Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

70 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

70 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 65 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews
Great product
8/21/2007

Customer review by OfficeManagerAndMore

5.0 stars 8/21/2007 by OfficeManagerAndMore
by OfficeManagerAndMore

This product is great, with a great price! We have a small office and it works perfect for us. We used site to store shipping and will do it again. The site said about 7 days for delivery, it was here in 2! Thanks wal-mart.com!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OfficeManagerAndMore
Pella, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quality Shredder
3/11/2008

Customer review by QualityANDPriceCount

4.0 stars 3/11/2008 by QualityANDPriceCount
by QualityANDPriceCount

Although I have only had this shredder for a couple of weeks, it has filled 4 black leaf bags (39 gal ea) with 14 years of monthly bank statements and cancelled checks with no problems. Sure, it will stop when the shredded material starts jamming because it is too full or the motor gets too warm after 3 or 4 months worth statements but give it a few minutes and it will cool down or empty the container (or press down the shredded material) and continue shredding. Although it is rated for up to 18 pages at a time, I tried to limit my batches to around 12. Worked great! I bought a store model for $56.00 that lasted for about 4 weeks but now won't take but a single sheet of paper and sometimes complains about that. This model is pretty pricey but I think it will last a long time. I took 1 star off because of the price!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QualityANDPriceCount
Northern Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not Bad....
3/24/2009

Customer review by phantom44

4.0 stars 3/24/2009 by phantom44
by phantom44

Well, I purchased this item based on everyone's review. Don't get me wrong, this is a quiet and smooth running machine. It does do the job. One down fall is I wish I had done more research on cross-cut shredders. When this one shreds, they are still in pretty thick strips! Therefore, causing the basket to fill up quickly and your paperwork still readable. I reccommend that you search the cost of cross cut shredders, because the cost of this one is not worth what you get.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phantom44
Lake Worth, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Little Shredder that could
8/26/2009

Customer review by TimelessKB

4.0 stars 8/26/2009 by TimelessKB
by TimelessKB

This shredder has been the best one that the company I work for has bougt. This is the 3rd shredder in the 2 years I have worked for the company and it far exceeds the others. It's by far the quietest piece of equipment in our office and far exceeds the others we've had. Maintenance is a breeze and so is emptying the bin. No more dust and pieces falling to the floor, the bin is easy to handle alone and doesnt create a mess. We have about 5 people sharing this shredder for confidential documents and there are no complaints to be had about performance even though its recommended for 1-3 users. Outstanding shredder and when the times comes for our company to get another i will ceratinly request this piece again. Our only hesitation is that we are leary of putting Cd's through it and shortening the life span.

TimelessKB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
7/5/2008

Customer review by xxBeanCounterxx

5.0 stars 7/5/2008 by xxBeanCounterxx
by xxBeanCounterxx

I've owned this shredder for about two weeks now. So far I haven't had any issues; the other reviews were accurate. Junk mail can be shredded envelope and all, which is nice because some other shredders can't handle the thicker load. There haven't been any jamming issues; there is a sensor that prevents shredding when the wastebasket is full. I can load papers at pretty much any angle... the shredder just powers through it. My only cautions relate to size and price. With regards to size this shredder is pretty large for casual usage at about 2.5 feet tall and 40+ lbs. With regards to price it's somewhat expensive at about $150+tax, but you get what you pay for and it seems to be a very high quality shredder. Shipping would add to that however I selected Walmart's site-to-store so the shipping was free.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxBeanCounterxx
Oceanside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
FINALLY, A GREAT SHREDDER!
6/8/2010

Customer review by Sarai

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by Sarai
by Sarai

I HAVE FINALLY FOUND A GOOD SHREDDER!! I have never really liked shredders because the ones I used before would jam quickly, were so loud it sounded like a construction zone whenever I would use it, or were just too complicated. The SB-80 Fellowes shredder changed all that. It is DIFFERENT. It is BETTER. It is IT! It is as quiet as a baby. It doesn't jam and it only has TWO buttons! One to put the shredder in the ON mode. The 2nd button has 3 simple functions: Shred, standby, and reverse. THATS IT! Plus, you can shred for 20 minutes continously, which is better than most other options. So if you are ready for a CHANGE for the BETTER, you want to buy THIS shredder! :)

Sarai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
STRIP shredder!
2/14/2009

Customer review by AcctgLady

2.0 stars 2/14/2009 by AcctgLady
by AcctgLady

This is a STRIP shredder, not a cross-cut. I did not notice this until after it arrived. I returned it and got a cross-cut shredder. Strips were too wide to be secure enough for an accounting office.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AcctgLady
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Very pleased
1/8/2008

Customer review by MrBark

5.0 stars 1/8/2008 by MrBark
by MrBark

Shredder has plenty of power and is very quiet. Motor does not have to labor for the big jobs. For "junk mail" I throw in envelope and all. Saves time not opening envelopes and shredder can easily handle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrBark
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great to have in the office
5/1/2009

Customer review by Shoppngfuul

5.0 stars 5/1/2009 by Shoppngfuul
by Shoppngfuul

This shredder is a monster, but purrs like a kitty. Love our new shredder. Does all it claims and runs very quietly. Love it. Good value, though not cheap.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shoppngfuul
Blue Springs, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bull dog of shredders.
3/16/2008

Customer review by Fairlane

5.0 stars 3/16/2008 by Fairlane
by Fairlane

This shredder lives up to the reviews I read online. This shredder handled any load I put to it is so nice to have a tool of this quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fairlane
Cincinnati,OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great shredder!
3/25/2009

Customer review by elemgee

5.0 stars 3/25/2009 by elemgee
by elemgee

We've only had this in the office for a couple of weeks, but we are very pleased with it. Strip shredders are rare to find anymore so we were happy to find this. Our regular office supply store had the same one for a hundred bucks more, so thank you Walmart for the great price! Also, delivery store-to-store was extremely quick. We were given a delivery of 2 weeks and it came to our desired store the next day. So far, this shredder works great. It's not overly noisy (we've had noisier shredders), shreds several sheets at a time, staples, credit cards, as described. The door opens in front so that you can take out the little trash container to empty and came with a supply of plastic trash bags. We highly recommend this shredder.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elemgee
Conroe, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Third time hopefully a charm
9/22/2008

Customer review by Recyclist

4.0 stars 9/22/2008 by Recyclist
by Recyclist

After burning out two lighter-duty models of Fellowes shredders, I was forced to invest in a heavy-duty model. The other two had plastic gears which eventually gave out. This model sounds different when operating--hopefully has all metal gears. It also has features the lighter-duty models didn't. I like the larger capacity cabinet-style bin which means I don't have to lift off the powerhead and set it aside to empty it. I wasn't sure the strip-cut would meet my needs, but so far it has worked out OK. I would have given it 5 stars, but it is really too early to tell if it is going to last based on my experience with the lighter-duty models. Shipping cost was too expensive for the time I had to wait for it to be delivered.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Recyclist
Wrangell, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this shredder
9/12/2011

Customer review by Marla

5.0 stars 9/12/2011 by Marla
by Marla

My new shredder is awesome. It is quiet, dependable, durable, well-made, convenient to open and empty, does not jam, is very reliable, sturdy, does not jam, and is extremely safe. Any one can use this wonderful product easily.I have used other brands, but came back to Fellowes because it truly is the best product available. I would recommend to everyone interested in purchasing a shredder.

Marla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great shredder
10/19/2010

Customer review by OfficeMaven

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by OfficeMaven
by OfficeMaven

We are a small insurance office and use the shredder frequently to protect our customers' privacy. This machine is perfect for our needs. The first batch of shredding I did was a treat because it was so quiet and I got it done so much more quicly than I would have with our old machine. The only thing I would consider differently next time would be a cross-cut shredder.

OfficeMaven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Shredder
8/25/2009

Customer review by puff8990

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by puff8990
by puff8990

We bought this product as a replacement shredder for use in the school's main office and it is great. It is so quiet we couldn't believe it. The paper flows through the shredder so smoothly and the capacity is fantastic. We couldn't be happier with our purchase.

puff8990
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
7/18/2011

Customer review by beekeeper

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by beekeeper
by beekeeper

I have had this shredder for a couple of weeks. I have used it several times already and it has worked as advertised. It easily shreds 18 sheets of paper and is much quieter than the Aurora I had before this one. I would highly recommend this shredder.

beekeeper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Quality . . .
5/26/2009

Customer review by Michigan

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by Michigan
by Michigan

I have used this shredder for over a year in two different work locations and have been very impressed and happy with it. It has never jammed. Takes credit cards with ease. I've fought with shredders for many years; this one is a dream to own and use!

Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great investment
1/26/2010

Customer review by huebschaus

5.0 stars 1/26/2010 by huebschaus
by huebschaus

I was looking for a shredder to shred paper for use as bedding in our sheep barn rather than having to purchase straw. The shredders all recommend not shredding newspaper but I have shredded myriads of it without any problem. I take care not to overheat the motor and it works GREAT! The one thing that I didn't like about the shredder was the magnetic latch on the door. With my arthritic hands I had trouble opening it. I put 3 layers of tape over the magnet which lets me open the door much more easily.

huebschaus
Malone, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good Product
5/26/2010

Customer review by Advamet

5.0 stars 5/26/2010 by Advamet
by Advamet

The only negative I've found is that it would have been nice to have a reference on how to obtain replacement bags for the receptacle. The unit itself has been more than satisfactory.

Advamet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for small office
9/17/2008

Customer review by OneManShop

5.0 stars 9/17/2008 by OneManShop
by OneManShop

Five years ago I bought a Fellowes 7-page "baby" shredder ($42), which I thought was good enough for a one man shop. Despite my always shredding less than 7 pages at once, the plastic drive gears cracked after 4 years, so my throughput was reduced to 2 pages per run (and shreds still gummed up the inside cutters). This model cost 4x as much, but is much quieter and clearly more robust. I shred stuff every day (more after tax season) so I look forward to many years of unobtrusive service. Also, I placed the order online on a Monday afternoon and it was delivered to my office before noon, the next day! Whoa!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneManShop
Los Altos, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews