Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 677 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

677 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

677 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
544
4 stars
116
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
11
1-20 of 618 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 618 total reviews
1-20 of 618 reviews
A wonderful gate
10/18/2008

Customer review by MomOf4BoysAndAGirl

5.0 stars 10/18/2008 by MomOf4BoysAndAGirl
by MomOf4BoysAndAGirl

I have 6 different gates in my house and this one is my favorite. It was expensive but worth it. I have it at the top of my stairs and it very sturdy. My children are age five to newborn and none of them can get over it or knock it down. If I had the money I would replace all my gates with this one.

Was this review helpful? (98) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOf4BoysAndAGirl
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
We LOVE it!
3/12/2010

Customer review by MomOf4Girls81

5.0 stars 3/12/2010 by MomOf4Girls81
by MomOf4Girls81

This gate is exactly what it says. I read ALL the reviews first and still bought it. After installing and using it, I've realized that some people are either not thorough in reading instructions or not very common sensible. You DO need to make sure it's installed just right, but when you do, it will work great. Yes, it looks crazy crooked out of the box, but it is explained on a yellow tag attached to the gate! That's what it looks like before you install it! The set up was SUPER SIMPLE and easy, just need to make sure both side are turned evenly. You will need to adjust it carefully to make sure the slide release latches (or it WILL open just by pushing on it) and it's not too tight and rubbing. (The instructions say to make sure there's a 4 mm gap.) The instructions also CLEARLY say you have to lift the gate to open it...so that shouldn't be an issue either....it opens very easily. :) There is also the issue of having the threshold at the bottom that you have to step over, but it's not huge, and not a big deal at all. :) The only big downfall (that I KNEW about before buying anyway) is that my doorknob does hit the gate, making it unable to close the door. We fixed this issue with a bungie cord. :) This gate is one of the only ones that was skinny enough to fit in my 28 1/2 inch doorway, so I didn't have much choice, but I'm super happy with it. NONE of my kids (or myself) can climb over it, and it does lock back by itself (unless you close it very slowly.) Overall, I think this is the best gate we've had so far (with four kids, I've been through a few!)

Was this review helpful? (65) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOf4Girls81
Appomattox, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Schnoodle Schtopper
3/12/2009

Customer review by vickisu

5.0 stars 3/12/2009 by vickisu
by vickisu

I used a plastic baby gate until I saw this one. It is nice and tall, open and easy to use. It was installed in less than 15 minutes without tools. I love it. Nikki (the Schnoodle) and I wish we had it a long time ago. She can see through it so well she has stopped trying to jump over it all together. It has a great walk through door and it even works with my three year old granddaughter. I would recommend this to anyone for use with a child or dog.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vickisu
VA Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
would buy again
1/11/2009

Customer review by skysmom

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by skysmom
by skysmom

This is a wonderful product. We purchased it bc our toddler would not stay in her bed. We wanted something to give us peace of mind and keep her safely in her room at night. This gate is very sturdy. It is very easy to operate with one hand but not easy enough for my 2 1/2 year old to open it. She could easily take down the basic gate.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skysmom
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Big Gate Opening-Very Well Made-Easy to Install-A+
10/20/2010

Customer review by kenrrm

5.0 stars 10/20/2010 by kenrrm
by kenrrm

We needed a gate for a 34" arch opening for our new dog. We did a lot of research on gates and this is the one we chose mostly because of the LARGER Gate opening 18-1/4" to 19-3/4" makes a huge difference between the Regalo which has only a 15" opening. Very Easy to install. Yes, the locking side looks bent when out of the box it's in a "V" shape. It is bent that way to provide extra tension against wall. If you install level and tighten both top sides evenly until there is an 1/8" gap at the lock and there will be no problem. I installed in under 10 minutes (5min was for reading the directions) Here is some information you might find helpful: Gate opening: 18-1/4" hinge to lock, 19-3/4" bar to bar. 1/2" thick steel bars, 2-1/4" space between bars. 1-1/2" thick bottom frame. 40-1/2" height at top of curve, 39-1/2" height at bottom of curve. If you are mounting on a door unit, the gate height will most likely interfere with the door knob, if that is a problem, then pick a different gate. Overall we like the color, style, function and hopefully the longevity of this gate.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kenrrm
North Andover, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wow
3/11/2010

Customer review by momaof3boys2960

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by momaof3boys2960
by momaof3boys2960

we got this gate because our childern would sneak down stairs and outside theyd go . one of our kids is deaf the other is autistic but what is great is not even out 8 year old who is fine can figure out this gate its just wonderful of haveing the safety we wanted ..

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momaof3boys2960
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what we needed!
7/14/2010

Customer review by AztoOR

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by AztoOR
by AztoOR

After 4 hours of running around on one day and not finding anything to fit our staircase/budget; I went online and found this gate. WE LOVE IT!! The installation instructions are a breeze and total time took about 30 mins. I suppose it would take less time, but we have baseboards that we had to adjust the gate to. We love the height of this gate and opening it is super easy (for adults.) Our 7 year old daughter was able to open it, but had to use both hands. One for pushing the latch and other to lift the gate. Our 1 year old definitely won't be able to open this on her own. We also love the automatic close feature and that the gate opens both ways. Those alone make this gate an awesome product. We are using this gate for the top of the stairs, so we did use the screws to mount the gate to the walls. I (160 lbs) hung myself from it and it didn't budge. I would definitely recommend this product. Not only is it a perfect gate, but for the money, you're get an amazing, well-made product.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AztoOR
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BEST GATE EVER - AND WE'VE OWNED MANY ! !
1/31/2011

Customer review by folwme

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by folwme
by folwme

We read all the reviews on this product and many other types of gate reviews. We purchased this gate expressly for the reason of keeping our pets out of our "office" area. We have 13 small dogs (min pins and pomeranians). One is a min pin/pom mix and is only 3 lbs and very tiny. SHE can get through the slats (widest opening is 2 1/4"), but the other dogs cannot. This gate is terrific for the others because they would just jump up, hang on to the top of the other gates, then hoist themselves over the top. Some would just jump clear over the other gates entirely (our high jumpers). This gate even keeps out our 2 FULL-SIZE dobermans who also used to jump over the other gates. We have several gates throughout the house and this one is BY FAR the best we have ever owned or used. SUPER SIMPLE to put together and works just like it says - opens easily by lifting up slightly, swings open either way, and closes automatically. It only doesn't latch closed if you very gently close it and stop it from latching. It's pretty too. We are going to replace all of our gates with this one. We have the gate at an angle, snugged up against a bookshelf and my daughter's piano and it opens and closes just fine.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
folwme
Gresham, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The cats meow
12/19/2010

Customer review by Sleddog1

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by Sleddog1
by Sleddog1

I needed a tall gate, easy for an adult to pass through, to keep 2 female cats apart until they got used to each other and no longer wanted to fight. This gate is tall enough to keep them from jumping over, and an adult can pass through very easily. I recommend this gate for anyone in the same situation.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sleddog1
Cleveland, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Big Gate Stops All
10/26/2010

Customer review by RunningWolf

5.0 stars 10/26/2010 by RunningWolf
by RunningWolf

What a surprise. This gate was simple to install and keeps the dogs from invading the kitchen. Tall enough to hold child or Shepherd, great design and low cost considering the materials used. . .

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RunningWolf
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic for small children and small dogs
6/6/2008

Customer review by bfort44

5.0 stars 6/6/2008 by bfort44
by bfort44

I am very happy with this product. I have two small dogs, 5 & 7 lbs and the bars are close enough together that they can not go through them. It took me maybe 10 to 15 minutes to take it out of the box and have it installed, so easy I did not even need the directions, which I noticed after I already had it in place. I did not need the extentions but it looked like it would have only taken a few more minutes to put up if I had. Very easy to open if you have your hands full and have never had a failure of not closing on it's own after I go through. I would highly reccomend this gate to anyone that needs one for a child or dog, just love it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bfort44
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Working great so far
9/23/2012

Customer review by evetSagain

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by evetSagain
by evetSagain

We installed the gate two days ago so I can't say anything about longevity yet, but it appears to be sturdy and well built. I have seen/used a couple other brands of similar gates, but this one seems much better built than others. The instructions are poor, but installation was pretty easy to figure out. We installed it in a wide kitchen door (42") to keep two large dogs in/out. We didn't use the small discs/cups in the installation; we just let the tension screws with their rubber feet/caps press directly on the door frame. So far, this appears to be quite stable. I had been worried that the gate (the swinging part that opens) would be too narrow - my wife and I are big people - but it is plenty wide. Opening the gate is a bit tricky as others have said, but it is easy to handle once you get the hang of it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
evetSagain
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent safety product for dogs or baby's
7/3/2013

Customer review by Jestcy

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by Jestcy
by Jestcy

I purchased this dream baby gate and wish I would have found it sooner!! It would have saved me numerous holes in my wall from using the standard drill in to wall type of baby gates. If your looking for a gate for your dogs or baby's, get this gate. There's no drilling required, you just turn the nobs on each end of the gate tight and they basically just tighten to your wall and that's how the gates held in to place. It also swings shut, and opens from each direction. I purchased my gate for my baby, but my mother suggested it to me after she saw my aunt use it for her large rotwiller dog. The gate is extremely sturdy, it's high and also looks really nice. Those other safety gates are junk and will eventually put holes in your wall like mine. You can't beat the price either. I've already spent double the price of the dream gate on the regular drill type gates. Get this gate, you will not be disappointed!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jestcy
Carnegie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very helpful!!!
5/17/2011

Customer review by ASH20

4.0 stars 5/17/2011 by ASH20
by ASH20

I actually bought this product to keep my dogs & cats out of my living room and off the only carpeted room in my house and it works wonders!! I work at PETCO part-time and we also sell baby gates but I turned someone away from our products and recommended them go online and purchase this one from you all. I think it's great!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASH20
Chesterfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Highly recommend!
1/30/2012

Customer review by TxMother

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by TxMother
by TxMother

The gate was easy to install and works great. Two best features...extra tall and gate will close itself. FYI - at first glance out of the box I thought gate was damaged because it looks bent. The swing gate did not meet the side it was supposed to lock with. It kinda looked like a "V" shaped space. But then realized once you put it up the sides press together to close the space and the gate works. Just thought I'd mention that so no one sends it back like I almost did!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TxMother
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
kids hate it!!! lol
11/7/2011

Customer review by rotaz

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by rotaz
by rotaz

The gate works great and with the way it has to be opened, the kids hate it. Easy one handed opening for the adults, hard to reach for the young ones. Like the fact it opens both directions also. Great value for the price!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rotaz
Tonopah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall worth it.
12/31/2011

Customer review by Evilious

4.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Evilious
by Evilious

Works for what we need it for. The way it attaches or tensions to the wall is the only thing we had a problem with. It tends to slide if you do not use the screw in mounts. We like the height of it. Keeps most thrown toys on the correct side of the gate. Would recommend as long as you are willing to screw the mounts into the wall.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Evilious
Logan, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome gate!
7/29/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this gate (actually 2 of them) to replace our current gates we use for the top of the stairs and at the entryway to the kitchen. I have a smart and sneaky 3 yr old who figured out how to open the old gate. So I was looking for something that was childproof. I love that this gate is so tall and I can see why it got lots of good reviews. I also love that the door can swing open both ways and it closes automatically. So far so good! I really can't see my 3yr old figuring out how to open this one :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Mentor, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works well for dogs as well
9/2/2010

Customer review by chevyimpala64

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by chevyimpala64
by chevyimpala64

I bought this gate to put at the top of my basement stairs. not to keep any children safe but to keep my two 100 pound dogs in the basement when we aren't home. The gate works wonderfully not only b/c it is sturdy, but b/c it is tall & they can't reach the top of it. Wonderful product!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chevyimpala64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Awesome Gate
1/6/2011

Customer review by bigkid03

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by bigkid03
by bigkid03

We use this gate for our German Shepherd puppy, we needed something tall as she will be able to walk over a normal height within a few months. This gate is GREAT! It is easy to install and easy to operate. It is very sturdy and should prove to be very durable over time. Its a little extra money but worth it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigkid03
Flagstaff, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 618 total reviews
1-20 of 618 reviews