Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 167 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

167 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

167 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
60
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 stars
26
1-20 of 158 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 158 total reviews
1-20 of 158 reviews
I had no problems
8/30/2007

Customer review by OnlyMayhem

5.0 stars 8/30/2007 by OnlyMayhem
by OnlyMayhem

If you put this product together by the directions it will look awesome. There are some gaps but that is how it should look. I love it and it looks great in my daughters room.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnlyMayhem
Ft Riley, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY!!!!!
1/19/2008

Customer review by WalMartShopper16

1.0 stars 1/19/2008 by WalMartShopper16
by WalMartShopper16

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!! My husband and I initially loved it and purchased it. After the chest came (LATE and with no notice e-mail) we put it together. It looks so cheesy and cheap...we wasted $215 and 3 hours putting this piece of junk together! There are unsightly gaps on every straight line of this chest! YES we put it together correctly, and tried every way to fix the problems with no luck! The door is TOO SMALL for the chest! Save your money, time, and energy!

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalMartShopper16
La Porte, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
was expecting a little more
11/27/2011

Customer review by bugtgb

3.0 stars 11/27/2011 by bugtgb
by bugtgb

press board. door stoppers r cheap and def not what i expected. door is flimsy. dont expect large drawers. the kick plate at the bottom is held on by 2 plastic clips. yes, plastic. but i like the idea of the chest, the color, and that they give u a touch up pen for dings. overall i feel as i overpayed for it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bugtgb
ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
It's exactly what I wanted!
10/3/2010

Customer review by SingleMom31

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by SingleMom31
by SingleMom31

I have no issue with this product it was easy to assemble and it goes well with the other product from the south shore line. I loved the end result I read alot of the comments prior to purchasing this product and I almost did not buy it but I can say that I do have a negative thing to say. I the product is assemble right you will not have any problems. I am still working on the completion on my nursery but I did add a few picture of the 3 south shore products I purchased

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SingleMom31
Lawton, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
perfect for a first time parent!!
2/25/2013

Customer review by ajajoniuqa

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by ajajoniuqa
by ajajoniuqa

i super like this, it was easy to put it together..some say about the space between door/drawers but its not really a big of a deal...overall its really pretty, good price, you just have to be more creative to make the cabinet a lot more outstanding... :) HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajajoniuqa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
awful
6/29/2007

Customer review by mominmo

1.0 stars 6/29/2007 by mominmo
by mominmo

I would not recommend this to anyone! followed directions exactly, which were easy to follow, but the drawer has a huge gap, so it doesn't look closed as well as the door. totally looks cheap. also the paint chips off very easily. save your money and get a decent one that isn't made of particle board.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mominmo
joplin, mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Lovely piece of furniture
11/18/2012

Customer review by AubreyMichelle

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by AubreyMichelle
by AubreyMichelle

I know this piece is meant to be for clothing in a nursery, but my intended use was as craft storage. I've been struggling to find a way to organize my quite large amount of art and craft supplies (I'm a graphic design student with other crafting hobbies). I chose it because it has so many shelves and I was hoping it would be something that I could keep EVERYthing in, and it ended up being perfect. Used site to store shipping because I hate paying for shipping. It arrived at the store about 4 days earlier than the estimate which was nice! Fairly easy to put together. Instructions were also fairly easy to decipher. A little more tricky than something simple like a desk would be, but that is expected given the size and more complex areas. The unit is extremely solid. Not wobbly at all, and it does include hardware for mounting it to the wall for extra solidarity. Shelves can be lowered and heightened to specify your particular needs. The color, espresso is very rich and true to the image on the website. ONLY ONE NEGATIVE: It's really not a big deal and doesn't actually bother me because it's so trivial, however: the small long piece of wood on the door that is purely for decorative purposes that is next to the handle is attached only with a very cheap piece of adhesive tape. It fell off a few times during construction. I left it off while I finished and pressed it on firmly and it's stayed on since, but I do not expect it to last very long.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AubreyMichelle
Defiance, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice for a small budget.
7/8/2012

Customer review by Sprout001

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Sprout001
by Sprout001

We purchased this for our nursery. The assembly was time consuming. Parts/hardware could have been organized better. You would need a certain piece and 3 pieces would be in one bag and you would have to look in another bag to find the last one. I see that the door does not close flush with the side as mentioned in other reviews. It had a nick in it but their was a pen to fix small imperfections which was nice. This piece will serve it's purpose and is a cute piece to have at a low cost. I'm happy with the look and the collection is very nice. MUCH cheaper than a $1,000 piece you see at baby stores such as Babies R Us. Just be prepared to spend some time putting it together.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sprout001
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not Excited
2/19/2012

Customer review by Kramer17

1.0 stars 2/19/2012 by Kramer17
by Kramer17

I was really excited to find what I thought was a quality piece of furniture. I paid $200 bucks for this thing and got a lot less than what i anticipated. The only good part is the lamination. It is a very nice deep color, but they totally chinced on the door and overall size. The door doesnt even fully cover the frame and you can see the door stop through the opening that the door didnt cover. Needless to say, if I am going to spend $200 on a new dresser, Im not getting it through Walmart again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kramer17
Would recommend to a friend? No
love it!
8/15/2007

Customer review by AnimeShopper

4.0 stars 8/15/2007 by AnimeShopper
by AnimeShopper

I WAS VERY SKEPTICAL WHEN I PURCHASED THIS ITEM, BECAUSE OF THE BAD REVIEW IT RECIEVED, BUT I WAS IMPRESSED. IT LOOKS BEATIFUL IN MY DAUGHTERS ROOM, AND WAS EASY TO ASSEMBLE.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnimeShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent Enough...
8/5/2009

Customer review by hipchick82

4.0 stars 8/5/2009 by hipchick82
by hipchick82

It went together easy enough - though I maybe should let my husband answer that since I had nothing to do with the assembly :) There are gaps where the drawers are and the top drawer doesn't seem to shut all the way but not noticable enough to return or stress on. The MAJOR downside it it's HEIGTH!! It is true to measurement but MAN IT IS SHO SHORT!! I did not actually hold up a tape measure and now standing next to it - it only goes up to my armpit. Do not look at the picture and think it's tall - it's not. Thus 4 stars :O)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hipchick82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
I love this chest!
11/1/2010

Customer review by jsmilegirl

4.0 stars 11/1/2010 by jsmilegirl
by jsmilegirl

i don't know what everyone is complaining about. I love this chest! My husband helped me put it together and it looks just like the one in the picture :) it is just the right hight so i can put some things on top of it. the drawers and the door fit nicely. there is a small gap around he door, but the door is adjustable so you can move it over a bit. i don't think it looks bad at all. in fact it is a perfect piece for my soft yellow nursery :) the only thing i was disapointed in was that the tracks for the drawers are plastic. yet the drawers work fine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsmilegirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Love the look, wish it had been shipped better
2/7/2012

Customer review by FirstTimeMom2012

4.0 stars 2/7/2012 by FirstTimeMom2012
by FirstTimeMom2012

I absolutely love the look of this armoire. My fiancé and I built it in about an hour and a half for our sons nursery. It doesn't have a wardrobe rack just shelves inside the door. We took out a couple shelves and put one in ourselves. Great for the price. Seems sturdy for what we are using it for. My only complaint is that because it shipped from NY and it wasn't packaged all that great it did have a few damaged pieces. It was really just a nick or ding here or there. Thankfully they were all in places that you can't see like the back. Other than that I LOVE it! Drawers work great, shelves are sturdy, door opens and closes easily and the gaps are even. I think it's perfect for a baby's room.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FirstTimeMom2012
Bay Area, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Product doesn't look anything like the picture.
4/10/2013

Customer review by Bubblybree

1.0 stars 4/10/2013 by Bubblybree
by Bubblybree

We received this product and had to assemble it ourselves. We put everything together and nothing lined up correctly. There are spaces between the drawers and the shelves. We got to the final step to put the door on and the bottom corner was cracked. It looks very cheap. It feels cheap. I would not recommend this to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bubblybree
Lake Elsinore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Get What you pay for
2/14/2012

Customer review by MLS071010

4.0 stars 2/14/2012 by MLS071010
by MLS071010

I expected the door chest to be bigger than what it was judging on the picture. Also when all set up the door and drawer have a gap between other than that a great product!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MLS071010
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Chest for the money
9/6/2013

Customer review by NRW2

4.0 stars 9/6/2013 by NRW2
by NRW2

We needed an armoire for our nursery and this was just perfect. If you are expecting a piece of furniture made out of oak that is extremely sturdy and durable this is not the option for you. You get what you pay for. This is excellent quality relative to the price that is paid. We even put in a small tension rod on the left hand side to hang clothes instead of using all the shelves.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NRW2
Metamora, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very cheap piece of furniture
10/17/2012

Customer review by smith9204

1.0 stars 10/17/2012 by smith9204
by smith9204

I have never given a bad review, but you deserve to know what you are buying before you bother. First of all, it came in a box with a lot of pieces and very undetailed directions on how to put it together. It took 3-4 hours to assemble (both my husband and I as a team). There were probably 100 steps total because each step had multiple components within it. Second, it is such a cheap piece of furniture that the pieces don't even fit together snug. The door hinge broke, everything was so fragile. The door doesn't even shut all the way. It came with plenty of dings and scratches too. It's wobbly and very fragile. I don't think it would survive a move. We bought this for my daughter's room, and if she wasn't in love with it (she's 8 and loves everything) then we would be taking it back. I wouldn't be so upset if it only costed 100.00 or less. But, at 175.00 I thought it would be better quality. Very disappointed. I learned my lesson about buying South Shore furniture though.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smith9204
Puyallup, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall I am Happy
3/19/2012

Customer review by AshleyS322

4.0 stars 3/19/2012 by AshleyS322
by AshleyS322

Despite the up and down reviews I went ahead and purchased this item. I am happy with it...It did take 2 hours....there are A LOT of pieces....just be sure to follow each step closely and carefully and be sure you have the right pieces in front of you to work on. The only negative I have about this door chest is there is a gap between the door...which doesnt have any effect on it other than it looks a tiny bit off about the size of the top of a pinky so not to bad just alittle off...there are mior scratches to mine but they included a matching color marker so that took care of it for the most part...but I am overall happy with my purchase...and suggest to anyone that got one they arent happy with...call south shore and give detailed complaints...and theyll send you out the parts you arent happy with....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AshleyS322
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheaply made but pretty to look at
2/28/2013

Customer review by maxzmomom

2.0 stars 2/28/2013 by maxzmomom
by maxzmomom

This took me HOURS to put together, and I'm very mechanically inclined. Some of the wood split, it's flimsy and unsteady, if you are using it for a nursery buy it well in advance before you get too big of a belly cause you won't be able to move around to put it together, and make sure to get something that is made more with quality material before your child is walking. This will tear up easily. I bought it for my 6 yr olds room, and am lucky, she's not a climber or destructive in any way. It's pretty to look at and looks great in her room, but what a waste if money!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maxzmomom
okc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible piece of furniture.
2/28/2012

Customer review by kiwikatie

1.0 stars 2/28/2012 by kiwikatie
by kiwikatie

Looked amazing online and I sadly made the mistake of not reading the bad reviews until my husband and I attempted to put it together. It's got so many pieces that it's just ridiculous. It's horribly cheap and flimsy and even comes with a hook to screw it into the wall so that it doesn't topple over on your child. Not something that I want in my child's nursery after reading that. The screws strip while screwing them in, the flimsy papery wood chips and breaks while putting it together and there are gaps in between the drawers because of how poorly it was constructed. The pieces don't even fit together properly if you put it together! Not to mention that we followed the directions exactly how they said. I would highly recommend you look elsewhere because this is not at all worth the amount of money you're paying. I'm honestly scared to open up the matching changing table for fear that it's as cheap and flimsy as this piece.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiwikatie
Chesapeake, Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1-20 of 158 reviews