Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

82 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

82 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 72 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
What you don't know and should
3/10/2009

Customer review by CornPuff

5.0 stars 3/10/2009 by CornPuff
by CornPuff

So I just bought this safe. I think it is a great price for a solid, extremely secure fire and waterproof safe and does what it should but what you should know is: 1. It's dark blue, not grey like the pictures. 2. The combination is preset and CAN NOT be changed. 3. You CAN NOT bolt it down (though it is 80lbs) 4. The storage pouch on the inside of the door can only hold about a 1/4 inch thick pamphlet 8 inches wide. (like two passports side by side). It's not really a pouch. 5. There is a 1x1x2 inch well on the top of the door (inside). Don't know what it was meant for but it's size could hold only one roll of film (maybe that's its intent?) The shelf is adjustable to about 1 inch increments. My Downside: If I had known you can't change the spin dial combo, I would have bought the digital safe to be able to program and change the lock code myself. (It's easier to remember your own numbers) And getting the digital version you get an extra .3cuft as a plus.

Was this review helpful? (135) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CornPuff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect!
2/24/2009

Customer review by Alveron

5.0 stars 2/24/2009 by Alveron
by Alveron

Nice sized safe for the $! I really like that it's a firesafe AND waterproof! As I'm technically oriented, the 4-digit combo doesn't present a problem. In fact, it's a big plus as it makes it more secure. I just can't see paying twice the price for the same safe with a digit pad. Dial is sturdy and made of METAL. Includes two override keys - very nice. I put everything I could think of in there - Extra checks, birth certificates, vehicle title, credit cards, passport - and there's still a LOT of room. I could fit my laptop in there easily (15"). I think the option of floor-mounting hardware would have been nice, but that would have just led to my ruining the floor. I'm very happy with this safe! Note - color different from website photo. Mine is a dark blue-green (classic 'Cisco' chassis color for you geeks). Just makes me like it even more. I used the "Site-to-Store"; total cost $145. The wait was a little tedious (11 days), but beats paying to ship an 81lb safe. Excellent price for peace of mind!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alveron
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Honeywell .94 Cu. Ft. Waterproof Firesafe
11/30/2009

Customer review by RaleighGuy

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by RaleighGuy
by RaleighGuy

I was nervous about ordering any safe due to some of the negative comments about several safe manufacturers posted on various sites. However, the Honeywell .94 cu. ft. safe arrived in perfect condition with the manual and the override keys. The instructions were very easy to follow and everything worked the first time. The size is fine for storing papers, computer disks, and some small valuables if desired. It's fireproof (1 hr.) and waterproof and has it no electronics -- what I was looking for. It cannot be bolted to the floor since it is waterproof. I (being an "older" guy) was able to get the safe in the house and up some stairs easily with a hand cart. The Wal-Mart staff was friendly, helpful, and very courteous when I arrived to pick it up at my selected store. They sent a man to assist me with loading the safe in my SUV which was appreciated. I rarely do reviews, but this one is worth it. Based on my experience and the quality of the safe I received, I'd definitely recommend it to others with similar needs.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RaleighGuy
Garner, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
It's ok.
1/31/2016

Customer review by gpcali

3.0 stars 1/31/2016 by gpcali
by gpcali

This is my 3rd small safe - granted the other 2 are over 20 years old, but this one just seems kinda cheap compared to them. The handle is plastic and feels like it will break if you put too much pressure on it. The door is hard to shut - you need to hold it close while turning the handle and dial. While the key is nice for quick access, it needs to be well hidden or a thief can access quickly too. It's light weight - the fed-ex guy carried it from the street to the garage and I was able to carry it in the house. That being said, if you are looking for something that can be quickly access and protect your documents/belongings from floods (very tight seal) or fire this one will do. It's small enough to fit on a closet floor and not interfere with the clothes hanging above it or fit under a home computer desk.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gpcali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First Alert Combo .94 cu in
1/20/2016

Customer review by JCLJ

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by JCLJ
by JCLJ

Excellent quality product with a great price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JCLJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent Product, but I hope to never need it
7/1/2011

Customer review by Tommy1981

4.0 stars 7/1/2011 by Tommy1981
by Tommy1981

I got this fireproof/waterproof safe primarily to store important documents. It's probably over kill for what I need, but I figured I'd get a bigger one and keep it for the rest of my life. The interior space is quite roomy. There's a decent video review that was helpful in displaying the interior dimensions with a ream of paper. The combination is quite difficult to enter correctly. It took both me and my wife several attempts at unlocking it with the combination to get it successfully. The key over-ride is simple, and much quicker. The handle that you use to open the safe feels fairly flimsy compared to the rest of the safe, which is built like a tank. This kind of thing is like insurance. I hope to never find out how fireproof or flood proof it is.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tommy1981
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
I likey
3/13/2008

Customer review by rockbiter777

5.0 stars 3/13/2008 by rockbiter777
by rockbiter777

I like my new safe. Its kinda hard to get the whole combination thing down cause its a 4 digit combination, but then thats ok cause it makes me feel like my stuff is that much more protected. On top of that if you dont like the 4 number combination do what I do - use the key! I seldom have to get into my safe, but when I do I just use the overide key. Good price, good product.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockbiter777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Solid
2/18/2008

Customer review by Freedom1789

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by Freedom1789
by Freedom1789

Does what it is supposed to do. Get the Electronic lock if you are opening it frequently.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Freedom1789
Norfolk, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great!
1/2/2016

Customer review by WalmartLover

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by WalmartLover
by WalmartLover

Good quality great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartLover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
3/30/2011

Customer review by slkcma

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by slkcma
by slkcma

I just received this today. I was worried about using the combination after reading the online reviews so I tried that right away--I did it twice with no problems either time. It has a sticker on the front that tells the direction and number of times to turn for each number. I tried both keys and they worked also. Delivery only took 3 days and it arrived in perfect shape. Not bad for 97 cents! Very pleased with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slkcma
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good Value
3/12/2009

Customer review by WalmartJames

4.0 stars 3/12/2009 by WalmartJames
by WalmartJames

Good space, waterproof, and fire-resistant for 1 hour. For the price, it's a solid value, and the best I could find. Picked it up at the store and saved shipping too.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartJames
Hope ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
11/27/2007

Customer review by SnakeDoc

4.0 stars 11/27/2007 by SnakeDoc
by SnakeDoc

This safe is for the occasional user. If I had to get into it everyday, I wouldn't like it too much. It takes several seconds and concentration to enter the combination. However, if you are looking for a heavy/fire-proof safe to hold things that you don't access everyday, then this is a great buy. I got it for passports, birth certificates, etc. and it's perfect for that. If I had to buy it over again, I would probably get the electronic lock for $30 or so more. If you use it once a week or less, this will be fine for you. But if you are going to be accessing it daily then I would get the electronic lock.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SnakeDoc
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very good product.
4/29/2009

Customer review by dooleyzzz

5.0 stars 4/29/2009 by dooleyzzz
by dooleyzzz

I really like this safe, it's a little complicated to open but after all it is a safe and i didn't want it to be too easy. After reading the instructions, it's not that hard. And there is the over-ride key if it's too hard to open. I'll give it five stars.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dooleyzzz
West Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
First ever Safe Box
9/23/2015

Customer review by safeboxbuyer

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by safeboxbuyer
by safeboxbuyer

I like it! It's right size and weight (~75lbs, I can carry it upstairs). Operational: I have no issue open it whether with combination. I really like the backup/override keys. This is very good for the people who do not want to use combination lock. it seems to be made by some kind of high-temp fire resistance composite, enclosing the steel frame. Roomy enough to put critical items like passport, jewelries,... what I don't like: I don't like the material made out for the handler - I think they can improve this. Overall, it is a good buy for someone to look for a home safebox with fire and flood protection. I think you have to bolt it down for thief protection as it can be carry by a strong arm. Other than that, it will be a fine buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
safeboxbuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The perfect safe to store valuables.
9/30/2011

Customer review by WatersofVancouver

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by WatersofVancouver
by WatersofVancouver

This safe weighs 83 pounds empty. It's now over 100 pounds with all of my valuables inside. No one is going to pick it up and run away with it. It's water proof as well as fire proof and I had no problem with the combination if you read the instructions on how many times to turn the dial. It uses a four number code. I feel that it is a very well built safe and my valuables are secure. It has plenty of room for what I have stored inside.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WatersofVancouver
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
big drawback
4/17/2009

Customer review by Russle

1.0 stars 4/17/2009 by Russle
by Russle

This safe was a bad purchase. If you buy it, you will probably be disapointed(like i was) and regret it. The combination dial is extremely confusing to figure out how many turns you need to make and the combination numbers were written in non-legible handwriting on a sticker on the front of the safe when it arrived. I spent hours trying to figure out what the numbers were and trying to figure the dial itself out and i still have not been able to open the safe without the override key. The combination numbers are not easy to retrieve from the company because of thievery issues, and if you dont know a notory public, your screwed. Also, the handle is plastic and looks as if it would break off fairly easy. Some good things about the safe are that the safe seems durable and heavy enough, with plenty of storage space, although the material it is made of is some kind of plastic.

Was this review helpful? (1) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Russle
Greenbrier Ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
a Safe purchase
9/11/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/11/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was pleased with the quality, I didn't expect the extra option of a security key that was provided if the combo is forgotten or quick access needed. I used these reviews before I purchased and they were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great safe w/o the security
3/25/2013

Customer review by PapawRonnie

4.0 stars 3/25/2013 by PapawRonnie
by PapawRonnie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you're looking for a waterproof firesafe then I believe this will meet your expectations. I would have loved to see a few more "security" measures built into it. I would have loved to have the following options available: 1. Purchaser able to change the combo. 2. Double key by-pass. 3, Mountable to wall or floor. The safe does not advertise itself as nothing more than a waterproof firesafe, so I should have read a little farther before making my purchase. Great construction and it functions as advertised. Overall, it's a great buy...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PapawRonnie
Willamette Valley, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/13/2012

Customer review by dinnellyii

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by dinnellyii
by dinnellyii

EFFICIENCY Tons of room, I've had it for more than two months now and haven't filled it halfway. So far so good. It's about as secure as it could be! For my needs, the security is enough to keep kids and prying eyes out of our stuff. The combination and key entry are very good. Not a single problem there. It is a bit bulkier that what you might think. Keep an eye on the dimensions. CARE The directions tell you to air it out for twenty minutes every two weeks. It feels like it could get a little humid inside the safe. I've put silica gel beads in there also to be a little extra careful. Haven't noticed any issues with the humidity yet either. Keep in mind it's only been two months. 11-13-2012 SPECS In the event that the fire/water specs are put to the test, I hope that it holds up. It reads like it should. 1700 degrees F for one hour is one of the best specs i've seen out there. Most of them are similar in temp but only stand for half that time. Now, I learned from a fire fighter during a test, with live home fire measuring the temp in a basement (purportedly the hottest place in a home fire, so I'm told) was only about 1200 degrees F. Should hold up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dinnellyii
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Satisfied with Purchase
2/21/2011

Customer review by GimmeAGreatDeal

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by GimmeAGreatDeal
by GimmeAGreatDeal

This little safe is everything we expected it to be (so far) It is dificult to say anything good or bad about a product that has yet to be put to the test for what it's expected to do unless we set it on fire in the front yard and then drown it with the hose, but for the price we paid, the size we got, and the 2 security keys to go along with the combination lock (plus 97 cents Walmart shipping on a 90+ lb safe) I'd recommend it to family or friends.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GimmeAGreatDeal
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews