Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 185 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

185 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

185 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
128
4 stars
48
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 160 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews
Safe is just OK...
12/4/2010

Customer review by FourCedarsCabin

3.0 stars 12/4/2010 by FourCedarsCabin
by FourCedarsCabin

I researched safes well before I decided on this one. I needed a safe to store some valuables, paper documents and back-up CD's. What sold me on this safe, was that it was the right size, fireproof/waterproof and only $200. I also liked the concealed hinges, back-lit keypad, key back-up and the fact you didn't need the key to open the safe in conjunction w/your code. The positives: The packaging was excellent from Walmart and you can't beat free shipping to home, which was fairly fast, less than 2 weeks. It's surprisingly roomy inside and the shelf and compartment in the door is handy. The back-lit keypad w/key back-up is awesome and it was a breeze to program. It's heavy, so I'm not worried about someone walking off w/it (but I would keep it out of sight). It looks nice. The negatives: The safe arrived kind of oily and very cold and damp, inside and out. This was fairly minor and temporary, but did take 6 hours of drying (after wiping down) w/a fan and electric heater. Next, the overall quality of this safe is pretty cheap. I was expecting it to be more solid. First, the door does not shut all the way when closed. It sticks out about 1/8" of an inch. It makes me question the integrity of this thing in a fire or from a would be criminal. Although, even w/the door fully shut, I don't think it would take much effort to pry this thing open. It states the locking bolts are solid steel, but they sure don't look or feel like it. And even if they are, I bet the plastic door would crumble fairly easily if someone had a crow bar. But my main concern is w/a fire and this thing lasting as long as they claim, especially w/a slightly ajar door. Lastly, the entire safe is made of plastic, including the whole handle and keypad assembly. It just has a cheap feel to it. I give this thing 3 stars, at best. The quality just isn't there and it didn't meet my expecations. I've had it less than a week and contemplated returning it for these issues, but I don't think it's worth the hassle. If I had to do it over though, I would probably get the First Alert 2.0 metal safe and skip this one. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (80) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FourCedarsCabin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very necessary
1/3/2008

Customer review by fairychiq

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by fairychiq
by fairychiq

For the price this is an excellent safe. It was easy for me and my husband to program. The space inside feels bigger than what you think when you look at it online. Store delivery was also very good.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fairychiq
Canyon, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Digital Pad Does Not Work
10/5/2011

Customer review by PE1234

1.0 stars 10/5/2011 by PE1234
by PE1234

First, let me say that I bought a Model 2087D digital safe 3 years ago to secure my guns. Being in law enforcement, I open that safe virtually 2 or more times every day. I have changed the combination several times and the batteries 3 times, and it has worked flawlessly. I wouldn't have anything but a digital safe. I bought my first Model 2092D safe in July 2011 to hold important papers. I bought it because it was like my 2087D, but .5 cu. ft. more for only $1 more. In the beginning it seemed to work great. I changed the combination...just like I did on my 2087D...as the digital lock is identical to my 2087D. It worked great for approximately a week. Then it started beeping like a heart monitor...about 1 beep per second...and all of the numbers and lights on the key pad blinked in sync with the beeping. Pressing keys had no effect, and the safe had to be opened with the tubular key. I took the batteries out, and put them back in to reset it, and a week later the beeping and blinking lights started again. Putting new, fresh batteries in the safe did not help, as a week later it did it again. As a result, I took it back to Walmart, and ordered another. On the new one, I put the batteries in and opened the safe using the preset combination a couple of times. Everything worked fine. I then changed the combination to my own, and opened it twice. Everything appeared to be fine. Then, a couple of minutes later, the safe suddenly made a continuous, solid beep sound that lasted for about 3 seconds. The sound started at a regular volume for this safe and then continuously went softer, like the battery was running down. After the 3 or so seconds, the safe went basically dead. When I pressed the numerics on the keypad, all I got was silence and the red light would blink when the numerics were pressed, and the safe would not open. Fresh batteries got exactly the same response. This one will also be going back for a refund, and there will be no third purchase.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PE1234
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
solid
1/8/2009

Customer review by bobSpelledBackwardIsBob

4.0 stars 1/8/2009 by bobSpelledBackwardIsBob
by bobSpelledBackwardIsBob

Safe is a quality product that appears to be well made. It fits in the closet, and is heavy enough that the casual thief will not walk away with it unnoticed. We now have peace of mind when lots of people are at the house that no one will decide to slip into a bedroom and open the dresser drawer, helping themselves to what little jewelry we have. Likewise, when we are out of town for an extended period the laptop computers and external harddrives can be secured on the off chance that someone breaks in. We've also put important papers in the safe for fire protection. Overall, a good value.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobSpelledBackwardIsBob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Safe that combines digital, waterproof& fire
9/7/2012

Customer review by trakfone

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by trakfone
by trakfone

This was the size we were looking for, and just what we wanted in combining digital opening, waterproof and firesafe. It also was shipped right to our home for only $4.97. That was much better than picking it up at a store (weight about 90 lbs), and so reasonable. It arrived in very sturdy packaging by Fed Ex, and arrived very quickly. The price was very reasonable (much less than a safe would have cost at a locksmith, key, and safe dealer). The only problem we had was when I went to put in my own security code, at first it would not take it. I called the manufacturers toll free number and the girl I talked to in Customer Service immediately told me what to do. I was told that my manual had the set up instructions reversed, so that I had to open up the front cover before pushing re-set button on the door. The instructions said to push the re-set button, then open the cover, then put in your own code, and this was why it originally did not work. She said that some manuals were printed wrong, so if you buy one, be aware of this sequence. The digital opening has worked fine ever since.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trakfone
Independence, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great product so far
3/3/2008

Customer review by consumer100132

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by consumer100132
by consumer100132

After reviewing several brands, we liked the Honeywell description the best. We like the security features and the inside hinges. Great price online at walmart.com. Easy to setup, took about 5-10mins to read, test and set our combination. Only complaint was it took 1 month to be ready at the store. Way to long for a product that showed in stock at the time for ordering.

Was this review helpful? (26) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
consumer100132
Algonquin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
awesome first safe
1/12/2014

Customer review by agirlfromohio

5.0 stars 1/12/2014 by agirlfromohio
by agirlfromohio

I love my new safe. I love that this is electronic but HAS A BACKUP KEY. I ordered one thinking that they would all come with key in case the electronics went bad but it didn't. So I returned it and got this one. It is perfect size.. pretty BIG actually lol. I have not found a problem with it yet. Love the keypad and how it lights up.mm plus I ordered it on the 1st of the year. And it said it wouldn't be here tol the 7th or 8th and I got it on the 3rd. Crazy but AWESOME. 1000% satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
agirlfromohio
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice safe but it can't be bolted down
2/27/2014

Customer review by IdahoMurphy

3.0 stars 2/27/2014 by IdahoMurphy
by IdahoMurphy

This is a very nice safe but it can't be bolted down so I returned it to seller. Manufacturer's representative told me that drilling holes in order to bolt down this safe would void the warranty. He recommended the First Alert 2092DF-BD ("bd" means the safe can be bolted down.).

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IdahoMurphy
Coeur d Alene, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First Alert 1.31 Cu. Foot Digital Waterproof Fires
10/24/2010

Customer review by mainman1

5.0 stars 10/24/2010 by mainman1
by mainman1

The safe is well worth the money. Very heavy(102 lbs) I can't imagine anyone carry this safe down a flight of stairs or any were for that matter, also fire and water proof which is good for valueables. Seems very well made. As for people complaining about the plastic handle I'm sure the handle is metal with a plastic coating over it. Some people were a little disappointed because they couldn't bolt the safe to the floor. What I done was buy plastic coated metal chain and (I bolts) mounted them front to back and side to side, ran the chain over top (leave some slak) for door opening and pad lock the chain and no one will walk away with the safe. I'm very happy and it works for me! If people are worried about the smell of any items left in the safe for a long time because of no air circulation they can purchase one of those food savers, put your items in the bag and suck all the air out and then store them in the safe without any worries.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mainman1
Ixnay, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Was expecting item of less quality for the price.
11/20/2012

Customer review by Pawpawforthem

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by Pawpawforthem
by Pawpawforthem

This safe is exceptional in quality and its heavy. Keypad has a nice cover to protect from battery drain if something is propped up against the pad, also lights up for night time entry. The external key is a necessary option if batteries discharge before you have a chance to change them. Low battery indicator on pad should help to abate using the key. Easy to change the combination and the mechanical override lets you test your combo before the door is shut. Battery replacement is a snap and easy to get to. Rubber feet on bottom to limit moment on smooth surfaces. The hidden hinge adds style and security. Its a no brainier to give your valuables and data a level of affordable protection from fire and water. Very happy with this purchase, free in store delivery, how cool is that?

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pawpawforthem
WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great place to hide my Snickers bars from the kids
4/11/2012

Customer review by Lithenn

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Lithenn
by Lithenn

This First Alert 1.31 Cu. Foot safe appears to be everything it is advertised to be. Came with excellent instructions for installation and setting the combination. We specifically chose this digital model because you can easily change the combination and there is a way to get into the safe if you forget the combination. At our age it's hard to remember what we had for breakfast let alone the combination to a safe that you rarely open. It has plenty of room inside to stack up all those millions$$$$ along with important papers like wills, car titles and oh yes, those snickers bars. I think we made the right choice and the price was right.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lithenn
Packer Country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
defective
8/2/2008

Customer review by tirefoam

1.0 stars 8/2/2008 by tirefoam
by tirefoam

How can I review something that was defective? I put in new batteries and I got the right signal, but beyond that, nothing worked. The keyboard didn't light up and the safe would not program. I called the customer service number and the representative ran me through a couple of test then declared the safe to be defective. Do you know how much of a hassle it is to return a one hundred pound safe to the store? Walmart customer service was accommodating enough and the paperwork wasn't too much of a hassle.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tirefoam
Would recommend to a friend? No
Well worth the money
7/14/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After reading the reviews on this product I decided that this was the Safe for me. I ordered it on walmart.com and had it shipped to my local store, for free ( 0.97c), which was very convenient. 9 days from ordering, it arrived at my local store. I was delighted with the safe. It was just what I wanted. Having read the instructions very carefully I began to set up my personal passcode. Up to this point everything went according to the instructions. However, when I came to "Programming a Personal Passcode" things went down hill fast. I spent a good half hour trying to program my Passcode, without success. It was during this period that I experienced the Security Lockout Periods, which is a great feature of this safe. For added security, the safe will automatically "Lockout" entry for 15 minutes after three attempts to open with an invalid Passcode. I decided to swollow my pride and call Consumer Affairs at First Alert. The Lady I spoke to was very pleasant and helpful. Immediately I told her the problem I was having she knew the answer. Paragraphs 1 & 2 on the Programming a Personal Passcode Section of the Instruction Manual had been reversed when it was printed. All I had to do was change para 1 to para 2 and para 2 to para 1. Once I did that I had no problems with the programming. I am delighted with this safe.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Independence, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good for the price
11/6/2013

Customer review by nanantexas54

4.0 stars 11/6/2013 by nanantexas54
by nanantexas54

We've only had it a week, but I can comment it is very sizable and easy to set up with password security. It states it's waterproof and fireproof, but only for 1 hour. Holds all of our important papers easily on one shelf and our handguns and ammo on another. (While grandkids are visiting)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanantexas54
Portland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible customer service
4/25/2009

Customer review by jkvh

1.0 stars 4/25/2009 by jkvh
by jkvh

I purchased this safe almost a year ago. Since I have owned it everything inside of the safe is damp and moist. I have had to remove my jewelry and important documents. Now I have spoken with the owner of Honeywell, Sisco, and at my cost, I have to ship the safe to them for repair or replacement in CA. I live in MI. The door doesn't close all of the way at the bottom, so it is defective. I had a Sentry before and loved it, but gave it to my daughter. I am unhappy about having to ship this back at my cost for replacement.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jkvh
Grandville, MI.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Ideal for limited storage.
2/27/2012

Customer review by toolate2cu

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by toolate2cu
by toolate2cu

This safe is just as described. Easy to set up. Weight is good. Like the adjustable shelve inside. Would suggest this safe for anyone who needs security and has limited space. Thx Walmart for selling another good product at good prices.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toolate2cu
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Quality Safe
12/27/2007

Customer review by Nginir

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by Nginir
by Nginir

Excellent quality. Much better than Sentry. Waterproof (vs Water-Resistant) is great feature. Arguably this is essential for a fire safe - where there's fire, hopefully there will be lots of water.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nginir
Missisauga, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
3/16/2012

Customer review by Seal65

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by Seal65
by Seal65

Terrific safe, read the reviews, no issues what so ever. For $5 get it delivered at your door by Walmart. It weighs about 90lbs. I'm 65 and was able to move it around but it moves a whole lot better with two.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seal65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loving my new safe
3/13/2014

Customer review by BlessedRN86

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by BlessedRN86
by BlessedRN86

This is beyond my expectations. It's heavy duty so it anyone attempts to steal it wont be too easy without being noticed. Although it is heavy in weight it is a good size that fits in the perfect spot without getting in the way. I would def. recommend this to anyone. It's worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlessedRN86
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep it SAFE!
5/29/2008

Customer review by hawkindot

5.0 stars 5/29/2008 by hawkindot
by hawkindot

This is a great product for an average household. It was easy to install (you must be able to lift 100 pounds, have a helper, or a dolly). The direction for setting up the code were easy to follow. It was in place and working in 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hawkindot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews