Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
84
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 107 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 107 total reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews
Excellent safe
12/23/2016

Customer review by Kpe

5.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Kpe
by Kpe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price it can't be beat! Two sets of keys provided. Can fit a lot of items. Great product!

Kpe
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Internal Dimensions
10/5/2012

Customer review by Lamar

2.0 stars 10/5/2012 by Lamar
by Lamar

I had to down rate it for my uses only. The thickness of the "fire wall" sides does not allow 11L x 8.5W, standard size pages, to lie flat within the safe. A lot of papers organized within a loose-leaf binder is out of the question. For that reason I had to buy another safe, paying more attention to internal dimensions than external. It is well constructed for other uses though, and with a 5 year warranty.

Lamar
Laurel, MD
8/17/2011

Customer review by wbm49

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by wbm49
by wbm49

Great chest,good size for papers that must take on trip with us.We bought for fire protection and not for security as anyone could walk off with it.Good price at Sams Club.

wbm49
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
first alert
1/26/2015

Customer review by T money

5.0 stars 1/26/2015 by T money
by T money

This product is the best, for security this is what you need.

T money
Cleveland, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great price and great safefor security
2/26/2014

Customer review by cookieman51

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by cookieman51
by cookieman51

I was looking for a gun safe for my hand gun. This lock box was the ideal size and was on sale for a great price

cookieman51
Garner, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
10/27/2013

Customer review by heyyougirl

4.0 stars 10/27/2013 by heyyougirl
by heyyougirl

Gave this to my daughter for her birthday for small items. She loved it. Waterproof and fire proof..

heyyougirl
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
HAPPY CUSTOMER
3/8/2013

Customer review by Maite

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by Maite
by Maite
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

VERY SATISFIED WITH THE PRODUCT, SERVICE, SHIPPING AND HANDLING

Maite
BRONX,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hope I don't have to use it
5/20/2012

Customer review by Catfish

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by Catfish
by Catfish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Looks like it will do the job.

Catfish
Blue Grass IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nicely designed
5/12/2013

Customer review by Barry

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by Barry
by Barry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Reasonably priced

Barry
FORT MITCHELL,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the job
7/30/2011

Customer review by EcoRaven

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by EcoRaven
by EcoRaven
Walmart associate

I have not actually tested if it is waterproof or fireproof, but assuming it is like it is says it is, GREAT! :) The only issue was my external harddrive barely fit and I couldn't fit my 8.5x11 paper work in there because it was to small. But not a big deal, they sell larger ones.

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EcoRaven
17701
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Decent safe if you don't mind mold!
7/9/2012

Customer review by js80

2.0 stars 7/9/2012 by js80
by js80

I started out very pleased with this safe, even though when I first opened it the instruction manual was kind of moldy. I figured it was just a fluke and no big deal. Until week after week, month after month, everything I put in the safe, especially money started to show the signs and smells of mold! After speaking with First Alert representatives on two separate occasions I learned that this was common and the only way to prevent mold was to never open the safe! I was also told that despite not being in the instruction manual the "hidden" safe is required to be taken out and aired out for 20 minutes every two weeks to do something?, but not stop the mold. The price was good, but having everything moldy without the waterproof safe ever getting wet is just not worth the price. Part of the reason I bought the safe was for the waterproof part, (I live in a flood prone house) but now I'm terrified at how moldy things will get if the safe actually gets wet.

Was this review helpful? (56) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
js80
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
So Sturdy
12/4/2015

Customer review by jmadams

5.0 stars 12/4/2015 by jmadams
by jmadams

This is one sturdy box. The only draw back...it is supposed to be aired out every two weeks for 20 minutes. NOT in my busy schedule. Also it has to be flat and not tilted on its side to work. Good to know because I was going to put it sideways in a spot.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmadams
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what I expected.
12/12/2013

Customer review by GirlRabbit

2.0 stars 12/12/2013 by GirlRabbit
by GirlRabbit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I returned the product. The instructions said that you had to put your belongings in plastic bags and open the chest every couple of weeks. That wasn't what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GirlRabbit
FT Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!!!
12/9/2016

Customer review by grandmatink2015

5.0 stars 12/9/2016 by grandmatink2015
by grandmatink2015
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the safe to hold my medicine and some important papers. It works great. I highly recommend. I got it because it's fire and water proof. I hope I never have to find out if it works for those.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandmatink2015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works for what I Need
8/20/2013

Customer review by Cecilia123

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Cecilia123
by Cecilia123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price, you get a lot. It's bigger (and heavier - almost 15 pounds) than I thought it would be. If you want standard printing paper to fit inside of it though, you will probably have to fold it. The instructions say to air out for twenty minutes every two weeks. It also mentions putting whatever you put inside of the safe inside an air-tight bag. Maybe because, though it is waterproof, it's only water proof for a certain duration of time? I think I remember reading a review about someone getting this safe with mold inside of it. It might be because of that too. Mine was mold-free and the inside had one of those gel silica pouches. I threw it out and put my stuff in sandwich bags. I've only had this thing for about two weeks, so that's how far my insight stretches out. Mine came with 2 small keys. They feel like they could be easily broken (metal part) if you're messing around with it. But they're labeled "fire proof safe" or something like that if you look closely. So you can tell what's it for if you have a million keys. Not so great if you don't want burglars reading it and going, "Oh, okay! Let's find the safe!" There's also a number on the keys. If anything every happens to your keys, you can order a new one. You just have to tell the company what the number on the key was and pay for shipping I think. The instructions didn't really help me close it properly. But here's how you do it... First, for opening... put key in and turn to the unlocked lock picture. Press the button and it will open. To shut it, close the lid and snap the rectangular lock spot back into place (NOW turn the key to the locked lock picture). Otherwise you won't get it to shut. It's not hard to open after you figure it out. Few last things... I'm not trusting of the handle's strength if you want to carry it that way. The instructions said NOT to place it on its side in storage, but it may not protect stuff the same way if a fire happens. Lastly, there's a five year warranty in case there *is* something like a fire. There's a one-year warranty on something else, but I forget what.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cecilia123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a needed product
6/22/2008

Customer review by gabbe

5.0 stars 6/22/2008 by gabbe
by gabbe

My husband & I bought this item to keep our important papers in. Works well, but smaller that we thought. Very strong product.........everything fit in it but if we have more things to add, we may have to buy another one. Overall very happy with the product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabbe
Clarksburg,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good product
7/17/2009

Customer review by pizzaman2009

4.0 stars 7/17/2009 by pizzaman2009
by pizzaman2009

after extensive research i finally made a decision. i was looking for something inexpensive (found it ). i was looking for something solid ( found it ). i have only owned the product for a few months. it has never gotten wet or been subject to a fire. so i am unable to rate that. overall it met my needs and the lock mechanism is solid.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pizzaman2009
pembroke pines, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what i expected....
6/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Wont recommend at all, first time locekd and thats it dont open with its own key..thanx god i didnt keep my any stuff in it yet..was just checking its Lock...

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Long island,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very secure chest
8/27/2016

Customer review by lasershopper

5.0 stars 8/27/2016 by lasershopper
by lasershopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very secure and safe being waterproof and fireproof. It is a bit heavy but its because of its nature to keep valuables safe. I would recommend. Especially based on the low selling price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lasershopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good affordable safe
8/29/2016

Customer review by Leslu

5.0 stars 8/29/2016 by Leslu
by Leslu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use. Good price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leslu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews