Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 34 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
RCA Home Theater
7/20/2007

Customer review by tfrank78

5.0 stars 7/20/2007 by tfrank78
by tfrank78

I have had this product for about three weeks and so far I am extremely happy with it. I have an HD DVD player connected to it through the digital coaxial input, I have an HD cable box connected through the optical input, and I have a PS2 connected through the analog inputs. All of them sound great. My one and only complaint is that I wish the rear speakers had longer speaker wire. Otherwise this product is wonderful. Easy to set up as everything is color coded and has all of the features that I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tfrank78
Tomah, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is great starter system!
9/17/2007

Customer review by CharlesC

5.0 stars 9/17/2007 by CharlesC
by CharlesC

When I bought the system, I wasn't sure what to expect from a $150 1000W home theater system. I wanted to enhance the sound I was getting from my TV. I was pleasantly suprised. When I took the subwoofer out of the box, I thought... "This is awfully light, it must weight three or four pounds max. I wonder how it will sound? " Well, after I got the system assembled, in the 3.1 configuration, which was very easy, as all of the wires are color-coded, I gave it a test run using my TV as the input. I thought that I must have made a mistake, as I could barely hear anything. Then I noticed that the volume on my TV was set at 3 (with a max of 63) and the volume on the receiver was at 25 (with a max of 50). So, I turned up the volume on the receiver to max, and the TV to about 20 and I noticed that the sound from the TV was nicely and unobtrusively supplemented. Then I switched the input on the receiver to VCR and put Top-gun in my DVD player and ... BOOM!!!! The system came alive! I was totally suprised at the amount of sound coming from the satellites and the amount of bass from the "lightweight" subwoofer. Then I turned the volume on the receiver down to 30, which is plenty loud, if you are at all concerned with preserving your hearing. So, now I have this big grin on my face, as I think... Let's try music! So, I connected my MP3 player, with the MP3 player volume set to 22 (out of 25) and the receiver on 30. I played music from Hip-Hop, Classical, Reggae, Contemporary Country, Pop, Easy Listening, Electronica/Dance, Big Band/Swing, and House genres. It all sounded great! I even get decent radio reception. The news on AM channels sound pretty good also. The sound got even better when I went through and configured the system, according to the directions. My personal preference is to use the Church setting for all music types (it plays the music through the rear channels at the same volume as the front channels. Now I have only used the TV, VCR, Line-In, and USB inputs, as I only have RCA cabling. Since my DishNetwork DVR and DVD player both feed into my VCR, which feeds the TV, I didn't think it was necessary to get the extra cabling. When connecting a USB Flash MP3 player to USB input, all of the songs were easily accessble via the remote. I must admit, I have not use all of the available functionality, but what I have used, I like. I placed the system in my 13 x 17 family room, which is off of the dining area in my kitchen, has a cathedral ceiling, and has a loft that overlooking it. (In other words, the room is open.) The system fills the room, as well as the rest of the house (to my wife's dismay) with great sound. If i turn the volume on the receiver up to 30, using the VCR or Line-Input as the input, I can listen to the TV or music while in the shower. It's totallly cool! When my wife is around, I use the TV setting. The key is to turn the volume on the receiver to max. That way you can control the volume with the TV remote. Of course, if you want to get the full effect, use the VCR input. Oh yeah, did I mention that this system is great!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CharlesC
Portage, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Weak sound
7/30/2007

Customer review by KeithTX

3.0 stars 7/30/2007 by KeithTX
by KeithTX

I found the mid-range sound on this system to be very weak, the highs and lows (subwoofer) were okay, but it had no middle. This caused some sounds to be very tinny, for example my 4 year old son watched an episode of Dora the Explorer and it made Dora's already annoying voice unbearable. I purchased this system to replace an audio receiver and AR speakers I had been using for a number of years and felt it was a step back in sound quality. However, I will say that it does sound better than the standard speakers in my TV. In the end, I returned it and purchased an Onkyo system for about $120 more. CONCLUSION: If you currently listen to your TV through the built-in speakers this is a step up, but if your looking for a full sound and can afford to spend a little more then you should.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KeithTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not Very Loud
10/27/2007

Customer review by Reviewer22468

5.0 stars 10/27/2007 by Reviewer22468
by Reviewer22468

This system has a very nice sound but it doesn’t go loud, the speakers are permanently wired and the rear speakers started to pop a little. It may be better if you want to upgrade the speakers but thats not why I buy the Home Theater in a box......

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reviewer22468
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RT2770 - Best purchase for the money!
7/29/2007

Customer review by SandpiperN121PP

5.0 stars 7/29/2007 by SandpiperN121PP
by SandpiperN121PP

The RT2770 is a great package for the price. 1000 watts total surround sound for a great price. The setup was very easy as well being they have colorcoded all of the wires to the plugs on the back. It took me about 15 minutes to connect it up. I have it connected to my HDTV and it had enhanced my movie/tv viewing experience. The unit has several settings to choose from for different sound settings. From Hall to Church, Stadium, and a great many more. It also has a built in AM/FM tuner which is more of a plus for your money. You can connect alot of different devices up to the unit as well. CD Player, DVD, TV, and even your MP3 Players or Digital Cameras too! For the money that you would spend on an elaborate system elsewhere... this little system really delivers high quality sound and performance for a great price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SandpiperN121PP
University Place, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for money
11/19/2007

Customer review by DerekGT1

4.0 stars 11/19/2007 by DerekGT1
by DerekGT1

I have been researching alot of home theatre systems online prior to purchasing this RCA unit. I travelled about an hour out of my way and into the USA just for the cost savings and that this model has all "most" of the features tht I was looking for. It took me only about 30 minutes to set up thanks to the clear instructions. The best feature that makes this system boom is that you can preset the speakers individualy to specific levels up to a maximum of +10. I tried this system out first on " The Fast and the Furious" dvd and it rocked them I played my Ipod with the available USB input and it made my coffee mugs shake. It is best for movies though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DerekGT1
Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't Waste Your Time or Money
11/13/2007

Customer review by pspmichael

2.0 stars 11/13/2007 by pspmichael
by pspmichael

I bought this product to replace my 20 plus year old surround sound system. My older system sounded better than this one! The sound volume level leaves a lot to be desired. The number of input ports for all the equipment I have is sorely lacking. You will need to buy a switch with this setup if you have more than a DVD player and TV. This one is going back tomorrow, when I will turn around and purchase what I hope to be a good theater system.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pspmichael
North Topsail Beach, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT HOME THEATER
9/17/2007

Customer review by supermagician1314

5.0 stars 9/17/2007 by supermagician1314
by supermagician1314

THIS PRODUCT IS GREAT FOR IT'S PRICE. IF HOOKED UP PROPERLY CAN DELIVER QUALITY SOUND TO ANY HOME THEATER. WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
supermagician1314
ROCK HILL, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quality on a budget
10/3/2007

Customer review by Chross

4.0 stars 10/3/2007 by Chross
by Chross

I got this system from my wife for my birthday. She had me Pick it out b/c she honestly didn't know what she was looking for. I picked this system for the price, name and wattage output. 150.00 for a 1000 watts from a name i know is a great value. There wasn't a display out for this partcular model so i was kinda skeptical as to how those little nothin speakers were gonna handle that amount of power, and i was right. I hooked up the spkrs and didn't have it turned up half way before i started hearing the frnt right and left spkrs pop, and all i had on was some Blues Clues my kids were watching. A little louder and the center started popping. I wasnt too upset though b/c i had my own personal spkrs from a prev setup i had. When i tested the sub I was very pleased. Light weight easy hook-up, and it has its own on/off button. The only thing i could have asked for on the sub would have been a remote, but thats only b/c i have my TV caddy cornered, and the sub is behind the TV pointed directly in to the corner. After i finally got my own spkrs hooked up i turned the system on again and the soud was amazing. I would completely recommend this product. It's a phenomenal value for the monitor alone. I have tried to buy a recvr by itself with that kind of ouput and wasnt able to find anything cheaper than about 350.00. Key points *Dolby-pro II *1000 watts *Great sub *Looks great *Easy setup *Quite possibly the best value on the market right now when comparing price and quality. Cons *Standard spkrs arent too hot *Nowhere to input HDMI

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chross
Gainesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
JAKksez
7/14/2007

Customer review by JAKk

1.0 stars 7/14/2007 by JAKk
by JAKk

NOT GOOD did not work through t.v.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAKk
oroville,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
JUNK
7/23/2007

Customer review by malikikitty

1.0 stars 7/23/2007 by malikikitty
by malikikitty

Not only did this item not work through the T.V. after 22 days of owning it, it locked up and quit working!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
malikikitty
Overland Park, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best for price
8/15/2007

Customer review by Audiocrazyed

4.0 stars 8/15/2007 by Audiocrazyed
by Audiocrazyed

The RT2770 is by far the best home theater system for it's price. I have enjoyed the sound that this system has produced. The dolby surround sound is weak, but set it on stereo and crank it up it,the sounds is much better and louder in stereo. By far I enjoy the depth of the sound that can be produced with the 5 speakers and the subwoofer has shocked me with the amount of power it uses to the volume it creates. It's the most 200 watts to a sub that I've heard. This would be a good gift for a college student.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Audiocrazyed
Constantine, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
okay system
11/4/2007

Customer review by demitrous

4.0 stars 11/4/2007 by demitrous
by demitrous

This is a okay system I like all the features it has on it and the sub beats real good the front and rear speakers are clear especially on games.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
demitrous
Bryan, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not happy with this purchase
8/12/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/12/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just bought this system yesterday evening and am returning it today. The sound quality is good, however, the system would not work when I selected cable, there was no sound at all. If I selected VCR, 3 speakers would play. If i selected DVD only certain channels had sound, it sounded good though. I am frustrated with trying to troubleshoot the problems...its just time to return and get a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
8/5/2007

Customer review by smeil

1.0 stars 8/5/2007 by smeil
by smeil

I bought this product yesterday and a few hours later I had to take it back due to every time I turned up the volume it kept shutting off. The speakers were horrible and in some functions I could hardly here it. The sound started at a maximum of 50. A few hours later it was down to 41. When I took this back, the customer service associate said it was the 2nd returned today. I then got the similar Sony product which was on sale and so far so good

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smeil
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BEST SYSTEM FOR VALUE PRICE
12/19/2007

Customer review by ANTONIO757

5.0 stars 12/19/2007 by ANTONIO757
by ANTONIO757

BOUGHT THIS SYSTEM LAST WEEK AND IAM VERY HAPPY ABOUT IT EASY TO HOOK UP GREAT SOUND. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BAD BOY TO ANYONE.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ANTONIO757
VA BEACH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This RCA Rocks!!!!!!!
10/3/2007

Customer review by moshpit73

5.0 stars 10/3/2007 by moshpit73
by moshpit73

First off I got to say I love this thing It Has a Usb Port to hook up a hard Disk Drive! I am Using western Digital Passport Portable 250GB HDD I have 13,457 songs so far! It sounds great ! Cool Dolby DSP SETTINGS ! GO OUT AND BUY IT! or Lose out!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moshpit73
La Grange,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/2/2008

Customer review by PATK1966

5.0 stars 2/2/2008 by PATK1966
by PATK1966

I went out to walmart and i pick up this home theatre system.this was easy to hook up and sounds good after hooking this up.i put a dvd in my dvd player and the sound was every good.the only thing was the wires for the rear speakers was not to long for where i was going to put them other then that i did not find any thing wrong.i would recommend this to anyone that do not what to spend to much money....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PATK1966
WAPAKONETA. OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful surround sound system
10/9/2007

Customer review by JCN1977

5.0 stars 10/9/2007 by JCN1977
by JCN1977

Excellent value for the price I paid for it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCN1977
Monroeville,Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good
12/30/2007

Customer review by BigBoy94

5.0 stars 12/30/2007 by BigBoy94
by BigBoy94

I received this as a christmas gift. It has very good sound and bass. Only wish it was a little louder and had more speaker wire. I also love all the cool surround sound modes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBoy94
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews