Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

78 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

78 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 68 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
What you don't know and should
3/10/2009

Customer review by CornPuff

5.0 stars 3/10/2009 by CornPuff
by CornPuff

So I just bought this safe. I think it is a great price for a solid, extremely secure fire and waterproof safe and does what it should but what you should know is: 1. It's dark blue, not grey like the pictures. 2. The combination is preset and CAN NOT be changed. 3. You CAN NOT bolt it down (though it is 80lbs) 4. The storage pouch on the inside of the door can only hold about a 1/4 inch thick pamphlet 8 inches wide. (like two passports side by side). It's not really a pouch. 5. There is a 1x1x2 inch well on the top of the door (inside). Don't know what it was meant for but it's size could hold only one roll of film (maybe that's its intent?) The shelf is adjustable to about 1 inch increments. My Downside: If I had known you can't change the spin dial combo, I would have bought the digital safe to be able to program and change the lock code myself. (It's easier to remember your own numbers) And getting the digital version you get an extra .3cuft as a plus.

Was this review helpful? (121) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CornPuff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I likey
3/13/2008

Customer review by rockbiter777

5.0 stars 3/13/2008 by rockbiter777
by rockbiter777

I like my new safe. Its kinda hard to get the whole combination thing down cause its a 4 digit combination, but then thats ok cause it makes me feel like my stuff is that much more protected. On top of that if you dont like the 4 number combination do what I do - use the key! I seldom have to get into my safe, but when I do I just use the overide key. Good price, good product.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rockbiter777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Solid
2/18/2008

Customer review by Freedom1789

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by Freedom1789
by Freedom1789

Does what it is supposed to do. Get the Electronic lock if you are opening it frequently.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Freedom1789
Norfolk, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good Value
3/12/2009

Customer review by WalmartJames

4.0 stars 3/12/2009 by WalmartJames
by WalmartJames

Good space, waterproof, and fire-resistant for 1 hour. For the price, it's a solid value, and the best I could find. Picked it up at the store and saved shipping too.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartJames
Hope ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Honeywell .94 Cu. Ft. Waterproof Firesafe
11/30/2009

Customer review by RaleighGuy

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by RaleighGuy
by RaleighGuy

I was nervous about ordering any safe due to some of the negative comments about several safe manufacturers posted on various sites. However, the Honeywell .94 cu. ft. safe arrived in perfect condition with the manual and the override keys. The instructions were very easy to follow and everything worked the first time. The size is fine for storing papers, computer disks, and some small valuables if desired. It's fireproof (1 hr.) and waterproof and has it no electronics -- what I was looking for. It cannot be bolted to the floor since it is waterproof. I (being an "older" guy) was able to get the safe in the house and up some stairs easily with a hand cart. The Wal-Mart staff was friendly, helpful, and very courteous when I arrived to pick it up at my selected store. They sent a man to assist me with loading the safe in my SUV which was appreciated. I rarely do reviews, but this one is worth it. Based on my experience and the quality of the safe I received, I'd definitely recommend it to others with similar needs.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RaleighGuy
Garner, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Decent Product, but I hope to never need it
7/1/2011

Customer review by Tommy1981

4.0 stars 7/1/2011 by Tommy1981
by Tommy1981

I got this fireproof/waterproof safe primarily to store important documents. It's probably over kill for what I need, but I figured I'd get a bigger one and keep it for the rest of my life. The interior space is quite roomy. There's a decent video review that was helpful in displaying the interior dimensions with a ream of paper. The combination is quite difficult to enter correctly. It took both me and my wife several attempts at unlocking it with the combination to get it successfully. The key over-ride is simple, and much quicker. The handle that you use to open the safe feels fairly flimsy compared to the rest of the safe, which is built like a tank. This kind of thing is like insurance. I hope to never find out how fireproof or flood proof it is.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tommy1981
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Perfect!
2/24/2009

Customer review by Alveron

5.0 stars 2/24/2009 by Alveron
by Alveron

Nice sized safe for the $! I really like that it's a firesafe AND waterproof! As I'm technically oriented, the 4-digit combo doesn't present a problem. In fact, it's a big plus as it makes it more secure. I just can't see paying twice the price for the same safe with a digit pad. Dial is sturdy and made of METAL. Includes two override keys - very nice. I put everything I could think of in there - Extra checks, birth certificates, vehicle title, credit cards, passport - and there's still a LOT of room. I could fit my laptop in there easily (15"). I think the option of floor-mounting hardware would have been nice, but that would have just led to my ruining the floor. I'm very happy with this safe! Note - color different from website photo. Mine is a dark blue-green (classic 'Cisco' chassis color for you geeks). Just makes me like it even more. I used the "Site-to-Store"; total cost $145. The wait was a little tedious (11 days), but beats paying to ship an 81lb safe. Excellent price for peace of mind!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alveron
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love it
3/30/2011

Customer review by slkcma

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by slkcma
by slkcma

I just received this today. I was worried about using the combination after reading the online reviews so I tried that right away--I did it twice with no problems either time. It has a sticker on the front that tells the direction and number of times to turn for each number. I tried both keys and they worked also. Delivery only took 3 days and it arrived in perfect shape. Not bad for 97 cents! Very pleased with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slkcma
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Very good product.
4/29/2009

Customer review by dooleyzzz

5.0 stars 4/29/2009 by dooleyzzz
by dooleyzzz

I really like this safe, it's a little complicated to open but after all it is a safe and i didn't want it to be too easy. After reading the instructions, it's not that hard. And there is the over-ride key if it's too hard to open. I'll give it five stars.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dooleyzzz
West Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The perfect safe to store valuables.
9/30/2011

Customer review by WatersofVancouver

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by WatersofVancouver
by WatersofVancouver

This safe weighs 83 pounds empty. It's now over 100 pounds with all of my valuables inside. No one is going to pick it up and run away with it. It's water proof as well as fire proof and I had no problem with the combination if you read the instructions on how many times to turn the dial. It uses a four number code. I feel that it is a very well built safe and my valuables are secure. It has plenty of room for what I have stored inside.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WatersofVancouver
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
11/27/2007

Customer review by SnakeDoc

4.0 stars 11/27/2007 by SnakeDoc
by SnakeDoc

This safe is for the occasional user. If I had to get into it everyday, I wouldn't like it too much. It takes several seconds and concentration to enter the combination. However, if you are looking for a heavy/fire-proof safe to hold things that you don't access everyday, then this is a great buy. I got it for passports, birth certificates, etc. and it's perfect for that. If I had to buy it over again, I would probably get the electronic lock for $30 or so more. If you use it once a week or less, this will be fine for you. But if you are going to be accessing it daily then I would get the electronic lock.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SnakeDoc
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
a Safe purchase
9/11/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/11/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was pleased with the quality, I didn't expect the extra option of a security key that was provided if the combo is forgotten or quick access needed. I used these reviews before I purchased and they were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for the price
2/2/2012

Customer review by Chuck7775

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by Chuck7775
by Chuck7775

I was looking for an economical way to safeguard my papers and such. This safe will survive a fire and the firemen and didn't break the bank. Heavy enough that nobody is going to run away too fast with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuck7775
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great safe
7/22/2011

Customer review by cduub

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by cduub
by cduub

Great safe for my small important things like my macbook pro 15" and my dslr camera,also it comes with hardware to bolt it to the floor or wall. The other safe i ordered didnt come with that hardware so I returned it for this one because it defeats the whole purpose if someone can walk away with the safe. great product!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cduub
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very Satisfied with Purchase
2/21/2011

Customer review by GimmeAGreatDeal

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by GimmeAGreatDeal
by GimmeAGreatDeal

This little safe is everything we expected it to be (so far) It is dificult to say anything good or bad about a product that has yet to be put to the test for what it's expected to do unless we set it on fire in the front yard and then drown it with the hose, but for the price we paid, the size we got, and the 2 security keys to go along with the combination lock (plus 97 cents Walmart shipping on a 90+ lb safe) I'd recommend it to family or friends.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GimmeAGreatDeal
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect size for the home.
11/5/2011

Customer review by Counselor0509

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by Counselor0509
by Counselor0509

It's bigger than my safety deposit box, yet small enough to keep in the house. Very durable and not easy for someone to pick up and walk away with.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Counselor0509
Berwyn, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great safe w/o the security
3/25/2013

Customer review by PapawRonnie

4.0 stars 3/25/2013 by PapawRonnie
by PapawRonnie

If you're looking for a waterproof firesafe then I believe this will meet your expectations. I would have loved to see a few more "security" measures built into it. I would have loved to have the following options available: 1. Purchaser able to change the combo. 2. Double key by-pass. 3, Mountable to wall or floor. The safe does not advertise itself as nothing more than a waterproof firesafe, so I should have read a little farther before making my purchase. Great construction and it functions as advertised. Overall, it's a great buy...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PapawRonnie
Willamette Valley, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/28/2012

Customer review by ShoppinginSyracuseNewYork

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by ShoppinginSyracuseNewYork
by ShoppinginSyracuseNewYork

I haven't had the safe for very long but it met my expectations. It feels solidly built and would appear to be able to keep my valuables safe. I wanted the dial because I didn't want to have to worry about batteries on an electric keypad for the combo. I like that I can quickly use the key rather than the dial code which is complicated and long. Its a good size if you don't have a lot of large objects to put in it. It handles all my valueables and important paperwork. I'm so far satisified with this product and the price was great. There isn't a way to secure the safe to the floor to make it safe from being carried off but I'm not so worried about this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShoppinginSyracuseNewYork
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tough Safe to Crack....
12/26/2008

Customer review by jangels

3.0 stars 12/26/2008 by jangels
by jangels

I purchased this safe for my son and I'm glad I didn't get one for myself. With that said....let me explain. The safe is well made, has all the features that the web site suggests, wasn't faulty by any means.......however....unless you want to spend hours "practicing" how to spin the dial to get into this safe, you better opt for the key pad safe. My son, who is game orientated, immediately found it as a challenge. It took him an hour to master the combination which is a series of four numbers. The first number you have to spin the dial one way four times, but you actually turn it into the fifth spin and then stop on that number. Then, the second number is three spins the opposite direction, third number is 2 spins in the opposite direction and the fourth number you simply turn back the opposite direction to that number. After an hour, my son (who is 19) had mastered it. It took all day for my husband and I. The only time I even got the safe opened was when my son stood behind me assisting me on the correct turns, etc. I'm very quick when it comes to things such as this, but somehow this was a challenge for me. I do plan on buying a safe in the next 6 months and will stick with similar features of this one, such as: fire rating, water resistant, size. However, after seeing what a challenge it was to get into this safe, I'll stick with the keypad features on the more expensive safes. I must add....there is an override key that you can use, if needed, but I'd prefer to have a safe that I can easily get into and the keypad safe for $200 is more along the lines of what would work for me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jangels
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Made Of Steel
10/29/2012

Customer review by Chopperdude

3.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Chopperdude
by Chopperdude

Negative:Purchased Safe To Store items thinking made of steel.Construction is made of hard plastic,it does weigh around 70 pounds but of plastic.Also,when I first opened safe I noticed water around seals and inside seals and safe,isn't this a waterproof safe?Why was safe wet in the first place?Manufacturer tests for waterproof before shipped to consumers?..Positive if any:Better than nothing to store items,decent I guess for under $150.00,But why make a safe out of Plastic?

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chopperdude
Miami,FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews