Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 235 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

235 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

235 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
159
4 stars
59
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 210 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews
Does the job!
4/26/2017

Customer review by Penny

4.0 stars 4/26/2017 by Penny
by Penny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The safe we purchased is just the right size for our purpose. It's heavier than we thought but then we are not as strong as we once were! We muscled it around and got it all in place. I believe that overall we will be very happy with this purchase. We had a much smaller safe that we will continue to use - we had just outgrown it. A couple of negative comments regarding this purchase. The brochure stated where the batteries and authentication pin would be located. It appeared as though this safe had been purchased and returned. We ultimately discovered that the batteries and pin were inside the safe and jammed between the top and the catawompus shelf that appeared to have been forced into place. We finally were able to finess the shelf out and then the batteries fell out onto the bottom of the safe. The boxes that the safe was packed and shipped in were in terrible shape. It appear d they had been ripped open the taped back up. Had we gone into the store to make a purchase, we definitely would have had questions about its condition. I think that there probably needs to be a bit more attention paid to products by the quality control and shipped departments. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Penny
undisclosed
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Safe that combines digital, waterproof& fire
9/7/2012

Customer review by trakfone

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by trakfone
by trakfone

This was the size we were looking for, and just what we wanted in combining digital opening, waterproof and firesafe. It also was shipped right to our home for only $4.97. That was much better than picking it up at a store (weight about 90 lbs), and so reasonable. It arrived in very sturdy packaging by Fed Ex, and arrived very quickly. The price was very reasonable (much less than a safe would have cost at a locksmith, key, and safe dealer). The only problem we had was when I went to put in my own security code, at first it would not take it. I called the manufacturers toll free number and the girl I talked to in Customer Service immediately told me what to do. I was told that my manual had the set up instructions reversed, so that I had to open up the front cover before pushing re-set button on the door. The instructions said to push the re-set button, then open the cover, then put in your own code, and this was why it originally did not work. She said that some manuals were printed wrong, so if you buy one, be aware of this sequence. The digital opening has worked fine ever since.

Was this review helpful? (39) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trakfone
Independence, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
First Alert 1.31 Cu. Foot Digital Waterproof Fires
10/24/2010

Customer review by mainman1

5.0 stars 10/24/2010 by mainman1
by mainman1

The safe is well worth the money. Very heavy(102 lbs) I can't imagine anyone carry this safe down a flight of stairs or any were for that matter, also fire and water proof which is good for valueables. Seems very well made. As for people complaining about the plastic handle I'm sure the handle is metal with a plastic coating over it. Some people were a little disappointed because they couldn't bolt the safe to the floor. What I done was buy plastic coated metal chain and (I bolts) mounted them front to back and side to side, ran the chain over top (leave some slak) for door opening and pad lock the chain and no one will walk away with the safe. I'm very happy and it works for me! If people are worried about the smell of any items left in the safe for a long time because of no air circulation they can purchase one of those food savers, put your items in the bag and suck all the air out and then store them in the safe without any worries.

Was this review helpful? (19) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mainman1
Ixnay, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Good fire safe, but not the most durable.
1/28/2017

Customer review by bargainhunter

4.0 stars 1/28/2017 by bargainhunter
by bargainhunter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like the safe, its appearance, fit and finish. This is a great fire safe for protecting paperwork and digital data. However, I am a bit suspect of its ability to protect valuables from a determined burglar. I think a few swings with a sledge hammer would bust it wide open. Construction is plastic and cement; I was easily able to drill through it when I mounted it to the floor, so I am not convinced of its durability if someone was inclined to destroy it in order to gain access.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bargainhunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First Alert 1.31 Cu. Foot Digital Waterproof Fires
1/18/2011

Customer review by Megahuzt

4.0 stars 1/18/2011 by Megahuzt
by Megahuzt

the safe came very fast and well packed. When I first open the package, I was pretty impress with the looks of the safe, very sturdy in fact. The hinges were hidden and the safe is pretty heavy, which makes it kinda hard for one person to carry around without gears. The programing part was fairly easy since it came with pretty cleared explanations. It fit perfectly in my closet, a pretty discrete location which almost like "hiding in plain sight if I just throw some decorations item on the top of it. The interior is very spacious, which I can fit all of my paperwork. I can also fit 2 15" laptops in there on the top of a whole bunch of paperwork. The only one thing that I think is not up to my expectation was the plastic handle of the door, which is not as sturdy as the rest of the safe but overall, I am pretty satisfied with the product at the price I've paid for. There is another version of the safe that came with an metal/aluminum handle but cost a bit more.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Megahuzt
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
solid
1/8/2009

Customer review by bobSpelledBackwardIsBob

4.0 stars 1/8/2009 by bobSpelledBackwardIsBob
by bobSpelledBackwardIsBob

Safe is a quality product that appears to be well made. It fits in the closet, and is heavy enough that the casual thief will not walk away with it unnoticed. We now have peace of mind when lots of people are at the house that no one will decide to slip into a bedroom and open the dresser drawer, helping themselves to what little jewelry we have. Likewise, when we are out of town for an extended period the laptop computers and external harddrives can be secured on the off chance that someone breaks in. We've also put important papers in the safe for fire protection. Overall, a good value.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobSpelledBackwardIsBob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Was expecting item of less quality for the price.
11/20/2012

Customer review by Pawpawforthem

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by Pawpawforthem
by Pawpawforthem
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This safe is exceptional in quality and its heavy. Keypad has a nice cover to protect from battery drain if something is propped up against the pad, also lights up for night time entry. The external key is a necessary option if batteries discharge before you have a chance to change them. Low battery indicator on pad should help to abate using the key. Easy to change the combination and the mechanical override lets you test your combo before the door is shut. Battery replacement is a snap and easy to get to. Rubber feet on bottom to limit moment on smooth surfaces. The hidden hinge adds style and security. Its a no brainier to give your valuables and data a level of affordable protection from fire and water. Very happy with this purchase, free in store delivery, how cool is that?

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pawpawforthem
WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Safe for important papers.
5/7/2017

Customer review by Wentshopn

4.0 stars 5/7/2017 by Wentshopn
by Wentshopn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this safe to house the numerous papers of our wills, trusts and other important papers. 1st it is very heavy... be prepared to have help to move it into place, there was a dent in the top back of the safe but wasn't worth the hassle to return. Easy directions on how to set up the safe lock.

Wentshopn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Safe is just OK...
12/4/2010

Customer review by FourCedarsCabin

3.0 stars 12/4/2010 by FourCedarsCabin
by FourCedarsCabin

I researched safes well before I decided on this one. I needed a safe to store some valuables, paper documents and back-up CD's. What sold me on this safe, was that it was the right size, fireproof/waterproof and only $200. I also liked the concealed hinges, back-lit keypad, key back-up and the fact you didn't need the key to open the safe in conjunction w/your code. The positives: The packaging was excellent from Walmart and you can't beat free shipping to home, which was fairly fast, less than 2 weeks. It's surprisingly roomy inside and the shelf and compartment in the door is handy. The back-lit keypad w/key back-up is awesome and it was a breeze to program. It's heavy, so I'm not worried about someone walking off w/it (but I would keep it out of sight). It looks nice. The negatives: The safe arrived kind of oily and very cold and damp, inside and out. This was fairly minor and temporary, but did take 6 hours of drying (after wiping down) w/a fan and electric heater. Next, the overall quality of this safe is pretty cheap. I was expecting it to be more solid. First, the door does not shut all the way when closed. It sticks out about 1/8" of an inch. It makes me question the integrity of this thing in a fire or from a would be criminal. Although, even w/the door fully shut, I don't think it would take much effort to pry this thing open. It states the locking bolts are solid steel, but they sure don't look or feel like it. And even if they are, I bet the plastic door would crumble fairly easily if someone had a crow bar. But my main concern is w/a fire and this thing lasting as long as they claim, especially w/a slightly ajar door. Lastly, the entire safe is made of plastic, including the whole handle and keypad assembly. It just has a cheap feel to it. I give this thing 3 stars, at best. The quality just isn't there and it didn't meet my expecations. I've had it less than a week and contemplated returning it for these issues, but I don't think it's worth the hassle. If I had to do it over though, I would probably get the First Alert 2.0 metal safe and skip this one. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (105) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FourCedarsCabin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very necessary
1/3/2008

Customer review by fairychiq

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by fairychiq
by fairychiq

For the price this is an excellent safe. It was easy for me and my husband to program. The space inside feels bigger than what you think when you look at it online. Store delivery was also very good.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fairychiq
Canyon, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Well worth the money
7/14/2010

Customer review by beauming

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by beauming
by beauming

After reading the reviews on this product I decided that this was the Safe for me. I ordered it on walmart.com and had it shipped to my local store, for free ( 0.97c), which was very convenient. 9 days from ordering, it arrived at my local store. I was delighted with the safe. It was just what I wanted. Having read the instructions very carefully I began to set up my personal passcode. Up to this point everything went according to the instructions. However, when I came to "Programming a Personal Passcode" things went down hill fast. I spent a good half hour trying to program my Passcode, without success. It was during this period that I experienced the Security Lockout Periods, which is a great feature of this safe. For added security, the safe will automatically "Lockout" entry for 15 minutes after three attempts to open with an invalid Passcode. I decided to swollow my pride and call Consumer Affairs at First Alert. The Lady I spoke to was very pleasant and helpful. Immediately I told her the problem I was having she knew the answer. Paragraphs 1 & 2 on the Programming a Personal Passcode Section of the Instruction Manual had been reversed when it was printed. All I had to do was change para 1 to para 2 and para 2 to para 1. Once I did that I had no problems with the programming. I am delighted with this safe.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beauming
Independence, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
awesome first safe
1/12/2014

Customer review by agirlfromohio

5.0 stars 1/12/2014 by agirlfromohio
by agirlfromohio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my new safe. I love that this is electronic but HAS A BACKUP KEY. I ordered one thinking that they would all come with key in case the electronics went bad but it didn't. So I returned it and got this one. It is perfect size.. pretty BIG actually lol. I have not found a problem with it yet. Love the keypad and how it lights up.mm plus I ordered it on the 1st of the year. And it said it wouldn't be here tol the 7th or 8th and I got it on the 3rd. Crazy but AWESOME. 1000% satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
agirlfromohio
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Glad I didn't have to pay for shipping!
5/30/2016

Customer review by Chester

3.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Chester
by Chester

I like the safe, good room inside and the pad works like it should. For the condition, I had to buy this one twice and it still had damage. I decided to use the site to store option thinking it would be easier to confirm the condition and product...looks like I was wrong. It seems these don't make it off the truck without taking at least a small spill. The first was busted to where I couldn't use it so I carried it back to the store. The second took a hit as well but wasn't as noticeable at the store. By the time I got the safe home and unpacked, I noticed a dent on one of the corners. I was obviously frustrated but not enough to carry it back to Walmart for an exchange. If it weren't for the damage, I would recommend this as a 5* product...so far. It has been 3 months since I purchased.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
defective
8/2/2008

Customer review by tirefoam

1.0 stars 8/2/2008 by tirefoam
by tirefoam

How can I review something that was defective? I put in new batteries and I got the right signal, but beyond that, nothing worked. The keyboard didn't light up and the safe would not program. I called the customer service number and the representative ran me through a couple of test then declared the safe to be defective. Do you know how much of a hassle it is to return a one hundred pound safe to the store? Walmart customer service was accommodating enough and the paperwork wasn't too much of a hassle.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tirefoam
Would recommend to a friend? No
Digital Pad Does Not Work
10/5/2011

Customer review by PE1234

1.0 stars 10/5/2011 by PE1234
by PE1234

First, let me say that I bought a Model 2087D digital safe 3 years ago to secure my guns. Being in law enforcement, I open that safe virtually 2 or more times every day. I have changed the combination several times and the batteries 3 times, and it has worked flawlessly. I wouldn't have anything but a digital safe. I bought my first Model 2092D safe in July 2011 to hold important papers. I bought it because it was like my 2087D, but .5 cu. ft. more for only $1 more. In the beginning it seemed to work great. I changed the combination...just like I did on my 2087D...as the digital lock is identical to my 2087D. It worked great for approximately a week. Then it started beeping like a heart monitor...about 1 beep per second...and all of the numbers and lights on the key pad blinked in sync with the beeping. Pressing keys had no effect, and the safe had to be opened with the tubular key. I took the batteries out, and put them back in to reset it, and a week later the beeping and blinking lights started again. Putting new, fresh batteries in the safe did not help, as a week later it did it again. As a result, I took it back to Walmart, and ordered another. On the new one, I put the batteries in and opened the safe using the preset combination a couple of times. Everything worked fine. I then changed the combination to my own, and opened it twice. Everything appeared to be fine. Then, a couple of minutes later, the safe suddenly made a continuous, solid beep sound that lasted for about 3 seconds. The sound started at a regular volume for this safe and then continuously went softer, like the battery was running down. After the 3 or so seconds, the safe went basically dead. When I pressed the numerics on the keypad, all I got was silence and the red light would blink when the numerics were pressed, and the safe would not open. Fresh batteries got exactly the same response. This one will also be going back for a refund, and there will be no third purchase.

Was this review helpful? (37) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PE1234
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Great place to hide my Snickers bars from the kids
4/11/2012

Customer review by Lithenn

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Lithenn
by Lithenn

This First Alert 1.31 Cu. Foot safe appears to be everything it is advertised to be. Came with excellent instructions for installation and setting the combination. We specifically chose this digital model because you can easily change the combination and there is a way to get into the safe if you forget the combination. At our age it's hard to remember what we had for breakfast let alone the combination to a safe that you rarely open. It has plenty of room inside to stack up all those millions$$$$ along with important papers like wills, car titles and oh yes, those snickers bars. I think we made the right choice and the price was right.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lithenn
Packer Country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Nice safe but it can't be bolted down
2/27/2014

Customer review by IdahoMurphy

3.0 stars 2/27/2014 by IdahoMurphy
by IdahoMurphy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very nice safe but it can't be bolted down so I returned it to seller. Manufacturer's representative told me that drilling holes in order to bolt down this safe would void the warranty. He recommended the First Alert 2092DF-BD ("bd" means the safe can be bolted down.).

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IdahoMurphy
Coeur d Alene, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
small business owner
3/8/2017

Customer review by sandy

1.0 stars 3/8/2017 by sandy
by sandy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

would not purchase again and thinking about returning. Very difficult to get open with the handle the way it's situated also hard to shut because you have to push it to get it closed. not a big deal if you are only getting into it every now and then but if you're doing it several times a day it is a pain! only thing i like is how large it is.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the price
11/6/2013

Customer review by nanantexas54

4.0 stars 11/6/2013 by nanantexas54
by nanantexas54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've only had it a week, but I can comment it is very sizable and easy to set up with password security. It states it's waterproof and fireproof, but only for 1 hour. Holds all of our important papers easily on one shelf and our handguns and ammo on another. (While grandkids are visiting)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanantexas54
Portland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First Alert Safe
3/13/2017

Customer review by lljdmj

3.0 stars 3/13/2017 by lljdmj
by lljdmj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything works easy to program. We are very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lljdmj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews