Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 126 reviews
5 stars
87
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 111 reviews
1-20 of 111 reviews
Does the job
7/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I have not actually tested if it is waterproof or fireproof, but assuming it is like it is says it is, GREAT! :) The only issue was my external harddrive barely fit and I couldn't fit my 8.5x11 paper work in there because it was to small. But not a big deal, they sell larger ones.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent safe if you don't mind mold!
7/9/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I started out very pleased with this safe, even though when I first opened it the instruction manual was kind of moldy. I figured it was just a fluke and no big deal. Until week after week, month after month, everything I put in the safe, especially money started to show the signs and smells of mold! After speaking with First Alert representatives on two separate occasions I learned that this was common and the only way to prevent mold was to never open the safe! I was also told that despite not being in the instruction manual the "hidden" safe is required to be taken out and aired out for 20 minutes every two weeks to do something?, but not stop the mold. The price was good, but having everything moldy without the waterproof safe ever getting wet is just not worth the price. Part of the reason I bought the safe was for the waterproof part, (I live in a flood prone house) but now I'm terrified at how moldy things will get if the safe actually gets wet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (64)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Waterproof Fireproof Lock Box
10/6/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This lock box would be perfect, if it was a little bigger. I thought I would be able to lie papers flat based on the measurements, but they have to be curved, so can’t fit as much as I expected.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This a very sturdy case.
10/4/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am very satisfied that my documents will be protected.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So Sturdy
12/4/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is one sturdy box. The only draw back...it is supposed to be aired out every two weeks for 20 minutes. NOT in my busy schedule. Also it has to be flat and not tilted on its side to work. Good to know because I was going to put it sideways in a spot.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what I expected.
12/12/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I returned the product. The instructions said that you had to put your belongings in plastic bags and open the chest every couple of weeks. That wasn't what I wanted.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great safe deposit box.
9/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to use..spacious enough for what i needed it for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Latch
10/14/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The casing might be fire and water proof, but the latch for lock is made of hard plastic, it can be melted in high temperature such as fire. This safe can be open without a key by breaking the plastic latch that hold the lock.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
a needed product
6/22/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband & I bought this item to keep our important papers in. Works well, but smaller that we thought. Very strong product.........everything fit in it but if we have more things to add, we may have to buy another one. Overall very happy with the product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works for what I Need
8/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
For the price, you get a lot. It's bigger (and heavier - almost 15 pounds) than I thought it would be. If you want standard printing paper to fit inside of it though, you will probably have to fold it. The instructions say to air out for twenty minutes every two weeks. It also mentions putting whatever you put inside of the safe inside an air-tight bag. Maybe because, though it is waterproof, it's only water proof for a certain duration of time? I think I remember reading a review about someone getting this safe with mold inside of it. It might be because of that too. Mine was mold-free and the inside had one of those gel silica pouches. I threw it out and put my stuff in sandwich bags. I've only had this thing for about two weeks, so that's how far my insight stretches out. Mine came with 2 small keys. They feel like they could be easily broken (metal part) if you're messing around with it. But they're labeled "fire proof safe" or something like that if you look closely. So you can tell what's it for if you have a million keys. Not so great if you don't want burglars reading it and going, "Oh, okay! Let's find the safe!" There's also a number on the keys. If anything every happens to your keys, you can order a new one. You just have to tell the company what the number on the key was and pay for shipping I think. The instructions didn't really help me close it properly. But here's how you do it... First, for opening... put key in and turn to the unlocked lock picture. Press the button and it will open. To shut it, close the lid and snap the rectangular lock spot back into place (NOW turn the key to the locked lock picture). Otherwise you won't get it to shut. It's not hard to open after you figure it out. Few last things... I'm not trusting of the handle's strength if you want to carry it that way. The instructions said NOT to place it on its side in storage, but it may not protect stuff the same way if a fire happens. Lastly, there's a five year warranty in case there *is* something like a fire. There's a one-year warranty on something else, but I forget what.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good product
7/17/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
after extensive research i finally made a decision. i was looking for something inexpensive (found it ). i was looking for something solid ( found it ). i have only owned the product for a few months. it has never gotten wet or been subject to a fire. so i am unable to rate that. overall it met my needs and the lock mechanism is solid.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what i expected....
6/23/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wont recommend at all, first time locekd and thats it dont open with its own key..thanx god i didnt keep my any stuff in it yet..was just checking its Lock...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Safe for home
11/1/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This safe is ok but a bit heavy for myself. Can not understand why I need to put my papers and such inside an airtight dishwasher safe container before putting them into my safe. It is supposed to be waterproof and fireproof so why do I need to do that? Wish I had not bought it but I have it now so will keep it. You also have to open it up and let it air out for 20 minutes every two weeks.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
very small inside
4/19/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this safe was very small inside and it had been dropped and 2 corners were broken. I took it back to walmart and got a slightly larger one that is big enough for what i need
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The
3/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is good to hold documents
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very secure chest
8/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very secure and safe being waterproof and fireproof. It is a bit heavy but its because of its nature to keep valuables safe. I would recommend. Especially based on the low selling price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent price for a good present
10/28/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Gave this item to a friend, she is a happy camper. Come to find out, she had recently spoken with her sister about having a need for this type of item. SO.. turned into a great birthday present :) How often will she use it? That I don't know, so I'll guess at that question with answer of a few times a month. I am very likely to purchase this item again for a few other folks when their birthdays come around.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not big enough
5/23/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this because the description says it can fit letter size papers inside. I needed it for a life insurance policy that can't be folded. It does not fit inside. I have to return it. Other than that it seemed fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good affordable safe
8/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy to use. Good price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Product
12/6/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm very pleased with my purchase. It's large enough for fold pieces of paper and small essentials. It's heavy and seems very safe. In a fire, it would actually melt the seal and become one solid piece to keep things safe. The only problem will be not losing the keys...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643955, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-