Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

76 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

76 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 61 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Does the job
7/30/2011

Customer review by EcoRaven

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by EcoRaven
by EcoRaven

I have not actually tested if it is waterproof or fireproof, but assuming it is like it is says it is, GREAT! :) The only issue was my external harddrive barely fit and I couldn't fit my 8.5x11 paper work in there because it was to small. But not a big deal, they sell larger ones.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EcoRaven
17701
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Works for what I Need
8/20/2013

Customer review by Cecilia123

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Cecilia123
by Cecilia123

For the price, you get a lot. It's bigger (and heavier - almost 15 pounds) than I thought it would be. If you want standard printing paper to fit inside of it though, you will probably have to fold it. The instructions say to air out for twenty minutes every two weeks. It also mentions putting whatever you put inside of the safe inside an air-tight bag. Maybe because, though it is waterproof, it's only water proof for a certain duration of time? I think I remember reading a review about someone getting this safe with mold inside of it. It might be because of that too. Mine was mold-free and the inside had one of those gel silica pouches. I threw it out and put my stuff in sandwich bags. I've only had this thing for about two weeks, so that's how far my insight stretches out. Mine came with 2 small keys. They feel like they could be easily broken (metal part) if you're messing around with it. But they're labeled "fire proof safe" or something like that if you look closely. So you can tell what's it for if you have a million keys. Not so great if you don't want burglars reading it and going, "Oh, okay! Let's find the safe!" There's also a number on the keys. If anything every happens to your keys, you can order a new one. You just have to tell the company what the number on the key was and pay for shipping I think. The instructions didn't really help me close it properly. But here's how you do it... First, for opening... put key in and turn to the unlocked lock picture. Press the button and it will open. To shut it, close the lid and snap the rectangular lock spot back into place (NOW turn the key to the locked lock picture). Otherwise you won't get it to shut. It's not hard to open after you figure it out. Few last things... I'm not trusting of the handle's strength if you want to carry it that way. The instructions said NOT to place it on its side in storage, but it may not protect stuff the same way if a fire happens. Lastly, there's a five year warranty in case there *is* something like a fire. There's a one-year warranty on something else, but I forget what.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cecilia123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent safe if you don't mind mold!
7/9/2012

Customer review by js80

2.0 stars 7/9/2012 by js80
by js80

I started out very pleased with this safe, even though when I first opened it the instruction manual was kind of moldy. I figured it was just a fluke and no big deal. Until week after week, month after month, everything I put in the safe, especially money started to show the signs and smells of mold! After speaking with First Alert representatives on two separate occasions I learned that this was common and the only way to prevent mold was to never open the safe! I was also told that despite not being in the instruction manual the "hidden" safe is required to be taken out and aired out for 20 minutes every two weeks to do something?, but not stop the mold. The price was good, but having everything moldy without the waterproof safe ever getting wet is just not worth the price. Part of the reason I bought the safe was for the waterproof part, (I live in a flood prone house) but now I'm terrified at how moldy things will get if the safe actually gets wet.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
js80
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
a needed product
6/22/2008

Customer review by gabbe

5.0 stars 6/22/2008 by gabbe
by gabbe

My husband & I bought this item to keep our important papers in. Works well, but smaller that we thought. Very strong product.........everything fit in it but if we have more things to add, we may have to buy another one. Overall very happy with the product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gabbe
Clarksburg,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not what i expected....
6/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Wont recommend at all, first time locekd and thats it dont open with its own key..thanx god i didnt keep my any stuff in it yet..was just checking its Lock...

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Long island,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good product
7/17/2009

Customer review by pizzaman2009

4.0 stars 7/17/2009 by pizzaman2009
by pizzaman2009

after extensive research i finally made a decision. i was looking for something inexpensive (found it ). i was looking for something solid ( found it ). i have only owned the product for a few months. it has never gotten wet or been subject to a fire. so i am unable to rate that. overall it met my needs and the lock mechanism is solid.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pizzaman2009
pembroke pines, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Safe for home
11/1/2011

Customer review by silver951

4.0 stars 11/1/2011 by silver951
by silver951

This safe is ok but a bit heavy for myself. Can not understand why I need to put my papers and such inside an airtight dishwasher safe container before putting them into my safe. It is supposed to be waterproof and fireproof so why do I need to do that? Wish I had not bought it but I have it now so will keep it. You also have to open it up and let it air out for 20 minutes every two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
silver951
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not what I expected.
12/12/2013

Customer review by GirlRabbit

2.0 stars 12/12/2013 by GirlRabbit
by GirlRabbit

I returned the product. The instructions said that you had to put your belongings in plastic bags and open the chest every couple of weeks. That wasn't what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GirlRabbit
FT Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very small inside
4/19/2012

Customer review by sundance53

2.0 stars 4/19/2012 by sundance53
by sundance53

this safe was very small inside and it had been dropped and 2 corners were broken. I took it back to walmart and got a slightly larger one that is big enough for what i need

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sundance53
Thermopolis Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Wonderful Product
8/8/2007

Customer review by Windy456

5.0 stars 8/8/2007 by Windy456
by Windy456

Product is and was all that I expected it to be. I just wish it would hold more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Windy456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/22/2011

Customer review by aanddmom

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by aanddmom
by aanddmom

Just needed something small to hold the important papers and things and this is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aanddmom
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Compact
4/19/2013

Customer review by Rhiannan

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by Rhiannan
by Rhiannan

This safe is small but it seems to be well made and it's exactly what I need to store important documents, a backup hard drive for my computer, etc. I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rhiannan
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for the money
3/1/2013

Customer review by vick09

4.0 stars 3/1/2013 by vick09
by vick09

I got what I paid for. For small papers, passports and CD's. Just large enough for unreplaceable's, very important stuff. If you need more room, buy a safe.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vick09
19033
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great For The Price
7/25/2008

Customer review by ChoirMember

4.0 stars 7/25/2008 by ChoirMember
by ChoirMember

This is a very small fire & water proof lockbox but is much better than the Sentry version I owned previously. Performs exactly as advertised and is a great buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChoirMember
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not big enough
5/23/2013

Customer review by deb127

3.0 stars 5/23/2013 by deb127
by deb127

I bought this because the description says it can fit letter size papers inside. I needed it for a life insurance policy that can't be folded. It does not fit inside. I have to return it. Other than that it seemed fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deb127
Rockaways, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product
10/1/2007

Customer review by Momma2008

5.0 stars 10/1/2007 by Momma2008
by Momma2008

This is a very nice fire safe. Not to big, but also not to small. It can fit in a large dresser drawer, under the bed, etc., which is nice and convenient. And you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momma2008
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great safety product.
1/5/2009

Customer review by StealthShopper

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by StealthShopper
by StealthShopper

I was impressed by how well made the Honeywell fire-proof safe is. I would recommend it to anyone looking to preserve their valuable papers or perhaps pieces of fine jewelry.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StealthShopper
Veneta, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product
5/30/2013

Customer review by Paperchacer2010

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by Paperchacer2010
by Paperchacer2010

Very reliable easy to use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paperchacer2010
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value.
11/22/2013

Customer review by Beautiful2000

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Beautiful2000
by Beautiful2000

Was pleasantly surprised when I opened the box. Very roomy inside. Not easy to pick up and run with. Great price for the size. Over all I love this product. I recommend the First Alert Fire and Water protector Chest to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beautiful2000
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great small safe
7/17/2011

Customer review by sammiebug

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by sammiebug
by sammiebug

Perfect size for documents and small items.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sammiebug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews