Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

66 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

66 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 stars
5
1-20 of 63 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
The Best Digital Tuner w/HDD Recorder.
7/4/2007

Customer review by suplex

5.0 stars 7/4/2007 by suplex
by suplex

This DVD Recorder is probably the best one on the market with a Digital Tuner (ATSC & QAM) and a Hard Drive. For any who have never experienced a DVD Recorder with a Hard Drive in it, the reason I feel it's essential is because you can record programming on the HDD, do your editing, and then dub the edited content on a DVD all within the same unit. The Audio and Video quality of the Philips 3575 is very good, even in the lower recording speeds which yield more time on a DVD, you will still be impressed with how good your recordings look. Speaking of recording times, you can put 1-Hour, 2-Hours, 2.5-Hours, 3-Hours, 4-Hours, or 6-Hours on one DVD, those same settings using the 160gb HDD for recording will yield: 33-Hours, 66-Hours, 82.5-Hours, 99-Hours, 132-Hours, or 198-Hours (which is more than one whole week of recording). The interface is user friendly enough that you should be able to get most of your tasks done without looking at the manual. It will also give you an informative Menu when you create/finalize a DVD so it can be played elsewhere. As for the Digital Tuner, with my cable company I can only receive OTA (Over The Air) channels through the Digital receiver. So channels like ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, My-9, CW 11, and some PBS Channels are all that will come through. In the event that you want to record something else, the unit has Front A/V Inputs so you can wire your Cable Box to them and record via a Line Input...or in the case of the Philips 3575 "E2" which is the Front Jacks. All in all I like this machine very much and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in a great quality DVD Recorder.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suplex
Freehold, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Poorman's TiVo
8/1/2007

Customer review by Keith

5.0 stars 8/1/2007 by Keith
by Keith

Not a TiVo, but very good. If your from the VCR era, this is a must have replacement. If your a DVD R person - you'll love the hard drive. If you want to upgrade to HDTV w/no box then this is it. The only draw back is that it is a little pricey. Basically has the same functionality as a VCR, but with the added feature of "time shifting" or "pause live tv" like you would find on a TiVo. Generally very easy to set up and is pretty intuiative if you think VCR and not TiVo. You can do dubbing from hard drive to DVD (single&dual layer) and visa versa. You can do basic screen titles and chaptering, as well as, coping from video/still camera. Programing is VCR like, but easier. Has quick one touch record in 30 min intervals. Opps another draw back - if you switch input modes from antenna to Cable - you have to re-learn all the stations. So for those of us with analog cable and digital antenna, it kinda clumbsy, but workable for everynow and then football games, etc. I made the right decission and will soon forget about the extra $100 compared to a disk only model.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keith
Kalamazoo, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best on the market today
2/16/2008

Customer review by Shopcat1

5.0 stars 2/16/2008 by Shopcat1
by Shopcat1

I have been using this recorder for 7 months. The previous poster is incorrect about 16:9 recording. The 3575 WILL record WS programs on digital channels thru it tuner. It records what is fed to it, either natural WS or 4:3 packaged with LB/PB. You must set its "TV Aspect" to 16:9 Wide. I now have two of them and they work great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopcat1
So. Cal.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great product for those without cable
8/19/2007

Customer review by TimeToRecord

5.0 stars 8/19/2007 by TimeToRecord
by TimeToRecord

The Philips Hard Drive DVD Recorder is awesome!! I am now able to record my favorite shows that are broadcast in Hi-Definition. I was not able to record in Hi-Def on my dish recorder before and when I'd try to watch the recordings, they were all snowy and fuzzy. No matter what channel I'm trying to record, all of my shows are crystal clear!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TimeToRecord
Hanover, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Philips DVD Recorder
2/22/2008

Customer review by Saab340b

4.0 stars 2/22/2008 by Saab340b
by Saab340b

If it can be done with a DVR, this machine can do it, and then some. The learning curve is just a tad steep but with all it can do, you have to learn most of it, so that's not really a problem. The ONLY real problem I had with this product is the remote control. The font on the remote is about 3pt, meaning without proper magnification, it is almost impossible to read. With so many buttons and such incredibly small font labels, anyone over 40 had better be in a very well lit room to see it. I've been trying to memorize the remote so I can just use it by touch instead of having to read where the buttons are. There have been serveral times when i've been trying to use the remote but it was facing backwards in my palm (and I'm a guy!! I know how to handle a remote!!). Other than that, I would highly recommend this product (if you can find it in stores - I had to look in 3 stores to find it in stock).

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saab340b
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
does not record 16:9 aspect ratio
2/9/2008

Customer review by 16to9aspectratio

2.0 stars 2/9/2008 by 16to9aspectratio
by 16to9aspectratio

A major and serious defect of this product is that it will not record in 16:9 aspect ratio. It only records in 4:3 aspect ratio. This important fact is in small print inside the manual in a small note box, and should be right up front on the product specification sheet- but it isn't there. So buyer beware of this fault. This defeats the purpose of recording HD ATSC programs because the resulting recording is effectively an NTSC format of 4:3 aspect ratio. Despite the fact that these days most new HD TV systems can upconvert the 4:3 aspect ratio image to the 16:3 aspect ratio image, the quality loss is inescapable. In other words, despite the unit's HDMI compatibility and 160 GB recording memory and the ATSC/NTSC tuners (good points in this combo) it fails to meet my expectations for recording quality. Now I have to go to the trouble of returning it to the store and getting a different, better, machine. Hopefully that won't be a time consuming process. For these reasons, it does not provide the bang for the buck that this expensive DVD tuner and recorder should provide, why I give it an overall fair rating, and why I do not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
16to9aspectratio
upper great plains
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great DVD Recorder to own
10/5/2007

Customer review by Nervy

5.0 stars 10/5/2007 by Nervy
by Nervy

I own a previous DVD Recorder which I was not fully satisfied with, I went searching for a better DVD recorder when I stumbled upon this Philips DVD Recorder with the 160GB HDD, The HDD made all the difference. Not only I don't have to own a bunch of DVD-/+RW or R, I can just use the HDD for all my recording. Especially when you have a capacity of close to 200 hours of recording space on SLP mode and 32 hours on HQ(High Quality) recording. And not to mention the most important feature on this Philips recorder, the built-in HD Tuner, it says SDTV on the recorder but all my recording are in High Def if the channel is HDTV, and the HDMI output gives out High Definition quality. Alot cheaper than a Tivo and better considering no subscription. Great buy, I truely recommend it if you can not see yourself pay a hefty price on an overated Tivo. You can dub from the HDD to DVD and vice versa. An USB port to play your favorite music while relaxing. All these features for a reasonable price, can't be beat. Also you receive an array of space for your timer programming, since am an avid show watcher, I have a bunch of shows to record and I need lots of pages to program my timers not a few lines like other DVD recorder provides. I don't have time everyday to erase timers and input new ones for the time I need to record; since this Philips recorder has enough pages for the timer programming, I can program 20 or more programs to record without having to check on them every week. Very important. Set it and forget it. Great buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nervy
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My unit records in 16:9
2/14/2008

Customer review by RoadRunner4

5.0 stars 2/14/2008 by RoadRunner4
by RoadRunner4

I had purchased 4 recorders with tuners prior to the Phillip's with HDD and was unable to get them to work succesfully with my 2-1/2 year old RCA HDTV with DVI input. This Phillips works just fine with the DVI input. I recorded the Today show and it really did an incredible job. Despite what the instruction manual said... it DOES record in 16:9 which was a must. The digital quality of the recording was light years ahead of a VCR! It will store 33 hours in the highest quality setting and is near HD after the upconvert. The picture was still very good in standard mode (66 hours). I wanted a unit without the monthly subscription. TiVo HD DVR is the same $300... but doesn't play or record DVD's and you need to pay $400 more for a lifetime subscrition for TiVo for the life of the unit. So TiVo would cost $800 ($300 for HD, $400 for service, and $100 for a DVD recorder) So I have money left over for a new Sony receiver and a HD DVD player.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoadRunner4
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Quality Item
8/8/2007

Customer review by crd2

5.0 stars 8/8/2007 by crd2
by crd2

I have used the 3575H for 2-3 weeks now and really like it. It was abreeze to set up. It records sharp images. I like not having to change the vcr tapes when recording shows, but not ready to watch them yet. It is more costly than just a dvd recorder, but for me the 160GB Hard Drive is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crd2
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome DVR
3/15/2008

Customer review by OlderMommy

5.0 stars 3/15/2008 by OlderMommy
by OlderMommy

This is a GREAT DVR. Its easy to use. We set it up to record from the dish (DirecTV) directly (via time) or from the DirecTV DVR. We have downloaded some things from On Demand that our toddler loves and then recorded it to the Phillips DVR hard drive then to DVD. For the money, there isn't a better one on the market. I highly recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OlderMommy
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
1/23/2008

Customer review by Corky68

5.0 stars 1/23/2008 by Corky68
by Corky68

This has been an awesome addition to my home. I was looking to replace a Pioneer DVD recorder and this one far exceeds it. It has a huge hard drive which means it can hold lots of shows, it has QAM tuning which means that I can get HD stations from my cable company without having to pay extra, it has an easy interface to set up and watch programs I record, and it has a built-in cable signal booster that has made my new TV's picture look so much better. I'm currently using it to record 8 hours of television every day and watch it later that evening. But unlike Tivo, there's no monthly charge. This thing is perfect for me! In fact, I even bought the two-year extended warranty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Corky68
Corbin, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for BJU classes
10/12/2007

Customer review by HappyHomeschoolMom

4.0 stars 10/12/2007 by HappyHomeschoolMom
by HappyHomeschoolMom

I bought this to record BJU home satellite classes and it works perfectly! I've used a friends DVR (different brand) so I knew a bit of what I was doing but this one was definitely easier to use. I'm not saying that it is easy to use. There is a learning curve when you start using it. But it becomes an invaluable tool that goes much more quickly with a little time! I put tabs on the manual for quick reference when I was learning to do specific tasks with it. The manual has very clear pictures on how to set timers, divide titles, name titles, dub, name DVD, and finalize. I am VERY happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyHomeschoolMom
Temecula, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/29/2008

Customer review by WPBCritic

1.0 stars 4/29/2008 by WPBCritic
by WPBCritic

This DVR is worthless. The 160 gb hard drive is the only attractive benefit, but the overall primitive nature of this product makes the larger hard drive totall irrelevant. The biggest (and fatal) flaw of this DVR is the fact that it has no ability to download TV Guide programming data from PBS stations as other DVR devices can do. Therefore, you have no online program listing. AFTER you record, all you really know is the date, time, and length of the recording, but not the progam NAME. Even then, it will not give you a LIST, but a picture of the first frame of the recording. Can you imagine having 60 hours of programming without the name? Also, you cannot automatically record a program on regular schedule. For instance, you cannot automatically record the Nightly News. Instead, you must create a new recording every single day. The timed recording feature of this device is more primitive than the cheapest VCR of yesteryear. If you're attacted by the cheap price of this DVR, there is a reason. It's a cheap piece of junk that will give you many, many, hours of annoying frustration trying to turn it into something useful. Buy ANYTHING but this DVR. Even if they dropped the price to $25 it wouldn't be a bargain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WPBCritic
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Cannot record Direct TV
3/22/2008

Customer review by Velturas

1.0 stars 3/22/2008 by Velturas
by Velturas

The features on this unit are very nice, unfortunately you can no longer use them with Direct TV as all of there channels are protected. It will record network TV (for now) so if you need it for that you should be ok (for now).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Velturas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not all you'll need, unless...
8/11/2007

Customer review by ozwal

3.0 stars 8/11/2007 by ozwal
by ozwal

This product is a decent starter unit with the great feature of having the Hard Disc Drive. The "editing" is severely limited (you can't even append to an existing file) and results are mixed when you try to block some unwanted images (read commercials) from your end product. The machine is quirky and requires much patience BUT, it works most of the time and once you have used it with the HDD you'll wonder how you ever used a DVR without one. An excellent step up for someone with a bit of DVR experience but certainly not top rung.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ozwal
Gig Harbor, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
2/15/2008

Customer review by CatmanDR777

2.0 stars 2/15/2008 by CatmanDR777
by CatmanDR777

I just bought this and now returning it because it is like rocket science to me. I have a 3455H brand and I can do it blindfold and get the same results. This one (for me) was no walk in the park hooking it up and I'm still wondering why it took me so long to find out how to anything. Oh, and forget the HDMI part. Meaningless. I'm going to shop around for another 3455H. At least when you name your recording to what you want, at least you can do it on the screen instead of some microscopic remote. I only wanted to try this out because I wanted to see what a DVR with "HDMI" on the label would do. Nothing is what I got.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatmanDR777
Studio City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/9/2007

Customer review by Bobby

2.0 stars 7/9/2007 by Bobby
by Bobby

Software was not up to par.

Was this review helpful? (5) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Phillips 160 GIG Hard Drive Recorder
3/30/2008

Customer review by JCBITZ

1.0 stars 3/30/2008 by JCBITZ
by JCBITZ

I bought this unit today I am packing it up and its going back to the store tomorrow its too complicated, Its nothing compared to the Panasonic Models with the hard drive, and Programmable TV Guide for scheduling recordings. Its unfortunate Panasonic does not make these models any more Plus the tuner does not display all my cable channels it only goes to channel 99 and I can't get the unit to communicate with my Comcast DVR unit so I can't transfer the video from Comcast DVR unit onto the hard drive of the Phillips so can edit out the commercials. My overall rating poor, poorly egineered, and highly complicated to learn and operate. Its menu system is light years behind the Panasonic models with the TV Guide. The remote does not even have a volume button and the text on remote is too small.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCBITZ
Woodstock, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
NO 16:9 recording
9/4/2007

Customer review by vince2

2.0 stars 9/4/2007 by vince2
by vince2

the playback is superb, but i want to record 16:9 video. this one surprised me when i got home - deep inside the manual, page 38, "this unit cannot record 16:9 format..." back it goes. i called panasonic - they said all of their new models record in 16:9.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vince2
san antonio tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst DVD Recorders
8/26/2007

Customer review by GlennNV

1.0 stars 8/26/2007 by GlennNV
by GlennNV

My goal was to find a DVD recorder that would receive unscrambled HDTV channels over the air and via Cox cable AND be able to record shows on a hard drive and blank DVD. Tried 2 of these from local store. Both had defective tuners that would only receive some of the HDTV channels. After less than a day, some HD channerls would "disappear" from available channels. Tried 2 of the cheaper Philips models without the hard drive. Same results. Got an LG 787T and it works perfectly although it lacks the hard drive option. But it does automatically seek the HD version of every channel which NONE of the other brands offer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GlennNV
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews