Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 108 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
Does the job
7/30/2011

Customer review by EcoRaven

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by EcoRaven
by EcoRaven
Walmart associate

I have not actually tested if it is waterproof or fireproof, but assuming it is like it is says it is, GREAT! :) The only issue was my external harddrive barely fit and I couldn't fit my 8.5x11 paper work in there because it was to small. But not a big deal, they sell larger ones.

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EcoRaven
17701
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Walmart associate
Decent safe if you don't mind mold!
7/9/2012

Customer review by js80

2.0 stars 7/9/2012 by js80
by js80

I started out very pleased with this safe, even though when I first opened it the instruction manual was kind of moldy. I figured it was just a fluke and no big deal. Until week after week, month after month, everything I put in the safe, especially money started to show the signs and smells of mold! After speaking with First Alert representatives on two separate occasions I learned that this was common and the only way to prevent mold was to never open the safe! I was also told that despite not being in the instruction manual the "hidden" safe is required to be taken out and aired out for 20 minutes every two weeks to do something?, but not stop the mold. The price was good, but having everything moldy without the waterproof safe ever getting wet is just not worth the price. Part of the reason I bought the safe was for the waterproof part, (I live in a flood prone house) but now I'm terrified at how moldy things will get if the safe actually gets wet.

Was this review helpful? (56) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
js80
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Not what I expected.
12/12/2013

Customer review by GirlRabbit

2.0 stars 12/12/2013 by GirlRabbit
by GirlRabbit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I returned the product. The instructions said that you had to put your belongings in plastic bags and open the chest every couple of weeks. That wasn't what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GirlRabbit
FT Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Sturdy
12/4/2015

Customer review by jmadams

5.0 stars 12/4/2015 by jmadams
by jmadams

This is one sturdy box. The only draw back...it is supposed to be aired out every two weeks for 20 minutes. NOT in my busy schedule. Also it has to be flat and not tilted on its side to work. Good to know because I was going to put it sideways in a spot.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmadams
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works for what I Need
8/20/2013

Customer review by Cecilia123

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Cecilia123
by Cecilia123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price, you get a lot. It's bigger (and heavier - almost 15 pounds) than I thought it would be. If you want standard printing paper to fit inside of it though, you will probably have to fold it. The instructions say to air out for twenty minutes every two weeks. It also mentions putting whatever you put inside of the safe inside an air-tight bag. Maybe because, though it is waterproof, it's only water proof for a certain duration of time? I think I remember reading a review about someone getting this safe with mold inside of it. It might be because of that too. Mine was mold-free and the inside had one of those gel silica pouches. I threw it out and put my stuff in sandwich bags. I've only had this thing for about two weeks, so that's how far my insight stretches out. Mine came with 2 small keys. They feel like they could be easily broken (metal part) if you're messing around with it. But they're labeled "fire proof safe" or something like that if you look closely. So you can tell what's it for if you have a million keys. Not so great if you don't want burglars reading it and going, "Oh, okay! Let's find the safe!" There's also a number on the keys. If anything every happens to your keys, you can order a new one. You just have to tell the company what the number on the key was and pay for shipping I think. The instructions didn't really help me close it properly. But here's how you do it... First, for opening... put key in and turn to the unlocked lock picture. Press the button and it will open. To shut it, close the lid and snap the rectangular lock spot back into place (NOW turn the key to the locked lock picture). Otherwise you won't get it to shut. It's not hard to open after you figure it out. Few last things... I'm not trusting of the handle's strength if you want to carry it that way. The instructions said NOT to place it on its side in storage, but it may not protect stuff the same way if a fire happens. Lastly, there's a five year warranty in case there *is* something like a fire. There's a one-year warranty on something else, but I forget what.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cecilia123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a needed product
6/22/2008

Customer review by gabbe

5.0 stars 6/22/2008 by gabbe
by gabbe

My husband & I bought this item to keep our important papers in. Works well, but smaller that we thought. Very strong product.........everything fit in it but if we have more things to add, we may have to buy another one. Overall very happy with the product.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabbe
Clarksburg,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
good product
7/17/2009

Customer review by pizzaman2009

4.0 stars 7/17/2009 by pizzaman2009
by pizzaman2009

after extensive research i finally made a decision. i was looking for something inexpensive (found it ). i was looking for something solid ( found it ). i have only owned the product for a few months. it has never gotten wet or been subject to a fire. so i am unable to rate that. overall it met my needs and the lock mechanism is solid.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pizzaman2009
pembroke pines, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
A true value! Very nice! We are pleased!
3/8/2017

Customer review by Lori

5.0 stars 3/8/2017 by Lori
by Lori
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We ordered these for client gifts and they were a total Hit! We were proud to give them and our clients were thrilled to receive them. The price for what you get is super!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lori
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what i expected....
6/23/2011

Customer review by DevSingh

1.0 stars 6/23/2011 by DevSingh
by DevSingh

Wont recommend at all, first time locekd and thats it dont open with its own key..thanx god i didnt keep my any stuff in it yet..was just checking its Lock...

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DevSingh
Long island,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Love it!!!
12/9/2016

Customer review by grandmatink2015

5.0 stars 12/9/2016 by grandmatink2015
by grandmatink2015
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the safe to hold my medicine and some important papers. It works great. I highly recommend. I got it because it's fire and water proof. I hope I never have to find out if it works for those.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandmatink2015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Safe for home
11/1/2011

Customer review by silver951

4.0 stars 11/1/2011 by silver951
by silver951

This safe is ok but a bit heavy for myself. Can not understand why I need to put my papers and such inside an airtight dishwasher safe container before putting them into my safe. It is supposed to be waterproof and fireproof so why do I need to do that? Wish I had not bought it but I have it now so will keep it. You also have to open it up and let it air out for 20 minutes every two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
silver951
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
The
3/19/2016

Customer review by Sackrack

5.0 stars 3/19/2016 by Sackrack
by Sackrack

It is good to hold documents

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sackrack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very small inside
4/19/2012

Customer review by sundance53

2.0 stars 4/19/2012 by sundance53
by sundance53

this safe was very small inside and it had been dropped and 2 corners were broken. I took it back to walmart and got a slightly larger one that is big enough for what i need

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sundance53
Thermopolis Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Very secure chest
8/27/2016

Customer review by lasershopper

5.0 stars 8/27/2016 by lasershopper
by lasershopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very secure and safe being waterproof and fireproof. It is a bit heavy but its because of its nature to keep valuables safe. I would recommend. Especially based on the low selling price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lasershopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good affordable safe
8/29/2016

Customer review by Leslu

5.0 stars 8/29/2016 by Leslu
by Leslu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use. Good price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leslu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent safe
12/23/2016

Customer review by Kpe

5.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Kpe
by Kpe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price it can't be beat! Two sets of keys provided. Can fit a lot of items. Great product!

Kpe
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First Alert 2013F
6/10/2016

Customer review by jenny28

4.0 stars 6/10/2016 by jenny28
by jenny28
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The perfect size for money & jewelry

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jenny28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First Alert lock box
4/8/2016

Customer review by KCook

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by KCook
by KCook

This box is great. The only thing it is a little heavy. But it is a safe, so that explains. It is waterproof and first proof up to 1550 degrees for 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KCook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent price for a good present
10/28/2007

Customer review by Makkie

5.0 stars 10/28/2007 by Makkie
by Makkie

Gave this item to a friend, she is a happy camper. Come to find out, she had recently spoken with her sister about having a need for this type of item. SO.. turned into a great birthday present :) How often will she use it? That I don't know, so I'll guess at that question with answer of a few times a month. I am very likely to purchase this item again for a few other folks when their birthdays come around.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Makkie
Asheville NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Not big enough
5/23/2013

Customer review by deb127

3.0 stars 5/23/2013 by deb127
by deb127
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this because the description says it can fit letter size papers inside. I needed it for a life insurance policy that can't be folded. It does not fit inside. I have to return it. Other than that it seemed fine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deb127
Rockaways, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews