Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

11 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

11 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-11 of 11 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

12/22/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/22/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This book takes place somewhere in the post-apocolyptic future. It stars an unnamed boy and his father, who are trying to proceed to the eastern US coast in hopes of finding some refuge from freezing winter temperatures. Along the way, they encounter hostile people who travel in marauding bands. It is elduded that most of the thugs they run into on the road have turned to cannibalism for a means of survival. Although never made clear, "The Road" probaby designates some highway that runs from TN to the western seaboard. Most of the book deals with the relationship between the father and son in the nightmearish world that they have come to live in. I thought the book was powerful. I was so into it, that I read it in under 24 hours. If you do not like dismal, horror type books, this is not for you. It is not a happy-go-lucky book with a feel-good ending. Instead, it tends to explore deep-rooted human emotions such as desparation and love.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/26/2008

Customer review by Gage26

5.0 stars 6/26/2008 by Gage26
by Gage26

After reading No Country for Old Men I decided to look up other books by Cormac McCarthy and I discovered "The Road". I read this incredible book in two days. It's a fantastic book full of moving imagery. Like others have said this book deals with some heavy stuff and is not for the weak of heart. Althought not overly violent the depths to which some of the characters go in the book to survive can be a little intense.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gage26
Olathe, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A Good Book
8/7/2007

Customer review by GuamGal

4.0 stars 8/7/2007 by GuamGal
by GuamGal

I liked this book alot. I didn't know quite what to expect when I bought it; I just knew it would be good because of the Oprah seal. Once I started reading, I couldn't stop. The story reveals a very intimate look into the life of a boy & his father as they go through many horrors we hope the world will never see. Through their struggles & communications the reader experiences the depth of their love. I gave this book to one of my best male friends who lost his father just 2 years ago. I hope he is touched by it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GuamGal
Guam, Pacific Ocean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Extraordinary
3/13/2008

Customer review by Lilmissreadaholic

3.0 stars 3/13/2008 by Lilmissreadaholic
by Lilmissreadaholic

This book was a great read. I read it in about an hour an a half. But it did leave a lot of questions unanswered. Like why was the world in that condition and what happened after... I hope there is a prequel. Want to read a good book check out "Words of a Tortured Soul" By April M. Barbosa you can find it on any online book store or any book store in general. This book touched me deeply so I just had to share.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilmissreadaholic
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
A Genius Work of Fiction
12/1/2007

Customer review by jlm09

5.0 stars 12/1/2007 by jlm09
by jlm09

McCarthy is the greatest living writer in the American South, possibly in America. His work speaks for itself, and no reviews are needed to say that this is another great work in a career filled with great works. It's not his masterpiece, despite the above description--that title still goes to Blood Meridian. This, though, is his most emotionally moving work. This is a book about hope in a world that's lost anything for which it is worth hoping. Neither the man or the boy are a perfect picture of love, but both show that no matter how bleak our future is we still have one another to rely on and to love. To top that, the imagery and the dialogue of the book are phenomenal. This isn't Clive Cussler or Tom Clancy, it's one of the greatest voices in American fiction writing in his typically masterful way.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlm09
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Great novel
1/3/2008

Customer review by Lulu57

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by Lulu57
by Lulu57

One of the very best books I have ever read. Not for the faint of heart. Gets under your skin and keeps you thinking about what it means to be human for a long time after...must read.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lulu57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disturbed!!
4/22/2008

Customer review by booklover08

1.0 stars 4/22/2008 by booklover08
by booklover08

I was excited about this book when I got it just by the description on the back. However I quickly became dissapointed. I found the book confusing jumping from jumbled dreams to disjointed thoughts and memories. I couldn't keep up. What made it worse was that neither character has a name at least that we know making it very difficult to decipher who was speaking. I tried to like this book but the author speaks a language I obviously cannot understand....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
booklover08
Hoquiam,WA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I absolutely Loved this book!
3/11/2008

Customer review by AcrossTheUniverse

5.0 stars 3/11/2008 by AcrossTheUniverse
by AcrossTheUniverse

Honestly, I couldn't put this book down. It can be a tad morbid but it is appropriate for the context of the book. I read it in two days and then gifted it to my uncle who is an avid reader as well. He read it in one evening and we talked a great deal about it afterwards. It really makes you think. I absolutely loved it. I would and have reccomended it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AcrossTheUniverse
Dalton,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The Road
7/4/2007

Customer review by suzanne

1.0 stars 7/4/2007 by suzanne
by suzanne

The books were gifts. I purchased them after hearing an interview with the author on Oprah. Both recipients did not like the book. The authors' insight into his book were not the same as the readers. It was a very dismal portrayal of a father-son relationship, not the positive emotional bonding as suggested by the author.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
suzanne
Northern NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
12/4/2008

Customer review by Weisy

4.0 stars 12/4/2008 by Weisy
by Weisy

This book is a very easy and good read. I read it in just a few hours and it was as if I was reading one long poem. I would not buy this book if you are looking for a book that shouts answers and action it is a silent story but worth the read.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Weisy
King, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Amazing
12/25/2007

Customer review by TGib

5.0 stars 12/25/2007 by TGib
by TGib
Walmart associate

This is among the top 5 best books I have ever read in my life. I read a lot, and I cannot say enough good things about this book. Anyone else I have talked to that has read "The Road" said it is an amazing book. Read it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TGib
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Walmart associate