Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

195 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

195 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
150
4 stars
33
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 178 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews
Bad Custumer Service from Manufacturer
11/21/2011

Customer review by lotsapets4

1.0 stars 11/21/2011 by lotsapets4
by lotsapets4

When I received this gate it was missing all hardware and mounts. I called the manufacturer on the paperwork on four separate occassions trying to get the replacement parts. They didn't return my call several times, one time they gave me an email to send the info in to, that didn't work either. The last time I called and finally got someone to answer after spending 10 minutes on the phone with her giving her my info and the exact gate she tells me I now need to email her a proof of purchase! WTH! Why would I need the mounting and hardware if I didn't own the gate! I ended up hanging up and decided to return the gate. It was way too much work for a gate that shouldve came with the proper parts to begin with. But since they practically beg you on the box and paperwork "not to return it to the store" I though I'd give them the benefit of doubt and let them make it right, but they just didn't come through. I ended up returning to Walmart for a full refund and I will try another gate!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lotsapets4
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate! Shuts automatically
2/2/2014

Customer review by 3awesomekidsmom

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by 3awesomekidsmom
by 3awesomekidsmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have 2 of these gates for my 15 mo old baby. They are great. They look a little more "fashionable" than the typical old wooden gates that we used to have for my other kids. Plus you don't have to keep trying to "step" over them. You simply slide the lock back and lift a little on the gate and swing it open. It immediately shuts behind you which comes in handy if you have your hands full. It is adjustable (as far as the width to the doorway and how the gate "lines" up with the "base") which took awhile to get it right but it was easy to put together. My 10 yr old daughter put it together so that should say something. We love the gates. I will say that the first gate we bought approximately 6 or 7 months ago doesn't slam shut anymore automatically, we do have to manually close that one. It may just need some adjusting but just haven't had time to look at it extensively. However, the gate still works. Im pleased with my purchase and would definitely buy another one should we need one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3awesomekidsmom
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect after careful installation
2/4/2010

Customer review by cheapandproud

5.0 stars 2/4/2010 by cheapandproud
by cheapandproud

If you are looking for a product to install within an hour, this may not be for you. I did not care about installation time because I knew whatever we got, it would be hard to fit where we wanted to put it. We had the baseboard, and the banister in the way on one side and the wooden (non-flat) post on the other side. I took a 2x4 and attached it to the post, then removed the hardware for the banister at the top of the stairs and removed the baseboard below this to give the gate a secure place to attach it to the wall. I also wedged a thin piece of wood under the gate to keep it secure underneath. All this work was worth it. The gate closes and locks by itself and I feel very secure that my one year old cannot follow her brothers when they go to the basement. My 7-year-old can operate it well, but my 5-year-old still cannot. By the way, I am a 32 yo female with a very limited knowledge of tools! The best tools I used were the level and ruler.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheapandproud
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect gate for families with toddlers
6/25/2012

Customer review by NewHoustonMom

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by NewHoustonMom
by NewHoustonMom

I purchased this gate to keep my running, climbing, tumbling, rough nearly 2yo son from getting into my kitchen and messing with the oven, dishwasher, etc. I ordered 2 gates, which arrived early; picked up via site-to-store to avoid shipping costs. This gate is solid; I got the black ones, which worked well for my kitchen...looks great! I did not want to drill holes into the walls or baseboards, so I pressure-mounted both gates, including one with extensions (ordered separately) spanning a >55inch area. I used handi-tak to protect the walls & for additional stability (in place of sticky pads provided), which was excellent. My tough kid jumps onto the gate, hangs off, shakes, pushes...everything he can think of, but the gate won't budge. And there's no way he'll be able to open the door - requires one to lift the gate door slightly while pulling back on the latch. He's upset, but it's for his protection & my sanity. Overall, I'm a very pleased mama!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewHoustonMom
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for Top of Stairs
1/15/2008

Customer review by Petemila

3.0 stars 1/15/2008 by Petemila
by Petemila

We purchased this product because the description said it was ideal for top or bottom of stairs. When we opened the box, there was a warning within the instructions and on the gate itself to not install at the top of stairs. I do not have any knowledge of durability, set-up, or features for this review as we returned the product for a gate made for the top of stairs. But if I can prevent someone the hassle of ordering and returning a product, I thought it would be worth doing a review.

Was this review helpful? (78) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Petemila
Would recommend to a friend? No
A MUST HAVE!!
4/6/2010

Customer review by TexasMomof3

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by TexasMomof3
by TexasMomof3

Not only is this gate very well priced it has a beautiful black finish that goes with any decor AND it's easy to install. It took my husband about 10 minutes to install completely. The TWO features I love the most is that the gate opens in BOTH directions AND is SELF-CLOSING...a MUST have when you have two little ones. :-) We have two of these and absolutely love them! Thank you DreamBaby!!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasMomof3
Kingwood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this gate!
12/4/2009

Customer review by sijuin

5.0 stars 12/4/2009 by sijuin
by sijuin

This gate was easy to install, works exactly as advertised and perfect for bottom (or probably even top) of stairs. It swings closed gently but clicks when it does and opens with 1 hand. I have a 3 1/2 y.o. and she figured it out after showing her one time. I'm guessing that a child would be able to open the gate themselves around the time they can comfortably go up stairs. The only thing I would advise is that it tells you in the installation manual to install it on the bottom step if you are putting it at the bottom of stairs, but i put mine on the floor about 3 inches in front of the bottom step and I think it's a better place. You can still step on the bottom stair when coming down, lean over a little to open the gate and step to the floor. You can also (if tall enough) step over the gate and not feel unsteady doing so. I really love this gate and have already recommended it to a friend. I am going to get another one for the top of the steps.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sijuin
Lake Ridge, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/17/2011

Customer review by CharLee2112

4.0 stars 3/17/2011 by CharLee2112
by CharLee2112

This gate is really sturdy, it looks attractive, and is mostly a great product. I am using it for a dog gate so my needs may be different than for those using it as a baby gate. Initially I didn't like the automatic close feature because the other gates I use don't have this (it's silly but I had to get into the habit of remembering which I needed to close myself and which did it on its own). I did adapt to that but I am still not used to the way the gate opens and closes. You have to slide a button and lift up at the same time, which is inconvenient. I almost returned it after a week because of this, but I'm glad I didn't because the benefits outweigh the detriments. It does make it really baby-proof, but for me it's just an extra annoying step, and sometimes it's difficult to get it open. Overall though it is sturdy, looks nice, and does its job. I like the pressure mount gates because they are easy to set up and take down, making them easily portable. And the price is a definite selling point.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CharLee2112
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Awesome Gate
8/26/2009

Customer review by rrebeccag

5.0 stars 8/26/2009 by rrebeccag
by rrebeccag

I got this one and the First Years gate to see which I liked best and ended up keeping both. The Dream Baby gate is super easy to install as is the Frist years one. The Dream Baby opens by pulling the gate up slighty and has a lock on the top which you slide to close or open the gate. Super easy to work. I have it at the bottom of the stairs and my 17 month old who is Jr. Hoodini can't manage to open it. The First Years one I have in the doorway to his room and this one you push down on a pedal to open or close and he can't figure it out either. It's more handsfree than the Dream Baby but it didn't come in black which I needed to blend in downstairs so hence the different gates and colors. Value gets 4 stars because I didn't really shop around for best price. Features, nothing special and durability, well, I haven't had it long enough to know for certain but I think it will last a very long time. May buy either gate again for other areas.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rrebeccag
Freehold, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very sturdy yet stylish product
7/18/2009

Customer review by kspoynter

5.0 stars 7/18/2009 by kspoynter
by kspoynter

Love the gate. It was easy to intall and looks great. I ordered the gate in black because it goes with my decor. The gate was purchased to keep our dogs out of our formal living room. It looks very stylish and doesn't talke away from the look of the room. Love it! Love it! Love it!

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kspoynter
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Security Gate
6/10/2010

Customer review by Pugmom27

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by Pugmom27
by Pugmom27

I ordered 2 of these gates for my outside deck to accomadate my spoiled Pug! He likes to lay outside but our quaint neighborhood has un-fenced yards and his wire chain gets stuck in between the slated deck floor, restricting him until someone free's him. This gate fits perfect in my 36" openings. Not only is this gate versatile in swinging both directions, it is easy to install and operate, it's sturdy, and it's decorative too!!!! Arrived quickly, ordered on internet on a Sunday and were delivered on Tuesday. We are all happy campers with these gates... It also serves in keeping the rabbits and squirrels from visiting, and restricts access to the stray cats & dogs coming on the deck and ripping up my mosquito netting to the gazebo with their nails. Haven't had them long enough to know how it stands up to the weather elements, but am gonna get a couple more for the inside of the house. A little costly but worth every penny!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pugmom27
Liverpool, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate
8/6/2010

Customer review by AztoOR

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by AztoOR
by AztoOR

This gate is very sturdy and works exactly as described. We have the tall version of this gate as well at the top of our stairs, but due to the banister we had to get this gate for the bottom part of the stairs. The gates are constructed well and still automatically close behind us. There are 3 of us going up and down CONSTANTLY, so knowing that it still closes on it's own speaks volumes. Once out of the box, there is a gap in the gate, but that's supposed to be there. There is a yellow tag that explains why. As long as you read what's included, setup time is short and very easy. I installed the top gate and took me about 20 mins. The bottom gate was installed by my husband and took him about the same. The only thing about the gate that may get some people irritated is that it has to be aligned PERFECTLY for the gate to operate as instructed. It doesn't take a genius to align it, so just take your time and it'll be done in a snap. We've received a lot of compliments on these gates, and even though they seem a bit spendy, they are completely worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AztoOR
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broken before a year of use
3/6/2016

Customer review by GD2016

2.0 stars 3/6/2016 by GD2016
by GD2016

First fitting of the gate seemed perfect, including the automatic locking feature. After a few weeks, the gate always required manual locking even after attempts to reinstall or readjust the tensions. 11 months later, the upper plastic hinge has snapped leaving sharp plastic edges and a gate that probably will not function much longer. For something costing nearly $50, I would have expected better durability.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GD2016
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better than I imagined!
6/16/2016

Customer review by PWfromCA

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by PWfromCA
by PWfromCA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the durability and the way the door closes on its own! Great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PWfromCA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SUPER-DUPER GATE!!!!!!
7/31/2008

Customer review by Bunster

5.0 stars 7/31/2008 by Bunster
by Bunster

I have had many gates of the years and after looking at all the other reviews, I decided to take a chance on the Dream Baby gate. I LOVE IT!!!!! Not only does it look better than most other gates (the black looks great with my decor), it actually works like it is supposed to . . . effortlessly! I bought it for those rare occasions when I have to keep my dogs out of the way of a repair/service person. The dogs love it too! Now I don't have to put them in a room and shut the door. They can watch all the action from behind a very secure gate. It's easy to open with one hand, it so convenient that it opens from either side, and I never have to make sure the closes because it always does, all by itself! If you are like me, and have given up on gates, give it one more try with this one. I also purchased the 10.5" extentsion so I can use it in a larger opening. I'm so happy I got this gate!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bunster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Love this gate!
10/28/2009

Customer review by wifeofskater

5.0 stars 10/28/2009 by wifeofskater
by wifeofskater

I love this gate!!! I purchased it for the top of my stairs. I live in a multi level home with a bathroom door at the top of the stairs. I was worried that I wouldn't be able to install the gate there with the door frame and the baseboards....but it worked!!! I was able to mount it just fine. It took a little work to make sure that it was all even, but it was worth the effort. It comes with both screws and sticky pads for mounting. I used the screws on the bottom and the sticky pads for the top...both work great. It swings both ways, so I can go either up or down the stairs. It keeps my 9 month old safe when we are upstairs. My 3 and 6 year old can open it. It closes by itself. At first it didn't swing closed, but by adjusting the tension a bit, it swings just fine now.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wifeofskater
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You can stop looking-this is the one!!
1/19/2015

Customer review by imamomma2

5.0 stars 1/19/2015 by imamomma2
by imamomma2

Our family (4 kids and 2 dogs) has been through many gates since our 1st arrived 7 years ago. By FAR best gate out there!! To be fair we are high maintenance in our gate needs--top of stairs, one side drywall and the other a newel, extra wide opening, constant usage as home is split level living. Pressure mount is more secure than our other gates (all which were screwed into our drywall and stair railing=damage). This has also stood the test of time with the dogs (jumped on expensive retractable mesh gate until it tore, chewed through a wooden gate and broke another with fore-mentioned jumping). Easy enough for me to open one handed, yet difficult enough to keep my 3 year old from opening herself (despite her efforts). This gate also matched our wrought iron balusters better than other gates. Price is reasonable. We have owned this gate for 2 years (twice as long as any of the others) and she's still going strong. Decided to write this review tonight because we are moving and will now require 2 gates--I'm here to buy my 2nd because no other gate will do. Hope you enjoy yours as well!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imamomma2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Very High Quality
3/3/2008

Customer review by PapaM

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by PapaM
by PapaM

I bought 3 of these gates. I must say, that they exceeded my expectations. They are of very high quality in both fit and finish, solidly built and secure in the latching mechanism. The gate latches at both the top and bottom, yet is easy to open with one hand by sliding a button on the top with your thumb and then lifting the gate with the same hand. My wife especially likes the fact that they will swing open both ways and then close automatically. You don’t have to remember to close the gate. Opening both ways is especially handy if the baby happens to be sitting close to the gate as you can open it away from the baby. They were easy to install using no tools. If I were to buy another gate, not only would I choose this model again, but I already have for my daughter’s house. Although slightly more expensive than some other models, this gate is well worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PapaM
West Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
8/25/2011

Customer review by mickey113

4.0 stars 8/25/2011 by mickey113
by mickey113

The gate is easy to install and sharp looking. The downfall is the gate has a strong spring so when you let go it slams shut.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mickey113
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall a good buy
4/9/2010

Customer review by LSfromNJ

4.0 stars 4/9/2010 by LSfromNJ
by LSfromNJ

We chose this gate because we wanted a self-locking swing through gate in black metal to go with the decor in our house. Overall this gate has met my expectations so far (have only had it for a month). My only complaint is that you have to set this gate up precisely straight both horizontally and vertically or else the "gap" that the manufacturer intentionally left between the door and the lock will not close when you screw the sides tight. I understand the safety reasons behind the manufacturer's gap, but it seemed to be a little overkill as it was very difficult to get the gate EXACTLY straight while it still seemed that it would have been just as effective slightly off plumb once tightened in all places. Again, though, this is just a minor complaint and I would definitely buy this gate again and in fact am buying this gate for another doorway in our house.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LSfromNJ
Paramus, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews