Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
145
4 stars
39
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 169 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews
Finally a gate that works!
8/3/2007

Customer review by Teresa

5.0 stars 8/3/2007 by Teresa
by Teresa

This gate was so simple to install and is a ease to use. Finally a gate that is wide enough to fit the opening I needed it for. Looks great and is completely functional.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teresa
Denton, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PERFECT!!! Just what we needed!
1/1/2012

Customer review by ProudMomma18

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by ProudMomma18
by ProudMomma18

Shortly after my son turned 1 he took a spill down our stairs (pushing over an existing baby gate) and scared us half to death. From that moment I knew we needed another option, one that would be sturdy, allowing him to stand at it and shake it if he wanted, as well as push on it without it moving. I did some research online, as well as talked to a friend who had this same gate and loved it. Sure enough we love it too! We have had it for about a month now and it hasn't even budged a millimeter. My son stands at it and shakes it (when daddy's coming up the stairs!) and has pushed and pulled on it plenty of times without anything happening. The installation was super easy and only took about ten minutes. We have a wooden banister at the top of our stairs and I didn't want a gate we would have to drill into the wall. I loved that this gate had the option of either drilling or just using the pressure mounted cups with grippy stuff on them. Although at first I thought it might be a good idea to drill into the wall for added support we have not had to because the grippy cups alone provide enough stability! I feel comfortable and safe with this gate up and know my little guy can't push it over, resulting in another scare for mommy and daddy! I would definitely recommend this gate to anyone that needs something safe for the top of their stairs. DEFINITELY worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProudMomma18
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than expected
9/30/2010

Customer review by Savoy6

5.0 stars 9/30/2010 by Savoy6
by Savoy6

I purchased this gate to prevent my dogs from going upstairs. Instead of mounting it on the bottom stair, I have it mounted between the wall of my front entrance and the stairwell. It works great and it also prevents my dogs from getting to the front door and getting out when we have visitors. It was very easy to install. I used the mounts with the two-sided tape instead of drilling for the scews, and it is holding up just fine. The pass-through gate is easy to operate and great that it swings both ways. It did have a large sticker on the bottom of both sides, but a little Goo Gone and elbow grease took care of it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Savoy6
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Kept the twins out!
12/22/2009

Customer review by LadyandSons

5.0 stars 12/22/2009 by LadyandSons
by LadyandSons

I bought 3 of these gates and some of the extensions. I bought an extension to fit this area. Love the fact that these gates are pressure mounted.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyandSons
Mount Juliet, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great gate
11/20/2010

Customer review by momahlc

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by momahlc
by momahlc

Love this gate...it fits perfectly. The other gates I tried didn't work because they were not adjustable. I have based board that sticks out farther than the wall...and this was the only one that works...and it wasn't even for a baby...a puppy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momahlc
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/28/2011

Customer review by ChickenMadras

4.0 stars 12/28/2011 by ChickenMadras
by ChickenMadras

Product quality is very good. This is a sturdy gate. The only negative is that when assembled for an opening of about 47", only one small extension rail is used. This results in having to extend the securing screws out to almost their full length. The latching mechanism on the top of the gate remains too far apart to work. The directions say that when fully assembled, this gap will close. Well, at least for me, it didn't. Still, the gate won't open unless you lift up on it (as it's supposed to), so it functions well as a dog gate. In fact, it makes it very easy for me to open. My dogs have not yet jumped on the gate, so I don't know if the lack of top latching will allow it to open with that kind of force.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChickenMadras
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Gate!
1/13/2012

Customer review by pugkiss

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by pugkiss
by pugkiss

I purchased this gate online to store in, I believe May or June of 2011 on Walmart.com. I liked that it was't flimsy and was great quality. My husband had to help me put it up just because our wide doorway frame was slightly off square. My security door was perfect by just leaving the small extra section off. Our puppy can only get in our front room when we want. We're all happy. This door won't wear out. It looks really nice!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pugkiss
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/14/2012

Customer review by Daijha123

2.0 stars 1/14/2012 by Daijha123
by Daijha123

Well I purchased this gate thinking it would be great for my upstairs. Boy I was wrong! The gate was too small and with the extensions added it ended up being too long. We needed to get a gate that expands as oppose to adding extensions which made it too long. They need to change the the way it's listed to the exact inches with and without the extensions instead of the word through.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daijha123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
well worth the penny
3/8/2010

Customer review by o2bshaq

5.0 stars 3/8/2010 by o2bshaq
by o2bshaq

After recently purchasing an Evenflow gate and having to return it because it did not meet the width requirements of witch I needed, I searched for a gate for weeks and finally settled on the Dream Baby Hallway gate. I was hesitant on purchasing this product due to its hefty price tag. I had no choice though since the space I needed it for was 53''. And to find a gate to fit such a space was a chore. I received it, put it up and its magnificant. I use it to keep my dog out of my dining room, and it beautifully goes with the decor. I'm so glad I purchased it. This gate is well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
o2bshaq
clevelan , OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
piece of mind
3/15/2014

Customer review by dm2d3d

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by dm2d3d
by dm2d3d

This gate fit perfectly in our larger-than-normal stairway and I love that it automatically closes so I dont have to worry about our little guy taking a tumble. Was very easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dm2d3d
Crystal Lake IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy, Damage Free Install, and attractive
8/3/2007

Customer review by md120

5.0 stars 8/3/2007 by md120
by md120

We chose this due to the walk thru feature, and the color. The plastic and even white ones look, cheap. Set up was easy and it is very versatile in width adjustment. It is very sturdy. Our use was for pets. They dont even attempt to breach it. I Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
md120
Dallas Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS GATE!
2/16/2010

Customer review by TW1504

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by TW1504
by TW1504

This gate worked perfectly for our large archway opening for our furbaby. It is very hard finding long enough gates, but with this and 2 10.5 in extensions, it works perfectly. Our problem with the old one we had was that it was made of wood and our dog was chewing on it and it wasn't stable. With this one being metal and having the tension rods, problem solved!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TW1504
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good pressure mounted gate
7/15/2007

Customer review by JojoW

4.0 stars 7/15/2007 by JojoW
by JojoW

This gate was perfect to block my open kitchen from my 20 months old son. I've searched on various sites before finally deciding on this Dream Baby hallway gate. It is the only one I've found that's wide enough for the space. It's sturdy enough that no matter how hard my son pulls on it, there isn't much give. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that if you wind the end toggles a bit too tight, the gate won't swing shut by itself. But if you don't, the top lock comes out of its socket easily with just a little pull/push. So, I end up having to manually close the gate each time. Overall, it is a very good gate.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JojoW
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sturdy but gate opening is narrow
2/9/2014

Customer review by dapooh11

4.0 stars 2/9/2014 by dapooh11
by dapooh11

The total width is wide, but the opening that you walk through is narrow. It's sturdy enough to keep our 100 lb. dog on one side and our 20 lb. baby on the other.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dapooh11
SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!
1/9/2011

Customer review by Mkohl

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by Mkohl
by Mkohl

This gate is the bomb. Not only does it fit in our extra wide walkway but it was easy to set up and looks great! So easy to use and its so nice that it closes on its own. It is easy for older kids to figure out to open. Took my 3 year old only a couple minutes but it keeps his 1 year old brother in and thats what I was wanting. Overall a great gate and walmart has the best price. I looked at Target and they are selling this for $96! Thats a ridiculous price difference!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mkohl
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Effective but Frustrating
2/3/2009

Customer review by Montage

5.0 stars 2/3/2009 by Montage
by Montage

This is the ONLY swing gate we could find that would fit our super wide doorway. I wish it were white, but it works well. The only problems are setting it up and that I constantly have to adjust it. If the tension isn't JUST right it doesn't latch and our son gets through. And opening and closing it causes it to shift on a regular basis. The sticky pads that come with it seem to wear out fairly fast, which doesn't help it to not shift, but we put some rubberized shelf liner on the ends of the tension rods with permanent double stick tape to replace the sticky pads and that seems to help. Though my son is now 2 and has learned to open it even when it is latched, at least I get some warning when he heads toward the stairs. ;)

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Montage
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product for the Price
7/4/2010

Customer review by JPC1277

4.0 stars 7/4/2010 by JPC1277
by JPC1277

I needed a gate to fit a 53" large opening in my foyer, so I wanted it to look nice. It fits great without damaging the walls and is easy to open. It automatically closes behind you too. There are better looking models on the market, but they either cost alot more or aren't big enough. The black finish is on the shiny side. I would have preferred a matte finish. My only complaint is that the bottom of both sides of the gate has two tacky safety stickers. One side is in English and the other side in Spanish. One is about a foot long and the other is 6''. I pulled at the corner of one and it is stuck on there. I could have scrubbed and picked at it, but I don't have time. I do understand the need for saftey reminders, just show that it is there on picture advertising the product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JPC1277
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money
2/18/2009

Customer review by michele22

2.0 stars 2/18/2009 by michele22
by michele22

We took it out of the box and it was broken

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
michele22
downingtown pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/20/2007

Customer review by pfloyd

4.0 stars 7/20/2007 by pfloyd
by pfloyd

good gate works well

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pfloyd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ugly, Huge white stickers impossible to get off
4/25/2012

Customer review by jul25

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by jul25
by jul25

Gate works fine on my stairs, but good luck trying to take off the white install warning/safety stickers! I know they want you to keep them on for safety reasons, but this is for my dog not a child. I don't have children in the house so don't need the warning labels and they're really huge and unsightly. I started trying to take them off using goo gone and it's taking forever. It'll probably take me hours. So, if you don't mind looking at two huge ugly stickers at the bottom of the gate you'll be fine, but if you try to take them off be prepared for an all day project.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jul25
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews