Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 248 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

248 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

248 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
141
4 stars
54
3 stars
20
2 stars
7
1 stars
26
1-20 of 207 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews
Excellent Buy!!
8/31/2007

Customer review by Archillius

5.0 stars 8/31/2007 by Archillius
by Archillius

I purchased this set about a week or so ago and I must say I am very impressed for the money. I purchased a PS3 along with it so I could attach the HDMI cable and really see how the HD looked. This product claims to be 720P but mine was running in 1080i and the picture is UNREAL.. The video games are great too. The only thing that freaked me out was the fact that I was playing an older Playstation 2 game (Tetris Puzzle game) and left it on the screen to long paused and there was a slight burn in. There is a white fix feature in the TV and when I ran that for an hour it was good as new. So if you are worried about burn-in I wouldnt unless you do something like leave a picture freeze framed for several hours you should be fine. Great TV Great Buy!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Archillius
Wichita, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent picture Quality
8/27/2007

Customer review by MzPat03

5.0 stars 8/27/2007 by MzPat03
by MzPat03

This was very cheaply priced compared to Best Buy and Circut City. Also come with a 1yr extended in store warranty which is great.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MzPat03
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Plasma
10/4/2007

Customer review by deep06

5.0 stars 10/4/2007 by deep06
by deep06

I’ve had the Sanyo 50” only a week now and I’m very satisfied with the purchase. I purchased a PS3 bundle (for Blu-ray capability), a game and an HDMI cable with it. The pricing on the Sanyo was great and made the purchase of the other items possible! The movies and games play great through it. I have only noticed the burn in issue with games even the PS3 games. I ran the white fix for only a few minutes after noticing it and the screen was back to normal. In viewing movies and games, previously viewed on my older CRT TV, I saw greater detail in them. After researching countless plasmas for a purchase I noticed most produced a significant amount of heat from the screen itself. The Sanyo seems to radiate its heat more from the top, which I would expect, of the set. The heat coming from the screen is not as noticeable on this set. I was initially disappointed that the set didn’t have a direct computer connection but this may be due in part to the screen burn in situation. Burn in, from what I read, is not covered in the warranty from Sanyo. With that said, the connection of a computer may be possible through the RGBLR RCA connections. All in all, a great Plasma or first Plasma!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deep06
Fort Smith, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Sanyo
8/29/2007

Customer review by MrRon

4.0 stars 8/29/2007 by MrRon
by MrRon

This is a great Plasma for the price, the picture quality is awesome! both analog and digital and HD is like being there, the only regret is that it does not have pic in pic and there is no connection for the computer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrRon
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exelent deal
4/7/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/7/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

with 3 hdmi port, 1 S-video, 1 A/V, Video Component this TV is awsome, i have it for 2 monts concted to my pc Via DVI/HDMI, Cox HD cAble HDMI Cable.... Perfect

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very happy
9/22/2007

Customer review by justdoit

5.0 stars 9/22/2007 by justdoit
by justdoit

I just purchased the 50" brought it home, opened the box and plugged it in. The picture was fantastic. We put in a DVD (Cars), I've seen the movie a dozen times, but this time we were seeing things that we never saw. It was like watching a new movie. If you have the money - get it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justdoit
Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT BUY!
4/30/2008

Customer review by WYOMINGGIRL

5.0 stars 4/30/2008 by WYOMINGGIRL
by WYOMINGGIRL

i bought this t.v for my husband in nov.and havn`t had any problem with it. the picture on it is great.i`m so happy with it that i`m fixen to buy another one for our other house in adifferent state.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WYOMINGGIRL
N.C
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
2/10/2008

Customer review by Ciacsuperman

5.0 stars 2/10/2008 by Ciacsuperman
by Ciacsuperman

Just got the tv. Had it for 2 days now and I love it. For the price and quality you get more than you paid for!!!!! TV is huge, takes up less room and is just great!!!!! Recommend to ALL!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ciacsuperman
Branford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Plasma for the Price
1/9/2008

Customer review by ukwildcat78

5.0 stars 1/9/2008 by ukwildcat78
by ukwildcat78

I have had this plasma for 2.5 months now and love it! The picture is great and it has tons of component and HDMI inputs. The menu and remote are very simple and I have had no issues with this TV at all. I would highly recommend this plasma to anyone. The sound isn't the greatest, but I wasn't too worried since I knew I would be hooking it up to my home theater. If you are looking for a bargin on a plasma, this is the one to go with!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ukwildcat78
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the money
11/7/2007

Customer review by boospinkleer

4.0 stars 11/7/2007 by boospinkleer
by boospinkleer

We had been looking at a large plasma for a while. I was waiting it out for the Black Friday sales. This one went for $998 last Fri.. I was hooked.. For the price the tv is excellent , great pic, good sound... not overloaded with a bunch of features I would never use anyway. Its got a sleek design, and is just what we were looking for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boospinkleer
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Value Plasma
12/27/2008

Customer review by TechToys

4.0 stars 12/27/2008 by TechToys
by TechToys

I bought mine over a year ago. It has been used probably 2 to 3 hours a day, every day. These TVs use Samsung or LG components inside, both are real name-brand guts so the Sanyo should be as reliable as those brands. (The decal on the back panel lists a "Chassis Number", "-00" is Samsung, "-01" and "-02" are LG.) The only real compromise for the price is the use of the Zoran Supra680 Scaler-Processor, not the best, but it does a pretty good job. The picture quality is excellent with HD or DVD sources, and OK (like every other HDTV) with analog Standard Def signals. The over-the-air digital tuner is sensitive and works well. The remote has excellent range and the tuner flips channels quickly, unlike some other TVs. It would have been nice to have a individual input-select buttons, rather than having to flip thru each in sequence. The sound quality is OK, no better or worse than other TVs. The regular user menus and options are basic, offering no advanced picture or audio adjustments like most other TVs. The Service Adjustment menu is availible to perform a proper video calibration adjustment, but this is best left to video professionals. (Turn TV OFF. Unplug the power cord for 10 secs. Press and hold the CH down button on the side of the TV while plugging-in the 110VAC power cord, then let-go of the CH button, the Service Menu will then be displayed.) It can be connected to a computer thru the HDMI-1 input, if the computer has a DVI video output and you use a DVI-to-HDMI adapter. cable. Overall a good value, but the recent price reduction of the Panasonic plasma TV has made the Sanyo a less attractive choice. The Panasonic has somewhat better picture quality and is the most trouble-free plasma TV brand.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechToys
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value
11/12/2007

Customer review by Taz305

4.0 stars 11/12/2007 by Taz305
by Taz305

I bought this TV in the pre-christmas sale. I am very impressed. I love the picture and with 3 HDMI how can you go wrong. I was looking at much more expensive sets that did not have near the features. Take sometime to play with the controls after you get it home and you will be amazed at the quality of the picture.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Taz305
Ankeny, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/31/2007

Customer review by JUKEBOX

4.0 stars 8/31/2007 by JUKEBOX
by JUKEBOX

this tv is a great buy.the only thing i noticed is that the the top of the back gets really really hot.ouch!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JUKEBOX
lusby,md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the wolf and the sheep
11/10/2008

Customer review by spartanlive

1.0 stars 11/10/2008 by spartanlive
by spartanlive

buyer beware this tv is great but know that you get what you pay for. this tv has been marred by issues of plasma problems, leaking and low grade plasma problems. dont get me wrong i have 2 of these tvs. one for the kids and one for the office. be aware that even with the extended coverage plan this tv isnt covered under onsite repair which means that you have to ship this 207lb beast out for repair and pay the overhead ins . and shipping costs yourself. this tv uses level 2 grade plasma so it has to heat up before the picture looks clean and clear, and free of ghosting and color issues, granted these issues may not be present immediately but they will arise eventually and if you didnt invest in the extended coverage this will cost you. dont get me wrong these tvs are a bargain but your sacrifice will be reliability and longevity of the unit. if your tv gets the heat up issue you will see ghosting and the green and red scale way be over present and could destroy you enjoyment of the unit. one of my tvs has had no problems and the other has been in for repair several times and still has low grade plasma issues. not buyer beware but buyer be aware this could be a steal or a trap. as a final note i am a service tech and sales rep with high end home theaters. i would suggest sacrifice the sharpness and contrast of the plasma and invest the extra hundred or so and get a 1080p lcd with much less issues and and far less expensive repairs. think before you buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spartanlive
massachussetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a gem
8/22/2007

Customer review by jiminva

5.0 stars 8/22/2007 by jiminva
by jiminva

great value!....excellent picture and features.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jiminva
suffolk, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT
1/1/2008

Customer review by LindsaysMom

5.0 stars 1/1/2008 by LindsaysMom
by LindsaysMom

My husband and I got this TV as our Christmas gift to ourselves. We love it we have it mounted in our new house and the quality is awesome. I noticed on one of the other reviews that someone mentioned a logo getting burned in. I haven't notice it yet but if it you only see it when it is on a blank screen I have no issue with that. I like looking at things that actually move and what not. If you are thinking about getting this TV I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LindsaysMom
Sanford, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value!
11/1/2007

Customer review by Jewellboy

5.0 stars 11/1/2007 by Jewellboy
by Jewellboy

Purchased 1 month ago. This TV shows a good picture with just standard cable. I can't wait to get HD programming in my area. DVD's play a very good picture. Sound is also good. This TV doesn't have a lot of bells & whistles but has been a solid performer for me. I'm very satisfied with this TV and highly recomend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jewellboy
Lepanto,AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very happy
1/6/2008

Customer review by Shane123

5.0 stars 1/6/2008 by Shane123
by Shane123

My wife and I just purchased this T.V. about two weeks ago.We also purchased the The Philips DVP3960 upconversion player.The picture is above what I thought it would be.I can only imagine what it will look like with Hd. The next step we are taking is going Hd with Direct Tv. I have read some reviews that the picture quality was sub par. Those people must have been watching regular cable or satellite. With the upconversion dvd player the picture is simply amazing!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shane123
Dyersburg,Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Nice TV
1/7/2008

Customer review by useyourhead

5.0 stars 1/7/2008 by useyourhead
by useyourhead

This 50' Sanyo Plasma is a very good buy for the price and size. It is very easy to set up and very uncomlicated to use. The instructions are minimal because the brainpower required to operate this TV is also minimal. The sound quality is also very good. If you want movie theater type sound, hook up a 200W or better tuner-amp to this unit and you'll think you're downtown sitting in a $10 seat eating a $5 box of popcorn. Picture can be improved immensly by using [at least] an S-Video cable or go to a $50 DVD player with 1080i HD upscalability. Then you'll have nothing to complain about with the picture or the sound. All in all, a very nice TV. Plasma TV's run on the warm side compared to LCD's but this one seems to be on the cool side. So far, I don't have any complaints. One more thing, when buying patch cables, make sure to spend a couple bucks more and opt for the Gold plated ones. They will reduce video and sound losses.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
useyourhead
Milton Freewater, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome TV....hands down
2/28/2008

Customer review by karaokenick

5.0 stars 2/28/2008 by karaokenick
by karaokenick

This is a very nice TV. I have a standard DVD player (with upconversion) hooked up to the TV using an HDMI cable. The picture is absolutely amazing. If the picture looks this good with regular DVD's, I can't imagine how it would look with HD DVD's or Bluray....wow! I see some reviews complain about the sound. I don't plan on using the speakers in the TV so I don't care how it sounds. I don't get it though...if you are looking to buy a large screen TV, no one should even be thinking about using the built in speakers. Keep in mind that the speakers in TVs like this, and even higher-end thin panel tvs like this, are only so big. There's no way you're going to experience earth shaking bass from a TV speaker. That's what external speakers or surround sound is for. My personal opinion is that the quality of picture should be the number one factor in deciding to buy a tv like this, not sound. I can't express how pleased I am with this TV...the picture is simply amazing. Pros: Very nice picture. The colors are very rich and true with plenty of briteness. Easy and simple controls, nothing complicated or confusing. Cons: Can't find any.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karaokenick
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews