Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 99 reviews
5 stars
66
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 89 reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews
What you don't know and should
3/10/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So I just bought this safe. I think it is a great price for a solid, extremely secure fire and waterproof safe and does what it should but what you should know is: 1. It's dark blue, not grey like the pictures. 2. The combination is preset and CAN NOT be changed. 3. You CAN NOT bolt it down (though it is 80lbs) 4. The storage pouch on the inside of the door can only hold about a 1/4 inch thick pamphlet 8 inches wide. (like two passports side by side). It's not really a pouch. 5. There is a 1x1x2 inch well on the top of the door (inside). Don't know what it was meant for but it's size could hold only one roll of film (maybe that's its intent?) The shelf is adjustable to about 1 inch increments. My Downside: If I had known you can't change the spin dial combo, I would have bought the digital safe to be able to program and change the lock code myself. (It's easier to remember your own numbers) And getting the digital version you get an extra .3cuft as a plus.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (148)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect!
2/24/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice sized safe for the $! I really like that it's a firesafe AND waterproof! As I'm technically oriented, the 4-digit combo doesn't present a problem. In fact, it's a big plus as it makes it more secure. I just can't see paying twice the price for the same safe with a digit pad. Dial is sturdy and made of METAL. Includes two override keys - very nice. I put everything I could think of in there - Extra checks, birth certificates, vehicle title, credit cards, passport - and there's still a LOT of room. I could fit my laptop in there easily (15"). I think the option of floor-mounting hardware would have been nice, but that would have just led to my ruining the floor. I'm very happy with this safe! Note - color different from website photo. Mine is a dark blue-green (classic 'Cisco' chassis color for you geeks). Just makes me like it even more. I used the "Site-to-Store"; total cost $145. The wait was a little tedious (11 days), but beats paying to ship an 81lb safe. Excellent price for peace of mind!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Honeywell .94 Cu. Ft. Waterproof Firesafe
11/30/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was nervous about ordering any safe due to some of the negative comments about several safe manufacturers posted on various sites. However, the Honeywell .94 cu. ft. safe arrived in perfect condition with the manual and the override keys. The instructions were very easy to follow and everything worked the first time. The size is fine for storing papers, computer disks, and some small valuables if desired. It's fireproof (1 hr.) and waterproof and has it no electronics -- what I was looking for. It cannot be bolted to the floor since it is waterproof. I (being an "older" guy) was able to get the safe in the house and up some stairs easily with a hand cart. The Wal-Mart staff was friendly, helpful, and very courteous when I arrived to pick it up at my selected store. They sent a man to assist me with loading the safe in my SUV which was appreciated. I rarely do reviews, but this one is worth it. Based on my experience and the quality of the safe I received, I'd definitely recommend it to others with similar needs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent Product, but I hope to never need it
7/1/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this fireproof/waterproof safe primarily to store important documents. It's probably over kill for what I need, but I figured I'd get a bigger one and keep it for the rest of my life. The interior space is quite roomy. There's a decent video review that was helpful in displaying the interior dimensions with a ream of paper. The combination is quite difficult to enter correctly. It took both me and my wife several attempts at unlocking it with the combination to get it successfully. The key over-ride is simple, and much quicker. The handle that you use to open the safe feels fairly flimsy compared to the rest of the safe, which is built like a tank. This kind of thing is like insurance. I hope to never find out how fireproof or flood proof it is.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I likey
3/13/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like my new safe. Its kinda hard to get the whole combination thing down cause its a 4 digit combination, but then thats ok cause it makes me feel like my stuff is that much more protected. On top of that if you dont like the 4 number combination do what I do - use the key! I seldom have to get into my safe, but when I do I just use the overide key. Good price, good product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I would buy again if I needed home safe
8/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Perfect size for me and having the shelf is awesome! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Solid
2/18/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Does what it is supposed to do. Get the Electronic lock if you are opening it frequently.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
3/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just received this today. I was worried about using the combination after reading the online reviews so I tried that right away--I did it twice with no problems either time. It has a sticker on the front that tells the direction and number of times to turn for each number. I tried both keys and they worked also. Delivery only took 3 days and it arrived in perfect shape. Not bad for 97 cents! Very pleased with this purchase!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Value
3/12/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Good space, waterproof, and fire-resistant for 1 hour. For the price, it's a solid value, and the best I could find. Picked it up at the store and saved shipping too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's safe!
8/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a great value and easy to use! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The perfect safe to store valuables.
9/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This safe weighs 83 pounds empty. It's now over 100 pounds with all of my valuables inside. No one is going to pick it up and run away with it. It's water proof as well as fire proof and I had no problem with the combination if you read the instructions on how many times to turn the dial. It uses a four number code. I feel that it is a very well built safe and my valuables are secure. It has plenty of room for what I have stored inside.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good product.
4/29/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really like this safe, it's a little complicated to open but after all it is a safe and i didn't want it to be too easy. After reading the instructions, it's not that hard. And there is the over-ride key if it's too hard to open. I'll give it five stars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I feel confident in this safe
5/28/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When i unboxed the safe, I noticed a dent in the top corner above the safe door. I'm guessing it was dropped before it was boxed because the box was not damaged at all. Despite that, it still works and I dont feel worried that it affected the safe in any way...it really is a heavy and sturdy safe. The combination is weird and hard to get used to. Im not used to combination locks having to rotate so many times, but Ive never had a safe before so Im not sure if thats normal. Luckily it comes with the keys so I wont really have to worry about that. All in all...I would say this safe, for its size, is perfect.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/27/2007
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This safe is for the occasional user. If I had to get into it everyday, I wouldn't like it too much. It takes several seconds and concentration to enter the combination. However, if you are looking for a heavy/fire-proof safe to hold things that you don't access everyday, then this is a great buy. I got it for passports, birth certificates, etc. and it's perfect for that. If I had to buy it over again, I would probably get the electronic lock for $30 or so more. If you use it once a week or less, this will be fine for you. But if you are going to be accessing it daily then I would get the electronic lock.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2087F Great Safe
11/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Plenty of room,sturdy,combo easy to work. Remember this is a security safe and all safes like this wether First Alert, Sentry, Honeywell etc. has used the 4_3_2_1 combo for decades. It is for security, and is not a master lock that a 14 yr.old boy can crack in 5 min. No you cannot change the combo yourself. if you realy hate the preset combo, check with a locksmith, they "may" be able to change it. This might void the warrantee and F.A. won't be able to help you if you lose the combo. For those that want to bolt down, spend the $3-$10 extra for the2087F-BD, it comes with the bolt down hardware and floor template .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good
6/4/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
big drawback
4/17/2009
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This safe was a bad purchase. If you buy it, you will probably be disapointed(like i was) and regret it. The combination dial is extremely confusing to figure out how many turns you need to make and the combination numbers were written in non-legible handwriting on a sticker on the front of the safe when it arrived. I spent hours trying to figure out what the numbers were and trying to figure the dial itself out and i still have not been able to open the safe without the override key. The combination numbers are not easy to retrieve from the company because of thievery issues, and if you dont know a notory public, your screwed. Also, the handle is plastic and looks as if it would break off fairly easy. Some good things about the safe are that the safe seems durable and heavy enough, with plenty of storage space, although the material it is made of is some kind of plastic.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Satisfied with Purchase
2/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This little safe is everything we expected it to be (so far) It is dificult to say anything good or bad about a product that has yet to be put to the test for what it's expected to do unless we set it on fire in the front yard and then drown it with the hose, but for the price we paid, the size we got, and the 2 security keys to go along with the combination lock (plus 97 cents Walmart shipping on a 90+ lb safe) I'd recommend it to family or friends.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's ok.
1/31/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my 3rd small safe - granted the other 2 are over 20 years old, but this one just seems kinda cheap compared to them. The handle is plastic and feels like it will break if you put too much pressure on it. The door is hard to shut - you need to hold it close while turning the handle and dial. While the key is nice for quick access, it needs to be well hidden or a thief can access quickly too. It's light weight - the fed-ex guy carried it from the street to the garage and I was able to carry it in the house. That being said, if you are looking for something that can be quickly access and protect your documents/belongings from floods (very tight seal) or fire this one will do. It's small enough to fit on a closet floor and not interfere with the clothes hanging above it or fit under a home computer desk.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
a Safe purchase
9/11/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was pleased with the quality, I didn't expect the extra option of a security key that was provided if the combo is forgotten or quick access needed. I used these reviews before I purchased and they were very helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642855, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-