Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

55 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

55 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-20 of 50 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
99.9% as good as All-Clad
5/5/2009

Customer review by KEL44

5.0 stars 5/5/2009 by KEL44
by KEL44

I'm a professional chef and I own quite a bit of All-Clad, Viking, and other multi-ply stainless pieces. I've found the Tramontina to be on par with the All-Clad, by and large. The only thing I would change about these products, is to make the rim around the top of all the pieces, curved for easier pouring (a la All Clad). Now for the price that's not a point that I will let bother me, but it would improve these pieces, in my opinion. Be sure to wash yours before using, I recommend a good scrubbing with Bar Keeper's Friend; there is some sort of coating/finish on Tramontina when delivered that can cause the pieces to discolor when you first use them.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEL44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
excellent piece
5/26/2009

Customer review by jaysee9

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by jaysee9
by jaysee9

product is very high quality, higher than i expected at this price. this is fully clad cookware, not just an aluminum disc on the bottom as with lower end versions. lid and pasta insert (it goes down to about 1.25 inches from the bottom of the pot) fit perfectly and evenly. handles are heavy, high quality and riveted well. only drawback is that it's made in china, but with the American-made equivalent costing around 5 times as much, it was a pretty easy decision. it has a mirror finish, which is not shown very well in the provided product photo. attached picture is to show thickness of metal.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaysee9
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Pan
9/12/2007

Customer review by ErieShopper

5.0 stars 9/12/2007 by ErieShopper
by ErieShopper

This pan is much more than I expected. First of all, it has the NSF (national sanitation foundation) stamp on the bottom, for those of you who don't know, that means it is approved for restaurant useage, which translates in to really durable construction that can take a beating. Secondly, it looks beautiful, but then Im a sucker for mirror polished stainless steel. The pan just feels top quality, and at an unbelievable price. I can assure you I will be purchasing more pans made by Tramontina with the try-ply construction. I can't say enough good things about this pan and the years of great meals I will be able to make with it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ErieShopper
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Kitchen Workhorse
6/25/2009

Customer review by Sproquita

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by Sproquita
by Sproquita

I bought this stockpot over a year ago and use it several times a week for boiling pasta and steaming vegetables. It's a great price, easy to clean, heats evenly, and the built in colander makes straining a snap.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sproquita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
great pot!
12/9/2011

Customer review by THMO

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by THMO
by THMO

I bought the Tramontina 10-piece set a year ago, and just added the 8qt pot (set comes w/a 5 & 12 qt, but nothing in-between). Love the pasta-insert included with this! I rated these pots very highly last year and now after a full year of use, can confidently rate them as highly! I can't say enough about them! It was my 1st use of stainless cookware & I was nervous about sticking/hard to clean...not an issue! I use olive oil spray, but even without, a quick soak & clean-up is easy. Like other reviewers said, buy the barkeepers friend immediately (next to the comet/ajax in the cleaning supplies aisle of Target). Pots can look discolored, even when clean, but the barkeepers friend works like magic!! They still look brand new. Friends comment on how pretty the pots are, and they're heavy! Purchased the set after seeing the review on America's Test Kitchen/Cooks Illustrated...rated a close 2nd to All-clad. Makes me wonder if they're private-labeled by All-clad? Just saw 7qt all-clad w/ pasta insert on sur la table website for $399! Unless you're into brand names & have $ to burn, why pay hundreds more? What a great value...so glad I purchased!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
THMO
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Cleaning TIPS
2/23/2011

Customer review by cherylinOC

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by cherylinOC
by cherylinOC

I have tons of All-Clad and some of these pieces. This cookware is easy to clean if you know how. I teach cooking and love to give out tips. So here is one for any stainless steel pot that "discolors" after cooking something, especially after rice or pasta: forget Barkeepers Friend! Instead use some vinegar or lemon juice (even RealLemon will do). Rub into the pan and the discoloring will disappear! Simple.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cherylinOC
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
All-Clad Equal at 1/4 the Price
5/16/2009

Customer review by ATKWatcher

5.0 stars 5/16/2009 by ATKWatcher
by ATKWatcher

Cook's Illustrated rated the 8 piece set equal to All-Clad in the June 09 issue. Since then, I made it a point to track down the additional pieces to complete my Tramontina collection. Wal-Mart carries most of them either online or at select stores and, because they are frequently out-of-stock, this makes it challenging to say the least. I now have most of the items in their 18/10 TriPly clad catalog and each piece is beautiful. The 8qt stock pot comes with the pasta insert, which can double as a collander or a steamer. The pot it replaces for me had a disc bottom and needed to remain covered in order to come to a boil on my stove in any reasonable time. When I filled the Tramontina pot 3/4 full of water and started it on medium high heat, it was at a full rolling boil in less than 15 minutes and remained at the boil after I dropped the one pound of pasta into it until it was fully cooked 8 minutes later. It is easy to clean and to maintain its appearance (occasional use of Barkeeper's Friend is suggested). The equivalent All-Clad pot costs more than $340. That's nearly four times the price of this pot. I highly recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ATKWatcher
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best stock pot for the money!
8/10/2011

Customer review by PKSmart

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by PKSmart
by PKSmart

I researched for a few hours before buying this stock pot. It was well worth it! It has a nice heavy base that is very important. I have used this for cooking pasta - and the included insert works perfect for this. I also cooked a large batch of spaghetti sauce using fresh tomatoes. No worry about burning the sauce as long as you keep the heat low. I plan to make chicken stock and will use the insert with this as well to help drain the bones and veggies from the stock.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PKSmart
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Suitable for Induction Cooking
10/8/2011

Customer review by RQFNY

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by RQFNY
by RQFNY

This stockpot is a great value. It works on my induction cooktop and will work on any other type of heat source. The Pasta Insert is of little value since unless you only fill the pot halfway with water, the pasta water will boil over the side of the pot. The pasta insert may be used as a steamer insert and one can put about 6 cups of water in the pot before the water covers the bottom of the pasta insert. This is great value for the money. I have the 12 1

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RQFNY
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
5/30/2011

Customer review by SteveInMinnesota

4.0 stars 5/30/2011 by SteveInMinnesota
by SteveInMinnesota

I bought this to add to my other Tramontina pots since I make pasta twice a week. In the short time I have had it, it has worked great. For some reason, the pasta doesn't foam up like it did when I used other pots. It does take a little longer to heat up but the results are worth it. Very easy to clean as are the other Tramontina pots.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteveInMinnesota
Little Canada, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Rusted after 2 uses
1/19/2010

Customer review by stevekew

2.0 stars 1/19/2010 by stevekew
by stevekew

I purchased this pot after many good reviews. The pot was heavy and well constructed. My problem with it was that the strainer rusted after only two uses. This obviously was not made of 18/10 stainless as advertised. I returned it and got my money back.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stevekew
Guilford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Very happy
11/29/2012

Customer review by cookingintexas

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by cookingintexas
by cookingintexas

Just replaced the last of my wedding pots and pans from 36 years ago with Tramontina and couldn't be happier. Cooks as well as my daughter's all clad but at a fraction of the cost. I love that I can use a lower heat and that it holds the heat so well. Can't wait to use this pot for my Christmas eve gumbo. Delivery was incredibly fast.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cookingintexas
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Almost Perfect
8/5/2011

Customer review by SewSammy

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by SewSammy
by SewSammy

About a month ago I purchased the 10-piece Tramontina stainless steel Tri-ply cookware at a great price and shipping price. To round out the set, I purchased the 8-quart stock pot. However, it arrived with a dent in the bottom which appeared to have occurred at the plant, not in shipping. I returned the 8-qt pot to my local Walmart store and they accepted the return without question! Meanwhile, knowing I really wanted the 8-qt pot, I ordered a second one. This one arrived with two very, very small dents at the bottom of the pot, but I am very satisfied otherwise. Love my new set of cookware!! Like other reviews, I have cooked with a lower temp and clean up has been a breeze with Barkeeper's Friend. Great cookware at an excellent price. Thanks, Walmart for making it so easy and affordable!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SewSammy
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
As Good as All-Clad!
5/25/2009

Customer review by finyin

5.0 stars 5/25/2009 by finyin
by finyin

The only design difference that I can tell is that All-Clad has the smallest bit more surface area in direct contact with the burner. The pricing difference is phenomenal! The Tramontina triply-clad cookware is beautiful also... what a great find and great deal... thank you Walmart. My only question is when will you offer a full line of open stock triply-clad Tramontina? In order to get the one quart saucepan, with your current offerings, I would have to buy the 8 piece set. Hope the marketing department will step up to the plate on this matter and deliver what the consumer really wants and needs from Tramontina...

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
finyin
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
a tremendous deal
6/26/2009

Customer review by Jayw341

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by Jayw341
by Jayw341

The stock pot is great. I don't know if a fully clad vessel is actually required for most stock pot tasks, but I really like the thick walls and durability. It's also 1/4 the price of a comparable All Clad set-up. The only thing I am not totally satisfied with is the lid fit. While tight on the stock pot, it's a little loose on the thinner walled pasta insert.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jayw341
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great value for solid pot
12/14/2011

Customer review by bvus

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by bvus
by bvus

Overall a high quality pot. The finish is a little funky. Not as clean in details as an All Clad pot, but this pot is a small fraction of the price and functionally does the exact same thing.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bvus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth every penny
1/28/2013

Customer review by LoveHateInLA

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by LoveHateInLA
by LoveHateInLA

I already own the 10-piece Tramontina cook set and had bought the smaller fry pan to go with it. After seeing the stock pot I thought I'd complet the set. I'm a vegetarian home gourmet and work as a technician in a field where tools need to be reliable. I really like preparing food and eating well so it made sense to get the right cooking tools. This stock pot, like all the rest of the set, is aesthetically beautiful, sturdily made and works perfectly. I'm satisfied with the large size for family dinners, I like that everything fits well and the pot heats quickly. Its more expensive than aluminum or single-ply steel but much less than the All-clad brand. I expect to be enjoyng this the rest of my life and in that perspective, its worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveHateInLA
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/26/2012

Customer review by Grammeeof5

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by Grammeeof5
by Grammeeof5

I love Tramontina. It's equal to the higher price All Clad in everyway except the price. I bought the full set over a year ago and I still love them. They are a joy to cook with and they clean up so easy. I wish I had bought these when I got married 40 years ago. They would have been my first and last set instead of my 3rd and last.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grammeeof5
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/26/2012

Customer review by popoj

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by popoj
by popoj

Great pot. Goes with the rest of my Tramontina tri-ply set! Works great! Cleans easily! looks great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
popoj
san francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
5/2/2010

Customer review by Doreen268

4.0 stars 5/2/2010 by Doreen268
by Doreen268

This is a NICE pot with steamer and lid, heavy duty. Why did I not buy YEARS ago???? It has heft and quality. I plan to use this with my summer harvest - alert my freezer...

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doreen268
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews