Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 202 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

202 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

202 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
148
4 stars
40
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 175 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews
Expensive Mistake!
8/20/2009

Customer review by JenniferMomof4

1.0 stars 8/20/2009 by JenniferMomof4
by JenniferMomof4

We bought this gate because it had so many great reviews, and we have a very wide opening between our living room and kitchen. We have a 2 year old and a 1 year old, and I can't tell you how many times I have had this gate come loose from them hanging on it and pulling on it. It has completely destroyed our walls down to the metal corners I am just praying that we don't have to have them completely re- sheet rocked! Wish I'd just gone with a hardware mounted gate from the start, it would have been a lot less expensive to repair the damage from that, than this gate!

Was this review helpful? (2) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenniferMomof4
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kept the twins out!
12/22/2009

Customer review by LadyandSons

5.0 stars 12/22/2009 by LadyandSons
by LadyandSons

I bought 3 of these gates and some of the extensions. I bought an extension to fit this area. Love the fact that these gates are pressure mounted.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyandSons
Mount Juliet, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Gate!
1/13/2012

Customer review by pugkiss

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by pugkiss
by pugkiss

I purchased this gate online to store in, I believe May or June of 2011 on Walmart.com. I liked that it was't flimsy and was great quality. My husband had to help me put it up just because our wide doorway frame was slightly off square. My security door was perfect by just leaving the small extra section off. Our puppy can only get in our front room when we want. We're all happy. This door won't wear out. It looks really nice!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pugkiss
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this product
1/20/2016

Customer review by Jodi

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Jodi
by Jodi

The gate is very sturdy and works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jodi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth for the time spend
1/1/2016

Customer review by Getsats

5.0 stars 1/1/2016 by Getsats
by Getsats

I purchased this product to enclose an opening of 52 inches. The product performs as described and worth for the time and money spend from purchase to installation. The product has the AUTO CLOSE function which is awesome. Also to mention the product gate is NOT unidirectional, the gate can be opened / closed in both directions. Product blends into the room, with its elegant look, rather than to have some kind of BIG barricade to climb over. In short product is ELEGANT/SECURE/EASY to INSTALL / PRICED WELL to fit the budget / WORTH a purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Getsats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally a gate that works!
8/3/2007

Customer review by Teresa

5.0 stars 8/3/2007 by Teresa
by Teresa

This gate was so simple to install and is a ease to use. Finally a gate that is wide enough to fit the opening I needed it for. Looks great and is completely functional.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teresa
Denton, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth every penny!!!
4/15/2012

Customer review by MomInTraining11

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by MomInTraining11
by MomInTraining11

I bought my Dream Baby gate last October for my large plaster doorway in the living room. My main purpose for the gate was to keep my (now) 20 month old daughter away from the less child proofed areas of the house. For convenience, I needed a gate with a swing door because I have two dogs (one refuses to jump them) and a gate that extended wide enough to fit the doorway. The great thing about this gate is I didn't have to drill into my wall to mount it! The pressure mounts have held up wonderfully and have left NO marks on my walls. The gate itself is solid. I catch my daughter constanty hanging on it and always trying to find ways to get over it. She is a monkey and has succeeded twice with the help of her rocking chair. She has yet to get the gate door open (when closing the door pushing down on the top of it helps it latch) and even with as often as it is used it has shown no sign of wear. All in all, one of the best purchases I have ever made....and my husband agrees!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomInTraining11
NW Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PERFECT!!! Just what we needed!
1/1/2012

Customer review by ProudMomma18

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by ProudMomma18
by ProudMomma18

Shortly after my son turned 1 he took a spill down our stairs (pushing over an existing baby gate) and scared us half to death. From that moment I knew we needed another option, one that would be sturdy, allowing him to stand at it and shake it if he wanted, as well as push on it without it moving. I did some research online, as well as talked to a friend who had this same gate and loved it. Sure enough we love it too! We have had it for about a month now and it hasn't even budged a millimeter. My son stands at it and shakes it (when daddy's coming up the stairs!) and has pushed and pulled on it plenty of times without anything happening. The installation was super easy and only took about ten minutes. We have a wooden banister at the top of our stairs and I didn't want a gate we would have to drill into the wall. I loved that this gate had the option of either drilling or just using the pressure mounted cups with grippy stuff on them. Although at first I thought it might be a good idea to drill into the wall for added support we have not had to because the grippy cups alone provide enough stability! I feel comfortable and safe with this gate up and know my little guy can't push it over, resulting in another scare for mommy and daddy! I would definitely recommend this gate to anyone that needs something safe for the top of their stairs. DEFINITELY worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudMomma18
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just Right
12/27/2015

Customer review by MilitaryVet

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by MilitaryVet
by MilitaryVet

Was a little reluctant to buy this. Now I'm glad I did. Works great. My opening was 48.25" and it just fit. Installation was easy and it works as advertised. The pull up feature is what makes it work. Little tots are not able to lift it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MilitaryVet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than expected
9/30/2010

Customer review by Savoy6

5.0 stars 9/30/2010 by Savoy6
by Savoy6

I purchased this gate to prevent my dogs from going upstairs. Instead of mounting it on the bottom stair, I have it mounted between the wall of my front entrance and the stairwell. It works great and it also prevents my dogs from getting to the front door and getting out when we have visitors. It was very easy to install. I used the mounts with the two-sided tape instead of drilling for the scews, and it is holding up just fine. The pass-through gate is easy to operate and great that it swings both ways. It did have a large sticker on the bottom of both sides, but a little Goo Gone and elbow grease took care of it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Savoy6
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/28/2011

Customer review by ChickenMadras

4.0 stars 12/28/2011 by ChickenMadras
by ChickenMadras

Product quality is very good. This is a sturdy gate. The only negative is that when assembled for an opening of about 47", only one small extension rail is used. This results in having to extend the securing screws out to almost their full length. The latching mechanism on the top of the gate remains too far apart to work. The directions say that when fully assembled, this gap will close. Well, at least for me, it didn't. Still, the gate won't open unless you lift up on it (as it's supposed to), so it functions well as a dog gate. In fact, it makes it very easy for me to open. My dogs have not yet jumped on the gate, so I don't know if the lack of top latching will allow it to open with that kind of force.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChickenMadras
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst purchase EVER
8/29/2015

Customer review by Stephanie

1.0 stars 8/29/2015 by Stephanie
by Stephanie

I purchased 3 of these gates for my in-home daycare. The gate that is at the entrance of my home broke within the first three months of purchasing it. The mechanism to open and shut the gate is not strong and is not meant to be used as often as what we use the gate. It has a peg on the bottom that only had a half weld on it and it literally broke off. The pivot point on the top had a bolt with a spring. The bolt did not have screw to hold the bolt in but it was pushed through a plastic fitting. With multiple uses the bolt came undone and now the gate is useless. I already had a gate so I replaced it with another of the same gates. The 2nd gate broke more quickly than the first. I currently have the gate taped shut and have to lift the kids over to get in and out of the house. Obviously, I'm on the hunt for another gate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stephanie
Would recommend to a friend? No
great gate
11/20/2010

Customer review by momahlc

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by momahlc
by momahlc

Love this gate...it fits perfectly. The other gates I tried didn't work because they were not adjustable. I have based board that sticks out farther than the wall...and this was the only one that works...and it wasn't even for a baby...a puppy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momahlc
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good gate
10/27/2015

Customer review by Kjbee

4.0 stars 10/27/2015 by Kjbee
by Kjbee

Does its work, good price on Walmart website

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kjbee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the gate!
8/25/2008

Customer review by msmith0208

5.0 stars 8/25/2008 by msmith0208
by msmith0208

I read a lot of reviews from a lot of websites in the search of a gate that was going to hold up and be easy to use. Since I found the reviews helpful, I felt the need to leave one as well! There were more reviews for the white version, but the black color looks better with our decor. I found these gates on another website, but didn't want to pay shipping. With site-to-store, I didn't have to pay shipping and got the item I wanted! I am really happy with my choice. I chose two gates, one for our larger opening between our living room and kitchen and one for our hallway. Both work excellent. My husband put them up in no time, and have needed little adjustment in the month we have had them. The door swings closed behind me so I don't have to reach behind when I have things in my arms (such as my little one!) also, I can operate the latch with one hand, which is great. I highly recommend these gates!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msmith0208
upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great for my very wide doorway
10/8/2007

Customer review by greengal

5.0 stars 10/8/2007 by greengal
by greengal

This gate works great for large doorways (ours is 57 inches). I did have to purchase a 10.5 inch extension separately and swap it for the 3.5 inch one that was included with the gate. So far it is working great and holding up to the shaking of my very large 10 month old and 3.5 year old. It opens easily. I only have two minor complaints: 1 - the walk through part of this gate is a bit narrow (I'd suggest getting the shorter gate so you can lift things like laundry baskets over easily) 2 - the directions are not the clearest - making instillation look harder then it actually is. If you have any questions about the product email the company because they are very quick to reply and helpful (I was not certain what extension I would need and they let me know before I purchased). We like this one so much we are planning to replace the other gate we have with another one like it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greengal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/14/2012

Customer review by Daijha123

2.0 stars 1/14/2012 by Daijha123
by Daijha123

Well I purchased this gate thinking it would be great for my upstairs. Boy I was wrong! The gate was too small and with the extensions added it ended up being too long. We needed to get a gate that expands as oppose to adding extensions which made it too long. They need to change the the way it's listed to the exact inches with and without the extensions instead of the word through.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daijha123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Very good pressure mounted gate
7/15/2007

Customer review by JojoW

4.0 stars 7/15/2007 by JojoW
by JojoW

This gate was perfect to block my open kitchen from my 20 months old son. I've searched on various sites before finally deciding on this Dream Baby hallway gate. It is the only one I've found that's wide enough for the space. It's sturdy enough that no matter how hard my son pulls on it, there isn't much give. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that if you wind the end toggles a bit too tight, the gate won't swing shut by itself. But if you don't, the top lock comes out of its socket easily with just a little pull/push. So, I end up having to manually close the gate each time. Overall, it is a very good gate.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JojoW
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
well worth the penny
3/8/2010

Customer review by o2bshaq

5.0 stars 3/8/2010 by o2bshaq
by o2bshaq
Walmart associate

After recently purchasing an Evenflow gate and having to return it because it did not meet the width requirements of witch I needed, I searched for a gate for weeks and finally settled on the Dream Baby Hallway gate. I was hesitant on purchasing this product due to its hefty price tag. I had no choice though since the space I needed it for was 53''. And to find a gate to fit such a space was a chore. I received it, put it up and its magnificant. I use it to keep my dog out of my dining room, and it beautifully goes with the decor. I'm so glad I purchased it. This gate is well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
o2bshaq
clevelan , OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Don't buy this
8/29/2015

Customer review by Nono

1.0 stars 8/29/2015 by Nono
by Nono

It is poorly made. It was missing at least three pieces. It collapses in the middle and when you get the instructions it says do not connect more than two extensions I needed three to cover the span of my kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nono
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews