Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 404 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

404 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

404 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
225
4 stars
116
3 stars
22
2 stars
15
1 stars
26
1-20 of 353 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 353 total reviews
1-20 of 353 reviews
Great Deal
3/17/2009

Customer review by Ronchicago

5.0 stars 3/17/2009 by Ronchicago
by Ronchicago

We bought one four years ago. It finally died and and my wife being a neat freak she used it daily for the carpets and floors as she hates dirt and we have two cats that track cat litter all over the house (or so she says). Anyway it died finally and I asked her if she wanted a more expensive one and she said no go buy another one of these, it went four years and two moves before dieing, Oh she also drags it outside and cleans the car floors. This vacuum and my wife are both keepers.

Was this review helpful? (166) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ronchicago
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good product
5/17/2009

Customer review by Orion2012

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by Orion2012
by Orion2012

I bought this vacuum about a month ago and have used it a few times now. It works very good on my tile floors, sucks everything up. I have 2 rooms with carpeting and it worked well there too but won't fit under the bed. The attachments are a little akward to use because the hose doesn't stretch out very far. But I didn't buy it for that. I have 3 cats and wanted a quick and easy vacuum for hard floors and it lives up to that. It has one annoying feature, however; it makes a very high pitched whine when it's on. Almost like listening to a smoke detector alarm while you vacuum the whole house! I called customer service to ask about it and the representative ask me to turn it on so she could hear it over the phone. She said it sounded fine to her. I'm going to send an email to Dirt Devil customer service and see it if I can't get a better answer/diagnosis than that. I really don't want to send it back if the noise is just how it sounds.

Was this review helpful? (130) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Orion2012
Rancho Mirage, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
great lil vacuum
7/24/2007

Customer review by candicane

5.0 stars 7/24/2007 by candicane
by candicane

This vacuum is small enough where I don't have to move furniture around, as I did before with a larger vacuum. Works great!!!

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candicane
South TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fits needs PERFECTLY! Excellent value!
9/11/2009

Customer review by princesscarrolljo

5.0 stars 9/11/2009 by princesscarrolljo
by princesscarrolljo

I love, love, love this product! The cheap price had me a little skeptical, but once I read the rave reviews from others, I knew this was the vacuum for me. It is so lightweight, yet it's big enough to handle my 3 carpeted rooms. I love the bagless feature, how light and smooth it is, the telescoping handle which allows for me to fit it into my tiny closet, and every other little thing about it. Other reviewers complained about the noise level, but it sounded like all the other vacuum's I've ever used. Actually, a little quieter than my previous. If it had a longer hose and a few more attachments, that would be a plus. I took some other reviewers advice and have washed the filter in the sink and let it dry overnight. I am hoping this will prolong the life of the filter and save a little money. Upkeep is as easy as empying the canister and checking the underneath after each use. It is working really great and I've had no problems. I actually enjoy getting this out and using it. My other vacuum, which cost over $100, has barely been getting me through the past few years. Sadly, I pushed the chore of vaccuming back and only did it once every few months because I dreaded it! Everytime I turn around, a belt had fallen off or something was broken. Who knew that with half of that price, I could have a vacuum that actually works better? Again, great purchase. Would buy another one in a minute!!!

Was this review helpful? (74) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
princesscarrolljo
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Unbelievable value.
10/15/2009

Customer review by JettaVictoria

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by JettaVictoria
by JettaVictoria

I operate a residential cleaning business and became weary of buying very expensive Miehle and Oreck vacuum cleaners only to have them not only not live up to the hype but break down and require service every few weeks. Not to mention the expensive bags that constantly needed to be replaced...out of sheer frustration and desperation I grabbed this little vacuum cleaner and threw it in the car...to my delight it did an absolutely wonderful job on both hard and carpeted floors - much, much better than I expected. The cup is a breeze to empty between houses and the footprint is narrow enough to reach either side of the toilet in most bathrooms. The handle retracts for easy storage, the cord is of ample length and it's very lightweight. Do not expect Dyson-level performance, but I have not had a single customer complaint since using it and for such a cheap vacuum it is a true work-horse. I gave away my good-for-nothing Oreck uprights and will likely never invest money in any other vacuum cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (57) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JettaVictoria
The Colony, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lightweight vacuum at a decent price
9/15/2013

Customer review by kfinpgh

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by kfinpgh
by kfinpgh

One would think that a $59.00 vacuum cleaner would be poorly designed and not work very well. That's a very wrong assumption when describing this vacuum cleaner. It was easy to assemble and it has great suction. My living room and hall are the only carpeted areas in my home, so the smaller sweeping head works great for me, especially for under tables and between furniture pieces. I had vacuumed the previous weekend using a similar Dirt Devil sweeper and was surprised at the lint and debris this thing collected. I gave the old vacuum to a friend, figuring that I could find an identical replacement. This one is better than the old one! The dirt cup can be detached easily and parts are easily available. This vacuum isn't heavy, so it can be easily toted from one area to another. The dirt cup is easy to empty. Filters and belts are easily available. If you are reading reviews as you consider which vacuum to buy, get this vacuum. It does a great cleaning job for a very low price. Why spend $200 on a vacuum cleaner when a $59.00 one does just as well?

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kfinpgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Extreme Suction
1/2/2009

Customer review by Farmersalliance

5.0 stars 1/2/2009 by Farmersalliance
by Farmersalliance

Very Nice All Around, Small And So Powerful. I Am Not Kidding When I Say It Could Suck A Coconut Through A Garden Hose

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Farmersalliance
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so glad I found this!
6/16/2009

Customer review by jppp321

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by jppp321
by jppp321

I really despise vacuuming. I've always put it off because I've hated lugging around various heavy canisters and loud heavy uprights. So when my old vacuum cleaner finally gasped its last breath, I shopped online and found this little Dirt Devil jewel. Now I vacuum every other day! It's so lightweight -- and it's powerful! I can't believe how much filth it's pulled out of my carpet. I have a Golden Retriever that I regularly brush, but it still pulls up lots of hair. For less than $50, it's an absolute marvel. Hardly any dust in the house now too. I gave it less than 5 stars re features since the cord has to be manually wrapped, rather than than automatically retracted. Also, since it's bagless, I'm a little more intimate with the dirt in my house than I'd like, but for some reason I get a perverse, yet disgusting pleasure emptying it out and seeing how much was vacuumed up.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jppp321
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
No Room for Improvement
11/12/2009

Customer review by MaryWithAT

5.0 stars 11/12/2009 by MaryWithAT
by MaryWithAT

This entire shopping experience could not have been better from the time I found this particular vacuum cleaner on line until it was delivered to my door. Then comes the best part: using it! It does everything the expensive cleaners can do only without the high price. Its light weight and responsiveness make it fun to use.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaryWithAT
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Well worth it
1/26/2009

Customer review by Mom2in805

5.0 stars 1/26/2009 by Mom2in805
by Mom2in805

I purchase this vacuum 3 years ago and I've never had a problem with it! It picks up the smallest little things and I've never, ever seen a vacuum pick up as much dust and dirt that it does. It is so well worth the money I paid for it. It does the job as good as those other $150-$300 vacuums. If you wanna save a bunch and get a great vacuum...this is the one!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom2in805
Santa Barbara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wanted to write a glowing review but it's TOO LOUD
7/20/2012

Customer review by Liscat

3.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Liscat
by Liscat

This vacuum is awesome, I love everything about it... except the super obnoxious high-pitched whine. I clean houses, I'm not super sensitive to vacuum noise. But this one is loud and makes a very, very obnoxious noise. Otherwise, I love it. The thing that makes this vacuum is the auto-adjust height level. You are always at the right level, and you always have the right suction. Also if you ask your 13-year old boy to vacuum the different floors all still get clean, he doesn't have to figure anything out. It only has a couple of onboard tools, but I only use the tube and one brush anyways. The cord length is good. The canister is small but you have to empty often anyways to maintain suction. I have carpal tunnel so I need a light vacuum, which this one certainly is. My biggest concern is that the vacuum is lightweight because of the light plastic, but because of that I'm not sure how durable it will be. This vacuum is cheap enough to get it just to keep on your second floor/basement bonus room.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Liscat
Holland NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/6/2009

Customer review by bri69

5.0 stars 11/6/2009 by bri69
by bri69

I am very happy with this vacuum,me and my mom have animals and i am in a wheelchair so i bring alot of dirt into the house as well,so dirt,hair anything on your carpet it will pick it up.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bri69
middleville,mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Vacuum!!!!!!
6/10/2009

Customer review by craftykat1

5.0 stars 6/10/2009 by craftykat1
by craftykat1

I got this vacuum a few days ago and can't stop using it! We have seven cats and I did not know the carpets were really those shades!!! I also have MS so a heavy vacuum is very hard for me to use. This is so light that for the first time in years I could do the whole house and not stop! I even vacuumed the curtains, furniture and cushions. This vacuum does not have any bells or gadgets (no light-who vacuums in the dark anyway, no floor height adjustment knob, and no button to release the handle to vacuum position-you just pull down on the handle) but it does not matter! This vacuum does what it is supposed to do--vacuum. I will buy another if this one dies. I can't live without it now!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
craftykat1
Fairfield, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Well Worth The Price
9/8/2009

Customer review by PDXPilot

5.0 stars 9/8/2009 by PDXPilot
by PDXPilot

I've read some of the negative reviews on the Dynamite and can only think "they're not talking about the same vacuum I bought." I've owned the Dynamite for a year now. I bought it when my last upright stopped working. I actually saved money by buying a new Dynamite rather than repairing my old machine. How I Use It: I have a Husky who is a house dog. I live in the Northwest where rain is a daily fact of life. So between her shedding her double coat regularly (plus a complete shed each season) and tracking in mud, I have a full time job just trying to keep the floors clean. I have a small, single story house with a combination of tile, linoleum and low-pile carpet. I have a Roomba (robot vacuum) that does little more than sweep. I also have a carpet shampoo vacuum and a handheld vacuum. But it’s the dynamite that gets the daily work-horse use. What I Like: First, the price can’t be beat; a new vacuum for around $50. That’s hard to find. It is VERY easy to handle since it weighs so little. Plus, when I’m done with it I can collapse the handle and tuck it behind an end table where it’s hardly noticeable. Even though the handle collapses, it is still very sturdy. Since I use it daily (sometimes multiple times a day) I like to keep it handy. Its small profile makes it easy to keep out but without making it conspicuous. Unlike other vacuums I’ve owned, when I use it on hard surfaces (like tile) it doesn’t just throw debris out behind it. It actually vacuums well on hard surfaces. What could be better: It has no light built in. So vacuuming under beds and tables requires external lighting. The cord is not very long. An extension cord really helps. The canister is smaller than most vacuums. With the amount of fur I vacuum up daily, I often have to empty it at least once a day if not more. There is no cleaning wand attachment. This isn’t a big deal for me since my handheld vacuum works better than any wand attachment I’ve ever tried. And actually, because of the Dynamite’s light weight and compact size, I actually use it to vacuum my couch cushions on the random occasion where I come home and find that the dog took advantage of my absence to get on the furniture. Tips: Replace the filter as often if not a little bit more frequently than recommended (I do it about every four months because of heavy use). I’ve replaced mine twice in one year and am about to replace it again. And the vacuum is still running strong. When emptying the canister, take off the filter. It makes it much easier to dump out if you have a big wad of pet fur at the bottom. Bottom Line: This is a great little vacuum for somebody who needs a daily machine to use on multiple surfaces in a smaller area. To save yourself time, you may want to consider a vacuum with a larger brush area if you’re going to be vacuuming a lot of square footage. But I wouldn’t buy another vacuum just because the Dynamite doesn’t come with wand attachments. In my experience those never have enough power to do much of anything. Save the money and spend it on a handheld vacuum. If my dynamite ever does need replacing, I’ll be buying another one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PDXPilot
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This vacuum sucks! (literally)
12/2/2010

Customer review by punkrockerbaby89

4.0 stars 12/2/2010 by punkrockerbaby89
by punkrockerbaby89

Wow, I was impressed when I first used this vacuum. I vacuumed the day before with my old vacuum, and used this one the next day and it picked up SO MUCH dirt and junk that I never knew was there! I had to empty my dirt trap often because it would just pick up so much stuff! After using this vacuum I could feel the difference with my bare feet, and I didn't even know that was possible. The only thing is that after having it for about 6 months, the belt tore in half - so I put in a new one. But that one almost immediately ripped also (within one use). So I was checking it out and everything seemed right, but when I turned the vacuum on the brush didnt spin, so the belt was wearing down because the thing that it was attached to was spinning. Well, anyways, I called the company today because it's still under warranty and it turns out that almost NOTHING is covered in their warranty (except the motor). I called a repair shop and it would be around $30-$40 to fix it - well I only spent $50 on it so I may as well go buy another vacuum! I don't know if the damage was caused by me or it was some sort of defect, but it stinks that it's not covered in the warranty. So, while I love the vacuum, if you have any problems with it then you just have to deal with it on your own. What I would recommend is a vacuum from a company that has a better warranty, in case something happens you don't have to mess with everything like I did. I know that Bissell has a pretty good warranty, so I'm currently looking into getting a vacuum from them. I hope this helps! (I put that I use this vacuum never because it's dead, but when it was working I used it almost every day)

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
punkrockerbaby89
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Strong little Vac
10/28/2013

Customer review by rags13

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by rags13
by rags13

Great small vacuum, powerful, light weight, no bags. Just need someone else to push IT!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rags13
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
we love our vacum
3/1/2014

Customer review by twamp

5.0 stars 3/1/2014 by twamp
by twamp

we would recommend this to our friends

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twamp
lafayette,la.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE THIS VACUUM!!!!
5/21/2014

Customer review by ksjch

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by ksjch
by ksjch

WONDERFUL VACUUM FOR THE PRICE!!! THE SUCTION IS GREAT!!!! I LOVE IT!!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ksjch
HONAKER, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Top 250 contributor
Extra vac
4/30/2015

Customer review by drudru

5.0 stars 4/30/2015 by drudru
by drudru

This is a great inexpensive vacuum for pick-up cleaning of smaller areas. The suction very good and it is easy to use and store. Noise level is extremely loud; I would not want to use for long periods.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drudru
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst vacuum I have ever had
3/6/2011

Customer review by ScoobyD

1.0 stars 3/6/2011 by ScoobyD
by ScoobyD

I have been using Dirt Devil for years and always loved them. Last time I get a new one (for Christmas) they only had the bagless vacuum. Thought we would give it a try since bagless seems like the "new" thing. There was a reason why they stopped making these once years ago. The vacuum looses suction faster than a bagged vacuum. When you empty the hopper dust goes everywhere. Then you have to pick things off of the external plastic filter to regain power. After emptying 3 times, suction is completely gone. Now you have to wash the internal foam filter and let it dry for a day. Only get through half the house at a time. The last bagged one I had worked up until the bag was full. I'm getting rid of this piece of garbage in a garage sale and going out to find a bagged version somewhere!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScoobyD
Mt. Morris, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 353 total reviews
1-20 of 353 reviews