Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

36 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

36 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

36%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
19
1-20 of 33 total reviews
36%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
unreliable operation
12/15/2007

Customer review by ComputerEngineer221

1.0 stars 12/15/2007 by ComputerEngineer221
by ComputerEngineer221

I purchased this unit for its many good features a impressive price. The unit I purchased did not function reliably. I returned it without an exchange. The unit froze-up every 2-30 minutes and would no longer respond to its own remote control until the power was turned off for about 30 seconds. Most freeze-ups were preceded by glitches in sound (really harsh on the speakers) and glitches in picture. The first of 3 discs I played was brand new - not a scrath or finger print on it. I studied the setup instructions to be sure I matched the setting for with my TV specifically, but it did not seem to matter. The default settings also did not seem to matter. I played all three discs on my other DVD player again without any trouble. I have lost confidence in the RCA brand because another RCA product I had owned had similar trouble...turnded off usually twice daily, and once monthly it would not respond to its remote control until I unplgged the unit from the wall for 30 seconds.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ComputerEngineer221
Sotheastern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A decent player
7/21/2007

Customer review by Straitjacket

4.0 stars 7/21/2007 by Straitjacket
by Straitjacket

I saw this player showing a movie on a demo TV at Walmart last week and thought this picture is real crisp and sharp like true HD. So I got one to compare with my Progressive scan RCA. The picture is better, more so on some movies. The sound is awesome compared to my other player. The 5 disks are nice but you have to push the buttons on the machine to open them. It does close with the remote. When you turn on the machine it wants to load and play the last movie you were watching instead of letting you decide. Also if you stop the movie or turn the machine off and you haven't bookmarked the spot you were at, it starts from the beginning. My other one starts where you stopped it even after removing it and putting it back in. But other than those minor aggravations the player does do a good job. So far I am pleased with the player.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Straitjacket
Dalton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Average Product with a few Disappointments
4/9/2008

Customer review by jkgarrett17

3.0 stars 4/9/2008 by jkgarrett17
by jkgarrett17
Walmart associate

This DVD player is helpful because it has 5 disks. We watch a lot of TV series on DVD and are continually having to switch out disks, so having the 5 disk changer is helpful. As this is the only 5 disk changer on Walmart.com that I could find, I own this product. However, if there were another one, I would purchase it. The reason for this is because of an annoying sound the player makes when spinning some disks. At times it is quite loud and annoying, while other times it cannot be heard. Most of the time, however, it is a quiet rattle that can be ignored by turning up the volume. The good side of this player is the picture. It has component, composite, and HDMI plugs which all give a good picture based on their potential. Overall, the product is average, and I would not recommend it. If you, however, are like me and need a 5 disk changer, go ahead an purchase it if you don't mind the annoying noise.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkgarrett17
Newton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
An Excellent Purchase
11/16/2007

Customer review by QualityBargainHunter

5.0 stars 11/16/2007 by QualityBargainHunter
by QualityBargainHunter

I disagree strongly with the other reviews of this item. I've had this DVD changer since July 2007, as part of a home theater replacing a Samsung 600W 5.1 5-DVD Home Theater that broke after only two years. The Bottom Line: *The unit is sleek, stylish, and very easy to use. It is the perfect complement to a home theater with its 5-DVD slot-load, load-while-playing changer. *It has every output currently imaginable (Composite, Component, Coaxial, Optical, and HDMI). *The value is incredible, but quality is not sacrificed, as the case is metal, yet it is very lightweight. *Only negative is the small drawer load buttons, as they're sometimes difficult to press and there is no Open button on the remote. An otherwise incredible value, buy with confidence.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QualityBargainHunter
Exeter, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good value for price
1/22/2008

Customer review by gremlin73

3.0 stars 1/22/2008 by gremlin73
by gremlin73

My Sony DVD-changer (DVP-NC85H) died for the second time so I was thrilled when I found this at Walmart for such a cheap price. I was a little put off when I took it out of the box and it was so light, but I wasn't expecting too much for the price and it does look nice. I bought it because my single disc play from RCA (DRC233NS) was really good at reading discs in less than perfect condition, but I didn't have it long enough to really judge that. The remote isn't great, but I use my universal anyway. The options menus were very sparse and it doesn't come with a real manual. It seemed to load faster than my stupid Sony although it's still not great. (An electronics shop guy told me it's because of all the formats new players support, but I still would like faster loading.) Nice thing about the stack changer rather than a carousel is that the indicators for which slots are loaded actually works. I ended up returning this based solely on one feature it was missing: it doesn't support DTS. To be fair, nothing said it did, I just assumed a modern player would. All in all: a really great price, but there are some trade-offs. There are so few standalone DVD changers being marketed any more that it's great to see one at a budget price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gremlin73
Rapid City, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I've had more usefull paperweights
3/8/2008

Customer review by Sandragon73

1.0 stars 3/8/2008 by Sandragon73
by Sandragon73

Originally purchased this dvd changer in early December '07. Worked fine until January when the trays locked up with 2 rented movies. Turned off/on, pushed every button, nothing worked. Took back to Wal Mart to let manager do any damage to remove discs (at her instruction). She plugged it in and it worked fine. She replaced it with another. Worked OK for about 5 weeks then started getting intermittent bad video then audio. Later, the unit would shut off and restart itself. The remote would not work. Would have to turn off/on unit manually to get remote to work again. Now the unit will only play about 10 minutes then shut off. This a real piece of junk. I expected more from RCA.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandragon73
Yuma, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Problems upon Problems...
2/14/2008

Customer review by alias07

1.0 stars 2/14/2008 by alias07
by alias07

I was looking to replace a Panasonic 5 disc DVD changer that gave out after about a year of use. I saw this unit at walmart and thought it was worth a try, especially for the price. It turned out to be a decision I would regret. The first month or so, the player worked fine. However, around month two, the remote started malfunctioning. It only works sometimes. When it stops functioning, you have to turn the DVD player off manually, then turn it back on to make the remote work. Even more disturbing- the player now just completely restarts while you are in the middle of watching a DVD. At first I thought it was the DVD, but it has done this on several scratch free discs, so I know it is just the player. It makes terrible popping sounds when this occurs, not to mention it is extremely annoying to have to wait for the DVD to load all over again, and then try to find the spot on the movie you were watching before it restarted. Now I am looking at going with a Sony 5 disc changer that I found on Amazon. It costs about $50 more, but I wish I had just paid the extra amount and gotten a better player to begin with. Save yourself the money and the trouble- DO NOT BUY THIS UNIT!! Even if it works for a short period of time, it will eventually start exhibiting severe issues that will make you regret ever buying it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alias07
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
piece of junk
10/20/2007

Customer review by sydrine

1.0 stars 10/20/2007 by sydrine
by sydrine
Walmart associate

my roommate and i got one of these and out of the box, 2 of the trays would not work at all.picture was lousey on the hdtv.we took it back and exchanged it for a more expensive unit.dont buy this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sydrine
nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
RCA 5disc DVD player
9/12/2007

Customer review by TSMM

1.0 stars 9/12/2007 by TSMM
by TSMM

This is not a good product. The player itself is very, VERY loud while spinning the discs from trays 2-5. Seriously, it's so loud that even with high volume from the TV - you can hear it. In addition, the remote with this unit is a complete useless piece of junk. It doesn't work from 18-20 ft across the room, half of the buttons don't operate at all, and/or they require pressing on the order of 10-15 times for the desired results. Do yourself a favor, and spend an extra $20-30 for a player that functions correctly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TSMM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Stay Away!
11/15/2007

Customer review by Jokester

1.0 stars 11/15/2007 by Jokester
by Jokester

I had this dvd player for about a week. Worked fine the first two days, then it started to give me problems. There was nothing wrong with the picture, it looked good, but ejecting the dvd's was another story. It took about 2 minutes to enable you to load your dvd into the tray. The tray itself was very flimsy, not well built. When I turned off the dvd player, it sounded like something was breaking inside. I thought it would break or scratch my dvd's. Worst player I have ever bought. I advise you to stay away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jokester
Lompoc, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
a worthless piece of junk
2/27/2008

Customer review by Pauliewanuts

1.0 stars 2/27/2008 by Pauliewanuts
by Pauliewanuts

I seen this player for 70 dollars, I thought what a deal, until I got home. I could not even watch a whole movie. the picture quality was decent, sound was not. after a while the picture froze up, I had to unplug it to get the dvd back out, I tried it several times and it did the same thing. looks nice, not as convenient as I thought it was going to be. remote control lacked alot of options. The phillips dvd up-convert player works 100 times better, and is only about 40$.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pauliewanuts
Bainbridge, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
STOP DON"T BUY IT
12/26/2007

Customer review by SiteToStorePro

1.0 stars 12/26/2007 by SiteToStorePro
by SiteToStorePro

I truely think a soda can with something on top of it would be stronger than the outside of this DVD upconverter player. I purchased this because of the 5 disc changer. DON"T , I took it out of the box and put it back in. Never unwrapped... I really thought I would dent it if I held it too tight. I have a panasonic singal disc, I purchased from Wal*Mart 8 months ago. I'll stick with it, it's the best, and I will just change my DVD's every time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SiteToStorePro
Elberton, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Buyers Beware
12/27/2007

Customer review by rragan

1.0 stars 12/27/2007 by rragan
by rragan

Be aware that you are buying the very most basic of players. This DVD/CD player is called a "changer", but it will not automatically advance to the next disc. It stops when it reaches the end of a disc.....there is no way to have continuous play beyond one disc. It must be manually advanced to the next disc. Also, for music CDs the "repeat" feature only repeats one song, not an entire CD of music.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rragan
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
RCA 5 Disc DVD...
11/29/2007

Customer review by SegaRolow

5.0 stars 11/29/2007 by SegaRolow
by SegaRolow

Got this player yesterday, simple set up, easy to use. And for $68.99 what can you say. It works, does the job and with (5) disc in it at one tme it is great. I used everthing on it the first day. and it all worked just fine... A little slow to get going, but lets not get worked up over that.... What is 10 are 15 sec... A good DVD player for a little Money..... Try it you just may like it!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SegaRolow
Riverside Calif...
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/21/2007

Customer review by Larry75632

1.0 stars 12/21/2007 by Larry75632
by Larry75632

I had a problem with the DVD player becoming distorted or freezing up after about a hour of use. At first I thought it may be the DVD itself, but was not too concerned since I only use it on occasion. 5 months after I purchased it I contacted RCA who agreed there was a problem with the unit, but wanted me to pay shipping and a $50.00 exchange fee. I decided to buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Larry75632
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Noisy but nice
11/9/2007

Customer review by ksmith40

4.0 stars 11/9/2007 by ksmith40
by ksmith40

Very noisy on some retail workout DVD's (the reason we bought it), but completely silent on other DVD's and some DVD-R's I recorded on my cheap DVD recorder. Plays XVID movies on CD-R beautifully. The ergonomics of the remote is upside down. Best cheap DVD changer I could find, but the noise is very annoying. No problems so far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ksmith40
Fort Smith, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Poor quality
12/29/2007

Customer review by zifnabiom

1.0 stars 12/29/2007 by zifnabiom
by zifnabiom

Purchased this item after thanksgiving. Worked fine until a few days ago when it started to have the same problems mentioned in other reviews. Sound skipping badly, visual distortions, player restarting itself, remote completely freezing up etc. My opinion do not waste your money on this player.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zifnabiom
Round Lake Beach, il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
cd/dvd player
1/18/2008

Customer review by dragonfly75

1.0 stars 1/18/2008 by dragonfly75
by dragonfly75

I would not recommend this product. It will not random play and will not automatically go to the next cd in the player. I would return it, but that is also a pain, the walmart store in Pahrump does not carry the item and had to have it site to site delivered. That in itself is inconvenient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dragonfly75
pahrump
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very unreliable DVD player
4/24/2008

Customer review by matt7even

2.0 stars 4/24/2008 by matt7even
by matt7even

Got this player and was happy with it for a about a week untill the color started distorting on all my DVD's. It's like the blues keep fading in and out. I checked my connections and it still did the same thing. I would not recommend this player to anyone. very dissapointed =(.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
matt7even
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
don't buy it
10/25/2007

Customer review by osok

1.0 stars 10/25/2007 by osok
by osok

the one i bought did not last 2 days,it froze up and the only way to get it to respond was to unplug power cord and plug it back in. then it would freeze up again. took it back to walmart for return of money. save up your money and buy a more exspensive and decent one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
osok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews