Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 682 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

682 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

682 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
549
4 stars
117
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 623 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 623 total reviews
1-20 of 623 reviews
BEST GATE EVER - AND WE'VE OWNED MANY ! !
1/31/2011

Customer review by folwme

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by folwme
by folwme

We read all the reviews on this product and many other types of gate reviews. We purchased this gate expressly for the reason of keeping our pets out of our "office" area. We have 13 small dogs (min pins and pomeranians). One is a min pin/pom mix and is only 3 lbs and very tiny. SHE can get through the slats (widest opening is 2 1/4"), but the other dogs cannot. This gate is terrific for the others because they would just jump up, hang on to the top of the other gates, then hoist themselves over the top. Some would just jump clear over the other gates entirely (our high jumpers). This gate even keeps out our 2 FULL-SIZE dobermans who also used to jump over the other gates. We have several gates throughout the house and this one is BY FAR the best we have ever owned or used. SUPER SIMPLE to put together and works just like it says - opens easily by lifting up slightly, swings open either way, and closes automatically. It only doesn't latch closed if you very gently close it and stop it from latching. It's pretty too. We are going to replace all of our gates with this one. We have the gate at an angle, snugged up against a bookshelf and my daughter's piano and it opens and closes just fine.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
folwme
Gresham, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Working great so far
9/23/2012

Customer review by evetSagain

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by evetSagain
by evetSagain

We installed the gate two days ago so I can't say anything about longevity yet, but it appears to be sturdy and well built. I have seen/used a couple other brands of similar gates, but this one seems much better built than others. The instructions are poor, but installation was pretty easy to figure out. We installed it in a wide kitchen door (42") to keep two large dogs in/out. We didn't use the small discs/cups in the installation; we just let the tension screws with their rubber feet/caps press directly on the door frame. So far, this appears to be quite stable. I had been worried that the gate (the swinging part that opens) would be too narrow - my wife and I are big people - but it is plenty wide. Opening the gate is a bit tricky as others have said, but it is easy to handle once you get the hang of it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
evetSagain
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT!!!!
10/16/2008

Customer review by 2NATIVEBABIESMOMMY

5.0 stars 10/16/2008 by 2NATIVEBABIESMOMMY
by 2NATIVEBABIESMOMMY

I Love this gate!!! It is very easy to set up. I have a 23month old and a 10 month old. I used to have the small $11 dollar gates on the bottom of the stairs but my 23 month old daughter figured out how to climb it and eventually broke it from pulling on it. It was really hard to find a gate for my stairs because they have round spindles on them, but at the top of the first spindle there is a square part (as shown in my pic), so I needed a gate that would be high enough to reach that flat surface. THe opening of my stairs is exactly 41" and this gate fits perfect for this length using BOTH the provided extensions. I used the pressure mount because I did not want to make holes in my wall or stairs and it is still very sturdy. I am very very happy with this gate. I am thinking about getting the shorter version for the top of my stairs as this one is too tall for that purpose.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2NATIVEBABIESMOMMY
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Big Gate Stops All
10/26/2010

Customer review by RunningWolf

5.0 stars 10/26/2010 by RunningWolf
by RunningWolf

What a surprise. This gate was simple to install and keeps the dogs from invading the kitchen. Tall enough to hold child or Shepherd, great design and low cost considering the materials used. . .

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RunningWolf
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A MUST HAVE IN EVERY HOUSE!!!
2/22/2009

Customer review by p1neapple

5.0 stars 2/22/2009 by p1neapple
by p1neapple

I bought this gate with the intentions to separate my two mini dachshunds from the rest of my house and it has done the job PERFECTLY.. My dogs are 8 and 10 pounds and they cannot get through the spaces of the gate. My kids who are 4 and 5 can open the gate just fine. It is very easy to operate and install. Requires no tools, no messing up your walls and it is a very good looking fence not your normal cheap looking gate. HANDS DOWN THE BEST MONEY SPENT ON A GATE!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
p1neapple
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent safety product for dogs or baby's
7/3/2013

Customer review by Jestcy

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by Jestcy
by Jestcy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this dream baby gate and wish I would have found it sooner!! It would have saved me numerous holes in my wall from using the standard drill in to wall type of baby gates. If your looking for a gate for your dogs or baby's, get this gate. There's no drilling required, you just turn the nobs on each end of the gate tight and they basically just tighten to your wall and that's how the gates held in to place. It also swings shut, and opens from each direction. I purchased my gate for my baby, but my mother suggested it to me after she saw my aunt use it for her large rotwiller dog. The gate is extremely sturdy, it's high and also looks really nice. Those other safety gates are junk and will eventually put holes in your wall like mine. You can't beat the price either. I've already spent double the price of the dream gate on the regular drill type gates. Get this gate, you will not be disappointed!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jestcy
Carnegie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We LOVE it!
3/12/2010

