Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 34 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Weak sound
7/30/2007

Customer review by KeithTX

3.0 stars 7/30/2007 by KeithTX
by KeithTX

I found the mid-range sound on this system to be very weak, the highs and lows (subwoofer) were okay, but it had no middle. This caused some sounds to be very tinny, for example my 4 year old son watched an episode of Dora the Explorer and it made Dora's already annoying voice unbearable. I purchased this system to replace an audio receiver and AR speakers I had been using for a number of years and felt it was a step back in sound quality. However, I will say that it does sound better than the standard speakers in my TV. In the end, I returned it and purchased an Onkyo system for about $120 more. CONCLUSION: If you currently listen to your TV through the built-in speakers this is a step up, but if your looking for a full sound and can afford to spend a little more then you should.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KeithTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
RCA Home Theater
7/20/2007

Customer review by tfrank78

5.0 stars 7/20/2007 by tfrank78
by tfrank78

I have had this product for about three weeks and so far I am extremely happy with it. I have an HD DVD player connected to it through the digital coaxial input, I have an HD cable box connected through the optical input, and I have a PS2 connected through the analog inputs. All of them sound great. My one and only complaint is that I wish the rear speakers had longer speaker wire. Otherwise this product is wonderful. Easy to set up as everything is color coded and has all of the features that I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tfrank78
Tomah, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RT2770 - Best purchase for the money!
7/29/2007

Customer review by SandpiperN121PP

5.0 stars 7/29/2007 by SandpiperN121PP
by SandpiperN121PP

The RT2770 is a great package for the price. 1000 watts total surround sound for a great price. The setup was very easy as well being they have colorcoded all of the wires to the plugs on the back. It took me about 15 minutes to connect it up. I have it connected to my HDTV and it had enhanced my movie/tv viewing experience. The unit has several settings to choose from for different sound settings. From Hall to Church, Stadium, and a great many more. It also has a built in AM/FM tuner which is more of a plus for your money. You can connect alot of different devices up to the unit as well. CD Player, DVD, TV, and even your MP3 Players or Digital Cameras too! For the money that you would spend on an elaborate system elsewhere... this little system really delivers high quality sound and performance for a great price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SandpiperN121PP
University Place, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Mistake
9/26/2007

Customer review by RuinDeckard

2.0 stars 9/26/2007 by RuinDeckard
by RuinDeckard

I purchased this product because the specs were to die for. The price was to good to be true! I was hoping to set it up in my dorm so i could overpower the neighbors and i figured hey with 1000watts i will be unstoppable. I was very very wrong. I found out that you have to have the origonal subwoofer hooked up in order to use an external. I hooked up my 15" Kicker to it and cranked the volume all the way to be very upset. I had it on stereo and changed all the eq's to see if it would change my mind. The subwoofer barely even moved!! My car amplifier that puts out 120watts sounded three times louder!(i know its a smaller area but for the wattage it should be = ) Outrage! i wouldnt suggest this product for its wattage but leaving on a good note; the center and satellites were super clear and if you just wanted it for the surround effect. Go for it. As for bass lovers this is in the totally opp. direction to go. Live and learn.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RuinDeckard
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value for money
11/19/2007

Customer review by DerekGT1

4.0 stars 11/19/2007 by DerekGT1
by DerekGT1

I have been researching alot of home theatre systems online prior to purchasing this RCA unit. I travelled about an hour out of my way and into the USA just for the cost savings and that this model has all "most" of the features tht I was looking for. It took me only about 30 minutes to set up thanks to the clear instructions. The best feature that makes this system boom is that you can preset the speakers individualy to specific levels up to a maximum of +10. I tried this system out first on " The Fast and the Furious" dvd and it rocked them I played my Ipod with the available USB input and it made my coffee mugs shake. It is best for movies though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DerekGT1
Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is great starter system!
9/17/2007

Customer review by CharlesC

5.0 stars 9/17/2007 by CharlesC
by CharlesC

When I bought the system, I wasn't sure what to expect from a $150 1000W home theater system. I wanted to enhance the sound I was getting from my TV. I was pleasantly suprised. When I took the subwoofer out of the box, I thought... "This is awfully light, it must weight three or four pounds max. I wonder how it will sound? " Well, after I got the system assembled, in the 3.1 configuration, which was very easy, as all of the wires are color-coded, I gave it a test run using my TV as the input. I thought that I must have made a mistake, as I could barely hear anything. Then I noticed that the volume on my TV was set at 3 (with a max of 63) and the volume on the receiver was at 25 (with a max of 50). So, I turned up the volume on the receiver to max, and the TV to about 20 and I noticed that the sound from the TV was nicely and unobtrusively supplemented. Then I switched the input on the receiver to VCR and put Top-gun in my DVD player and ... BOOM!!!! The system came alive! I was totally suprised at the amount of sound coming from the satellites and the amount of bass from the "lightweight" subwoofer. Then I turned the volume on the receiver down to 30, which is plenty loud, if you are at all concerned with preserving your hearing. So, now I have this big grin on my face, as I think... Let's try music! So, I connected my MP3 player, with the MP3 player volume set to 22 (out of 25) and the receiver on 30. I played music from Hip-Hop, Classical, Reggae, Contemporary Country, Pop, Easy Listening, Electronica/Dance, Big Band/Swing, and House genres. It all sounded great! I even get decent radio reception. The news on AM channels sound pretty good also. The sound got even better when I went through and configured the system, according to the directions. My personal preference is to use the Church setting for all music types (it plays the music through the rear channels at the same volume as the front channels. Now I have only used the TV, VCR, Line-In, and USB inputs, as I only have RCA cabling. Since my DishNetwork DVR and DVD player both feed into my VCR, which feeds the TV, I didn't think it was necessary to get the extra cabling. When connecting a USB Flash MP3 player to USB input, all of the songs were easily accessble via the remote. I must admit, I have not use all of the available functionality, but what I have used, I like. I placed the system in my 13 x 17 family room, which is off of the dining area in my kitchen, has a cathedral ceiling, and has a loft that overlooking it. (In other words, the room is open.) The system fills the room, as well as the rest of the house (to my wife's dismay) with great sound. If i turn the volume on the receiver up to 30, using the VCR or Line-Input as the input, I can listen to the TV or music while in the shower. It's totallly cool! When my wife is around, I use the TV setting. The key is to turn the volume on the receiver to max. That way you can control the volume with the TV remote. Of course, if you want to get the full effect, use the VCR input. Oh yeah, did I mention that this system is great!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CharlesC
Portage, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Very Loud
10/27/2007

Customer review by Reviewer22468

5.0 stars 10/27/2007 by Reviewer22468
by Reviewer22468

This system has a very nice sound but it doesn’t go loud, the speakers are permanently wired and the rear speakers started to pop a little. It may be better if you want to upgrade the speakers but thats not why I buy the Home Theater in a box......

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reviewer22468
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value!
1/8/2008

Customer review by krenger2k

5.0 stars 1/8/2008 by krenger2k
by krenger2k

I got this for my girlfriend this Christmas. We reviewed this product around Black Friday and decided to pass. I was going to get her something bigger, however that was the issue. I wanted her to have the big sound without a huge amount of buttons to push. She had this CD/MP3 system from Best Buy that she really didn't like. I figured for about $50 bucks more she would get the whole deal. I will acknowledge that on some stations and movies the sound varies, however for a basic system its Great! The sub-woofer is awesome, that's if you know how to place them. Sitting it in a corner where it can re-verb will kick it up a notch. My only reservation is that it has just one COAX Audio input. If you want a great value go for this system. If you want your ears to bleed from the piercing surround sound, sit in the front row of a movie or spend more money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krenger2k
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for dorms
10/4/2007

Customer review by scorpion300z

4.0 stars 10/4/2007 by scorpion300z
by scorpion300z

i am in the military and stationed in fort wainwright. i bought this system for my barracks room. if any knows about barracks they are awfully small. i have it hooked up to tv with fiber optic and i have my cable box and ps3 hooked up with hdmi to the tv. when i hooked it up i played a game on the ps3 and it was amazing. the sound is crystal clear. its nice to have surround sound when play fps and can hear someone walking up behind you. although it doesnt get very loud but the sound carries. i live on the 3rd floor and ppl can hear it on the 1st floor. i havent completely adjusted all the sound settings so i am sure i can get it alittle better. the sub sounds great in the room. when listening to the radio i can hear it bumping in the shower. ofcourse my roommate hates it. but o well. great product but wouldnt suggest buying for a large room

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scorpion300z
fort wainwright
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't Waste Your Time or Money
11/13/2007

Customer review by pspmichael

2.0 stars 11/13/2007 by pspmichael
by pspmichael

I bought this product to replace my 20 plus year old surround sound system. My older system sounded better than this one! The sound volume level leaves a lot to be desired. The number of input ports for all the equipment I have is sorely lacking. You will need to buy a switch with this setup if you have more than a DVD player and TV. This one is going back tomorrow, when I will turn around and purchase what I hope to be a good theater system.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pspmichael
North Topsail Beach, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality on a budget
10/3/2007

Customer review by Chross

4.0 stars 10/3/2007 by Chross
by Chross

I got this system from my wife for my birthday. She had me Pick it out b/c she honestly didn't know what she was looking for. I picked this system for the price, name and wattage output. 150.00 for a 1000 watts from a name i know is a great value. There wasn't a display out for this partcular model so i was kinda skeptical as to how those little nothin speakers were gonna handle that amount of power, and i was right. I hooked up the spkrs and didn't have it turned up half way before i started hearing the frnt right and left spkrs pop, and all i had on was some Blues Clues my kids were watching. A little louder and the center started popping. I wasnt too upset though b/c i had my own personal spkrs from a prev setup i had. When i tested the sub I was very pleased. Light weight easy hook-up, and it has its own on/off button. The only thing i could have asked for on the sub would have been a remote, but thats only b/c i have my TV caddy cornered, and the sub is behind the TV pointed directly in to the corner. After i finally got my own spkrs hooked up i turned the system on again and the soud was amazing. I would completely recommend this product. It's a phenomenal value for the monitor alone. I have tried to buy a recvr by itself with that kind of ouput and wasnt able to find anything cheaper than about 350.00. Key points *Dolby-pro II *1000 watts *Great sub *Looks great *Easy setup *Quite possibly the best value on the market right now when comparing price and quality. Cons *Standard spkrs arent too hot *Nowhere to input HDMI

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chross
Gainesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT HOME THEATER
9/17/2007

Customer review by supermagician1314

5.0 stars 9/17/2007 by supermagician1314
by supermagician1314

THIS PRODUCT IS GREAT FOR IT'S PRICE. IF HOOKED UP PROPERLY CAN DELIVER QUALITY SOUND TO ANY HOME THEATER. WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supermagician1314
ROCK HILL, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best for price
8/15/2007

Customer review by Audiocrazyed

4.0 stars 8/15/2007 by Audiocrazyed
by Audiocrazyed

The RT2770 is by far the best home theater system for it's price. I have enjoyed the sound that this system has produced. The dolby surround sound is weak, but set it on stereo and crank it up it,the sounds is much better and louder in stereo. By far I enjoy the depth of the sound that can be produced with the 5 speakers and the subwoofer has shocked me with the amount of power it uses to the volume it creates. It's the most 200 watts to a sub that I've heard. This would be a good gift for a college student.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Audiocrazyed
Constantine, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disapointment.....
1/6/2008

Customer review by Brian01234

1.0 stars 1/6/2008 by Brian01234
by Brian01234

I purchased this product to upgrade from an older, much less expensive Durabrand theater system. I was very enthusiastic about the power ratings and some of the good reviews posted here. After I connected everything, and made all of the necessary setup adjustments I gave it a try. Nothing happened at first and I thought it might be defective. After several seconds the sound came up but it had nowhere near the sound quality and power of my old system. At maximum volume, it is just at the level I would normally set a home theater to. I personally was disapointed with the power and sound quality I expected from RCA on this unit. I will be returning the system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brian01234
Rockledge, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
JAKksez
7/14/2007

Customer review by JAKk

1.0 stars 7/14/2007 by JAKk
by JAKk

NOT GOOD did not work through t.v.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JAKk
oroville,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
JUNK
7/23/2007

Customer review by malikikitty

1.0 stars 7/23/2007 by malikikitty
by malikikitty

Not only did this item not work through the T.V. after 22 days of owning it, it locked up and quit working!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
malikikitty
Overland Park, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love it
8/21/2007

Customer review by TheLobster

4.0 stars 8/21/2007 by TheLobster
by TheLobster

For the money this is a great system, yes there's better out there but if you looking to upgrade for little $ it works just fine. I'm running my TV, DVD, and also my Xbox 360 with it and they all sound great. I did have some problems hooking it up to my TV but I found out because I have Dish Network I needed to hook it up to the cable box not the TV to get it to work. I saw that alot of people wrote reviews saying they had the same problems, if they would have called there Cable company they would have figured out there problem. Overall this is a great system for the $

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheLobster
Parma, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Maybe Just a Faulty Unit
1/20/2008

Customer review by GPMF

1.0 stars 1/20/2008 by GPMF
by GPMF

I bought this home theatre system last night and I am disappointed thus far. I hooked it up, easy installation, pretty cut and dry. The rear R and L speakers could have had longer wire. But I just spliced extra wire. Not a huge inconvenience. But when I went to turn it on, "welcome" came up on the front of the unit, but it was stuck on that and I was unable to change my source, TV, DVD, etc. From the remote and the unit itself. I am returning the unit today. Maybe it was just a faulty unit. I'll try and get one more and see if I just picked a lemon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GPMF
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not pro stuff...
1/17/2008

Customer review by MrCurator

3.0 stars 1/17/2008 by MrCurator
by MrCurator

Okay, so I knew it wasn't the real thing... but I thot it would be good enough. Great features, great sound... but less that 2 hours in the sub started to rattle. We were listening to James Taylor (solo) and then Alison Krauss. Dunno if I'll exchange it for another just like it and give it a second chance... or if I'll just have to go for a better made product. You cannot take it apart to remedy things like this. It's a sealed unit. I'm disappointed, but... it did sound really good for a little while...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrCurator
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It Blows My Tv Speakers out of the house!
4/19/2008

Customer review by DisneyDude199623

5.0 stars 4/19/2008 by DisneyDude199623
by DisneyDude199623

This product is amazing. I have it connected to my computer and TV. Both have extreme surround sound. I use the line in port in the front to connect my MP3 Player. I had to buy speaker wires to extend the rear speakers but that was a simple extra ten dollars. This system can get really loud at 30/50 volume it sounds like it is happening in my room. The Bass is really good to, it shakes my entire room. I watched Pirates Of The Caribbean 3 and I felt like the world really was coming to an end.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DisneyDude199623
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews