Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

86 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

86 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 71 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Does the job
7/30/2011

Customer review by EcoRaven

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by EcoRaven
by EcoRaven
Walmart associate

I have not actually tested if it is waterproof or fireproof, but assuming it is like it is says it is, GREAT! :) The only issue was my external harddrive barely fit and I couldn't fit my 8.5x11 paper work in there because it was to small. But not a big deal, they sell larger ones.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EcoRaven
17701
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Decent safe if you don't mind mold!
7/9/2012

Customer review by js80

2.0 stars 7/9/2012 by js80
by js80

I started out very pleased with this safe, even though when I first opened it the instruction manual was kind of moldy. I figured it was just a fluke and no big deal. Until week after week, month after month, everything I put in the safe, especially money started to show the signs and smells of mold! After speaking with First Alert representatives on two separate occasions I learned that this was common and the only way to prevent mold was to never open the safe! I was also told that despite not being in the instruction manual the "hidden" safe is required to be taken out and aired out for 20 minutes every two weeks to do something?, but not stop the mold. The price was good, but having everything moldy without the waterproof safe ever getting wet is just not worth the price. Part of the reason I bought the safe was for the waterproof part, (I live in a flood prone house) but now I'm terrified at how moldy things will get if the safe actually gets wet.

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
js80
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great products!!
2/1/2016

Customer review by Glenn

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Glenn
by Glenn

Perfect product. Perfect timing. Thank you!! Glenn

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Sturdy
12/4/2015

Customer review by jmadams

5.0 stars 12/4/2015 by jmadams
by jmadams

This is one sturdy box. The only draw back...it is supposed to be aired out every two weeks for 20 minutes. NOT in my busy schedule. Also it has to be flat and not tilted on its side to work. Good to know because I was going to put it sideways in a spot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmadams
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Holding up so far
1/10/2016

Customer review by safekeeper

4.0 stars 1/10/2016 by safekeeper
by safekeeper

This is a great sized safe that holds both papers and valuables. Easy to open, heavy enough to definitely withstand a fire--although I hope I never have to test it out. Transaction was easy and quick online and store pickup.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
safekeeper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect size
11/21/2015

Customer review by Annie

5.0 stars 11/21/2015 by Annie
by Annie

I have several bundles of cards from my sons passing that I want safe from harm. This sized safe is perfect for the job.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Annie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product
12/6/2015

Customer review by SafeCustomer

5.0 stars 12/6/2015 by SafeCustomer
by SafeCustomer

I'm very pleased with my purchase. It's large enough for fold pieces of paper and small essentials. It's heavy and seems very safe. In a fire, it would actually melt the seal and become one solid piece to keep things safe. The only problem will be not losing the keys...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SafeCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
12/11/2015

Customer review by Pegster

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Pegster
by Pegster

Just the right size. Easy to use and durable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pegster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works good
12/11/2015

Customer review by ed1266

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by ed1266
by ed1266

this is a good deal

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ed1266
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a needed product
6/22/2008

Customer review by gabbe

5.0 stars 6/22/2008 by gabbe
by gabbe

My husband & I bought this item to keep our important papers in. Works well, but smaller that we thought. Very strong product.........everything fit in it but if we have more things to add, we may have to buy another one. Overall very happy with the product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabbe
Clarksburg,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Christmas Gift
12/5/2015

Customer review by BratGirl

5.0 stars 12/5/2015 by BratGirl
by BratGirl

Price was Perfect.. Purchased as A Christmas Present..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BratGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works for what I Need
8/20/2013

Customer review by Cecilia123

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Cecilia123
by Cecilia123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price, you get a lot. It's bigger (and heavier - almost 15 pounds) than I thought it would be. If you want standard printing paper to fit inside of it though, you will probably have to fold it. The instructions say to air out for twenty minutes every two weeks. It also mentions putting whatever you put inside of the safe inside an air-tight bag. Maybe because, though it is waterproof, it's only water proof for a certain duration of time? I think I remember reading a review about someone getting this safe with mold inside of it. It might be because of that too. Mine was mold-free and the inside had one of those gel silica pouches. I threw it out and put my stuff in sandwich bags. I've only had this thing for about two weeks, so that's how far my insight stretches out. Mine came with 2 small keys. They feel like they could be easily broken (metal part) if you're messing around with it. But they're labeled "fire proof safe" or something like that if you look closely. So you can tell what's it for if you have a million keys. Not so great if you don't want burglars reading it and going, "Oh, okay! Let's find the safe!" There's also a number on the keys. If anything every happens to your keys, you can order a new one. You just have to tell the company what the number on the key was and pay for shipping I think. The instructions didn't really help me close it properly. But here's how you do it... First, for opening... put key in and turn to the unlocked lock picture. Press the button and it will open. To shut it, close the lid and snap the rectangular lock spot back into place (NOW turn the key to the locked lock picture). Otherwise you won't get it to shut. It's not hard to open after you figure it out. Few last things... I'm not trusting of the handle's strength if you want to carry it that way. The instructions said NOT to place it on its side in storage, but it may not protect stuff the same way if a fire happens. Lastly, there's a five year warranty in case there *is* something like a fire. There's a one-year warranty on something else, but I forget what.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cecilia123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Safe for home
11/1/2011

Customer review by silver951

4.0 stars 11/1/2011 by silver951
by silver951

This safe is ok but a bit heavy for myself. Can not understand why I need to put my papers and such inside an airtight dishwasher safe container before putting them into my safe. It is supposed to be waterproof and fireproof so why do I need to do that? Wish I had not bought it but I have it now so will keep it. You also have to open it up and let it air out for 20 minutes every two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
silver951
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good product
7/17/2009

Customer review by pizzaman2009

4.0 stars 7/17/2009 by pizzaman2009
by pizzaman2009

after extensive research i finally made a decision. i was looking for something inexpensive (found it ). i was looking for something solid ( found it ). i have only owned the product for a few months. it has never gotten wet or been subject to a fire. so i am unable to rate that. overall it met my needs and the lock mechanism is solid.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pizzaman2009
pembroke pines, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected.
12/12/2013

Customer review by GirlRabbit

2.0 stars 12/12/2013 by GirlRabbit
by GirlRabbit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I returned the product. The instructions said that you had to put your belongings in plastic bags and open the chest every couple of weeks. That wasn't what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GirlRabbit
FT Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what i expected....
6/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Wont recommend at all, first time locekd and thats it dont open with its own key..thanx god i didnt keep my any stuff in it yet..was just checking its Lock...

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Long island,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Sturdy
10/9/2015

Customer review by Janet

5.0 stars 10/9/2015 by Janet
by Janet

The product looks well made and easy to open and close. Needed something to store valuables and this looks like it will do just fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Janet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very small inside
4/19/2012

Customer review by sundance53

2.0 stars 4/19/2012 by sundance53
by sundance53

this safe was very small inside and it had been dropped and 2 corners were broken. I took it back to walmart and got a slightly larger one that is big enough for what i need

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sundance53
Thermopolis Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Solid, well made.
8/29/2015

Customer review by b4christopher

5.0 stars 8/29/2015 by b4christopher
by b4christopher

Solid, well made, good price. Appreciate no shipping charge when I pick up at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
b4christopher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not big enough
5/23/2013

Customer review by deb127

3.0 stars 5/23/2013 by deb127
by deb127
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this because the description says it can fit letter size papers inside. I needed it for a life insurance policy that can't be folded. It does not fit inside. I have to return it. Other than that it seemed fine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deb127
Rockaways, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews