Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

36 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

36 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

36%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
19
1-20 of 33 total reviews
36%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
A decent player
7/21/2007

Customer review by Straitjacket

4.0 stars 7/21/2007 by Straitjacket
by Straitjacket

I saw this player showing a movie on a demo TV at Walmart last week and thought this picture is real crisp and sharp like true HD. So I got one to compare with my Progressive scan RCA. The picture is better, more so on some movies. The sound is awesome compared to my other player. The 5 disks are nice but you have to push the buttons on the machine to open them. It does close with the remote. When you turn on the machine it wants to load and play the last movie you were watching instead of letting you decide. Also if you stop the movie or turn the machine off and you haven't bookmarked the spot you were at, it starts from the beginning. My other one starts where you stopped it even after removing it and putting it back in. But other than those minor aggravations the player does do a good job. So far I am pleased with the player.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Straitjacket
Dalton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
piece of junk
10/20/2007

Customer review by sydrine

1.0 stars 10/20/2007 by sydrine
by sydrine

my roommate and i got one of these and out of the box, 2 of the trays would not work at all.picture was lousey on the hdtv.we took it back and exchanged it for a more expensive unit.dont buy this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sydrine
nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
RCA 1080P Upconvert 5-disc DVD
1/28/2008

Customer review by bernardcc

1.0 stars 1/28/2008 by bernardcc
by bernardcc

Very fragile product. Had to us Zoom to get DVD picture to fit the screen and then Zoom X 2 info. stayed on the screen during movie. Very annoying. Returned to Walmart and purchased a Panasonic DVD-S53. Picture is great without any annoying problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bernardcc
Hot Springs Village, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
STOP DON"T BUY IT
12/26/2007

Customer review by SiteToStorePro

1.0 stars 12/26/2007 by SiteToStorePro
by SiteToStorePro

I truely think a soda can with something on top of it would be stronger than the outside of this DVD upconverter player. I purchased this because of the 5 disc changer. DON"T , I took it out of the box and put it back in. Never unwrapped... I really thought I would dent it if I held it too tight. I have a panasonic singal disc, I purchased from Wal*Mart 8 months ago. I'll stick with it, it's the best, and I will just change my DVD's every time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SiteToStorePro
Elberton, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
don't buy it
10/25/2007

Customer review by osok

1.0 stars 10/25/2007 by osok
by osok

the one i bought did not last 2 days,it froze up and the only way to get it to respond was to unplug power cord and plug it back in. then it would freeze up again. took it back to walmart for return of money. save up your money and buy a more exspensive and decent one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
osok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
cd/dvd player
1/18/2008

Customer review by dragonfly75

1.0 stars 1/18/2008 by dragonfly75
by dragonfly75

I would not recommend this product. It will not random play and will not automatically go to the next cd in the player. I would return it, but that is also a pain, the walmart store in Pahrump does not carry the item and had to have it site to site delivered. That in itself is inconvenient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dragonfly75
pahrump
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
RCA 5disc DVD player
9/12/2007

Customer review by TSMM

1.0 stars 9/12/2007 by TSMM
by TSMM

This is not a good product. The player itself is very, VERY loud while spinning the discs from trays 2-5. Seriously, it's so loud that even with high volume from the TV - you can hear it. In addition, the remote with this unit is a complete useless piece of junk. It doesn't work from 18-20 ft across the room, half of the buttons don't operate at all, and/or they require pressing on the order of 10-15 times for the desired results. Do yourself a favor, and spend an extra $20-30 for a player that functions correctly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TSMM
Would recommend to a friend? No
unreliable operation
12/15/2007

Customer review by ComputerEngineer221

1.0 stars 12/15/2007 by ComputerEngineer221
by ComputerEngineer221

I purchased this unit for its many good features a impressive price. The unit I purchased did not function reliably. I returned it without an exchange. The unit froze-up every 2-30 minutes and would no longer respond to its own remote control until the power was turned off for about 30 seconds. Most freeze-ups were preceded by glitches in sound (really harsh on the speakers) and glitches in picture. The first of 3 discs I played was brand new - not a scrath or finger print on it. I studied the setup instructions to be sure I matched the setting for with my TV specifically, but it did not seem to matter. The default settings also did not seem to matter. I played all three discs on my other DVD player again without any trouble. I have lost confidence in the RCA brand because another RCA product I had owned had similar trouble...turnded off usually twice daily, and once monthly it would not respond to its remote control until I unplgged the unit from the wall for 30 seconds.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComputerEngineer221
Sotheastern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stay Away!
11/15/2007

Customer review by Jokester

1.0 stars 11/15/2007 by Jokester
by Jokester

I had this dvd player for about a week. Worked fine the first two days, then it started to give me problems. There was nothing wrong with the picture, it looked good, but ejecting the dvd's was another story. It took about 2 minutes to enable you to load your dvd into the tray. The tray itself was very flimsy, not well built. When I turned off the dvd player, it sounded like something was breaking inside. I thought it would break or scratch my dvd's. Worst player I have ever bought. I advise you to stay away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jokester
Lompoc, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Frusterated....
10/18/2007

Customer review by SamsonamboGirl

2.0 stars 10/18/2007 by SamsonamboGirl
by SamsonamboGirl

I bought this dvd player simply because of the 5 disc changer and that is was hd! And I come to find out it won't even play hd dvds. I am returning this product as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SamsonamboGirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
NICE DVD FOR THE PRICE
2/7/2008

Customer review by reddog1

5.0 stars 2/7/2008 by reddog1
by reddog1

PLAYING FULL SCREEN DVD ON RCA 42' HD , LOOKS AND PERFORMES GREAT.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reddog1
SOUTH POINT,OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An Excellent Purchase
11/16/2007

Customer review by QualityBargainHunter

5.0 stars 11/16/2007 by QualityBargainHunter
by QualityBargainHunter

I disagree strongly with the other reviews of this item. I've had this DVD changer since July 2007, as part of a home theater replacing a Samsung 600W 5.1 5-DVD Home Theater that broke after only two years. The Bottom Line: *The unit is sleek, stylish, and very easy to use. It is the perfect complement to a home theater with its 5-DVD slot-load, load-while-playing changer. *It has every output currently imaginable (Composite, Component, Coaxial, Optical, and HDMI). *The value is incredible, but quality is not sacrificed, as the case is metal, yet it is very lightweight. *Only negative is the small drawer load buttons, as they're sometimes difficult to press and there is no Open button on the remote. An otherwise incredible value, buy with confidence.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QualityBargainHunter
Exeter, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/18/2007

Customer review by buckster

5.0 stars 11/18/2007 by buckster
by buckster

I found this unit to be exceptional! awesome sound quality and picture! love the five disk feature too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buckster
Puyallup, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
disc player
3/3/2008

Customer review by horsetrainer

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by horsetrainer
by horsetrainer

inexpensive and did the job.does not change discs th0ough automatically.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
horsetrainer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA 5 Disc DVD...
11/29/2007

Customer review by SegaRolow

5.0 stars 11/29/2007 by SegaRolow
by SegaRolow

Got this player yesterday, simple set up, easy to use. And for $68.99 what can you say. It works, does the job and with (5) disc in it at one tme it is great. I used everthing on it the first day. and it all worked just fine... A little slow to get going, but lets not get worked up over that.... What is 10 are 15 sec... A good DVD player for a little Money..... Try it you just may like it!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SegaRolow
Riverside Calif...
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
1/23/2008

Customer review by arkiehuntun

5.0 stars 1/23/2008 by arkiehuntun
by arkiehuntun

All trays work fine, sound is great, and picture is excellent. no complaints at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arkiehuntun
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does the job!
7/31/2007

Customer review by 1WalMartQueen

4.0 stars 7/31/2007 by 1WalMartQueen
by 1WalMartQueen

Works well, is annoying to have to load dvd's individually but.... Mine missing remote company very hart to contact! Overall, very good machine!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1WalMartQueen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Noisy but nice
11/9/2007

Customer review by ksmith40

4.0 stars 11/9/2007 by ksmith40
by ksmith40

Very noisy on some retail workout DVD's (the reason we bought it), but completely silent on other DVD's and some DVD-R's I recorded on my cheap DVD recorder. Plays XVID movies on CD-R beautifully. The ergonomics of the remote is upside down. Best cheap DVD changer I could find, but the noise is very annoying. No problems so far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ksmith40
Fort Smith, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good Value
11/20/2007

Customer review by mrtechnology029

4.0 stars 11/20/2007 by mrtechnology029
by mrtechnology029

For the price I paid, I am very pleased with this product. It takes a little longer to load than my old player, but c'mon! What's a few seconds! Picture is great on my big screen HD TV. Consumer Reports gave the one-disc model high scores; this model was not rated.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrtechnology029
Lenoir City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Average Product with a few Disappointments
4/9/2008

Customer review by jkgarrett17

3.0 stars 4/9/2008 by jkgarrett17
by jkgarrett17

This DVD player is helpful because it has 5 disks. We watch a lot of TV series on DVD and are continually having to switch out disks, so having the 5 disk changer is helpful. As this is the only 5 disk changer on Walmart.com that I could find, I own this product. However, if there were another one, I would purchase it. The reason for this is because of an annoying sound the player makes when spinning some disks. At times it is quite loud and annoying, while other times it cannot be heard. Most of the time, however, it is a quiet rattle that can be ignored by turning up the volume. The good side of this player is the picture. It has component, composite, and HDMI plugs which all give a good picture based on their potential. Overall, the product is average, and I would not recommend it. If you, however, are like me and need a 5 disk changer, go ahead an purchase it if you don't mind the annoying noise.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jkgarrett17
Newton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews