Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 362 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

362 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

362 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
206
4 stars
121
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 stars
13
1-20 of 300 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 300 total reviews
1-20 of 300 reviews
Xbox 360, everyday tv watching!
9/3/2007

Customer review by GamerOfTheYear

4.0 stars 9/3/2007 by GamerOfTheYear
by GamerOfTheYear

Well originally i went too walmart today to get a 19" lcd tv for my room, the main reason being too fully utilize my xbox 360's potential. And I went there with my father with $300 cash of my own money. Right when i was about too buy the tv im looking around and i see this tv and a vizio, right next too each other....and while im looking at the amazeing deal, Emerson's being better. I decided to ask my father for the extra $320....after 10 mins of U KNOW U WANT TOO. He said yes, we buy the TV. I take it too my room do a little rearrangeing and hook it up! WOW, it looks amazeing (i have it connectd too a hdtv box from cable company). I then hooked up my xbox 360 and the writeing on the DASHBOARD was viewable!!!(Stand def tv's are a eye strain trying too read) So then I put it GEARS OF WAR! And well it was amazeing. I have actually been told there isnt much of a difference between a 27" standard tube TV, and a 32" Hi-Def TV. But plainly the image is much crisper,brighter,easier to read...and well overall amazeing. Alot of these reviews i have read soom kinda so-so. But i mean if u can afford this tv, get it dont spent the 600-850 on the same size tv with a little better specs. If u want a Tv for everyday viewing and maybe some ps3, xbox 360 gameing. Go for this Tv. You will nbot be dissapointed. I have this tv in a room that is 20x12.....but i usally view the tv about 3-5 feet away...and the image is exellent and huge. So yea, greaet tv, great deal. Sincerly, The Averge kid 15, year old male, Bakersfield, california!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GamerOfTheYear
Bakersifield,california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the money... no complaints.
10/2/2007

Customer review by KMan

5.0 stars 10/2/2007 by KMan
by KMan

Only recently, about 6 months ago, I became interested in HDTV's and what they have to offer. Before this 32" Emerson, I owned a 26" RCA and immediately loved the improvement of image quality in HDTV's. A short time later I decided I needed a bigger screen so I gave my RCA to my mother and replaced it with this Emerson. The first thing I noticed on the Emerson when setting it up was that there wasn't that much to setup to begin with. The menus for tweaking the image, sound and various other settings are very limited, but that's not to say that's a bad thing. I was just used to the RCA's settings. Nevertheless, it was very easy to get the image just the way you wanted it. The second thing I noticed was that the HD programming was a tiny bit lower in quality than what I was already used to. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't a drastic decrease. Most people would probably never even notice it. Overall the quality of HD programming was still superb in my opinion. The 1000:1 contrast ration was also noticable. The screen was very bright and crisp. Next I tried a couple of devices to check the quality of image. The devices were an Xbox 360 with component video connections and a cheap DVD player, also with component video connections. Well, the DVD's looked great. I've included a couple of pictures of the TV playing the movie 300. One picture was taken in the dark and the other with the lights on... so that you can get a better idea of what the image looks like in different lighting conditions. I can only imagine what the movie would look like in HD with an HD DVD player. The Xbox 360 gameplay(and also the regular xbox) on this TV set, gave me the same satisfaction. The sound wasn't the best, but it was still good. I'm sure that with a surround system the sound would be spectacular. Overall, I think this HDTV is pretty good and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KMan
Edinburg, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product 4 Great Price
2/20/2008

Customer review by JenM2140

5.0 stars 2/20/2008 by JenM2140
by JenM2140

I purchased this tv 2 weeks ago and everything has been great. The only problem that I had was some pixelation on my lower channels, but that was the cable company's issue. I received a converter box with an HDMI connection and that cleared up most of the problem. If your cable company has one available I suggest getting it. The analog channels are ok, digital channels are much better, but the HD channels are awsome. Cable guy said once everything goes HD the lower channels will be better. A complaint that I have seen has been about the black bars on the side of the HD channels, it is caused by the tv program not being broadcast in HD (as seen in my photo). The sound is OK, what I expect from small speakers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenM2140
Cumberland, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy TV
1/15/2008

Customer review by Sretsacnal

5.0 stars 1/15/2008 by Sretsacnal
by Sretsacnal

This purchase was easy and delivered a week early easy to pick up at store and very easy to install and hook up great product for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sretsacnal
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Emerson 32" HDTV
10/2/2007

Customer review by Jstylz

5.0 stars 10/2/2007 by Jstylz
by Jstylz

I bought this TV a few months ago mainly because of price, but also going by some of the reviews I saw. I needed to upgrade from my older tv and wanted something alittle bigger to watch movies and play a few games on. After a few months of looking and reviewing all of the choices, I opted to buy this one because it has a great picture and has all options the more expensive tv's have, but for less money. The sound is great, I have a surround sound system and most times don't use it because the tv has great sound. For an inexpensive tv this was a great choice. As I said earlier, I have only had it for a short time but for the most part it is a great tv and only time will tell if it stays that way. I am happy with it and after some months owning it, could not see paying alot more for a tv that gives me pretty much the same thing. I hope this review helps you in your selection.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jstylz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
11/13/2007

Customer review by letco

4.0 stars 11/13/2007 by letco
by letco

Great picture and sound quality. We had a couple of problems after the setup. 1) not compatible with Universal remotes; 2) it freaked out my Dish Network receiver.. The first problem is more of an inconvenience than a problem (just one more remote lying around). The second problem was interesting. I hooked it up to the receiver as normal. After several minutes, the info box (tv program info screen) would pop-up on the screen. We would press the 'info' button on the satellite remote and it would go away. Every several minutes, the screen would return over and over and over again. We called Dish and they troubleshooted over the phone. Long story short, after 3 new receiver boxes and 1 new remote, we determined that the TV was emitting a signal that messed with the receiver box. We moved the TV farther away from the receiver and this did the trick. About a months later, we were able to move the TV back to where it belonged with no ill effects to the receiver. A technician said that it was a component 'burning in'. All in all, it is a great TV with great picture and sound.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
letco
Middle GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
7/20/2007

Customer review by ffshopper

5.0 stars 7/20/2007 by ffshopper
by ffshopper

This TV has an excellent picture for the price, not to mention it has a more than adequate amount of inputs. For those searching the market for an excellent quality value-priced TV, I would recommend this TV in an instant.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ffshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful
7/30/2007

Customer review by TVWatcher

5.0 stars 7/30/2007 by TVWatcher
by TVWatcher

This product is everything I wanted in a television. I would purchase it again and again if I needed to. I would also tell anyone needing a product similar to this that you can't go wrong with this tv. The only problem was that the web site said that there were products in the stores. I went to purchase it there and they said they didn't have any and that they were back-ordered. They said that Emerson could not produce this product quick enough to keep up with demand. The price in the store was also listed as being cheaper than online. I went back home and ordered it from the web site. I did have to pay a higher price and pay for shipping that I would not have had to do if I could have purchased it in the store. After the online order, it was delivered on time. Nothing was said about Emerson not being able to meet production. This product is still a better buy than any of it's competition. It was easy to install and works great. Thanks, Emerson

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVWatcher
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy for the price
9/21/2007

Customer review by HDhappy

5.0 stars 9/21/2007 by HDhappy
by HDhappy

Excellent buy if you are just getting into HD as I was. The picture is incredibly crisp, color is life-like, and the set up was veryeasy. I do recommend using an HDMI cable to receive HD signal. Only drawback is there is only one HDMI input while many other LCD's have at least two. There are two Component Video inputs and Audio inputs however so connections are easily connected. I am very happy with my purchase and compared to other high priced sets on the market, this is definitely a winner.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HDhappy
Hackettstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointing
4/14/2008

Customer review by missus

1.0 stars 4/14/2008 by missus
by missus

I purchased this TV on 9/24/07, and on 4/13/08, this TV simply stopped working. We turned it on, and a second later the picture faded, and the "stand by" light, which is usually on even when the TV is off, was not lit up. Unfortunately we are well past the return period for Walmart, so we attempted to take our Emerson TV to a TV repair shop. Upon arriving at the repair shop, they informed us that Emerson TVs cannot be repaired as Emerson does not sell repair parts. To fix it, we would have to ship our TV to Emerson then have it shipped back. Just a word of warning, if you are going to purchase this TV, don't make the same mistake I did. Get the extended warranty.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missus
Would recommend to a friend? No
Enjoyable
7/19/2007

Customer review by hope2know

5.0 stars 7/19/2007 by hope2know
by hope2know

This TV had been a very good product. We are enjoying it. The picture is very clear and the color is good. I would reccomend this tv to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hope2know
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great HD Starter
1/25/2008

Customer review by eljohn3

4.0 stars 1/25/2008 by eljohn3
by eljohn3

This is a great television if you're buying your first hdtv and are on a budget. (Great dormroom tv) The only draw backs that I've really noticed are that you really cannot calibrate it to a T, and it only has one hdmi slot. Other than that the only cons to this item are the same ones found in a lot of smaller HDTV's. The screen never shows a precise aspect of any picture. the closest seems to be in the "cinema" or "wide" screen setting, but the wide setting does distort towards the middle and the cinema setting cuts off the bottom of the images. The sidebar mode has the best picture overall, but if you are willing to settle for that, you may as well just buy a crt. All in all, this is a spectacular TV for the price, just remember you're getting what you pay for AND you should always buy a smaller LCD for its image quality, beacuase ALL small hdtv's tend to have garbage speakers. (Go ahead and invest in a surround system)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eljohn3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent TV
4/18/2008

Customer review by DCSComputers

5.0 stars 4/18/2008 by DCSComputers
by DCSComputers

I'd been reading reviews about TV's for a long time and had even purchased a 42" Visio, but I returned it because of a poor contrast ratio and horrible standard definition picture. I bought this TV on the spur of the moment because of a great in store picture and price, and had it installed in near minutes after getting it home. Great out-of-box picture. I literally had to do nothing to the picture for amazing picture. Picture is almost TOO sharp, but I have since adjusted that in the settings. I have noticed a little fuzziness on the side, but I think that was due to the show I was watching, because I haven't noticed it since. I've found that there aren't many remote codes that operate this TV. I haven't been able to find one to make my RC64r DirecTV remote power this tv. XBox 360 looks amazing with component cables only. Sound is actually really good considering the speaker size and wattage. I could hear things in Halo 3 like shells hitting the floor and echos that I could never hear on my standard definition TV. Really impressed with this TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DCSComputers
Hickman, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT PRODUCT GREAT PRICE
8/16/2007

Customer review by Kool

4.0 stars 8/16/2007 by Kool
by Kool

You can't beat this! Go ahead spend more, thinking the more you spend the better... lol This TV looks better, shows better, and low priced compared to majority of other HDTV's.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kool
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the price!
10/17/2007

Customer review by chriscarp

4.0 stars 10/17/2007 by chriscarp
by chriscarp

I bought this TV about 5 months ago and love it. I have not had any problems with it and the picture quality is excellent...especially for the price. This TV has all the standard features along with several inputs and digital tuner. I hooked up an antenna and am watching local channels in HD. HD broadcasting is awesome on this TV. This TV does lack the extra bells and whistles you would get on more expensive TVs(like PIP, DVI input or Audio Equalizer) but it is great for the price. I got mine when it was on sale for $499. At $499 it is a very good deal because you can get the 2 year warranty for about 1/2 of what it cost if the TV is priced above $500. At the current sale price of $558(10/17/07), I would recommend paying an extra $41 and get higher end TV with the extra features. Or just wait till it goes on sale for $499 again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chriscarp
ashland, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Value For The Price
8/25/2007

Customer review by Capt

5.0 stars 8/25/2007 by Capt
by Capt

The picture quality of this unit is only limited by quality of the available signal and programing which will only get better with time. Sound quality is more than adequate. The included extra SDTV tuner allows this TV to replace a standard TV. My eyeball to screen distance is fine at 9 feet. Viewing from a side or higher angle is superior to any standard TV I have seen. As a retired professional retail buyer I congratulate Walmart for offering this item to their Customers. The remote control seems fine. The owners manual is easy to understand. Will there be better TV's in the future, certainly, but for now this is far better than I had expected. Strongly recommended! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Capt
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What Size?
11/6/2007

Customer review by Miklo

5.0 stars 11/6/2007 by Miklo
by Miklo

First let me say that I am happy with this product.To really see what a great picture this set has put it next to an analog set for comparison. I am a little confused at how the size of the set is determined, while in the store the set I bought was next to a "32 inch" analog set, to my surprise the difference in how much bigger the analog was is very noticeable. I guess its like a 2X4 piece of wood only being 1 and 3/4 X 3 and 3/4.....oh well.It is sad to me that we think $558.00 ($601.00 out the door) is a great price.I guess I'm just getting old and I am suffering from sticker shock, but having worked in electronics industry for many years I know how much the PSB's really cost that are in this set. With all this being said I am still recommending this set to anyone looking to buy.Nobody forced me to buy and I do enjoy my 32 inch Emerson set even if its much smaller than my old 32 inch analog set. Enjoy. Miklo

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Miklo
Tucson, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/4/2007

Customer review by Kooo

5.0 stars 9/4/2007 by Kooo
by Kooo

Great in every way. Price picture sound.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kooo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
True enjoyment!
7/27/2007

Customer review by TVaholic

5.0 stars 7/27/2007 by TVaholic
by TVaholic

I cannot believe how wonderful this TV is, sharp, crisp picture with unbelieveable color. It fits really well into my armoire, and is steady on its stand. It is light enough to be able to move easily. The connections were easy to make. It was also easy to adjust the picture to my liking. I really appreciated ordering it on-line and having it delivered straight to my residence. The store was sold out and wouldn't be getting them in for weeks. I had it in 10 days.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVaholic
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good fo cheap price
10/4/2007

Customer review by borntoloose

3.0 stars 10/4/2007 by borntoloose
by borntoloose

The refresh rate was rather slow so sometimes the picture and/or colors seemed blurred. I understand that this may be cured by a better quality hook-up. (I used the s-vidio). It is a good unit for the low price and you get what you pay for. I eventually upgraded to another brand only because I wanted to use the TV as my computer screen also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
borntoloose
Prescott AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 300 total reviews
1-20 of 300 reviews