Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 327 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

327 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

327 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
252
4 stars
57
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 254 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 254 total reviews
1-20 of 254 reviews
Limited by Temperature!
2/28/2008

Customer review by CindyLou50

4.0 stars 2/28/2008 by CindyLou50
by CindyLou50

I was really excited when I purchased this Dutch Oven. I love my old cast iron, but not the maintenance. Upon opening this I found that the maximum temp for the base is 450 and for the lid 350 (because of the cheap knob). This is a well-made, sturdy Dutch Oven, but those temperature limits will also limit what I can cook in it (I use my Big Green Egg for a lot of cooking in the 500-600 range and the old cast iron can handle it). Also found out that the porcelain coated cast iron cannot be preheated in the oven empty (which I also do for several recipes). I also wish they had offered this in something other than avocado green! All that being said, if you cook your soups, cobblers, casseroles and roasts using "normal" temperatures you'll love this dutch oven.

Was this review helpful? (119) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CindyLou50
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Knob suggetion
10/17/2009

Customer review by cooksalot77

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by cooksalot77
by cooksalot77

On America's Test Kitchen they suggested going to your local hardware store to pick up an oven save knob. Just get a metal draw pull, I did this for just over $1 it works great.

Was this review helpful? (73) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cooksalot77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Surprised
2/18/2008

Customer review by womanonamission

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by womanonamission
by womanonamission

My only dislike of this dutch oven is the knob. I wish it could withstand higher temperatures. The color is a bit odd for me, but the quality of the pot is really good. I will most likely try to replace the knob on the lid so that I can use this pot at higher temperatures. I made a big pot of country style beans and they cooked perfectly. I can't wait to make coq au vin in this pot. I definitely tried finding a similar pot at TJMaxx/Marshall's but could not find a pot of this size at this price. Since I don't have an unlimited budget and would like to be able to afford to cook in the pot after my purchase this is definitely a great bargain. I can afford to shop for food after purchasing it. Not sure if this is an issue for LeCreuset, Chantal, or Lodge dutch ovens but one down side to this pot is that you have to season the rims of the lid and the pot. Not a big deal though.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
womanonamission
Homewood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
cooks illutstrated was right!
12/24/2007

Customer review by msloobakes

5.0 stars 12/24/2007 by msloobakes
by msloobakes

I made my first loaf of no knead bread ala Cooks Illustrated who also recommended this dutch oven. Happy with the pot and the bread!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msloobakes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect
4/6/2009

Customer review by foodguy

5.0 stars 4/6/2009 by foodguy
by foodguy

No difference between the Tramontian at $40 and the top of the line Le Creuset dutch oven for nearly $275. Have tried both.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foodguy
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
Great Value
4/28/2010

Customer review by Sheba123

5.0 stars 4/28/2010 by Sheba123
by Sheba123

I bought this dutch oven after reading about it on cooks.com. They rated it very highly just ahead of the lodge porcelain dutch oven which costs 10 dollars more. After using it several times I can tell you it is an incredible value and I am shocked that it is as affordable as it is. It heats and cooks evenly and quickly and I love it. You have to read the instructions and take care of it or you will scratch or nick the porcelain enamel. I have had absolutely no issues with mine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sheba123
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not Good
9/22/2009

Customer review by IndependentViews

2.0 stars 9/22/2009 by IndependentViews
by IndependentViews

I purchased the Tramontina 6.5 qt. Dutch Oven and the 3 qt. Braiser. I don't know how these compare to other similar priced cast iron products but this is what I found with these. The enamel finish is not great but not bad for the price. The Dutch Oven had a large, quite obvious, half-inch chip in the enamel. The interior of the lid for the Braiser had a chip of green enamel in it from some other product but was enameled around it. It protrudes prominently. While it is in there securely for now, being enameled over, I imagine with the stresses of heating and cooling, it will eventually chip out exposing the metal. This will rust and expand, chipping out a larger and larger area of the enamel. The pot would be ruined. I ordered another set. The pot of the Dutch Oven was OK. The casting of the lid was not good, with ripples and variations of thickness. The lid of the Braiser was even worse than the first with imperfections, points of metal, sticking up through the enamel finish. These would of course rust, chipping out the enamel in a progressively larger area. I mixed and matched the pieces to get the best set and returned the rest. In truth, I was not very happy with the best of the parts, but figured for the price I shouldn't expect too much. I seasoned the edges of the pots and the lids. I guess these are not enameled because they would eventually chip from putting the heavy lid on and off. While cleaning the drips of oil I caused during the seasoning process I noticed many more defects. Small chips in the enamel around the edges. The dome of one of the lids is way off center with the rim, causing the rim on one side to be twice as wide as the rim on the other side. While the rim on the narrow side is still wide enough to sit on the edge of the pot, it is just barely. I don't know how you cast something that poorly. On the rims of the lids are numerous bumps and ridges that will cause the lid to sit up off of the pot and not to seat and seal properly. I've been fileing these down. Quite a task. The best you could say about the quality of the casting is that it is mediocre. The overall quality control during the manufacturing process and before final shipment appears to be non-existent. You get what you get. I no longer think this product is worth the price. There are too many defects to expect them to last for years even though they are cast iron. If you care about the quality of the things you have, these are simply not something you would want in your home.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndependentViews
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Recommended by America's Test Kitchen
8/5/2009

Customer review by ANN9172

5.0 stars 8/5/2009 by ANN9172
by ANN9172

America's Test Kitchen rated this as performing as well as the most expensive brand. A couple of important information items they mention. 1) Handle: Only safe to 400 degrees. However, you can purchase a metal cabinet handle at the hardware store to use in an oven up to 500 degrees. 2) They claim they contacted the manufacturer who said it would be safe to use in a 500 degree oven as long as you put it in the oven before turning on the heat. The danger is putting it into an already hot oven. This is such a great value! Don't forget to season the exposed cast iron before use. I expect I'll get many years of use out of this, and I saved a ton of money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ANN9172
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cast Iron Dutch Oven
2/26/2009

Customer review by siimba55

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by siimba55
by siimba55

I bought this item on recommendation of America's Test Kitchen. It is everything they said it was! Cooked a couple stews and soups. You must remember to follow usage directions as properly. For example: not to raise the heat too high. Low and low/medium seems to be the best on the stove top. It can also be used in a 400F oven. Haven't tried that yet. Yes it is heavy. It is enameled cast iron after all! But, its 6.5 quart capacity is more than enough even for a family of four or five. Clean up was a snap with a non-scratch Scotch-like scrubber [Didn't need to actually scrub.]. Cook times are long, but that was the whole point of this type of purchase. Great tender and tasty is the final product. You want fast, get a microwave. You want tender tasty meat and veggies? This is the way to go, if you do not want a crock pot. Cost wise, I think it is a great deal for the quality! The most expensive Dutch oven got the best ratings from ATK. This one was very close and for the money was a better buy for the occasional user like me. Definitely a great buy! Walmart had a great price too! Their site to store with no shipping cost is a definite plus!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
siimba55
Danvers, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Best Bang for The Buck!
11/25/2007

Customer review by LeMichel

5.0 stars 11/25/2007 by LeMichel
by LeMichel

Was so excited to see this in the Canal Winchester, Ohio Walmart because I wouldn't have to go to Williams Sonoma! My first dish was Boeuf Bourguignonne and it turned out FANTASTIC! I am cursed (for now) with using an electric range but this product was made so well, temp. control was not a problem. I am hoping that the Canal Winchester store carries the the Tramontina cast iron line as well as the cutlery.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeMichel
Baltimore, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Perfect for No-Knead Bread!
6/1/2008

Customer review by BakerBoy1

5.0 stars 6/1/2008 by BakerBoy1
by BakerBoy1

This Dutch Oven is the perfect heavyweight pot for baking the no-knead (or low-knead) bread popularized by Mark Bittman of the New York Times. When baking this bread, the oven (and the pot) must be preheated to 500F, and the actual baking is done at 425F. Since this Dutch Oven's resin knob is only rated to 350F, it is a simple matter to replace the knob with a metal knob for a cabinet door (available for a couple of dollars at any hardware store) and a stainless steel or brass screw. If you want to keep the bread off the bottom of the pot (to prevent burning or overbaking), an 8" round wire cake rack inserted in the Dutch Oven will do the trick!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BakerBoy1
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product for the price
10/12/2009

Customer review by ContentCook

5.0 stars 10/12/2009 by ContentCook
by ContentCook

I have used this product for about 3 weeks, and I am delighted with how it performs. In my oven and on the cooktop, the results have been great. It is very heavy to handle, and I would consider that to be the only negative. Liked it so much that I have just purchased a second dutch oven as a gift for my daughter! I own a LeCreuset dutch oven that I love, but this is a good product for a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ContentCook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great investment!
12/2/2009

Customer review by Rosesdaughter

5.0 stars 12/2/2009 by Rosesdaughter
by Rosesdaughter

I have been searching for a substitute for those dreadfully expensive enameled cast iron pots for many years. I am very frugal AND very, very fussy. This pot is recommended by Cook's Illustrated as being everything that the expensive French pot is but cheaper. I have seen it in use on their television programs too! I was leery of using Wal Mart Site to Store but that worked out great. I was concerned that the product might not be perfect on arrival. The associate at the WM S to S allowed me to completely unpack the item and inspect it thoroughly before actually walking out with it. I knew that if it wasn't all I expected I could return it on the spot. I purchased the 6.5 qt. pot and the braiser. I used the braiser at Thanksgiving for the first time to prepare braised maple glazed carrots. Perfection! Everything about this pot was 5 star. I used the 6.5 qt. pot today to make gumbo. Again, a perfect performance in both the cooking experience and the cleanup. I admit I did have to reorganize my cabinet a bit to make room for these additions but they are both in an easy to access cabinet because I plan to get a lot of use out of them. I would caution any buyer to inspect the pot before you take it home. Buyers reviews have reported "waves" in the glaze and other defects. That would be a deal breaker for me. If you get a pot that isn't right, return it and reorder. WM is very accomodating to this. You will be happy with these pots. They are an investment and you will use them for years and years. I hope to order more sizes soon.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rosesdaughter
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best bread I ever made!
1/4/2008

Customer review by SeizeTheDay

5.0 stars 1/4/2008 by SeizeTheDay
by SeizeTheDay

On the strength of the Cook's Illustrated recommendation in the February 2008 issue, I purchased this Dutch oven at a store 30 miles away -- yes, a 60 mile round trip just to buy a pot! Most Walmarts carrying this item within a 100 mile radius of where I live are constantly out of stock, and I'm starting to wonder if Cook's Illustrated has provoked a nationwide "run" on this product! I've only had this Dutch oven for 4 days, but I have already made the most beautiful round loaf of bread I've ever made in my life; it looks exactly like the ones you see on all the bread cookbook covers. It has a perfect crust and tender crumb with the prerequisite holes found in European style artisan breads, and the recipe ("No-Knead Bread 2.0") can be found in the same February issue of Cook's Illustrated. I can't wait to start braising meat and look forward to a long and happy relationship with my new Dutch oven! I had a few dark streaks from baked-on oil (possibly from the seasoning I gave the raw edge around the rim), but a damp paper towel with a little baking soda took it off easily. I'm very happy with this product, and delighted with the money I saved.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeizeTheDay
Windsor, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Dutch Oven
2/4/2010

Customer review by Einstein1

5.0 stars 2/4/2010 by Einstein1
by Einstein1

I love this thing. First two things I made were beef stew and Italian suasage and peppers. I had always made them in a regular stainless pot and was blown away at how it came out in the dutch oven. Everything browned so much deeper in this pan but nothing burned! Both dishes tasted 100% better and I didn't change either recipe a bit. I never had something turn out so different just because of the pot I cooked it in. Amazing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Einstein1
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love this product!
11/22/2007

Customer review by 2kutekats

5.0 stars 11/22/2007 by 2kutekats
by 2kutekats

Looked elsewhere for enameled cast iron. Walmart had the best deal. Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2kutekats
Skowhegan, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bargain at twice the price
11/14/2009

Customer review by CrustyBreadBaker

5.0 stars 11/14/2009 by CrustyBreadBaker
by CrustyBreadBaker

This enameled cast-iron dutch oven is every bit as good as the imported ones that cost $200 more (can you believe that?). And it is larger than the Lodge at the same price. It is perfect in every way.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrustyBreadBaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tramontina 6.5 dutch oven
12/18/2009

Customer review by Grannytype67

5.0 stars 12/18/2009 by Grannytype67
by Grannytype67

I have only used once so far. Made a beef brisket and it was wonderful. I am going to make the no kneed bread today. There was a small chip on the bottom side, which I did not notice till I was cleaning up, but I do not think it will hurt anything. Overall, it is a good value and I hope to use it a lot. I also am going to get a different top knob so I can use at a higher temperature.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grannytype67
Melrose Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The best value
6/30/2010

Customer review by LovesToCookAndEAT

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by LovesToCookAndEAT
by LovesToCookAndEAT

Very well made. Very good price. I would recommend this to family and friends and I am very happy with it. It is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovesToCookAndEAT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
heavy but good
3/29/2009

Customer review by tiva

5.0 stars 3/29/2009 by tiva
by tiva

I bought this because of the Cooks Illustrated review. We already have 2 stainless steel dutch ovens, which we use constantly, but they are small and lightweight. We also have a cast iron dutch oven, but acidic food has problems in it, and it rusts when you store food in it. So now we have 4 dutch ovens, including this one. We cook a lot of grass-fed meat at very low temperatures, so dutch ovens are my main cooking tool. The more the merrier. This dutch oven is very heavy, but the quality seems excellent. The beef coquette recipe from Cooks Illustrated worked very well, and food came off easily. We will replace the plastic handle with a steel one asap, even though we'll mostly use this at very low oven temperatures. 25 years ago I was given a bunch of Le Creuset, but they left with an ex-husband. It's nice to find much less expensive versions (of the cookware, if not the first husband).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tiva
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 254 total reviews
1-20 of 254 reviews