Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 217 reviews
5 stars
160
4 stars
41
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 190 reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews
Expensive Mistake!
8/20/2009
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this gate because it had so many great reviews, and we have a very wide opening between our living room and kitchen. We have a 2 year old and a 1 year old, and I can't tell you how many times I have had this gate come loose from them hanging on it and pulling on it. It has completely destroyed our walls down to the metal corners I am just praying that we don't have to have them completely re- sheet rocked! Wish I'd just gone with a hardware mounted gate from the start, it would have been a lot less expensive to repair the damage from that, than this gate!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Kept the twins out!
12/22/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought 3 of these gates and some of the extensions. I bought an extension to fit this area. Love the fact that these gates are pressure mounted.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Gate!
1/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this gate online to store in, I believe May or June of 2011 on Walmart.com. I liked that it was't flimsy and was great quality. My husband had to help me put it up just because our wide doorway frame was slightly off square. My security door was perfect by just leaving the small extra section off. Our puppy can only get in our front room when we want. We're all happy. This door won't wear out. It looks really nice!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome!!
10/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It fits perfect....good looking..strong ...does the job!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worth every penny!!!
4/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought my Dream Baby gate last October for my large plaster doorway in the living room. My main purpose for the gate was to keep my (now) 20 month old daughter away from the less child proofed areas of the house. For convenience, I needed a gate with a swing door because I have two dogs (one refuses to jump them) and a gate that extended wide enough to fit the doorway. The great thing about this gate is I didn't have to drill into my wall to mount it! The pressure mounts have held up wonderfully and have left NO marks on my walls. The gate itself is solid. I catch my daughter constanty hanging on it and always trying to find ways to get over it. She is a monkey and has succeeded twice with the help of her rocking chair. She has yet to get the gate door open (when closing the door pushing down on the top of it helps it latch) and even with as often as it is used it has shown no sign of wear. All in all, one of the best purchases I have ever made....and my husband agrees!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
PERFECT!!! Just what we needed!
1/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Shortly after my son turned 1 he took a spill down our stairs (pushing over an existing baby gate) and scared us half to death. From that moment I knew we needed another option, one that would be sturdy, allowing him to stand at it and shake it if he wanted, as well as push on it without it moving. I did some research online, as well as talked to a friend who had this same gate and loved it. Sure enough we love it too! We have had it for about a month now and it hasn't even budged a millimeter. My son stands at it and shakes it (when daddy's coming up the stairs!) and has pushed and pulled on it plenty of times without anything happening. The installation was super easy and only took about ten minutes. We have a wooden banister at the top of our stairs and I didn't want a gate we would have to drill into the wall. I loved that this gate had the option of either drilling or just using the pressure mounted cups with grippy stuff on them. Although at first I thought it might be a good idea to drill into the wall for added support we have not had to because the grippy cups alone provide enough stability! I feel comfortable and safe with this gate up and know my little guy can't push it over, resulting in another scare for mommy and daddy! I would definitely recommend this gate to anyone that needs something safe for the top of their stairs. DEFINITELY worth the money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Finally a gate that works!
8/3/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gate was so simple to install and is a ease to use. Finally a gate that is wide enough to fit the opening I needed it for. Looks great and is completely functional.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than expected
9/30/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this gate to prevent my dogs from going upstairs. Instead of mounting it on the bottom stair, I have it mounted between the wall of my front entrance and the stairwell. It works great and it also prevents my dogs from getting to the front door and getting out when we have visitors. It was very easy to install. I used the mounts with the two-sided tape instead of drilling for the scews, and it is holding up just fine. The pass-through gate is easy to operate and great that it swings both ways. It did have a large sticker on the bottom of both sides, but a little Goo Gone and elbow grease took care of it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/28/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Product quality is very good. This is a sturdy gate. The only negative is that when assembled for an opening of about 47", only one small extension rail is used. This results in having to extend the securing screws out to almost their full length. The latching mechanism on the top of the gate remains too far apart to work. The directions say that when fully assembled, this gap will close. Well, at least for me, it didn't. Still, the gate won't open unless you lift up on it (as it's supposed to), so it functions well as a dog gate. In fact, it makes it very easy for me to open. My dogs have not yet jumped on the gate, so I don't know if the lack of top latching will allow it to open with that kind of force.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worth for the time spend
1/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this product to enclose an opening of 52 inches. The product performs as described and worth for the time and money spend from purchase to installation. The product has the AUTO CLOSE function which is awesome. Also to mention the product gate is NOT unidirectional, the gate can be opened / closed in both directions. Product blends into the room, with its elegant look, rather than to have some kind of BIG barricade to climb over. In short product is ELEGANT/SECURE/EASY to INSTALL / PRICED WELL to fit the budget / WORTH a purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for my very wide doorway
10/8/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gate works great for large doorways (ours is 57 inches). I did have to purchase a 10.5 inch extension separately and swap it for the 3.5 inch one that was included with the gate. So far it is working great and holding up to the shaking of my very large 10 month old and 3.5 year old. It opens easily. I only have two minor complaints: 1 - the walk through part of this gate is a bit narrow (I'd suggest getting the shorter gate so you can lift things like laundry baskets over easily) 2 - the directions are not the clearest - making instillation look harder then it actually is. If you have any questions about the product email the company because they are very quick to reply and helpful (I was not certain what extension I would need and they let me know before I purchased). We like this one so much we are planning to replace the other gate we have with another one like it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worst purchase EVER
8/29/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased 3 of these gates for my in-home daycare. The gate that is at the entrance of my home broke within the first three months of purchasing it. The mechanism to open and shut the gate is not strong and is not meant to be used as often as what we use the gate. It has a peg on the bottom that only had a half weld on it and it literally broke off. The pivot point on the top had a bolt with a spring. The bolt did not have screw to hold the bolt in but it was pushed through a plastic fitting. With multiple uses the bolt came undone and now the gate is useless. I already had a gate so I replaced it with another of the same gates. The 2nd gate broke more quickly than the first. I currently have the gate taped shut and have to lift the kids over to get in and out of the house. Obviously, I'm on the hunt for another gate.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great gate
11/20/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love this gate...it fits perfectly. The other gates I tried didn't work because they were not adjustable. I have based board that sticks out farther than the wall...and this was the only one that works...and it wasn't even for a baby...a puppy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the gate!
8/25/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I read a lot of reviews from a lot of websites in the search of a gate that was going to hold up and be easy to use. Since I found the reviews helpful, I felt the need to leave one as well! There were more reviews for the white version, but the black color looks better with our decor. I found these gates on another website, but didn't want to pay shipping. With site-to-store, I didn't have to pay shipping and got the item I wanted! I am really happy with my choice. I chose two gates, one for our larger opening between our living room and kitchen and one for our hallway. Both work excellent. My husband put them up in no time, and have needed little adjustment in the month we have had them. The door swings closed behind me so I don't have to reach behind when I have things in my arms (such as my little one!) also, I can operate the latch with one hand, which is great. I highly recommend these gates!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/14/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Well I purchased this gate thinking it would be great for my upstairs. Boy I was wrong! The gate was too small and with the extensions added it ended up being too long. We needed to get a gate that expands as oppose to adding extensions which made it too long. They need to change the the way it's listed to the exact inches with and without the extensions instead of the word through.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not for jumping dogs
12/3/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I installed this gate to stop my three small dogs from trying to get outside my house when I answer the front door doorbell. They have a habit of jumping onto the gate, which nocks the gate loose from the 4 side restraining cups. The cups should be made of metal and much deeper to hold the side adjustment screws when side pressure is put on the gate. I ended up installing 1 1/2 inch wooden blocks; 2 for each adjustment screw, which supports the adjustment screws from coming loose from the retaining cups. Also I have wooden paneling and a wooden banister that I was able to secure the retaining cups and the wooden blocks to. I do not know how the side adjustment cups would be safely secured when wall board is the construction material.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works well
6/11/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love the self closing feature. Works well at the top of our stairs. Easy to open for adults, but not the toddler
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good solution for wide spaces
5/2/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased this gate to go between our kitchen and dining room. We didn't want a hardware mounted gate since our kitchen cabinets were one of the 'walls' we needed our gate to go between. I love that this gate is pressure mounted. It is very easy to install. Insert the pegs into the holes and fit the ends on and then turn to tighten/loosen. The door latch is easy enough that my 5 y.o. and 6 y.o. can figure it out but not a chance that my 1 y.o. will be able to do it which is just what we need. It has stood up to his climbing on it and grabbing on to it and shaking it. It keeps him right where I need him to be which is out of the kitchen when I am cooking! One thing I would warn is to pay attention to distance that you need to fit and make sure you order the correct extensions if necessary. The gate comes with two extensions (a 3'' and a 7'') but since you can only use two extensions (one on either end) if the space you need to fill requires an additional 3'', for instance, buying one more 3'' extension won't work (you'd then have 3 extensions). Instead you would need to buy the 7'' extension and not use the 3'' extension it comes with. Hope that made sense. Anyway, definitely a great product to fit wider openings if you're not wanting to attatch hardware to set up your gate!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good pressure mounted gate
7/15/2007
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gate was perfect to block my open kitchen from my 20 months old son. I've searched on various sites before finally deciding on this Dream Baby hallway gate. It is the only one I've found that's wide enough for the space. It's sturdy enough that no matter how hard my son pulls on it, there isn't much give. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that if you wind the end toggles a bit too tight, the gate won't swing shut by itself. But if you don't, the top lock comes out of its socket easily with just a little pull/push. So, I end up having to manually close the gate each time. Overall, it is a very good gate.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
well worth the penny
3/8/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
After recently purchasing an Evenflow gate and having to return it because it did not meet the width requirements of witch I needed, I searched for a gate for weeks and finally settled on the Dream Baby Hallway gate. I was hesitant on purchasing this product due to its hefty price tag. I had no choice though since the space I needed it for was 53''. And to find a gate to fit such a space was a chore. I received it, put it up and its magnificant. I use it to keep my dog out of my dining room, and it beautifully goes with the decor. I'm so glad I purchased it. This gate is well worth the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641765, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-