Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

16 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

16 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-15 of 15 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Heater
10/6/2008

Customer review by CampLover

5.0 stars 10/6/2008 by CampLover
by CampLover

Purchased this heater for an October tent camping trip where temperatures were expected to drop into the upper 30's. I was very skeptical about using a propane heater in the tent due to carbon monoxide poisoning. When a retired fire department captain told me he uses the heater inside his tent, I took his word and felt safe using the heater inside our tent. After all, I figured he would be the one to know! Well, temperatures dropped to 34 degrees and with the heater on low, the tent was a nice and comfortable 51 degrees. We were a little short of propane so we just ran it on low, which required me to change the tank at 4:00 AM! After changing the tank, I cranked the heater up to high and the tent warmed to about 60 degrees! The heater is very quiet and there is no odor what so ever. In addition, the glow from the heater provides a nice little nightlight! I would strongly recommend purchasing a hose adapter and getting a 20-pound propane tank to place outside the tent because waking up to a cold heater at 4:00 AM to replace the one-pound tank is no fun!

Was this review helpful? (111) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CampLover
Butler County, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A good small propane heater
2/23/2009

Customer review by Woofhound

5.0 stars 2/23/2009 by Woofhound
by Woofhound

I bought my Buddy Heater to heat my 28' travel trailer which had no furnace. Buddy would keep the trailer 65*-70* during the day when the outside temps were in the low 30's and would manage around 60* at night when the temps dipped to the upper teens. Last fall we bought another trailer, this one being a 31' with a forced air propane furnace. we noticed right away that the furnace used way more propane than the Buddy used to heat the old trailer. This time i bought the Big Buddy heater and it is the ticket. The Big Buddy has a built in 6 vdc fan which moves the heat through the trailer and gets it nice and toasty in no time. Both Buddies are safe to use indoors as long as you crack open a window. Both have tip over protection and low oxygen shut off switches. Due to the low oxygen switch neither will operate at much over 7,000 feet altitude. My recommendations would be a Buddy Heater for a tent, truck camper or small travel trailer up to maybe 20', but the Big Buddy is the way to go if heating a larger area or trailer. Both of my Buddies run off 10 gallon tanks. I would recommend getting the inline filter if you are using an external tank. My Buddy got plugged up with some kind of oiley residue and it was a bugger to get it cleared out. Knowing what i know now i think i would have skipped the Buddy and just went with the Big Buddy. It's easily twice the heater for about $20 more. Buddy has 2 heat settings, 4k BTU's and 9k BTU's, Big Buddy has 3 heat settings, 4k, 9k, and 18k BTU's plus the fan. Buddy heater is a great little heater, Big Buddy is a better larger heater, either way you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (69) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Woofhound
cle elum, washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Warmth
1/30/2008

Customer review by runawayblonde

5.0 stars 1/30/2008 by runawayblonde
by runawayblonde

This little heater is amazing. It works so well I am buying two more. The 20lb tank lasts for days of warmth. So even if the electricty is out we have heat.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
runawayblonde
Oakes North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
really good heater
12/1/2007

Customer review by borntobewarm

5.0 stars 12/1/2007 by borntobewarm
by borntobewarm

puts out a lot of heat to be so small, really like it

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
borntobewarm
LaFayette, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice heater
1/16/2009

Customer review by ranger94v6

4.0 stars 1/16/2009 by ranger94v6
by ranger94v6

This is a nice little heater. The only reasons i didn't give it 5 stars, it would be much better if it had a small fan (preferably run off a rechargeable battery). The 1 lb tank is suppose to last 6hrs. on low. They don't! On low it last anywhere from 3 1/2 to 5 hrs.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ranger94v6
Warren, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
just what we needed
2/4/2009

Customer review by BoatCamper

5.0 stars 2/4/2009 by BoatCamper
by BoatCamper

This little heater is perfect for heating your boat's cabin while camping on the lake. my wife and I used it in 23deg weather. after running it on low for about 5 minutes to warm the sleep area, I turned it off and just left the pilot on. the pilot kept the cabin comfortable/not warm/just not freezing.perfect!that'll save propane. I would highly recommend this heater.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoatCamper
Austin TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
very impressed
12/28/2008

Customer review by showtime22

5.0 stars 12/28/2008 by showtime22
by showtime22

My fiance bought me a smaller catylic type heater that was 1,500 BTU's and was not quite enough so i paid the difference to get a bigger one. I use it in my very drafty work truck and I am amazed at how much heat it puts out!! I thought I might need the bigger (Big Buddy) but after turning the regular Buddy on I am glad that I took the value of the smaller one. It puts out TONS of heat. VERY HOT!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
showtime22
Layton UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Tent Heater
12/25/2009

Customer review by CaveCrazy

5.0 stars 12/25/2009 by CaveCrazy
by CaveCrazy

I have had some really horribkle tent heaters over the years, and frankly not a single one worked. Most recently the Coleman Black Cat. The buddy extremely reliable, safe and generally on low will take care of any tent heat needs. Uses 1/4 the fuel of the Black Cat and puts out 4X the heat...Dont look at any other tent heaters, pick up the buddy and a small, bulk propane tank for those chillier camping trips.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaveCrazy
ALbuquerque NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/26/2010

Customer review by HUNTER1944

4.0 stars 4/26/2010 by HUNTER1944
by HUNTER1944

THIS HEATER IS AS GOOD AS THE AD FOR THIS PRODUCT. THE ONLY THING THAT IS NOT CORRECT IN THE AD IS THE TIME THAT A TANK OF GAS WILL LAST. MINE ONLY LASTED FIVE HOURS. THE AD SAID SIX TO EIGHT HOURS. I HOOKED MY HEATER TO A TWENTY POUND TANK TO USE IT FOR THREE NIGHTS. HEATER GAVE OFF A VERY GOOD HEAT SUPPLY. THIS PRODUCT WAS RECOMMENDED TO ME BY A FRIEND AND IT IS AS GOOD AS HE SAID.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HUNTER1944
BUCKHANNON, WEST VIRGINIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Mr. Heater
2/8/2008

Customer review by Chuck28372

5.0 stars 2/8/2008 by Chuck28372
by Chuck28372

I love this heater it's very easy to us and it puts out a lot of heat for it's size.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuck28372
Pembroke NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A product that actually works and lasts
12/2/2012

Customer review by Etik

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Etik
by Etik

I bought this heater 3 years ago to take hunting. It fits perfect in a Jansport backpack with 2 additional propane cans. Has worked flawlessy every year. In 10 degree weather in my pop up blind at 4:30 in the morning it is my best friend. Going to send one to a friend who has been toughing it out.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Etik
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works as described!
5/27/2008

Customer review by MrlickLasVegas

5.0 stars 5/27/2008 by MrlickLasVegas
by MrlickLasVegas

Might have been more effective in a slightly smaller tent.....worked well though considering a 9x12 tent with 80" ceiling and 28 degree damp weather...it definately took the chill off!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrlickLasVegas
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good hi proformance hearet
12/7/2009

Customer review by tocobell

5.0 stars 12/7/2009 by tocobell
by tocobell

this is a great light heater. does its job surprisingly well. no smell, fast heat and its effective on low never can keep it on high for about more than a few minutes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tocobell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice products; works as described
4/29/2009

Customer review by 0nline5hopper

4.0 stars 4/29/2009 by 0nline5hopper
by 0nline5hopper

This seems like a good-quality product. The user manual is thorough and well-written. The manual tells you exactly what to expect from start to finish, and is easy to understand. I purchased this for emergency situations, and so far I only tested it briefly. It started quickly without any problems. I only gave it 4 stars overall rating because I haven't used it that long to say that it's deserving of 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (3) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
0nline5hopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
compact, useful item
11/17/2014

Customer review by Genenco

5.0 stars 11/17/2014 by Genenco
by Genenco

Now, don't let the cost throw you. I bought one of these when they werwewere cheaper, but made still with quality. The value is there, I'd buy again if I had to. If you are going to be using it like I do, I suggest the 20 lb bottle (holds 4.4/5 gallons) the only drawback is the maker says 5.6 hours at min heat (4000 BTUs) for a small bottle. But I should be getting 200 hours with the tank I use. Still, this item is very well worth the price and you can't go wrong with it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Genenco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes