Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 429 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

429 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

429 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
235
4 stars
126
3 stars
22
2 stars
16
1 stars
30
1-20 of 378 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 378 total reviews
1-20 of 378 reviews
Wanted to write a glowing review but it's TOO LOUD
7/20/2012

Customer review by Liscat

3.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Liscat
by Liscat

This vacuum is awesome, I love everything about it... except the super obnoxious high-pitched whine. I clean houses, I'm not super sensitive to vacuum noise. But this one is loud and makes a very, very obnoxious noise. Otherwise, I love it. The thing that makes this vacuum is the auto-adjust height level. You are always at the right level, and you always have the right suction. Also if you ask your 13-year old boy to vacuum the different floors all still get clean, he doesn't have to figure anything out. It only has a couple of onboard tools, but I only use the tube and one brush anyways. The cord length is good. The canister is small but you have to empty often anyways to maintain suction. I have carpal tunnel so I need a light vacuum, which this one certainly is. My biggest concern is that the vacuum is lightweight because of the light plastic, but because of that I'm not sure how durable it will be. This vacuum is cheap enough to get it just to keep on your second floor/basement bonus room.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Liscat
Holland NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Unbelievable value.
10/15/2009

Customer review by JettaVictoria

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by JettaVictoria
by JettaVictoria

I operate a residential cleaning business and became weary of buying very expensive Miehle and Oreck vacuum cleaners only to have them not only not live up to the hype but break down and require service every few weeks. Not to mention the expensive bags that constantly needed to be replaced...out of sheer frustration and desperation I grabbed this little vacuum cleaner and threw it in the car...to my delight it did an absolutely wonderful job on both hard and carpeted floors - much, much better than I expected. The cup is a breeze to empty between houses and the footprint is narrow enough to reach either side of the toilet in most bathrooms. The handle retracts for easy storage, the cord is of ample length and it's very lightweight. Do not expect Dyson-level performance, but I have not had a single customer complaint since using it and for such a cheap vacuum it is a true work-horse. I gave away my good-for-nothing Oreck uprights and will likely never invest money in any other vacuum cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (70) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JettaVictoria
The Colony, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good product
5/17/2009

Customer review by Orion2012

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by Orion2012
by Orion2012

I bought this vacuum about a month ago and have used it a few times now. It works very good on my tile floors, sucks everything up. I have 2 rooms with carpeting and it worked well there too but won't fit under the bed. The attachments are a little akward to use because the hose doesn't stretch out very far. But I didn't buy it for that. I have 3 cats and wanted a quick and easy vacuum for hard floors and it lives up to that. It has one annoying feature, however; it makes a very high pitched whine when it's on. Almost like listening to a smoke detector alarm while you vacuum the whole house! I called customer service to ask about it and the representative ask me to turn it on so she could hear it over the phone. She said it sounded fine to her. I'm going to send an email to Dirt Devil customer service and see it if I can't get a better answer/diagnosis than that. I really don't want to send it back if the noise is just how it sounds.

Was this review helpful? (141) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Orion2012
Rancho Mirage, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Lightweight vacuum at a decent price
9/15/2013

Customer review by kfinpgh

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by kfinpgh
by kfinpgh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

One would think that a $59.00 vacuum cleaner would be poorly designed and not work very well. That's a very wrong assumption when describing this vacuum cleaner. It was easy to assemble and it has great suction. My living room and hall are the only carpeted areas in my home, so the smaller sweeping head works great for me, especially for under tables and between furniture pieces. I had vacuumed the previous weekend using a similar Dirt Devil sweeper and was surprised at the lint and debris this thing collected. I gave the old vacuum to a friend, figuring that I could find an identical replacement. This one is better than the old one! The dirt cup can be detached easily and parts are easily available. This vacuum isn't heavy, so it can be easily toted from one area to another. The dirt cup is easy to empty. Filters and belts are easily available. If you are reading reviews as you consider which vacuum to buy, get this vacuum. It does a great cleaning job for a very low price. Why spend $200 on a vacuum cleaner when a $59.00 one does just as well?

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kfinpgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Constantly Clogs
3/28/2012

Customer review by HisSweetie

2.0 stars 3/28/2012 by HisSweetie
by HisSweetie

This vacuum had a ton of great reviews, so I had my mom pick it up for me. I have three floors, so I wanted something lightweight to carry up the stairs. This vacuum worked great the first couple times I use it, and I did like that yu could expel dirt with the push of a button. Then, it started clogging. At first, I thought I wasn't lining the canister up correctly with the base. No, it's not me, it's the design. The hose is way too thin for its own suction. I seriously cannot even do a half a room without having to stop and clean out the hose. It always clogs up or the rollers get stuck or the suction stops working and I have to figure out why it stopped picking up dirt. It is insanely annoying and time consuming. I've never had a vacuum that required this much maintainance. What's the point of a bagless vacuum, if you constantly have to touch the dirt? It's disgusting. I do not recommend this for people with dust allergies, arthritis or breathing problems. Just too much work and too dirty.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HisSweetie
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
so glad I found this!
6/16/2009

Customer review by jppp321

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by jppp321
by jppp321

I really despise vacuuming. I've always put it off because I've hated lugging around various heavy canisters and loud heavy uprights. So when my old vacuum cleaner finally gasped its last breath, I shopped online and found this little Dirt Devil jewel. Now I vacuum every other day! It's so lightweight -- and it's powerful! I can't believe how much filth it's pulled out of my carpet. I have a Golden Retriever that I regularly brush, but it still pulls up lots of hair. For less than $50, it's an absolute marvel. Hardly any dust in the house now too. I gave it less than 5 stars re features since the cord has to be manually wrapped, rather than than automatically retracted. Also, since it's bagless, I'm a little more intimate with the dirt in my house than I'd like, but for some reason I get a perverse, yet disgusting pleasure emptying it out and seeing how much was vacuumed up.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jppp321
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Brush roll won't spin!
2/3/2016

Customer review by chee

1.0 stars 2/3/2016 by chee
by chee

the brush roll won't spin so the vacuum won't pick up any dirt. This is so frustrating

Comment from Kenya - 2/4/2016

Hi chee! We understand it can be frustrating to find the brushes are not spinning. More than likely the belt has broken. This is a simple fix. To check the belt lay the cleaner flat to expose the base. Remove the 6 screws on the nozzle guard and lift the nozzle off. Inspect the belt for breaks, cuts, or stretching. If the belt is damaged in any way it’ll need to be replaced. For optimal performance we recommend replacing the belt about once a year. Belts are always available here: http://bit.ly/1rxRe6I. Hope this helps!

chee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Deal
3/17/2009

Customer review by Ronchicago

5.0 stars 3/17/2009 by Ronchicago
by Ronchicago

We bought one four years ago. It finally died and and my wife being a neat freak she used it daily for the carpets and floors as she hates dirt and we have two cats that track cat litter all over the house (or so she says). Anyway it died finally and I asked her if she wanted a more expensive one and she said no go buy another one of these, it went four years and two moves before dieing, Oh she also drags it outside and cleans the car floors. This vacuum and my wife are both keepers.

Was this review helpful? (196) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronchicago
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Compact Powerful for small apartments
1/16/2016

Customer review by Jazzman57

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Jazzman57
by Jazzman57

I'm so glad I went for this vacuum. I've had the featherlike uprights for years, buying each new lighter weight improved model. This year I switched to this bagless smaller version. Fits in my small Chicago apartment closet for storage. LOVE IT!

Jazzman57
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Vacuum
2/5/2016

Customer review by David

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by David
by David

Everything's just ad promised and works awesome

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible
1/27/2016

Customer review by GradP

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by GradP
by GradP

While this vacuum cleaner does pick-up well, you need a bulldozer to push it. It is so difficult to push. It is supposed to automatically adjust to the carpet level however, it does not adjust at all. This is the worst vacuum cleaner I have ever owned. I wish I could return it, but, I trashed the box after I unpacked it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/28/2016

Hi GradP! The automatic height adjustment works by riding the height of the carpet. If you have a soft pile or plush carpet/padding the vacuum may sink down making it hard to push. In this case we'd recommend a model with a manual height adjustment. Also, be sure the brushes are spinning. If not, check that the belt is not broken or stretched. Hope this helps! Kenya, Dirt Devil Customer Care

Comment from - 1/28/2016

Hi GradP! The automatic height adjustment works by riding the height of the carpet. If you have a soft pile or plush carpet/padding the vacuum may sink down making it hard to push. In this case we'd recommend a model with a manual height adjustment. Also, be sure the brushes are spinning. If not, check that the belt is not broken or stretched. Hope this helps! Kenya, Dirt Devil Customer Care

GradP
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a disappointment!
1/7/2016

Customer review by Enon

1.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Enon
by Enon

I purchased this item from my VISA points; what a piece of junk! Looking at the picture in the internet, it looked like my previous Dirt Devil which has a bag and is a fantastic item and works wonderful! This thing looks like something you would never purchase if you had seen it before. So much for Dirt Devil, I will never buy another product from you.

Enon
Would recommend to a friend? No
I won't recommend it, but it does do the job!
3/25/2013

Customer review by unikat

2.0 stars 3/25/2013 by unikat
by unikat

I have a tiny 1 bdrm studio, and I live alone so I don't need much. No pets. It picks up quite well on short shag carpeting, but the height level is NOT adjustable. On bare floors, it picks up quite well also, and with out spitting stuff out & across the floor. The cord is plenty long enough. The hose usage is very short & limited, and not very strong suction, but it works. It's just that it pulls the vacuum body down with it when doing cracks/corners along wall bases. The dirt cup is very easy to use, but you MUST clean the re-usable filter with EVERY usage. I brush it all out with an old toothbrush & also tap it on the garbage can edge, bcz this vacuum does pick up so well, so the filter is super caked with dusty-debris with every use. I can see the filter itself will last several months before needing replacement, with my 2-3 times per month of vacuuming. I love how small & light it is. My 4yr old grandson loves that he can use it, it's just his size with the handle pushed down and fits very well in my closets.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unikat
Holley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Just what we needed
1/1/2016

Customer review by JediMouseketeer

5.0 stars 1/1/2016 by JediMouseketeer
by JediMouseketeer

This is our 2nd Dirt Devil vacuum and we love it so far. We purchased a similar model 5 years ago and it was a trooper. We have 3 cats and vacuum every day. Other vacuums we have owned have lasted us less than a year and have cost two to three times as much. We love the brand and will continue to be loyal Dirt Devil customers!

JediMouseketeer
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Vacuum!!!!!!
6/10/2009

Customer review by craftykat1

5.0 stars 6/10/2009 by craftykat1
by craftykat1

I got this vacuum a few days ago and can't stop using it! We have seven cats and I did not know the carpets were really those shades!!! I also have MS so a heavy vacuum is very hard for me to use. This is so light that for the first time in years I could do the whole house and not stop! I even vacuumed the curtains, furniture and cushions. This vacuum does not have any bells or gadgets (no light-who vacuums in the dark anyway, no floor height adjustment knob, and no button to release the handle to vacuum position-you just pull down on the handle) but it does not matter! This vacuum does what it is supposed to do--vacuum. I will buy another if this one dies. I can't live without it now!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
craftykat1
Fairfield, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fits needs PERFECTLY! Excellent value!
9/11/2009

Customer review by princesscarrolljo

5.0 stars 9/11/2009 by princesscarrolljo
by princesscarrolljo

I love, love, love this product! The cheap price had me a little skeptical, but once I read the rave reviews from others, I knew this was the vacuum for me. It is so lightweight, yet it's big enough to handle my 3 carpeted rooms. I love the bagless feature, how light and smooth it is, the telescoping handle which allows for me to fit it into my tiny closet, and every other little thing about it. Other reviewers complained about the noise level, but it sounded like all the other vacuum's I've ever used. Actually, a little quieter than my previous. If it had a longer hose and a few more attachments, that would be a plus. I took some other reviewers advice and have washed the filter in the sink and let it dry overnight. I am hoping this will prolong the life of the filter and save a little money. Upkeep is as easy as empying the canister and checking the underneath after each use. It is working really great and I've had no problems. I actually enjoy getting this out and using it. My other vacuum, which cost over $100, has barely been getting me through the past few years. Sadly, I pushed the chore of vaccuming back and only did it once every few months because I dreaded it! Everytime I turn around, a belt had fallen off or something was broken. Who knew that with half of that price, I could have a vacuum that actually works better? Again, great purchase. Would buy another one in a minute!!!

Was this review helpful? (91) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
princesscarrolljo
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for price
12/21/2015

Customer review by mdjdo

4.0 stars 12/21/2015 by mdjdo
by mdjdo

I bought this a few weeks ago and so far am very satisfied with it. I just live in a small apartment, so this does everything I need while be small and inexpensive.

mdjdo
Portland, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great lil vacuum
7/24/2007

Customer review by candicane

5.0 stars 7/24/2007 by candicane
by candicane

This vacuum is small enough where I don't have to move furniture around, as I did before with a larger vacuum. Works great!!!

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
candicane
South TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Simply love it
5/30/2010

Customer review by TheNuttyProfessor

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by TheNuttyProfessor
by TheNuttyProfessor

I purchased two of these actually; the first was left back in Utah when I moved. The first one lasted for 18 months without a single problem, with just the regular changing of filters every 6 months, sometimes even more. I then gave it over to a friend and upon arrival here I thought all dirt devils were alike, so I purchased the "Easy Lite" instead from Target. I found out - the hard way - that not all dirt devils are REAL dirt devils :) This Dynamite plus is a charm ... doesn't hold much dust I should mentioned and you need to unload it quickly ... but doing so is very quick and clean ... and if you just "tap" that F2 filter in it then you'll get the dust out of it and it will last you a long time. The most beautiful thing about it is that the air outlet is placed as not to blow anything surrounding the vacuum ... thus I can use it easily on the kitchen floors and get everything cleaned easily. The "Easy Lite" used to just blow the dust around because the air outlet was ill-placed on that vacuum. If you're looking for the best basic vacuum out there, then you're looking at the right one ... honestly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheNuttyProfessor
C Stat, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Room for Improvement
11/12/2009

Customer review by MaryWithAT

5.0 stars 11/12/2009 by MaryWithAT
by MaryWithAT

This entire shopping experience could not have been better from the time I found this particular vacuum cleaner on line until it was delivered to my door. Then comes the best part: using it! It does everything the expensive cleaners can do only without the high price. Its light weight and responsiveness make it fun to use.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaryWithAT
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 378 total reviews
1-20 of 378 reviews