Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 207 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

207 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

207 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
123
4 stars
54
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
1-20 of 149 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews
For those wondering about the rabbit ears...
1/18/2008

Customer review by DAKPJ

4.0 stars 1/18/2008 by DAKPJ
by DAKPJ

This TV is pretty great. I got it for a number of reasons...didn't like my old TV, this one looks cleaner, liked the built-in DVD feature, and I only have the local channels, so I needed a solution for the digital switch next year. The picture is pretty good. Not perfect, but definitely good enough for me. Same with the sound...I don't find anything wrong with it, but I know it is not the best. As I mentioned, I only get local channels, so I need to use the rabbit ears. I could not get it to screw in, but a guy friend got it in with only a little trouble. All the channels come in wonderful! Not fuzzy at all as you find with the analogue TVs. I was quite impressed. I also get a couple other channels that didn't come in before. The DVD player is great. It is hidden on the left side, so the TV still looks very clean from the front. Also very easy to use. I find this TV awesome for me as I live by myself and don't need a huge TV. I would recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DAKPJ
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Second TV
2/11/2008

Customer review by TojoOTM77

4.0 stars 2/11/2008 by TojoOTM77
by TojoOTM77

First the size of this television is very nice, takes up a lot less space than the previous 19" and it is very light weight. I find the visual appearance of this television appeasing. The picture quality is okay, takes a while to get use to, I had to pause a dvd so I could set the color and other settings to satisfy my taste. I am not really happy with the sound quality. The audio output jack is a digital jack, it will not work with the shelf stereo I have, if I upgrade the stereo to a newer on then the sound might be better, but I do not have the money for that kind of venture, so for now I will have to listen to my dvds through the tv only. Also, the base is not adjustable, not that I can find a way to tilt the screen, good thing I have an old stereo cabinet to set it on so that it will be up from where I sit. I wish I had purschased a larger screen television but since this is used in the bedroom it serves its purpose. This should not be a television for the living room, I think it's too small for that type of sitting unless your living room is real small.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TojoOTM77
Columbia, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont buy this!
8/6/2007

Customer review by Amandapants

1.0 stars 8/6/2007 by Amandapants
by Amandapants

It is a gorgeous TV....until you turn it on! The resolution suits a TV of at most 15", not 20". The picture is very pixelated, smudgy, and yuck. The sound is probably the only plus. Don't waste your money on this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amandapants
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very pleased!
12/12/2007

Customer review by sjma57

5.0 stars 12/12/2007 by sjma57
by sjma57

I bought this Emerson in Aug-2007 for my den. I liked it so well I bought another one for my wife in Nov-2007 for our living room. She's also happy with it & especially enjoys the convenient DVD player to listen to her favorite audio CD's. We plan to buy another one for our daughter in Dec-2007 when she's home for Christmas. I was positively influenced by the LCD screen quality & built-in DVD player. We're not interested in high-definition TV. The standard-definition digital tuner offered by this unit is satisfactory for our use, plus satisfies the 2009 digital signal compatibility requirements. I rated it four stars for sound quality based on our room-sizes ... I'd say five stars in my smaller den & four stars in our larger living room, however my 68 year-old hearing could be a factor for others to consider.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sjma57
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buyer Beware
11/22/2007

Customer review by hskrsmurf

2.0 stars 11/22/2007 by hskrsmurf
by hskrsmurf

I purchased this product just over a year ago. Set it up and was not happy with response time between changing channels. Further, the picture was distortred when looking it at from below. Sound and price were good, as that attracted my attention. Ironically, just at the year's end of warranty, the picture split on the screen. Emerson would not back their product and refused to compensate for a faulty product. I was indeed surprised, as I have purchased good working Emerson products in the past. However, their customer service is lacking tremendously. Buyer beweare!!!! You pay less and get less customer satisfaction. I must say, my customer service through Wal-Mart was "VERY" satisfying. Wal-Mart Personnel are their to help and serve you as a returning customer.......Signed "Not Happy with Emerson"....Smurf

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hskrsmurf
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DVD Player
3/18/2008

Customer review by UnanswrdPrayr

3.0 stars 3/18/2008 by UnanswrdPrayr
by UnanswrdPrayr

I bought this unit essentially for the built in DVD player because I do not have cable in my bedroom. However, after a few months I noticed the DVD player wasn't acting quite right. The movie would stop randomly and may or may not start back up again. I hadn't even had the TV for six months before the DVD player didn't work at all. After spending an hour or so on the phone discussing the problem I was instructed to get one of the dvd cleaning discs. To no surprise that didn't work so I called back. This time I was told that I could ship my TV off to be fixed but their would be a labor fee of around $60. That makes absolutely no sense to me since I could buy a dvd player for half that. If it works the TV is a very decent one, but since my broke in less than six months and even under warranty I would still have to pay to have it fixed I don't plan on buying another Emerson product in the future.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UnanswrdPrayr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great spacesaver
1/9/2008

Customer review by quita329

4.0 stars 1/9/2008 by quita329
by quita329

I purchased this tv for my childrens room. It's size made it easy to put it inside of their dresser armoire where I could close the doors if needed. It's a very lightweight tv so I feel safe with it because there will possibly be less chance of serious injury if it falls. I love that it has the built in dvd player. The only downfall is that the tv doesn't program to comcast cable companys remote control so you have to use the separate remote.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quita329
Chicago,Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/2/2007

Customer review by LordExoddus

5.0 stars 10/2/2007 by LordExoddus
by LordExoddus

Sound wasn't anything amazing.Sound could be better.Tv stand does not come off.Had to mount it with the stand showing.Doesn't look as sleek as I had hoped it to be.Kind of wasted money on the wall mount.Wish it was bit more clearer in the manual.Attempted to take stand off.Maybe you can, I really don't know.Overall a great price, an A okay product.Takes a tad longer for the picture to show when you change channels tho.At this price you might as well shell out the extra $200-250 and get a bigger screen if that's what your looking for over saving a few hundred dollars.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LordExoddus
S.A.,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I Just Love My New TV
2/22/2008

Customer review by mommie8

4.0 stars 2/22/2008 by mommie8
by mommie8

I just bought this TV yesterday, I just love it. I did a lot of research for a new television, I almost went to another competitor, but I did one more search and I found this TV. When I got it home the setup was nothing (it took about 5 minutes),the picture quality is just beuatiful, and to have a DVD player with it, is just a major bonus. For the price, and the quality this is the best deal I've ever seen!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommie8
Yonkers, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
VERY DISAPPOINTED
11/13/2007

Customer review by salesforme

1.0 stars 11/13/2007 by salesforme
by salesforme

My husband and I spent hours on the phone with our satellite cable company last night only to find out that this television is not compatible with their remote!!! The company is a well-known nation-wide company. We tried many, many codes! I contacted Emerson to be told that the television is actually made by Futai (or something like that)... well, their codes didn't work either! We are returning this T.V.!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
salesforme
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
very convenient
8/11/2007

Customer review by Fussy

5.0 stars 8/11/2007 by Fussy
by Fussy

I was looking for a T.v. D.V.D. and C.D. player all in one and this is perfect. The size is just what I wanted and I only wanted one remote.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fussy
Woodbridge ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent for the price
12/11/2007

Customer review by IShopToo

5.0 stars 12/11/2007 by IShopToo
by IShopToo

We haven't had it very long but so far it's been great! Excellent picture and quality for the price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IShopToo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very useful
1/28/2008

Customer review by LimitedBudget54

4.0 stars 1/28/2008 by LimitedBudget54
by LimitedBudget54

ownly problem can't program tv to sat. remote won't accept any emerson 3 digit numbers

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LimitedBudget54
Eau Claire,Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Digital Stereo LCD TV + DVD Combo
5/14/2008

Customer review by SolAngel1020

5.0 stars 5/14/2008 by SolAngel1020
by SolAngel1020

Emerson 20" Digital Stereo LCD TV + DVD Combo Crisp ... Sharp ... Images ... Great Picture ... Great Sound Quality. The feature that I like the most is the DVD, DVD-R/RW, CD, CD-R/RW PLAYBACK. The Parental Lock feature is excellent for families with children. This particular model has some pretty awesome features that you should check out and compare to other models ... This model is the perfect size not big not to small ... Just The Right Size. Closed Caption Decoder Feature is very nice. The option of On-Screen Language is available in ENGLISH, SPANISH and FRENCH. Pretty Cool. There are so many features ... Check it out ... Great product. There is so much more ...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SolAngel1020
Bridgeport, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT value for the money !
1/2/2008

Customer review by michelelala

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by michelelala
by michelelala

I am thrilled with the quality and features, not to mention the setting up was easy and fast, plus it is so easy to move around due to it's very light weight. I am impressed with all it's features you cannot get for this price anywhere! Exceptional value, great picture quality, easy to navigate features and I was pleasantly surprised with this product overall! I highly reccomend purchasing this TV if you can find it at Wal-Mart... I price compared and the *electronic stores* sales were at least $55.00 more. I am thrilled and thankful, I was leary thinking that quality would suffer from price, wow, am I ever wrong!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
michelelala
Mcdonald TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worst TV
10/22/2007

Customer review by ShopperAAG

1.0 stars 10/22/2007 by ShopperAAG
by ShopperAAG

I purchased this T.V. thinking that it was a great deal and I have been extremely dissapointed. When I first set up the T.V. the sound was terrible and there was a constant static undertone. I took the T.V. back thinking that it was broken and when I set up the second T.V. the sound was still terrible. I tried to contact the customer service department at Emerson and the phone number listed on the T.V. is invalid. The only way to contact Emerson is to email them...ridiculous! I am returning the T.V. and purchasing a better quality brand. I will never purchase an Emerson product ever again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperAAG
Fairless Hills, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Excellent Picture
2/3/2008

Customer review by GypsyGeorge

5.0 stars 2/3/2008 by GypsyGeorge
by GypsyGeorge

I was a little sceptical as to the picture quality of this set but those fears quickly disappeared as soon as I turned this TV on. Even though it only has a 640X480 res and not Hi-Def it looks as clear as a photograph. No missing pixels and color is great. Hopefully it continues this good. My only complaint is my Comcast Cable remote cannot find a code to be able to turn the set on and off or control the volume. I've tried several universal remotes to no avail. I have now ordered a Logitech 550 universal remote which says it is guaranteed to operate all makes on the market, we shall see.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GypsyGeorge
Raton Nm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good enough for the price
1/2/2008

Customer review by Tyshea

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by Tyshea
by Tyshea

I purchased this for myself becuase it was reasonably priced....compared to some of the other brands....the channels come in clear...they do take a few seconds...but now a days with this new digital cable stuff it seems like all tvs do that...I would definitely recommend this product..it works, its clear and it has a nice quality picture. It is perfect for what I purchased it for...a small bedroom with limited space. I dont have it hanging on the wall it is sitting on the pedestal that it came with...I LOVE MY NEW TV..WHICH WAS A CHRISTMAS PRESENT TO MYSELF.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tyshea
SICKLERVILLE, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Makes James Earl Jones a SMURF!
10/6/2007

Customer review by limitless

2.0 stars 10/6/2007 by limitless
by limitless

Thought this would be a good deal... picture's great... THE SOUND, however, IS PURE GARBAGE-- makes James Earl Jones sound like Bart Simpson... NO BASS WHATSOEVER, BEYOND tin sounding speakers. This so-called STEREO television is GOING BACK TO THE STORE before the SUN SETS. I've never been so disappointed in something built by a company known for its decent audio prices IN MY LIFE. Don't waste your time with this if you care about audio quality AT ALL. You'll be MUCH better off saving up for something else that's WORTH your money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
limitless
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good Value for the Price
1/3/2008

Customer review by HPMAN

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by HPMAN
by HPMAN

Everything works as advertised. I am using this TV in my daughter's bedroom. Perfect for the room size. The DVD player is a big plus. I did have one pixel out at the very bottom of the screen. No big deal. Sound is fine for what I am using it for. I did have to contact customer service on the initial setup because the TV would not recognize the component video 2 as the primary input signal. Customer servide was very helpful(Sunday evening late)and we got everything to work. I would recommend this TV for a spare bedroom for sure!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HPMAN
Indy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews