Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 184 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

184 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

184 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
141
4 stars
32
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 167 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews
Not for Top of Stairs
1/15/2008

Customer review by Petemila

3.0 stars 1/15/2008 by Petemila
by Petemila

We purchased this product because the description said it was ideal for top or bottom of stairs. When we opened the box, there was a warning within the instructions and on the gate itself to not install at the top of stairs. I do not have any knowledge of durability, set-up, or features for this review as we returned the product for a gate made for the top of stairs. But if I can prevent someone the hassle of ordering and returning a product, I thought it would be worth doing a review.

Was this review helpful? (72) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Petemila
Would recommend to a friend? No
A MUST HAVE!!
4/6/2010

Customer review by TexasMomof3

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by TexasMomof3
by TexasMomof3

Not only is this gate very well priced it has a beautiful black finish that goes with any decor AND it's easy to install. It took my husband about 10 minutes to install completely. The TWO features I love the most is that the gate opens in BOTH directions AND is SELF-CLOSING...a MUST have when you have two little ones. :-) We have two of these and absolutely love them! Thank you DreamBaby!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasMomof3
Kingwood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect after careful installation
2/4/2010

Customer review by cheapandproud

5.0 stars 2/4/2010 by cheapandproud
by cheapandproud

If you are looking for a product to install within an hour, this may not be for you. I did not care about installation time because I knew whatever we got, it would be hard to fit where we wanted to put it. We had the baseboard, and the banister in the way on one side and the wooden (non-flat) post on the other side. I took a 2x4 and attached it to the post, then removed the hardware for the banister at the top of the stairs and removed the baseboard below this to give the gate a secure place to attach it to the wall. I also wedged a thin piece of wood under the gate to keep it secure underneath. All this work was worth it. The gate closes and locks by itself and I feel very secure that my one year old cannot follow her brothers when they go to the basement. My 7-year-old can operate it well, but my 5-year-old still cannot. By the way, I am a 32 yo female with a very limited knowledge of tools! The best tools I used were the level and ruler.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cheapandproud
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very sturdy yet stylish product
7/18/2009

Customer review by kspoynter

5.0 stars 7/18/2009 by kspoynter
by kspoynter

Love the gate. It was easy to intall and looks great. I ordered the gate in black because it goes with my decor. The gate was purchased to keep our dogs out of our formal living room. It looks very stylish and doesn't talke away from the look of the room. Love it! Love it! Love it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kspoynter
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect gate for families with toddlers
6/25/2012

Customer review by NewHoustonMom

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by NewHoustonMom
by NewHoustonMom

I purchased this gate to keep my running, climbing, tumbling, rough nearly 2yo son from getting into my kitchen and messing with the oven, dishwasher, etc. I ordered 2 gates, which arrived early; picked up via site-to-store to avoid shipping costs. This gate is solid; I got the black ones, which worked well for my kitchen...looks great! I did not want to drill holes into the walls or baseboards, so I pressure-mounted both gates, including one with extensions (ordered separately) spanning a >55inch area. I used handi-tak to protect the walls & for additional stability (in place of sticky pads provided), which was excellent. My tough kid jumps onto the gate, hangs off, shakes, pushes...everything he can think of, but the gate won't budge. And there's no way he'll be able to open the door - requires one to lift the gate door slightly while pulling back on the latch. He's upset, but it's for his protection & my sanity. Overall, I'm a very pleased mama!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewHoustonMom
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/25/2011

Customer review by mickey113

4.0 stars 8/25/2011 by mickey113
by mickey113

The gate is easy to install and sharp looking. The downfall is the gate has a strong spring so when you let go it slams shut.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mickey113
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bad Custumer Service from Manufacturer
11/21/2011

Customer review by lotsapets4

1.0 stars 11/21/2011 by lotsapets4
by lotsapets4

When I received this gate it was missing all hardware and mounts. I called the manufacturer on the paperwork on four separate occassions trying to get the replacement parts. They didn't return my call several times, one time they gave me an email to send the info in to, that didn't work either. The last time I called and finally got someone to answer after spending 10 minutes on the phone with her giving her my info and the exact gate she tells me I now need to email her a proof of purchase! WTH! Why would I need the mounting and hardware if I didn't own the gate! I ended up hanging up and decided to return the gate. It was way too much work for a gate that shouldve came with the proper parts to begin with. But since they practically beg you on the box and paperwork "not to return it to the store" I though I'd give them the benefit of doubt and let them make it right, but they just didn't come through. I ended up returning to Walmart for a full refund and I will try another gate!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lotsapets4
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this gate!
10/28/2009

Customer review by wifeofskater

5.0 stars 10/28/2009 by wifeofskater
by wifeofskater

I love this gate!!! I purchased it for the top of my stairs. I live in a multi level home with a bathroom door at the top of the stairs. I was worried that I wouldn't be able to install the gate there with the door frame and the baseboards....but it worked!!! I was able to mount it just fine. It took a little work to make sure that it was all even, but it was worth the effort. It comes with both screws and sticky pads for mounting. I used the screws on the bottom and the sticky pads for the top...both work great. It swings both ways, so I can go either up or down the stairs. It keeps my 9 month old safe when we are upstairs. My 3 and 6 year old can open it. It closes by itself. At first it didn't swing closed, but by adjusting the tension a bit, it swings just fine now.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wifeofskater
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this gate!
12/4/2009

Customer review by sijuin

5.0 stars 12/4/2009 by sijuin
by sijuin

This gate was easy to install, works exactly as advertised and perfect for bottom (or probably even top) of stairs. It swings closed gently but clicks when it does and opens with 1 hand. I have a 3 1/2 y.o. and she figured it out after showing her one time. I'm guessing that a child would be able to open the gate themselves around the time they can comfortably go up stairs. The only thing I would advise is that it tells you in the installation manual to install it on the bottom step if you are putting it at the bottom of stairs, but i put mine on the floor about 3 inches in front of the bottom step and I think it's a better place. You can still step on the bottom stair when coming down, lean over a little to open the gate and step to the floor. You can also (if tall enough) step over the gate and not feel unsteady doing so. I really love this gate and have already recommended it to a friend. I am going to get another one for the top of the steps.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sijuin
Lake Ridge, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awsome gate
5/17/2011

Customer review by mnchknky

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by mnchknky
by mnchknky

I installed this gate at the top of the stairs and it's been wonderful. I like that you can adjust the pressure points individually to accomodate the baseboards and that it closes automatically behind you when your hands are full. My 3 year old doesn't like it though because unlike the old gate he can't open this one, but then that was the point.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mnchknky
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate! Shuts automatically
2/2/2014

Customer review by 3awesomekidsmom

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by 3awesomekidsmom
by 3awesomekidsmom

I have 2 of these gates for my 15 mo old baby. They are great. They look a little more "fashionable" than the typical old wooden gates that we used to have for my other kids. Plus you don't have to keep trying to "step" over them. You simply slide the lock back and lift a little on the gate and swing it open. It immediately shuts behind you which comes in handy if you have your hands full. It is adjustable (as far as the width to the doorway and how the gate "lines" up with the "base") which took awhile to get it right but it was easy to put together. My 10 yr old daughter put it together so that should say something. We love the gates. I will say that the first gate we bought approximately 6 or 7 months ago doesn't slam shut anymore automatically, we do have to manually close that one. It may just need some adjusting but just haven't had time to look at it extensively. However, the gate still works. Im pleased with my purchase and would definitely buy another one should we need one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3awesomekidsmom
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great
4/1/2014

Customer review by heatherg2385

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by heatherg2385
by heatherg2385

I got this to keep my dogs out of my living room and it works perfect. It was not difficult at all for me to put together myself. I just wish it didn't come with all of these stickers on it, that was kind of annoying to remove all of them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heatherg2385
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Gate
6/3/2014

Customer review by GulfCoastDogLover53

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by GulfCoastDogLover53
by GulfCoastDogLover53

This gate was very easy to install, I did it in under 30 minutes with very little effort. I do recommend reading the directions and watching the video first, but the actual installation was very easy. Would recommend this gate for anyone who wants to limit pet or baby areas. Great gate!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GulfCoastDogLover53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gates are very easy to install
8/25/2014

Customer review by Happygate

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by Happygate
by Happygate

We bought the Gate for our puppy, liked it so much, we bought a second Gate. Gates close quickly, he is unable to follow us. But the spring isn't so strong a closure, that it would hurt him if he were fast enough to get caught in it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happygate
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product.
9/14/2014

Customer review by Cjnords

5.0 stars 9/14/2014 by Cjnords
by Cjnords

Great product. Easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cjnords
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/17/2011

Customer review by meganatc

4.0 stars 4/17/2011 by meganatc
by meganatc

Love the gate, instructions could have been better. I figured out how to install without my husbands help in the hour that my little one was napping!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meganatc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gate used daily.
7/14/2014

Customer review by Gatetothepines

4.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Gatetothepines
by Gatetothepines

Great gate being used in a daycare center.Easy for staff to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gatetothepines
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
amazing gate
8/1/2014

Customer review by msbeehavensalon

4.0 stars 8/1/2014 by msbeehavensalon
by msbeehavensalon

Great gate for the money... when hard set it holds back my 100 lb. Old English sheep dog...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msbeehavensalon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good enough for even big dogs
8/16/2014

Customer review by AiredaleJack

4.0 stars 8/16/2014 by AiredaleJack
by AiredaleJack

Directions are a little lacking, but still not too difficult to figure out. Hardest part is getting gate and end piece to meet--lots of tension. A strong pair of extra hands make it much easier than using the adjusting wheels until you get the fit close. Our 45 lb Airedale jumps on it every morning to say Hello and it still stays in place.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AiredaleJack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/3/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Purchased this for the dogs to keep them confined while we are at work. For the price, it's a good gate. Easy to install. Looks good for what it is. It does get annoying that it closes behind you every time. So we are installing a latch to keep it open when not in use. I hated that it came with large white stickers at the bottom of each side of it. They were a pain to get off.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews