exact pan from them directly and their retail price with a 25% discount is $94.00 FOR THIS EXACT PAN. A steal at this price and Walmart is the only store that carries it.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SicilianChef
Seaford, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
At last a frying pan that works
4/29/2012

Customer review by 81andwise

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by 81andwise
by 81andwise

I purchased the 12 inch and the 10 inch fersions of this pan because it was recommended on a cooking site. It is tri-ply meaning that there is a layer of aluminum sandwiched between the inner and outer stainless steel surfaces all the way up to the rim. When I got them I washed them by hand and immediatly set about seasoning them like a cast irom skillet. I used a grapeseed oil with a high smoking point and left it on a burner just below the smoking point until a layer of fat was visible whien I dumped out the oil. I wiped it with paper towels and then put it in a low oven for an added hour. The result is a pan that is almost as nonstick as teflon and we can use ordinary metal spatulas turners on. It works so well. It is heavy but not a much as cast iron. Altogether we are delighted with the pans we got--and they didn't cost an arm and a leg.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
81andwise
Pasco, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great skillet
3/5/2012

Customer review by charley7

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by charley7
by charley7

This is a the best skillet. You have to put a film of oil (not a lot) and heat it up before putting in food, the oil should shimmer. If the skillet isn't hot enough the food will stick but you don't want it smoking hot, medium to medium high depending on your stove. No lid but I use a Mainstays universal lid I purchased at Walmart, it doesn't really fit but it works (the skillet has rounded edges for pouring). The handle is long but it fits in oven (not the lid) to 400 degrees. Its really a solid skillet, I bought it because I wanted a large skillet that won't warp. When you realize this is a triply clad skillet, the weight and size, you can't believe they can make it and sell it at such a low price, its a great value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
charley7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
needs a helper handle and a lid.
2/4/2010

Customer review by jann10333

4.0 stars 2/4/2010 by jann10333
by jann10333

pros: great skillet, love the shape, nice size. nothing sticks if you heat it empty and make sure the oil is hot before adding your food. Made chicken parm the other day from stovetop to oven and just needed to soak the pan in water for a few mins. to get out some burnt on cheese.. Planning on getting the rest of the pieces to replace the rest of my pans. cons: really could use a helper handle for pouring out sauces and definitely should have a lid that fits...my local Walmart has a universal lid but not by Tramontina and it is to small. That is why i gave it a 4 instead of a 5. I wanted the skillet for the slanted sides rather than the straight saute pan side but really want a lid

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jann10333
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This full tri-ply cookware -- just like ALL-CLAD
10/3/2011

Customer review by KitchenGrunt

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by KitchenGrunt
by KitchenGrunt

Cook's Illustrated (America's Test Kitchen) has found Walmart's Tramontina Gourmet line of cookware equivlent to ALL-CLAD at one third the cost. Cook's illustrated (CI) cut-through the Tramantina Gourmet cookware and found that it is full tri-ply. The tri-ply sandwich of 18/10 stainless - Aluminium - 18/10 stainless runs throughout the cookware from the bottom to the walls. CI found its heat distribution and cooking characteristics the same as comparable ALL-CLAD pieces.

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KitchenGrunt
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tramontina TriPly Cookware - 12 inch Saute Pan
4/18/2009

Customer review by ThatsAmore

5.0 stars 4/18/2009 by ThatsAmore
by ThatsAmore

A fantastic value. Highly recommended by the Cook's Illustrated magazine / America's Test Kitchen - they say it is comparable to All-clad and others - and it absolutely is, at a fraction of the price! I bought and love the 8-pc. set, and have been buying the additional pieces as they come available on line at Walmart.com. Do not hesitate in the least to buy this cookware!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThatsAmore
Branford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product.
8/24/2010

Customer review by shed469

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by shed469
by shed469

Seems, after a few weeks, to be a very good buy. I work on the cooking surface and the bottom of the pan with Barkeeper's Friend after each use and it seems to be getting better as I go. However, from the beginning, it worked quite well for even heating and sticking at a minimum. The sticking was my main question. Working at medium heat seems to be no more clean up effort than a old Teflon skillet and not much more than a new non-stick. My son convinced me stainless is the way to go as a long term cooking solution and get away from replacing every few years. I had handled the pan prior to purchasing and was well aware of the handle. It is a bit lacking in the ergonomic factor for a frying pan this large and this heavy. The pan and handle are both designed for easy cleaning and that cancels out the handle problem for me. In fact, I am now thinking about getting more pieces of this styled cookware.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shed469
Southern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Close to All-Clad and a great bargain from China
9/16/2009

Customer review by WillieCook

4.0 stars 9/16/2009 by WillieCook
by WillieCook

I have this pan as well as a similar 12-inch All-Clad. I paid 2 1/2 times more for the A-C, but the A-C did come with a lid... The A-C is lighter, which along with the handle shape, makes it easier to use and less apt to tip unexpectedly when carrying or pouring from it. The Tramontina actually has a more highly polished interior surface than the A-C, but mine has a couple of small pits (I bought it via site-to-store and should have checked it out better). Be sure to clean well (Bar Keepers Friend) before using as there seemed to be polishing compound residue left on the pan (and especially on the inside of lids of other Tramontina pans I have purchased). But enough of the nit-picking, for the price you can't beat this product, if only it was made in the US like A-C...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WillieCook
Meadville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
This pan works as well as it's $$$ competition
2/25/2012

Customer review by JBarleycorn

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by JBarleycorn
by JBarleycorn

In the short time I've had this pan, I've not only sautéed with it, but used it to oven roast chicken as well. (Preheat pan in 450⁰ F oven, place seasoned and lightly olive oiled bird breast side up with trussed legs [tied together w/kitchen twine] for 35 to 50 minutes depending on size, turn oven off and let bird remain in the oven for an equal amount of time.) I have their 12" 5qt. covered Jumbo Cooker and several of Tramontina's non-stick pans and cannot rate them highly enough. When a glass cover cracked in hot dishwater for the 12" deep fry pan I have, the woman in their customer service replaced the entire pan as I mentioned that I liked it, but the coating was wearing off. She said they'd had an early early problem and replaced everything for no charge.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBarleycorn
"A River's Width" from California's State Capitol
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Why pay more?
6/20/2009

Customer review by ChasCook

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by ChasCook
by ChasCook

I was about to make an investment in a set of All Clad cookware when I ran across the Cook's Illustrated review and rating of cookware sets. I was astonished to see that the Tramontina rated a close second to All Clad but at a fraction of the price! I've owned the set for just over a month now and couldn't be happier with my purchase. In my kitchen, the 12" saute pan is a workhorse and gets lots of use, especially on weekends. In my opinion, it seems identical to All Clad in terms of cooking characteristics - the best feature is how quickly it heats up and maintains a steady heat over a moderate flame. I have sauteed chicken, vegetables and eggs in this pan and it performed admirably. It looks great, feels great in your hand and cleans up nicely.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChasCook
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent performance from a value pan
5/31/2009

Customer review by VFinNF

5.0 stars 5/31/2009 by VFinNF
by VFinNF

The whole tri-ply clad series are excellent performers at a great price. I cook and manage a kitchen professionally, and cook at home. Without spending an arm and a leg I've looked high and low for a descent brand/pan for home use and never found it until I ran across this line from Trimontina. I've tried out and swore at more than a couple of the fancy "triple clad bottom" pans from famous chefs and fancy names. The problem is always that those thick bottoms, combined with this as paper sides meant wasted heat and burnt interior sides. Some of these pans cant even boil water the bottoms are so well "clad". Not so with this line of pans. From boiling water to searing a piece of meat and a proper saute' of summer squash, these are a real treat to use. The handles are a little narrow but I'll take that any day.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VFinNF
Niagara Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My go-to pan for just about everything
6/11/2011

Customer review by AjmNOM

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by AjmNOM
by AjmNOM

The tri-ply saute pans seem to be made of a slightly thicker bonded material than the sauce pots (or the jumbo cooker, for that matter) and this means that they hold their heat slightly better/more evenly. After a few weeks of almost everyday use, this pan has help up well to both high heat on the cooktop as well as braising in the oven Don't be put off by the size, as even for smaller meals, the large surface area at the bottom makes it easier to turn/sear meat and veggies. In fact, the only quibble I have with it is that it's slightly smaller than the 12" all-clad equivalent. But for 1/4 the price, you'll never miss it. This is the pan that I turn to time and time again for everyday stove top use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AjmNOM
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not too heavy, GREAT product
1/3/2009

Customer review by Simplifyingmylife

5.0 stars 1/3/2009 by Simplifyingmylife
by Simplifyingmylife

Tramontina did a great job with this cookware and WalMart has it for a great price. It's worth every penny and more. Since I have medical problems with my hands, my old cast iron and other heavy or awkward cookware is being replaced. I have always liked stainless steel and hated nonstick surfaces. This series of cookware is excellent with great handles and performance and the pots don't have those horrid glass lids!. I own several pieces now and am buying more as I find it. I find this cookware comparable to or even better than all the top of the line Revere and other stainless I've owned over the years. It would be nice if ALL pieces were available open stock AND we need lids for the fry pans that match the ones for the pots. In addition, the inside of the pans have to be cleaned very well prior to first use. There is some sort of coating on them. Since Wal Mart has other Tramontina sets, remember to buy the three-ply series (no seams) Seams cause problems over time (mine always separate a bit which causes problems with cleaning). If you are not accustomed to using stainless, remember that it does not need high heat and using extremely high heat on a stove top can cause damage to any stainless steel pan. Always use a spray oil or other fat or water to keep foods from sticking. Normal clean up is easy. When I burn or otherwise have a mess of brown, I simply add a few drops of dish detergent, add hot water and let it soak till after dinner. Otherwise, if I'm in a hurry, the old fashioned Chore Boy copper or stainless steel scrubbers are amazing and enhance the shine of the pan. For tougher messes, barkeepers friend (which I've used for years and keep on hand) is great. Stainless is so tough, you can even use oven cleaner if you like. Most of the time, I just clean my pots and pans in the sink with normal dish detergent. They do well in the dishwasher as well. Over all, a great product and a very good value..

Was this review helpful? (18) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Simplifyingmylife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks good but harder to clean than expected
2/8/2012

Customer review by rld1010

3.0 stars 2/8/2012 by rld1010
by rld1010

Bought the Tramontina 8, 10, 12" 18/10 TriPly-Clad Stainless Steel Saute Pans plus one additional pan. They easily compare in appearance and quality to the All-Clad brand, which I have the 14" wok. I am glad I purchased these items, however the stainless steel pans are all harder to clean than my non-stick pans. I found that using Bar Keepers Friend cleanser helps a lot. Without this cleanser I probably would have returned the pans. These pans have allowed me to cook on a lower heat since they retain the temperature for a longer time than my other pans. The stainless steel is safer for cooking and I am happy with the overall results.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rld1010
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not disappointed
2/11/2008

Customer review by womanonamission

4.0 stars 2/11/2008 by womanonamission
by womanonamission

I'd purchased the set of Tramontina cookware based on the rave reviews on the America's Test Kitchen bulletin boards and because the saute pans with the set are small I wanted to also include this large pan. I am glad that I did. It is great for fish, omelettes, and stir-fry. My only complaint is the interior finish became a bit marred after cooking. Nothing major though and it hasn't affected the function though. However, I must say that I have not tried using Bar Keeper's Friend to see if I can remove. Overall it is a great pan. Now I just have to use the stockpot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
womanonamission
Homewood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Decided to Return It!
1/14/2010

Customer review by Elgin2

4.0 stars 1/14/2010 by Elgin2
by Elgin2

After some thought I ended up returning this pan for a couple of reasons. Firstly it large and quite heavy. The narrow handle makes it somewhat unstable and I imagined that it would be very hard to lift from cooker to table if it were full. What it really needs is a second handle opposite the main one to make it more stable. The second reason was that it lacks a lid. I tried the lid from both the jumbo cooker and the 4qt casserole but neither one fit very well. In the end I bought the 4qt casserole and am glad that I did. This is a much more versatile pan that can easily transfer from cook top to oven to table and also includes a well fitting lid.

Was this review helpful? (5) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elgin2
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love this skillet!
6/30/2012

Customer review by notreallyme

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by notreallyme
by notreallyme

I love this skillet. My old skillet was a large aluminum skillet and I threw it out. I had no idea that the taste of food in this skillet would be better than when cooked in the old one. This skillet is easy to clean, cooks evenly, and is big enough for all my one-pan meals. I love it. The only thing I would change is to make the handle a bit wider - it is a little narrow, but really, so what. Everything else about this pan is wonderful. I am looking at other pans from this manufacturer now, as well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
notreallyme
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
ONLY ONE YOU NEED
4/25/2012

Customer review by paddycakes123

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by paddycakes123
by paddycakes123

love love this frying pan, use it everyday in every way no joke, breakfast, grilled cheese ,chicken cutlet , every one of my sisters will get one on the Holidays , Iwas looking high and low for the best frying pan , i cook way to much, with five kids .. this is really the best, non stick was always chipping, getting in my food , i'm really so happy will get most of the pieces, also the16 quart for sauce , meatballs , very very good quality,strong the price is great thank you walmart !!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paddycakes123
HOPEWELL JCT NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Heavy Pan
5/11/2012

Customer review by gogrammygogo

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by gogrammygogo
by gogrammygogo

This pan is perfect - the appearance, the durability, and the price! You will find similar pans for much, much more money. Just spray a little Pam on the bottom if the food is not super fatty. Clean-up is easy if you soak for a few minutes. I have NOT put this in the dishwasher and probably will not; I prefer to wash my pans by hand. The only "caution" I would make is that this pan is HEAVY. I am a strong woman of 50, but I am not sure an elderly lady would like it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gogrammygogo
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Pan!
7/14/2012

Customer review by HollyDogsMom

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by HollyDogsMom
by HollyDogsMom

nice weight not flimsy, sits level on flat surface, heats evenly, nice thick bottom, cooks and fries like a dream, high heat is not needed only medium to low heat, heats quickly and maintains the heat, easy clean up, looks just as nice as the Calphalon which is $99 for the 12" pan. For the price this pan is an absolute steal!!!! Will be buying the 10" in the near future.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HollyDogsMom
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews