Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

97 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

97 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 80 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
A WINNER all around!
5/20/2011

Customer review by SicilianChef

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by SicilianChef
by SicilianChef

Just bought another one for a friend. I own 2 of these myself, one for each of my homes. The quality is as good as All Clad but at a fraction of the price. I see reviews stating this is expensive, but obviously they are used to purchasing cookware in the dollar store. As far as a lid, yes you can purchase one directly from Tramontina. I actually did write to them to purchase this exact pan from them directly and their retail price with a 25% discount is $94.00 FOR THIS EXACT PAN. A steal at this price and Walmart is the only store that carries it.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SicilianChef
Seaford, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This full tri-ply cookware -- just like ALL-CLAD
10/3/2011

Customer review by KitchenGrunt

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by KitchenGrunt
by KitchenGrunt

Cook's Illustrated (America's Test Kitchen) has found Walmart's Tramontina Gourmet line of cookware equivlent to ALL-CLAD at one third the cost. Cook's illustrated (CI) cut-through the Tramantina Gourmet cookware and found that it is full tri-ply. The tri-ply sandwich of 18/10 stainless - Aluminium - 18/10 stainless runs throughout the cookware from the bottom to the walls. CI found its heat distribution and cooking characteristics the same as comparable ALL-CLAD pieces.

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KitchenGrunt
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tramontina TriPly Cookware - 12 inch Saute Pan
4/18/2009

Customer review by ThatsAmore

5.0 stars 4/18/2009 by ThatsAmore
by ThatsAmore

A fantastic value. Highly recommended by the Cook's Illustrated magazine / America's Test Kitchen - they say it is comparable to All-clad and others - and it absolutely is, at a fraction of the price! I bought and love the 8-pc. set, and have been buying the additional pieces as they come available on line at Walmart.com. Do not hesitate in the least to buy this cookware!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThatsAmore
Branford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not too heavy, GREAT product
1/3/2009

Customer review by Simplifyingmylife

5.0 stars 1/3/2009 by Simplifyingmylife
by Simplifyingmylife

Tramontina did a great job with this cookware and WalMart has it for a great price. It's worth every penny and more. Since I have medical problems with my hands, my old cast iron and other heavy or awkward cookware is being replaced. I have always liked stainless steel and hated nonstick surfaces. This series of cookware is excellent with great handles and performance and the pots don't have those horrid glass lids!. I own several pieces now and am buying more as I find it. I find this cookware comparable to or even better than all the top of the line Revere and other stainless I've owned over the years. It would be nice if ALL pieces were available open stock AND we need lids for the fry pans that match the ones for the pots. In addition, the inside of the pans have to be cleaned very well prior to first use. There is some sort of coating on them. Since Wal Mart has other Tramontina sets, remember to buy the three-ply series (no seams) Seams cause problems over time (mine always separate a bit which causes problems with cleaning). If you are not accustomed to using stainless, remember that it does not need high heat and using extremely high heat on a stove top can cause damage to any stainless steel pan. Always use a spray oil or other fat or water to keep foods from sticking. Normal clean up is easy. When I burn or otherwise have a mess of brown, I simply add a few drops of dish detergent, add hot water and let it soak till after dinner. Otherwise, if I'm in a hurry, the old fashioned Chore Boy copper or stainless steel scrubbers are amazing and enhance the shine of the pan. For tougher messes, barkeepers friend (which I've used for years and keep on hand) is great. Stainless is so tough, you can even use oven cleaner if you like. Most of the time, I just clean my pots and pans in the sink with normal dish detergent. They do well in the dishwasher as well. Over all, a great product and a very good value..

Was this review helpful? (18) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Simplifyingmylife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
At last a frying pan that works
4/29/2012

Customer review by 81andwise

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by 81andwise
by 81andwise

I purchased the 12 inch and the 10 inch fersions of this pan because it was recommended on a cooking site. It is tri-ply meaning that there is a layer of aluminum sandwiched between the inner and outer stainless steel surfaces all the way up to the rim. When I got them I washed them by hand and immediatly set about seasoning them like a cast irom skillet. I used a grapeseed oil with a high smoking point and left it on a burner just below the smoking point until a layer of fat was visible whien I dumped out the oil. I wiped it with paper towels and then put it in a low oven for an added hour. The result is a pan that is almost as nonstick as teflon and we can use ordinary metal spatulas turners on. It works so well. It is heavy but not a much as cast iron. Altogether we are delighted with the pans we got--and they didn't cost an arm and a leg.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
81andwise
Pasco, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great skillet
3/5/2012

Customer review by charley7

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by charley7
by charley7

This is a the best skillet. You have to put a film of oil (not a lot) and heat it up before putting in food, the oil should shimmer. If the skillet isn't hot enough the food will stick but you don't want it smoking hot, medium to medium high depending on your stove. No lid but I use a Mainstays universal lid I purchased at Walmart, it doesn't really fit but it works (the skillet has rounded edges for pouring). The handle is long but it fits in oven (not the lid) to 400 degrees. Its really a solid skillet, I bought it because I wanted a large skillet that won't warp. When you realize this is a triply clad skillet, the weight and size, you can't believe they can make it and sell it at such a low price, its a great value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charley7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
needs a helper handle and a lid.
2/4/2010

Customer review by jann10333

4.0 stars 2/4/2010 by jann10333
by jann10333

pros: great skillet, love the shape, nice size. nothing sticks if you heat it empty and make sure the oil is hot before adding your food. Made chicken parm the other day from stovetop to oven and just needed to soak the pan in water for a few mins. to get out some burnt on cheese.. Planning on getting the rest of the pieces to replace the rest of my pans. cons: really could use a helper handle for pouring out sauces and definitely should have a lid that fits...my local Walmart has a universal lid but not by Tramontina and it is to small. That is why i gave it a 4 instead of a 5. I wanted the skillet for the slanted sides rather than the straight saute pan side but really want a lid

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jann10333
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This pan works as well as it's $$$ competition
2/25/2012

Customer review by JBarleycorn

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by JBarleycorn
by JBarleycorn

In the short time I've had this pan, I've not only sautéed with it, but used it to oven roast chicken as well. (Preheat pan in 450⁰ F oven, place seasoned and lightly olive oiled bird breast side up with trussed legs [tied together w/kitchen twine] for 35 to 50 minutes depending on size, turn oven off and let bird remain in the oven for an equal amount of time.) I have their 12" 5qt. covered Jumbo Cooker and several of Tramontina's non-stick pans and cannot rate them highly enough. When a glass cover cracked in hot dishwater for the 12" deep fry pan I have, the woman in their customer service replaced the entire pan as I mentioned that I liked it, but the coating was wearing off. She said they'd had an early early problem and replaced everything for no charge.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBarleycorn
"A River's Width" from California's State Capitol
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
ONLY ONE YOU NEED
4/25/2012

Customer review by paddycakes123

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by paddycakes123
by paddycakes123

love love this frying pan, use it everyday in every way no joke, breakfast, grilled cheese ,chicken cutlet , every one of my sisters will get one on the Holidays , Iwas looking high and low for the best frying pan , i cook way to much, with five kids .. this is really the best, non stick was always chipping, getting in my food , i'm really so happy will get most of the pieces, also the16 quart for sauce , meatballs , very very good quality,strong the price is great thank you walmart !!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paddycakes123
HOPEWELL JCT NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Heavy Pan
5/11/2012

Customer review by gogrammygogo

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by gogrammygogo
by gogrammygogo

This pan is perfect - the appearance, the durability, and the price! You will find similar pans for much, much more money. Just spray a little Pam on the bottom if the food is not super fatty. Clean-up is easy if you soak for a few minutes. I have NOT put this in the dishwasher and probably will not; I prefer to wash my pans by hand. The only "caution" I would make is that this pan is HEAVY. I am a strong woman of 50, but I am not sure an elderly lady would like it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gogrammygogo
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/14/2012

Customer review by HatLady60

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by HatLady60
by HatLady60

wonderful line of cookware. Professional grade. And no Teflon. I don;t have to worry about chemicals getting in the food. Even heating.Next I will buy the 8qt. stock pot with drainer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HatLady60
shippensburg,pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Looks good but harder to clean than expected
2/8/2012

Customer review by rld1010

3.0 stars 2/8/2012 by rld1010
by rld1010

Bought the Tramontina 8, 10, 12" 18/10 TriPly-Clad Stainless Steel Saute Pans plus one additional pan. They easily compare in appearance and quality to the All-Clad brand, which I have the 14" wok. I am glad I purchased these items, however the stainless steel pans are all harder to clean than my non-stick pans. I found that using Bar Keepers Friend cleanser helps a lot. Without this cleanser I probably would have returned the pans. These pans have allowed me to cook on a lower heat since they retain the temperature for a longer time than my other pans. The stainless steel is safer for cooking and I am happy with the overall results.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rld1010
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Why pay more?
6/20/2009

Customer review by ChasCook

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by ChasCook
by ChasCook

I was about to make an investment in a set of All Clad cookware when I ran across the Cook's Illustrated review and rating of cookware sets. I was astonished to see that the Tramontina rated a close second to All Clad but at a fraction of the price! I've owned the set for just over a month now and couldn't be happier with my purchase. In my kitchen, the 12" saute pan is a workhorse and gets lots of use, especially on weekends. In my opinion, it seems identical to All Clad in terms of cooking characteristics - the best feature is how quickly it heats up and maintains a steady heat over a moderate flame. I have sauteed chicken, vegetables and eggs in this pan and it performed admirably. It looks great, feels great in your hand and cleans up nicely.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChasCook
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Really well made
11/18/2012

Customer review by ManWhoCook

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by ManWhoCook
by ManWhoCook

As good as any triple clad pan. Bacon cooked evenly in the pan without need to reposition center to side. Cleans easily as long as you not overheat the pan (keep it at medium).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ManWhoCook
Berkeley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this skillet!
6/30/2012

Customer review by notreallyme

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by notreallyme
by notreallyme

I love this skillet. My old skillet was a large aluminum skillet and I threw it out. I had no idea that the taste of food in this skillet would be better than when cooked in the old one. This skillet is easy to clean, cooks evenly, and is big enough for all my one-pan meals. I love it. The only thing I would change is to make the handle a bit wider - it is a little narrow, but really, so what. Everything else about this pan is wonderful. I am looking at other pans from this manufacturer now, as well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notreallyme
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Pan!
7/14/2012

Customer review by HollyDogsMom

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by HollyDogsMom
by HollyDogsMom

nice weight not flimsy, sits level on flat surface, heats evenly, nice thick bottom, cooks and fries like a dream, high heat is not needed only medium to low heat, heats quickly and maintains the heat, easy clean up, looks just as nice as the Calphalon which is $99 for the 12" pan. For the price this pan is an absolute steal!!!! Will be buying the 10" in the near future.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HollyDogsMom
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My go-to pan for just about everything
6/11/2011

Customer review by AjmNOM

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by AjmNOM
by AjmNOM

The tri-ply saute pans seem to be made of a slightly thicker bonded material than the sauce pots (or the jumbo cooker, for that matter) and this means that they hold their heat slightly better/more evenly. After a few weeks of almost everyday use, this pan has help up well to both high heat on the cooktop as well as braising in the oven Don't be put off by the size, as even for smaller meals, the large surface area at the bottom makes it easier to turn/sear meat and veggies. In fact, the only quibble I have with it is that it's slightly smaller than the 12" all-clad equivalent. But for 1/4 the price, you'll never miss it. This is the pan that I turn to time and time again for everyday stove top use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AjmNOM
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic
8/3/2012

Customer review by TVillain

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by TVillain
by TVillain

After doing a lot of research and reading a lot of reviews I bought this Tramontina pan instead of the brand-name pan that cost 4 times as much. This pan is fantastic. The finish is great and I've used it quite a bit already with great results.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVillain
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice pan
1/24/2008

Customer review by TXGuy

4.0 stars 1/24/2008 by TXGuy
by TXGuy

Great performance for the $, bought the full set after creating a fine pan sauce for the first use. The 12" size is great, no crowding. Nice even heat, easy clean up and good looks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TXGuy
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not disappointed
2/11/2008

Customer review by womanonamission

4.0 stars 2/11/2008 by womanonamission
by womanonamission

I'd purchased the set of Tramontina cookware based on the rave reviews on the America's Test Kitchen bulletin boards and because the saute pans with the set are small I wanted to also include this large pan. I am glad that I did. It is great for fish, omelettes, and stir-fry. My only complaint is the interior finish became a bit marred after cooking. Nothing major though and it hasn't affected the function though. However, I must say that I have not tried using Bar Keeper's Friend to see if I can remove. Overall it is a great pan. Now I just have to use the stockpot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
womanonamission
Homewood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews