Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 195 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
66
3 stars
30
2 stars
15
1 stars
30
Sort by: 
1-20 of 186 reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews
I had no problems
8/30/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you put this product together by the directions it will look awesome. There are some gaps but that is how it should look. I love it and it looks great in my daughters room.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (44)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DO NOT BUY!!!!!
1/19/2008
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!! My husband and I initially loved it and purchased it. After the chest came (LATE and with no notice e-mail) we put it together. It looks so cheesy and cheap...we wasted $215 and 3 hours putting this piece of junk together! There are unsightly gaps on every straight line of this chest! YES we put it together correctly, and tried every way to fix the problems with no luck! The door is TOO SMALL for the chest! Save your money, time, and energy!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's exactly what I wanted!
10/3/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have no issue with this product it was easy to assemble and it goes well with the other product from the south shore line. I loved the end result I read alot of the comments prior to purchasing this product and I almost did not buy it but I can say that I do have a negative thing to say. I the product is assemble right you will not have any problems. I am still working on the completion on my nursery but I did add a few picture of the 3 south shore products I purchased
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lovely piece of furniture
11/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I know this piece is meant to be for clothing in a nursery, but my intended use was as craft storage. I've been struggling to find a way to organize my quite large amount of art and craft supplies (I'm a graphic design student with other crafting hobbies). I chose it because it has so many shelves and I was hoping it would be something that I could keep EVERYthing in, and it ended up being perfect. Used site to store shipping because I hate paying for shipping. It arrived at the store about 4 days earlier than the estimate which was nice! Fairly easy to put together. Instructions were also fairly easy to decipher. A little more tricky than something simple like a desk would be, but that is expected given the size and more complex areas. The unit is extremely solid. Not wobbly at all, and it does include hardware for mounting it to the wall for extra solidarity. Shelves can be lowered and heightened to specify your particular needs. The color, espresso is very rich and true to the image on the website. ONLY ONE NEGATIVE: It's really not a big deal and doesn't actually bother me because it's so trivial, however: the small long piece of wood on the door that is purely for decorative purposes that is next to the handle is attached only with a very cheap piece of adhesive tape. It fell off a few times during construction. I left it off while I finished and pressed it on firmly and it's stayed on since, but I do not expect it to last very long.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect choice for nursery!
6/25/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This armoire was purchased for our first child's nursery. We wanted to chose furniture that would match our neutral decor, that was affordable and of good quality. This piece met all of those expectations and more! The product arrived in excellent condition and was very well packaged. The piece was painless to assemble; the directions were clear and simple to follow. This armoire has four shelves behind the door that are ideal for storing miscellaneous baby items. The three shelves above the drawers, fit baskets that match our decor and are great for storing toys and other items. The two drawers are good sized and fit extra sheets and blankets! The item is a nice size and has an abundance of room for storage, we are certain we will be able to continue to use it as our daughter grows up. The classic design fits well with our other furniture in the room and is an outstanding addition to the overall look of our nursery. I have had many people comment on the look of the room and how it looks like something out of a catalog or magazine. We are quite pleased with this armoire and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for that perfect piece for a child's room!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks nice but not the best quality
10/15/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It's a very cute Dresser and it looks nice finished in our Daughters Room. But it's pretty cheep made and has a couple of little flaws. For example the door is a thin pressed wood just like the back of Dresser and surounded by a frame instead of having a real wood door like most furnitur you see and buy. Most connecting parts are plastic instead of metal. Color chips of easy on butom where it stands on carpet and we had to take of the little front bord ( on butom , waved looking bord, it seems to be only for looks) wile standig on the carpet with just a few books on shelf, we where not able to open butom draw without having to lift the draw up! Not sure if I would recommend or buy it again. It was inexpensive and I guess you get what you pay for! So if you look for a dresser what's cute and cheep and you not care about its quality than go for it but if you want quality and something that's good for a very long time, than you might want to buy something different!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
perfect for a first time parent!!
2/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i super like this, it was easy to put it together..some say about the space between door/drawers but its not really a big of a deal...overall its really pretty, good price, you just have to be more creative to make the cabinet a lot more outstanding... :) HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Door chest!
7/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My husband and I were looking for a dresser for our daughter. I didn't want to hang all of her things (onesies, etc.). We also did not want to spend a lot of money since there were a million other things we had to get for our first child! We wanted something that would last a few years. When I saw this dresser online I loved it!! And it was under $200!! We paid $193 with shipping to our home and taxes. It got here really fast! Less than a week. It did take some time to out together just because there are a lot of pieces (I mean it is a dresser). However, the instructions were simple. We had a few leftover parts. I'm hoping they are just extra lol. It is shorter than I would like but I knew that before ordering it. I'm 5'4 and it comes to around my shoulders. The drawers slide smoothly. You can make the shelves any height. It was a little dirty on some pieces from packing but it came right off when I wiped it with a rag. Also, when I was reading reviews on this product before purchasing, I noticed many people complaining about the gap in the door. Yes, there is a gap. You can tighten it and it will close the gap towards the drawers but there will just be a gap on the far side (by the hinges). To me this isn't a big deal, our dresser is turned at an angle so you can't see unless you look for it. The white is a bright white. It matches our storkcraft Carrara crib perfectly. I can't wait to order the matching changer!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very cheap piece of furniture
10/17/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have never given a bad review, but you deserve to know what you are buying before you bother. First of all, it came in a box with a lot of pieces and very undetailed directions on how to put it together. It took 3-4 hours to assemble (both my husband and I as a team). There were probably 100 steps total because each step had multiple components within it. Second, it is such a cheap piece of furniture that the pieces don't even fit together snug. The door hinge broke, everything was so fragile. The door doesn't even shut all the way. It came with plenty of dings and scratches too. It's wobbly and very fragile. I don't think it would survive a move. We bought this for my daughter's room, and if she wasn't in love with it (she's 8 and loves everything) then we would be taking it back. I wouldn't be so upset if it only costed 100.00 or less. But, at 175.00 I thought it would be better quality. Very disappointed. I learned my lesson about buying South Shore furniture though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible piece of furniture.
2/28/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Looked amazing online and I sadly made the mistake of not reading the bad reviews until my husband and I attempted to put it together. It's got so many pieces that it's just ridiculous. It's horribly cheap and flimsy and even comes with a hook to screw it into the wall so that it doesn't topple over on your child. Not something that I want in my child's nursery after reading that. The screws strip while screwing them in, the flimsy papery wood chips and breaks while putting it together and there are gaps in between the drawers because of how poorly it was constructed. The pieces don't even fit together properly if you put it together! Not to mention that we followed the directions exactly how they said. I would highly recommend you look elsewhere because this is not at all worth the amount of money you're paying. I'm honestly scared to open up the matching changing table for fear that it's as cheap and flimsy as this piece.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks great
9/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A lot of parts but easy to put together with the locking cams Liked this one so much that I bought another
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
was expecting a little more
11/27/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
press board. door stoppers r cheap and def not what i expected. door is flimsy. dont expect large drawers. the kick plate at the bottom is held on by 2 plastic clips. yes, plastic. but i like the idea of the chest, the color, and that they give u a touch up pen for dings. overall i feel as i overpayed for it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice for a small budget.
7/8/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased this for our nursery. The assembly was time consuming. Parts/hardware could have been organized better. You would need a certain piece and 3 pieces would be in one bag and you would have to look in another bag to find the last one. I see that the door does not close flush with the side as mentioned in other reviews. It had a nick in it but their was a pen to fix small imperfections which was nice. This piece will serve it's purpose and is a cute piece to have at a low cost. I'm happy with the look and the collection is very nice. MUCH cheaper than a $1,000 piece you see at baby stores such as Babies R Us. Just be prepared to spend some time putting it together.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the look, wish it had been shipped better
2/7/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I absolutely love the look of this armoire. My fiancé and I built it in about an hour and a half for our sons nursery. It doesn't have a wardrobe rack just shelves inside the door. We took out a couple shelves and put one in ourselves. Great for the price. Seems sturdy for what we are using it for. My only complaint is that because it shipped from NY and it wasn't packaged all that great it did have a few damaged pieces. It was really just a nick or ding here or there. Thankfully they were all in places that you can't see like the back. Other than that I LOVE it! Drawers work great, shelves are sturdy, door opens and closes easily and the gaps are even. I think it's perfect for a baby's room.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Overall I am Happy
3/19/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Despite the up and down reviews I went ahead and purchased this item. I am happy with it...It did take 2 hours....there are A LOT of pieces....just be sure to follow each step closely and carefully and be sure you have the right pieces in front of you to work on. The only negative I have about this door chest is there is a gap between the door...which doesnt have any effect on it other than it looks a tiny bit off about the size of the top of a pinky so not to bad just alittle off...there are mior scratches to mine but they included a matching color marker so that took care of it for the most part...but I am overall happy with my purchase...and suggest to anyone that got one they arent happy with...call south shore and give detailed complaints...and theyll send you out the parts you arent happy with....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect
8/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great Item
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Product doesn't look anything like the picture.
4/10/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We received this product and had to assemble it ourselves. We put everything together and nothing lined up correctly. There are spaces between the drawers and the shelves. We got to the final step to put the door on and the bottom corner was cracked. It looks very cheap. It feels cheap. I would not recommend this to a friend!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent Enough...
8/5/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It went together easy enough - though I maybe should let my husband answer that since I had nothing to do with the assembly :) There are gaps where the drawers are and the top drawer doesn't seem to shut all the way but not noticable enough to return or stress on. The MAJOR downside it it's HEIGTH!! It is true to measurement but MAN IT IS SHO SHORT!! I did not actually hold up a tape measure and now standing next to it - it only goes up to my armpit. Do not look at the picture and think it's tall - it's not. Thus 4 stars :O)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not Excited
2/19/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was really excited to find what I thought was a quality piece of furniture. I paid $200 bucks for this thing and got a lot less than what i anticipated. The only good part is the lamination. It is a very nice deep color, but they totally chinced on the door and overall size. The door doesnt even fully cover the frame and you can see the door stop through the opening that the door didnt cover. Needless to say, if I am going to spend $200 on a new dresser, Im not getting it through Walmart again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not to bad for the price
6/2/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
only issue I had with this dresser is all the plastic parts the slides for the drawers are plastic (this was a bit of a shock) and you have to be careful because the color scratches easily to all the bad reviews on here about there being huge gaps if you take your time and put it together right there shouldn't be any huge gaps also to the people complaining the door is to small it is slightly but i believe that's the design also if these people used a little common scene which seems hard to come by these days on the hinges there are adjustment screws that allows you to adjust the door so it fits better, and this is coming from a women who was able to figure this out on her own so come on guys just take your time before posting such negative reviews. After it was all said and done this is a nice dresser and a affordable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641765, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-