Customer review by MomOf4Girls81

5.0 stars 3/12/2010 by MomOf4Girls81
by MomOf4Girls81

This gate is exactly what it says. I read ALL the reviews first and still bought it. After installing and using it, I've realized that some people are either not thorough in reading instructions or not very common sensible. You DO need to make sure it's installed just right, but when you do, it will work great. Yes, it looks crazy crooked out of the box, but it is explained on a yellow tag attached to the gate! That's what it looks like before you install it! The set up was SUPER SIMPLE and easy, just need to make sure both side are turned evenly. You will need to adjust it carefully to make sure the slide release latches (or it WILL open just by pushing on it) and it's not too tight and rubbing. (The instructions say to make sure there's a 4 mm gap.) The instructions also CLEARLY say you have to lift the gate to open it...so that shouldn't be an issue either....it opens very easily. :) There is also the issue of having the threshold at the bottom that you have to step over, but it's not huge, and not a big deal at all. :) The only big downfall (that I KNEW about before buying anyway) is that my doorknob does hit the gate, making it unable to close the door. We fixed this issue with a bungie cord. :) This gate is one of the only ones that was skinny enough to fit in my 28 1/2 inch doorway, so I didn't have much choice, but I'm super happy with it. NONE of my kids (or myself) can climb over it, and it does lock back by itself (unless you close it very slowly.) Overall, I think this is the best gate we've had so far (with four kids, I've been through a few!)

Was this review helpful? (68) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOf4Girls81
Appomattox, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works for me great.
5/1/2010

Customer review by GrumpyQueen1

5.0 stars 5/1/2010 by GrumpyQueen1
by GrumpyQueen1

I am the proud momma of a 7 pound Chihuahua and a 3 pound Miniature Maletse. I live in a Mobil Home Park and the fence had to meet specs to park rules...not a problem. Going in and out a gate with the dogs in the yard can be quite tricky at times if your hands are full. This gate fits perfectly in the opening for the fence gate area and it is self closing. All you need to do is let it go. Due to the size of my babies I am very careful not to let them out so they may get hurt. This is a life saver and allows me to hold them at bay as the gate swings closed and latches automatically with no more than a slight push. It is a great product. More than enough to hold my little pups where they belong. Since I ordered it on line and had it delivered to another store in Idhao...it did take quite a while to get it here. Took about 20 minutes to adjust it with the expansions to fit our opening but once it was in, it is very sturdy. I would buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrumpyQueen1
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Puppy gate
6/14/2008

Customer review by gatemaster

5.0 stars 6/14/2008 by gatemaster
by gatemaster

I recently became the parent of a rottewiler puppy. I quickly learned the gate I owned wasn't going to last long, so I purchased the extra tall baby gate from Wal-mart.com and am very pleased with it. My Gus is now 4 months old, weighs 41.5 lbs., and his front paws sits on the top rail of the gate. I love the convenience of the walk-through and it swings in both directions. Would recommend to anyone with a large dog. Very easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gatemaster
Southern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Quality
3/24/2011

Customer review by ModifyForLife

5.0 stars 3/24/2011 by ModifyForLife
by ModifyForLife

I bought this gate because I'm about to have a baby boy in mid-April and wanted one that would protect him from our five dogs. They know how to jump over short gates and blocks so I needed something extra tall. After the small amount of assembly, the gate is plenty high enough, very sturdy, looks amazing, and I love how the gate opens both outwards/inwards. This gate is saving me so much trouble... no more dogs breaking into the room and destroying things! I do not have the gate in my doorway, it's in the hallway, so I used one of the extenders, which was easy to do. Very pleased and happy about this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ModifyForLife
Foresthill, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PERFECT!!
12/23/2011

Customer review by starlightstarshine

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by starlightstarshine
by starlightstarshine

We got this for my stairway inside our front door, my son is 2, and although he can do stairs very well, he is an amazing escape artist and has attempted to run out our door a couple times!! we tried the flimsy plastic and wooden ones, but he just busted through or climbed over those. this is an amazing gate, easy to assemble and it comes with screws to attach to your wall for a more permanent gate or adhesive tape which has worked just as well. It also works well for our pets!! would definitely recommend!! OH and btw.. when you first get the gate out of the box don't be worried, it may look to be off or bent, but it is supposed to be that way, it straightens up when it's installed!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starlightstarshine
Fort Madison, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful!
5/17/2014

Customer review by mymren

5.0 stars 5/17/2014 by mymren
by mymren
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this gate with extensions for our store near our reception desk. Our store dog is very well behaved, but she tends to trot out to greet everyone and some people are afraid of dogs or I don't want her knocking over small children or elderly patrons. This gate is very adaptable and was able to be put against one end by rough uneven wood. I wish I had bought one a long time ago. I would definitely recommend this product. Also it was not in my local Walmart, but it arrived the day after I ordered it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mymren
Granbury, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent and handsome gate
3/7/2014

Customer review by AAPJr

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by AAPJr
by AAPJr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this gate to keep my very athletic dog from jumping over a shorter gate. Although the instructions are difficult to follow, the gate is easy to install without the instructions and requires no tools unless you want to secure it with screws. It functions as advertised and closes automatically. The last feature can be a pain, but you should be able to secure the door in an open position easily. The gate opens in both directions. It is sturdy, handsome, and it keeps my dog in the room. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AAPJr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect product
8/21/2010

Customer review by cantabella

5.0 stars 8/21/2010 by cantabella
by cantabella

We purchased the gate one month ago and we love it.It is just what we need .Very tall,strong,hard to open for a kid,swings close.It was not cheap but not overpriced.It is the perfect thing on top of our steps.The only person who doesn't like it is my 1 year old son.I trust this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cantabella
Buford ,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!!!!!!!!!
2/26/2013

Customer review by Faith79

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Faith79
by Faith79

This gate was very easy to install and it keeps in my big 120lb mastiff, I would buy again and i highly recommend it!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Faith79
denver,co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome gate
1/18/2011

Customer review by JRT3sMom

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by JRT3sMom
by JRT3sMom

I needed an extra tall gate for the top of my stairs and this one works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JRT3sMom
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best gate ever!!!!!!!
6/15/2010

Customer review by klhicks1

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by klhicks1
by klhicks1

This gate is very sturdy!!! My 2 year old cant climb this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klhicks1
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what we needed!
7/14/2010

Customer review by AztoOR

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by AztoOR
by AztoOR

After 4 hours of running around on one day and not finding anything to fit our staircase/budget; I went online and found this gate. WE LOVE IT!! The installation instructions are a breeze and total time took about 30 mins. I suppose it would take less time, but we have baseboards that we had to adjust the gate to. We love the height of this gate and opening it is super easy (for adults.) Our 7 year old daughter was able to open it, but had to use both hands. One for pushing the latch and other to lift the gate. Our 1 year old definitely won't be able to open this on her own. We also love the automatic close feature and that the gate opens both ways. Those alone make this gate an awesome product. We are using this gate for the top of the stairs, so we did use the screws to mount the gate to the walls. I (160 lbs) hung myself from it and it didn't budge. I would definitely recommend this product. Not only is it a perfect gate, but for the money, you're get an amazing, well-made product.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AztoOR
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Big Gate Opening-Very Well Made-Easy to Install-A+
10/20/2010

Customer review by kenrrm

5.0 stars 10/20/2010 by kenrrm
by kenrrm

We needed a gate for a 34" arch opening for our new dog. We did a lot of research on gates and this is the one we chose mostly because of the LARGER Gate opening 18-1/4" to 19-3/4" makes a huge difference between the Regalo which has only a 15" opening. Very Easy to install. Yes, the locking side looks bent when out of the box it's in a "V" shape. It is bent that way to provide extra tension against wall. If you install level and tighten both top sides evenly until there is an 1/8" gap at the lock and there will be no problem. I installed in under 10 minutes (5min was for reading the directions) Here is some information you might find helpful: Gate opening: 18-1/4" hinge to lock, 19-3/4" bar to bar. 1/2" thick steel bars, 2-1/4" space between bars. 1-1/2" thick bottom frame. 40-1/2" height at top of curve, 39-1/2" height at bottom of curve. If you are mounting on a door unit, the gate height will most likely interfere with the door knob, if that is a problem, then pick a different gate. Overall we like the color, style, function and hopefully the longevity of this gate.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kenrrm
North Andover, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Baby Gate Yet
3/5/2009

Customer review by InternetShoppingQueen

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by InternetShoppingQueen
by InternetShoppingQueen

This is the 4th baby gate we have purchased and set up in less than one year. Our first gate was a cheap wooden retractable (lasted 4 weeks), the second a heavy duty plastic retractable (lasted 1 week, put holes in walls), and the 3rd a heavier duty plastic swinging gate that needed more set-up (lasted 6 weeks). This is by far the most expensive gate we have purchased, but SO worth the price. I wish we had just bought two of these in the beginning rather than waste money on the cheaper models. PROS: -- Very easy to open one-handed with a baby, toddler, or basket of laundry in hand. Slightly push the button on top, lift and push/pull. Difficult enough that a toddler could not operate. -- Opens either direction, forward & backward. -- Easy to install. -- DURABLE -- Tall! Older kids and pets won't be tempted to try to climb over it instead of opening it the way it was intended, which is how two of our cheaper gates were broken. CONS: None so far! With 4 kids, this is a godsend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InternetShoppingQueen
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 623 total reviews
1-20 of 623 reviews