Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 103 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

103 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

103 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
72
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 88 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Does the job
7/30/2011

Customer review by EcoRaven

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by EcoRaven
by EcoRaven
Walmart associate

I have not actually tested if it is waterproof or fireproof, but assuming it is like it is says it is, GREAT! :) The only issue was my external harddrive barely fit and I couldn't fit my 8.5x11 paper work in there because it was to small. But not a big deal, they sell larger ones.

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EcoRaven
17701
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Decent safe if you don't mind mold!
7/9/2012

Customer review by js80

2.0 stars 7/9/2012 by js80
by js80

I started out very pleased with this safe, even though when I first opened it the instruction manual was kind of moldy. I figured it was just a fluke and no big deal. Until week after week, month after month, everything I put in the safe, especially money started to show the signs and smells of mold! After speaking with First Alert representatives on two separate occasions I learned that this was common and the only way to prevent mold was to never open the safe! I was also told that despite not being in the instruction manual the "hidden" safe is required to be taken out and aired out for 20 minutes every two weeks to do something?, but not stop the mold. The price was good, but having everything moldy without the waterproof safe ever getting wet is just not worth the price. Part of the reason I bought the safe was for the waterproof part, (I live in a flood prone house) but now I'm terrified at how moldy things will get if the safe actually gets wet.

Was this review helpful? (53) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
js80
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
So Sturdy
12/4/2015

Customer review by jmadams

5.0 stars 12/4/2015 by jmadams
by jmadams

This is one sturdy box. The only draw back...it is supposed to be aired out every two weeks for 20 minutes. NOT in my busy schedule. Also it has to be flat and not tilted on its side to work. Good to know because I was going to put it sideways in a spot.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmadams
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fire & Water proof safe
7/27/2016

Customer review by chiefchuck

5.0 stars 7/27/2016 by chiefchuck
by chiefchuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You cannot beat the price for what you're getting. I needed a place to keep some important papers and software programs. This safe was perfect and the fact that it is fire and water proof is that much better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chiefchuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected.
12/12/2013

Customer review by GirlRabbit

2.0 stars 12/12/2013 by GirlRabbit
by GirlRabbit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I returned the product. The instructions said that you had to put your belongings in plastic bags and open the chest every couple of weeks. That wasn't what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GirlRabbit
FT Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fire Safe and water proof
7/23/2016

Customer review by HBIRD

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by HBIRD
by HBIRD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent , Great price! Not for legal size papers. You would prefer the .19 size for a few dollars more. I have 3 of that size.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HBIRD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First Alert 2013F
6/10/2016

Customer review by jenny28

4.0 stars 6/10/2016 by jenny28
by jenny28
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The perfect size for money & jewelry

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jenny28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The
3/19/2016

Customer review by Sackrack

5.0 stars 3/19/2016 by Sackrack
by Sackrack

It is good to hold documents

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sackrack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a needed product
6/22/2008

Customer review by gabbe

5.0 stars 6/22/2008 by gabbe
by gabbe

My husband & I bought this item to keep our important papers in. Works well, but smaller that we thought. Very strong product.........everything fit in it but if we have more things to add, we may have to buy another one. Overall very happy with the product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabbe
Clarksburg,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great and so compact
6/23/2016

Customer review by Mikedd552

5.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Mikedd552
by Mikedd552
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It works for us in so many way Thx again

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mikedd552
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works for what I Need
8/20/2013

Customer review by Cecilia123

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Cecilia123
by Cecilia123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price, you get a lot. It's bigger (and heavier - almost 15 pounds) than I thought it would be. If you want standard printing paper to fit inside of it though, you will probably have to fold it. The instructions say to air out for twenty minutes every two weeks. It also mentions putting whatever you put inside of the safe inside an air-tight bag. Maybe because, though it is waterproof, it's only water proof for a certain duration of time? I think I remember reading a review about someone getting this safe with mold inside of it. It might be because of that too. Mine was mold-free and the inside had one of those gel silica pouches. I threw it out and put my stuff in sandwich bags. I've only had this thing for about two weeks, so that's how far my insight stretches out. Mine came with 2 small keys. They feel like they could be easily broken (metal part) if you're messing around with it. But they're labeled "fire proof safe" or something like that if you look closely. So you can tell what's it for if you have a million keys. Not so great if you don't want burglars reading it and going, "Oh, okay! Let's find the safe!" There's also a number on the keys. If anything every happens to your keys, you can order a new one. You just have to tell the company what the number on the key was and pay for shipping I think. The instructions didn't really help me close it properly. But here's how you do it... First, for opening... put key in and turn to the unlocked lock picture. Press the button and it will open. To shut it, close the lid and snap the rectangular lock spot back into place (NOW turn the key to the locked lock picture). Otherwise you won't get it to shut. It's not hard to open after you figure it out. Few last things... I'm not trusting of the handle's strength if you want to carry it that way. The instructions said NOT to place it on its side in storage, but it may not protect stuff the same way if a fire happens. Lastly, there's a five year warranty in case there *is* something like a fire. There's a one-year warranty on something else, but I forget what.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cecilia123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good product
7/17/2009

Customer review by pizzaman2009

4.0 stars 7/17/2009 by pizzaman2009
by pizzaman2009

after extensive research i finally made a decision. i was looking for something inexpensive (found it ). i was looking for something solid ( found it ). i have only owned the product for a few months. it has never gotten wet or been subject to a fire. so i am unable to rate that. overall it met my needs and the lock mechanism is solid.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pizzaman2009
pembroke pines, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
First Alert lock box
4/8/2016

Customer review by KCook

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by KCook
by KCook

This box is great. The only thing it is a little heavy. But it is a safe, so that explains. It is waterproof and first proof up to 1550 degrees for 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KCook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what i expected....
6/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Wont recommend at all, first time locekd and thats it dont open with its own key..thanx god i didnt keep my any stuff in it yet..was just checking its Lock...

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Long island,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Safe for home
11/1/2011

Customer review by silver951

4.0 stars 11/1/2011 by silver951
by silver951

This safe is ok but a bit heavy for myself. Can not understand why I need to put my papers and such inside an airtight dishwasher safe container before putting them into my safe. It is supposed to be waterproof and fireproof so why do I need to do that? Wish I had not bought it but I have it now so will keep it. You also have to open it up and let it air out for 20 minutes every two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
silver951
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
exactly what I wanted
3/19/2016

Customer review by drfats

5.0 stars 3/19/2016 by drfats
by drfats

price and size were perfect

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drfats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent
5/18/2016

Customer review by leena

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by leena
by leena

It is good light weight . True to the size in the ad .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leena
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best price anywhere
5/3/2016

Customer review by walmart24680

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by walmart24680
by walmart24680

great little waterproof/fire resistant safe box.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmart24680
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good box
4/17/2016

Customer review by pathug

5.0 stars 4/17/2016 by pathug
by pathug

Good box and great price; . However, next time I will order one with electronic keypad; I hate keys!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pathug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very small inside
4/19/2012

Customer review by sundance53

2.0 stars 4/19/2012 by sundance53
by sundance53

this safe was very small inside and it had been dropped and 2 corners were broken. I took it back to walmart and got a slightly larger one that is big enough for what i need

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sundance53
Thermopolis Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews